(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re: poo..

since my ger turned 2 months her poo has decreased from a few times per day to once every 2-3days... and each time she really BOMBS!! and everytime she manages to do that we cheer
cos gan cheong for her lah... My PD says the longest time she has seen a baby not poo was 21 days!!! omigod!!
Cannot imagine..

Re: weight..
My baby girl born v. small 2.4kg.. but hasn't been able to catch up with her growth... still along the 5th percentile only leh... I asked the PD how, and PD says she's growing fine dun have to worry... dun need her to be sumo wrestler size to be healthy..
Although everytime i get comments about how small my baby is... i feel it personally is my fault...

re:milk..
My baby ger can down 120ml in 10 min on avent no.1 teat.. she drinks v. fast... that's why when she is latched on she always complain out loud that flow too slow... even the LC say... wah my bb got character... can scold as she drink from my breast... haha... dunno whether to laugh or to cry cos she look so cute yet I feel so frus she not drinking properly!!

Re: toys.

Has anyone bought the tinylove interactive toy that is a cow/ dog/ sheep that can interact with tv? I feel like getting this altho I dunno whether it is good for bb to watch tv so early... any one got any comments?

cookie - the PD at elias mall is away for vacation. the PD told us the last time we went there. school holidays lor..even my gynae took leave to go on vacation with their kids.

Joanna

dun stress so much at work.. ur supply is excellent... my MS is 1/10 of yours and I can still pump at work and give my girl.. I think u can no prob... keep up the good work... remember to massage... I kena bad blockage once I got back to work cos can only pump in 5 hours... and my breast can't take it.. my LC advise to run to the toilet and just express a bit (5min) to relieve the breast tension .. maybe u can keep this in mind if u feel engorged..

krissie,
you may want to monitor... Nurse told me before that if constipation may also have watery stools, but the hardened stools are still stuck inside.
You can also read from this site.
http://www.babycenter.com/baby/babycare/babybms/index

cookie,
peanut butter is ok
pasty is characteristic of some FM.

As my boy's stools kept changing color, I was pretty concerned at one stage and called my PD, almost wanting to bring stool samples to her. Was assured that as long as not hardened pebble-like stools, it's ok.

SY,
your boy can really drink! Looks so cute and boyish with his hair too. Where did you deliver? Our bbies might have been bed-mates.

edd2jan,
I totally understand how you are feeling as i went through this stage when bb was 4 weeks old. Supply has never caught up from day one and I gave myself so much pressure such that I was suffering from insomnia and constipation. Tried lots of method to boost MS like drinking Pig Trotter soup and fish with green papaya etc. Then I realise i am also stressing out the people around me esp. my mom who not only helped me with looking after bb but also go wet market early each morning for the special soups.

Now I am giving only 1 serving of EBM and a few latch-on 'snack sessions' for my boy. He seems contented and we still bond well. So dun worry.

I was and still am super worried about bb not being close to me as I also rely on maid's help to take care of some night feeds (my bb drinks milk very very slowly, takes 1hr) and he also sleeps with her as my hb does not want to be disturbed. As such, i use the bb monitor and dash in and out my room every night.

Sunny,
The way ur gal frown is so cute.

RE:poo
My gal is on FM. She poo twice a day. Once in the morning before bathe and once between 5-7pm. Quite standard time for pooing. I give her water one hr after feed, a few sip is a must for her. If she dun drink, I will put some glucose to make her drink. So her poo won't be hard. Last time when I feed only FM and no water, everytime she poo, she will cry. Now quite standard, she will cry for water abt 1hr after milk and when she wake up from her sleep. Maybe u all can try feeding water?

May - i shall check out Fox baby then.. im eyeing tat skirt tat Jamie has...

Re : Poo
actuali baby's poo pattern reali changes from newborn stage. Celeste now poos either every day or once in 2 days... feed them more water than wat May said, and also the gripe water.. it helps along wf some 'HOT' massage wf ru yi oil

Re : highlighting hair
any mummies went ahead and did colouring or highlight to their hair aldy??? i was fixed on highlighting it later at Lot 1 ( even took half day leave ) but now am thinking if its ok if im stil breastfeeding partially and also will it make things worse when our hormones changes in another 1-2mths time when supposedly our hair will also fall out easily???
kao_confused.gif

hope all is doing fine. my boy is asleep now so have some time to catch up with the thread. my boy was also having some wet poo(not sure if its diarrhoea) this morning. not sure if its because i gave him the leftover EBM that was left about 4 hrs ago. but i did heat up and put in the warmer bag and then reheat before feeding him. anyway, i dun dare to take the risk anymore. threw away 60ml of my EBM just now. My MS so far have been quite OK. each session i managed to pump about 150ml after 4 hrs. those who are perserving like me, maybe you can drink more fluid..i tried taking milk, soya bean regularly so it may help a little i guess.

