(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mongs
your girl so cute! sucking and chewing her thumbs =) sweet darling!

sept03
hmm... no sure whether will every bb go through this. but one thing for sure me and my brother did not encounter this when we are bb. thats why my mum also had a scare when i told her what happen...

now dylan is 6.88kg and 66cm. only grow 1 cm longer leh... funny boy

mongs
thanks for the link. after reading it, confirm wont buy a walker liao. lucky me and hb did not buy one when we went kiddy palace.

wah..really alot to catch!!! Cant finish reading.

RE : Taboo
My mom strongly believes it and made me so paranoid abt it. My hub the blur one alway breaking it and caused alot of "problems". My boy was said to be a very "ban tang" baby. My good girl friend who was preg touched him during the 1st month and he was cranky alot of time. Heard that we shldnt let preg. ladies touch our babies...not good. Dunno how true.

Also cannot say our bb very good behaviour or else will become notti.

RE : Bumbo
Thanks sleepingdeer for passing me. My boy seems happy in it and is very busy looking ard and happy being able to sit by himself. However, he also tends to lead forward. Shld he be leaning against the back of the seat or okay to lean forward?

RE : Payment for Nanny
I think ard $450 - $500 no night??? My aunty helping me and i'm paying her $500. She said too much and only taking $350.

RE : Bath Time!
Yesterday my boy slept till late and my MIL was eager to bathe him. Told her dun cos already late 8pm. She said just wash butt then. When I went in, she stripped my boy naked and put him in the tub.I usually wash my boy's butt first outside the tub before putting him in. However, she put him in the tub to wash butt and use the same water to wipe his body when in the tub. Wat's the diff from this and bathing??? And my boy loves to suck his finger and the water had been used to wash his butt. Told my hub and he then passed the msg to his mum. Wasnt happy cos last week my MIL bathe him. How cld he not know! Asked him and he just act blur....urgh!!!!

RE : IL - Nap time
My in laws adore him and hardly see him. My FIL especially cant wait to wake him up. If my boy has insufficient sleep, he'll be very grouchy and will be fussy at in law's plc. Then my MIL will comment y is he always so fussy there and must be bcos he recog. ppl liao. Not true, he's fine with anyone...its the nap....Told them countless of time how impt that BB's nap is. FIL never listen.

rachel,
I will freak out if I'm you. I'm the "rush to PD" type of mummies. :p my hub cant stand me. very kan cheong.

sleepingdeer,
U left your baby with just your hubby? So envy!!! I'm sure that my boy will be tear the house down with just his ah pa. Cant imagine a wailing baby and an ultra helpless father.

Like Rachel, my weekend was quite eventful too. My boy had his 5th mth jab on sat. He was ok for the whole of saturday but on sun morning, he began to feel feverish. Not as high as 37.5deg but we quickly gave him 1 dose of paracetemol. He got no fever during the previous jabs.
We were worried sick cos we had to bring him to visit his grandparents for sun lunch. I dreaded cos he was moody & moaning away. Furthermore, it started raining. I thot got excuse not to go but my dear hubby insist saying the ahgong miss bb like crazy. The ahgong even called to ask why we still at home. Naturally, I was quite irritated.

My MIL say that the last jab is stronger compared to the previous jabs. Dunno true or not.

Today, bb temp is back to normal but his milk intake drops drastically. He had his 1st feed at 5.30am today. Tried to feed him at 8.30am....he refused to latch on. I tried again after his bath....again he wasnt interested. He kept turning away to look at his cot mobile. In the end, he took his nap till 11am. After he woke up, I only managed to latch him on 1 side. No choice, I had to pump out & slowly feed him 2 more ounce of EBM. Now 2.30pm, he is still sound asleep.

Now, I m in a dilemma. Should I pump out & see how much he is drinking? Or should I still continue to latch him on? Advice needed....anyone??

His weight taken on sat (5th mth) is 7.3kg & 64.5cm in length. Bb is in the 50% percentile group. Very average average. Only grew longer by 1.5cm thou.

Y,

Naptime
Same here....I got irritated again with my FIL yesterday. I know they missed bb badly. They used to come to my plc almost every alternate days but since few weeks ago, I have been going to my parents place to "siam" them. They can't get to see their grandson so often nowadays. Haahaa! Not really lah....my place still going thru upgrading, very noisy!

