(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rena
many guys tends to have big ego, so when lady ask for help or talk sweetly to them they just cant resist and is all out to help them or do whatever they ask for. maybe your hubby is under this group?
maybe if you recall your dating days, this "weakness" of his actually is one of the factor that wins your heart?
dont let your imagination run wild, your sumo boyboy will sense it woh. cheer up!

denmy
thanks! PM you my fax le. pls check and thanks again!

cookie
wow thank you lady! this info of your is useful!

will sure keep you all update when there is any news with the purchasing of bumpermat!

cindy
you are not alone. my hubby cant handle our boy one, he will only enjoy playing time with him. when it comes to crying and screaming he will stand there and wait for me or my mum to react. sigh...
the no. of times he change bb diaper (only for pee, if poopoo he will stand far far) can count by fingers... and he will do it only when i really busy with other things. man... they just simply cant handle so they rather dont try. believe your hubby feel this way yet cant help it when he saw ur bb crying away.

Tracy and all ,

thanks... well when we were dating .. he was never like that .. only when he goes in for reservist he tend to change.. each time he goes..in I am worried.. his camp mates are really home wreakers

wenyl
after saw your post that your bb fell from the changing table made my heart jumped a big lap! happy to know all is well and do take care of yourself and bb since now down with flu. i will be extra careful myself too, coz i oso left my boy on the changing table to go wash my hands before picking him up. now think twice liao... the most put him in the cot before i left him alone by himself... rest well.

sleepingdeer / denmy
thanks for your info on baby monitor.now at least have a bettre idea of what to look for. will do abit of shopping before settle for one.

krissie,
I use pigeon tablets as well. yes, i do rinse it with hot boiled water. wat I do is to pour the hot water into the bottle then pour it over the interior of the funnels and valves. the chlorine smell is very strong. it's safer to rinse the parts with hot boiled water. my girl is ok all the while.

wenyl,
glad your bb is fine. my colleage is going to pass me her bed rail. am going to attach it to the side of my bed. my gal share our bed at night so have to start taking precautions. my colleague's son fell from bed a couple of times. very heart ache.

rachel,
I use the chicco brand baby monitor. it's slightly over a hundred dollars. it's a hand down from my sis-in-law and is about 7 years old but it still works fine. there is no dead space around the house where the monitor can't detect the frequency.

sleepingdeer,
do you have fridge in the office to keep your EBM? I don't have, so have to depend on the cooler bag. Last time I used a Maxi-Cool bag with a lot of ice packs (ice sheets from Moms-in-Mind) and it can really keep the EBM chilled (like fridge cold temperature) for about 13 hours. But yesterday started using the MIni-fridge without ice packs, I find that the EBM remains cold for maybe at most 8 to 10 hours only... when I reached home the EBM is merely mildly chilled. So today decided to throw in 1 ice pack.

sunny,
I freeze the mini-fridge overnight, like from 10pm to 6am.

Hi Sunny,
I throw the mini fridge into the freezer every night the moment I reach home, like 8pm+, and every morning at 7am, I tak it out...

Queen,
there is a fridge in my office, but I dun use it as alot of people have access, and they throw all sorts of funny stuff into it, quite dirty. Agree that the cooler bag is not as cool as a fridge, but it's about the same as when I use my medela cooler bag, so I dun feel the difference.

can get detinox from any pharmacy.

queen, tracy, bulma, sleepingdeer
that's what i think too. but, the box says to rinse with recently boiled water. Didnt say that it has to be hot water. Think I'll change to boots when I finish this box, i.e. if i'm still bf.. ha ha...

bulma
re polyclinic jab, yup. there is a type of jab which is free. Dun think it's 5 in 1.

rena
ya, sometimes, my hb lies cozs he thinks I'll get angry over it... so, hoping that his white lie will cover it.. then after I find out, will kenna from me.

mongs
the brand you mention sound very good! =) price not too high oso =p thanks for your info, will go take a look!

denmy
got the instruction liao. thank you very much!
heehee the words very small hor, got to strain my eye to see the wordings. think somemore fax over make the words abit out of shape =p
still i think i got to be hardworking enough to read through and prepare the stuffs so can do flash flash to my boy =)

McClaren stroller
Sorry, just recalled someone asked abt the stroller. I bought mine from Mothercare last year during the sale before they upped the price of the stroller. Think after discount was $325. Now the price of this stroller is $460 or $420. If I've not remembered wrongly, its cheapest to get it from Cheong Choon now.

