(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Wenyl,
my part-time cleaner charges $10/hr, min. 3hrs. vacuum, mop floor, clean surfaces, iron clothes. sometimes clean windows n doors if got time.

queen,
MIL's can be quite painful. for me, tink i'll jus not mention the incident again, jus let it pass.

MIL
my MIL is those type wun say it in ur face, but drop sarcastic hints. like dat day when i told her to continue giving bb windrops, she turn to bb n said,"oh, but can't always depend on such tings wat." indirectly telling me.

then she kept commenting how come bb got rashes on neck, and how last time my hb young dun ve, my nephews all dun ve. i said she's prob like me, cos i had it when i was young too. then she turn to bb again n said,"oh, it's mummy lah." like my fault...

then last evening bb drank at 5pm. i know her style, after this feed, she wun take anymore milk till 11pm. she rather zz. we tried b4 n she rejected. so at 8pm, my MIL ask if she wans milk. i said dun give. then she said to bb AGAIN,"oh, mummy dun wanna let u drink.." like i'm starving her.

she's lucky i'm a rather 'can't be bothered' person to quarrel w ppl, so i nvr talk back to her. jus ignore her.

Nephews
my older nephew, 5yrs, likes to c my bb change diaper n bathe! he even throw tantrum if he can't c. eh..is something wrong w him?

my younger nephew now having diarrhea n vomit once in awhile. i'm so worried itz some virus, but my hb tinks i'm over-reacting. they dun keep him away fm my bb one..i tinking to myself, jus dun ever give me a chance to say i told u so whn something happens.

Sore nipple:
i having sore nipple prob due to pumping too hard. any advice on how to heal it? i can't pump as fast now cos v pain n i tink i'm not emptying my breast completely like dat. how?!!

menses:
oh dear, first menses so heavy?? scared scared

all mummies,
GOOD MORNING! been busy at work since i return last monday. everyday cant wait to Zoom home to play with bb. know i have lots to catch up but can see that you all enjoy the gathering v much! All thanks to Rena!!

Here is the latest pic of Javier
402705.jpg

krissie,
uh... i dunno how to use the PM function...
if you have difficulty emailing me, then can you sms me by tomorrow? 9873 6963

btw, where did you get the ren sen?

edd2jan,
got your email. I'll just mail it from office...

HI Queen,
totally understand how you feel about MIL and EBM. The problem with the elder generation is that they were brainwashed by the benefits of FM, and as a result keep thinking that FM is better than BM. For me, I had a huge argument with my mum coz she was making the usual remarks, like 'BM not filling enuff', FM is better... and this is despite me telling her everyday about the benefits of BM... in the end I blew my top and scolded her for more than an hour!

Agree that it is tough to talk things thru with MIL, look at me, so scared to tell MIL not to carry my bb... but I do use my hubby to get the message across. The good thing is hubby is very supportive of me... so he is the 'hamburger' all the time...The elder generation dun understand how precious each drop of BM is collected, and how much time and effort is there. I always tell me hubby to tell MIL not to waste BM, and if there is 20ml left in the bottle, I will be so sim tia, so when I hear your MIL throwing away a full bottle of EBM, aiyah!

Cindy,
same same, my mum also, keep saying bb not full on BM, better to give FM, in the end, I was crying from stress every night during my month one confinement... somemore I had sensitive nipples, so it was super painful when bb latched on... imagine, one side trying to feed bb while coping wiht the pain, the other side, hearing people nag about not enough milk etc...

Tracy,
you really know how to REN, if it were me, I will show black face, and next thing is complain to hubby.... haha...

Krissie,
yah, 6 - 8 hours... though b4 I got the mini fridge, I was using it like 12 hours... gulp! But have to say that milk was still chilly lah, so the Medela cooler bag is also not bad..

May,
we gave my bb some 'bao sen', wanted to buy leng yang, then I heard that Leng Yang comes from deer antlers, which you have to kill the deer, so decided to get 'Bao Sen' instead... hee hee..

Good morning mommies!

