(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tracy,

For my case, my hubby prefers to leave Charmaine with my mum cos he felt that my mum will take better care of Charmaine and won't spoil her so much. Besides, my mum's place is nearer. In fact, we are staying there from mon-thur now.

re: detinox teething gel

I wanna check if it's okay for us to use the gel. Cos the instructions actually said that it's a LA. Is it okay for long term use?

mashy,
the article says that ear infection can happen for no reason.

sl,
Oct 7? ok must mark it down in my calendar. hee i also wondering which peas to get. was at NTUC yesterday but din see any peas.

your hb so funny.

do u let your bb wear shoes? my MIL saw and was so unhappy abt it. she kept saying bb cannot walk if we let him wear shoes....

CassCL

Rory is so cute!

cookie,

I don't chop the fish. After fish is cooked, I will take it out and mash and feel for bones. For chicken, I will blend raw, wash again then put it into the porridge.

SH
RE: BB refuse to sleep on cot
I think it has become a habit lor. It depends on whether you want to be "heng xin" and let him cry out and realised that even if he until very cham also no use. Then slowly he'll kick the habit. But the older he gets, it will become tougher for him to kick the habit. My gal fren let her 2 sons sleep with her and the elder son is 8 years old now. I was disturbing him why so big boy oredi still sleep with daddy and mommy. He answered "I'll sleep on my own when I am 21 year old"...faintz

wenyl
durianlover is right, stop giving if rashes develop immediately. Which is why we should always introduce one new food at a time, so that we can tell.

The process is like :-
Day 1 - give egg (no rash)
Day 2 - give egg (no rash)
Day 3 - give egg (no rash)
Day 4 - give berries (no rash)
Day 5 - give berries (rash develop)
so can tell that egg is not the cause but berries, if you give both egg and berries on Day 1, then can determine is it the egg or berries loi.

Then keep on trying......I have an intern with us previously and she is allegic to dairy products, so TBF mum must be careful when you introduce FM as they might be allegic to it. Must switch to soya based formula.

denmy,

hope that keenan is better now.

REad that you used to play the erhu in CO. I used to play in the CO too. I played pipa.

SL
RE: Cereal
Do you give Charmaine just brown rice cereal? Have u tried multigrain and Oatmeal? My gal dun like brown rice but loves multigrain and oatmeal. But she loves porridge most, I think she's like her daddy very chena...haha

I like your hb's reply "the books say so"...keke

RE: soft copies
My fren will give the 10 soft copies in CD in hi-res (can dev up to A3 size). She said she'll charge the additional photo at cost (normally she can get bulk discount also). Maybe can confirm with her before we dev and see if you can get better price outside.

Flo
Re : BB refuse to sleep on cot
Oh dear, my girl who is 5 still refuse to sleep alone. I am trying to get her to sleep alone from next month. Hope she don't give me problem.

durianlover, sy, mel, sh, sl

Are you refering to my fren photoshot? She can only do weekend shot starting Nov 6, not Oct 7.

Flo,
hb n i were planning to move megan to her own room when she turns 1yr old. my BIl n SIL heard, they say cannot one lah...look at them, their boys 3YO & 5YO still sleep with them. So they insist that we will never be able to move her into her own room so soon. I shall prove them WRONG!

SY,
Thanks for helping me collect the bag. will meet u at lot1 on of the days to pick it up from u.

cass,
Rory is not light. My girl is only 7.1kg
Your husband is caucasian? Rory is so handsome! Looks like Tom Cruise!

Shall we indicate our preferred period like the oct dates or from 7nov? then after that we narrow down to particular dates.