Flash card instructions
Why not someone who has a scanner at home scan the instruction and post the image in yahoo or multiply so it'll be clearer than faxing?

rachel,

my fren going next wk. best is you send me a pix and the budget and dimensions of what you would like. I can ask my fren. The prob with asking him is that he doesn't know any cartoon characters. He doesn't know what's winnie the pooh, hello kitty. He can only recognise Mickey Mouse. So there's always the risk of him buying the wrong thing back.

pochacco,
i brought my boy to Yu Guo when he is 2 weeks old but it doesnt work on him. go in the morning but not afternoon cos very crowded.

tabbiesus,

you wanna email me the pix/dimensions/budget of what you like? I can ask my fren also but, of cos, he might not be able to find it.

tabbiesus/rachel,

He's leaving on Sun early morn so if you want, must let me know the details by fri okay? I will meet him on sat to pass him. I figure that if he can't get the bumpermats in Korea, we can also start another bp on that. The price won't be lower than what's offered in the bp now right?

wendyl
last time no bb we let our dogs roam the house and tear the house down..heehee even sleep with us.
Now with bb..,as bb still young, we have to fence up the dogs now.
Now that we keep them in an area in the house, their fur dun affect the rest of my house so badly.
I dun have maid also, but have part time cleaner come in once a week.
So daily I will vacuum the floor every morning and I will mop the floor every alternate day.
since with bb very tough so I will mop those area that bb use more frequent like the hall and my room etc.
when my mil not around, I dun even bother to mop her room just wait for part time cleaner to come in then mop.
my hb will bath the dogs once a week, those dirty doggies towels I will leave it to part time cleaner to wash.

rena,
Yes, mine is the red McClaren Techno XT. Its about 7Kg I think. Initially wanted to sell it as I thought its too heavy compared to Aprica which is 4kg. But, after carrying my girl so much, the McClaren don't seem so heavy anymore. In fact, we like it alot now cuz its very sturdy and the suspension is very good. Aprica, although lightweight, is flimsy and not so lasting and costs more than double the price.

so many postings to catch up on!!

cindy
can understand your frustration with your hb. but just close one eye lor...what to do..say already still like that...the number of times my hb change diaper so far is 1....

i will work harder on my bonding with bb...though i dunno what else i can do.

today went back to work and took half day with hb to come nback to check on things. as usual he only react to hb. see him will talk non stop. sigh...feel so envious.

clare,
u got try giving the colic drops? it was helpful for me. or u try the baby massage techniques?

Rena
dun be sad.. I think your hb is not lying on purpose.
COs it happen to my hb also, although my hb will not buy LV product, say he bought something, when I ask him, he will also just reply he bought today but after I qns more I will know he buy sometime ago.. then I will ask him many WHYs...
why never tell me, why now then take out, why...then he will tell me.. you see I know you will ask many qnz so it's more easy if I just reply I bought today.
so you see.. men and women are different, Men always go for the easiest way out or answer that save trouble but your hb dun really wanna lie.. he still tell you the truth after you qns more.
it's a man thing.. dun be angry.

sysac,
somehow, I find some similarity in the way cephas and clariss smile. see cephas 4th pic and clariss pic below.
btw, can cephas hold his head firmly now? I read that baby should start taking solids only when they can hold their head properly. also nowsdays PD recommend that solids to be started around 6 months so as to prevent allergies bout. of course, different babies react differently to solids. did you check with your PD?
402352.jpg

queen,

the bumpermat is something like a playmat only thicker. I have read in the other thread, one of the mummies highly recommended it. Her son plays/crawls on it when he's younger. When he starts walking, she bought some panels and surround the mat when the panels and convert it into a safe play area for her son.

re: menses
Can I also ask a suaku question? If not menstruating, are we ovulating?

sleepingdeer,

I also like the cooler bag - keeps my milk chilled for 6 hours when I tried on sun. Anyone tried the full 16 hours yet?

Hi sl,

Thanks. Yep, he's quite fun to play with now. Will search around when we call out to him. Will chit chat with us in his baby lang. HB is having lots of fun with him.

Hi mongs,

Yes, smile looks the same. She's so sweet
Since 3 months, he cld hold his head quite steadily. Nowaday, he will move his head like watchng a tennis match.