Queen
so charm your mother-in-law don't respect your EBM!! I guess no choice but have to REN as she is taking care of your child, lucky your husb understanding and side u...I think better get him to tell ur MIL next time (no matter what, as Daughter-in-law always considered 'outsider')...

sometimes my mom who is helping me look after my girl also make funny comments. She also prewarms my EBM cos my girl will scream... sometimes the milk is sitting out for 2 hours... initially i used to worry and ask her her to throw away, now I just ask her to test and if ok still give my girl.. my EBM too precious to throw lah.. unless no choice

Sometimes also v. frus with my mom and the way she handle my baby but no choice daren't complain too much cos she is really helping look after baby whilst i'm at work... so feel guilty... Older people's mind set different from ours... sometimes oso the stress of looking after a kid can make MIL/ parents a bit sensitive to what we say...

Re: milk bags
has anyone had problems with leaking bags? Just yest one of my gerber milk bags leaked and my mom threw away 120mls... so heart pain...

SL,
I PMed u regarding the bumpermats... but I think I left out the details which are:
Item design: POOH & FRIENDS
Size : 1850 x 1250 mm
Thickness : 12 mm
Material : soft PVC (non-toxic)

The other one is 'limited' edition
and It is a LG PRIME product.
The Front design is the same as "Pooh Wonderland". But the Back design is of "Alphabets" - The size : 230cm x 140cm (new large size), 13mm thick

Easter holiday
Really looking forward to easter weekend I am off to HK ... YAY!! Hope baby can take the flight though, and hope i can take my in-laws...fingers crossed
My FIL still smoking... supposedly cut down.. hope he has stopped smoking in the house as we requested...

HI ALL MUMMIES
REM MY LAST MESSAGE IS MY SON DISCHARGE FROM KK. HIS 3 MTH INJECTION IS ON LAST FRI BUT TILL NOW EVERY NITE HE'S MORE FUSSY WAN TO CARRY AND PAT AND WHEN I PUT HIM DOWN IN COT WHEN HE'S AB TO SLP HE'LL CRY SO NO CHOICE HAVE TO WAIT FOR HIM TO SLP LONGER THEN SLOWLY PUT HIM ON HIS COT. HAI AFTER THE INJECTION LIKE THAT LIAO. DON NOE WAT TO DO. NOW MY BACK PAIN BECAUSE OF CARRYING HIM TOO LONG.

tabbiesus (tabbiesus
NO LE HE CAN SMILE AND PLAY BUT WHEN HE WAN TO SLP HE JUST BECOME SO FUSSY.
REALLY VERY TIRED AND BACK REALLY ACHE AH
HIS SWOLLEN LEG ALR RECOVER IN LESS THAN A DAY. WHEN HE DISCHARGE FROM KK FEVER ALR GONE. HAI DON NOE WAT WENT WRONG AGAIN

cindy
i have email you my address liao. pls check and again thank you!

sl
ok ok will update you the detail of the bumpermat and let you know asap.

re: menses
actually my gynea warn and remind me to have protection during BD even if im BF. bocz one of her paitent actually got pregnant again within 3 months after she deliver her first bb! the thing is she is on TBF!
so better to play safe, it does not mean BF means no ovulation...

wendyheng
BD= baby dancing (sex la) heehee
TBF= total breast feeding

cindy
really!!! wow, but nv met any mummy with bb on my way out and back to my house leh... hmmm
maybe you want to send one postage to either me or edd2jan. so we got a chance to meet up! heehee

edd2jan
you live at Blk 629??? me too! want to meet? =p

wendyheng
my boy yesterday oso like your bb *sigh* so now super sleepy... dont know what to do then can make him sleep better *sigh*******

rachel lim (moon77)
OIC OK. YOUR BOY ALSO WENT TO POLY CLINC TO INJECT??? HIS LEG SWOLLEN AND PAINFUL. HE CRIED FOR HOURS AFTER SIX HOURS OF INJECTION????
THINKING OF GOING TO PD TO INJECT 5 IN 1 DONT TRUST POLY CLINC

wendyheng,

my son also behaved the same thing after the injection, he just went for injection on monday and ever since being crying alot. HeWAS jected 5in1 from polyclinic.

