(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tracy,
poor megan. when my boy had diar. i so sim tia. I guess the older generation feels that we every little thing also kan cheong, must see doc. But sometimes its better to play safe. u nv know.

Mongs,
How abt "Expressing" Love???

Hi Mamachan and Rena,
how about Bugis Junction, maybe about 2 - 3pm? Their nusring room and changing facilities are pretty good? We can do shopping there, and for tea, we can sit at the hotel lounge with big sofas and have tea there... haha, if not, there's Starbucks, V8, which is tucked away in a quiet corner, and some other small cafes.. any other suggestion?

Rena,
I think I may not bring pram also... see how... if I can catch a cab, then okie, if not, then will be carrying Shannon....

Any other mummy wanna join?

Sandra,
what time your hubby coming back and what time you need to pick him up?

oops,
just saw Wenyl's posting... you gals okie with Friday so that Wenyl can join? The more the merrier, can you ladies make it? If not, we will stick with Thursday... I am okie with both...

Re: Pneumococcal Vaccine
what's the gap for each jab? like mamachan, also would like to know the price.

rena
sumo looks difference from what i saw him last time. getting more handsome!

so many postings since i last logged in.

queen,

thanks for your detailed explanation. wow! the shipping costs can be so ex! i will reconsider already.

Mamachan - Cephas has taken 3 doses of the Pnemmococcal Vaccine. At NUH, I pay $153.56 for each jab. He took it at 4 mths, 5 mths & yesterday. PD told me last jab when he turns 18 mths.

Cindy - I think Cephas is right-handed. He uses his rt hand to pick up things most of the time. Oh yes, he sucks only his rt thumb. Anyway, HB & I discussed that we will not correct him shd he be a leftie.

SAHM gathering
I'm cool with either Thursday or Friday. Bugis junction should be fine, I've not seen their nursing room facilities yet, izzit good? I think I'll be bringing stroller, coz taking MRT. haha, end up I may just be oushing an empty stroller and carrying Daren =

sunny
I heard from my pd that the interval between each pneumococcal jab is 2 months

mamachan: I always prefer latching on, cos no need to wash and sterilise bottle...I can remember when I bring my big gal to Penang when she is 13 months old..it's so convenient..no need to bring bottles or powders...her diapers are already taking a lot of space...

sysac: wow! must be tiring on you

re: bf

queen,

I have the same dilemma too. Initially I just keep telling myself that die die must continue till bb's 6mths. Now that the 6mths target is close, I am also of 2 minds about whether to stop or not. I read somewhere that bbs will indicate when they want to wean and that it's "cruel" to forcibly wean them off when they still want to be bfed.

ling ling,

I also have this problem. My gal doesn't like bottle. My mum has difficulties in feeding her via the bottle.

sleepingdeer,

where's the nursing room at Bugis Junction? I wanted to go somewhere for shopping other than Tangs, Taka, Paragon but don't dare to cos don't know if there's a nursing room. There's this time that I met some frens for lunch at Harbourfront and couldn't find a nursing room. Ended up feeding my bb at some isolated corner at the ferry terminal. Hiaz.

dear all...

MIL just told me Celeste threw up half her cereal feed... it wasnt a forceful one but im worried that its reflux. the last time when she threw up was sunday cos of my stupid maid who left her on the sofa after milk feed. and now again... should i be concerned? felt like taking her to PD tontie but MIL say wait til next week when going for the jab... i check the net and it says bad breath is a sign of reflux cos of the mucus in their throat. prob tats y she kept gagging and playing wf saliva in her mouth??? the bad breath is not always there but certain days only... yesterday i smell her mouth,was ok leh...

any baby has bad breath? they say when they are on formula milk and taking cereal, will likely cause bad breath... is it true???

Tracy, my 'england' ok only lah... p/t writing for fun only... the last time got published was in 2004.... long, long ago already.

Anyone knows about the Pampers cut-out points thingie? I'm really bugged about it. Pai seh... =P

Mamachan, really hope ur fever is down by now. Mastitis REALLY no joke.... pain pain. U r very lucky to be so well-endowed. I'm only a C-cup now becos of BF. Normally only A/B cup. =/ Shudder to think about when I stop BF, and when my boobs shrivel up.... *faint*

Sleepingdeer, my hb cannot confirm the time leh (says depending on his client) n friday I got yum cha with my aunty. So, guess i won't be coming for SAHM outing unless u gals r around suntec city/ raffles place on Friday.

