(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY

Totally agree with what you said. My MIL already had her turn. Now it's mine. And I get to decide what my boy eats, drinks, wears and plays. Whether he's going to have pacifier or suck thumb, whether to keep his hair or cut his hair botak, whether to let him sleep in cot or sarong. Well, he's my son. If she wants to interfere, she go and have another son herself!

And she was extremely critical of the name we chose for our son. Kept saying not nice etc. Not nice then don't call lor. Nobody's forcing her. We registered his birth cert secretly and didn't tell her his name until all is done. hehe. Still, she couldn't help herself and said the name not nice. When we gave my son a nick, she also said not nice. Well, I retorted her and told her she could choose not to call him that, but my son will not recognize any other name that she's going to call him. End up she gave in. Hehe.

mummies, mummies,
I have soooo much fun reading your posts on ILs. Laughing to myself. U girls are indeed psychotic. I would have also contributed but my MIL passed away when my elder son was 4mth old. Think if she was still alive, I wouldd also be ranting away like you...

Hahah

Agree with Denmy, quite fun reading about one another's MIL. Makes me feel that my MIL is an angel compared to some of yours! Although my MIL is sometimes quite insensitive, but at least she is not possessive of my boy.

cindy
thanks for your help! looking forward to get it =)

sept03
me too, but only gave him one dose. now temperature ok. will still monitor through the night and glad that the jab area is not swollen.
wow, your boy is big. mine weight 6.5kg and 64.5cm long. think he is quite long lo, by the time he go to pre school must be standing at the back of the line keke..

re: MIL
it is clear that problem is always there between MIL and DIL. generation gap is the main key and most importantly they are not our own mother although we address or call them "mama"...
im lucky that my PIL is in malaysia so seldom have the chance let many conflict happen. if not i believe i wil be venting my anger here like other mummies lo. the most recent incident is the tv screen one. know what my hubby said when i only mention about this after a few days... "you should tell me straight away, will tell mum on the spot not to do that". i replied him, "she should know what, anybody with brain knows that it harmful to get too close to tv screen. she still carry boyboy and make his feet touch the screen when the tv is on!! stupid right." he got nothing to say =p

hi babylon,
u are so lucky to have a nice MIL. My MIL even took $$ from hubby for the food that she buy ar.. But i see the $$ she take and the kinda food that she buy.. cannot justify. But keep quiet lor..dun wanna say too much.

Hi Cindy,
my BB just turned 3 mths yesterday

Hi rachel,
i just gv him another dose at 7pm. If no fever tonight, 2molo will not be giving him liao. Jus give him water. Wah ur boy is really quite long leh..

Mummies..
I regretted doing something on Sunday!

On Sat, my gal had her 5in1 jab. Glad that she did not cry. She is only very sleepy and got slight fever at nite, 37.3 degree.
On Sun, my mum ask me to bring her to my grandma place as there is a gathering and my aunties want to see my gal. At first I rejected as Jamie is still having slight fever, 37.3 degree. After much persuasion by my aunties, my hb and me agreed to bring her there. My hb told me he dun like to bring my gal out everytime cos she is still young, furthermore she just have a jab. But I told him it is ok cos she will be inside the house. When we reach there, hb suggest that we go sim lim to look for PC for his bro as his mum have asked him to find. So we went ahead. Then went back to pick my mum and Jamie up at abt 6pm.
My MIL called that night..she asked my hb how come she called the whole day but no one pick up house phone. And my hb told her we went my grandma house. She was very mad and say how come Jamie got fever still go out. She not very happy abt it. Cos usually we go MIL place on sat but changed cos Jamie is having jab. We go one day before which is a Public Holiday.

Die liao.. next time if I dun feel like going back to MIL place or if my gal really sick... we cannot dun go back. I regretted going to my grandma place on sun. But what done cannot be undone.. any mummies got suggestion? So that I can give the excuse..

For ur info.. I stay in Jurong..grandma house is in Queenstown and my MIL house is in Seng Kang.

Clayre,
My elder son is 6. I am already in my 30's lor...

May,
FYI, Grandma is bigger than Mum and MIL. So can reject mum/mil but cannot reject grandma...

Haha... it is really interesting reading abt one another MIL. Think my MIL has done the most surprising things in the world !!

1) She bring my girl under the light and say proudly "See..I rock her in sarong in the dark..she keeps moving and dun sleep. Now I put her under the light..she stop moving." ... oh no..of cos lar..must use common sense mah. Even an adult can't sleep under light, no need to say a baby right! I was so mad that I walked away.

