(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

queen,

charmaine still drinks in the middle of the night at ard 3am. I will also latch her on at 7am so when I went to office and pump at 9am, it's quite okay. For the first week, the engorgement's really bad but now breasts have adjusted liao.

re: menses
I still haven't got my menses back.

re: mid autumn
I think the date for this year is 7 Oct. I am kind of keen to bring my bb there this year - of cos must buy her a lantern. Just not sure if the atmosphere would be the same since there's no longer a hcjc anymore.

re: sleeping
so zonked out nowadays. Charmaine will wake up crying at 3am and nothing can pacify her. Need to carry her then when she calms down, latch her on before she can sleep again. Not sure if she's teething again. The last time before her two bottom incisors came out, it wasn't like this leh. In fact, she wasn't cranky at all when the first two teeth came out. hiaz. So tired nowadays.

cindy,

charmaine still can't crawl forward but she can pull herself to a standing position using support and she can stand very firmly using support. I have given up trying to teach her how to crawl.

denmy,

i think sumo having rashes from the blueberries..

Today i left sumo with my MIL and went to see my granny in hospital.. i left only after sumo is sleeping .. my mil call my hb to ask me to come back coz sumo keep crying and keeps coughing and as if wnat to voimit...

very ke lian.. so we rush back.. the moment i reach home he is ok already... he behave as if nothing happen.. funny boy.. mummy cannot relaz

Wendy Ng,
Ariene is so cute with the new hairstyle..sigh.. when can I cut Jamie's hair I wonder..

RE: Bag

Sunny,
Since u reserve the bag first..Rena and me think u can decide if u still want it. So how is ur decision?

Wendy,
Me blur..so is it Wendy Ng or Wenyl that reserved the yellow bag? Can confirm again?

COLLECTION
I will be passing the bag to Cookie on Sat before the tumbletots classes.. sunny and Wendy..will both of u be attending the classes? Or any mummies can help u to collect?
p/s: I am not in the class

AIyoh me is so blur? keep thinking that botanic garden is tomorrow and i ask hb to bring the pram up tonight.. me so blur right!

but hb still bring the pram up and laugh at me..

May,
I'm the one who reserved the bag. I'm also not in the tumbletots class. How can I pay u for the bag? Where do u live?

Tumbletots class this sat
Mummies who are going, anyone of u live in CCK/Bukit Panjang/Bukit batok? Can please help to collect the bag for me?

Flo, Esther,
re: Tontilitis
Yes, PD said it's possible tt bb will get it too. I asked if it was due to mouthing and he said no. It could be anything air-borne from someone's cough in the lift to kissing relatives. Also, the common flu is caused by virus but tontilitis is by bacteria. My hb got it quite frequently when he was a kid too and he had his removed. PD advised that though it's not necessary to have it removed, but if he gets it repeatedly, he can go for an op at 4 years old.

Wendy(slinky),
I don't think I will go for the Tumbletots this Sat. Better keep Keenan at home, in view of his tontilitis. You can either pass me cash when u come and collect the nappies or transfer to my DBS Savings 026-5-012408. O yes, b4 I forget: need to inform you that one of the XL pack is opened with 1 nappy less. I was curious and opened it to have a look when I 1st got it. U ok with that? Also, do you still use breast pads? I have 1 new box and 1 opened (1/2) box of Pigeons disposables. Interested?

Cindy,
No sports for me. We were not allowed as I was in the Chinese Orchestra, too precious to break an arm or leg. I play the er'hu.

RE: Tumbletots
Mamachan, is it ok I replace my name with Cindy's? Cindy I have not paid yet. Think you pay there and can use the trial fee to offset the classes if you decide to join.

*** TUMBLE TOTS CLASS***
Venue: Specialist Centre (John Little), 5th Floor. Cost per child and caregiver: about $24

9th September - CLASS FULL
Time: 3.45pm

1)Flo + hb + bb
2) sl + hb + bb
3) Cookie + hb + bb
4) celine + hb + bb
5) God's child + hb + bb
6) Chillies + hb + bb
7) Cindy + hb + bb
8) sunny + hb + bb
9) sleepingdeer + hb + bb

------------------------------------------------

re: BB's sounds
Wendy, Keenan is like Ariene, will only say Mmmmaa-ma when he's distressed, or had enough of milk/food. Think Ariene is more advance, she actually means what she says. Keenan will also say gor-gor when he sees his bro, not sure if he really means 'big bro', and ba-ba-ba-ba-ba which my hb swears that he's calling him. *roll eyes*

Rena,
your blueberries and cornbread!!!!!

