(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Tabbiesus,
I think if it is so tiring and stressful, u might want to give FM instead.

Ur girl and mine looks alike. But urs has very big eyes..so cute. She can hold up her head already? How old is she now?

God's child,
U can get these kind of skirt at FOX BABY. Quite nice. Other than this, they are having sales.. 3set (top with long pants/ top with short) selling at $39 only. I think it is worth buying lor. Only for gals!

SY,
show us ur boy's latest pic lar?

RE: BB development
How's everyone bb's progressing? My girl still cannot raise her head for too long. But sometime when I carry her in cradle position, her head is very stiff. Tmr she will be 2mth already, weigh 6.2kg, 59cm. Not sure is it the ideal weight or not.

RE: enfalac..

Cookie.. dun worry about bb growing fatter lah.. constipation is worse.. I am giving bb Enfalac too but PD says its ok to grow fat coz they will tend to slim down later on.. especially after jabs..as for merlion.. never heard of leh..?? or they are allegic to some contents??

RE: Nan..

I heard that too.. it is normal to have dark green stools .. it is due to the contents of formula milk.. but 50 times a day is a little too much right? oh my... I will surely freak out..

Cindy,
My gal passes wind alot also. Think abt 50 times a day too. Sometimes sounds like motorbike. She is drinking FRISO. Her poo is yellowish..sometimes sticky like toothpaste sometimes semi-hard.

sunny
my boy is 2mths and 1 week old.

yuenyuen
my boy's feed also decreased. think that time it increased due to the growth spurt.

tabbiesus
my milk is also like yours. But, i tell myself that at least bb is getting something, I've done my best. what pump are you using? I know the clearing of blocked ducts are very painful. I dread it too. what abt reducing the pumping times to give yourself more rest. For me, I'll pump now, then, next time is 5 or 6plus am depending on what time bb wakes up, so at least can get few hrs of sleep. Maybe you wanna try doing 12am then 6am pump, drop the 3am pump. If you're too tired / stressed will affect MS too. my LC says that if we sleep thru, we can dun pump for 6hrs at night, it's ok one. She says mummy must get sufficient rest. btw, I'm like mongs. felt lesser stress once i suppl with FM. I will give FM for his 9pm feed. Jia you, ok?

pochacco
good buy.

krissie, may,

Thanks for the encouragement! I had my ducts cleared today.. and survived
My hubby was sweet and took time off work to hold my hand during the session so that helped me get through it... Now I feel so much better, initially half of my breast was rock hard and really tender and painful... I was so worried I'd get mastitis...

I guess I have to work out some way of giving my girl enough and me oso getting enough rest... not used to getting back to work and everything else... I guess will only get more experienced with time..

Cookie,
these 2 days, my mom who helps me look after my girl caught the flu so I have imposed 'MC' on her and have been taking care of my girl... its quite tough! Take care & jia you... I can understand how u feel..also better be careful about blocked ducts... otherwise u end up like me... if don't get better, should see the LC...Jia you about the latching.. the baby's suckling is the best way to help u get rid of the plugged ducts

RE:baby passing wind...
my baby on BM and also pass a lot of wind leh... sometimes very loud and embarrasing... cos family members will give me dirty look cos its so loud for such a small girl!!!

May,
My girl is 2mths and almost 2 weeks... she can hold her head up transiently for short periods... in the photo.. she is actually leaning against me so she has some extra help!

cookie,

Panadol
I read somewhere tt we can take the regular panadol while still BFing but NOT Panadol Extra.

Latching on
Try to latch on again la... It's great bonding w BB this way.

Leaky Teat
I using Bfree bottle, same as cookie, should we change to no. 2 now also? My BB is 2mth 1 wk+ already. But I find the flow very fast leh, as compared to direct latching.

Sysac,
I have opened a trust account (BB and your name) at POSB for BB recently already. Also with his full-month celebration and CNY angbao.

SSF
I did it for BB and my older son. I think I paid $168 each... with box.

Passing wind
I share something funny abt my boy with you:
Once when he was younger, BB farted so hard and loud he scare himself and he started crying... poor bb...

