(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Rachel,
re: PM

check the email address that you listed when you signed up as member... all PM goes to that email address

babylon (baby99lon)
What u mean by the same as my son??? He cried alto after 6 hours after his injection or wan to carry more often???

sleepingdeer
I just ordered 4 packs of nepia small. Delivers free to my doorstep and costs only $14/pack. Will try out the nepia and tell u how it is compared to mamy poko. I'm currently using mamy poko small.

sunny - PD also said Celeste in lazy in lifting her head. PD actuali laid her on all fours and celeste juz went face down on the cushion!!! haha... Lazy ger i have got...trying to put her on her tummy more often now, at least shes turning her head from left to right now... but since shes on MC these 2 days ( as given by her daddy cos of her fever after the jab ), i am not to put her on her tummy!

Hi Wendy,
yah, try and let me know k? Thanks! My gal starting to get creases and lines around her thighs coz the diapers a little too small liao... really want to try Nepia but scared get already not good to use... I still have half a bag of Pureen S which the hospital gave me, really cannot make it, but so sayang... I also love Pampers Premium with the indicator, but that brand is super expensive.. $23.90 per pack when not on offer... can die...
and Pampers Dry is very plastic... though super cheap at $10.90... maybe we should do a survey on diapers huh?

my hubby just forwarded this... unsure whether true or not... but no harm reading...

S'PORE TODDLER HIT BY MYSTERIOUS KAWASAKI DISEASE

Mum's 8 days of fear
IT has been about a year since her daughter, Natalie, recovered from a severe bout of Kawasaki Disease.
By Dawn Chia

13 January 2003
IT has been about a year since her daughter, Natalie, recovered from a severe bout of Kawasaki Disease.
Yet, Madam Au Yoke Mei jumps each time there is any little sign that could point to its recurrence. Kawasaki Disease is a childhood illness that strikes young children. The cause of the disease is unknown. (See other report.)

Said Madam Au, a 32-year-old manager at Manulife Financial: 'My heart sinks in fear each time I hear that Natalie's got a fever. 'No matter where I am, I'd drop everything and rush home to be with her.
'Although the chances of recurrence are very low, I become paranoid when she has the slightest fever.'
A persistent fever is a symptom of Kawasaki Disease.

It first struck Natalie in December 2001. She was only 2 1/2 years old then. As is normal, Madam Au and her husband took her to the paediatrician, where she was given medication. Still, the fever raged on, worsening at night.

It was only after the cherubic toddler complained of a stomachache that Madam Au discovered her daughter had developed rashes around her hip and thigh.

Worried, she rushed her to hospital, where Natalie was admitted immediately. Doctors gave her antibiotics and medication to try to lower her temperature.

Madam Au recalled: 'It was very frightening. The fever just would not go away, and we did not know what we could do to make her feel better.

'We could only pray, and continue to surf the Internet to see if we could get some answers on what was afflicting her.'

Several rounds of blood tests, scans and blood cultures followed, but Natalie showed no signs of improvement. She had diarrhoea, and vomited continually. Her fever would hit 40 deg C at times.

Despite having countless needles and drips inserted into her, the little girl hardly threw any tantrums. She gritted her teeth and bore the pain, whispering a weak 'I'm okay' every time she was asked how she felt.

It broke her parents' hearts to see her that way.

Deciding that four days of probing needles was enough suffering for their child, the couple went for a second opinion. On the fifth day, another doctor suspected that Natalie had Kawasaki Disease.

It increases the blood platelet count, which can cause inflammation around the valves, resulting in heart complications.

A cardiologist, who was called in to conduct a heart scan, confirmed the diagnosis. Madam Au listened in disbelief as the cardiologist told her that there was inflammation around the valves of the heart, and that treatment had to be administered immediately.

Natalie was to be given intravenous immunoglobulin (IVIG) to stop the inflammation of blood vessels.
IVIG is a medication of concentrated antibodies administered via a drip.