Re Photoshoot (Flo)

1. Flo, Melody
2. Rachel, Dylan
3. sleepingdeer, Shannon
4. Lingbel, Christabel
5. Celine, Edgar
6. wenyl, Ethan
7. sl, Charmaine
8. Tracy, Megan - Wknds only, ie from 7nov.
9. Sept03bride, Caleb
10. God's child, Celeste
11. babylon, damien
12. Clare, Ashley
13. valerie, Kirsten
14. Rena076, Elijah
15. Queen, Issac
16. MamaChan, Daren
17. Cookie, kaelyn
18. sunny, YX
19. Tabbiesus, Tabitha
20. SY, JH
21. Sandra, Sarah Mae
22. Sysac, Cephas
23. Denmy, Keenan, Ethan, hb (i want the family package pleeeese...)

flo,
JH hates the multigrain. which brand did u give? i m thinking of giving away my cereal cos he hates it.

cookie,
does your gal take heinz? since she likes cereal, then maybe i can pass to u.

yuenyuen,
sigh, i spoil th arrangement myself. in the past my boy used to sleep in his cot in his own room. then i moved him into my room for convenience cos he woke up very often. now i think he needs pple to be ard him when he sleeps. each night i have to pat him or let him suckle to sleep.

haha, this morning when i told MIL i let meg cry herself for half hr last night, she looked at me in shock. she asked how come. i said oh, nothing seems to work so no choice lor..

ystrdy, i told MIL to feed meg med at 3.30pm, which she did. then in the evening, hb n i decided, beta to feed her at 2pm so we can feed again at 8pm. so hb informed her. she got defensive, said i told her 3.30pm. then hb said, ok, so tmr start 2pm lah. she said again i told her one...n kept looking at me like expecting me to 'own up'. i jus said curtly, tmr change to 2pm.

wendy
i m not going to the tumbletots class. think u got it wrong.

for the photoshoot, i can only do weekends. best to be on sun.

Re Photoshoot (Flo)

1. Flo, Melody
2. Rachel, Dylan
3. sleepingdeer, Shannon
4. Lingbel, Christabel
5. Celine, Edgar
6. wenyl, Ethan
7. sl, Charmaine
9. Sept03bride, Caleb
10. God's child, Celeste
11. babylon, damien
12. Clare, Ashley
13. valerie, Kirsten
14. Rena076, Elijah
15. Queen, Issac
16. MamaChan, Daren
17. Cookie, kaelyn
18. sunny, YX
19. Tabbiesus, Tabitha
20. SY, JH - weekends only from 14 Nov onwards
21. Sandra, Sarah Mae
22. Sysac, Cephas

Esther, I want 10 test kits ok?

Re: Berries

I didn't know that berries are highly allergenic. Oh dear - followed one of the Annabel Karmel recipes which has both strawberries and blueberries in it. In fact, I saw another recipe with egg in it even (and she said that egg white is also fine as long as it's thoroughly cooked). How come she never highlight leh? *hiaz*

Ai yoh, this Vivien person is quite something. I almost wanted to join her package (lucky no time to come in and reply her). Very low self esteem person. Queen, that's really a good telling off. I was so tempted to blast her too.

Hey CassCL, hope you're settling in fine. Rory is really very cute. I think he's quite alright in his weight (in fact still above average, no?).

RE : Standing
Wah...so many posts....

Realised that quite a number of babies can hold onto something and stand. My boy cant. We have to hold on to him and i dont think he can pull himself up. Maybe I shld out him in his cot more often to provide practice. My boy's cot only used for changing. He still sleeps wif us. Cant stand him turn 360 all night!

Denmy
hope keenan will recover real fast, if not mummy will be very very heartpain and burnt out. you take care too.

Mashy
oh dear... sure zzz monster is attacking you now. hope tonight will be better for you and your hb.

Queen
Issac had gave you a big shock. hope that he landed on his butt from the fall.

Casscl
good to hear from you again. wow handsome boy you have =) dont worry about Rory's weight and no intention to crawl. His weight is good and as long as he is eating and drinking well. My Dylan oso no intention to crawl too, keep wanting to stand.

yah time flies. both our babies will turn 8 months old on the coming 19th =) take care, do come in here often and keep us update on your new life over there!

SH
like what flo mentioned, its the habit that your bb had since he is small. so its gonna be either you give in to him or now you have to be determine to train him to sleep on his own. i must say it benefits all parties to get our bb to sleep alone on their own. the older they are the tougher it is to get them to sleep alone. they sure will scream, cry and bang on your bedroom door, wanting to get in to sleep with you.

i have friends who's kids oso sleep with them. just couldnt get them to sleep alone. so no choice but to allow this "third party" to be between them every night. our baby is very important to us, but how about our relationship with our hb?