Denmy
think Bfree teat no 1 is for 1-3 mths
so fast must change liao?
The leak is cause by what ? sometimes mine leak but think due to bb never concentrate when she drinking, dunno thinking of what or when she play with the teats with her tongue.. very noti.
So far she seem drinking ok with teat no1.. can finish 120ml in 10mins...

bb finish drinking 120ml in 10 mins.. is it consider normal speed?

Rena
thanks.. ya think the merlion thing will not happen to all babies, perhaps they are really allegy to some ingredient.
I also have friend taking Enfalac and poo poo ok.. thats why I thought of changing.. even bought a tin liao
But since HB say give another try before switch...
to him..dun anyhow change FM for bb.. he sacre bb stomach upset.. so we try again lor.

morning mummies...

may - my boy is 2mths 4 days old and on his PD visit, his wgt is 5kg. i think its abt 5kg now too when i weigh him. wow ur girl is already 6kg. did you ask PD if her weight is OK? the last time my PD said my boy is of good weight. 1 mth gain 1kg since his birth weight was 3kg. but looking at ur girl, she does not look overweight lei.

Re: Time to finish feed
Wow, 10-20mins for 100+ml is really good speed. I wish my boy can do that. He is on Avent 2 but still take at least 30 mins to finish 120ml (fastest record)... think it's the way the bb drinks, he tends to doze off or get super agitated with passing wind/pee.

Re: weight of bbies
Maybe you could check out this website. Input the age of bb and the ideal weight comes out. Helps with tracking, but does not tell us the percentile.

http://www.medindia.net/patients/calculators/ideal_weight_result.asp

tabbeisus,
really admire that u still continue despite all the pain. did the LC say how the situation can be improved so that u dun get blocked ducts so often? think if u dun get blocked ducts so often ur supply must be pretty good!

sunny,
sometimes my boy will also choke on number 1 but i think it's cos he was trying to suck very hard and he has a hard time with the slow flow. i tried out number 2 and it works so have been using number 2 since

god's child,
i only latch on the left cos my boy will cry when i try the right. he doesn't like the position. think cos i m more comfortable with left hand so he got used to latching on left only.

cookie
i agree it's not so stressed to latch. sometimes at night, i also worry that bb will wake up when i pump. but usually no..
yesterday he actually slept from 12 to 6! hoep he's like that everyday...

cindy,
my boy passes a lot of wind too...and he will do it after feeding. looks like he's in a lot of pain and will cry...

may
here's a photo of my smiley boy.

re baby drinking milk
my boy can finish close to 150ml now. he takes abt 10-15 min to finish. of cos sometimes he drink less but i usually let him have 150ml in case he not enough.

SSF
do babies really like such rocker chairs? i have those activity mats but haven let bb try
yet

386101.jpg

sy- my boy does not like to be in it when he was younger. but now, i just leave him alone and he will play with those rattles hanging above, smiling n talking to himself. i find him very talkative lately...keep blabbering to himself. hee..

SSF
mine too! he's very talkative. keeps wanting to talk..hmm, maybe i shall let him try those activity gym. think now that they are older, they may be able to focus better so will enjoy it more

SY,
hey you got the same bouncer as you but mine is yellow and also i think ur boi is wearing the little dog top from JL? i also got that.. haha we are so same..

RE. going back to work
i m going back to work in abt 2 weeks time and really dun feel like ging back cos not sure if bb can get used to my MIL's care. i think i will really miss bb very much.. and hopefully i can get used to it. right now i m taking care of him alone and everything is more or less routine. so now sure if he will get used to the new environment and routine in 2 weeks time.. so scare..

