(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Haven't logged on for a long time as i was in KL for the past 7 days. Had lots of fun but some little scares too...with Janelle knocking her head till 2 big dents appeared. We were so frightened but thank God the dents disappeared over the night.

Now we're suffering from the after-effects of the trip as poor Janelle is down with a cough n phlegm coz lots of people n kids at the church camp were sick, think she caught it from them!

Brought her to PD for her cough. She is now 7kg and 63.5cm at exactly 5 months. From her vital statistics, she doesn't seem that big but the strange thing is that everyone who sees her still comment that she's big for her age!

Re: Heinz cereal
Just tried Janelle on it and she LOVES it! Smiled and smiled at me as i fed her. Haha

lingling,
whenever Janelle is stirred from her sleep and cries, i'll pop pacifier back into her mouth n she usually calms down. If she doesn't, i'll pat her, sing to her. If still doesn't work, then i'll carry her to soothe her, then put her down when she's calm. For my gal, it doesn't work to let her cry it out. She just gets more agitated n takes a much much longer time to calm down.

any indication if your bbies are right or left handed yet?
My boy seems to prefer his left hand... dunno if leftie. Should we try to correct them or at least use both hands?

mamachan
when did u start introducing cereal? so fast is eating it 2x a day?

denmy
wah, how long ago did u start on 2 pump a day? guess maybe it's nature's way of weaning us.
re puree, ya, think there's an order, veg, fruit then meat/fish

wendyl
i see. I'm keen to start letting him slp in his own room. but, hb is not that keen. haha..must quickly buy the bb monitor.

Re bb monitors
I misplaced my file on bb monitors. Can trouble mummies to share with bb monitor is good, was thinking of getting one which can detect SIDS. Can recommend, pls. thanks!

Tracy
Hmm... most of the time I have this selfish thought too..when MIL want to carry kaelyn but she ignore her...and I secretly feel happy :p
Last friday, my MIL was leaving our place for home at nite and she say good bye at the door... she keep waving and say good bye but kaelyn was not moved just look at them blankly.. then MIL say oh she too young, dunno how to follow yet.
Think MIL was trying to proof kaelyn will cry for her.. but phew Thank God kaelyn didn't...
I secretly feel happy. I know this is somewhat selfish.. but I can't help it..

Re: Meal planner and recipes
check out the link...hope it's helpful
http://www.organix.com/food_for_babies/recipes_and_meal_planners.cfm

krissie
thanks.. good idea to recycle the scoop. I kept the scoop too maybe I will use that next time.
Strange hor.. gerald also the same.. when nite fall dun like in car seat...

wow u started batch cooking and freezing the puree already? so steady! I only keep thinking but not started yet...and I dunno if my MIL can accept the batch cooking idea.

Hi Rena

Ur boy is so cute... how i wish i could start my boy on cereal and c how he mess up his meal... it would be funny i guess... I'm waiting for end of d mth to start him on cereal... counting dwn d days... ;O)

Mongs
Ur gal looks so pretty in tat hair band and she looks so happy tat mummy doll her up... pretty pretty...

Hi EdKsd
My son was estimated to be 2.8kg just few days b4 he is delivered. Aft delivery, he weighs 2.8kg exactly.. so my gynea calculation quite accurate.

Queen
Issac is so cute, I like him very smilely in 1st pic. He resemble you and yet very boyish kind...keke I think he got your eyes...

Zhimin
your bb look so hip-hop style...keke.. very cute the skirt she wore in the 1st pic, kaelyn also has and I like it so much

babylon
dun be guilty.. in fact I read that when bb has fever should keep them in cool area like air con room but not very cold one la.
Perhaps.. he was cranky to want mummy baobao and comfort him as he dun feel well. not exactly dun like the room...
Hope you bb get well soon

sleepingdeer, yup, grandparents are so kan cheong! Jia you on feeding her the rice cereal. Maybe she hasn't mastered swallowing food yet?

I also feed bored staying at home the whole day. Good idea, let me know when is the gathering!

