(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re: 2nd bb
I'm thinking of 2nd bb also.. but will wait till kaelyn is at least 6 mths above then start thinking abt it.

sl
how how??? any good news from your fren??

re: flash cards
mashy

huh? you mean cannot intro ABC to them first? but saw from a website saying we have to show ABC to bb first inorder to let they pick up words faster leh... so whats the correct way? now confuse le...

Hi Wenyl,
yep, am going to the gathering... I'm bringing my NU500 as well, same model as Krissie... You can try it out later

Re: Preg after C-section

I also dunno how long to wait. But don't wanna risk bursting open from the wound. Hehe, so will wait a while. Anyway, not in a hurry. My ds is already a lot to work on.

Rachel
Depends on which school of thot. Everyone has got diff teaching mtds. The no alphabet theory is from glenn doman.

my MIL is at it again... am at home today, and promised myself not to get irritated by her... the morning started ok, keep myself myself to think of her as help when I wanna to bathe etc... worked so far, until my gal started talking away while playing... the more she talk, the louder she got... and my MIL keep telling her 'NO NOISE, NO NOISE'... what does she mean by that, can my bb play in peace and can't she yell once in a while...? You mean Shannon can't communicate what she want talking a a little louder?...She's at home and it's not like she's was yelling the roof off...! THen later on, she keep telling her, 'you're not hungry right... not hungry lah... when it's her feeding time already! This is the first MIL I've seen who doesn't want to let baby have her food... imagine, she keeps restricting us from feeding bb on demand... saying she's not hungry, not hungry, when it's so obvious that she is! Sigh.... More therapy needed with this mummy...

mashy
ic... anyway i have not start making the flash cards oso. but at least now have a clearer view. thanks. how your darling react react when you flash card??

sleepingdeer
think like what some mummy mentioned before. if the soft way cant work, hard way might jus do the trick! be firm and let her know who is your gal's mummy and caretaker. at the early stage my mum oso dont agreed on the feed on demand way, keep saying bb jus fed 2hrs away... or say sensitive comment like is your breast milk enough and do bb drink enough?? now she accept the way my bb react and my way of caring for bb. has to tell her straight that i know what im doing and its all for bb's welfare.
dont sub press yourself any longer... if not sooner or later will get nerve breakdown woh!

rachel

so far so good. he's rather interested in them.

In fact, when I was pasting the red dots, he was already looking at it curiously.

Sleepingdeer
Don't you think you've made a wise decision to be SAHM then? Imagine leaving Shannon in her hands? Well, just ignore her and cherish your bonding time with Shannon.

Re: flashcards

I found this website... I think someone recommended before... its very good too... I haven't had the time to show flash cards..
http://www.internationalparentingassociation.org/Materials/index.html

RE: weaning off breast..

Can I get some advice on mommies who are giving EBM/ FM via bottle only? I'm still latching on at home but my baby takes very long to finish feeding on the breast and next month I'm back to full time work plus I have to do some studying so I don't know if I can cope with pumping/ latching and I want to have time to play with my girl as well... a bit worried that I wont be able to cope... how are you all coping? Is it an emotional struggle to stop latching? i feel that i'll miss that bond cos its the only thing that I have with my girl that no one else can do.. Am I just being too emotional?

Sleepingdeer...
U are very good with tolerating ur MIL... maybe u can just "ignore" her comments cos she seems to make these insensitive remarks with whatever u do... maybe u just do what is best for ur baby... don't let your baby get caught in between!

Sometimes my inlaws do make funny remarks like " i think your girl's cry is too weak.. don't feed so soon so she can build her lungs by crying out loud" aiyor... my poor hubby as a baby... but I just smile and say issit? then just feed ASAP MY STYLE!

too busy over the weekend.

1. Denmy - aqua
2. Cookie - Yellow or Lilac also can
3. SL - Lilac
4. tabbiesus - aqua
5. Cindy - Lime green (confirm)
6. SY - aqua
7. Mashybrainz - Lilac
8. Clayre - Lilac
9.God's child - lime green
10. krissie - yellow

thanks for helping to get this!

re flashcards
i tried to flash again but i only manage to flash like 5 cards a day cos hard to catch his mood. i find it hard to keep to the instructions actually. is it ok if i retire the cards once he has seen it 15 times?

mashy
how u get him interested?

sleepingdeer,
best is to ignore her! maybe now that u decided to stay at home to take care of shannon, your MIL decides that she wants to take care of her too so all the weird comments....

my MIL also say weird things like ask me to take care of my bb properly..u mean i won't take care of him properly is it? really find it weird to hear such things from them...

tabbiessus
i am on both EBM/FM but that's cos i not enough. i will still let him suckle once in a while. initially i did think that i will miss out on the bonding but after a while when u get used to it, it's ok. there are other ways to bond.

Re: bumbo
Rena, i'm also interested but is there a website to see the sample of the different colours?
Really no time to catch up with all the postings so if i miss out on posting my bumbo order pls sms/call me at 93831991 can? thanks!

rachel/denmy/tabbiesus,

I called my fren already. He didn't buy the bumpermats cos it's US90 in Korea!! Are you guys going to join susan's bp?

Sleepingdeer,
Just reply her ok but immediately feed ur gal again lor. My MIL also dun like to feed bb with milk. Last Sat my girl got no appetite as she just wake up. She just spit out everything I feed. MIL told me not to force her, anyway no need to feed so much milk. Feed water will do. So fedup with her. Can't imagine if I leave Jamie there for a few hrs. Hb actually suggested to leave her there and we go Compasspoint to shop but I refused to. And I told hb NO WAY I am going to leave her alone with PIL.