The unpolished rice is liquid diet & so the PD says it's okie. Besides, it's one meal a day with about 5-8 mouthfuls.

Went for his 4th month jab today. On top of the 5-in-1, he also got the 1st dosage of Pneumococcal (Prevenar). So he's got a jab on each thigh. PD said "Wow, so fleshy. He shd be fine." Anyway, Cephas yelled when the jabs were administered. After that, he just looked at us with teary eyes & drank his milk while we waited to pay.

His weight is 7.22kg & is 65cm.

queen

sleepingdeer
actually medela cooler bag can last for how long har?
sysac
what's the pneumococcal vaccine for?

today brought bb to GP for 2nd 6in1 jab, and rotavirus vaccine. so expensive.....
bb's weight is 5.5kg, didn't measure the length. GP commented that my gal's neck still not strong...

think will bring bb to PD next week for growth development checkup.

Hi sunny,

Pneumococcal Disease is a serious infection that occsurs mostly in chn under 2 yrs old. It can cause:

Pneumococcal Meningitis - Inflammatn of the brain membranes & spinal cord.

Meningitis - Can sometimes cause permanent disabilities including heaing loss, paralysis, mental retardation & death.

Bacteraemia - Blood poisoning

Pneumonia - Inflammation of the lungs

Otitis Media - Middles ear infection.

Mongs,
your daughter's smile so sweet...! Melts your heart right?

SL,
i tried 12 hours, not too bad, of course not as chilled as we put in the fridge loh...

Sunny,
Medla bag can last 6-8 hours...

Tracy/cookie,
My dog sheds quite a bit of fur. So I dun think the cleaner comes once a week is enuf to keep the hse clean. Probably need at least 2-3 times a week. How much does ur part time cleaner charge u? Who helps to clean his poo & pee daily? I wish to bring back my doggie but worried abt the cleanliness of the hse ley. Now without dogs, sometimes I dun even hv the time/energy to mop the floor.

Thanks for the comforting words regarding hb. I think in some way, going back to work saved a bit of my sanity... although really miss bb and got to rush back every evening. Colleagues also quite sarcastic, now 6pm will say 'eh why haven't go home meh'. Dun really care for it, bb more impt.

Re: Massage CD
So far only Denmy emailed me her address. I recall 2 more pax who wanted the CD. Pls email me your address by this week.

Y,
any improvement in your bb's feeding?

Need to vent my frustrations here...
Re. MIL
Today knock off early and reached in-law's place at 6pm. My boy still sleeping and my MIL told me that he has passed his eating time which was supposed to be at 5.30pm. She said she already took out my EBM and warmed it up even though my boy is still sound asleep. Cos she said must prepare milk in advance cos my boy will cry the house down when he's hungry. Anyway, she took out the milk at 5pm, warmed it up and left it on the table till 6pm when I came back and my boy is still not awake. So I told her, in normal tone, not to take out the EBM in advance cos warmed up EBM cannot last more than an hour. Will be a waste to throw the EBM away. She replied never mind, just throw the EBM away and give him FM. I told her that it's not easy for me to pump at work and to take out the milk only when baby is ready to eat; that it's ok to let them cry for a few minutes while the EBM is being warmed up. Then I went into my boy's room to latch him on cos he's awake liao. When my MIL finished cooking dinner, she started ranting at my HB (I'm still in my boy's room behind closed door but can hear her loud and clear), said what's the big deal about throwing away EBM and giving FM once in a while and do I think that taking care of Isaac is an easy job since I complain not easy for me to pump at work. And said she dislike me making so many comments about how she takes care of my boy, says even my FIL also doesn't dare to comment and I make so many comments...

Wah I'm super pissed loh but held my tongue. Cos #1, when I spoke to her, I did not use a harsh or accusatory tone. Just told her evenly not to take out EBM in advance cos it's a waste if baby does not want to drink within 1 hour, especially when it's not easy for me to pump at work.

#2, I seldom comment on how she takes care of my boy. In fact, she has made quite a few insensitive remarks about my EBM before which I'm angry about but kept quiet.

Besides, Isaac is my son, so if I'm not agreeable to some of her way of taking care / feeding my boy, I can't voice it out meh? And it's not like I raise my voice or sound like I blame her.

I mean, I'm ok with my MIL giving him a bottle of FM sometimes when I have to OT and there is no more thawed EBM in the fridge . But to throw away EBM needlessly just because she's gan cheong that my baby will cry for that 5 mins or so while waiting for milk so she prepare in advance and baby doesn't drink... Of course I will feel unhappy right?