The second shock came almost immediately - the medication could cause severe reactions like heart complications.

If so, it would occur within the first two hours. Usually the chances of death are low.

Still, Madam Au and her husband counted the seconds and prayed, while Natalie was in the intensive care unit.

Two hours passed, and things began to look up, especially after Natalie asked for food in the third hour.
At midnight, the fever returned but, thankfully, it subsided in the morning. The 12-hour treatment course had also come to an end.

Miraculously, the little girl became her old self and ate heartily, to her parents' relief.

For the eight days that Natalie was warded, Madam Au hardly left her daughter's side. She could barely work up an appetite even though she was five months' pregnant with her second daughter. Even after she was discharged, Natalie had to be on constant medication.

Besides going for monthly heart scans, she had to take aspirin for three months to help thin her blood.
Today, the bubbly 3 1/2-year-old enjoys reading, arts and crafts, and playing with her eight-month-old sister, Hilary.

Madam Au said: 'Those eight days were the darkest days of my life. They certainly weren't easy for Natalie, but I'm proud of her, for she was so young, yet so brave through it all.'

Disease hits young children, heart usually affected
KAWASAKI Disease occurs predominantly in young children - about 90 per cent of patients diagnosed at the KK Women's and Children's Hospital (KKH) are less than 5 years old.

The youngest patient treated by the hospital was about 2 months old.

The younger the child, the higher the incidence - for example, about 40 per cent of KKH's patients with Kawasaki Disease were less than a year old when they were diagnosed.

Every year, the hospital sees an average of about 70 cases of Kawasaki Disease.

The actual cause of the disease remains elusive, even though it was first discovered in Japan more than 30 years ago.

Dr Tan Teng Hong, a paediatric cardiologist at KKH, said: 'The current thinking is that Kawasaki Disease is caused by massive activation of the body's immune system in a child with genetic susceptibility, probably triggered by an infective agent.

'The activation of the immune system leads to inflammatory changes in the body and gives rise to symptoms and signs typical of the disease.'

The most common symptoms are prolonged fever (generally more than five days), accompanied by conjunctivitis (red eyes), rashes, dry and cracked lips.

There is also redness of the tongue, lymph node enlargement of the neck, and swelling or redness of the hands and feet.

Although complications of Kawasaki Disease can occur in any organ system, they usually affect the heart.
Dr Tan said: 'It is now recognised that Kawasaki Disease has become the leading cause of acquired heart disease in developed countries such as Singapore.

'Acute complications include inflammation of the heart muscle, heart attack, sudden death and cardiac failure. Fortunately, catastrophic acute cardiac event is rare.'

The main treatment is intravenous immunoglobulins (IVIG) and oral aspirin. Measures are also taken to control the fever and, if the child is not eating or drinking well, he might need to be put on an intravenous drip.

All patients will need outpatient follow-up for a variable amount of time, depending on whether there is any coronary involvement.
Generally, the chances of recurrence are not high.

sl
thinking of attaching the images of the bumpermat design i wish to get. but during PM dont seem to have the function for me to do attachment. or maybe i dont know how to heehee. or you wan me to just post them here so you can download?

tracy
your bb is really tall!

valerie
my bb also gets a lot of attention from HB and kisses as well! your hb not very kind to say that u only wan attention...must scold him for saying that.

my hb dun help me with bb much but i still expect him to be more loving. when i was quite upset with bb ignoring me, he was much nicer to me.

wendyheng,
think better go to either GP or PD for his next injection. at least u feel more at ease...

sleepingdeer,
i will put the mat out for a few days in this case. hb sure complain one...

think gals usually lighter right? my fren's bb at 6 months is 7.2kg.

wendy
yah, my hb also not there so harder to socialise....
how do u find mamypoko? i find it quite thick leh...

re pampers premium
i tot it sells for 22.50 at NTUC? the medical hall near my place sells for 21.50. i m trying out mamy poko now cos pampers premium is so ex but it is really thin and good...

god's child,
my boy also dun really like to lift his head. PD say that they will develop at their own pace. nothing much we can do to help them develop faster.

re kawasaki disease
i remmeber one of my church member's little girl got the disease. it was quite sudden.