Wenyl, you stay with your in-laws? Quite intrusive when you want to bring baby up your own way, I'm sure!

Rena, sumo looks so cheeky in the last picture.

Sandra Chu, replied you already! Anyone can view all our postings and some people may take advantage of it, so better be careful...

Cindy, I think can tell by looking at which hand they normally use when they are reaching out for things.

Valerie,
Nope! Thank God I dun stay with them! But they keep popping by my place, sometimes without informing! They came on last Thurs. Then on sat, they wanted to come over but we went out whole day. On Sun, FIL came over in the morning & we still have to go over to their plc for lunch. Then today, both my inlaws came to see bb again. Hiaz! Never ending! I m gonna flee tomorrow!

re: swimming
the clubhouse is freely accessible for anyone who wants a bit of aircon. I thought the bbq pit area is good for our catering as it's more spacious and has more chairs. We can also walk around the poolside with the food, as there are tables and chairs all around.

As for bathing/changing logistics:
As what Rena has suggested, 3 bbs to 1 tub?
There are 2 showers in the changing room and can only squeeze 3-4 sets of parents + bbs at one time. So we'll have to take turns. Maybe some on showers and some on baths?

Swimming Gathering

Where: Waterplace Condo @Tanjong Rhu Road
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday
Time: 1-5pm
Food: Cater

1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (TBC)
3. sunny + HB + BB (TBC)
4. tracy + HB + BB (not swimming but going)
5. REna + BB + HB
6. rachel + BB + HB (not swimming but going)
7. Cookie + BB+HB ( not confirm if swimming or not)
8. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb (if 1st July or later)
9. Clare + BB + HB
10. god's child + HB + BB (not swimming but going )
11. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (if 1st July or later)
12. Mongs + HB +BB (TBC)
13. queen + HB + BB (TBC)
14. valerie + HB + BB
15. sl+ HB +BB (TBC)
16. Cindy + HB + BB (going, swimming to confirm)
17. Krissie + Hb + BB (TBC)
18. SY + HB + bb (TBC)
19. Tabby + Hb+ bb
20. Sandra (sunraye)

Waiting list

1)

I'll bring my bath tub and 2 more mummies can share with me. Just add your names below as follows:

Sharing of Bath tubs & bathing lotion:
1) Denmy (Tub & changing mat) +
2) Rena (Tub) +

Ling Ling
Maybe you can try when she 1st wake up at 12 mn and cry, allow 10 min to pass 1st to see if she'll go back to sleep. If not, then go in and pat pat her and reassure her that it's nighty time and then go out of the room and wait for another 5-10 min. If her crying gets out of hand and you think it's best to calm and soothe her the ways you normally do, then do what you think it's best. COuld it be she's hungry? And what's her last feed for the night? our BBs now should theorectically be able to sleep through the night without waking up for feed. But it's usually a baby to baby thing.

krissie
I started my boy on rice cereal at around 4.5 months. Actually was more for him to play play and sample the rice cereal and to get the idea of eating from a spoon. But as each day passes, he seems to enjoy more and more and so I increase the amount to be fed to him. After 2 weeks of eating one mini-meal a day, I increased to 2x or sometimes 3x a day. I've started introducing to him sweet potato puree, baby sweet pea puree, apple puree and soon will give him pear and banana puree. Once he has started sampling and taking well to the individual foods, I started just today mixing the sweet pea puree into the rice cereal. My boy is now 5 months and 2 weeks old.

In fact rice cereals are the safest 1st foods to introduce to bbs at 4 months and causes least allergies. If there's any allergies, asthma, eczema history in your family, there are certain foods to avoid. Other than that, it's quite safe to introduce semi-solids to bb at 4 months, not so much to replace their milk feeds, more on introducing to them eating from a spoon. So by 6 months, when weaning is well under way, their iron and zinc nutritional needs will be adequately met and perhaps also less fussy about what they eat? However, milk intake should still remain their priority food intake during 4 - 5 months.

re: peas
Tabbs, you can use frozen peas. Frozen veg is just as good as fresh one in terms of vitamins etc. cos they get packed as soon as they are harvested.

