Tabbiesus,
re: Baby First Food
I have 2 if her titles:
1. Annabel Karmel's Feeding Your Baby & Toddler
424691.jpg

2. The New Complete Baby and Toddler Meal Planner
424692.jpg

i got these 6 yrs ago in the uk,
i think that there should be new editions.

Apart from recipes, the second book has some meal planners for 4 to 6mths. We'll get a rough idea how many times and when and what to feed bb progressively. I can scan the meal planners and email to you guys if you are interested. Send me a PM for a meal planner.

rena,

where's the hush hush sale? I just came back from Clementi central - there's a shop there near the bus interchange that sells bb clothes quite cheaply. I bought my gal a oshkosh romper for $8. They have nice winter clothings also. Now I know where to buy clothes for my gal should we really go Oz in Aug... : )

denmy,

I got a hole puncher from NTUC. I think the brand is pigeon. But I don't know you can use that for NUK teats cos the hole is not in the centre.

Mummies who are still tbfing,

do you intend to start giving FM to your babies after 6mths when you start giving semi-solids?

Demny
thanks on the advice on cereal feeding.
Oh yes and the book. I will come over for the book. will sms u before hand

Re: faster teats
YES there is.. Kaelyn was fussing alot when she on number 2 too and yes she grumble also.. she even bite on the teats and arch her back.OMG!

I think there is a number 3 teats rite? from 6mth and above. and also there is a Variable flow teats for Bfree too.
When I bought the bottles, they gave 4 to me free.
Even in Variable Flow teat they differential level 1 or 2 etc.
The one I have is level 1.
kaelyn is using them now and she never grumble anymore and drink much faster and smoother.

I have extra of the variable flow teats. I can give 1 to you.. call me to arrange if u wan ok!

I will PM u on meal planner

here's some new pic of my bb :

watch Baby Einstein in bumbo
424714.jpg

on tummy...
424715.jpg

playing with her new toy - teether ball ..yum yum!
424716.jpg
424717.jpg

Sorry... pictures a bit big:p

sl
i read from markt place there 3 shop in clementi central selling branded bb clothes - carters & OK.
too bad i stay in the east..

but i manage to find 1 in marine parade

denmy
ya, me too. let my gal wear it and next day, her clothes and bedsheets are wet. i even put 2 inserts leh...

cookie,
wa, good good, my DIL is fattening up...getting very pretty also har....

re: Bfree teats
can get at BB Hypermart right? Anywhere else? U got extra can gimme ah? Is the variable no.1 one step up from no. 2?

sl, thanks for hole puncher info. Will go check it out...

re: TBF/ BF after intro of semi-solids at 6mths
If still got MS, I will carry on. 1 feed of EBM a day as better than nothing. I only started with baby cereal last week on Keenan and I use BM to mix.

Wah cookie - ur bb is so cute! So pretty, even my hubby say very cute... =)

Krissie, no prob. If u nd any help just give me a shout. =)

U all talking about starting baby on solids already. I'm not sure if i should also start. I read somewhere that we should start around 6 months - anyone have advise on this?

Need help badly... My hb and mom have never gotten along. Long story on why but I also have not done a good job in managing their relationship. Today my mom was super angry with my hb regarding an incident and she told me she no longer can tolerate him and will not be looking after my boy for me.

I begged over the phone but she was really insistent. What am I to do??? I have been so reliant on her and my boy is really quite a difficult baby. Moreover he often refuse to feed and my mom is the only one who can make him drink a little more. I am so lost right now... What should I do? My hb does not seem repentent and says we can just leave bb to maid! I am so angry with him and have been sobbing all afternoon. Where am I to find help in such short notice? Dunno if I should really just leave to maid or find baby sitter or send him to infant care. I think the latter two my bb will suffer as he is so difficult, few people will have the patient and stamina.......

I feel so desperate.

cindy, did ur mum say that out of spite? as in qi hua? Can ur hubby apologise? Having ur mum to look after ur baby is definately better than letting the maid do it.

