(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

queen,

I learnt from the other threads that NTUC is selling HT but for Earth's Best, need to go to those specialised shops. Dunno abt the price though. Am going to NTUC this sat to try and buy one. Thought of trying out first. Is it possible to buy through Internet?

Queen,
My hb also leh..think bumper mat too ex. Mattress will be good enought for Jamie. I feel like buying also but abit ex.

Tracy,
Ur MIL can shake hands with mine already leh. Just heard a few days ago from my hubby that my MIL wash his bath towel and bedsheet once every 3mths !!! URGH!! Luckily my gal is looked after by my mum. My mum will wipe my girl's mouth when she see her playing with her saliva. She will change her clothes if there is milk after burping. Weekend coming..my blood level shooting up soon cos going to MIL's place this sun again.. =(

HT is what brand?
I saw Gerber's brand at Toy'r'us leh.Feel like getting either this or Heinz. My hubby dun really like me starting semi-solid food at 4mth. He say start at 6mth better.

wenyl,

my gal also shows a lot of interest in the food we eat but i really hesitate in introducing solid till she's at least 6 mths. That's 2 more mths to go.

let me know your comments on the bellamy's organic cereal okay? Cos we are thinking of going to Oz in jul/aug. Can buy then if it's good. : )

queen/may,

I also feel like buying the bumpermat but it's ex and not sure if bb will like it. Actually there's a BP for bumpermat now. And the BPs are quite worth it cos my fren told me that the LG Prime Bumpermats cost US$90 in Korea.

Re. HT (Healthy Times) /Earth's Best organic cereals
Read somewhere in the frum that there is a shop in Tanglin Mall selling them. Can check it out. Didn't want to try Gerber or Nestle cos it's sweetened, even though I think the amount of sugar is minimal...
I think if buy from direct from US, it won't be cheap...
can check out their websites for more details:
www.healthytimes.com
www.earthsbest.com

Re: where to buy healthy Times and Earth best cereal.
For Healthy times = HT, some mummy already bought from NTUC, so should be able to get from there. Bishan NTUC sell HT, maybe other big NTUC outlet will have also.
As for Earth's Best cereal, I read from other thread that Brown Rice Paradise, Organic Paradise and superNature may sell. As mentioned, it's always out of stock, but I heard can call them to reserve stock and once stock come they will give you a call.
I think they are located at Tanglin Mall, Forum Galaria and Paradiz centre.

Re: Super Baby Food
Any mummy having the above book title? Heard it is very good.. selling $30... just wondering if it's really worth the price.

Think it was mentioned in this book that Earth Best cereal is a better cereal as compared to other brand.

RE: Cereal
I have found a websites on all the baby food available in singapore. U gals might want to check out: http://shopping.localstreets.com/xml/en/Singapore/cate_00001_1502__0.html

And also, here's some of the pic of the cereals.
423764.jpg
423765.jpg
423766.jpg

So long never come in and so much to catch up on!!! I've been busy busy busy with helping my friends for their upcoming wedding this Sat.

Weight of BB at 4 months
Daren weighed 7.3Kg and grew to 65cm long. He got really cranky after his jab (the days after) and drove me really crazy!!! HIs feeding and sleeping pattern changed slightly.

Flipping
Now Daren flips at least once a day when placed on his back. He generally doesn't like to be placed on his back and will just start his cry.

Wendyheng
Fisher-toys online the pricing should be in USD since it's a US product. You might want to email them and find out?

Feeding BB semi-solids
I bought the Heinz Baby's First Rice Cereal for Daren to try. Started on Monday. My mom helped feed him the 1st time and he finished the rice cereal. However past 2 days he wasn't very receptive to the rice cereal (even though it's quite liquid form like milk). Think the time of the day quite important.

rena
i check with hb if he's working that day, then let u know, ok. ;)

yuenyuen
v scary leh, till 4yrs.
so how old is your elder gal now?

tracy
can trouble you to post the healthy times box again, pl. I cant seem to be able to find it from earlier postings.
wanna ask my hb to buy.. u know men lah, they need clear instructions. haha...

RE: cereals

Can any mommy tell me what "si Sen" is? is it a chinese herb?

So far from the forum threads it seems that :
-Earth's best is cheaper but when mixed the consistency is more watery than healthy times
- brown rice more heaty than normal rice, so some parents prefer starting with plain rice cereal first esp. if less than 6 months old. After 6 months, anyone is ok
- nestle, frisocreme have sucrose so considered sweetened
-heinz got no added sucrose but is not organic ie it is processed
- HT and EB are organic with no added sucrose
-frisocreme has added milk already so only need to add water to mix
- Can buy EB from supernature in Park House
- Can buy HT (only brown rice and some of the teething cookies eg arrowroot cookies) at the bigger NTUCs eg the one at Killeney road, Brown rice paradise (tanglin mall), organic paradise (forum galaria)
- another popular brand with local mommies is the brown rice with si sen and ikan bilis which can be bought from NTUC also. More of a 'local' flavour.