yesterday, my hb and me took my boy out to east coast for an evening walk. my boy was so "guai" in the infant carrier. so happy..he even snooze in it which give me and my hb some private time alone. we walked all the way to the jetty and then head back to our car. seeing him sleeping so soundly, we went to Parkway for some shopping. so happy..at least i manage to get some relaxing time

god's child - i am also thinking of highlighting my hair before i head back to work in 2 weeks time. though there is no scientific proof that those chemical will affect the breast milk, i am also in a dilema on whether to highlight or not.

may
my gal likes to frown. don't know y leh.

yesterday i brought my gal for 6 in 1 injection. she cried a short while when doc injected. luckily she didn't get fever.

RE: Poo

other than using ru yi oil to massage the front you may try to massage the back as the poo pass out from there..

RE: high light

I heard from friend that after you highlight your hair.. the first two express of milk will have to be thrown away..

RE: cookie

the sticky poo is normal... contipation means hard solid poo.. which is bad..

RE: yellow stain on clothes

does anyone has yellow stain on clothes that cannot be wash off.. it is mainly cause by FM...

any solution?

rena - i have the yellow stain on my boy clothes as well. not necessary from FM. his poo just overflow to his clothes and the stain is not washable. have u tried bleaching them?

re: poo poo
thanks for all your advice
i have been feeding water to my bb n she is slowly accepting it... drinking more sip than before.
i always look into her eyes n tell her to drink more n she will sip few more mouth... as if can understand... so sweet

May
wat FM u using? very good hor poo twice a day!
my gal poo daily i already very happy.

SSF
ya i guess so... well hee hee save $$ din c PD last nite but kaelyn manage to poo this morn so no need to c him liao until nex week for jab

RE: yellow stain..

I have tried bleaching them but still it doesn't go away.. the stains are mainly from FM as it is only on the shirt..

cookie
my boy doesn't like gripe water. so now i just force him to drink more water

so your gal ok when pooing? then dun need to worry too much

may
my boy also seems to be dropping hair. i find strands of hair on his pillow sometimes. just now put him on the mat. seems ok. he even fell asleep in it. but think it gets a bit hot for him to lie on for too long.

tabbiesus
that's wat i do when i have to go without pumping for long stretch. will just hand express to make sure breasts doesnt get too hard.

joanna
your ss is so good so you can build up 'stocks' b4 u go back to work right? think it is quite sian to be pumping away at free time though....

cindy,
i was at kkh. u?

we really quite the same. my maid does the night feeds and i also worry abt my boy being too close to her so i have 'dumped' hb n sleeping with my boy now. but think once i go back to work, i will have to use those monitor.

SSF
i also brought my bb out to taka yesterday. he was sleeping most of the time except when beibg fed. so happy.

rena
my boy's clothes as well...dunno how to get rid. i tot their detergent supposed to be able to get rid of these stains?

rena
i use bb's detergent to wash bb clothes and nappies, the stains can be washed away.

what shampoo did you use to bath your bb? recently i am using lactacyd which is non-rinse. those who use shampoo which needs to rinse, how do you bath your bb? need to prepare 2 tubs of water? (one with soap, one is clean water to rinse)?

sunny
i also use latacyd..thought better to use non rinse?

wendy
your gal so cute...hee think one of the photos your gal and my boy look alike...

cookie,
my gal is drinking FRISO. God's child is right.. rubbing with Ru Yi Oil will helps also.

sunny,
I use J&J Top to Toe Wash.. press some into water.. then wash like that lor..never rinse leh. The nurse in TMC teach me one.

Wendy,
ur girl is so sweet. So girlie.. mine looks like boy leh..

Krissie,
I didn't notice leh..cos as long as she drink at least 3-4 mouthful, I will stop. But sometimes she will cry for more. Then will feed more lor. She seems to get used to drinking water already. So wake up also cry for water.

sunny,
you ger will be very sexy when she grows up: she got very arched eyebrows!

god's child, SSF,
It's ok to dye our hair. In fact i bleached and dyed mine when I was in my 3rd trimester of pregnancy. I was very sure it was ok to do so cos I read in a parenting magazine tt the chemicals do not get into your blood stream thru the scalp and pass to BB.