BAD NEWS..

My notebook was corrupted...all my photos might gone...sob sob..now i dun dare to do anything on the notebook..need to wait till monday went back to work and get my collegue to help me. Just called him up and he said might be able to save the hard disk...PRAY HARD...otherwise need to reformate the whole hard disk...

Mummies using digitial camera and download photo on PC...please please remember to do a back up or print the hard copies....my heart aching now...sob sob

Queen,

never say sorry to MIL if not you will lose your authority as a mother.. I use to shout at my MIL once after that feel guilty.. but now she give me full respect as a mother...

SL,

I am not getting the mat already.. buy too many things for bb already..

Wendyheng,

my boy also like that at night.. what i do is I aill on soft music to calm him, and off the lights in the room then I will walk him lor.. Very tired.. but bo bian.. your bb very heavy ? my one hor sumo leh..8kg.. sometime carry untill peng san.. that is why must try different methods...but soon your bb will overgrow it.. dun worry..

RE: MIL

my hb also dun know how to handle my MIL .. usually he will just keep quite coz he is like may's hb.. willl just tell her off...very jia liat..

that is why I will usually do the job... now maybe I am a SAHM so she really respect me for giving up such a high pay job for bb sake...

queen- yeah can understand how u felt abt EBM been thrown away. frankly if its me i will also flare up as i always feel that EBM is so so precious tat sometimes when my boy had leftover i will also sulked let alone being thrown away witout drinking. but since ur hb said abt letting him know ur comments first..then u can direct to him first to pass along to ur MIL. how abt ur mum? can she help to look after. frankly if there is so many opinions with MIL looking after, what abt hiring a day time nanny. my frd is doing that and paying like $500 per mth.

cindy - i have sent my address to ur mailbox. please check and thanks for your help! ya so nice.

hi mummies..tomorrow i am heading back to work. quite excited but the thoughts of lugging those heavy stuffs make me sianz. hopefully my MS dun decrease further.

krissie - did you mention that you change ur bb teats to size 3? are you using Avent teats? my boy is still using size 2 and lately during feed, he will always struggle and cry and only after carrying him for a while and trying to feed him again, he will then start drinking. not sure if its the teat size issue. anyone know if avent teat size 3 is for which mths onwards?

wendyheng
next week going back to polyclinic for the 2nd jab of Hep B. hv not decide whether to go polyclinic for the 5-in-1 or not. thinking of going to GP or PD instead but the cost abit higher lo.
told hubby about ur bb jab at polyclinic not pleasant and got fever n swollen. he then hesitate to insist go polyclinic liao =p

juz brought Celeste for her 3rd mth jab on monday (had the date brought fwd by 3days cos shes has been drinking very little lately at oni 500-600ml daily) weight is at 5.67kg ONLY and length 60cm.. PD at first mentioned weight not so good, but later referred to the chart and said its ok, 50th percentile and length at 75th percentile. PHEW... PD said she's jus small built and small eater, so no force... jus try to keep offering her milk...

Re : Energy level
does any mummy feel tired easily now and at the end of a work day, you feel like your energy level has gone down to the lowest that you are not spending quality time wf the baby? at times, i reali wish i can be more energetic to play wf Celeste but aft a while, i get tired also.. think my diet not good enuf..not eating more though stil partial breastfeeding...and my nails have seem to become more yellowish ( lack of nutrients )!!!

SSF,
Got your address. I'll send the CDs out by next week.

rachel,edd2jan,
Yes, it's quite a small world. At the gathering I realise pochacco and I go to the same PD. Met her even before I came into this thread.

edd2jan

yah yah! qiao! my boy coming to 12 weeks tomo! =)
your bb? i live on the 25th floor, you?

god's child

me too. notice my knee and waist are getting weaker. in the past my knee wont feel pain whenever i bend them but now will feel it evertime i squat down. jia luck, think lost of lots of calcium??

ssf,

size 3 is for 3 month onwards but they have 2 flow medium and variable flow.. I also pland to change but dun know which is better

queen,

can empathise with you. It's really not easy to pump during work then to see all the EBM wasted.

