(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

i brought my dvd magic at $99... got $49 one har??? did i got it at a more expensive price!!!

my boi (10 weeks)
384438.jpg

Sy - that is rocker convertible to baby chair... very good and comfortable.. got roller which can roll him around when he is bigger...

ur boi never wear mitten??? mine yest just got a nail trimming session by his daddy...

got trim his nails but he was crying after bathing cos he hungry and think he scratched himself too hard. usually not like that one..sigh..so heart pain.

Normally bb drink milk from bottles, do the milk also flow out from the bb mouth... my bb when drinking milk alway have milk flowing out from his milk and the cloths will alway be wet wet by the time he finished the milk... dun think it is because of the flow of the teat cos i only using avent teat no.1 for him...

pochacco,
i just PMed u regarding Avent bottle warmer. Your boy's so cute..such a nice smile! Yes my gal also will have milk dripping out of her mouth when i bottle feed but not so much till it soaks her clothes - just a little bit of milk that i use cloth to wipe away. i'm also using Avent teat no.1 and i think the flow might be a bit too fast for her (as compared to the flow from nipple). There was once she puked up a large amount of milk after i bottle fed her! Not sure if it's coz she gulped down too fast or what...but my gal is coming to 2months and she's still on teat no.1, which is strange coz i thot 2 months old can take teat no.2 already...

Re: work / SAHM
My work is pretty flexible as i work with students - meaning that i have to meet up with students quite often and i hardly need to be deskbound. Perhaps that's why my boss allows some flexibility in terms of bringing baby to work. But then again, it's not confirmed yet!! i'm meeting up with my boss to further discuss and see how things work out. Hopefully can work out some arrangement for me to bring baby along with me for work if not it'll be financially v tight to be SAHM.

SY,
oh looks like quite a bad scratch your boy has! Poor thing!

yuki,

i know how you feel..and i am facing the same problem like ..having 2 kids to take care..escpically the fist month after gave birth, a few time i screamed at my elder son.
btw, how old is your elder daughter, my son was 3. so he is so use to gain attention from all of us and now he is not able to.

sunny
I'm not worry abt my mil not bonding with my gal..
sometimes she "fight" with me to carry my gal.
When my gal cry and I try to coax.. my mil will intercept and want to take her from me.. I was annoyed but din wanna be disrespectful.. anyway I will refused her and tell her I would like to coax her myself.
And now that I'm pumping.. my mil will be looking after her... 98% of time.. I'm the one making milk-EBM or FM.. and my mil just take hanky and wait to feed.. sometimes I have to tell her straight I will feed.
U know thats y I dun think my mil will have problem bonding with her lor.

Sy
yes I need to bond with my gal.. sigh...stress..

SY / Denmy - like your, my left breast also yielding miserable supply of milk... i latch Celeste on for the equal amount of time and yet it is always so much lesser... i do understand tat its ok but then its sad
to see milk coming out in drops as compared to the other breast where it come in jets!!!

does your milk's colour vary? i realised sometimes its milky white, whereas at times its more diluted white ( almost transparent )... do your experience this???

cookie
haha... i understand what you meant. when my mil came to my house, she also will intercept and straight away change diaper for my gal even though i am standing at the right position and prepare to change the diaper already. quite offended by her move...
and she was the one who told me not to carry bb so often during my confinement. but now, she is the one who carry my bb the most! really scare that she will spoil my gal.

this morning i told my hb that if he could earn more, i would rather quit my job and stay at home to take care of bb. he was shocked that i had this thought 'cos all the while i had been quite career minded. :p

durian,
the nasal suction seems to be able to help the soft boogers to be drawn further out but not into the device. Dunno why my boy also has so much booger.. house is clean so I think it should be the mucus that dried up as he often snorts and snores.

just to drop by and say hello... MIA for too long... can't really catch up the thread...

hope everyone is doing fine!
kao_smile2.gif

SY,

It's alright. Like Joanna said, we give our babies the best that we can. Don't stress.