Yesterday....the moment we reached their plc, bb was still asleep in my arms. My irritating FIl came over & tickle him & talk loudly to try to wake bb up. In the end, bb was awoken by all the noise & touch. He just woke up & wasn't really into the playing mood yet. Then my MIL commented, why look so sian....everyday only see mummy then smile. Now see ahma & ahgong dun smile. Wah piang! In my heart, I was like.....His sleep has been disturbed by u guys & u expect him to be smilling away!! Give him some time to warm up mah! Simply can't stand their insensitivity!
Sorry....so much to complain today. Sigh!

wenyl
we are in the same boat!! think you should pump out and feed him when he wake up bah. coz dont know how much longer he will sleep and he might not empty your breast when you latch him on. in the end you still have to pump out.

just called my mum and she said dylan only drank 70ml of EBM. wasted another 60ml!!!! aiyo... 60ml is so much and its wasted. already told my mum dont give him the whole bottle of EBM she dont listen... sigh... sometime old folks just dont listen and when things happen then they will only "oh, like that ah, ok lo" sigh... my 60ml EBM..... my sweat and effort to squeeze out one...

Rachel

That must have freaked you out! Oh Gosh, it's scary. Thank God Dylan is fine now.

I'm always worried that my boy will get sick, coz I scared I dunno that he's sick. He's been coughing a little. but dunno whether it's really cough or just choke. Dunno whether to bring him to see PD or not. Sigh. Today wanna bring him, then the sky so dark. How do u define cough as in serious enough to see a dr? My boy just cough abt 3-4 times a day leh. Sometimes just once/twice.

Wenyl,
Indeed. My FIL will sometimes do that too. Who wld be in good mood when kena distrubed from nap.

When trying to get him to nap, my FIL will purposely keep peeping or talk ard him. My son very kaypoh, wldnt sleep when he's distracted. He will try very hard to stay awake even though very tired.

My MIL asked me to bring my boy to stay over even without my hub. I turn her down flatly. Din even consider the idea. Told her gotta bring alot of stuff and also very troublesome cos gotta make milk at night. Actually she bought most of the stuff i need except for milk powder and steriliser. When she started buying those stuff, I already anticipate that she wld ask me to bring bb to stay over. Hopefully she doesnt call my mom and get my mom to convince me.

Rachel, what a scare! Hope his intake will get to normal soon...

Wenyl, Y, how about going to your IL's after bb wakes from his nap at home? It helps for Kirsten after we delay the outing but she still looks grouchy whenever we go to IL's cos the place too noisy with 2 boisterous boys but at least she has taken her nap beforehand.

Wenyl, I agree with rachel, better pump out bah, otherwise may get clogged ducts.

By the way, want to ask a dumb question - is it a law to put baby in car seat in Singapore? I assumed it is until my friend (who is coming back from US with her 3mth old boy) asks me. Want to check for her.

Wenyl, Y,
it's true that sometimes the elders will disturb our babies a little esp when we go to visit them but have to think from their point of view, they are so old and bored and this cute little guy is there, so it's inevitable that they will be a little excited. no matter what, it's really because they love them a lot. my girl is always very cranky when we go back to my mum place because it's very hot there but I still want to make it a point to visit everyweek and to stay long enough for my mum and dad to play and talk to her. my MIL looking after my gal on weekdays don't mind looking after her on weekends when I go pah tor with my hubby but we are a bit paiseh to disturb her rest so try to minimize it.

rachel,
oh dear, really scary for you! i didn't know teething will be like dat. haiz..another stage we all have to go thru.

rena,
i jus went to one organic shop in Forum during lunch. it's 'vitakids'. but they have no stocks of the earth best cereal. coming in mid-june. got oatmeal, rice or multi-grain.

mashy

yah, really freak out man. even my hb can see tat i turn pale when i saw the pinkish pee. really thank god he is getter better now =)

this was the first time dylan was not well and can fully understand as a mummy the last thing on our mind to happen to our bb is they get sick.....

think as long as your boyboy's cough dont presist,if on and off then should be all right. this morning dylan oso cough a little and when i looked at him, he gave me a grin =p

valerie

yah. hopefully he will go back to his normally intake soon.

btw, can any mummy advise me roughly how long after bb jab will they recover from their poor intake??

