(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tracy
i know what you mean =)
thanks for the advise. hopefully i can tahan till he hit 6 months old... which is 4 weeks away! yeah!

wenyl
yah i truly understand what you mean. aiyo thats the thing i hate, so ma fan. feeding him alone have to take so long, so i opt for express out and chop chop finish with pumping and let hb feed him while i can do other things. if not it will took me at least 30mins to latch him and pump out and feed him. sigh...
funny thing is he can suckle and empty my breasts in the night before he go to sleep. notti boy... think its the comfort more than milk he is looking for bah =p

mongs
White River? hows that? heehee

Nepia Cut outs:

Anyone know if Pampers cut outs work the same way? I think Ive asked that before but no one replied. Is it cos no one knows what to do with the Pampers cut-outs?

mamachan
do take care. i kena before so i fully understand to pain. now dont kena liao bcoz not enough milk haha

tracy
wow! dont alamak. happy for megan =)
how i wish dylan have double eye lid...... since both me and hb double, but he dont know why is single. really hope his double can 'appear' as he gets older =p

linda
welcome welcome!

sandra,
i like the "mothers' sanctuary" suggestion. ur good with words..r u a p/t writer??

rachel,
eh? dylan looks like got double eyelid leh..dun worry will appear one. my fren's double eyelid appeared only when he was 20+!

re:japanese
eh, anyone here knows japanese? i learnt it ages ago but kinda forgot liao. my fren ask me how to write 'please contact me'..anyone can advise in romanji?

tracy
maybe he is like me. heehee my double eye lid appear when i start to wear contact lens at 18 years old! later spent a bomb and went to laser my eye =p at least now no need to wear spec liao haha

Tracy,
WOW... so nice that Megan's double eyelid has suddenly appeared! Ashley had double eyelids when she was born and still visible when she was at the hospital but then suddenly disappeared when we went home so sad... now that i know it can suddenly appear again I'll look out hers too... hopefully i dun have to wait 20years!! hee hee...

rachel,
u went to laser ur eye? good leh..i'm wearing contacts. v inconvenient. but i can't bear to spend the $ go do laser. my fren did it in thailand couple of years back.

Clare,
Ya, bought from studio loft package for $68 promo price. have not brought Lucas there as I thought maybe do it when he can sit properly. I like their b&w ones.

tracy,
I also went for lasik at TTSH eye centre Dec 2004. It's one of the best presents I gave myself!

tracy
yah, did it when i was 22. last time my degree super super high. without my spec/contact lens is like blind mouse =p at least now when open my eye everything is clear. happy that i did it, been 7 years...so far so good.

Cindy,
Do u have the Studio loft website address or tel no.?? Oh u went for lasik too?? Me scared leh.. always have this feeling that if u suay suay move your eyeball at the crucial moment thats it!! =P

mashy / clare
its a 5 to 10 mins thingy in the operation theater. chop chop and you are out, the only scary thing is you can smell a burning smell when they start the laser. they just told you to stare at the light.

Clare,
www.thestudioloft.com.sg

I was very stressed at work and fed-up that eyes always super dry from wearing contacts. I didn't know what to expect... you know, even have the 'chau ta' smell when doing the procedure. They got to lasik for quite long on my eyes as my myopia was 750 degree each!

Hi Ling ling,.

We actually almost the same because my chinese name is Ling Ling

My due date EDD is 29 dec 2005 but my girl choose to stay at my tummy.
I was induced on 31 december late afternoon at kkh...due to my water bag is reduce and slightly dangerous,. So no choice have to go for it...

I have 17 hours labour pain,....start from 03:45am on 1 January till 20:30pm on 1 january..
I got no inject Epidural,,,, really unforgettable day,,

But when I saw my bb out, I was happy with tear,. really good to be mummy

Is anybody here is working mum?? I'm working mum...,......here is my girl 3 mths old pict,..My girl start eating on last mth,. first I was given her cereal and a week later, I start given her porridge mix with carrot and potatoes...so far so good so I add some pork and fish too. I must blend the food and brown rice porridge together.....so far she quite enjoyed.

She start craw last 3 weeks,.....and so far so good.

Has anyone here got weight problem , we can share,........

Re: "Dietary Guidelines help to Protect Against Allergy" colour food chart
Received this chart from a colleague. Thought its quite useful so scanned and wanted to share it here BUT file too big leh sighhh... those interested pls PM me okie?? Or i can send to you via MSN... [email protected]

(Ps:the bottom cut off bit is already there when i received the chart. If i'm not wrong it states that SEAFOOD, PEANUTS and EGG WHITE are the highly allergenic foods which should be introduced from 12 mths on)

Tracy/mongs/rachel/sandra chu
Just came back home from the GP. My fever went up to 39.2 degrees. GP had to give me a jab to bring doen the fever. Looks like it's mastitis again (like for the 3rd time since I started breastfeeding). Trying to let Daren suckle more from the infected breast. I'm on antibiotics again...so sianz. I asked GP if it's true that if I want to stop BF, there's a job administered... he told me that no jab, just oral medication that will drain and dry up the milk. So I'm just pondering about that. Now since weaning has taken place with Daren happily tucking into his rice cereals, I keep forgetting to pump my milk out till much later when it's really full. See how things goes.