Tulips,

Just email you her tel no.

SSF,

Yah - I also thot that it's from $38. That's what they quoted me over the phone as well. But when we were there, the brushes that the lady showed us started from $130. Since we are already there, we just went ahead and make it lor.

God's child,

The more diluted version you see shd be the foremilk which is meant to quench baby's thirst while the more white version is the hindmilk to fill the baby.

Cindy,

The nasal suction is useful is it? My baby also has a lot of mucus but dunno how to remove it leh.

Joanna, Mongs,
Re: BFing in public
I also BF a lot when we go out. It's much more convenient than bringing out everything u need for FM-making. And if I do give FM when we go out, my breasts will be very engorged. When BFing, I am very discreet one...have to use my sling, and I wear maternity top and bra. But I can feed anywhere though, sitting, walking, or even while shopping. And ppl stare, don't they? Makes me nervous, as if my breast is exposed or something or like they can see thru' the fabric and know what you are doing underneath!!!!!!!!!!

SSF,
I had my boy's head shaved and hair made into paint brush when he was 7 weeks. They actually came to my place and the haircut was free. http://www.babeszone.com.sg/ 91262457 Cherlee

MamaChan,
I use both hands to adjust the bra and pad, with the tail-end of the sling covering my front. I have problems with b pads also. I like pigeon disposables best: contoured and just the nice thickness. gerber is contoured as well but a little too thin for one-hand adjustment. It gets scrunced uo easily. Avent is the worst. Too thick and flat.

pochacco, durianlover,
my boy used to drip a lot of milk cos i was using the wrong size avent teat. then when i changed to teat number 2, he drinks much better.

god's child
i only latch my boy on left breast and it is actually lesser..beats me...

sl,
i already accept that my boy will be on partial BM only,
wil just try harder for the next kid!

sl,
It works better cos it has a flexi rubber tube attached to the tip... the Safety 1st one which i bought previously has too big an insert, can't even stick it in. But remember must angle the device slightly to the sides, never straight into the nostril so as not to damage the mucus membrane.

cookie,
At least ur MIL rush to carry ur bb when it is crying. My MIL and FIL always want to carry bb but when bb cry, they will return her to me to coax her. Once Jamie stop crying, they will ask to carry her again. I cannot say no as we only go back once a week. So no choice lor. My bb always cannot nap when she is there..whenever I try to put her to sleep, they will come and wake her up to ask her play with them. Then till 8plus, my girl is really very tired and start crying non-stop..then my PIL will ask me to bring her home (maybe they can't stand her cry..going to tear down the hse) Then poor me..will have to coax her all the way from sengkang to jurong. Why all MIL and FIL are like that??!!

May
Jamie look so cute in skirt!!!
I also dunno why PIL are like that.. maybe when we become granny, we will be like that too..keke..Last time I dunno how hard was it fro my mum now when I'm mum myself, I seems to understand more my mum's position.

Hi mummies...
Since Sat my MIL went home to settle some stuff and sat and sun left only my hb and I to take care of bb.
Today is the 1st day ! for me to handle baby all by myself.. phew and this mornin when I wake.. feel left breast engorged and seems to have block duct as well

what a timing! on top of it.. I feel feverish as well, Oh my God..
Baby has been co-orperated in the morning..but in the afternoon..phew want to be carry and dun wanna sleep long.
I got problem pumping and the block duct is still painful

I hasn't been latching her for sometime and tried to do so hoping she will help with emptying the block breast.. hmm.. dun if it help.. aster that she still need top up.
My mil has called she wont be coming back so soon so that means I will still have to be on my own every day until my hb come back in the evening.
Now I peifu mummies who has been handling bb on their own since after confinement... and it's really not easy!
with my baby irregular sleeping hr, so difficult to do pumping without being interrupted!
I'm thinking of latching bb again and skip the pumping.. but so sacre my nipple will be sore and crack again becos I still find bb latching wrong position

cookie
during the ante class, mrs wong said can take panadol.
i bb take care of since end of confinement. i nearly went crazy for the 1st 2 wks cos of my bb's cry n i didn't know what she wanted. but after that i roughly can figure out, then the life becomes easier. don't worry, you can make it!