Sept03Bride,
She is by nature very emotional. It's actually been building up for the last 4 mths. I told my hb to go ask her back by he just went silent and went off to attend his friend's wedding dinner. He says he'll call me at 10pm to discuss but still no call.

I am really contemplating moving over to my mom's place to stay on the weekdays... this drastic decision will surely affect my relationship with hb but I really do not feel safe on leaving bb to maid. She's just with us for 4 mths and although she is quite ok with bb, I have no faith on her integrity (caught her doing sneaky little things like using bb's lotion on herself, using my mom's shower cream and shampoo, peeping at my wardrobe etc).

Quitting job is not an option. I think without income I will really be in the mercy of my hb.

RE: gathering (PLEASE CONFIRM)

1) rena + hb + bb (confirm)
2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) MamaChan + hb + bb
11) SY + hb + bb
12) sandra + hb + bb
13) God's child + hb + bb

Place: phoenix hotel garden cafe
Time: 2.30pm
Price : 19.80 +++ approx $23

cindy,

another option is that you can leave your maid at your mum's place together with the bb then only bring back on weekends..

if not then you may have to pick them up every night

Denmy
one of my nightmare if bb urine leak...
I place those incontinence sheets beneath my baby cot fitted sheet to prevent any urine leakage getting into mattress.

Re:Bfree teats
The variable flow teat I have should be the following:
http://www.babybfree.com/ProductInfo.aspx?id=431716
It says for 3mths babies onwards.
Although it say, it combine stage 1, 2 and 3 teats in this multi flow teat but I feel that the flow from this teat even I adjust to use the slowest flow seems much faster then the level 2 teat.
The current level 2 is medium flow, if u wan 1 step up shold be level 3=fast flow.

yes I have extra to give you. U can use it, if suitable then buy lor.

Re: milk flow out from side of mouth during bottle feeding
Demny and all mummies...
When you bottle feed your baby, does milk flow out from the side/corner of bb mouth?
My bb does.. now that I change a teats, I'm not sure if it's due to the faster flow of milk and she couldnt swollow all in time or it's normal for bb to leak milk from side of mouth during feeding.
With the previous teat, she become impatient half way thru feeding, sometimes there are leak milk from side of mouth too.
With the new teat, she is ok to drink all in shorter time and no complaint. Not choke with fast flow either.. but more milk leak from the corner of her mouth.
Is this normal?

Cindy
Your mum might be Qi Tou Shang thats why cannot be persude...
try talking to her again and tell her how important she is...Must really let her know how important ok.
If she really insist, must at least ask her help u until U find alternative. your mum is angry with your HB.. not at you or bb.. so should be reasonable for your sake?
Or how abt place your bb at your mum place.. and u bring back everynite or on weekend? in this case.. your hb and mum will not meet each other so less chance to quarrel?
Your maid dun sound very "right" hor.. u better be careful esp. with valuable. she also seems materialistic to me.

2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb (confirm)
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) MamaChan + hb + bb
11) SY + hb + bb
12) sandra + hb + bb

rachel
yup, just now gerald regurgitated his milk on the bumpermat. I used tissue to wipe and its clean liao..

Kiddy Palace hving storewide sale 20% off... heehee.. me bot a float..

Brot bb for his 5th mth jab today. Ethan didnt even cringe or cry. PD says bb commando trained. Haha! I tink he has super thick skin on his bum!

PD says bb is ready for semi-solids if bb milk intake drops & looks at our food with interest. Hmm....Ethan is showing all these signs nowadays. But mummy here will try to "dong" till 6 mths old, or at least another 2-3 more weeks. So bad hor! Depriving him off delicious food. Now only can drink mummy's milk.

Cookie,
Yah....ur gal looks meatier now. Keenan so lucky to hv such beautiful gf.

Denmy,
I dun let bb wear bumwear to sleep. So far, I only let Ethan wear in the day. Usually I will change him every 3-4 hrs the most. So not advisable to let bb wear to sleep at nite. U need to put a nappy liner in case bb poos. It helps to hold bulk of the poo.