Vivien, thanks for your info. I actually prefer to have the shoot at someone's house. It's more comfortable for bb. Moreover, we have already started talking and been waiting for Flo's fren for a looooong time liao....

VIVIAN"S

1) rena076, Elijah
2) beryhappy, Vivien

Re Photoshoot (Flo)

1. Flo, Melody
2. Rachel, Dylan
3. sleepingdeer, Shannon
4. Lingbel, Christabel
5. Celine, Edgar
6. wenyl, Ethan
7. sl, Charmaine
8. Tracy, Megan
9. Sept03bride, Caleb
10. God's child, Celeste
11. babylon, damien
12. Clare, Ashley
13. valerie, Kirsten
14. Rena076, Elijah
15. Queen, Issac
16. MamaChan, Daren
17. Cookie, kaelyn
18. sunny, YX
19. Tabbiesus, Tabitha
20. SY, JH
21. Sandra, Sarah Mae
22. Sysac, Cephas
23. Denmy, Keenan, Ethan, hb (i want the family package pleeeese...)

Wendy
Oh wow, you cut Ariene's hair by yourself? Great job, nice haircut

Ariene's so smart. My gal also started babbling ma ma, pa pa and bye bye since last week. But dun think she meant what she says.

MamaChan, Sleepingdeer & SSF
Thanks for all your efforts in helping to get the FP musical chair. Mel likes it alot esp the the music that goes "ba ba ba ba ba du ba" But she still dun understand despite trying to explain to her the chair is meant for sitting not standing...haiz

508380.jpg

Denmy

Re: Tonsilitis
Oic, could it be hereditary since his daddy got it when he was young? Ya, I think you better dun bring Keenan out the next 2 weeks cos his immunity is still low.

flo,
I can understand. Ariene is also trying to stand on everything she can get her feet on and shake her butt : pillows, chair, sofa, my tummy and legs, high chair, etc. However, she cant stand without hands yet. Still need to hold on to something with 1 hand. She also like to tip toe while holding on to the top of her play yard to see what lies beyond the play yard.

sunny,
U staying in CCK right? Would u mind helping me collect the bag from May?

Denmy,

I guess it will be the last time stating my presence in this 2006/01 Jan 2006 MTBs thread.

My purpose is to have a photoshoot and the one that held seem like one of the spree that i came across in and wanna share. If you buying clothes at giordano, doesn't mean u can't buy in bossini.

It is a one day event and does not state that those ppl who take up flo's friend package cannot take part in the photoshoot contest. If all of u who went shopping outside and having free voucher abt photo taking for babies directly inside the shopping mall and 100% free. would u reject that offer and say that SORRY, i prefer to shoot at my friend's place and etc. Pls be honest to urself.

Not sure whether anyone of you went to the motherhood exhibtion held in expo or not. I myself also let my anson take part in the photoshoot held by HSBC and who dun wish to let their babies won the most cute babies award.

whenever i went to other website regarding shooting and contest, i will tell u honesty.. if possible, i would like my son to take part. i am proud of him.

But i personally feel tat i am shut off from this jan thread by all of u.

Sorry for being so... cause i am extremely sad by the treatment by all of u.

Vivien (berysad)

Hi mummies;

We've finally settled down in the UK. and I finally have internet access at home..cold turkey for so long.

First 2 weeks were bad, so much unpacking to do..plus Rory was so cranky and would wake up a few times at night crying. I believe it's a combination of the new environment and teething pains. 1 tooth has pushed thru his lower gums.

I miss the food back home..sigh

Here's a pic of Rory helping mummy and daddy with the unpacking.

508486.jpg

and one of him trying to crawl.

508487.jpg

re: bb's milestones

Rory will turn 8 months on the 19th. He can sit up by himself now but can't quite crawl yet though he's on his fours alot. Also have not heard any first words from him yet. He can bear most of his weight on his legs if i support him. Been reading most of your recent posts, bbs here seem so advanced compared to him! i think he's also abit thin, took him to the GP today for his Meningistis C jab, he's only 8.1kg. I'm getting worried

Wendy
Same same, Mel must also need to hold on to something with one hand. She only dare to let go her hand on the bed (only for a few sec)...maybe she fell too many times on the hard ground...keke.

Hi CassCL
Good to hear that you've finally settled down in the UK. Rory is such a handsome boy. I think Rory is doing fine. Some bbs do skip the crawling phase altogether and go straight to standing and walking. His weight seems ok to me, dun think you need to worry too much. BB weight gain will slow as they become more active, plus Rory is probably teething. My gal didn't gain weight at one stage and PD said is normal cos of teething her appetite was affected.