Sl/rachel/denmy/tabbiesus,

Re: Bumper Mat
I also interested to get. How much are you gals looking at? If got good lobang or BP let me know too k?? Thanks! = )

Hi mummies! Wow! so much to catch up!

Bumbo seats
Count me in too! I would like one in aqua color. So if order more than 6 the price would be $68? And where would the collection point be?

may

Actually if bb doesn't wanna drink, cannot force one leh, else the bb will start to think that milk time is unbearable and will grow to dislike milk time.

tabbiesus,
i've weaned my bb from my breast long long ago. there are many other ways to bond, dun be too worried. some of my frens were commenting that the point of BF is to ve the bond thr. well, to me, the main point of BF is provide bb with nutritious milk! maybe dats y i could stop direct latch without feeling bad about it. so its jus how u view it.

re:bumper mat
so much talk about the bumper mat..anyone got lobang? i also interested now.

Janmom
welcome welcome.

re: bumper mat
seem like lots of mummies want to get bumper mat for their little darling. but no lobang leh...
saw a thread requesting anyone can start a BP or not, but no respone...

now my bb likes to pull her pacifier out herself, hold it, stare at it, try to aim it back into her mouth. when she can't do it..scream! when i try to help her, she refuse to let go of the pacifier. *faintz*

tracy
my boy also likes to pull his pacifier out and replace with his fist...a few times he managed to put it back into his mouth. so cute

how was the gathering?

mashy
initially he was quite happy with it. then later he din quite like it.

My bb gal 3mth 3wks.

Any1 heard be 4 that we got to refrain ourselve from consuming papaya, bitter gourd, pumpkin? My MIL told me last nite.

Ask her she also don't know. Just told me can only take after 4mths. Another problematic MIL. Told her is too late to let me know....(If she sincere, shd let me know earlier...not when approaching 4mths).

tracy
yah, went there on last saturady.
brought my model (my boyboy) over too to try on the sling. haha lucky he did not scream the whole place down. bought nursing bra and nursing top too.
after successfully sling my boy on, think he quite like it. he slept all the way in the sling after i BF him in the car.even went for lunch and find a friend after that but he still sleep soundly in it. so happy, at last put the sling to good use liao =)

tracy / SY
wow your bb can hold their pacifier liao! mine still cant, always hold his fist tight like wan to box you anytime... sigh

Janmom,
yah, quite funny she only tell u now.....shd have told u right from the start!

rachel,
he does it sometimes. really quite funny. we tried to capture it on camera but too late.... he always stare at his hands and look like counting fingers...so funny.

Janmom
never heard cannot eat those... funny rule. im been eating papaya, till now no problem. actually papaya should be good for nursing mummies right? coz papaya fish soup is well know for boosting milk supply.

SY
hahaha think he is beginning to relise these objects infront of him is his hands bah! true lo, real difficult to capture their funny/cute moment. by the time you get the camera, they jus dont cooperate leh...
your boy has lots of hair! mine yah... sigh... shake head... turning bo ta

rachel,
i m dropping a lot of hair now so i think my boy's turn is coming soon.....sian. i always see my hair on my boy everytime i carry him.

SY
sama sama!
now i always tie up my hair, dont want to see my hair falling all over the place...
so your boy have not shave hair yet? mine wan to wait for bb to reach 4 months then let shave off. now he is looking more and more like my dad haha bo ta bo ta

harlow mummies...on course today...so can come in and post...hehe...

Ohh...need to check with all mummies...anyone having menses despite TBF? My menses came back today....a bit then stopped...issit ok...cos when I had my first boy...my menses started very soon...but this round...can tong until 3.5 months...so not too sure if it is normal...can anybody HELP!!!

Dear all who came,

It really fun.. I think we should have gathering more often..i think bb has enjoyed it too...

RE: bumbo,

Hi whoever is interested please update your names as i will be ordering on wed...

Hi mummies who went got the gathering...
had a great time... will be looking forward to the next one... though I hope Shannon will behave herself more at the next gathering...

here's the one lousy photo I managed to catch b4 my gal started wailing away AGAIN!... Other mummies, do share your photos hoh...
410490.jpg

hi mummies who went gathering..
I had a good time too!! many thanks to the hostress-Rena.
All the babies like each has something on their mind.. heehee...
errr.. I cannot post photos from my camera yet, hb using my usuall pc.

Demny>> when I show my hb Kaelyn on same bed with keenan and told him that's the boy friend.. my HB shock..hahaha...

Re: fed up with MIL
fed up ley... I starting work on Thurs, my MIL MIA until Wed afternoon then come back. we dun call her she also dun call and tell us... very irreponsible
dunno how to trust her.
I dun have time to orientate her...darn...

and it's pretty irritating.. she wans to go MIA when everytime before and after she comes back or go off to MIA.. she will wanna fight taking care of kaelyn with me...even when I rock her to sleep, wanna snatch over.
I mean.. if she so "she bu de" then dun MIA la...feb up...arrrgghhhh...
Ok finish complaining...

GATHERING

Rena - Thanks for letting us mess up ur plc. BB & I had a good time.

Denmy - Thanks for the sling demo.

Cookie - Maybe ur MIL needs to take a breather once in a while. Tat's why she MIA. She paiseh tell u mah. Older folks will never admit tat she is tired from taking care of their grandchild. After MIA, she miss ur gal, so she want to be close to Kaelyn.

Here are some pics from the gathering.....

Ethan making new frens
410549.jpg

So fast holding hands liao! Faintz!
410550.jpg

The more we get together....together....together!
410551.jpg

The pictures are sooo sweet!! How I wish Ashley & I were there too!! Next time round maybe I'll try take leave n join u all... = )

the photos of the gathering so cute..make me wish i was there too instead of at work..argghh....

the babies lying together really funny...