Makes me wonder that particular day when my MIL said my boy rejected my all my EBM... whether it's because she had prepared the milk in advance and left the milk out too long, end up the EBM being spoilt. Somemore that day she kept saying my EBM got problem and when she feed Isaac FM, he was happily drinking away!

My HB says next time if I have anything to say, just tell him and he will tell his mom. Says his mom may react differently if he's the one to relay the message. Well could be true, but ultimately my MIL will still know that I'm the one who's unhappy what.

All along I don't have any problems with my MIL, was so shock that she reacted so strongly today. I wonder if I should apologise but that would mean that I'm in the wrong right? But I'm not what!

Mummies with Doggies
I just collected flashcards from a mummy and she has 2 malteses. 1 of her maltese has been hospitalised because she ate the poo from the diaper. She vommitted and had to be operated on as the crystals on the diaper had cut thru her stomach and gut..poor thing. Remember to keep watch on your doggies and keep those soiled diapers away from them. My one especially, loves to look for soiled diapers.

Have to keep the house doubly clean especially with my dog around as he sheds periodically. Used to have a part-time cleaner (charge $140 per mth) but has stopped her services because once a week not sufficient. That's why got a maid, can clean the house everyday, so I can bring my doggie back home. Wenyl, like you, my dog has been in exile at my parent's place since bb was born.

Re: menses
SL, think if menses don't come, we will not be ovulating. That's why bf is like a form of natural birth control, it delays menses and hence, harder to get pregnant.

Denmy, tks for faxing the instructions to me.

RE: Massage CD
Cindy I am interested, can I have a copy too? I missed the gathering..got to work that day =( Can I have ur email address? Let me know how much do I have to pay if needed =)

RE: Menses
I had my first menses after so many months. The flow is quite heavy..it is so bad that I had stained my office chair. End up got to scrub like mad..sigh.. But it only lasted 3days. Anyone started the menses already?

RE: HUBBY
My hubby refused to let me rock my gal to sleep nowadays. He say I spoilt her already. When I rock her to sleep in the sarong, she will start to be cranky. I will give her pacifier but she keeps spitting out and I put it back again. Ended up spending 1hr to make her sleep. But when my hubby rock her, it only takes 15mins and without pacifier! Cos he let her cry and after awhile she realised that he is not giving her any attention, she will stop and sleep. After a long day at work, I really hope to have some bonding with her.. but only have that 30mins of playtime with her and she got to sleep.. =( now can't even rock her to sleep. sigh..I can't bear to see her cry.. but know that it is a very bad habit for her to play with her pacifier.

RE: 5-in-1 jab
My gal will be having her jab this sat. Anything that I have to take note? Eg, anything to drink before or after jab so that she won't have fever? Will there be any changes in behaviour like being cranky or change of sleeping time?

MIL
Queen, can understand your frustration. So difficult for us to pump EBM and yet it is not appreciated. But that's the problem with having in-laws to look after, it's difficult to tell them what to do, unlike your own parents. No choice, have to use your hb as a channel. I also use my hb to communicate to my MIL on things I'm not happy with...eg. she holds the bottle by the teats, after all our pains of washing and sterilizing!

Queen,
Think if I were u, I will not apologise lor. Just keep quiet since it is over. Else there will be more things to bring up again.

Think for MIL or own mummy (elderly).. they think that EBM which store in fridge is not good for bb lor. That might be why she is trying to introduce FM to bb. My mum discourage me from feeding BM and my MIL say EBM can get easily contaminated.. not good for bb. I am so sick of hearing all these.

Hmm..understand how u feel.. so unhappy but cannot voice out. I don't dare to disagree with my mum at times too cos she is the one looking after my gal. More comments will lead to quarrel, I am afraid that she might not want to look after my gal if I comment too much. Eg: she always give my gal pacifier to make her sleep. But I think only give when she cry for it.

Serene,
So gd..can use hb to communicate with MIL. My hb is too straight. During my confinement, my MIL come over for 1week. The first day she had very bad flu. I saw and pull my hb into the room. I told him "Can't ur mum wait until she recover then come over to stay? She will spread the germs to bb leh." And can u imagine.. my hb walk out of the room and say to his mum immediately "Ma, u got flu. Dun carry bb."
Oh gosh.. I can see my MIL face turn black immediately.. and it lasted for the whole week.
So now I dun dare to tell my hb anything immediately.. only when I am on the way back home from MIL's place then I dare to say.