Yuenyuen
why start next month leh? i think the sooner you start the better bah. your girl most pro will protest initially. be firm yah.

so many postings! I wana to kapo and add my comments but I realise all old news before I reply liao.. hahah

Wendy,
I can help you collect the bag if Cindy is going to the TT class this sat...

Rena,
poor Sumo... fever again, must be jialat...

Vivien,
I dunno what to say except it's not nice of you to accuse us of shutting you out when we have welcomed you with open arms.

CassCL,
Rory is sooo adorable..! Eurasian babies are so pretty, I have 2 friends with Eurasian baby girls, they are so cute! 8.1kg is not small leh, Shannon is only 7.74kg! But I guess you expect Caucasian babies to be bigger sized huh?

Re: Sleeping in Cot
i think maybe it's a matter of bb getting used to it... Shannon has been sleepingin her own room since she was 1 month old... and though she whines occasionally, we try to stick to it... there was a period when we keep bringing her in to sleep with us, but we realise that she was getting very used to it, so we cut that practise out... nowadays, she only sleep with us for afternoon naps... bedtime is strictly her own cot. We also have a habit of throwing her in the cot and letting her doze off on her own, even with naps, we just plunk her down, and leave her, and peep from the side to make sure she dun roll off... takes getting used to...

Hey Mummies, my galfriend's company looking for someone to fill their research associate position. Anyone interested? Can be part time too. The requirements are-

Person must be articulate, can be diploma or degree holder, no need prior search experience, must have innate curiosity about business.

If anyone's interested, I'll provide further details. Lemme noe yah?

Esther,

i want 9 ovulation kit ok..

RE: sick

oh no sumo is sick again.. i brought him to the PD this morning.. he has wheezing sound in his lungs..and need to use the nubilizer for 5 days..
poor sumo just recover two weeks ago now sick again..
PD mention that his windpipe is small that is why easily get sick.. oh man..he had fever suddenly last night..

RE: berries

i check with pd .. nt the blueberries its just my mil place is dirty...

SY
re: shoe

my mum banned us from letting dylan wear shoe now. she said can only wear when he is one years old. i asked her whats the reason, she replied: "donno leh, in the past people dont allow babies under one year old to wear shoe" im like huh??? its no harm to listen to her, oso can save some $ for now on shoes =p

Sandra and Rena,

No problem..will go get the kits for you!

Rena,

Oh no..you must be feeling very heart pain..this windpipe thing is driving me crazy too! dun worry too much ok? you must rest well too.

CassCL:
Good to hear from u! Rory is gorgeous! Too bad I do not have a dau (yet?). If not, I chop him! Haha! Hope to hear more from you.

Sick babies:
I jusy glimpsed thru the posts & read that some of the babies are unwell. Hope they get well soom & mummies, do take care of yourselves!

Vivien:
What's her problem??!! Hee hee...

Falling:
Yep, Cephas fell twice last Sun from climbing. I didn't catch him the 1st time. Kenna back of the head. Managed to catch his head only the 2nd time round. Kenna his round body. Yesterday, he kenna the worst injury at MIL's. He woke up & grab the sofa to stand. He slipped, fell and hit his forehead. He has a slight blue-black bump now. My MIL felt so bad but I had to re-assure her with an aching heart

Photoshoot (Flo):
1. Flo, Melody
2. Rachel, Dylan
3. sleepingdeer, Shannon
4. Lingbel, Christabel
5. Celine, Edgar
6. wenyl, Ethan
7. sl, Charmaine
9. Sept03bride, Caleb
10. God's child, Celeste
11. babylon, damien
12. Clare, Ashley
13. valerie, Kirsten
14. Rena076, Elijah
15. Queen, Issac
16. MamaChan, Daren
17. Cookie, kaelyn
18. sunny, YX
19. Tabbiesus, Tabitha
20. SY, JH - weekends only from 14 Nov onwards
21. Sandra, Sarah Mae
22. Sysac, Cephas (Sats, Nov onwards)

Mummies on MSN with me yesterday:
Hi, Got my car back already! The 19 yr old driver was nice enuff to call me last nite & asked abt the car. He once again apologised for hitting into me. He has been forgiven! Haha...