RE: missing home food
I read on the Sunday Times quite sometime back that there a Singaporean run food court in London (I think Chinatown if I remember correctly). Maybe u can check the place out to satisfy your food cravings

Hi Vivien,
I think you have misunderstood all of us. None of us is deliberately shutting you out. I have no idea why you feel this way. As some of the mummies here mentioned, Flo had mentioned a long time ago that her fiend is professional enough to take the group photos for our babies and we have all in principle, keen to engage her friend. The reason why we want to have a group photoshoot is because, mummies here have forged a stong bond since last year through our pregnancies and also into these 8 months of motherhood. Even for newer Jan06 mummies who only just joined our thread (like Sandra, Flo etc.) we welcome them with open arms, inviting them for outings, engaging them actively in our forum discussions. The purpose of having the group photoshoot is really just a symbol of our friendship and none of us is doing this for baby contests etc. And I guess, for most of us 1 photoshoot is enough. And we have decided to go with Flo's friend earlier on. We appreciate that you share the good lobang from Parenthood. If Flo had not mentioned about her firned earlier on, we probably would have taken up your lobang.
I think you have overreacted a little. Your last posting would have hurt a lot of mummies here who have no ill itentions at all for not participating in your photoshoot. Instead your posting make it seem like you are the one with the hidden agenda for joining this thread... Whatever it is, you are always welcomed in our thread and your postings will not be ignored. I'm sorry that you feel this way.

cookie/durianlover
ysterday my mil told me that my gal poo, a bit hard but no blood already.

ya, these few days we are 'stuffing' her with papaya. keke...

denmy
hope keenan recover soon.

may
you mean the back pack or medium sling? if still available, i will take.
how much i owe you and where to collect? can pm me 'cos sometimes too busy to track all the messages here. :p

wendy
i stay at yew tee. no prob. can help you to collect.

cassCL
your boy is so handsome!
don't worry about the motor skills of you boy. i always tell myself not to compare my gal's development with other bbs 'cos every bb is different and they will set their own pace. other bbs' development is for my reference only. as long as my gal is healthy and cheerful, i am satisfied! cheers!

CassCL,
Hello! Glad to hear that your have settled in London. Your Rory is so handsome! A Eurasian baby? Not to worry, My 8.5 month Isaac cannot crawl on all fours too. But he can pull himself up to stand and walk firmly when supported. So maybe our babies are just not interested in crawling?

Re. Fell off bed
Last night had a scare. Isaac fell off my king bed again. HB and I just came home and he was sound asleep in my arms, so we placed him on the bed and put pillow on either side of him. I went to bathe and HB went out to fix a drink. Suddenly there was a loud thug and Isaac was wailing away! I rushed out of the shower still soapy and all and found him on the floor, he was half sitting up with his back leaning against the side table. Think he knocked his head on the side table, really hoped he did not land on his head.

queen,
oh dear, got any bump on head? Must really be careful now. I think they can really roll over pillows or push them away already.

CassCL,
Hey, great to hear from you again! Didnt know your kid is eurasian...aww...sooo cute! I think his weight is fine. Megan is 8.65kg now. So its about there.

Denmy,
Hope Keenan is feeling better! Must be really uncomfy for him...sayang sayang..

Cookie,
oh before i put the pork into the porridge, i use hot water to 'sa' one time first.

Flo,
hmm..sounds like Mel is teething too.

Last night, meg didnt wanna sleep. cried for half hr, nothing to pacify her. she didnt wanna be carried, didnt wan milk, didnt wan pacifier. so no choice i left her sitting in her bed crying while i jus look at her. then she got tired and i carried her, she zonked out immediately. BUT woke up at 3am for milk...

Oh yes, for the photoshoot, i'll have to opt for weekends from 6nov. can't make it on weekdays.

Oh, hope Isaac did fall too badly. I also felt very bad when Mel fell off the bed twice when she was sleeping. Now I tell myself can't leave her alone on my bed even if she's sleeping, must put her in her cot.

hi denmy,

i was in nafa 92-96 for dip in visual comm. that's all there is to it

btw, hope your baby gets better. both my brother and i have tonsilitis since young too but never went for op. have to really watch diet cos more prone to fever.

Vivien,
yes, I think you have overreacted in this case. The mummies here welcome everyone very warmly. I only joined this thread in April this year and have quickly forged bonds with the mummies here.

