(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

ak (angelk),
I can't PM u ley. Can PM me instead. My mum works in a special school so maybe can help ur sis look for parents to do survey.

sl
yah lo my boy oso love to be carry around. since day 1 he need to be cuddle. to make thing worst, when carrying him we cant sit down one. he likes to be carry and in moving motion. sometime really cant tahan the strain of carrying him and walking around the house. my mum poor thing have to do this while im at work. dont know why he have this bad habit, worry that as he gets older his weight will be killing my mum...

rachel,

ha ha ha ... my gal is exactly the same ... : )
are they born on the same day? Mine's born on the 25 Jan. Yours?

sl
hahaha... really making us suffer. but still worth it right =) ?
he is born on 19 Jan.

rena
can can! thank you vy vy much!

hi krissie

the play gym u wanted is still priced at $79.90 before the 20% discount. there is another kick and play gym that is UP:129, sale price 103 before the add 20%

valerie, rachel,
I also record how much and when my boy feeds. I also record his diaper change and I make my mum and HB do it if they happen to take over BB for a while...My HB say I "zhou2huo3ru4mo2" already...

Rena,
I would like the falsh cards instruction also please... thanks!

Rena
I also wish to have the flas card instruction
thanks..
if I cnanot turn up at the gathering next week, can help to pass to Denmy.. so I can pick it up from her.

Denmy
if I cant attend, ok to pls keep the instruction for me?.. I go your place to pick up ok..
Arigatou in advance!!

Kriss
sigh.. tell me about it...my MS wasn;t fantastic from the start maybe also due to I never pump as unfailing as the mummies here.. sometimes too tired will skip a pump or so..

Re: crack/bledding nipple
need advice.. I know lotsa mum should be pumping out Bm to feed baby now..
When I was latching, my nipple will crack and bleed, now that I have been pumping for 7 weeks now, my nipple and aerola area still crack and bleed.
I thought it should have toughen up already but till today I still get thos crack and bleed, I apply lotsa Medela nipple cream after each pump and I only wash nipple once a day.
Every time my breast pad will have blood stain

Any mum also have this problem?
Is it ok.. if my EBM has blood? from naked eye my milk is still white in colour but I think it is possible that there maybe some blood in it.
Although it was said that Medela nursing cream is safe, no need to clean off before nursing but I'm still concern my EBM will sure have some in it.

cookie,

re:crack/bleeding nipple,
i had that for more than a month as well. didn't have chance to heal coz always pumping. got a few times, i can even see blood "spray" out when pumping. so scary... my milk literally became strawberry milkshake. i still carry on pumping but threw away the milk. coz if not, my breasts will be engorged.

try to lower ur pump power, mayb it will help. it worked for me. i lowered the pump power and use hand to compress at the same time. takes me longer to express but at least it's less painful, so my nipples had a chance to heal.now, my nipples are still sore after each pump but at least not cracked or bleeding.

rena,
am ok with the cost and arrangements for gathering. Let us know how to pay you for the buffet. thanks.

mashy,
have transferred the flashcard $ to your a/c this morning.

rachel,
i bring my boy to the toilet bowl in the monrning to mmm mmm. though he doesn't do it there but find that after that he will poo. i dun bring him there consistently but so far the 2 times that i brought him, he will poo after that.

sleepingdeer
can imagine how frustated u feel abt the care giver arrangements. were u ard when your parents and MIL tried to take care of bb? maybe need to give them some tips on how to handle your bb

mummies who have gone back to work
i really felt like crying today thinking abt going back to work. and i also feel worried that my maid can't handle my boy. though she loves him a lot, mummy still understand her boy best so sometimes when he cries i still need to tell her what he wants....feel so worried

pochacco,
i have a new theory why my boy fusses during the evening feed. will observe and see whether it is true. i noticed he has a long nap in the afternoon and after that he won't wan to drink at the supposed time. so maybe what i will do is drag his feeding time half an hour later. if it works, i let u know.

sunny
robinsons invite members to 20% sale in batches. that's what a fren told me. but u can still go as long as u flash your card

cookie,
did u call LC to check why still bleeding? sometimes i use high suction and i tot it will cause my nipple to bleed but so far now. initially i did get bleeding nipples a few times. or maybe u turn down the suction?