Hope this helps

sl,
NTUC Thomson has Gerber, Heinz and Healthy Times cereals.

re:cereals
HT has only brown rice cereals. i'm only afraid too "heaty". tot maybe try the heinz plain cereal first.

re:dirty MIL
last evening my younger nephew took my bb's pacifier to suck!!!!!! yucks!!! and my MIL, SIL, PIL all tink its so funny, ask me to come take a look some more! my hb working late so i alone there. i jus look in dismay, took the pacifier to wash and soak in hot water. nothing else i can do, it's already done.

when i told my hb, he said buy new one. too late liao lah, ystrdy she already sucking it, buy new one makes no difference....................

Sandra,
men are just not made out to handle babies. my hb has no patience with my bb too, will also raise his voice at her.

Morning Mummies!

Tabbiesus,
Err... what's si sen i also dun quite get it leh?? Anyway can i check with you about the pretty breastfeeding bib you used during our first BB massage gathering... did u get it from SSW? Is the material thick & would BB be very hot inside?? I thought of getting for my GF but dunno good a not.

Hi Yuen Yuen and mummies,

Was informed by my friend that WHO recommend solids for babies six montsh and above. MAybe that's why the 4 month packaging cereal was taken off the shelf?

Hi sandra,

My hubby is more patient than me. Sometimes Megan fuss about and after i tried for sometime and hubby sees that i can frustrated, he take over. But then again, that's because i spend more time with baby sonaturally more tiring. Tiring = bad tempered... ;p

i read books on disciplining - can start from 18 months onwards when they understand things better.

I once lost my temper when my elder gal was 8 months old, refusing to sleep at night, waking every other hour... i pat her so hard as if i am spanking her. When hubby took over - he realised my gal was having high fever! Imagine my guilt! Learn my lesson from then on! Always to check for discomfort when baby is extremely fussy. Hubby understand this principle better than me.......

durianlover

ok la, i was a bit kua zhang. My milk letdown is very slow. Takes a lot of prep, do a lot of things before i can see some milk.

Queen
I got a super thin mattress from John Little sale. It's the size of a normal size mattress but it's so compact, it can be folded and packed in a bag. And it's using high density foam. I think it's as good lor, just the washing part not as easy as BP. BP just need to wipe can liao. It's very cheap. I think i got it for about $25.

tabbie
thanks for the info...

I wanna ask a stupid qns hor..
From the picture of HT and EB cereal.. seems like it's in powder form?
So I need to add FM and water to it to make it into puree state?
usually how much water to add and what temp.. is it similar to the temp we use to make milk? warm warm or use room temp water to mix?
or need to cook over stove?

durainlover
really har? the AMWAY shampoo and bath not suitbale for infant?
How u know?what does it says?
pls share.. maybe I delay also if not suitable.

Just to check the HT and EB cereal needs to be cook?

yesterday I let sumo try the gerber applesace.. he hates it .. cannot swallow ..

so far I feel that fisocream is too sweet but gerber is good no sugar .

hi clayre

the bib i got is quite thin, i don't think its hot for the baby. I got it from SSW. But now my girl is older she's more curious and always try to pull it aside to look around..

Re: HT cooking instruction according to the box
It comes in powdered form. Just put desired amt of cereal in bowl. for first feed use 1 tablespoon. Full serving is 5 tbsp. Mix with BM, FM, infant juice or water to desired consistency and feed baby. Can feed baby 1x -2x per day.
No need to cook over stove, but can use microwave to warm the BM/FM/water with cereal together... but must test temp. b4 feeding baby. Personally I wouldn't use microwave

mashy,
still muz give milk. i asked sysac the same question. she gave a detailed account of her feeding schedule for Cephas. i tink its in the archives but only past 2 days.

queen,
i jus got the playmat, will try this weekend let you know!

Hi tabbie
thanks info really helpful..
u manage to get the earth best cereal? where did u bought them?

Wendyl
I'm interested in the book.. me very clueless abt feeding bb semi solid and solid food.
So wanna get a good book to read it.
If u come across it and buying, pls let me know ok! I know kinokuniya is selling.. but I haven't got time to view it yet.

RE: isetan sale
Isetan Sale is having sale.. seems like very good buy. my colleague help me buy a lollipop stroller pad, used ot be 15.90, now 7.9 only...
but I'm not member so last ntie couldn't go so sad..
wonder if sale open to public will be as good.