RE. milk supply.
wonder if those mums who are already on total FM ever felt the sadness of not able to latch on their bb direct? i have this undescribable feeling that i feel i can no longer be so close to my boi now and i feel pretty sad and bothered. for past 2 weeks, i have been feeding him direct latch on only in the morn and the rest are FM. night time i will pump once before sleep. then i went on without even pumping at night and only direct latch him on once in morn. as my ms is low, i dun hv any engorment at all. and for past 2 days, i m trying to give him total FM and i really feel sad. din pump at all too cos i wan him to be used to total FM and i dun think i will pump when i m bk to work. seems like he is ok so far..

how? do u all have this feeling? i m feeling sad and confused and when i asked my HB how? he will say its ok one lah.. but i doubt he will ever understand the closeness and wonderful feeling of having our bb latching on to us. the feeling is just so nice even tho they are dozing off at our breast and not drinking. by just looking at them will make our heart melt. (fyi, sometimes my boi will use both his hands to hold on to my breast and he sometimes even tried to make some milk squeezing action. that is so so cute and funny...) i will defitely miss those days and moments..

SY,
hey you got the same bouncer as you but mine is yellow and also i think ur boi is wearing the little dog top from JL? i also got that.. haha we are so same..

RE. going back to work
i m going back to work in abt 2 weeks time and really dun feel like ging back cos not sure if bb can get used to my MIL's care. i think i will really miss bb very much.. and hopefully i can get used to it. right now i m taking care of him alone and everything is more or less routine. so now sure if he will get used to the new environment and routine in 2 weeks time.. so scare..

RE. milk supply.
wonder if those mums who are already on total FM ever felt the sadness of not able to latch on their bb direct? i have this undescribable feeling that i feel i can no longer be so close to my boi now and i feel pretty sad and bothered. for past 2 weeks, i have been feeding him direct latch on only in the morn and the rest are FM. night time i will pump once before sleep. then i went on without even pumping at night and only direct latch him on once in morn. as my ms is low, i dun hv any engorment at all. and for past 2 days, i m trying to give him total FM and i really feel sad. din pump at all too cos i wan him to be used to total FM and i dun think i will pump when i m bk to work. seems like he is ok so far..

how? do u all have this feeling? i m feeling sad and confused and when i asked my HB how? he will say its ok one lah.. but i doubt he will ever understand the closeness and wonderful feeling of having our bb latching on to us. the feeling is just so nice even tho they are dozing off at our breast and not drinking. by just looking at them will make our heart melt. (fyi, sometimes my boi will use both his hands to hold on to my breast and he sometimes even tried to make some milk squeezing action. that is so so cute and funny...) i will defitely miss those days and moments..

RE: finishing time

my bb usually take 15 mins to finish 150ml of milk on avent 1 .. just yesterday I change to 2.. oh man he finish in less than 10 mins..

RE: burp

does any one knows when we can stop burping bb?

Re: bb nnever poo
my bb last poo was on Sat... until today 4 days liao...
worry for her

should i bring her to see PD?
i tried to feed her more water, she tried to drink bit bit but dun like.

SY,

RE. going back to work

RE. milk supply.

edd2jan

Re: milk supply

Just came back from Mrs Wong and the verdict is out. My MS is super low. Advised to give full FM and just latch 10mins on each side for 'fun'.
Feel very very sad like you. But no choice lor. Bb's welfare comes first. So will express whatever milk I have and latch for fun lor. Maybe you can do the same if you feel sad about not latching. Just latch to get that closeness. Like you, I also enjoy the latching time coz feel really close to my baby. But since I'm not giving him nutrition, I guess I have to feed him FM and bf is as and when we wanna build that bond lor.

Moody... Regret doing total latch on during the earlier days. I think that's what caused my MS to dip to this horrible stage. He was just drinking 5ml when we did the test!

tabbeisus
those activity mats are quite thin,. can just put on floor?

edd2jan
i got a lot of those JL tops. they are really good and cheap. even my Cl said those tops are really good

i kept thinking of taking one month no pay leave so i can stay home longer with my boy. is your MIL coming over to your place to take care of your boy? if not, then need to bring him down to her place to be familar. my boy is alright going to my parents' place but fuss at my in laws place.

i can understand how u feel. initially when my boy cannot latch properly but after many attempts, my hb told me not to stress me and bb out and to find other ways to bond. since then i only latch when bb is good mood or needs to be pacified when nothing works. not so much for feeding. u can still do that

mashy
how come u regret doing total latch? i regret not doing that cos i think that's what caused my ss to be low....

cookie
my boy now poos every once 2-3 days. why dun u call the clinic first and get their advice?