durianlover,
my boy seems to be able to differentiate day and night. even though at night sometimes he doesn't get back to sleep, he won't cry. will just wave arms and legs and i can hear him. just need to pop his pacifier back once in a while.

wendy
u really hardworking at flashing cards to your gal! i bought a set of cards and still haven started..better start soon cos going back to work... u flash so many cards each time? tot it's flash 5 each time....

also tempted to stay at home and care for my boy till he 6 months. duno whether is it my imagination but feel that he wants me to put him to sleep nowadays and carry him more.

cookie,
no prob. will collect the instructions for you 1st. Also, if ur hb cannot make it, I can also "tumpang" u there and back. On the way ma...

tabbiesus
thanks for helping to check. think i'll call robinsons later to check if i can get the 20% disc.

cookie
I rem reading that we can still give bb EBM even though there's milk. can check kellymom. maybe u can call the mt. a LC to ask how come your nipple always bleed. hee hee.. it's free over the phone.

rena
can i also hv the instructions, pls. maybe one of the mummies can fax to me.

RE: GATHERING CUM BABY MASSAGE SESSION

so far this is the list of names that I have..(SEEMS to be getting lesser) However by tomorrow I will close the application..( can increase but try not to decrease) please note that I will be ordering the High tea supreme from neo gardens.. min is 30 pax.. plus 35 dollars deliver charge.. so per person is about b{11 dollars} is it ok? This is because we have lesser people now..

1) rena + hubby + bb
2) sunny + hubby + bb
3) cindy + cindy's mom + bb
4) queen + bb
5) Denmy + hubby + elder son
6) sl+hubby+bb (walnut cake)
7)mongs + hubby + bb
8) pochacco + hubby + bb
9) Sleepingdeer + hubby + bb
10)tabbiesus + tabbiesus' mom + bb
11) Wenyl + bb
12) SY +hubby + bb
13) Clare + bubby + bb
14) God's child + hb + bb

DATE: 8th April
TIME: 2pm

VENUE: EAST MEADOWS CONDOMINUM (TANAH MERAH)

HI Mummies,
RE: Grandparents taking care of BB
thanks for all the advise.. After serious discussion with my hubby, I decided to quit my job and take care of bb for the time being. Though our finances will be very stretched, I dun see other alternative coz my parents and MIL really cannot handle, and we feel it's very important for bb to receive good care during her first year... so have tendered my resignation with 2 month notice... I think what Sunny and Rachel say is true, babies nowadays are very different from when we were babies, and some grandparents want to enjoy life without grandkids.

IN any case, now we try to get a nanny for Shannon for these 2 months, then I will take over being her care giver. When I was driving to work this morning, I was thinking of all the things I will have to give up to save money, chiam...! Think I will be 'huang lian po' soon coz can no longer go facial and hair treatments liao... hee hee. But I feel relieved to have made the decision for bb, and we will just have to make it work

SL,
I also feel insecure that we will not be able to save when I am not working, and relying on savings... but I hope when bb turns one, I will be able to work again..

Rachel,
my bb gal also doesn't sleep at all in the day, the most she naps while being carried. The moment we put her down, she will wake up. What I do is to talk to her, and let her watch TV, she can be entertained this way, as long as someone is by her side talking to her, or the TV is on... think the reason my MIL find it so tough is that she doesn't really play with bb, only carry, and feed, so think bb also get sian... hee hee.

Cookie,
maybe it's the power of your pump? ALso, spreading some breastmilk over your nipples helps...It's a little funny that you still having cracked nipples after 7 weeks liao..

celine/sleeping deer/SY
the thing is I'm only setting the pump power at less than 1/2 and already crack and bleed. my nipple is sensitive when touch but not very pain.
In fact when I pump I dun feel pain at all and sometime feel can set higher setting but I never becos I know my nipple will bleed more.

Sleeping deer
wow.. fianlly make a decision! I'm sure everything will work out nicely. Dun worry! and enjoy yourself with your baby

Kriss
ya lor.. I page sister kang liao.

sleepingdeer,

wow.. u are making a big decision, but I'm sure as u watch your child grow older u won't regret it... maybe when your child is a little older and more manageable u can consider part time work...