ssf
just ask them to show u the cheapest brush.

pochacco, durianlover
Yup, i'm using no. 2 too. changed it when i went to see LC few weeks ago. at first the milk was leaking from the sides. but when mrs wong feed him, it doesnt leak. but, slowly we mastered it. now ok. she say cant let my boy use no. 1 for so long, if not, he has a habit of drinking v slow, next time eat also v slow. I met a mummy there and she says her gal is like that (coz she didnt dare to change to no. 2), so I quckly change to no. 2.

pochacco
try pushing the teat all deep into the mouth. If the "seal" is correct, shldnt leak. for my boy, it leaks when he doesnt wanna drink. btw, where did u get the dvd magic (the soft toy with the dvd, right)? v cheap leh for $99. the $49 one is the mobile.

cookie
better take carre of that blocked duct. clear duct, v painful one. normal panadol is ok, not the panadol extra.

Hey all,

Have you all started a bank acct for baby? I was initially thinking of starting one when he turns one. But then, his acct is growing, tks to his generous grandparents, his 1st mth party & CNY. I am thinking of starting one when he turns 6 mths.

Harlow mummies...

Sy...couldn't make it yesterday...passing her the milk this morning instead....she sounds ok over the phone though...just hope it is a passing phase and she will get over it soon...

Denmy and Mongs....I also BF in public...walking shopping sitting....yes...and people look and stare....somedays I feel like asking them....why....ur wife didn't BF huh? hehe....if I get really angry...I might just blurt it out...hehe

Sunny....ya....separation anxiety...mine coming 1 week later....gotta go back and teach...in a way...I'm looking forward becos I will have some time to myself...on the other hand...the thought of not having a fixed schedule for pumping is SCARY....can't imagine having stone hard breasts under my bra....

Went shopping yesterday for tops at Far East and got a few good bargains...didn't get bottoms cos I figured out the hips would continue to slim down with BF and with my accu sessions...so would wait then get later....hehe....

K...cya gals....

krissie
how old is your bb?

sysac
i haven't open the account for bb yet. initially wanted to open last week. but original birth cert not with me... so, end up didn't open. i was thinking every mth put some $ into her account.
what's the min sum to open the account in POSB?

Don't login for quite a while already cause have started working and there are so many post to read. Taking ML this week as elder daughter on school holiday, so wanted to spend some time with her given that she have not gotten much attention for the pass 2 months already.

Amount of milk drank
previously my boy drank quite a lot till he was slightly over-weight, weighting at 6.2kg at 9 weeks. But recently, the amount he drank drop from 120ml to 90ml for the past 1week plus, is that normal? If on 90ml with 9 feeds aday, he don't seem to be drinking per his weight (based on 150ml per kg of weight).

Poos
He used to poo daily but recently he only poo once every three days....giving me alot of stress as sometimes he seems to be in pain. How....any advise?

Expressing milk in office
For the past weeks, realise that pumping in office is not as easy as it thought. Kept missing the timing as there might be work to attend to and after that the meeting room is booked. I even had to do it in the toilet once as the meeting room was booked and I don't express for the pass 7 hours, pain like hell.

Milk supply have been falling since I started work and now after every 6 hours, can only pump about 180ml. But it is alright as my bb is being feed FM for the night feeds at 12a.m. 3 a.m. and 6 a.m.

My HB and mum keep asking me when I will stop pumping. more of concern that I am not getting enough rest. Now I only pump 4 times a day. Before I go to work at 6.30 a.m., Lunch time at 12.30 p.m., rush back from work at 6.30 p.m. and before sleep at 12.00 a.m.