My gal's very cranky these few days - so no time to log on at all. Have been carrying her till my arms ache.

Hi Mashy,

Dun sad. During the period when you do total latch on, did your baby poo/pee more than 6 times? If so, then your baby is getting what he needs. Dun worry so much abt the 5ml test.

SY,

I have the exact same bouncer as well. Does your boy like it? My gal doesn't really like it. Felt that it's a waste of money.

Tulips,

One test for ms that I read in a book says to pump out your milk once a day 15 mins before a feed and see how much it comes out. The baby's suckling generally will yield 1 ounce more.Hope the info is helpful.

sl
everytime i type sl, remind me of my sis cos her initials are the same .

my boy is ok with the bouncer. he will sleep in it in the morning and afternoon. think cos it's cooler than sleeping on the bed. how come ur gal doesn't like it?

sy
include today it's the 4th day no poo poo liao..
went to elias mall clinic just now, gues what? they are CLOSE!! the whole week! Faintzzz
I wonder if it's God's will that I should wait for a while more..
I hope kaelyn will poo poo tomorrow.
Also comtemplating if should change powder...sigh...
I know gripe water is a alternative and lotsa pple are feeding and has been around for a long long time but I still prefer baby to poo poo naturally then to take other means to make her poo lor...

SY,

my initials are a brand name - YSL.

Not sure - she doesn't last more than 5 mins in it. Actually I think my gal isn't very good at entertaining herself.

cookie
We waited 5 days.

tulips

Mrs Wong put me on the Avent IQ Duo machine. Also, she let my boy suckle for a few mins then weighed him.

SY
Have to latch first, after that have to express out whatever left over. I used to just latch him on without expressing. So the supply didn't keep up and my boy just started to give up suckling hard.

sl
Yah, my boy did exactly that! Peed and pooed well but he didn't gain enough wt. So that's a big prob already. Now he's underwt and have to feed him more FM to let him catch up.

mashy
I totally know how u feel. mrs wong also said i'm the low milk type. was super sad. just to share, my gf went to LC, LC also said milk is super little and "confirm" cant do TBF. she nvr gave up and kept pumping. till now, her bb has been on TBF for abt 9mths liao. For me, I try to pump as often as i can. But, milk is still not that much. now, suppl FM 1 feed a day. anyway, we've done our best, so that's good enough.

I'm looking for a playpen which has adjustable levels, so can double up as a cot type. any brands to recommend, from where and how much? thanks.

cookie
it's ok to give them something to help them poo. even us adults will take foods that prevent constipation...
if they dun poo for some time think it becomes painful when they poo. my boy had tears rolling down today when he pooed.

mashy
i expressed diligently but no increase also. my ss very low n boy is on half FM every feed

Mashy

SY
is your boy poo poo hard or watery?
my gal's last poo was still watery although it she 3 day poo once.

SSF,
dunno leh.. she is that heavy when I weigh her. Maybe same as me..bones heavy lor.

Hehe.. ur boy seems to like rocking on the chair..so cute.

SY,
Ur boy is so cute too. He has alot of hair..how I wish my jamie has so much too. She seems like balding.

I have activity mat too. Jamie only knows how to look and smile at it. Still dunno how to try grasping it yet. However, she enjoy music from her toy guitar. Once the music is played, her arms and legs will start moving. And will starting making noise as if talking to herself.

edd2jan,
I also going back to work soon. Start missing my gal already. I will start work next monday.

RE: SALES
Mummies, there is some baby sales going on this weekend. Scotts Isetan and Orchard OG. U all can drop by to see if there is anything to buy there. hehe.

There is a talk on Breastfeeding by Dr Jack Newman in April. If you are interested, here is the info:

Association for Breastfeeding Advocacy (ABAS), Breastfeeding Mothers'
Support Group (BMSG) and La Leche League (LLL) is organising a

Public Forum by* *Dr Jack Newman*

Date : 23rd April 2006 (Sunday)

Time : 2.00pm - 5.00pm

Venue : KK Hospital Auditorium.