Hi Tabbiesus,
yeah, big decision, but yesterday while discussing the problem, both my hubby and I realise that in the heat of the arguments and being upset with our parents, we've forgetten the most important person: Shannon... whatever we decide to do, it must be for her best interest, so just have to tighten our belts for the time being loh...
Hope that once she settles down and can be taken care of easier, I can start work again.

sleepingdeer
it's great that you managed to decide so soon. not an easy decision. really admire you.
Me staring work this monday.. will so miss my boy.

Hi Rena,

Can I hv a copy of the flash card instructions too? Tks!

U can add 1 more person cos it is either hubby or my mum coming with me.

1) rena + hubby + bb
2) sunny + hubby + bb
4) queen + bb
6) sl + hubby + bb
7) mongs + hubby + bb
8) pochacco + hubby + bb
11) Wenyl + hb/wenyl's mom + bb
12) SY + hubby + bb
13) Clare + hubby + bb
14) God's child + hb + bb

Krissie / Zhimin,
Join us if u can. I can fetch u gals if u need a ride. I stay Hougang so both Serangoon & SengKang are nearby. Let me know.

Krissie/Zhimin,
I can give either one of you a ride too if dun mind cramping in small car. I stay at Buangkok.

Rena,
Would like a copy of the flash card instructions too. Thanks.

Re: Grandparents taking care of BB
Sleepingdeer, you have made a brave decision and I really admire you for it. My situation also quite similar to yours. My mum, who had been chasing for grandchild and finally had one, suddenly felt very tied down in the 2nd month. She said she had worked all her life (also resigned 1 yr ago) and now cannot even relax. My father (also just retired) feel that grandparents should just "play" with and not take care of grandkids. My MIL also could not take care. I felt very sad and hurt and was prepared to quit my job but my hb did not agree. He said we will put baby at infantcare at the last resort. In the end, we compromised and decided to get a maid to help my mum with the housework and cooking while she takes care of the baby. I hope this works out.

Although you must tighten belt, you have what money can't buy...spending time with Shannon. I'm starting work on Mon, also want to cry just thinking about it. Will miss my boy so much

Re: Flashcards
Rena, can I have a copy of the instructions too? Cindy, can I lompang you? I'm not going for the gathering but can collect from you cos I stay in Punggol.

SY, my boy also do his business in the toilet bowl. He's supposed to shi shi but somehow always poo poo instead.

Cephas poos twice a day. I always comment that he poos like an elephant! One big lump!

Hey sleepingdeer,

That's a brave decision
I do hope you will enjoy your time with Shannon. I wish I cld too but then it will be difficult. I am with SAF & am in a scheme. If I leave now, I lose all my money in the scheme. Fortunately, my mum & MIL are quite okie with taking care of Cephas. Mum look after him on Mon to Weds at my hse. MIL take care of him on Thu & Fri at her place. I bring him over in the mornings & bring him home after work.

Anyway, my BIL's wife is expecting and will be giving birth in Oct. If my MIL is helping her do confinement, then I will have leave Cephas in my mum's care.

My mum is quite a social butterfly. Lots of friends & lots of activities. For Cephas's sake, she had to cut down & move up to CCK to stay with me on those days. My dad is working & so, will come to my hse when he's not working. My mum gets to enjoy her Thu-Sun before duty time for her!

Re: grandparents taking care
While I heard lotsa granny want to have a maid to help out house work chore.. on the contrary, my mil doesn't want even I offer to get 1 for her.
My FIL is working and therefore only my MIL is taking care of my bb when I go back to work.

I'm not sure if I'm been paranoid but I still get worry how my mil is gng to handle my bb going marketing and stuff? I know how inconveient it is alone handling bb.
To lessen the burden, we got part time cleaner to come in once a week and also order tingkat dinner so she dun have to cook much.

but my mil insist we order for 2 pax only and she cook 1 or 2 dishes more for dinner, while this a good idea that would means she need to go wet market as well.
How to bring a new born even tho on pram into wet market? I really cannot agree...
I maybe worrying too much I dunno but going to ask HB to convince mil to do marketing once a week on weekend.
While I have colleague mil goes marketing early morning before day break and come back before she got to work, I dun think my mil will adjust to that since she is not waking early now.
I dun mind she bring bb down to buy breaskfast or lunch...just didn't want her to be advantuerous and bring bb out of the necessary boundary.
But telling all these to old folk is so difficult esp I'm just daughter in law...