Welcome Linda Tjhin,
Your surname very unique leh. = ) Wah 17 hours of labour pain and without epidural... I salute you (as well as all those who went without epi)!! Recently I got 2 girlfriends also gave birth without epidural and I was quite amazed coz 1 of them dun even look like she can tahan bit of pain type. So I asked my HB if he thought I very useless so fast gave up asked for epidural that time... he said "Dun be silly... its not how u gave birth but how you bring up the child that matters". Very sweet right?? So think for my 2nd child I would still opt for epi... Hee hee... =P

MamaChan,
Oh dear... I often hav blocked ducts on 1 side too but though i have not reached the stage where I will have fever but its really very XIN KU so i can imagine yours must be even worst... Do Take Care oh!!

hi clare
I just PM U

Hi Linda
I always wish Christa is born on 1st Jan...too bad I have to induce. BTW 1st Jan, got present or not huh...ha ha...I heard last time got free pamper izzit...ha ha

hi mamachan,
My colleagues also took those pills to stop their BF. They said it cause their bust to be much smaller than before.Hmm quite true cos their bust is really quite small.

Hi Linda
Welcome... I'm new too.. my labour was 36hours (w epi)... hit record i think.. i opt for induced and my dilation was only 4.5cm after 36hrs... so gynea say cannot wait liao... so emergency c-section. I was so tired aft my son comes out... really a 9mare..

my nipple bled today for the 1st time.
so sad as i'm scared that if i pump lesser, ms will decrease... can check if any mummies have ever fed bb milk (with a bit of blood)? I read that it's ok but wonder if anyone has done it before?

Sept 03 Bride
Breast smaller not because of the pills. It is because now breast tissues are replaced by milk ducts. Fats in the breast tissues are also used by in the breast milk so lesser fats, so not so firm anymore.

Welcome Linda!

sl,
Old Navy will charge a flat US$5 to ship to VPostUSA in Califonia. VPost charges a falt base charge of S$9.99 irregardless of package weight. On top of that there is a charge of ~S$5.99 for the 1st kg based on actual / voumetric weight (pkg dimension) of the package. So if you just want to order a dress, total cost will be something like cost of dress + US$5 + 9% US tax + S$9.99 + volumetric weight cost. You are looking at easily S$20 or more on top of the cost of the dress. The good thing about sprees is that mummies can share the shipping costs.

Re. stopping BF
Isaac is already 6 months old. I'm still pumping 2 or 3 times at work and once in the middle of the night. I'll latch Isaac once in the evening or sometimes just before leaving for work. Weekends are 100% latching. Dunno when I should stop... cos MS is still ok. Sometimes I feel like stopping, sometimes feel like continuing up to 1 year old...

Re. BF outside
Sometimes Isaac also gets distracted and doesn't drink from the breasts. As long as he's not crying, I take it that he's not that hungry. So I'll just stop and walk around for another 30 mins or so. Then latch him on again, he'll usually drink more.

Mongs,
the nursing rooms in my company is called 'lactation' room. Very to the point. Hahaa....

krissie,
how come your nipple bled?

Sept03Bride/YuenYuen

Haha. I really don't mind my boobs being smaller. Am currently a 38D and when breasts are full, really big lor. Hopefully when I really choose to stop BF, my bra size would be a C. Then can wear back all my bras

Queen
I think BF beyond 6 months is mainly more for the bonding than anything else. Coz once 6 months and beyond, bb will derive their nutrition mainly from solids liaoz. Currently Daren likes to nurse for comfort or to sleep (when outside). At home I'll let him nurse before bedtime but when he starts to doze off I'll end the nursing session and promptly put in in his cot and tell him night night. So cruel hor me?

sleeping deer,

I can make it on thursday..
just let me know the time and place.. but I may not bring pram as my place is not lift level..very mah fan

Mashy,

you can try to give banana to your bb.. or pumkin also can.. coz they help to poo

cookie
I've no choice, got weekdays no time to make the puree. so, hv to use the freeze method.

mamachan
thanks for the detailed explanation. was thinking of starting feeding him 2x a day when he's 6mths. which is in 2 weeks.

denmy
wah, then ok lah.. few months ago, then now then ms drop. qt good liao.

mongs,
I have checked. We are allowed catered food there.

