(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mashy,

you have ordered the califonia cream from me leh.. do you wnat? if not i will pass on to wendyl .. let me know thanks

SY .. start with 5 mins of crying and then prolong the wait to 10 mins before going in ... keep prolong the wait by 5 mins till each interval is 30 mins.

Denmy
GD's view on crawling
Crawling (or rather creeping) promote the development of midbrain. Not that it's more important than standing (or trying to stand). I've read this somewhere before, I think in the physically superier book and this is endorsed by parents who followed the GD method ... GD-based schools encourage this too. tried a trial and even at 2 yrs+, they still get the kids to creep through a series of obstacle

.ky.

Hear ya! hear ya!

I know that 23rd sept gathering has not pass but i am just too excited to wait..

We ( the mummies on MSN ) are organising a Crab party at celine77@ edgar mummy house..

Each one will bring a crab item..for the best stalls that you know or like.

Date : 7th oct
Time : Dinner time of course

1) rena + hb + bb
2) chicken little + hb + bbs
3) tracy + hb + bb
4) sleepingdeer + hb + bb
5) celine77 + hb + bb (of cos, her house mah)
6) god's child + hb + bb

Hear ya! hear ya!

I know that 23rd sept gathering has not pass but i am just too excited to wait..

We ( the mummies on MSN ) are organising a Crab party at celine77@ edgar mummy house..

1) rena + hb + bb
2) angie + hb + bbs
3) tracy + hb + bb
4) sleepingdeer + hb + bb
5) celine + hb + bb
6) sept03bride+hb+bb

Sept03Bride
RE: Training Cup
My gal hates the Avent one as well. In fact she's very anti avent product...waste my money cos I have a lot of free avent bottles that comes with the steriliser. Anyway she's ok with Pigeon MagMag and can drink like 100ml of water with it during meal time.

Cookie, what is spout har? Itz stage 2? Am using stage 2 currently. Try to give her stage 3 the other day but she dun know how to drink from straw.

RE: PD visit
Cookie, guess will always feel better and have a peace of mind after spending the money, me also like that...keke

Rachel to replace sleepingdeer cos she will be in perth..

Hear ya! hear ya!

1) rena + hb + bb
2) angie + hb + bbs
3) tracy + hb + bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) celine + hb + bb
6) sept03bride+hb+bb
7) god's child + hb + bb

thanks tracy! CRAB CRAB, my long lost favourite food! heehee

sleepingdeer
aiyah gonna miss you and shannon, but sure your happy family will enjoy a whole lot on your perth trip!

cookie
Dr Sim told me the same thing abt the fall. he does make u feel reassured after seeing him.

ky, rena
i will try the controlled method. so cry for 5 min, then i go in, then let him cry for 10 min, then i go in, then slowly stretch to 30 min right?

tracy
sounds good that meg is falling asleep by herself.

re crab gathering
hmm, it's a sat right? i have to ask hb whether can go. i miss so many gatherings cos of my schedule on sat. but it's the day of the HCJC mid autumn. so got to confirm with other mummies whehter we are going back or not.

rena
saw may's reply regarding the bag liao.

sleepingdeer
ma fan you already. i get the bag from you tomorrow.

may
can i have the a/c number to trf $ to you?

1) rena + hb + bb
2) angie + hb + bbs
3) tracy + hb + bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) celine + hb + bb
6) sept03bride+hb+bb
7) god's child + hb + bb
8) tabbs+bb+hb

Hey Celine, can't make it for ur crab party. Dad's birthday. Hope u gals hv fun. =)

Rena already PMed u. Reply soon k? Or else get my handphone number from lisa or wendy (ethan's mum). Thanks.

sept03bride,

traning cup

renee has started using it bout 3 weeks ago..the avent spout..1st day didnt like it..then subsequently she's ok with it.

Hey all,

Ah yoh...I'll be in Bintan on 7 Oct! Nvm, will eat crab there during dinner time too. Hee hee...

I just submitted Cephas passport application this morning at 6.30am! Haha...keep forgetting until my friend reminded me that the trip is less than a month away. We took his photo against a white backdrop in his room with me carrying him away from me. Will shows u all the photo in the blog!

cookie - thks for the info. it's very useful and glad to hear Kaelyn is fine. yes always feel more at ease after seeing PD

wow..crabs..yum yum! can;t join u all...have fun ya!