2) My gal sleeps in sarong. It is really very good for her to get someone to drill the spring to the ceiling of my MIL house so that my gal can nap there. But guess what..the sarong was drill on top of a QUEEN SIZE BED!! I have to climb up to the bed to place my girl inside. And what's the reason behind this that my MIL give? "Just in case the spring snapped and Jamie can just fall onto the mattress" OH GOSH!! I dunno how to react at that time.. dunno to laugh or to cry.. and I told hb "Which country she get the spring from? I better tell mummies from the forum not to get"

So all mummies are laughing now???!!!

sunny,
do u add the jinying hua into the milk or mix it with water to feed bb?

Mashybrainz,
My ILs are like urs. Over sunday lunch, my FIL will eat sooo quickly just to go play with bb. Even sometimes bb fast asleep in the playpen, he will use his itchy fingers to tickle bb. I get so irritated when he does tat althou I still hvnt show my displeasure yet. My mil will say she not hungry & ask everybody to eat 1st so tat she can hv 1-to-1 attention with bb. Faintz! They also offered to bbsit cos both not working...both very eng at home! Tats why got plenty of time to pop at my doorstep. Arrgh!

Cindy,
I thot commonly pple give lengyang b4 jab. I didn't when bb took his 5-in-1 3rd mth jab. He didnt get fever. Heard that 6-in-1 more likely to kanna fever. Btw, did u receive my email requesting for the massage CD???

May
think if your MIL bring up this matter again, tell her your grandma really wish to see this great grand daughter of hers vy badly. you find it hard to reject an elderly request, that is why you and your hubby decide to make a visit there. reassure her your gal is well taken care of and stay in the house all the time. hopefully she can understand.

LengYang
i asked my mum abt giving lengyang water to BB. She said its very liang and asked me not to give.
She said my sis drank too much of lengyang water and develop asthma

May,
Take pic & show us. Hee! Ur MIL very imaginative leh....spring can snap! She forgot how "heavy" bb weighs ah! When I 1st read, I thot it is more to protect the bb if she falls out of the sarong. Anyway, my MIL sama sama...also very kiasu one.

wenyl,
Hmmm... can you email me again, dunno if missed out or not? [email protected]
I remember you asking for it, so I'll send you again if I missed it out.

May,
At least your MIL plays it safe. My mom said my brother's sarong spring broke before and he fell onto floor. Thankfully got mattress underneath but quite thin so still got loud bang and baluku... Sometimes when bb bigger and wriggle a lot, can also fall out of sarong... but climbing to queen size bed, that's a first!!! Haha...

Wenyl,
Same here..my MIL also ask we all to eat first. FIL worse, wake my gal up during her nap to ask her talk/smile to him. I also very fedup. Go there every wk make my blood boil!

Sept 03 Bride,
I also dunno what is she thinking.. I nearly fall down while carrying my gal up. She is still very proud of doing this. Urgh..want to faint man.

sept03
now waiting for my boy to wake up for milk. today after the jab he really sleep alot. normally he will wake up before it hits 3hrs interval of feeding time. now it has pass 3 hrs and still sleep away... dunno want to wake him up or not leh... does your boy sleep longer too?

Sept o3 Bride,
My boy and yours same bday! SY's too. Jan 17.

May,
Think maybe 20 years ago the spring quality not as good as now? Dunno why the spring broke also, but my mom said not becos of weight but more of wear n tear... she must be shaking my brother real hard.

SY,
At least your FIL hair does not contact your bb. My FIL does not cut his nails!!! He is always pinching my boy's nose and cheeks!!! My hb knows I am really tolerating and one fine day I sure blurt out something nasty...

Cindy, Sept 03 Bride, SY,
My elder boy also 17 Jan.
Capricorn. I can tell u some of his traits, in case you wondering how your bb's will turn out. Very careful, in fact too careful already. Even when he was a toddler, he never bumped his head on the underside of a table when he crawled under it to fetch his toy. Has an eye for detail, can be quite meticulous. Talkative and outgoing. He used to walk away on his own at the park (London) to sit next to old folks and start chatting away. Money-face. Always volunteer to return supermarket shopping trolley for that S1 coin.

Wow.. so many 17 Jan. Any 15 Jan? My gal is 15 Jan. Supposed to be 17 Jan but she want to come out 2days earlier.

Rachel,
yes..she is very protective..lucky never stay with her. Or I will sure die of heart attack. She likes to order pple to do this and that and want everyone to listen to her.

May,
ur MIL really top it all man, with the sarong thing!

Clayre,
so funny, i can imagine u secretly grinning when the clock strikes 8pm

rachel,
ur boy n my gal can hold hands! almost the same build. she is 6.1kg and 65cm. if he dun mind, jus slightly taller then him...