Cephas:
Wow liao. He woke up at 4.30am this morning, drank milk & started "talking' to me. After getting no response (cos I fell asleep), he started climbing on me and shaking me to wake up. In the end, I had to bring him to his room & let him play his toys until 6.45am. HB took over & brought him to bathe b4 we brought him to my MIL. I am zombie-fied now! Need caffeine shots!

rena,
poor sumo. hope he gets well soon.

re sleeping in cot
i think i must really try to put him back but he has been turning so much and he will stick his hands and feet thru the holes...how? and he will keep turning so must watch that he doesn't bury his head in his pillows.

rachel,
hmm, my parents are ok abt wearing shoes.

SY
heehee dylan always will stick his hands and feet thru the railings of his cot. did not use any bumper bcoz he not sleeping in air con, only use fan. as bumper will block the wind..

no matter how i block him with pillow and bloster, they were all be lying around by the time i check on him... so... i just let him be. as far he did not get injury from sticking his limbs thru the railings. =p dont worry

re:shoes
my MIl also against my gal wearing shoes. but i manage to convince her those 'pre-walker' shoes with soft soles are not considered shoes cos sole is soft mah, how to walk. so that one approved. *grinz

My PC at home die-ded on us yesterday and all Ashley's pictures are in there!! Only made back ups in CD for her 1st 3 months... really hope PC is just in comma with all my files in tact until I can get someone to help me retrieve everything... So mummies PLEASE remember to back up your pictures ok!! Any mummies know reliable IT guy who can come to my place to revive my PC?? =(

Flo,
Can PM me your friend's brochure?? Me hardly can catch up with the forum these days cos super busy at work so may left out some information which you may have posted... Thanks!

Queen,
Yeah thumbs up for your reply to Vivien... really dunno what's her problem... maybe Mashy is right she may be connected to the forum/photography in someway??

re: Horizon Organic Baby Yogurt
as requested, here is a pic of the yoghurt I bought from Cold Storage Parkway Parade, $9.45 ( I think)
It's suitable for babies and toddlers.

508819.jpg

Re: Sleeping in the cot
Huh? Sounds like I should try to put JW into his own cot to sleep. It's just so hard coz now we can just put him down on the master bed & he will just flip to his side & zzz....If we put him in the cot, he will be screaming away & my hb is not one for cold turkey treatments. Yikes.

Actually when my hb was travelling overseas, i sort of trained him not to be carried to zzz...coz i only put him in my bed (at my mom's place) & ignore his fussing. He is generally more amendable when his papa not around. Think he knows papa will give in to him...(so in the past we have to carry him to zzz).

Hmm...any other way to do it without the cold turkey treatment?

Clare,

I encouter this problem before..my hard disk crashed...all bb pic..infant (1st three month) all gone...heartache.
Asking my IT friend for advise..to recover the hard disk cost around 2K....Decided not to do it.

Now i very KS, everytime i download..i backup a few copies, eg external hard disk, thumb drive, yahoo photo...

Sy,
I start the ball rolling for you:

which push walker is better?
1. Keenan has the Tomy Disney Baby Winnie the pooh push-walker. It can be converted into a trike.

which diaper pants is better?
1. I using Bumwear, it's quite alright once you get the hang of it. Also tried Kooshies, but using this with the traditional square diaper cloth which is a bit too small for Keenan liao. Hence urine will leak out.

clare, i have one quite good .. remember my pc died too he came and fix for us but 90 dollars leh.. hb say good can already.. if you want jut PM me ok

Vivien

Im not sure if you are ever going to come back to this thread but hope you get a chance to read this. I was quite upset and appalled when I read your posting this morning. Initially I told myself to brush off your comments (since I am the one whos organising the other photo spree so may not be a neutral party) but the more I think of it, the angrier I got. So I decided that I must say my piece.