So many postings to catch up on over a span of 2 days while I'm out at field trip.

FLorence/Queen
Well return piece! Speaks for what I wanna say. *STANDING OVATION*

Vivien
Nonetheless, I hope you understand where we are coming from and if you choose to still stick around, we'll still welcome you and involve you. Give us and yourself time to get to know one another better.

Just got sms this morning from HB bout Daren
As I was away on field trip since 5am this morning, my hb is responsible for sending him to IFC. When he woke Daren up, he was coughing quite abit and felt feverish. Took his temperature after his milk was 37.1,before left house was down to 36.5. At infant care, measured again and was 36.8. Wah, really no mood to work but no choice. Now can't wait to get off work to see my baby!

sleepingdeer and SAHM @ Botanical Gardens
Looks like I can't join you ladies even though I get to go back before 3pm. DOn't wish to pass on whatever Daren has to your little beloveds.

CRAB Gathering
Sounds good! I'll check with my hb to see if he keen. Go space limit?

1) rena + hb + bb
2) angie + hb + bbs
3) tracy + hb + bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) celine + hb + bb
6) sept03bride+hb+bb
7) god's child + hb + bb
8) tabbs+bb+hb
9) MamaChan + hb + bb (KIV, heh heh I KS, chop place 1st)

RE: cereal
Thanks mommies for sharing your opinions/experience with the different brands. My gal does seem to prefer her cereal mixed with banana or applesause. Maybe, it's just that she doesn't like plain cereal, nothing to do with the brand. I tried mixing barley water into the cereal (w/o BM or plain water)...got a slight nice barley taste and she seems to like that too.

Cindy,
Coincidentally, Arlene, Shangwei, Elaine, several others and I are the same clique.

SY,
I'm from 4B. my class a lot of CO members, partly cos our class is the C_lit combi, the cheena cheena type lor.... hahaha your hubby?

1) rena + hb + bb
2) angie + hb + bbs
3) tracy + hb + bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) celine + hb + bb
6) sept03bride+hb+bb
7) god's child + hb + bb
8) tabbs+bb+hb
10) babylon + hb + bbs (KIV First, if I can't join, might just drop by to say hi to all, since I stay nearby)

Sleepingdeer,

so sad you can join.. coz elijah will be without a partner.. boo hoo.. Do enjoy yourself there.. eat eat and eat.. shop shop and shop more ok...

Mamachan,

could you still remember 23rd sept who is going and who is bring what?

oh tabbie,

remember to give us ur address ok..

flo
ya lor.. now I feel better. see PD for me to feel better hahaha.. how strange.

The sprout thing.. yes I think it's stage.. the 1 after teats and before straw.
What is the sign to upgrade bb? or just change change see if she accept.

SY
ya feel reassured but also can feel silly...kekeke..

oii, i realise that all the mummies here very kiasu.. especially on food.. coz so fast chop chop already hahah..

Up and coming Events

Oct- Crab party
Nov- Durian Party ( is it buy durian go botanic garden and eat then plant the seeds that)

Dec- Christmas celebration cum birthday
JAn- Welcome the new year cum birthday
Feb - Seafood party /swim wear party
Mar - bowling.. bowl the bb..opps

Just a tot.. so if there are better suguesstio please add on or replace

Ha Rena, u're so funny. =) I think I wont go for the botanical gardens thing already. Im having a splitting headache. Sarah woke up so many times last night. *SIGH*

Is there any gathering in September?

sandra
yes there is a gathering on the 23rd sept at Tabbie's place. think mamachan will repost the details again, but currently the numbers of families attending is full...

Thanks Rachel. It's ok- we're having a farewell dinner for my BIL on that day. He's going away to London for a year or so. =)

Up and coming Events

Oct- Crab party
Nov- Durian Party ( is it buy durian go botanic garden and eat then plant the seeds that)

JAn- Welcome the new year cum birthday --------> Rena, should we book a function room like i.e. Mt Faber SAFRA and have a hi-tea sort of thing again? I actually have a quote from them supposedly for september's gathering. But since combine birthday bash, we can spend abit more for this?
Feb - Seafood party /swim wear party

Wow, so many activities all lined up liao.