Re:robinson sale
went on wed and it's no good I feel.. waste my time

tracy,

thks! Now can buy NTUC at Thomson to buy HT instead of going to J8. But Thomson plaza during wkends different to park car .... : (

cookie,

I am an Isetan cardholder. i feel that previous sales are good but nowadays the sales items are not so gd liao. I went yesterday to the pte sale. Didn't see the lollipop stroller. Actually i wanted to buy swim diapers for my gal cos read from the other thread that it's 50% off but i couldn't find it. End up buying a country road shirt for my hubby. It's reallly worth it - usual price is $159 and the sale price yesterday was $59!!

If you are interested in isetan sale, I can let you know the next time. If you send me a self-addressed envelop, I can send you the admission coupon then you can go liao. : )

SL
u couldn't find the stroller pad ah.. hmm dunno which outlet my colleague.
I was thinking go to PP outlet this weekend.
heehee.. nothing for bb, something for hb..
buy anything for yourself?

Ok thanks for the offer..

durainlover
you been member for so long yet have not buy anything!? haha should try their products. Good!

re: bumper playmat
agree that it is abit ex for a mat to cost you 100 over bucks and even 200 plus for a bigger size mat. but for my opinion, in the long run its worth it.
as compare to mattress, bumper playmat will be easier to clean and no need to worry about strain by poopoo, urine, food, silava etc. portable in terms can bring anywhere. no worry bb will bang their head on the floor or floor (especially timber flooring) kena scratch when bb start to throw toys or toys kena split up when hit the floor. since the cushioning will be preventing all these, its worth it.

i have been placing dylan on the bumper playmat since i got it. he enjoy to be on it coz me and my hb oso can lay beside him on the big mat.

Swim diapers
I tink i saw some supermkt selling disposable swim diapers. cheaper than the swim diapers from Kiddy Palace.

Btw, anyone knows where to get nice swimsuits for bb, besides Kiddy palace?

Wendyl
I was at ISetan the other day.. saw a brand iPlay I think.. their swit suit seems nice

I like the bikini but think it's nice only la.. will be very cold for Kaelyn I think

wenyl,
can get swimsuits for baby from Mothercare too

rachel,
thanks for info on bumpermat!
yes i use Amway products. Think they're not bad. Just that the products last very long so i didn't hv chance to buy/restock for 1 year already! heh.

cookie,
i'm not sure whether is the bath thingy suitable for babies, just that when i read the description it keeps talking about for children, so i just assume. Here's the description of the Sudzy Bath Gel:

To meet the need for a bathing product for children that is gentle and yet effective, new Sudzy Bath Gel has been formulated to be ultra mild and still provide thorough cleansing and natural skin conditioning for children. Kids will simply love its fruity scent while you are assured that its blend of ultra mild cleansing agents will gently remove dirt and impurities from delicate skin, leaving it clean and conditioned.

Why is Sudzy Bath Gel recommended for children? What makes it so different? Contains pure Aloe Vera gel: Aloe Vera has been used for centuries due to its healing powers, soothing gentleness and anti-inflammatory qualities. Instead of synthetic moisturisers, ultra mild Sudzy Bathing Gel pampers delicate skin with the soothing, antibacterial and highly moisturising properties of pure Aloe Vera gel. Unlike many products that merely feature Aloe Vera extracts from the tip of the leaf, Sudzy Bathing Gel features pure Aloe Vera Gel from the entire leaf which is more potent than gel extracted merely from the tip of leaves.

Soap free and pH balanced: soap-based products are generally alkali in nature and this high pH level can cause an uncomfortable tightness of skin. In children, this excessively high pH may result in scratching and subsequently, irritation.

No more worries! Sudzy Bath Gel is soap-free! Its blend of mild cleansing agents gently cleanse delicate skin without creating dryness, tightness or irritation. Many bath soaps or soap-based products may have a pH of 9 or more. This could lead to dryness and tightness of skin, especially for children or people with sensitive skin. Sudzy Bath Gel has a pH ranging from 5 to 7, to complement the natural pH level of our skin.

Additionally, Sudzy Bathing Gel is also recommended as a daily bath gel for individuals with sensitive skin or various skin disorders. The ultra mild formulation cleanses gently without irritating sensitive skin while the Aloe Vera Gel calms and soothes irritated skin.

sl

It's iplay. It's near the nursing room. I bought a sunsuit for my boy. Only 1 left. A lot of bikinis and swim diapers leh.

I also didn't know where it was and asked the staff and finally I found it. So happy 50% off.

wendyl
I just check that kinokuniya actually do home delivery of buy from online purchase.. and their main store has the super baby food book

how much is iplay before disc? which isetan has it? anyone knows if taka sells it? I got taka vouchers.

cookie,
does kinokuniya charge extra for delivery? Now i hv just started reading sleepsense. Got hb to print out for me. so much to read but so little time. Bb still not sleeping thru the nite. so i had better hurry with my reading.

wendyl
iPlay swim diaper think abt $16.00 before discount I think.

err.. let me check on the delivery again, let u know if I found the answer.
I also haven't finish reading the sleepsense.