PILs
seems like this is the hot topic. i remember when i was expecting my gal, my PILs didnt fuss over me. in fact, they even say no need 1mth party lah, they say its CNY so busy etc. i was telling my hb, its becos its a gal. if boy, see if they ve the party. i didnt mind not having, cos my mum's side already planning one n my friends too.

BUT after i gave birth, they saw how the bb looks so much like their own darling son, they had the 1mth party afterall. argh!

oh ya, and dat day, my FIL carried my gal n tried to stuff the pacifier into her mouth even tho she was furiously rejecting it. i was pretty amused by how he was so determined. eventually i told him,"eh, i think she dun wan the pacifier." then he stopped.

sleepingdeer,
ya, dunno y she wans her to stayover even tho there's no space in the house. it's a 3-rm flat. one bedroom occupied by my younger bro-in-law wif his wife, then the other is my PILs. the playpen which my gal sleeps in is in the hall. so where is she gonna sleep at night?!! i suspect on her bed with her!

Rachel,
Yes after the 5in1 jab, my boy also sleeps longer.. and like really tired.. i just let him sleep longer cos i thought he needs more rest. think its good that they sleep and maybe becos of the medicine we gave.. i also gave 1 does of the fever medicine as per the nurse just in case.

so dun worry, ur boy will be fine!

Rena,

Feed the lengyang before his jab. I will give Cephas 2-3 tsp of it.

Hi May,

Just tell your MIL that your granny & aunts wanted to see her. I assume they dun get to see her as often as your MIL? Climb up & down thae queen sized bed is good exercise :p Hee hee!

PILs:
My PILs didn't make any tonics for me during my pregnancy either. Although they live nearby, they also didn't cook dinner & ask us over. One day, met them at a nearby foodcourt, my MIL asked "U 2 eat out?" Tell me when you want to come over for dinner, I will cook for you." I kept quiet. My HB replied " U must call us and say U r cooking dinner for us then we come over."

When I gave birth, my PILs gave me 1K and told me to buy what I need becos they do not know what I want. It was a nice gesture. My MIL even went marketing and bought food to store in my hse for my mum to cook. They also gave baby a gold chain.

Initially, I was perturbed with the lack of interest in their grandchild (1st one). When I thot abt it, I was also glad they didn't bother me much during my pregnany

After birth, they got more involved. They wld come over as and when in the evenings. That's when I wind down after an entire day. Still got to sit there & entertain whle they carried my small baby & talk loudly to him. So got to close 2 eyes & ren!

I thank GOD for giving me my nice & loving parents.

hey rachel,
yes, my boy seems to be in deeper sleep than normal. He seems pretty tired after the jab. We din wake him up for feeds as well.if he hungry, he will wake up naturally.

it is so funny to hear all the ILs stories, I am laughing away at some the incredibly stupid and silly things some of them does... and also now, I can see, as what Cindy say, all our 'Cave woman' instinct coming out... haa haa, so glad I am not the only mad woman around....hahahahahahah...

May,
your ILs super man, first time I ever heard about a sarong on top of a bed!

Clarye,
welcome to the club of green eye monsters, I am exactly the same as you! Me too, everyone is fine, just my MIL that I cannot tahan... ! Yesterday I flew into another rage b'coz of the MIL.. the moment we reach home, she waved us away and didn't want us to come near baby coz she was falling asleep... wah.... boom! Luckily my gal woke up to smile at us, and I play with her and talk to her, heck care about her... then later when my hubby put her down for a nap, I wanted to give her the pacificer to help her sleep, and my MIL can say, 'She won't take, she's full, why would she want it?' Wah, this is the first time I have ever heard that giving pacificer is a subsituite for food, when she uses it ALL the time to get bb to fall asleep... I was so mad, I went to my room and burst into angry tears... wanted to punch the wall boy, wah, that RAGE!!! How dare she lecture me on what my daughter wants and dun want? Who does she think she is??? All these 'happy' thoughts and more running around in my mind...

So verdict is, passed first day of psychopath annoymous school with flying colours... haha..

Mashy,
the psychopath in me thinks that I will DIE first b4 I ever ask my MIL to take care of my daughter once I stop work... talk about being crazy..

Cindy,
I dun like this side of me too, the petty, cannot 'see open' person when it comes to my baby, the only consolation I can think of is that we first time mummies are just so overloaded with maternal instinct that we just can't help it!

May,
think the otehr mummies advise makes sense, tell your MIL it's at the request of a elder, especially great grandma... she cannot reject that... also distance is another factor lah, Jurong to Sengkang is super super far...