Denmy and Cindy,

I also from DHS. Me born in 1974. In Chinese Drama but never act one

Denmy, you born 1973 same as my cousin. You know Khoo Siew Hui ?

Wah... so many outings coming up!
I have only been to the 1st msaage outing so far. Must join you all soon. Think I like the Durian Party. Salivating already...
And definitely the X'mas / New year cum Bday parties!

Re. Training cup
Can feed milk through the training spout?

Cookie,

Traning Cup,

I think there's no sign as to when can start.. I just decided to let her try and since she was ok with it then i let her drink water from that.

Queen,

i dun use it for milk though...and i'm not too sure why...sorry..not helpful at all ..

*** TUMBLE TOTS CLASS***
Venue: Specialist Centre (John Little), 5th Floor. Cost per child and caregiver: about $24

9th September - CLASS FULL
Time: 3.45pm

1)Flo + hb + bb
2) sl + hb + bb
3) Cookie + hb + bb
4) celine + hb + bb
5) God's child + hb + bb
6) Chillies + hb + bb
7) Cindy + hb + bb
8) sunny + hb + bb
9) sleepingdeer + hb + bb

Hi mummies... i wont be able to go Tumbletots. HB worried that Celeste is stil in recovering stage,wont wana risk passing virus to your babies... anyone wana take my slot?

Sophia- so sorry for last minute informing. my reminder just rang and i told HB. He said best not to attend this time round... sorry...

SY
RE: Push Walker
I think you must be able to push the walker in order for bb to learn how to walk when they are able to stand more steadily. My guess is most major brand should be more or less the same. Perhaps you may want to take a look/try out different brands before getting one. It is the initial stage that is difficult cos bb is still not very stable, but after some practice should be better. Mel still can't slide very well on the floor yet, but is progressing well on the bumpermat. With further practice hopefully she can "upgrade" to the floor...heehee

Have managed to download the video I've taken. Not sure if it's too dark

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ZwnsKjokPg

Queen
Re: Training cup
My hb gave Mel milk in training cup once before (with spout). Ask him why? He said cos she'll drink faster than milk bottles, which is true, prob cos is refreshing for her....keke!

kaelyn seems to have cough coming up too. I think its better not to bring her too tomorrow.
In case it get worse i dun wanna spred it to other babies.

Sophia
will it be a prob for you as organiser? sorry for the late infor too. kaelyn cough started this morn.

Demny/ god's child
maybe next time we can arrange to attend the trail together

May
I will still meet you to collect the bag n similac

Flo
Can't see the video from the link you provided.

SY
I put the walker on carpet so that it will not roll so fast, have fiction so need a bit more strength to push. My boy gave up after a while and prefer to sit and play with the activities on the bottom instead. Very lazy....

re: Magmag

I am using magmag stage 2 now - the sprout one. I have tried the straw one but she can't use it yet - dunno how to suck using the straw.

re: Oct 7 gathering
Crab gathering really sounds good! But I think I would give it a miss. Wanna go HCJC mid autumn with bb. Have fun mummies!

rena,

your list of gatherings really sound fun! Maybe we should organise one at botanic gardens when they have performances.

YuenYuen

Itz it come out as loading? Seems to take a long time to download, think some problem with youtube website today. Anyway my gal also the same, initially keep wanting to play the activity panel in front. Now she finally got the idea is meant for walking...haha

Oh looks like a lot of babies are falling sick, take care and hope all of you get well soon. And think better keep bbs in door cos the haze seems to be coming back.

I am getting some Japanese baby rice crackers from my fren. 1 carton of each flavour - vege, strawberry, plain milk and hello kitty salad

It looks like wang wang of course not as tasty. I am sharing with esther, 3 mummies outside this thread so will left with 5-7 packs each flavour. But take note the expiry for vege strawberry n milk is up to Nov as the shelf life only 3 months. Hello kitty one just arrive today so should last longer. price stated inclusive of gst

Any takers for remaining ? Esther says she can help distribute during the gathering on 23 sep. I will be picking them up on 20 Sep.