Think while stop after 4 months in April as I will need to travel oversea for some meeting and how to pump and store during the trip, so will wean off in another 8 weeks.

sunny
i changed to number 2 when i started to notice that my boy fussed a lot during feeding. so i tried and it helps. so now he drinks really fast using number 2.

May
my boy still gets mistaken for a gal!!

my boy is very good at my parents' place. he will sleep and lie down by himself. but each time go to my in laws place, he will fuss and cry. at least your MIL dun say weird things like mine....she gives me the feeling that she doesn't like it when my boy shows preference for me to carry.

cookie
u alone now? can take panadol. then after that u massage really hard. i had block ducts 2 days ago too. and i really massaged very hard on it and use my hand to squeeze the milk out. now it's ok.

sysac
i started on for him already. i started with UOB.

joanna
me same same, din want to buy bottoms so soon cos hoping to slim down more...hee, i got so little clothes to wear now!

yuenyuen
my boy's intake also dropped a bit sometime back and now is better. not sure whether it's ok but i guess that is just a guideline. as long as can sleep, urine and not lose weight, think no need to worry too much?

mine also poo abt once every 3 days. he also seems to be in pain and we just put the ru yi oil. i try to help him by making mmm sound but he will cry when he hears that

seems like a punishing pumping schedule. i m still considering whether to pump in office or not. can really be inconvenient.

pumping during overseas trip very troublesome one. my fren say sometimes in meeting etc cannot pump and really painful. and usualyl after come back, ss will drop.

I'm feeling so down about breastfeeding... I hope u don't mind me venting alittle online...

First of all I had such low MS, been trying everything from pumping to fenugreek but still pump so pathetically little...if pumping only, i get 30-40mls per side...its only better if I latch baby on one side and then sometimes i can get 50-60mls excess (this is if I pump for ONE hour). In this way, i managed to build up a store of EBM so by some miracle, my baby is still on TBF... Thank GOd!

During all this while, I have recurrent blocked ducts and have become a regular at the KKH LC for this problem... each time she will help me clear the ducts which is so so so painful... and within 2 weeks I am back again... sigh.. i religiously compress/ massage/ pump regularly but still the same. The LC says my breast structure is just lousy and my milk is too oily so always get stuck at the ducts.. today, I'm meeting with the LC again cos kena blocked again.. I'm so scared, cos its so painful... last time round I nearly cried.. I don't know if I can take it again... its just so painful... even after taking panadol and ponstan and synflex... still the worse feeling in the world to have plugged ducts...
Being back at work part-time, also makes it worse cos I have to go without expressing at 5 hours intervals and have to express in toilet... worried that its not clean cos I work at a hospital/ clinic setting...

Then my baby girl kena oral thrush and spread it to my breasts so that my nipples and breast are sore and have shooting pains in between breastfeeding... fortunately, the medication for this is very effective so it cleared within a 2-3days but still have to be on medication for a week or two... i can still BF but worried that baby will reinfect me as her oral thrush still there... her case isn't bad just some thicked white stuff on her tongue, Thank God no mouth ulcers... touch wood!!!

Sigh... now I really feel like giving up cos I just can't face all these problems... and this is on top of taking care of baby and having to go back to work part-time... not to forget I have been moody and grumpy to my husband (who despite all this has been fairly supportive, as much as men can be...) I really feel like I have messed up somewhere... try hard to be a good mother... and neglect husband... and in the end can't do either right... so depressing...

I dunno if I'm just exhausted cos of having to pump at night... usually wake up at 3am (pump for one hour) and 5-6 am (pump and feed baby and get ready for work)... or just my hormones.... but its really getting me down and my tears have been flowing non stop.. sorry for being lor sor... i just need to let it out cos it has been bottling up inside..

tabbiesus,
*hugz hugz* dun feel too bad abt all these. u r trying so hard so of cos u r a good mother. at this stage, our husbands will definitely take a back seat cos most of our time is spent caring for bb.

you get blocked ducts so frequent? must be really painful and i can imagine your nightmare each time it happens. dun feel too stress abt your MS. i used to get up twice a night to pump but now i dun cos the rest is also very impt. think u r too tired already. what i do is pump at 12 before i sleep and then pump again at 3.30-4. then my next pump is at 7-8am. what time do u start work since u work part time? do try to get more rest.