I also have problem with feeding Keenan milk at meal times. He is more interested in food and seems to know that its feeding time and he'll reject his milk feed.

queen,
actually babies although started on solids from 6 mths onwards, still require milk as their main source of nutrition until 1 year old. they will still require around 600ml per day of breastmilk or FM until 1 year old after which their milk intake can gradually reduce to 350ml per day.
Their first year is very impt so if you still have milk, I would advise that you cont to feed him breastmilk.
actually I happened to see a book about weaning. "how weaning happens" which is supported by La Leche League International. started reading a few pgs. very interested as there are mothers with babies of different ages considering weaning and they all have different reasons to begin with. I plan to cont nursing till Clariss is 1 year old then decide again when to stop.

mamachan,
woah...envious of ur cup size leh..take care ya. its best to give our bb BM till 1yr old, but if we've tried our best already, i tink its good enuf. dun feel bad abt stopping BF. we ve to stop one day..

clare,
'happy-dural' aka epidural is the best thing ever invented. why not take it? :p i also kept pondering if i didnt ve high fever dat day, would i be able to deliver naturally instead of c-section? if i didnt take the chicken essence maybe wun ve fever? if i delay the induction date, maybe no fever? then i decided no point thinking about it, baby is safe and healthy n we are happy so oh well, wat the heck!

sigh, last evening brot megan to see PD again. got stronger med to remove the phlegm n antibiotics for 5 days.. he said her diarrhea was due to the phlegm not dissolving n the infection spreading. fever was due to diarrhea. i hope she'll be fine by this week so can go for her jab, which will be long overdue by then.

thank goodness i insisted on bringing her to PD. my FIL was saying no need, babies ve such things once in awhile. if i didnt bring her, the infection could ve got worse.

i asked PD abt teething, he said symptoms r more frequent poo, biting on anything n waking up more at night due to discomfort. but no fever.

my gal recognise the PD already. once we enter the room n she saw his face, she cried. haha. PD was saying,'aiya, she recognise me already lah.'

Tracy - oh, poor Megan... hopes she recover soon. its always so heart pain to see our babies sick...

Rachel - i will be visiting Dr Ng next Wed. will ask him bout the little rashes. but yesterday when i checked Celeste, it was ok aldy wor... but stil will ask him wat it is.let u know wat he say k...

Mamachan - WOW...39degrees is high... if my fever goes to 38, i aldy very kan cheong cos scared Celeste gets it from me... rest well and try to latch n pump more k...

rachel: maybe bb wants to interact with u lor, when we are outside, bb sometimes get distracted too. I used the spare end of the sling to cover her head so that she won;t get distracted. USually I also wait for her to express hunger then I feed her.

to those bfg mom who are persevering: jia you!

krissie: a little blood never mind one...get some lansinoh to expedite healing...

mamachan: think if u want to stop bfg, let it dry naturally will be better?

hello mummies whose babies are drinking similac follow-on and maybe on full FM, I have this $3 discount voucher from my PD for the 900g tin. I have 2 of them. If any of you want, please let me know. I post to you.

Linda

Hehe, welcome. My boy was born around the same time as your bb leh. Which hospital did u deliver? I went thru 18hrs of labour with epi of course. Not so gung ho like u.

Rena
I read somewhere that bb constipate on bananas leh. Dunno why also. :p

Finally he pooed on his own today.
Gave him 2 days of supp and yesterday fed him diluted prune juice. Haha, today pooed orange poo due to his carrots.

sleepingdeer,
I can't make it this thurs for the SAHM outing. Cos I may need to go back office in the afternnon. But Friday should be fine for me. Else, u gals go ahead since Rena & Sandra are ok with thur.

BF
Ethan turn 6mths yesterday. I still remember telling myself that I will try my best to BF him for at least 6mths. Now my NEW goal is to BF him till 1 yr old or till the milk ss dries up. Whichever comes earlier. My galfren BF her boy till almost 18mths old, until her boy indicated that he wants to drink from bottle, not breast! Haa!

Mamachan,
*Envy envy ley!*
kao_drool.gif
Never will I ever reach that size wor!!

Re : Waterproof diapers
Rena - how to tell which is better, the disposable ot normal ones? or is it the normal swim diaper will leak more easily? im stil thinking which i shld get for the gathering also...

Krissie
Why not start with a little rice cereal which is runny in texture 1st? see how your bb takes to it from eating from a spoon? like play play. so when officially 6 months, you can make semi-solids as main meals for bb.

sleepingdeer/rena
This thursday got gathering? where and wat time? I should be able to go, will be my 1st and ladt SAHM gathering as I'll be returning to work in July.

MH
Haha. Not sure how long it'll take to dry up leh...I think I'm still producing alot of milk. I'll see how it goes. Might end up BF for one year but 6 months onwards I plan to give bm via bottle rather than latch on.

Tracy/Wenyl
Don't have to envy cup size...really it's a hassle, especially when it comes to buying clothes! I can't fit alot of nice clothes coz the cutting at the chestt area is small, end up always have to buy L or even XL at times! That is really sian.

Re: Pneumococcal Vaccine
Just to check with mummies who have brought their bbs for this jab, how much does your pd charges per jab? My pd told me that he charges a whopping $170 per jab. Am going to let Daren take this jab from 6 months onwards so he'll only need a total of 3 jabs.

god's child,

waterpoof diapers is better coz is bb poo is watery at leat it doesn't leak out...

mashy,

must go to wet market and buy pang jio is bettter the small type

Sleeping deer ,

let me know what time to meet tomorrow ok...

RE: SAHM gthering for Tomorrow

1) sleeping deer + bb
2) rena + bb