Re: poo and stains
mummies, I know that BF BBs will pass wet and explosive poos. But when do we know if they got diarrheoa?

Rena,
Also, my boy's runny poos are mustard and can really stain. Have to soak in Napisan and bleach (at the same time) overnight before putting the clothes into washing machine to remove the stains.

sunny,
I also use lactacyd. I have a bottle of California Baby which I bought b4 BB arrived. I thought I'll use tt on BB when he turns 3 mths. btw, what brand of bb detergent do you use to remove those stains? FM stains or poo stains?

wendy,
your ger is soooo sweet... I also want a BB ger next.

do you have a feeding schedule for your BBs? I find it quite difficult to keep to one myself cos I latch on my boy on demand. And he feeds every 2.5 to 4 hr intervals.

demny
i use pigeon n it's poo stain. my gal normally feed every 2 - 3 hrs. don't really hv schedule for her.
sexy? haha too early to say, she is still v small n feature will still change.

may
thanks. my boy dun like water. but i try to feed him a little more each time.

hi sunny
pumping? me too.

denmy
me use ABD. seems to be qt effective in removing stain.

I try to feed my bb based on a schedule as I following a method called parent directed feeding. It's not easy as he often gets hungry before the time is up as he's on EBM. What I do is to try to feed him more each time. Will usually feed him ard 2.5hr after end of his last feed. Also, will wake him up for feed.

SSF / Denmy - i went ahead to highlight my hair yesterday and also breastfed Celeste... the milk too precious to throw away... and also other than wat Denmy said bout it being ok, i also saw from a posting tat the breastfeeding org did say its ok to colour our hair...

SSF - ya lor, coming back to work wf half black half brown hair very paisay... so took half day yest ( im back at work..arg.. ) and went kimage.. promo package at $225 less 20%( wf the disc card on weekdays ), so stil quite worth it... at least im happy now!!!

Sunny,
I realise Ariene also got full lips...

Krissie,
Where can I get ABD? Do you have to soak the clothes/nappies overnight 1st?

Parent directed feeding... kk, I'll stick to the 2.5 hr schedule too. Presuming BB takes 30 mins to feed and burp, it'll b every 3 hr. Am I correct to calculate this way?

Re: Feed Schedule
I was on a good 2-3hrs 90ml schedule until 1 week ago when bb sleeps though 5 hours stretch in the night. Infact, last night he slept from 10pm to 8am, only waking up for feed at 3am (drank only 100ml). While I am happy with him being able to sleep longer hours in the night, am quite worried about his overall milk intake... he only drinks about 700-800ml each day and he is already 8.5 weeks, dropped from his previous 800-900ml... strange that he doesn't seem hungry even if it was 5-6 hrs after the last feed. Is this normal? Should I wake him up to drink? He's a lethargic drinker from 7 weeks onwards..

SY,
I was at glen E. After visitng this website, I think KK is more helpful with lactation matters.. the LC in glen E is always busy and i never even get to see her. Heard that TMC LC visits the wards everyday, how nice.

Re: Water
I feed my bb about 15-30ml of water each day (break into 2 feeds). Think it is impt as he is on FM. Helps to clear the 'eye shit' too, mom says that's a sign of heatiness.
Should train bb to drink water. Otherwise when on on semi-solid diet, may cause constipation.
Btw, anyone feed bb with barley water? Mom suggested to give that before vaccination to cool his system. I quite hesitant leh.

I thought it should be calculated as when you start feeding, not when you finish. Eg. 8am start, 8.20am finish; next feed is 11am??

I tried ABD too. Now they have +20% bonus pack. Think I paid $6.90 the last time. Now on Kodomo as my maid tends to use up the powder very fast.

Re : Taka bb fair
saw from Dec05 thread tat we can bring in any bottles to trade in for pigeon bottle at half px $4.50.. took 3 bottles today to go down later, since Celeste is upgrading her feed amt

some up-dated pics of Celeste
387503.jpg
387504.jpg

demny
ariene is your bb?

all of you have change to bigger hole teat to feed bb already? normally how long does your bb take for each feed?

Long time no post liao! Returned from Paris last night. Took some time to catch up on the postings... Looks like most of us are returning to work soon!