SY
i plan to pump 3 times in the office actually i.e. 9, 1230 and 430. not too sure if this can be achieved or not. 'cos sometimes can be lots of mtgs. my colleague also told me to expect some drop in the supply.... sianz...

sleepingdeer,

I think nepia is okay - except that it's very thick. I think the cutting is a bit small. My gal wears M-size for nepia. I use it at night only cos it's thick.

sunny
i pump 6.30 at home before i come to work and then pump 11am and 4pm.(plus minus half an hour). so far quite ok except after sterilising with the tablets, i find the smell quite strong...

sl
nepia is thick also? think PP must be the thinnest ard....

SY,
dun worry about the mat, when I got mine, the instruction list say expect some lines when we first roll it out, they will disappear after a week...

Re: Daipers
Yah, admit that Mama Poko is thicker then Pampers Premium, so far Pampers is really the best coz thin and soft and comfy... but price is really too exp... so I use mama poko now... a little thicker, but still ok...

sleepingdeer,
and PP dun really have offers often too...

do u know when can bb start sitting facing front in their car seats?

SL,
really huh... well, as long as not super thick and bb comfy... then it's ok... think if I get, should be getting S also...

Sunny,
I latch my gal on around 630am, then first pump 10am, 2nd one at 1pm, 3rd one at 5pm... if I am free, I try to squeeze in another one b4 I leave work....

SL,
really huh... well, as long as not super thick and bb comfy... then it's ok... think if I get, should be getting M also...

Sunny,
I latch my gal on around 630am, then first pump 10am, 2nd one at 1pm, 3rd one at 5pm... if I am free, I try to squeeze in another one b4 I leave work....

sleepingdeer/wendy - i bot nepia size M recently and i must say its pretty good. abit big but its still wearable. i bot at tampines ntuc at 16 plus. so now got offer....quite good buy but very hard to get nepia size M. i been to TM ntuc so many times and only saw once which i decided to buy since i saw it. i am also planning to stick to nepia and have them deliver to my place. btw, i thot the min order is 5 packs? how come u can order 4 packs only?

SY/sleepingdeer
i just use water to rinse the pumping equipment after the pump leh. then next pump continue to use it.... ok or not har?

and, if the pumping interval keeps verying, will that affect the supply? 'cos everyday there will be meetings at different time, can't always stick to the same timing/interval...

just popped in to say hi! too many posts to catch up on!! Esp now that i'm back to work, really no time to read all the postings.

Re: diapers
i find PetPet good n cheap!

Thanks for all your advice and consolation. I'll just pretend nothing happened. Sigh... I'm not the kind of person who bear a grudge but I really don't like the way she ranted at my HB while I'm in the room feeding my son. Makes me wonder if I'm not feeding my boy, whether she'll shout at me instead. Another thing is, she very contradictory. She always say best to gvie baby BM and knows that BM is the best. But sometimes her insensitive comments and actions seemed quite discouraging of BF. Think she just doesn't understand the difficulties that mothers today go through to latch or pump the BM. I ever suggested to her that she try to smell the BM before feeding to see if it has turned bad. But she gave a weird expression like unwilling to do so...

sunny
i also just rinse with water. think a few mummies doing that.

re diapers
so nepia is good? is it cheaper than MP?

queen
best to let your HB handle MIL in this case since she ranted at your HB abt it. your hb knows u can hear her right? did he say anything?