Besides, your photoshoot is only available on a fixed day, which i'm sure many of the mummies here, including myself are not available. Flo's fren could offer a number of days and it's really more convenient at a home. So we are not boycotting your photoshoot on purpose. We all have our reasons. In fact, if you have been reading our thread, most of our babies are not feeling too well lately so a photoshoot indoors is a better option.

Frankly, your package includes the use of a studio with lightings and even refreshments sound quite doubtful. I hope you do not take offense here, but this is my personal view. Not the views of the other mummies here i must clarify.

Queen,
thumbs up for your excellent reply!

Queen
Hope Isaac is feeling better, must really monitor whether he has vomitting or decrease in food intake. If you are still worry, bring him to a PD. My boy also fell from the bed once, we also placed pillows on all the sides and I just turn my head to draw the curtains and the next moment I heard a thug and he is on the floor wailing away. I think him is more shock then pain.

I didn't know where and how he fell and keep checking for bump, after a while a bump pop on his head,so guess that whether his head landed.

Queen,

i hope isaac is ok..i know how u mus have felt..renee fell off her cot when she was just 4 mths old! i was soooo worried. so from then on, i vowed to myself.never to leave her on any situation that she may fall..even when she's sound asleep..my hb say i super ks! i will go : wat if..wat if..wat if!

Cass,

you boy is sooooo cute!!!! i think you dun have to worry too much. if he's drinking well...he may just be a petite boy now...and motor skills..i also think tat there's no cause for worry..some babies do skip crawling and go straight to walking.

Vivien

Are u the one who sent me a spam email on the photoshoot by parenthood? Pls stop sending me spam mails. If I'm interested, I will go look for it. I'll report to Chin Leng if u do that again. Usually I don't give 2nd chance to spammers.

My boy kenna ear infection again! Now on the other ear. Yesterday, his fever shot up to 39.6 and we hurriedly went to Mt A as my PD's clinic is off on Weds. Last night was a torture. Dunno whether he's trying to torture us or what. My hb had to hum lullaby to him thru out the night. And if he stopped, my boy would cry. My boy even laughed when my hb changed the beat. So i think it's not due to discomfort. He just wanna torture us! In the end, I had to carry and pat him to sleep. Sigh. Total lack of sleep last night.

re teething
JH woke up practically like every half hour last night....sian man...

Mel,
seems like most of us are open to going back. but dunno which day the mid autumn thing is on. hee, definitely will bring bb along!

thanks for the puree info. so u mean u make the puree and keep them then add them into the porridge everyday?

Denmy
my HB is same year as Cindy. he's born in year 76.

poor keenan,..heart ache each time we hear abt bb falling sick.

queen,
hope isaac is alright. do monitor him for 72 hours. now that thye are really active, it really is 24 hours standby to watch them!

wendy
hee i will go to your blog and take a look. ariene can call papa and mama? so smart!

JH has been realy talkative now and he will like make conversation but he hasn't say papa or mama. but i realise he says ah pa sometimes.

he is most talktative just before bedtime each night...

cassCL,
your boy is so handsome!!

mashy,
ear infection can be recurrent. think the prevous issue of Mother & baby had an article on it. u wan? i can dig it out and scan for u.

SY

Gals
Don't bother about this Vivien. Suspect she's from the Parenthood forum, trying to promote her forum or the photography. I did a search on all her threads, all abt parenthood forum and the photography. She even tried to attempt the same thing over at the Apr mummies thread.

Queen,
Oh no, hope Isaac is ok.
Flo,
How ar? I can't put my boy in the cot. He refuses to. He will only sleep on the master bed with us. He will scream if we put him in the cot. Even if I put him there when he is sound asleep...once he turn & open his eyes & realise that he is in the cot, he will scream. :-(

hi mashy,
can understand hw did the ear infection come abt? there are a few types of ear infection right?
Maybe u can record the lullaby down in ur hp, just play it continously, then dun need to sing it the whole nite. Very siong!

Sept

I also dunno. But dr suspect could be due to his runny nose that didn't clear. So it reinfected him.

I tried playing him a CD with the musical lullabies. Still scream.

mashy
i read before that ear infections is very common in small kids. it can keep coming back for no reason. i think tat article will be useful for u.

SH
I also din put JH in cot for long time. what i do is i will put him there in the day. so far he's ok. he has been changing his sleeping arrangements many times liao so he has no choice but to get used to it.

Berries
I read that blueberries are not under the berries category like strawberry, rashberry. So it is ok to give cos it is not under the highly allergic food. Blueberries is very good for eyes.