1) Vege - $2.73 per pack (left 5 packs)
2) Plain Milk - $2.57 (left 7 packs)
3) Strawberry - $2.36 ( left 7 packs)
4) Hello Kitty Salad - $ 2.42 (left 7 packs)

Wow so many postings!

Did i read about a DURIAN party??? Sounds exciting!!!
Count me in!

Re: crab party
Where's is celine77 / edgar's house? I'm not a crab fan...so shall see whether can drop by if i'm nearby or something

Re: training cup
I have 2 cups (with straw) for my gal - 1 Magmag & 1 Piyo-piyo one. She uses the straw. Totally skipped using the spout (ie. stage 2) because she couldn't get any water out of it. But strangely she was happy with the straw when i introduced it to her. So i guess it doesn't necessarily mean you must go from stage 1 to 3?

Hi Chicken Little

Don't know leh, according to some books better don't give bb food with added salt/sugar (esp salt) cos their kidney not fully develop.

Re: 7 Oct/Mid-Autumn

sl, SY
You are right, not sure if anything has changed since HCJC is no more. If it's like the mid-autumn of past, i would like to bring baby to see the lanterns and all. If you guys are going, where are you meeting up?

Re: Maid
I'm thinking of getting a maid and went to a maid agency this afternoon. Feels a bit like tikam tikam - can only see photos and talk to them over the phone. Do you think it's better to have someone who has worked in Singapore previously? I have shortlisted 2 maids - one who worked here for 6 months 6 years ago and was sent back and one who has no prior experience working as a domestic helper. Any views on this?

Re: Co-sleeping
Somehow I cannot put Gabriel to bed at night. My hubby does a much better job than me. But once he wakes up from his cot at night, I would just bring him over to our bed and latch him until he falls asleep. In the meantime, sleepyhead me will also fall asleep. I know i should break this habit but i'm so tired, having to work the next day. We are resolving to break th ehabit when he's one year old.

Re: Puree
sl, yes - i add the puree into the cooked porridge.

thanks flo

i will make sure i check next time instead of just reading from which month. Pigeon food oso added salt leh. then can buy what huh ?

Will confirm with pd tomorrow during consult

DEAR ALL,

Since it is mid auttum, lets have a celebration .. bring bb for the first mid auttum.. Then we move down the crab party ..

Oct- Mid auttum festival
Nov - Crab party

JAn- Welcome the new year cum birthday --------> Rena, should we book a function room like i.e. Mt Faber SAFRA and have a hi-tea sort of thing again? I actually have a quote from them supposedly for september's gathering. But since combine birthday bash, we can spend abit more for this?

Feb - Durian Party ( is it buy durian go botanic garden and eat then plant the seeds there)

Date : Sometime in nov

1) rena + hb + bb
2) angie + hb + bbs
3) tracy + hb + bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) celine + hb + bb
6) sept03bride+hb+bb
7) god's child + hb + bb
8) tabbs+bb+hb
10) babylon + hb + bbs (KIV First, if I can't join, might just drop by to say hi to all, since I stay nearby)

Angie,

sanbei is very heaty for bb.. but the crackers looks yummy even i feel like eating.. but to play safe.. maybe next round when they are bigger.

SY,

elijah todate have about 18 pairs.. coming to 20 soon leh..
so i better ban myself from the marketplace..

sunny,
Sleepingdeer is helping me collect the bag. Thanks.

Sept03bride,
Ariene is using pigeon Magmag. I've a video of her drinking from the mag mag in her blog site. As for Avent training cup, u may want to change to the green colour 6 months spout instead of the white colour 3 months spout as the 3 months spout may be too slow. Ariene is fine with both Avent 6-months spout and magmag. Has been letting her use the training cup since 4 months old.

Mel,

base on experience try if you are engaging new maids then you have to teach and tell them your requirements .. you must remember that their cleaniness and our standards are all totally different...

if you want those that have come here before.. you really have to take note why they when back.. if they went back to get married then it is ok.. try to get the maids whom work here have and employer in the house and not alone..

Well these are my personal views.. maids..are very scary that is why i decided to stay at home