SY,
haha, I was laughing imagining you asking your FIL whether he got wash his hair or not b4 giving bb to him to carry, he will be super puzzled what has washing hair got to do with bb? Haa haa...

as long as we see the funnie side of us over-protective lioness mummies, hopefully we will keep our sanity while dealing with the ILs!

Rachel,
my gals sleeps longer when she is having fever, just check regularly to make sure your bb has no fever, then its ok to let him sleep...

Mashy and SY,
just to add on, YES! I always think this way about my MIL, that since you missed out on your chance to mother your children, dun you dare use my daughter to make up for all the lost time! Rrrrrrrrrrooooaaaaaaarrrrr! hmmm, seems like a very good start to a 2nd day of psychopath school..!

denmy,
i can see some of the traits in my boy tht u describe, esp the talkative and outgoing part. when we are outside, no matter how tired he is, he won't sleep and will 'entertain' people....and he aslo likes to stare at things in details...

re IL
ha..so many different incidents, glad we are all normal!!

like sysac, initially i not very happy that my IL seems to be not bothered abt me during pregnancy. even a colleague commented that they dun seem to excited. but thinking back, i quite happpy that they din bother too much. since they dun bother too much, then i can give less details abt bb to them...haha
my boy still ignoring me leh..a bit sad. dunno how long it will take to pass this phase. this morn when he woke up and in good mood, he look at everyone who talks to him except me. the minute his eyes in contact with mine, he will frown and fuss. but when my parents talk to him, he will look at them and smile...sigh....

wenyl
i scoop one spoon of jing ying hua drink and add with about 20ml water. and i dont' force my bb to finish it. i let her decide how much she wanna drink, but at least few gulps lah.

denmy
you look so young, didn't know that you have another kid!

may
my mil said that if use sarong, need to put a matteress underneath to prevent the sarong dropped. 'cos anything can happen.... so i guess your mil just wanna prevent bb falling from sarong and hurt herself.

clayre
i m also a possessive mummy. really got to tell myself to let go let go let go. think my mil also knows about it. 'cos there was once i was trying to find 'reason' not to bring bb go to her house, she asked me directly, 'you don't wanna let me take care of bb har?' haha.... i quickly denied it. :p

yesterday i went back to mil's place and saw that fil was shaking bb in the bouncer and he put bb near to the TV!!! these are the 2 of the no-no things that we told them not to do!!! sigh.... what to do... got to close eyes sometimes.

SY,
cheer up.. sometimes i oso faced the same situation as u.. but my boy starts to warm up to me after i played with him lor.
But if his father is around.. he will always prefer him to carry than me lor. Very hurt oso but bo pian.

haha i tink our thread has the most grumbles abt ILs. if people from other thread pop by to have a look, they will tink we Jan '06 mums are mad

i was reading the April MTB thread, many of them popped and pretty short labour for most of them! so lucky...i tink babies born Apr more guai..maybe ours in Jan, capricorn, too close to Aquarius. Aquarius very notty one (i'm aquarius hee hee)

Cindy,
U got mail!

SY,
My boy sometimes also dun really smile at me. Whenever he sees his daddy or my mum, he will smile & laugh. Even his daddy also notice it. A bit sad lah but i tink it is bcos he sees my face whole day (boring mah!) & he kinda know I m the one tat BF & bath him. More like a caretaker.
My galfren's toddler also like dat since baby. He refuse to call mama but lurve to call papa. But if my fren walks away, he gets very upset & insecure.

just to check.. does PD offer injection packages? My BB has his 1st jab and polyclinic and the nurse was telling me about the packages they have for the 5in1 and 6in1 jab. But i din pay attention cos no interest to go back to them for a 2nd time.
But when i went to the PD ytd, they did not mention anything about the packages.. so what is this package thingy abt?

Sept 03,
i signed for my PD's 5-in-1 package. basically u save some $ i tink, cos when i go for her jabs now, the bill always reflect a refund. my pkg is $569, bishan children's clinic (under TMC), Dr. Keoy.

i was jus wondering this Dr. Keoy, was he arranged by our gynae Dr. Soong, or jus happened he was on duty dat day? who was ur bb's PD at TMC?

Hi Tracy,
hmm.. so weird 1. The PD whom i went to did not ask me to sign up leh.
Dr Keoy was my BB's PD at TMC. Dun really like him leh.. He was arranged by Dr Soong to take care of BB 1 lor.

Haha,

We r one bunch of crazy mummies!

I took leave today to spend time with my mum & baby
Told my boss I am not going in today
He said no problem.

Just came up from a walk with baby. He enjoyed the walk & fell asleep on the way back.