Traveling with BB was surprisingly smooth. Isaac was an angel on the plane and didn't have any problems adjusting to the cold weather. Only had jet lag the first 2 nights. And because the weather was so cold, he's in hibernating mode. Will sleep very soundly in the stroller whenever we bring him out. Will only 'thaw' and be awake in the hotel. Didn't do much in UK while my HB was attending courses and conference. Only brought BB out myself during daytime to nearby shopping malls. Paris city is nice, but Parisians are rude. Probably will not go back there again as tourist.

Re. working and pumping
I'm not sure if MS has dropped for me when back to work. Been back at work since 3 weeks ago. Can still pump around 500 - 600ml total at work to last 4 to 5 feed for the next day.

Re. BB shedding hair
My boy also shedding quite a lot of hair. Is this normal? Could it be due to cradle cap? Is the Dentinox cradle cap shampoo effective?

Sunny,
I am exploring Avent 3 as my boy is a lazy drinker. Currently on Avent 2, half his feeds need coaxing with burp breaks while he grunts to release wind, will also tend to fall asleep halfway. Takes 30 mins to 1 hr to finish 120ml! Started to be like this in from Wk7 onwards. Think mine is one of the worser type, going to ask Ped for advice next week. My boy is 8.5 weeks and is about 6.1kg.

morning mummies...

read in Today paper about a 1 mth baby died of sudden infant death. the mummy is only 26 y/o ..so poor thing and her hb was not in town during that period. not sure if she is from the feb thread or not. anyway the story is that she brought the baby to the expo fair last weekend and suddenly realise her bb isn;t breathing. and when the ambulance arrive, the carpark gantry doesn;t open and took 10 mins to open. and now they are suing expo. so tragic! i hope the mummy is coping well...make me just want to love n cuddle my boy more.

queen - welcome back!!! wow..ur bb is really impressive ..so guai thruout the long journey. not sure if my boy will be that way too. i think ur bb is the youngest visitor to paris. hee...hey even aunty me have not been to paris..so bless of ur bb

sunny
abt 70% of the time, he's on schedule. But, these days he cant seem to drink as much in 1 go. So sometimes get hungry earlier.

Denmy
We bought ABD from Good Luck supermarket. I've seen it at JL, other bb depts, pharmacies also. Hb & I v lazy, so always soak before washing in the machine. Use hot water too. My mum uses her hand to wash away the stain first, then put the detergent and water to soak it.

Denmy
yup, but, yours wld be considered 3hr schedule. Mine too, i.e. 2.5hrs after the end of last feed. If 2.5hr schedule, then wld be 2hr after last feed.

Cindy
from what i read, we shld only wake bb to drink in the day, coz they're adjusting their clock to sleep thru. After 10pm, I dun wake him up for feed. wow, you're so lucky, bb can sleep thru so fast. If you're worried, can try to feed him more in the day. His intake dropped could be coz his growth spurt is over.

Queen
welcome back.
I put olive oil on bb's head for the cradle cap half hour before his bath. will wash it off during shower. PD says to use Detinox only if v serious.

Denmy
i have a 3 hour feeding schedule but mine is bottle feed. i asked the clinic b4 and they say if bb is hungry b4 feeding time, give water. the earliest we can compromise is half an hour.

Cindy
my boy also seems to drink less. from his last feed at 8pm, his next feed is abt 4-5am. so each day he has only abt 6 feeds. i try to let him drink more at each feed. he takes abt 19 min to finish 120ml.

i din give barley water. best to check wuth pd clinic b4 u give anything

god's child
celeste looks so cute!

SSF
i read abt the bb too... so sad. sometimes at night when bb dun move much i will check his breathing as well

queen
got any photos to share?? think it's normal for bb to shed hair. mine also shedding....

Can I join in too? My boy, Brandon, is a premmie, supposed to be born in Feb but came out on Jan 7 instead. Almost 5 weeks earlier than his EDD.

Re: MS
My boy currently on partial breastfeeding. EBM in the day and Nan HA in the night. Currently can pump about 600 to 700ml per day. In the 1st month, was so stressed out because MS not enough, so supplemented with formula in the night. Quite happy with this arrangement so far cos with formula, he also sleep longer (up to 4 hours). Realised 1 way to increase/maintain MS is to let baby latch on after pumping to clear out the milk from the breast cos baby supposed to be more efficient than pump.

RE: Feeding
My boy is very slow in his feedings, can take up to 45min and drinks only 80 to 120ml each time on a 2-3hr schedule. If force him to drink some more, he'll vomit out thru his mouth and nose, feel so guilty after that. But then have to throw EBM away, heart very pain. One time tried to drink it myself, very strange taste, don't think I'll try it again :p. Anyone got suggestions what to do with the excess EBM?