Peas
I gave Ethan the Heinz organic sweet peas. Although he likes it but I noticed rashes around his neck after eating. How do we test if bb is allergic to certain type of food?

Denmy,
U played er-hu? Me too leh...during my pri school.

SH
My boy boy, same same, when we put him in the cot when he is sound asleep, he don't sleep long too like max 30 mins.

He is used to sleeping with people sleeping beside him. At night, need to constantly pat pat him. In fact I am having the same problem with my elder girl now. She is five and still refuse to sleep alone. Will try to train her again loi.

Sept 03 Bride

Don't think so leh. Been very careful when bathing him. His infant care also knows that he's got ear infection and has disinfected all his stuff too.

mashy,

once damien is having virus infection and admitted in KKH. Me and my hubby being carrying him 24hrs * 3days...Once we put him to the cot (already deep sleep), he started screaming.

I can imagine how you went thru the nite.

Wendyl
To test allergic, you should introduce one type of food / fruits at a time for 3 days and monitor if there are rashes etc.

My girl is allergic to eggs, berries, peanut etc, use to have lot of rashes on her faces if she eats them, now she have outgrown them but sometimes if she eats too much peanut, still will develop rashes.

oh dear mashy, u mus be worried ya
if u know the source of infection, at least easier to prevent hor. Now is duno what caused the infection, very pek chek.

cookie,

I forgot to add that my gal doesn't like cereal. She loves porridge and can finish 1 and 1/2 bowl of porridge using the small pigeon bowl. Me and hubby joked that she's a cheena baby.

tracy,

Thks for the info on the shop at Upper Thomson. Not sure if I wanna get anymore HT/EB stuff since Charmaine doesn't like cereal. I have tried adding purees into cereal - she doesn't really like them either. Not even the HT teething biscuit after she "discovers" (or rather mummy discovers) the pigeon biscuit. Mummies, I got the pigeon biscuits from isetan scotts supermarket and taka. She loves them. Can scream and cry when I tried to take it away. The biscuits break easily unlike the HT teething biscuits but they are really quite safe as they melt when in contact with water.

mashy,
Oh my, ear infection must be painful! My hb kena ear infection before and it hurt like crazy...i think for baby will be painful too..poor thing, hope he recovers soon!

queen,
Can understand how u feel abt isaac falling off the bed again. Sigh. Just hv to monitor, but i think shd be ok. My fren's baby who's 1 year old falls off the bed very often - almost like a common everyday thing. And my fren says initially when he first fell off she freaked out, then when it got more common she got used to it. So now falling off the bed for her boy is quite a "norm" and he has a hardy head! ha

yuenyuen,
Must test for 3 days? If bb got rashes do we still continue to feed tat particular food or stop straight away? How do we deduce it is caused by tat particular food? SOrry so many qns, me very blur lah.

For Ethan's case, the rashes appear the next day after he took the jarred food. I m laying him off the peas for today & next few days. See if the rashes will go away.

tabbiesus,

Wanna check with you - what kind of peas did you feed tabby? How abt the frozen peas? Are they just as good? Just reading abt the goodness of them from queen makes me wanna go supermarket now and buy the peas home.

CassCL,
Glad to hear from u that you're doing fine! Rory is really very handsome and looks ang moh! Dun worry abt weight...my gal is abt 7.4kg...seems quite light but as long as they're developing well and healthy, it's fine

re: HB and MIL

I think I must really be happy that my hubby's really very firm with my MIL. But as with all other hubbies, his instruction always very short and to the point, no explanation. And the funniest part is when my mil asked for the reason, he will just say we read books and the books say so.

wenyl,
If bb develops rashes then stop giving that particular food. Feed him other "normal" stuff and monitor. If rashes go away, means it's that new food that causes the allergy and so try not to feed that food again till he grows a bit older. We usually deduce that bb is allergic to a particular food if u introduce new foods one a time. Quite easy to tell actually i suppose!

durianlover, sy, mel, sh,

The mid autumn celebration this yr is on 7 Oct. Think it falls on the same day as one of the choices of the photoshoot? Shall we plan to go back together and bring bbs as well?

re: photoshoot

flo, we can get the soft copies in CD? Can check how much she charged for developing? I have 20%discount with one photo developer. The cost might be cheaper. If it's cheaper, I can help other mummies to develop the additional shoots as well.

durianlover,
I guess it could be the sweet peas then. Cos that was the only new food i intro on tues & wed. Will continue to monitor. Thanks ya!