Re: Menses
May, are you still breastfeeding? Mine lasted for 3 days also but it's more like discharge than menses, the actual flow never came.

Re: Hubby
My hubby has no patience with bb, he will just let him cry. I'll be the one to pick him up and pacify him. Hiaz, so frus with hb sometimes.

Serene, I only BF for 2weeks. So the flow is extremely heavy for first 2 days. Then spotting on the 3 day.

Re: Hubby
Sigh.. mummies are always the one who is more anxious. Cannot bear to see bb hungry or see bb cry.

wendyl
ya indeed.. with baby sometimes so difficult to do house work. I usually try to wake up earlier than bb to vacuum and mop the floor or else wait for hb to come back at nite.. then I mop the floor.
my dogs also shed quiet a lot tho we fence them up but still there are fur around when they walk in and out of the house for walk.
My dogs are train to pee and poo when my hb bring them for walks. My hb bring them walk 3 times a day.. very shiong! but at least they dun do their biz at home.
My part time cleaner are usually indonesian lady, I contact a free lance "agent", they charge $40 for 7 hrs. But every week I may get different cleaning lady. Some of them are very thorough and clean, some of them so- so only.

May,
You can email me at [email protected]
It's FREE

Me too... finally menses came last Fri, stained my car seat real bad when driving home from the gathering. Also super heavy flow but lasted 3 days only.

Queen,
Just act normal tomorrow I suppose is good enough to show truce. You have no choice as she is the one taking care of Isaac and you wouldn't want her to secretly do things to your EBM behind your back.

I can understand how you feel, but don't give in to pressure with regards to BM/BF. That's what happened to me. Milk did not come in until the 6th day and when it does, supply was super low such that bb cries for milk every hour. My mom did my confinement for me and did not understand what's the big deal with BF and said bb is starving, so need to give FM. As she also has been kept awake by bb constantly, I gave in. It'll always be a regret for me that I haven't BF enough (though now still manage to squeeze about 80ml of EBM per day for bb and that's like his snack haha...)

MIL worse... when bb just born and we still in hospital, she gave a "see me no up" look and ask me why hospitals now don't give FM. Yah lah, me quite flat-chested but still... When she visited me at home and saw bb drinking FM from bottle, she kept saying to bb "ya bb, milk is nice right. drink this then you will be full".

Think our parents generation are not very informed on the benefits of BF. My MIL did not even attempt to BF all her 3 children.

Queen
During my confienement period, I was very angry with my MIL that I raise my voice to her. Tho I still she has part to be blame I still apologies to her out of respect becos I raise my voice but not agreeing to her point still.
if u have not been harsh to your mil.. but it's her who is over-reacting.. like you say apologising will only make her think that everytime she rant loudly she can get her way.

Getting your hb to do the talking is good, but sometimes dunno hb will put the point across as we want to or not..heehee..
For my mil.. she buy everything my HB says.. so anything I just ask my hb do the talking.

Re: Mil
talking abt mil and BF.. the time when I raise my voice to her was.. during the intial period, milk supply was low and bb keep crying even after feeding, then my mil start to say things like BF not full, BF make bb follow pple, why bb cry maybe she dun like BM etc ect...
I was in pain trying to BF when crack and bleeding nipple.. and there she was commenting this and that.. I blew my top!
But in the end.. HB think I over-reacting.. sigh.. so depressing and probably also due to homones changes la.
Now I wish I could have handle it better :p

Sometimes use hb too much also not so good. He complains that he's like a hamburger sometimes heheh...

I also raise my voice at MIL a few times before. My MS was super low during 1st week of confinement, so depressed already and she was like still comparing and saying how much MS my SIL had. Now she's still comparing the size of babies, speed of learning, turning, talkativeness etc etc., even though my boy is 2 weeks younger and 5 weeks premature!

sl
thanks. will let u know. if i dun reply in time, pls go ahead. btw, i can see the dimension, etc from SSW? If we're not menstruating, i dun think we ovulate. but not that u wont know when u ovulate coz u will ovulate first, then menses come.

sleepindeer
didnt know that the medela bag can only last for 6 to 8 hrs.

cindy
can i hv the CD too, pl. You dun accept PM. can u PM me, then i reply with my addy. thanks!