Pls refer to the link below to find out more about this well-known
pediatrician, author and consultant to UNICEF.

http://www.drjacknewman.com/index.php

*Dr Jack Newman* will also be speaking at 7 hospitals during his visit here
(20- 27 April 2006). This means more healthcare professionals in Singapore
will develop a better understanding about breastfeeding! The full schedule
can be viewed at http://www.abas.org.sg

The Public Forum which he will speak on *"Mum's Milk for a Head Start"* and
*"Practical Management of Common Breastfeeding Concerns"* like not enough
milk, engorgement, jaundiced baby etc. is also a good opportunity for the
public to hear Dr. Jack Newman speak and understand the immediate and
long-term benefits of breastfeeding including maximising intellectual
development.

Come put questions and concerns about breastfeeding to him. Dr Jack Newman's
extensive experience will provide you with knowledge and confidence to
breastfeed successfully.

Mrs Patricia Koh, founder and director of Pat's Schoolhouse will also be
speaking on the topic *"Building Your Child's Confidence"* to laying the
groundwork for a happy and secure child.

BMSG & LLL members pays S$10.00 for the Public Forum while the public will
have to pay S$12.00. Babies are definitely welcome!

On-line registration is available at http://www.abas.org.sg Registrations
are only confirmed upon receipt of payment.

If you would like a copy of the flyer and registration form . Email me at
[email protected] for a soft copy. Hard copies are also available upon
request.

See you there!

Rebecca Chin

Re: Drinking milk

My boy takes 15 mins for a 180-200ml EBM or FM. btw, is it too much? He is 2mth 1 wk+ now. Weight close to 7kg (I think).

denmy
ur boi is drinking a lot compared to my gal. my gal drinks 100ml ebm n same aage as urs, she's 4.6 kg, 25 percentile.

re watery poo, is it normal? my boy's poo recently change to v watery type, orange or mustard in colour and he only poos once or twice a day. always super a lot and will flow out of the pampers. is it normal. am getting worried liao.

denmy
my boy is born on 6 jan. drink abt 100ml now, but can last abt 2hr only. refuse to drink more. so headache.

krissie
heehee as mum we worry a lot hor...
I'm opp of you... my gal few days then poo once, I worry also...sigh..

RE: Finally POO!
Phew.. my gal finally poo this morning.. Thank God! wanted to bring her to PD last nite but PD holiday for the whole week...God's will to save $$?
Anyway her poo is thick and pasty.. a bit like peanut butter texture ( sorry being very gross here...pardon me), Is this consider Constipation?
I think she never cry when poo, but definitely woke her up from her beatuy sleep!

Hi mummies...hehe...me been at mum's plc...so...no access to computers...hehe...today my sis is staying home...so I finally can log in...me got computer withdrawal symptoms leh...hehe

Re...Poo
Err...my elder boy pooed daily despite being on FM...I think it is becos my MIL would feed him water at intervals....so not much of a problem...Not too sure abt the no. of days they can go without pooing...best to check with PD...

Re:BF...
I'm headed back for work in 1 weeks time...AARGGH...so now...everyday's pumping schedule is mimicking my work schedule...told my HODs that I need to pump during my free periods...sigh....sian hor....all my free time used to pump...now in the morning...the amt of EBM varies from 300ml-430ml....then another 150-200ml in the afternoon....and another 280-300ml in the evening....at night at abt 10.30pm...after James latch on...can yield another 150-180ml....so in total...one day's supply is sufficient for his next day's feed...but worried abt the supply when I go back to sch...cos under stress...am certain the MS will dip...sigh....

Tabbieus....dun give up....I had probs of blocked ducts too...can be really jialat...nw everyday in the shower...I really make it an effort to massage my breasts....also very scared will recur....cos Mrs Wong mentioned to me that i'm the kind who will keep getting blocked ducts if I dun keep up the maintainence....I guess with the Avent Single Electric Pump...I am better able to clear the ducts....Avent seems to work wonders for me leh...hehe...so...persevere and dun give up...I know how painful it can get...just hang in there....

Oops...I didn't know cannot take panadol extra....that's what I had been taking....so far no prob leh...but since u guys mentioned...I better stop...

Okie...will come in later...cya gals!