for car seat, yes, its a law to have it.

rachel,
but somehow he still looks taller! can't wait to meet him again this sat

my hb was saying that dylan has a unique look. u won't forget him once you have seen him. like my hb, most people who met him once will remember him, like the hawker stalls that we patronize. dylan looks very guai you know..like the quiet type.

tracy
you know what, when the nurse measured him and said 66cm. me and hb is like "huh, how come??" when the nurse step out of the room, me and hb quickly put him down again and measure him ourselve!! indeed he is 66cm only.. hee. err... hope megan wont mind dylan being shorter than her leh.

he has unique look meh? =p no la, come can he be guai, you saw for yourself how he bullied us during the massage class! he is more quiet when outside, but when he is back at home, he is the king! haha

btw, yah your hb has an unique look. i still has a deep impression of him =)

ALL MUMMIES
RECENTLY MY MIL WENT TO JB SO SHE BOUGHT A FEW TINS OF SIMILAC FOR MY SON. BUT I WAS WONDERING IS IT THE SAME AS THE ONE I BOUGHT IN SINGAPORE
ANY ADVICE????

rachel,
i'm also surprised he's 66cm. got lah, unique look. that's y when i was waiting at mc's for u, every baby come in i can straightaway tell my hb whether it's dylan or not, cos i saw his photo b4.

hee hee, ya i saw how he bullied you during the class, but otherwise he 'looks' very guai. :p

tracy
hee hee, hmm must be his unique notti look. =p
second dating this saturday! hopefully he will be completely back to his old self again by then. so they can happily hold hands!

wendyheng
if you notice closely, the packaging is quiet different. manifacturer oso different. so for me i conclude they are different. my hb oso want to buy from malaysia but i dont want. its better to be safe since it is to be taken by our bb.

rachel lim (moon77)

YA PACKAGING IS DIFFERENT THE STORE ASST TOLD MY MIL IS THE SAME JUST THAT PACKAGING DIFFERENT BECAUSE THEY WORRY PEOPLE GO TO SELL IT.
YOUR BABY DRINKING SIMILAC TOO???

Share with you all a photo of a proud Kirsten with her library card! I'm a bit kiasu hor? You don't need to bring BC to apply for the card.
426018.jpg

rachel lim (moon77)
hOW MANY MTHS IS YOUR BABY NOW???
EATING CEREAL? MINE GOING TO FIVE MTHS EVER SINCE WHEN HE WAS 4 MTHS I FIX BROWN RICE INTO HIS MILK HE CANT POO FOR DAYS SOMEMORE GOT BLOOD SO IS TOO HEATLY SO I STOP IMMED. I WAS THINKING SPOON FEED HIM RICE CEREAL THIS SAT. SHOULD TRY

rachel lim (moon77)
I heard from my colleagues that if my son haven start taking porridge cant proceed to similac stage two. Is it true????

wendyheng
mine turn 4 mths last saturady. still on BM and supplement with FM. not yet start on semi soild, will be intro when he turn 6 mths.

you did not bring him to see PD when there is blood in his poo. if you are feeding brown rice must feed him lots of water too wor.

Hi Valarie,
hee hee, Kristen looks so serious and proud of her library card... haha

Rachel,
really scary! Thanks goodness Dylan is better now... you mean teething has so much problems also? *faint*

Y,
no problem, glad that your bb likes it... Shannon too, she will always lean forward... think it's ok bah...

Actually, my gal was bullying my hubby the whole afternoon, dun want to sleep on her own, must carry, my hubby was helpless... haha, but I must say, he is a very good daddy to her, being the official diaper changer, 5am caretaker, and weekend bather to her...

Wenyl,
I know how you feel... feel like whacking them when that happens... my MIl is not too bad... coz she very scared bb crying.. or cranky... hee hee

wendyheng
err... no such thing la. btw similac follow up is to be intro when bb turn 6 mths, so normally a bit of porridge will oso to given to bb too.

valerie
aiyah, so cute! Kirsten must to real happy to have her very own library card! haha think i oso want to go apply for one for Dylan =D

Tracy (cml77)
HE ALR OK LIAO RIGHT AFTER I STOP THE BROWN RICE

rachel lim (moon77)
SHE SAID IS INDICATED IN THE TIN.