Can I take a look at ur books if we meet at the next gathering? I tink Kino sells ard $40+.

Cindy,
Try to persuade ur mum to continue to help till u can work things out. Tell ur mum u NEED her as a supervisor to the maid. Own mum easier to talk with. Not advisable to leave maid alone with bb. I have seen a neighbor who left her 2mth old bb with her maid & she can fang xin go Phuket with her frens b4 she starts work. But I caught another maid in her hse. Both of them happily chitchatting & leaving the poor bb crying away.

Try to talk to ur hubby to find out what he had done to upset ur mum. Also, whenever ur hubby goes over to ur mum's place to fetch bb, make sure u r also around. This may help to minimise any future conflicts betw the 2. Hope this helps.
Feel free to come in to share ur problems with all of us.

Btw, thanks very much for sending the massage CD to me! I rec'd it yesterday.

Rena,
U so nice. Volunteer to look after bb. Next time I know who to look for if I need a temp bbsitter. Heehee!
I still can't confirm on the gathering cos my hubby may need to go back ofc next sat again. Will let u know by next thur can???

kriss
Thanks.. will go kiddy palace check out tomorrow

Re: regurgitate milk
Does gerald regurgitate often? is the qty of milk alot?
Cos Kaelyn still regurgitate milk, most time just little bit but when she choke on her own saliva or stuck her thumb too back of her mouth, she may "merlion" and make me worry

Wendyl
ya lor.. she is meatier now really.. I can tell from the thigh.
since I started work, she seem fatter under my MIL care.heehee...
I wonder did I stave her under my care ??:p
Maybe she get sayang by her granny too much

Cindy - saw yr mum at the massage class, i think she pretty dote her grandson, for her to start saying thingd like tat she must be really angry mad. since she is your own mum, i think it is easier to talk to her and tell her how you feel.... of course the best way is to get your HB to apologise... i agree with our kind of difficult son, it is hard to leave them with caretaker as they normally will not be as patient as your mummy...

2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb (confirm)
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) MamaChan + hb + bb
11) SY + hb + bb
12) sandra + hb + bb

Shannon woke up and dun want to sleep... sigh...

Cindy,
hope things are better today for you... is your mum still angry? maybe talk to her and explain your difficuty?

Re: Intro semi solids
hmm, looks like alot of mummies is introducing semi-solids to their bbs... like Wenyl, I'm still trying to wait till 6 months b4 introducing semi solids to her...

rena
bb slept liao last nite.. i was pumping milk.. hv to change to stage 2 milk when sumo is 6mths. the composition of the milk is diff from the one for <6mths.

cookie
when we change teat, initially, milk will also flow out from the mouth. later, will be ok liao. he doesnt usually regurgitate a lot.. usually, will hv a bit if he dun carry him properly and his stomach is squeezed or eg, in bumbo.. gerald also merlion a lot when he coughs..

sandra
re solids, it's usually recommended to start solids after 6mth, coz some bbs will reject milk once they start solids. So, it's esp more impt for BF bbs so that they can still take BM. But, some bbs will show signs of weaning earlier. guess it depends on bbs and the mummies too.

cindy
errhh..who's fault is the quarrel? if hb's, can try to get him to apologise, anyway, they cant permanently get angry with each other, right? your mum is also his mum mah... if, your mum refuse to budge, then better to send to nanny.. at least, it is 1=1 care. I leave my boy with nanny. let me know if u need any info.. infant care is not as good, if your bb is a high need bb.

re gathering
my hb says he might hv to work again..
looks like i cant go again..so sad.