Valerie,
I got the Maxi-cosi Priori liao, also from baby Hyperstore. Just becos its sitting in my living room and I was just wondering when I can start using it lor...

Cindy,
re: From Enfalac to Similac
It's a long story lor.... basically I have lost confidence in Mead Johson and their Enfalac/ Enfapro.

Just as there was some discussion on the brand changing their FM tin lids from white to gold, there was this lady who tries to sell $23 per tin from the usual $30.80. See link: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?270192/422055

So I went to Simei NTUC check out the follow-on FMs in the market and found 2 pricings for the Enfapro A+. Old one is $20.80 (meant for bbs 6mths onwards) and the new one being $30.80 (7 mths onwards). $10 difference is a lot. I wonder why has M. Johnson up the price... just becos they have recently added Choline in the new tin with a gold lid? Also, why only such recent decision to add Choline when all the other brands of Fm already has this ingredient in them? Also, this Ren Tai Tang shop in Pasir Ris is selling it a little cheaper than supermarkets and the staff there actually ask for the gold lids back from the mummies and they claim that they have to prove sales to their boss?!?!? A bit unbelievable lor...So we better be careful when we buy the FM. Its better if we go to bigger supermarkets for the FM. It's safer la. Also another thing you might want to note is that the new Enfapro that comes with a gold lid has a large sticker sticking over the lid and the tin, to prevent tampering. The new Enfalac hasn't got a sticker though....

I am a little concerned that unscrupulous vendors outside would try to cheat unknowing mummies. And also I know that Similac doesn't contain palm oil, as it hinders absorption of Calcium... so I am giving it a try.

Sandra,
Added u to the list. It will be shown the next time round.

Tracy,
YOU LONG ZI also say same thing.. he say Jamie got REN YUAN, anyone see her will like her. She will be pretty and clever, will have alot of TAO HUA.He also say she will be easy to look after. not sure if it is true but the REN YUAN and easy to look after is quite true since she is born. And the bad things he say is: Never step into CHENG HUANG MIAO, dun go oversea and dun go to strange place when she is before 3yrs old.
My youngest cousin was told not to go near water before age 4.

RE: Jamie's Poo
Can't remember who asked regarding her poo pattern since she is on Friso. Jamie poo every day..either morning at 9am+ or night time 8pm+. Quite standard. She drinks lots of water during the day. My mum will feed her water 1hr after her FM time.

I can't wait to start Jamie on cereal... hubby still insist we wait till 6mths. Going to bring her for the last jab 6-in-1 tomorrow..hmm..should I say today instead since it is over 12 midnight already.

I am still clearing my ML..still got 4.5days to go before Jamie hit 6mths. My boss force me to take once a week. after clearing ML, I still have last yr 5days AL and this yr 2days of childcare leave. Going to keep this yr 14days AL for next yr. Must make full use of these leave...hehe

Rena
Sumo looks so adorable! Haha, really wanna soft pinch his chubby cheeks! I have the same cot cover set from Aussino as you! Heh heh. Oh yah, maybe you want to wait for a few days later before giving sumo banana again? I read in the weaning book that sometimes bb don't like certain tastes as it's unfamiliar to them. Try again after 1 to 2 days later then give again. =)

Cookie
Can understand that feeling. I think most moms here wants to be the MAIN person in our bbs lives. After all, it's we who gave birth to them and nursed them for as long as we can. No matter how, mom's the best!

God's child
my gal also same as celest... tend to throw up milk and I always worry whenever she do so.
I have to be extra careful even when feeding her cos she can hold those milkin her throat and choke and vomit out...aggrrhhh...
after regurgitate, she can still smile..faint.
hmmm... dun be too angry... oh dun place celest unattended on sofa.. can be dangerous.

mong
your gal very nice eyes... so big too and expressive. No double eyelid? maybe it's hidden inside..

When kaelyn wake up in the morning.. she has no double eyelid too...keke and much smaller eyes.