Frankly I would say the mommies here are very friendly and welcoming. I was first introduced to this thread in May 06 by my colleague who has been with the group since her pregnancy days. I must admit that I was a bit apprehensive initially cos the bonding of the mommies here is so strong and I was worried that I might be intruding. Also strictly speaking, I dont really belong to this thread cos my gal was born in Dec 05 and my EDD was in Dec too. But they are so friendly and helpful that I got integrated into the group very quickly (I am sure I could speak for the rest of the newcomers such as Sandra, LingLing and Esther). They are very willing to provide advice, share their experiences and even to the extent of helping other mommies who cant take leave to grab great bargains at toy fairs. In fact coming into the forum has become part of my daily routine and Im really looking forward to seeing some of them and their babies at this Sats tumbletot class.

I was just telling some of the mommies on MSN that I suspect you are one of the photographers cos when I did a search on your postings, they are all on the photoshot

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/search.cgi

I even thought of reporting you to the moderator but decided not to on second thought as you could genuinely want to organise a photo spree and I am just being overly suspicious. But your latest posting just confirm my belief.

In fact we have talked about our photo spree long time back when one of the mommies shared her babys studio photo. I was telling the mommies that I am going to ask my friend to do it cos it is cheaper. Since a number of them expressed interest, Ive checked with my friend if shes keen to do it. I am not making any commission and my friend is also doing mainly for interest. Also I hope you dont label all Singaporeans as cheapskate. I am sure most mommies here dont go for freebies unless is something they really need/want. I took my gal for a free photo shot (offered by the photographer who took her birth shot @ the hospital and of course we know that there is no free lunch and dont mind paying if the charges are reasonable and photos are well taken) when she was 4 months old. When they recently called me again for a free 8R shot, me and hubby decided to give it a miss cos are thinking for trying another photographer. If we are really that cheapskate, we could have gone for just the free 8R shot.

If you are really a photographer, I would say you have very bad business acumen and are very myopic indeed. I believe most mommies are unlikely to take just one studio shot for their babies and even if they do, most of them plan to have 2 or even 3 kids. And as a businesswoman, I think you have overlooked the fact that your customers are your best advertising tools; your latest posting have cut off all potential business deals.

To sum up, I am sure all the mommies here like me are extremely sad by the remarks and accusation that you have made.

Phew!!! Finally finish my piece, sorry mommies for being so long winded and hogging so much space with this posting. Now that Ive load everything off my mind, I can get back to work oredi

CassCL,
Welcome back! Hope you are settling well in London. Which part of London are you putting up now? Rory is sure handsome. Where is his dad from?

re: Tontilitis
not sure if it's hereditary... forget to check with PD. But Keenan is a well and happy boy now. Thanks for all your concern!!!

SallyCinnamon,
What should I look out for in his diet? Any particular food he has to avoid?

Btw, are you a SAHM/ FTWM/ WAHM? Got put your visual comm skills to good use or not?

re: Chinese Orchestra
sl, you DO look like a Pipa player leh!!! Wenyl, you still play your er'hu? I still have mine and will take it out to show-off to Ethan every now and then...kekeke... maybe we can start a mini Jan06MTB-CO and 'jam' together...hahahaha

sl,
re: teething biscuits
Keenan also will protest very loudly if I take his pigeon rice cracker away. He's also gone off his HT since the discovery of Pigeon. You think they put MSG in it?

Mashy,
re: ear infection
Is it the way you feed milk? I read somewhere b4 that when bb drinking milk, bottle level cannot be higher than ear level. i.e. cannot drink lying down. The part where u mentioned your boy will laugh when hb change the beat of the lullaby made me laugh...cos i sometimes do that also to distract Keenan when he cannot sleep.

SY, rachel,
re: shoes
Reason why we don;t let bb wear shoes at this age is becos it will hinder his walking development. Its better to let him/her feel with his bare feet while learning to walk. Anyway, if going out, i guess socks or those soft leather shoes (Bobux) should be ok bah...

Yuen Yeun,
Maybe you can try decorating her room with her new bed by getting your elder daughter involved to get her interested in sleeping on her own? That's what I did to my elder boy when he was 3. He slept in his own bed but share a room with us until 3.

Flo,
I'd like a brochure too please. Thanks!!!