THis afternoon brough Isaac to KK for his second follow up check for anemia. When he was admitted for phototherapy for jaundice during the 1st week, he was found to have low red blood count. So he's been on iron supplements since then. Anyway, his anemia is improving, red blood count going up but still on the low side. So have to continue with the iron supplements and go back for another follow up check in 2 months' time. So it's good that his anemia is disappearing. However, doctor heard a murmur in his heart. At best, could be just the heart pumping faster due to lower haemoglobin levels.
Worse scenario would be a hole in the heart. The doc is concerned cos this is the first time Isaac has been found with murmur in his heart. So have to consult a cadiologist in about 3 weeks' time. Sigh...

Anyway, my boy is 3 months' and 3 weeks old. He's only 5.7kg and 60.5cm long. Barely at the 25th percentile for baby boys. Sigh....

RE: Diapers
I find Drypers not bad too.

RE:Where for jab
I was still think whether to bring my gal to PD or GP for jab. Cos PD consultation is $35-50 and GP is only $15. But if go GP for jab only, need to pay $75 only..unless u want the GP to access the bb's growth according to the health booklet. Acutally we can use the health booklet as the guideline. But for PD, must pay minimum $35 + $75 for jab.. quite ex leh.
My gal will be due for her 2nd jab on Sat..which is her actual day for 3mth. Still haven't decide which one.. the 1st Hep jab was taken by PD.. wow add up to $200+ cos got cream for rash and nose drop.

SY,
Of course after my MIL ranted at him, he came into the room and ask me what happened. I never complain to him... in fact a lot of times when my MIL make me unhappy, I just keep to myself. Never even tell him or show black face to my MIL. But this wasting of my EBM thing is a bit too much... After he heard my side of the story, he went back out to talk to my MIL who continue to raise her voice for a while. I'm sure my MIL knows that I can hear. so I dunno if she's ranting to my HB cos I'm not available for her to shout at or she doesn't want to raise her voice at me directly and prefers to do it through my HB or 'behind my back' so to speak.

RE: Snoring
My gal snore when she sleep. Not sure if she has any breathing problem. Had told PD during her first Hep jab but she say bcos her lungs not fully developed. But till now her breathing is abit loud and she snore quite often. Any bb having this prob as well?

SY,
No, Don;t think so lah. Doc never say I have to take. Just say ISaac has to take the iron sup. But recently I started taking multi-vitamins cos my hair dropping a lot. Think it's beneficial to baby also if I take the multi-vitamins.

May,
I think GP is good enough actually if your girl does not appear to have any major problems... I lagi more cost saving, I go to polyclinics for jabs!

Sunny,
best to keep to max. 4 hrly pumping intervals to maintain MS. And try not to rush yourself while pumping cos sure affect BM output.

Re:Diapers
I just switched to Nepia recently and am quite happy with it. Was using pampers premium all this while but find it to ex. Drypers is cheap but seems to be too warm for baby.

Now NTUC having offer for Nepia - 2 for $27.60. Else can call Nepia direct. They provide FOC delivery for 4 packs @ $14 each. In the mth of Apr, for every 10 packs, they will also give a $10 NTUC voucher. PM me for the contact if interested.

For those who want to buy Pampers Premium, can get from TMC pharmacy. They sell for $19.90 each.

Hi Queen,

Just read that Isaac was detected with a murmur in the heart. Dun worry too much until u see the cardiologist, okie?
My friend's baby too but then when they went to the cardiologist, it was a false alarm.

Dun be stressed over the Mil incident. U have yr opinion and she has hers. One ear in one ear out. I understand it can be irritating but just ignore it.

may,

my boy snore too.. some times it is due to the pillow or the dirt in his nose too much ..so have to clean..

SY,
Seriously I think your hubby have a problem.. does not seem supportive at all leh.. as a mother we always want to give the best for our child therefore we will buy whatever that is the best..haiz!!

RE: diapers..

so far I think I am one crazy mom.. I have tried most of the diapers in the market.. so far I think nepia is most value for money.. almost as good as pampers premium..and cheaper..not too thick as mamy poko and cheaper.. the plus is can deliver to home...