Linda tjhin, r u Indonesian? U're really amazing to last 17 hrs w/o epidural. My labor only 6 hours in total or so and I was already dying from the pain. I asked for epidural when I was 4cm dilated, but unfortunately the drug only worked for 1hr. Doc and Nurses say afterwards that I happen to be one of the 'lucky few' that is resistant to the epidural drug. Imagine, they pump me the maximum allowed for the drug but I can still feel them pinching my leg after that. Ai yoh... The nightmare was during the 1hr that it worked, my OB went to burst my waterbag and injected me with drugs to speed up contractions. The pain that hit me when the epidural wore off was indescribable. I still tear when i think about it. hiaz...

Sysac, my future SIL very good weight... hmmmm....*impress* =)

Re baby true handedness:
Doesnt matter for me which hand Sarah is better with as long as she is happy and healthy. My hb is left-handed and apart from dinner table 'collisions', i have no problem with it.

Sandra Chu
Haha. You sound so funny, boobs shrivel up... my fever is now much better contained. Thanks for your well wishes. Oh yah, checked in on sarah mae's blog, so cute! You're very good with words. You must have aced at Literature?

Sysac
Thanks for the info about pricing. NUH pricing is cheap...but to go all the way there for bb's jab, abit not convenient. The price is not including consultation right?

sl
I read somewhere about forcing baby off the breast too. I guess we have to encourage them by offering the bottle 1st then breast as last resort. My aunt shared with me that she was happily bf my cousin (her eldest gal), turn out that even at age 4, she doesn't want to wean off! In fact her younger brother was born already and she bf tandem!! So she had no choice but to cold-turkey her gal off the breast.

god's child
oh dear, I hope Celeste is feeling much better now. Did she have alot of cereal? Overeat maybe?

mamachan - she was only halfway thru the bowl... cos this notti gal was arching her back and turning here and there on the bouncer during feed... we always need 2 persons to help - 1 being entertainer ( shaking rattles and acting clown ) and the other - feeder. and also, my maid tends to feed alittle fast at times... argh...

i cant keep my mind off the throwing up now. had the urge to run home and hold her in my arms... though she was stil happily playing after tat and managed to down another 140ml milk, i cant help but worry... im a paranoid mum!!!

mamachan

sysac
wow... your bb is growing well!!!

queen, sl
me too!!! i set my target as 6 mth TBF. now, getting close to 6 mths liao... have 2nd thought of stretch my target to 1 yr. hehe.... 'cos with BF, it's so easy to bring my gal out alone...

btw, can BB drink fresh milk after 1 yr? if yes, then if bring bb out, can just order fresh milk for them to drink.

those who bring bb to see Doc Ng at kidslink, does he charge consultation fee when bring bb for jab everytime?

sunny
I read somewhere in the weaning book that around 9 months can give them fresh milk? But it's really subjected to if your bb's tummy can take it lor...some even recommend giving plain unsweetened yoghurt! I'm like "Wah.... really very ang moh style of feeding lor" so depends case by case.

BF
I agree that it's totally very convenient, no need bottles, etc. Now that I'm getting there to bf for 6 months, am just wondering if to stretch it to a year or so. Maybe at home I'll bottle feed bb EBM while when outside, just latch on... change bb's style of nursing.

Rena - she has started on semi solids since 4mths old, aldy fed her for 1mth plus... my gal just loves to gargle the food in her mouth and make those funni sounds - which i simply HATE! cos she will choke and sometimes cos of it, throw up... other than tat, most times she can take her cereal very well, esp the mixed fruits one...haiz... hw can i relay the message to her : STOP playing wf your food!!!

Rena, u mind if i buy 2 swim diapers from you to try out? if its good then i will go and buy a pack. is there any sizing on it? my gal is coming 7kg.

mamachan - tats also one thing im pondering bout. i have aldy told the maid to make it more watery by adding more milk, but i think sometimes she will stil make it a little pasty ( easier to feed and faster ). i am thinking of doing porridge cos it shld be easier to swallow as compared to brown rice cereal... u think it will be better?