Wendy,
added Ariene's blog into Megan's! Sorry wasnt checking emails for awhile so didnt read ur mail..geez...paiseh

rachel
Me shifting house at the end of the month (current place have two rooms only so my girl is sleeping with me). In the new house, she will have a room of her own, which I hope she will be more willing to sleep alone. Gotten her to decorate her own room so thought she will be willing to accept the idea. She even requested for a sign "children only, audult not allowed in".

My boy will be sleep with my mum... hiaz my mum heartache loi, don't want him to cry it out and we have brought her a queen size bed already.

Weekend, my hb want bb to sleep together with us n me too lai, since I don't get to spend enough time with him, I don't mind.

Yuenyuen
ic =) haha so cute of your girl requesting for the sign =p when she hang that up, will you really not enter? when dylan gets older and request for such thing (privacy & rights) im not sure how well i can handle...

Flo,

way to go man! i am angry but just couldn't be bothered.. and at least we are not cheapo..
oh please let your friend know that i also want to take family shoot.. thanks..

RE: gathering 23 sept..

due to special request i have decided to bring brownies ( carol will supply the icreeam) and i will try to bring whatever that is yummy at the shufu cake shop..

rachel
Ya....I tease her about it and she told my hb and I that mummy is allow in, daddy need to apply for permission.....haha.....

Denmy
Will let you know whether it work or not as I did just what you mentioned. Do you think for the first few night, I should accompany her till she sleep and then leave the room ?

Re: shoes
SY, i also let my gal wear shoes....so far mum & MIL have not complained abt it!

Re: yoghurt
Denmy,
Thanks for showing the pic of the yoghurt. I think i shall try that out. I actually bought Paul's Natural Yoghurt and it tastes simply terrible!! Bear in mind - i am a yoghurt lover but i think that natural yoghurt tastes strange...it also looks different from the normal yoghurt. Not as smooth or creamy. Wonder if it's meant to be eaten on its own or meant to be used for cooking?

Florence,
Well said!!

Re: baby sleeping in same room
Hmm my gal also now sleeps in same room as us (in her cot) coz she wakes up at nite and i'm lazy to hv to walk to her room. Plus she goes back to sleep faster if she sleeps in same room as us.

But my fren ever shared with me a "horror story" about this family with 2 kids who all sleep in the same room. One day this family was at a wedding dinner and the 5-year-old boy proudly announced to all the dinner guests "That day i saw daddy pulling down mummy's pants!". His parents were horrified, not to mention, totally embarrassed.

Rena
What is the gathering on 23 Sept ? Sorry, must have missed it in the earlier post. I remember only the botanic garden one tomorrow which I can't join...so sad and envious.

SY, rachel,
re: shoes
my view same as Denmy too ... so try to let your little one walk on grass, on sand. Besides, kid outgrow their shoes very fast and you shouldn't let them wear ill-fitting shoes.

As for old folks belief, my MIL told me abt no shoes before 1 yr too and we have been made very superstituous ourselves through some bad experience. The belief is that you'll be walking a lot if you start wearing shoes from young ...

Organic 4 Less
Someone was looking for the address ... http://www.organic4less.com

Re : Trying to Stand
I feel it's more important for the baby to crawl more than wanting to stand. I'm more of a Glenn Doman mummy, so hope I didn't offend anyone. My son now prefers to stand and even moving on his feet by holding onto whatever, but I still try to get him to crawl whenever I can

Controlled crying
I did controlled crying for my #1 when he was 14 months. It took him 1 night of screaming and crying before he learnt that he was to sleep alone from then on. Am told typically take up to 7 nights ... hm, to be fair, I'm giving #2 till 12 months before I stop co-sleeping with him ... another 4.5 months of sleepless nights to go ...

.ky.

Yuen Yeun,
Think should spend time reading, chatting just b4 she sleeps. But if you can dun stay until she falls asleep. Should kiss her goodnight after you tuck her in and then tell her you will come back 5 mins to check. U might want to leave a night light for her. But make sure you go back in 5 mins, then if she still awake, tell her goodnight and give another 5 mins again. Slowyly increase the time to 10min, 15 min, etc. She will probably get the message. 5 years old is easy to train cos they will understand your reasoning. Hope this helps.