Edksd
I remember bb was 3.2 at week 32 and at 40wk+3 she was 3755kg/

Rena
Sumo really cute.. I saw his arm like lotus roots wanna pinch

Valerie
My MIL also complain the carter's romper I bought was thick but I find it very thin and comfy ley...she hardly let kaelyn wear..
instead she went market buy some top which is to me equally or more thick then the rompers and can tell me it's 100% cotton and very cooling... wah piang.. then what is my carter's make of?? faint...

wah, i permenantly cant keep up with the postings. really too many. pls pardon my slow response.

tabb
I bot an ice cube tray with lid at NTUC Thomson Plaze. $1.90 per tray, i think. IT's not air tight. I'll wrap it with glad wrap before freezing.

cindy
sorry, forgot to reply to you. pai sei.
u dun accept PM. u PM me can.. dun wnna put my hp no. here. a lot of spam lately. thanks. heehee..me also wanna join in for the wetwipes if you're org.

Cindy - i also realise Celeste uses her left hand more... so i try to let her hold things in her right hand... hopefully she can be a right hander else she be elbow fighting wf us at the dining table!

Cookie - oh yes, i hate to see her throw up... always make me worried. tats y i am specially careful when feeding and burping her...

Baobao - you can order the stuff by e-mailing her at [email protected] have great fun shopping! hee...

Rena - is tat pumpkin puree ta u fed sumo? do u give it wf cereal or purely on its own?

Re : First fruit - APPLE!

i was so excited bout letting Celeste try some apple juice yest... i used a teaspoon to scrape alittle juice and fed her... her expression was so cute!
at first it was a frown cum constant smacking of her lips... after a few more spoons, she was liking it and kept looking at the apple! surprisingly, she licked every bit of it and left none to the bib..haha

durian lover,

i experience the same thing too.. sumo was sick when he came back from church camp too.. he had fever flu and cough..

Cindy,

do J& J has wipes for just the hand and mouth?

my sumo is also a leftie too.. he sucks his left hand most of the time and he like to reach out for thing using his left hand more often.

cookie,
the reasoning is that she wants you to know that you do not know how to purchase things for your bb but she knows her well and know what is more suitable for her lor..

my MIL also like that sometimes

so many postings! juz manage to scan thru quickly.

Re:Baby sick
baby meg had diarrhea and fever last night after coming back from wedding din. at the din, she decided to poo n dirty her new stockings, so i threw the stockings away. at dat time, the poo was still fine, sticky type.

reach home at 11.30pm, she poo watery poo once, at 12mn another time, than another at 12.30am. then slept at 1am..at 4am woke up, poo watery type another 3x..

i took her temp, 38deg. so gave her paracetamol from PD dat time from jab. so far no more diarrhea. at 7.30am, temp was 37.6deg..

told MIL to monitor, if still got fever, will bring her see PD tonight. thank god its open this evening.

heartache...wonder if its cos she touched something dirty at the wed din and put hands into mouth..so many people carry..

durianlover,
people also think my gal is huge for her age. she's 7kg, 68cm at 5mths. at the PD's that day, a lady asked me how old, when i told her, her eyes open big big..

Cindy,
my nephew started using his left hand to handle things since young. my SIL kept trying to correct him, which i tink is unnecessary. if they are destined to be lefties, y not jus let it be? jus my view..no harm right?

krissie
i jus started dropping my 2pm pump last Fri. so now only pump at 6am and 10pm, each pump can get 220ml. total amt has reduced compared to last time, each pump 180ml x 3pumps.

Denmy,
think it will be good to check if your friend's condo allows caterer to put the food at the BBQ area. my management doesn't allow that.