Re: Poo
My boy poos and farts all the time. Once, had to change pampers 3 times in 2 hours. Because he's on both EBM and formula, his poo is quite ok and ranges from bright yellow to green. Don't like to drink water after formula, but I guess ok so far because he also takes EBM. He used to squirt urine at us each time we change his pampers, so my mom tried carrying him over the toilet bowl to get him to shi shi. Surprisingly, he does that, once in a while also poo poo. So we save on some pampers...hee..

RE:Work
I also going back to work soon in 2 weeks time..xian... Want to highlight hair also. Worried about the engorgement though, that day went shopping half a day and came back with rock buns. Had to massage half an hour for the rock buns to soften :p. The last time I had engorgement, Mrs Wong (fm TMC) massaged so hard..the pain was unbearable! Those back at work, how often do you pump?

Here's a pic of my boy bathing (he loves it!). He was born in TMC. Any hospital buddies?
387589.jpg

Welcome Serene,
Wow, He is a premmie and he is so big ! So cute.. My gal is born in TMC also.

Queen,
Welcome back.. any pics to share with us?

Hi Serene - welcome to the thread... my Celeste also born in TMC on 11 Jan... your boy looks chubby!!!

Queen - baby isaac is such a bleesed and good boy... i agree that most of the french are somehow a kind of their own... proud people...

Re : bleeding
do any of you stil have light bleeding or red discharge while bf? im stil partial bf-ing, and i once a while have the bleeding. today seems to be a little heavier and doesnt seem like menses leh... the lst time my gynae said cld be due to cracked nipple but then i checked and dun see any 'wounds' leh... advice???

Welcome back Queen..

Did bb cry on plane? Yah paris people are rude..the last time I went there.. I told myself that it will be the last time... Rude Rude...

RE: feeding time..

SY, my silly HB can't bear the son crying so always give early.. some time early by 45 mins.. so angry...

RE: growth spurt

My bb seem to be growing way too fast.. now he is already wearing 6 to 12 months clothings .. now he is 7.5kg.. 2 and half months only leh

god's child - yeah i also have red discharge on and off and i am still breastfeeding. its not menses but lochia. my gynae says its normal.

Serene - welcome! my boy is also born in TMC on 11 Jan. ur boy looks so chum chum. btw, why dun u give ur boy BM at night too since you are bless with a good qty of milk flow. its better for your bb.

Serene

your MS quite good leh... think mine is at most 500ml a day.

going back to work is so sian right...

your boy looks big
very cute. mine also likes to bathe. when he cranky, we will let him go take a bath

god's child,
i still have light bleeding sometimes. wondering whether is it cos still bf....

rena
your bb very big
is it like hb?

Denmy
Ur girl also called Ariene or u meant my Princess Ariene got full lips?

God's child,
By now shouldn't have anymore bleeding right? I only had slight spotting from my hurt urethra cuz rub against the bed too much while carrying bb during bf. Bed too low.

Diahhrea
My girl had diahhrea 2 weeks back. Was thick brownish liquid and it leaks out (bubbling out at times & it keeps leaking out slowly) instead of exploding out.

Storage of EBM
Called the Joyful PArenting helpline. Very helpful & patient counsellor on the line. Here's her advice on proper storage of breastmilk :

1. Wash all utensils & bottles with soap & water, preferrably hot, soapy water.

2. Sterilise all equipment & bottles before each use. If u sterilise bottles for more than 1 use, keep the bottles in the steriliser and keep the lid closed at all times if possible. Minimise the number of times it has to be opened. If opened too many times, re-sterilise again.

3. Wash pumping equipment after use with soap & water throughly and keep pumping equipment submerged in cold sterilising liquid if not in use to keep them sterile.

4. (from PD)Its ok to cap bottles immediately after sterilising for storage. Use the bottles within 24hrs of capping.

re: BB overfeeding?
I asked my PD for the formula to calculate how much Ariene should be drinking. Here's the formula : (baby's weight,kg x 150ml) / no. feeds per day

For example, Ariene is 4.5kg, each feed = (4.5 x 150) / 8 = approximately 85ml.

cindy
my gal took about 15 - 20 min to finish 100ml. sometimes she drank too fast and choked herself. and she is still using avent #1 leh... don't know should change or not...

rena
your bb is big!!! my gal is 9 weeks only 4.6kg leh.