Hi mummies....me going back to work soon...been going back for remedial classes and to clear work in school too...sigh...hehe....

Juz brought baby for his 5th month jab...didn't opt for the pnemonnacal jab though...he currently weighs 8.1kg.....He's started to take rice cereal...somedays Heinz and somedays HT brown rice...I also feed him baby bites....recently, I've been letting him lick and suck on oranges and papaya and he seems to enjoy it...but of course not eating lah...he will just lick with his tongue...hehe...so cute right?

With regards to MS...My MS got better after the Port Dickson trip...probably cos I had been latching him on throughout the trip....but...once I get back to work...I'm certain my MS will fluctuate all over again...now...only left with 18 frozen packets of milk in storage...worried....so....I'm targetting to BF till 6 mths old...but nw that he's reaching 6 mths and I can continue to pump...I'll continue to feed him till he's 1 yr old....hehe...

K...gotta run...will come in as and when I can...till then...tata...

god's child,

I dun mind sharing .. let me check and let you know the size.. later

Where: Waterplace Condo @Tanjong Rhu Road
What: Heated Whirlpool
Date: 8 July, Saturday
Time: 1-5pm
Food: Cater

1. Denmy + HB + BB + elder son
2. Wenyl + HB + BB (TBC)
3. sunny + HB + BB (TBC)
4. tracy + HB + BB (not swimming but going)
5. REna + BB + HB
6. rachel + BB + HB (not swimming but going)
7. Cookie + BB+HB ( not confirm if swimming or not)
8. sleepingdeer +BB + Hb
9. Clare + BB + HB
10. god's child + HB + BB (not swimming but going )
11. Mashy+ Hb+ BB (if 1st July or later)
12. Mongs + HB +BB (TBC)
13. queen + HB + BB (TBC)
14. valerie + HB + BB
15. sl+ HB +BB (TBC)
16. Cindy + HB + BB (going, swimming to confirm)
17. Krissie + Hb + BB (TBC)
18. SY + HB + bb (TBC)
19. Tabby + Hb+ bb
20. Sandra (sunraye)

Waiting list

1)

I'll bring my bath tub and 2 more mummies can share with me. Just add your names below as follows:

Sharing of Bath tubs & bathing lotion:
1) Denmy (Tub & changing mat) +
2) sleepingdeer (Tub) + Rena
3) sandra( sunraye) (tub) +

god's child
why not you regulate the exact amount of milk used to mix the cereal? And ask your maid to follow exactly that amount until Celeste is capable of swallowing thicker cereal feeds. But since Celeste have been on rice cereal for 1 month already, pasty cereal should be alright. I feed Daren quite pasty cereal and he takes it alright. I guess sometimes alternating cereal with water during the feed might encourage your gal to swallow the cereal down? I'm not too sure about porridge. Can try it out. I'm thinking of learning to cook porridge for Daren. My MIL was telling me can use pork (scrape it till it becomes puree like) for bb or pound ikan bilis.

God Child,

My BB also have cereal for 2 times a day and porridge ( Brownrice ), carrot, potatoe, fish and pork ( After Cook + Blend ). So far got no this problem but you may let your bb try this Barley cook with pear,........
Cereal will cause heaty and some bb their body are easy get heaty,....and this barley water with pear will solve constipation problem.
I cooked that for my bb and her stoolll... was ok,.
Do not forgot to cook the pear till really absorbed with the barley water ( will see the Pear become soft ).
And futher more, I let my bb try Vitamin and Omega 3 since 3 days after back from KK hospital..
The omega 3 and Vitamin is liquid type. And so far quite good, as I have took this when I was pregnant,.....
If your mummy believe, your may let your bb try,...
Some BB also not ready for solid food as I got to know from the doctor at KK hospital. As I let her know my bb was start eating porridge at 4 mths old,...she said keep on if bb not vomit at all and must give them water together with the food.
She also encourage me to give bb meal for 3 times a day since my bb like it. So I have start for almost 1 and half mth for the solid food,..
I got some solid food ingredient if anyone of you interested,...

Sandra,.

Yeah I'm Indonesia chinese and PR here. I have stayed here for 10 years....( Studied ).
I understand that really pain on that situation..
But my father in law was advise me not take,.as it will hurt our bodyyyyy. so I just keep quiet at that time,.....