Pet pet and dryers and cheap and good but not lasting so far my bb have to change like 2-3 hours.. pampers try is worse 2 hr have to change...

cindy
I bot the ren sen from the medical hall. I've smsed u my addy. thanks!!

SSF
yup, my boy using no. 3. the nanny says he was sucking v hard, and was tired so cant finish milk. so, change to no. 3.

Cindy,
I would like to hv a copy of the massage CD. U got mail!

Serene,
Actually, me & hb was tinkg of getting a maid too. So tat we can bring our dog home & still maintain the cleanliness of the hse. But we also have reservations cos heard too many maids problems.

May,
We didnt prep bb for his 3rd mth jab, although we thot of giving lengyang. Anyway, bb had no fever or any side effects. So dun worry abt it.

Tracy,
Can I hv the contact of ur part time cleaner? In case i need it sometime in future. Many tks!

Tabbiesus,
So nice! Can go for holiday! Enjoy ur trip!

Wendy/sleeping deer
do let me know Nepia quality also.. me also consider to try but dunno the sizing.
$14/pkt for how many pc?
my gal wear S size mamy poko thing too small now but M size is pretty big for her.

God's child
my gal also very lazy ley.. dun wanna lift up her head.. so sad..
these days I will let her have tummy time more..and she drool alot during tummy time ley.. faint.

Re :Diaper
my friend highly recommend pet pet.. but I try on my gal.. it's leak ley, somemore leak until her t-shirt is wet.
my colleague also use pet pet and say it leak.. so I conclude petpet design maybe more suitab;e for baby boy.. cos my friend's bb is boy and he has been using it since young till now 19months.

So now I'm using drypers and PP and MP.

SY,
ya my gal is tall. at birth she was already 58cm. but my hb n i both short, so dunno how come :p

sleepingdeer:
i bot my nepia fm punggol plaza NTUC. but i saw at Hougang St21 NTUC also ve. first time i'm trying it. the M looks abit too big. actually MP cutting suits her best.

Diapers
Rena, i'm also like u, tried many brands
. mummies, this is my view on the brands i've tried so far:

Pampers Premium
M size cutting too big, S too small. but it's the thinnest so far. I bot one M size long long ago, still cannot use yet. find that MP is comparable to PP.

Mamypoko
the best i've tried so far. cutting suits my gal. absorbency is good. tested, can last max 7hrs. i dun find it too thick leh.

Drypers
the rubber at the sides always leave a mark on the thighs.

PetPet
cannot make it. leaks.

Huggies
funny design. the front flap is also rubberized, so doesnt cover properly in front.

EQ
cheap, soft, but cutting big too. i still ve one M pack waiting to be used.

Nepia
trying now. but texture wise seems same as MP and PP. n it's cheaper! cutting is big for my gal tho..

wenyl,
i got my p/t cleaner thru agency n i paid agency one-time fee of S$98. agency is "firstcare agency" u can contact ricky at 64648466. i tink he's e cheapest agency.

Sunny,
should be ok bah... my pumping times stagger around as well, sometimes 1pm, sometimes 2pm... I just stick roughly to it, as long as you pump within a 4 hour period, should be fine...

Queen,
your MIL really a little too much... since it's over already, why keep complaining to your hubby...

Hope Issac is ok, and the murmur is nothing serious...

Wenyl,
we are also very scared of maids, so we made a decision not to have a maid now and make do with the resources we have.. maybe when bb is bigger and more 'dong shi', we will reconsider... now we are using pt-time maids at both my mum's and MIL's home...

Tracy,
I also got my pt-time maid from first care! I got PP M also, and it looks so huge on my gal! Think Nepia M will also be big, find it tough when bb is in between sizes, S too small, M too big... aiyah, best not to wear anything at all lah... haha... is EQ really good? I work very near Bugis Junction, and I see EQ being sold there, but didn't know whether good or not, so I didn't get it...

Tracy,
Thanks for the contact! Wat's the one time fee for? Subsequently, we still need to pay $10/hr (min. 3 hrs) to cleaner right?