2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb (confirm)
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb (confirm)
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) MamaChan + hb + bb
11) SY + hb + bb
12) sandra + hb + bb

cindy,
grandparents luv their grandchildren, so ur mum may ve said it out of anger. let her cool down. of cos its best to leave baby with mum. like wat the other mummies suggested, i tink the best alternative is either leave maid and baby with mum or get a nanny. i'm not comfortable with infant care or leaving baby with maid.

cookie,
milk still leaks from the corner of my gal's mouth, esp when she's distracted and keeps moving about. if she's really hungry and keep sucking it, no milk will leak out.

re:wyeth promil gold 2
any takers for my sample 400g tin??

re:c-section wound
ystrdy went gynae, got the OK from her that wound has completely healed on the inside. she commented that my uterus has shrank back to very small due toe BF. she actually wanted to put the probe inside to scan my wound, but i begged her to try scan from top first. hee hee, she relented and she pressed quite hard to get the scan but thank god can see.

after that went to moms-in-mind to get help on my baby sling. so happy, now can use the sling!

So many posts. Share this one more time just to help out.

For Cephas' lunch:

1 tbsp of Chor Bi with 4oz of water. Stir in saucepan until puree state then feed. He usually drinks 210ml of FM. For lunch, will feed him 150ml of FM on top of the Chor Bi.

Or

2-3 tbsp of Heinz baby food. Warm it up b4 feeding baby. For this, he has 3 choices. One is Pumpkin/Potato/Beef, another is Parsnip/Carrot/Sweet potato and another is Pumpkin/Sweetcorn. These bottled food is for babies at 4-6 mths old. He will also drink 150ml of FM after the feed.

Planning to change his milk when he turns 6 mths. A lot of follow-on FM in the market. Still doing survey. Likely to give him Nan2 cos he is on Nan1 now. However, I have a Similac can of FM for 6 mths. I asked abt it but none of you gave any details

Hi again,

Cephas has been trying to flip &amp; he finally did it on his own 2 weeks ago. He is so fascinated with his new movement that he will do it while sleeping too. In the mornings, we will find him sleeping on his tummy &amp; smiling away like he got away with something in the night that his parents didn't know.

To date, he has 17 pairs of shoes. He got some as presents plus Mum &amp; I bought him whenever we saw nice cute ones. I bought one at Mothercare in preparation for the World Cup some more
Crazy mummy
Anyway, some are bought bigger is size. Think he will have shoes up till he turns 2 yrs old!

425035.jpg

Going for a soccer game. Like my shoes?

425036.jpg

Yes, I did it on my own

gee, jus realised the Playtex milk bags i bot from MIMs yesterday very ex. usually its 125bags for $20 (8oz). i paid $20 for only 80bags
i threw the receipt away liao..haiz, but i still sent them an email to alert them on the pricing, secretly hoping they will offer to exchange me or replace me with something else

sysac,
i'm planning to give my gal Friso 2, since she is on Friso 1 now. i thought it would be good to stick to the same brand.

Hi Tracy,

Guess most of us will be continuing with the same formula. Got to go start stocking on the new one cos Cephas turns 6 mths next week!

Hi Tracy,

He suddenly grew long during the past mth. Looks more matured in his going out clothes anyway. Having trouble carrying him too

Planning to go to Bintan for 4 days in Oct with our friends. I am going to lug him there for sunshine &amp; water. Get a slight tan cos he's way too fair :p Going through mentally what to pack for him to go there. By then he's abt 10 months old.

re:dog-gone crazy
my dog has gone totally mad the past 2 weeks. when we r not home, he drags our laundry baskets out from the kitchen to dining area, he learnt how to push the dining chairs away to jump on it to get to the dining table and swipes everything off the table. so we put our laundry baskets out of his reach, clear everything off the dining table..and now he jus simply pushes down everything he can reach, like the stool in the kitchen, the washing board, the bamboos...he's driving me mad! he's trying to get attention..

sysac

my girl is mainly on BM, occasinally on similac/ friso top up. i have samples for similac follow on and friso 2... when my girl turns 6 months and if my MS decreases further, i'll give her friso first then similac . Similac has no palm oil so supposed to be less heaty, friso milk is made from their own cows so supposed to be better and less fishy smell...nutrients wise abt the same except friso got prebiotics and that may help with allergies. That's why starting with friso at 6 months. i remember cephas is taking part in a study on taking fm with probiotics? any results yet?

taste wise my girl drinks anything... only fussy if ebm frozen more than a month.