Clariss took her HT brown rice cereal very well though it's her first time yesterday. it's not messy at all, she know that she needs to open her mouth when my MIL bring the spoon to her mouth. also, I bought the special weaning spoon that is swallow and has a little bump behind that aid to push the food in. My SIL took a video clip of her eating away. however, she is a bit unwilling to finish the half bottle milk after the cereal. told my MIL to give her a full bottle today and wait 1/2 hr to 1hr then eat cereal. maybe my MIL gave her too much for a start. any mummies have prob with the milk as well? I will cont feeding her with cereal for a week before introducing carrot puree.

edksd,
i've replied you too..
estimated (before delivery) = 2.7kg as at 36wks
actual weight (after delivered) = 3.1kg

edksd,
estimated (before delivery) = 3kg plus as at 37wks
actual weight (after delivered) = 2.83kg
can be plus minus 10%

Hi Krissie,
we started Shannon in her room the moment she came home after the one month confinement period at my mum's place, so she is very used to sleeping alone now... there are two different schools of thought... one says cosleeping promotes independence, the other says it makes the child too clingy and more difficult to sleep on his own...

hi Wenyl, Valerie, Sandra, Rena,
yeah, Wenyl's idea sounds good... are you ladies free this thursday? Any SAHM wanna join in?

Cindy,
maybe your boi is very creative, coz lefties work better with their right side of the brain, so they are supposedly more creative...
i think no harm if he is a leftie... more unique..

Valerie,
you are so right... how I wish that I was living on my own sometimes... no pressure at all... that's why I wana get out of the house.. hee hee... but sometimes want to stay at home to reat also feel a little uneasy with MIL hovering around...

sl,
heehee, yah loh, me very siao one hor. Keep organizing Old Navy sprees. Initially just want to buy for my boy, now end up buying a lot of stuff for myself too!
Old Navy does not ship internationally. What we can do is to use VPost by SingPost (www.vpost.com.sg). VPost has a US processing centre which will redirect the package to Singapore. So Old Navy will ship the items to VPostUSA. When placing orders at Old Navy, state VPostUSA's address as the shipping address. Note that Old Navy also does not accept international credit cards with non-US billing address. So have to call up the bank to add an alternate billing address (as VPostUSA's shipping address) to our credit cards. ON is quite strict on this, they will do random checks and actually bother to call up Singapore banks to check on our cards. For VPost charges, can refer to their website. If you thinking of ordering yourself (as in not taking part in sprees), have to bear all the shipping cost yourself. Can be quite costly.

cookie,
yah, I also think Isaac has my eyes. But a lot of people stil say he resembles my HB more.

Re. poo & semi-solids
After starting on rice cereals, my boy only poo once in 2 days! He used to poo at least twice a day when on total BM.

Re. baby massage
Any of you here still diligently massaging your baby? I don't really follow the full routine which we learn at the fist, massage gathering but will do a mini one after Isaac had his bath. Basically just massaging his arms, leg and chest. Will sing to him at the same time. He'll look and smile at me when I massage his chest. Think he loves it!

All the baby pics are so cute...
Our babies have really grown! More and more like little boys and girls rather than babies.

krissie,
You've got mail.

Denmy,
Ya... I suppose it is really no good if manufacturers try to profiteer and charge consumers unreasonably with just a 'new ingredient' or packaging upgrade. But i must say, both Sumo and Keenan are weight champions and both drink Enfalac.

edksd

Est: 2.5kg
Actual: 2.8kg

Re: Solids and constipation
My boy has started on cereals & some vege. Now he's having very bad constipation. So poor thing! He didn't poo for 4 days, so yesterday I gave him a supp in his ass. His poo came out hard and he had to strain. It must have been so painful coz he started to cry. When his daddy came home, we gave him a 2nd supp, he cried even louder and more poo came out. This morn, he tried to poo, but couldn't. Think tonight gotta supp him again.
I see him cry so heart pain.

He doesn't like his water and juices leh. Any other ways to ease constipation?

Krissie,
I am using Angelcare montinor for my gal now... it has SIDS detection... bought it from RObinson's at about $200+..

RE:Gathering
I can bring my bathtub to the gathering if other mummies wanna share with me...