I got a cream can use for bb who have racess,...

Any outing for your mummy meeting?? Can I join???

God's CHild
I will be worried too if I were u... no lar not paranoid

I am always hoping that my gal will out grown the vomit milk phase.. not I read that possible to vomit cereal too and abt reflux.. looks like I got to check with PD too this sat when I bring her to jab.

Re: Prevar jab-pneumococcal jab
Now I cannot decide if I should let Kaelyn take the jab before 6 mths. for sure I will let her take the jab but I also heard from friends that there was concern for injection so many vaccine into bb at young age.. cos all vaccine are virus in nature and let bb body to fight against with.
I willprobably ask PD on this too.

I am very worried and mad this two days. Brought Jamie to KKH this morning.
This is what happened:

-Previous 2 jabs we gave her panadol(liquid) after the jabs so that she will not have fever and she is fine.
- 6 Jun she develop rashes after taking the same medicine from the same GP and I stop the medicine immediately and change to NAM SENG (another GP)
- yday brought her to the usual GP again for jab but I told her Jamie HAS GOT allergy previous time when taking panadol.
- GP reply is never mind can take
- 3pm feed Jamie..7pm rashes starts
- I stopped her 9pm dose and wait to see if it will subside
- 12midnight swelling began and rashes spread from her neck to ears and now to face.
- 5am she is running high fever at 38.
- Brought her to KKH
- Doc say she is allergy to PANADOL..we can do nothing now..only can sponge her
- must go back to KKH after she recover to do a series of blood test for drug allergy

Poor Jamie still having rashes and fever but no medicine can help her to ease the pain. I am very worried that the fever will cause brain damage.

I am very angry for the GP that don't bother abt my feedback on the drug allergy. Was telling hubby that I feel like sending her a lawyer letter to ask her to compensate the hospital bills. Although it is not huge but I consider it as very dangerous.

Any mummies has suggestions/knowledge/experience with this kind of situation?

mamachan - i have aldy fixed the amt of milk to add. but sometimes it also depends on how big a spoonful they take for the cereal... *duh...* think i will try porridge tis weekend and let your know...

linda - oh, u give the pork as well? MIL only using the pork to cook the porridge, then she will throw away the pork.but of cos the porridge will stil have carrot,vege and potatoes...

wow, the barley wf pear sounds nice... will try it out too... cos pear and apples are the first fruits to give baby.only been giving plain barley now... im sure she will luv the pear

May
I heard from friend better to bring bb to PD instead of GP when bb below 1 yr of age. Above 1 yr then more alright to see GP.
It' must be so scary for you.. i would be.
After reading I feel like confronting the stupid GP in her clinic and let all patients know her mis judgement...

Rena
Elijah is getting more handsome each day... and he is so cute sitting up.

may,

Oh dear! Is Jamie okay now?
Would you consider switching to see a PD - I think PDs generally understand children better than GPs. GPs are what they are known as - General Practioners.

Actually if you really feel very strongly abt it, I think you can write to the medical board to lodge a formal complaint. Then the GP would have to answer to the board.

Have not been here for a few days and the post are piling up like a mountain.

Re: sleeping
Thanks for all the advice and tips, finally managed to put Mel to bed by 10pm for the last few nites without much fuss and most of the days she managed to sleep thru until 5am then wake up for feed in her dream. Am so happy
keeping my fingers and toes crossed she will maintain her record

Hi Linda

Welcome. Am new to this thread too, the mummies here are very welcoming and helpful!!!

My gal (Melody) was born on 15 Dec 5 days ahead of my EDD. Was having mild but frequent contraction on 14 Dec but gynae said would be another 1-2 days b4 she'll be out. Ask my gynae to induce me in the end. Labour was 10+ hours. I didn't op for epidural as well cos the thought off poking a needle thru my spine and the need to sign indemnity form really scares me

MamaChan

Hope your fever is better now. Am having block duct lately too. What I normally do is put on the heat pad for 20 min, then msg and try to unclot the blockage while I express...very painful tho.

Re: Porridge
My mum started cooking rice porridge for Mel yesterday since she didn't want to eat the brown rice cereal. She cook the pork soup then use the soup to cook porridge and mashed carrot in. Mel didn't really like it but at least she managed to finish quite a bit. Think she's like her daddy, very fussy with food!