YOUR BABY STILL WAKE UP FOR NITE FEEDING. MINE ONE TIME IN AROUND 2-3AM

rachel lim (moon77)
Didn mix any cereal into his milk??? Actually i read from website that 6 mths is more safe to start solid food to reduce allegry

sleepingdeer
yah lo. teething oso so much problem. cant imagine whats next when his teeth really starts growing.... scare scare

wow, your hb real super daddy. my hb gone case, there is once he voluteer to bath dylan and i nearly faint when i saw how he handle him! haha

thanks for the info on walker.

re teething
does it mean that when their milk intake decrease, tehy shd be going on semi solids?

re flipping
my boy now flips non stop. how? very scared he wil do that at night. any tips?

rachel,
glad that your boy is alright. so scary!

Hi wendy
Sorry 4 d late reply. i was away for a diving trip ovr d wkend. I bought the bumboo at $79 at mothercare. I missed the BP and later when i decide to get 1, the color avail is lime green n my hb hates it. So no choice pay mre loh..
Re: Similac FM
I hrd most FM bought frm m'sia usually r mre yellowish than those selling in S'pore. So far I hv nt experienced it, so nt sure whether wat said is true. U saw any diff?

Hi tabb
Finally got the time to chat in this thread. Boy is nw much easier to handle, so abit mre time for myself. Usually when I'm off, MIL will go hm the 9 b4 and i'm left to handle him all by myself till the 9 b4 i go to work the nxt day. Nw she is mre attached to my son cuz she sleeps with her and she takes care of him in d day, she seldoms go hm nwadays. So scare tat boy will b very attached to her. Take 4 eg, when i cm bk frm my dive trip and is off today, she dun wan to let me sleep wiz my son, she said we r tired and let us hv a gd 9 sleep even i assure her tat i'm nt. So sad... (i koe her gd will but u koe as a mum no matter hw tired u r, u still say i'm not esp, when u c ur child smile at u, it really melts ur heart)true??

sandra,

you are right about the color.. the last time i bought the enfalac from malaysia.. although cheaper but color is more yellowish..

why dun you just carry your bb to your room and let him sleep there lor...
sorry hor I am quite extream one..

hi Sandra,
I totally can relate to you. At least your MIL is willing to come to your house. I have to bring my bb to her place alternate days. He stays there alternate nights. Even then I have to go there every morning to bring my BM to her. My MIL is very attached to him. Sometimes when his feed is at 7pm, she keep wanting to feed him, I get so irritated because I dun get to feed him the whole day and now she wans to take over. Yah, she will say like I'm tired, should rest blah blah. But dun she know that I wan to spend time with my bb? The worse thing is when my bb is cranky or vomits milk, she keeps hovering aroung me. Really can't stand it! I feel so tempted to get a maid so that aaron can be taken care of at home. No need to ferry to and fro. But then so scared he become attach to the maid! Sigh, really conflicting! Today I took leave to take care of bb. Feel so happy coz when I'm working I seldom get to see awake, coz he is asleep when I get home. When at my MIL place, sometimes she dun let me rock him to sleep. I tell my hubby to ask her to back off, but he keep saying that I'm too possessive of aaron. Do you all think I'm obsessed? The thought of bringing bb to her place tomorrow, makes me very sian.

Sorry I just had to pour my heart here.

Hi Denmy,
Thanks for the meal planner! Will task my HB to study it as he's the cook in the house hee hee... = P

Rena,
Oh good... yah will use that as an excuse. Thanks for informing! = )

how many time do you feel rice cereal to bb?
today I feed sumo twice .. usually once during lunch but today I feed him again at 8 pm as he refuse milk at 5.30pm and seems like one to eat so I feed him.. and he finish it all..

Java,
No I do not think you are overly obsessive. You are the child's Mother and it is only right that your MIL returns BB to you after you have not seen him the whole day. Can I ask why BB stays over on alternate days?? I'm very thankful for my wonderful mother who's taking very good care of Ashley but still, though I do not drive, I will bring BB to my mum place every morning n bring her back every night (unless I have something on in the evening) so that I can spend a little more time with BB. Very often by the time I reach home it'll be Ashley's bed time soon but I still enjoy the bonding time spent bringing BB home, feeding her, wiping her and putting her to bed. If your situation permits, maybe you can bring BB home every day too?