Swimming Gathering

2. Wenyl + HB + BB (TBC)
3. sunny + HB + BB (TBC)
5. REna + BB + HB
8. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb
9. Clare + BB + HB
10. god's child + HB + BB (not swimming but going )
12. Mongs + HB +BB (TBC)
14. valerie + HB + BB
15. sl+ HB +BB (TBC)
18. SY + HB + bb (TBC)
19. Tabby + Hb+ bb
20. Sandra (sunraye)

Waiting list

1)

I'll bring my bath tub and 2 more mummies can share with me. Just add your names below as follows:

2) Rena (Tub) +
3) sleepingdeer (Tub) +

Hi wenyl,
yes! The teething biscuit is soooo messy, Shannon smelled like maple all over after it... somemore the smell won't come off unless you wash her fingers very long and with soap.. haa haa... no baby smell liao...

tracy,
oh dear, I hope Meagan is feeling better today...

Tracy/sleepingdeer,
I also dun mind him being a leftie. It's my mom and hb who try to make him use his right hand more. He can be holding a teether on his right hand but end up sucking his left thumb haha..

Rena,
The Fresh Cleansing Wipes can be used for hands and mouth. Hypoallergenic with no added ingredients of aloe etc. The 20s would be useful for outings. Lemme see if can get freebies to bring to gathering again.

I think it may sound a bit silly but just wanna ask around to be safe than sorry...hee...KS abit..

Is it OK to give blood donation when I am currently nursing? There is a blood donation event coming in my company and I would like to help but not sure if 'loses' of blood will affect me or not...

wenyl,

Ya - agreed that the HT teething biscuit can be very messy. Charmaine smelt of cinnamon after eating the biscuit.

cindy,

I suspect that my gal is left-handed. She can hold and grab things better with her left hand.

durianlover,

Glad that you enjoyed yourself in KL. Will pray that Janelle recovered fast fast.

krissie,

I saw this bb monitor at the motherhood exhibition which seems quite good. It is a wireless system with a handheld monitor. Can see and hear bb. BUT the downside is the cost - $500+ very ex.

Cindy - can add me in when u wana order? me email add is [email protected] Thanks for helping me get such cheap wipes!

Mashy - is your solids very pasty? y not try adding more water or milk to make it watery? or u can try giving a little gripe water /barley ( without rock sugar )... barley helps to bring down the heatiness and aids in preventing constipation. Celeste loves her barley...

Swimming Gathering

2. Wenyl + HB + BB (TBC)
3. sunny + HB + BB (TBC)
5. REna + BB + HB
8. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb
9. Clare + BB + HB
10. god's child + HB + BB
12. Mongs + HB +BB (TBC)
14. valerie + HB + BB
15. sl+ HB +BB (TBC)
18. SY + HB + bb (TBC)
19. Tabby + Hb+ bb
20. Sandra (sunraye)

Waiting list

1)

2) Rena (Tub) +
3) sleepingdeer (Tub) +

do we need more bath tubs? cos there are 20 babies... i can bring mine too since HB be coming along as well...

mashy - i mean pasty solids, not poo... cos i realise when celeste's solids a little pasty, she can skip a day of poo. but when i add more milk to make it watery, her poo pattern is back to normal... does caeden not drink any water at all? he doesn't like his apple juice?

EdKsd,

My gal was estimated to be 3.1kg but she's 2.9kg. A bit off. But then I missed the last 2 appts below I deliver cos I forgot abt them. So the estimate is actually at 37wks.

Ling Ling,
Cannot donate blood if breastfeeding.
I was a regular blood donor but stopped since preggy. I checked on the Singapore Blood Bank webby that BF mothers cannot donate blood.

re: mil

rena, I totally agree with you. My mil likes to buy ugly-looking clothes for my gal from the mkt. What I do is that when we are just bringing the bb to her hse and nowhere else, I will dress her in the clothes she bought. If we are going out, then I will dress her in the clothes I bought. : )

Queen,

thks! I know you very pro-ON. But their stuff is really cute! I saw this jumper dress that I like very much so was thinking of ordering it. what's the shipping costs like in total? any advice?

mashy,

must slowly train bb to drink water. Initially my gal hated water as well. Water no taste but mummy's milk sweet mah. She would blow out the water after the second mouth. Now better, at least she can drink a few more spoonfuls of water.