Mamachan

Forgot to mention, not sure if it's good to give ikan bilis to bb cos it's actually quite salty. Altho my SIL washes it before giving her gal. My fren's mom uses silver fish instead

Hi Tracy

Hope Megan's diarrhea is better now. Could she caught a viral fever? Cos my fren's nephew also keep having diarrhea for the past few days (have seen 2 doc oredi). Temp shot up to 40 degree today and his mom brought him to Mt A...apparently there is a viral fever bug around.

Hi Sl,
yup, habourfront so big, and there's no nursing room! So pathetic! I was there just 2 sundays ago, and was searching high and low for one... and it's a shame... quite a number of kids shops there.... SL, you can share my bathtub, no problem...

Sl, Rena,
yes Bugis junction has a very nice nursing cum changing room, it is located on the 3rd floor, where the baby and kids section is, even have a small playground where the older kids can play around while mummies are tending to the babies... I like it cos they have 2 spacious nursing rooms... so chances are that you won't have to wait to nurse...

Wenyl, Rena, Mamachan, Sandra,
okies, since Sandra's hubby can't confirm his flight on Thursday and Friday you have something on, then we have SAHM gathering on Friday ok? Sorry, Sandra! 2pm at Bugis Junction... hmmm, where to meet... 3rd floor kids' section? Mamachan, can PM me your HP number so that we can sms each other when we reach? Rena and Wenyl, I have yours already...

Linda,
yes, we are having a gathering this Friday at Bugis Junction, 2pm... you free to join us?

Any other mummy wanna to join us, very welcome!
Mashy, you free on that day?

Valerie,
how about you?

Hi May,
oh dear, so sorry to hear about Jamie... dun worry so much, just keep sponging her off... my gal's fever hit 38.9 once when she was 2 months, so scary....

MH - Used to carrying this ball ard
Kind of used to it already. I can carry him in one arm and make milk for him with the other hand. Can climb 4 storeys up the multi-storey car park too!

Sandrachu - Yes, yr SIL is a good weight
Hw's my DIL?

Mamachan - Yep, that is the price of the jab alone. NUH informed me yesterday that the pricing is standard & set by Wyeth. It's like on consignment to the Hsp. Hsp do not earn frm the sale of the vaccine. Maybe the doctors in pte clinics up the price to earn.

Sunny - Haha! He is indeed growing well!

My ILs just brought Sarah for a swim at the club today. Prognosis not good - she does not seem to like the pool. Find it strange that she doesn't like it cos she enjoys her bath time. So mummies, gotta be prepared for ur babies becoming hysterical during the swim session. =P

We managed to list out a number of reasons as to why she behaved that way:

1) Water cold ( I doubt that this could be a reason as her silly daddy ever let her bathe in cold water and she didn't even cry)
2) She wanted her mummy to be around her (I didn't take her into the pool but got my FIL to, as I didn't want to traumatise the other pool users in my swimsuit)
3) New environment
4) She doesn't like to be in wet clothings (swimsuit wet wet - uncomfortable?)

*BIG SIGH* I will try to take her more often to the pool downstairs from now onwards to get her use to swimming. For HER SAKE, I will subject myself to the humiliation of squeezing myself into the old swimsuit and risk being called a 'human sausage'. =P

Sysac, ur DIL not a very good gal nowadays. Been waking up at least once a night lately at the ungodly hour of 3am. *faint* Dunno y she suddenly change her sleeping pattern. Hoping she will revert to sleeping properly again...

sl
today again Christabel refuse bottlefeed. So I use spoon to feed her instead and she finish all her milk without making a fuse...perhaps U can try using spoon to feed her.

Hi to all Mummies
Any idea when can we start letting bb use training cup? Cause Christabel refuse to bottle feed and I try spoon feed her and she finish all her finish, when I give her water, she does not want to be carry but instead sitting on her bumper (like a big bb) to drink her water, so I tht when is a good time to give her training cup. Any idea?

Last sat brought Christabel to one of my cousin place. There are lots of ppl there Christabel start to cry when my cousins carry here. Stop when I carry...I realise she start stranger anxiety....