Perhaps I'm just worrying too much...

Re: Grandparents taking care
Now I feel so fortune, my bb is care for by my mother and she even wake up for the night week when I have to work full day the next day.

She is even caring for my elder girl in the afternoon who is in K1 this year. I offered to get a maid to help with the housework but she refused with all the recent media coverage of maid problem. So I pack dinner back from hawker centre and will get part-time maid if necessary.

cindy, wendyl
thanks much.. will let you gals know if I need a ride. so find of you to offer too.

serene
I was so sad that day, I cried.. my hb must think I'm mad..
but, now feeling better. hope that he can get used to the nanny on monday.

yuenyuen
my mum was also worried abt maid prob.

cookie
no choice lah. at least your MIL dun mind looking after your gal. afterall, own grandma better than outsider mah. I told my mum to take over looking my boy when he's older and i can put him in playgrp / childcare for half day.

yuen yeun
how does your mum do marketing? or does she do marketing or cooking? How she settle her breakfast and lunch?
Your mum could be same situation as my mil, alone handling bb and also taking care of your elder daughter.
Perhaps I'm really worrying too much

Kriss
u are rite.. I have no doubt that my mil will dote on my bb, may even over dote and spoil my bb heehee...
I'm just worry of the logistic for my mil and also my mil is not someone who like to stay at home, she will go here, go there one lor so I worry she will bring my bb around.

Re: Gathering
Rena: I have no chance to ask my HB yet abt next sat, if I'm coming finally I suppose it's no problem since buffet sure enough one

but I will keep you inform.

Denmy:
If finally I can make it, will most likely need a ride home from you lor. I will sms you to let you know hor, got to check with my hb. Thanks in advance.

cookie
I am lucky enough that my father start work from 10a.m. so he will buy breakfast for my mother. As for Lunch, my mum will cook for herself and my elder girl. Normally, she stream her food. As for marketing, we do it only once a week i.e Saturday/Sunday. As I am spreading the balance 4 weeks of ML in the form of half-day, I will do marketing from NTUC before I go home if there is not sufficient food.

Is your elder girl in school/childcare ? My girl is in K1 in the morning, I will send her to school before work and my MIL will help bring her back and drop her for my mum. My MIL comes all the way from Bishan to Bedok just to bring my girl, so I must said I am very lucky to have both sets of parents helping which is why I can work without worries.

If bb does not sleep in the morning and my mum can't cook, my MIL will buy lunch for both my mum and daughter when she bring my girl from school.

Krissie
My mum also like to go out but she is very experience i.e. always looking out for danger etc. But now with two, it will be difficult for her to go out alone, she only bring them to the playground and will call me immediately when she reach home or if she is going out.

sleepingdeer
really pei fu you for making the decision!

rena
$11 per pax ok for me. you want me to trf you $22 first or pass to you when we meet?

rena,

do you find the sling very useful? I found it very useful initially but now that my gal weighs more than 5kg, I find that my shoulder aches if I sling her for more than an hour. Wonder if it's because I am using it wrongly?

wendy,
your girl so smart - can flip already. mine will doesn't.

rachel,

ya, I can understand. Sometimes she cry and cry and cry till I fed up and felt so tied down by her but then when she smiles at me, my heart melts. : )

cookie,

my nipples are okay. did you set the suction of your pump too high?

sleepingdeer,

I really envy you - now you can watch your baby grow day by day...

Injection
Brought my bb for the DTP (5 in 1) jab today cost $90 for the jab exclude consultation, is that the normal cost.

Rotavirus
Was told that the prevention of rotavirus infection include Breastfeeding bb as BM will contain some anti-bodies but this is not 100%. So for bb on BF will have lesser risk of getting this virus. Jab must be taken between 6 wks - 6 mths, to take 2 doses with 1 mth interval and cost $100 each.

When I check about the risk, he mentioned that previously the vaccination was made using stuff from Monkey so there are risk of it not suitable for human but the new generation are produce using human so lower risk. I am still thinking whether to get jab.

Pneumococcal Disease
This bug can cause meningitis (infection of the lining of the brain), pneumonia (infection of the lung), septicaemia (blood infection) and otitis media (infection in the middle ear).

Occurs most commonly in children, particularly those under 2 years of age.