Hi babylon,

My elder gal is 2.5 years old this month.... So far she has been very good to her sister but she also wants attention from us. SOmetimes my mum threaten to give baby sister away so tht she can get the attention she wants, my elder gal will rlents acos she really love her baby sister.

Sy

Thanks for the encouragement... it really helps... that someone understands...

I get blocked ducts really often... seen the LC 4-5 times already... almost 2-3 weeks... get once... I pump around midnight too... and then 2-3 am also.. but problem is that it takes 1 hour to empty my breasts.. so plus getting up and all that stuff.. takes awhile to get back to sleep.. work time fluctuates for me oso.. on certain days, I have to get to work by 7.15 for teaching/ journal clubs, although official work starts around 8.30am... really exhausting.. but if I don't wake up to pump in the middle of the nite.. really rock hard breasts by morning... OUCH!! Really have to find time in the day to nap.. but I REALLY MISS those days of continuous sleep sighz...

sy
my gal still using the original teat comes with the bottle. i think it's number 1 bah? and sometimes when drinking, she will still get choke 'cos drink too fast. so, meaning i shouldn't change the teat?

SY - how come you oni latch on your left breast?

May - Jamie does look so sporty in tat little red skirt!!! i like it!!!

Actuali i think baby girls tend to be mistaken for boys if they dun have much hair, just like my Celeste... so many pple will say she's a cute BOY! haha..
385216.jpg

Yuen,
I am facing the same problem with bb's milk drinking too. For the last 2 weeks, his daily amt has dropped from over 800ml to now just 700ml+. His number of feeds have reduced from 9 to 7 as he is sleeping through the nights with only 1 feed at about 3am. This is great but somehow his day intakes did not increase, infact quite erratic (80ml-120ml) and often takes an hour to finish with 'breaks' at 40ml/60ml to burp. Must coax and sing song too.

But at least your bb is with VERY good weight so maybe he is just moderating. Mine is about 5.5kg at 8 weeks, so quite concern if his behaviour continues as his % weight gain is slower than in Mth 1.

Re: Poo
I called the KK Dial-a-nurse helpline before and they say 6 days without poo then considered as constipation, but if 2-3 days no poo bbs usually feel uncomfortable already, maybe that's why your bb does not feel like drinking as much.
Think I read from another thread that some PD recommend giving gripe water to help. Maybe you can also try massaging his left side of the tummy in clockwise direction? Always end the strokes on the left tummy to help digestion.

hi tabbiesus

try to have more rest. all of us want the best for our babies, but, it should not be at the expense of our health. do take care.

re: overseas biz trip
a fren commented that u should continue pumping while overseas and dump (if u cant keep the milk) so that the milk supply will not be affected.

agree with tulips tat we must still pump out those excess milk but rather than discard them, maybe you can wash your face with them
or play games with your hb and loser will down those excess milk. haha...

Krissie, i got the dvd at ISetan private sale... $99 then still got 3% discount. i will try to push the teat in but my mum alway say that avent teat is so big, bb mouth will be bigger next time... hahaha

tabbiesus,

wow, your baby is on TBF. think about it. it's something that a lot of us cn't achieve. cheer up. I think it's very good that we are firm believers of breast milk and we tried our best but if you constantly feel so stress and depress and can't enjoy the company of ur baby, it will be better to gradually wean her off breast milk. breastfeeding is only a part of motherhood.