Perhaps she's stressed looking after the baby? Just close both ears lor.

My mum also flares up easier nowadays cos she's stressed looking after the family and the baby. Sometimes I just pretend not to hear lor.

tracy,

use your hand to express to empty the breast. As for the sore nipple, you can either use the nipple cream or use the hindmilk to apply on the nipples

queen
I wouldn't apologise if I were u cuz you've not done anything wrong. If u apologise, she'll just start throwing away EBM behind ur back and FM. Perhaps what u can do is print out articles on the advantages of BM vs FM and ask ur hb show it to ur MIL? If not, ask ur HB to "educate" ur MIL on the benefits of BM?

rachel, re : calcium intake
You have to continue taking calcium supplements if u're BF cuz ur body will still take all the calcium they need to produce the breast milk regardless you have or don't have enough calcium in ur body. So, if u do not supplement your calcium, you'll risk weakening of bones and osteoporosis when u're older.

rena
the variable flow teat not easy to use. suggest u get size 3. i got the variable one and boy always cry when feeding.

mummies with playmat
my playmat has been folded for so long that when i unfold it has a lot of lines and won't lie flat properly. is it spoilt??

re PD checkup
my boy is now 6.8kg and 61 cam at 12 weeks. PD say above ave weight and ave height.

queen
can imagine how mad u must feel when the EBM got to throw. sometimes if it's a bit after an hour, i still let him drink cos it smells ok. i always tell my maid not to take out too early but sometimes bb just refuse to wake up.

if your MIL is the kind that u can communicate directly, better for u to tell her yourself. i realise for my case, my hb creates more misunderstanding. not that i agree with my MIL on everything but now when i think of something or disagree on something, i will say it myself. so in a way, we are more open with each other now.

re menses
sounds like the first mense is very heavy..is that normal? so scary...

cindy
i also gave in to pressure to feed FM so that's why MS not enough and boy refused to latch. persistently pumped every 3 hours since boy is 2 weeks old and now get about 500ml per day. but it's really tiring. my mum read an article on benefits of BM so i feel that now she understands better. hb also more supportive now as well after hearing from colleagues.

think pple really dunno much abt how good BM can be!

SSF
i started work and lugging lots of things to work. very heavy...need to think of a better way to bring my stuff to office. plus i take train....

wendyheng,
your boy better? each time my boy takes injection he will wan to be carried more....

queen
understand how u feel. i also dare not tell my mil too many things at one time. 'cos scare that she will think that i am directing her how to take care of bb and she might think that she 'eat salt more than i eat rice' and shouldn't teach her what to do... so, i just tell her things bit by bit.
it's not easy to pump and store EBM and meet bb's demand already. i will feel upset if someone throws away the EBM for invalid reason....

may
you can let bb drink a bit of liang drinks e.g. pao shen or jing ying hua before the injection.

god's child
my gal only 5.5kg at 3rd mth. don't worry too much as long as bb is healthy.

today is 1st day of work. rushing like mad in the morning to pack things and bring bb to mil's place. so far, managed to pump twice in the office already. but the amount expressed was not very good. only about 280ml!! so sad...
bb got a bit of temperature after 2nd jab. but now she's ok already.
GP said bb's neck still not strong.

sl
U were asking if we're ovulating if no menses right? If u're not having ur menses, chances are you're 90% not ovulating, esp if u're breastfeeding. However, if u're having menses, you're 90% ovulating. HOpe this helps.

sunny,
how many times u pumping in office? i only plan to pump twice. first pump only got like 100ml. my colleague told me to expect a bit of drop but with consistent pumping, MS will come back.