Denmy
thanks 4 the pic on the books... i can't wait to start my girl on cereal/ puree. Waiting til 6 months cos shes not ready to wean yet. only mix a bit of heinz cereal for her to play with during our meal time, she not interested in the food, more interested in sucking the spoon or her fingers!

Hi Tracy,

Yes! Want him to be a beach hunk! I went to a few resort-type holidays b4 I got pregnant. I tan easily so actually had a nice brown tone. I am back to being fair after a yr of not tanning. This will be my 1st tanning holiday again after giving birth. So chum hor. Anyway, I am also going to bring Cephas to the pool after his 6th month jab on Tues. Going to buy him the iPlay 2 pc swim wear.

Hi Tabbie,

His 6mth jab is on Tues. That's when the project completes. Likely to get the results/report after thay assess him &amp; the nec paper work. That's y i am scouting ard for follow-on formula. After Tues, he's a big boy &amp; needs to drink formula for 6mths onwards. Feels so emotional that he's grown sinc he was premature &amp; so small at birth. A milestone for me &amp; him. It's like a big achievement now that he's hitting 6 mths.

Think I will be reduced to bits and pieces when he turns one. Haha...I am one crazy mom!

Cindy
Understand what you are going through, my hb and mum also had disagreement twice during my third month. My mum shifted to my house and we were living together and I was to start work the following Mon. It was so stressful.

After that because of her grandson, my mum did not shift back but stayed in her room the whole day and my hb also stayed in his room. Staying together without talking was really stressful.

I was sandwich between them and have to relay message as well. In the end, stories about maids helped me and at that time that were quite a few stories about bad maid, so I used the opportunity to stress the importance of my mum.

I also threaten to resign....we need the income for the repayment of the loan for my condo so in the end, they reconcile and they are playing mahjong in the living rm now. I took about 2 weeks to convince them to talk to each other, a very stressful 2 weeks. Imagine in the office and I need to call my mum handphone, talk to her and then call my hb handphone to talk to him. The thing to remember is not to let them be alone together during this period.

Hope everything is better now.

Thanks Krissie for the advise. I'ld hold out till 6 months then...

Rena, I convinced my hb to go, but he said cannot stay long - but we'll be there (better than nothing)... =|

2) Java + hb + bb
3) sleepingdeer + hb+ bb
4) rachel + hb + bb
5) Clare + hb + bb
6) durianlver + hb + bb
7) Cookie + hb + bb
8) Tracy + hb + bb
9) Mongs + hb + bb
10) MamaChan + hb + bb
11) SY + hb + bb
12) sandra + hb + bb (confirmed)

Cindy - Don't be too upset lah. Give ur mum and HB some time to cool first. Then when u start explaining to them how difficult the situation that they're putting u in, am pretty certain one party will realise how silly they have been and try their best to straighten the problem out. Meantime, if ur mum still refuses to help u out, I can also try to help u out temporarily (do u live around east coast?).

Hope all is better now. Take care.

Thanks for all the consolation, I talked to hb the most of last night and couldn't log on thereafter. He realised I could only trust my mom with bb, to the extend I would move there for weekdays if she really cannot get along with him.
In a way I kind of gave him an ultimatum - either try to get along or he risk losing bb and wife

So, went to mom's place first thing in the morning with hb and bb in tow. I told her to give him another chance and that he would not make ungrounded accusations at her again -- this thing blew up as he said that my bb's pimples on forehead is cos my mom kisses him there, which is really not true as she usually kiss him on the top of head, not forehead. This silly thing, compound with old grudges made my mom really angry and felt that she is doing a 'chi1 li4 bu4 tao2 hao3' job.

But mummies, you are right. My mom simmered down and told bb she's back cos of him. She can't bare thinking of him being 'mishandled' by maid...

Rena/Sandra,
Thanks for offering help. Really appreciate it.

So grateful we have this network, it's our support net!! From this incident, I also realise I have to manage the situation very delicately and think before I blab anything. Have to 'filter' whatever things they tell me and not tell everything to the other party.