NO POO!!!
My boy hasnt poo since discharged from KK on Sun. Today is his 4th day. Now his grandparents all freaking out! Help....anyone got similar experience!! Advise needed urgently. Tks in advance!

Didn't have the chance to post last 2 days. Thanks so much for all the advice on BB's colic... I went to Guardian on Monday to look for Infacol (out of stock till dun know when) and according to the lady there Dentinox works the same as Fei Zai Sui (Gripe water)... so since I already have Gripe water at home i never buy. Went home BB was bit grouchy n cried (not as bad as Sunday) while we were preparing her for bed time... I rubbed Ru Yi Oil on her tummy, fed her bit of Gripe Water n like wat SleepingDeer suggested, carried her n tried to burp her. Indeed after some time she let out 2 BIG burp... think its really a case of bad wind. So glad to see she really more comfortable after that... Past 2 nights she has stopped crying but we continue to rub Ru Yi Oil just in case. = )

Sleepingdeer,
I have tried Mummy Poko (leaks) Drypers (too tight) and still find NEPIA is the BEST!!! Very good and cheap! Have recently ordered 2nd round with them. I use Nepia for day and Pampers Premium for night for longer absorbency. What size is Shannon using?? I have S & M so maybe i can mail you 2 pcs to try?? =O)

Another suaku question from me...
Some of you feedback that Nepia is good. Is the the brand with the japanese words on the packaging? Cos I've been wanting to try it but I can never find any diapers with 'Nepia' printed on the packaging anywhere.

queen
ya, it's with some japanese word. and it's orange color package. so far i haven't bought it to try.
don't worry too much about your bb until you see the specialist.
cheer up!

so far, i have tried pampers, pet pet, dry5, huggies, drypers and MP.
pampers so far is the best. MP is good but a bit thick. pet pet is also good, but the cutting is a bit small. huggies and drypers are no bad also. dry5 is the lousiest, my gal's poo always leaks when using dry5.

queen,
good to hear that your hb hear your side of the story first. dun be too bothered abt MIL. as long as hb can handle, then let him handle her.

rena,
my hb is a total workaholic on weekdays. can only get his attention on weekends. i scold him sometimes for being so unhelpful and he will budge lor but then he will say he tired from his work...

is nepia really good? maybe i will buy one pack to try. my fren also likes petpet a lot....

Queen,

I would apologise to MIL if I were you....its actually very stressful taking care of BB...we wud know as we were home for 3 mths taking care of BB ourselves. So i am always grateful for any help I get from mum or MIL. Besides, I always find that it is HB who suffers when DIL and MIL dun get along. Since we love our HB so much, why make him suffer in betw both women. Just apologise and things will be back to normal.

Tracy, do you want to buy my avent nipple cream? It's for sore nipples and its brand new, never used. I kiasu bot it last time, just in case, but end up never use. PM me if keen.

wenyl
my boy longest record no poopoo is 4 days. now better the most is 3 days. my mum always freak out when this grandson of hers keeps his poo for too long, she even commented that me the mummy why still so calm, even say my BM is the cause. well.....
today you monitor and hopefully he will poopoo. if not... maybe consider bringing him to see PD or GP. heard from ppl that the most is 4 to 5 days no poo will still ok.

sl
i have email you the bumpermat images. pls check. thank you!

re: diaper
high recommendation on Nepia. can check with mummies how many pcs per pack and price?

thanks for the great info on the diapers! You've sold me on Nepia... just ordered from them! Wah, they must be very popular, the earliest they can come is middle next week...

Thanks Clare on the offer, my diapers coming next week liao..
since S is too small for Shannon already, I ordered 2 M and 2 L... good to hear that Ashley's wailing is just due to bad wind... they can cry until the whole house fall down, and in the end, just wind and need to burp... haiz! Nowadays, when my gal burp, wah, it's like a drunken sailor, loud and very 'cho lor'... so unladylike..