WEndy
yah we din really manage to speak at the gathering but i recog u cos of the photos u posted

wendy
yah i know. think must go buy calcium supplement fast and take promptly. cant afford to have weak bones...

re: PM
err... silly question here. how you know if there is any PM for you and go where check huh?

jus came back fm PD. bb is 65cm & 6.1kg. PD said she's more to the tall side. also said she's very good, neck very strong. make us so happy. when he placed her on tummy, she half turned herself. she can hold her neck v well on her tummy, even turn back to look at PD! hee hee i v happy.

n she didnt cry at all when taking the jab. now she's sleeping, v tired. took e rotavirus vacc too.

Decreased milk intake
told doc abt it, he says it's normal for bb this age now. dun force them if they dun wanna drink.

Poo
told him she poos once in 3 days, he said its fine as long as poo is soft.

Erratic drinking schedule
he said bb this age tend to be v easily distracted, so try to feed them at a quiet place away from distractions to encourage them to finish their milk.

but he said there are two small eaters too, who jus simply likes to drink frequently but in small amt. there's nothing much to do abt dat, except inconvenience to mummy..

sl,
thks, jus bot a tube of nipple cream. thank goodness i'm on leave till next tue, can take my time to express milk.

gods_child,
i also got weak, dry nails now and dry skin..altho i'm taking calcium daily. sigh..wat to do..

re: EBM thrown away
I learnt from a few friends who are also feeding their babies EBM that the EBM can be kept longer than 1 hr if warmed up but hasn't touched saliva yet. At room temp, the EBM can be kept up to 6 hrs. I think it's a bit too long, but just smell to make sure the milk is still ok to drink lor... So heartpain to throw away. I recently threw away a lot too cos I was taking flu medicine and wasn't sure if it's ok to feed the EBM.

queen, don't apologise! Your MIL is being sensitive and uneducated on BM's benefits. Just be firm with her. I've heard enough of FM's benefits from my Mum, who keeps telling me the quality of BM must be good lah, otherwise better give FM, etc. But after she saw my EBM, she's more agreeable to BM... Our parents' generation is really brain-washed by the FM advertisements in their time. Show them the text on the FM tins that says "Breastmilk is best". I notice almost all FM brands have to put that in the wordings, maybe that proves that our parents' generation has been misled all along!

re: relationship with HB
now I think bb gets more kisses from HB than me. So jealous, like I'm now a supporting cast like that... Yesterday told him I'm getting fever and flu, and he didn't believe me at first. And said, "I thought you are just craving for my attention"! *faint* but I can't complain much lah, since he does help to feed her, carry her, change her and even forced to change her pooed diapers...

re: BD
I haven't BD with HB yet cos too tired after long day, but now bb sleeps through the night, so things are looking brighter re: BD. But I heard the first few times can be quite dry and painful esp for BF mothers, so turns me off a bit...

re: Menses
Last week, I also thought my menses is back cos I saw some discharge and I can feel the usual pre-menstrual discomforts. But in the end, false alarm leh... Really that super heavy ah, May? I really don't look forward to having menses again after the year long holiday... sigh...

Wendy, any recommendations on the calcium supplements? Will it be too heaty?

mamypoko diapers
i went to 2 NTUCs, 1 Shopnsave n 1 provision, NO mamypoko M size diapers!! in the end buy Nepia M size, looks like too big..

anyway, Nepia M and L on offer S$27.60 for 2 packs.

Tracy,
which NTUC you go to? I can't seem to buy Nepia leh.. wanted to try and my gal mamapoko S getting too small liao, gotta go for M, so thought to try Nepia... is it as good as Mama poko?

SY,
dun worry about your playmat... just leave it open for about a week, the lines and creases will go away...

your boy's weight so good, my gal is only 5.8kg and 59cm long... she is a tiny chilli padi... haha

valerie,
I'm taking Osteocal 500. Its calcium 500mg with vitamin D. For better absorption, take chewable Vitamin C as well. These were prescribed to me by my gynae during my last post natal check up and pap smear. Just 1 each a day will do. Also, do not take Calcium supplements with milk. That's what my gynae advised me.

SY,
Next time must try to chat with everyone
Hopefully my hubby will be with me for the next gathering so I won't be so busy taking care of bb alone and will have more time for socialising