Vaccination cost $150-$170 each with the following doses :-
less than 6 months : 4 doses
6-12 months : 3 doses
1-2 yrs : 2 doses
2-9 yrs : 1 dose

Any of you opt for this vaccination ? I think the name of this is "Prevenar".

yuenyuen
ya, you're so lucky.. your MIL very good leh, travel so far to fetch your gal home.. really envy you.

my 5 in 1 cost $130+, incld consult.

I'm still considering whether to take the 2 vaccinations. for Pneumococcal, will most prob take after 6mths as recommended by my PD. hee hee.. can save money too.

yuen yuen
I'm a first time mum...heehee
when I say we are abt same situation as in, caregiver does not have external help like maid..
indeed you are very blessed to have help from mil and dad can at least help buy bf for your mum.
For my mil.. she will be all alone with my bb when my hb and i leave for work at 730am every morning.

SL
sigh.. everyone suspect it's the suction power.. I will lower the suction now but with lower suction like nothing much can be pump out ley...

it's been some time since i came in and there r so many postings, read till i'm blur liao..

sleepingdear
u r so brave! reali envy u too.. wish i can be a SAHM too but i dun have your courage..

re: maids
i hired a maid for my mum to take care of bb too. realised tat even with a maid, she's still tired coz she dotes on bb and will check on her every now and then, tiring her out. she also dun trust the maid to take care of bb properly, always wori tat she'll not do a proper job so keep supervising. but, without a maid, it'll definitely be much more tiring for her. grandparents nowadays reali can't keep up with bbs of this generation liao. bbs already start saying "ee", "aaa" etc and some can even flip halfway!

cookie,
u using the ameda pump rite? maybe your cycle switch can switch to low?

re vaccination
any mummies taking both the rotavirus and Pneumococcal vaccinations? feel tat these 2 r quite impt though the vaccinations reali add to the cost

re gathering
can't join u mummies but enjoy yourselves, esp the massage session, i'm sure it'll be fun!

pup pup
thanks for sharing. for my mum's character. also will dun trust maid. you reaffirmed that my decision to get a nanny is a correct one, esp since her blood pressure increases when she hears my boy cries or is stressed.
too bad, she'll so love my boy.

Re : Gathering

hi all... so sorie tat i wont b able to make it next sat. hadmentioned in earlier post tat hb dun feel good bout us taking celeste there cos of the HFMD despite my endless persuasion...
forgot to take my name off the list at that time. here's the up-dated one...

1) rena + hubby + bb
2) sunny + hubby + bb
4) queen + bb
6) sl + hubby + bb
7) mongs + hubby + bb
8) pochacco + hubby + bb
11) Wenyl + hb/wenyl's mom + bb
12) SY + hubby + bb
13) Clare + hubby + bb

babylon
Our delivery date quite close and I am still breastfeeding (only 4 times aday) and my mense have came back last week. Very light flow. You stopped BF already ? Me also cutting down to 3 times aday next week, trying to cut 1 time a week so that breast is not so painful. How long did you took to wean off?

SY - me currently trying new FM hehehe... from Enfalac to Similac... and my boi seems to increase his intake from forcefully 120ml to willingly 150ml. and will sometime cry for milk. i have today brought 2 new can of similac to continue trying... i feel so happy about this...

Re: feeding time
just wanna check.. do you wait for your bb to cry before feeding him/her?
Sometimes my bb is due to eat, say 3 hrs is up but she dun seems to be hungry and never cry. I dunno if I should feed or wait and see till she cry.
Most of the time I wait for her to fuss abit before preparing milk.

Yuen yuen
By cutting down a pump every week work for you?
I'm still thinking if I will wean off..
feeling very discourage with the bleeding nipple..

cookie

Re: feeding
I will usually touch my ds's lips. If he wanna eat, he will stick out his tongue like licking. Then I will feed him. If the bb cries when he's hungry, it's considered a late signal for hunger already.

mashy
ok noted..thanks!!

Re: apply nipple cream
Just wanna know.. are you mummies still apply nipple creams after every pump?

cookie
So far ok. I went from 8 pumps to the current 4 pumps per day. When increasing the interval, can pump more milk e.g. every 3 hours can get 60ml and now every 6 hours can get 140ml which is good result, few pump and more milk and can get proper rest at night.