I was very keen to breastfeed my girl totally and refuse to believe that my milk is not enough. I try to make her sleep after latching on for hours to avoid her screams for milk. she is very sleepy, probably conserving her energy. I felt so tired from the latching and sometimes really wish that baby will go away for a while.
I finally decide that FM can be just as good and it will definitely take away the stress from me and I will definitely enjoy my baby more. she has more wakeful period and is developing very well. now my baby has 1 or 2 feeds of FM 120ml 3 hrly and I am feeling so much better.
I will be going back to work next week. so far have been pumping 3 times in the daytime for the past 3 weeks. hopefully can cont to when I return. hope to do so till she is 6 months even if the milk pump out is only enough for 1 feed. hope that I can sustain.

mongs,

my supply isn't great.. sometimes i need 3 to 4 pumps before i can get one feed of 120ml.. so need to pump alot! Its tiring I agree...

what I do is I latch her on and then simultaneously pump one side that way i can get about 40-60ml from one side... somehow, my girl can get enough from direct latch from 1 side but if I try pumping both sides together without latching I get only 30+30mls...

pumping at work can be tiring and stressful...take care.. drink lots of water and bring baby photos.. my friend taught me a method to trigger let down by twiddling the nipples with a nappy cloth (i know this sounds weird), but strangly... it works.. can trigger extra let downs this way...

Thanks mummies, i feel less stressed already.. i know that when I made the decision to do this it would be tiring.. I try not to let it affect me and my baby's bonding so I will still put on a brave face and smile and laugh for her... but it makes it tough to keep all the feelings inside... that's why I am so happy to have this thread so that I can keep my sanity!

will be going shopping for my office clothes later after my next pumping session. so happy. it's my first real shopping trip after so many weeks. the previous times, brought baby and hubby so can't really shop for my stuff.
still have 5 kg to lose and it's all around the waist and hips. no choice, have to buy more pants and skirts but luckily have 20% from metro because it's my birthday month. only have about 3hrs to shop before my next pump so have to rush home to pump. hopefully baby won't give my MIL prob when I am not around.

I'm from the Apr MTB thread. I'm looking for a confinement lady in apr jus wondering any of u mummies here hav any recommendation for 1?

sunny
when you open POSBkids.. no need minimum. infact POSB will give you $1 for opening of kids acc.
I have already open for my bb

Re: block duct and taking of bb
thanks mummies for your advice..
When I discharge hospital I remember they gave me some pain killer which are safe for breast feeding.. manage to find it and took 1 last nite... Last ntie I also try hard to clear the duct.. this morn feel much better and has Jin Shen to take care of bb.
after latch bb on for 2 session, my nipple start to bleed again.. sigh...
already use the method taught by LC to latch.. check that her lower lip are out and cheek not sunken..the latch seems ok but end up still nipple bleed

SY
ya lor.. today 2nd day alone, never pump but latch bb... somehow less stress cos no need to always check if she is awake.. on Monday when I pump keep worry she will wake up... somehow stress out and supple also lower.
but I got sore and bleed nipple again after latch...tomorrow dunno how.

yuen yeun / SY
my gal also poo once very 3 days.. has been trying to feed her more water but she always frown and cry.
when I make mmm sound for her.. she will also cry but she actually fall asleep this afternoon after make the sound..
sometimes I dunno to laugh or be angry.

I tok of changing the milk powder to Enfalac but I noticed Enfalac has higher fat content and my friend also said.. it's more oily and her bb and her friends bb actully "merlion" the milk after taking. although it may not happen to all babies..
but... I gng to try let her drink more water and stay on similac for time being.

any mommies on Nan H.A here? As it contains protein enzymes to partial breakdown the milk for easier digestion, I wonder if that is the reason why my boy passes wind a lot... used to be like 50 times a day. He hates it and always struggle to let them out, terrible especially during feeds.

Does the baby poo changes color and texture from time to time despite no change in brand of FM? Mine does... varied from toothpaste-y yellow to goo-y dark green to soft pasty grass green. My mother was super bothered by the dark green type..