(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

thanks for all the encouragement to cont BFing. I really wan to but.. still the time spent really dampen everything. i only bought the Medela Single Electric pump so not that ex.. right now i only let my boy latch on in the morn after his bath and thats it.. last time i still pump in the night before sleep and in the middle of the night but now no more.. and i can feel that MS is really decreasing becos of this cos it does not feel as hard as before even when dun express for abt 24 hrs.. so sad..

SY,
ya i agree, i also think the car seat looks abit small.. wonder how long can they sit in there tho it said can sit till 4 but i doubt so cos right now the shoulder is almost touching both sides liao.

re. bring bb out alone.
wow, really envy those who brought bb out alone. i have not done so but only tried once taking a cab to my mum's hse. thru out the journey, i m so scare bb will kick abig fuss but heng, he is still pretty coorperative. but my HB and I had brought him out a couple of times and most of the time, he is sleeping/ so like SY mentioned before, how to let him see the world. but sleeping also good so that we can shop in peace.. :p but of cos we also hope he can be awake and not crying and seeing the world at the same time.

just to tell u all an experience i had while bringing bb out. there was once we brought him to airport and after a feed, he shit. so we tried to find a changing rm (T2) and was told by a cleaner that there is no diaper changing rm at the airport (wrong info btw which we found out later) so u know what we change our boy?? we tried to change it at our car back seat but not enough space. so in the end we change in the car boot!!! i find it really funny cos my boy really enjoy the big space and he was like smiling thro out... after changing we went back to the airport and realised there is infact one at level 2. now we know it but it was an experience tho.

Cookie,

I agree that man will have to work their whole life to provide for their family.. but I can do that too..i can also provide for the family too.. but yet I still have to look after the household also...Whatever it is.. things that he has promise me he has long forgotton once I forgive him..

That is why I am tired..I felt that he is always taking me forgranted but now I am used to it after so long.. seriously speaking .. I thought he will always put us as first place just like me putting as first place but now I am going to put him out of my heart so that I will never be hurt .. some how ..maybe I dun need this relationship.. I am happy with just me and my son..no place for third party..

krissie and mashy,
i think we all know we shouldnt give up and yet the time needed plus my own laziness,just make us wan to give up totally. i think no matter wat decision we made, i hope our bb will not blame us.

my boy dun ask for milk again after i latch on him for abt an hr.. think he can dong for at least 3 hrs, which i find it pretty amazing cos i always only manage to pump abt 50-80ml of milk each time (last time) but that is only in the morn. afternooon i seldom try cos i dun think the milk ss has enough time to accumulate.

re. bath bb
just wondering any of your bb cry everytime u washes his hair and clean his face? mine always cry when i wash his hair and once i stop and dry his hair, he stops. same for cleaning his face. but other than that, he seems to enjoy his bathing time in the tub. any advise on how u wash bb hair? i wash by holding him on his neck with his legs and body supporting on one of my leg with my legs open. (nt sure if u all understd the descriptions)

Hi Jan Mummies,
I am looking for a massage lady after i give birth and wondering if anyone of u have used a massage lady that is good that you can recommend to me. Please help as i am very lost as there r so many massage ladies around and i hope not to pay $$ on someone who massage dun work coz the massage r rather expensive. Please advise. Thanks so much in advance.

edd2jan

yah, so depressing becoz of low ms.

re: bathing
my boy loves to bathe. I find that he doesn't like it when I hold his neck, probably suffocating him. :p So I hold a little of his neck but mainly his head. He's more comfy with that and didn't cry when I wash his hair.

You squat while bathing him? I placed the bath tub on his cupboard and 'kiap' him with my arm under my armpit in football hold.

Rena,

You are not alone. Once BB woke up at 11pm for a feed and I was going to feed him EBM. My HB came back into our room from my elder's son room and I asked him if he woukld like to feed the baby and he said "NO" straight in my face and fell asleep immediately... so there you go, so much for husbands and fathers.

edd2jan, mashy brainz,
I wash my BB's head with him in football hold also... BB's getting a bit too big and heavy for the football hold soon, I am just wondering when and how can we bathe BB sitting up.

hi everyone,i am new in the forum.
hi Rena, please dun be too sad. let me share with u my story maybe it will make u feel better.
i was 2 months pregnant last jun n cos my health is very weak, i fell sick easily and spotting some more. my Gynae had to give me injection for 8 weeks to make sure my bb will be safe. at htat point of time, my husband was sent on course. he is in the SAF. he practically went out at 715am and come back as late as 10pm. i was staying with my in laws then. everyone has their own life, even when i fainted in my room, no one came to help. i was sent to my Gynae, fainted there also. haiz... mum got worried cos no one takes care of me, forced me to apply no pay leave and shifted back to my mum's place. imagine life without my husband for the entire pregnancy? only weekend i got the chance to see my HB. even my Gynae tot that i was a single parent.
i gave birth on 14 Feb, three weeks ago. i went back to my mum's place for confinement. HB is still on course. Baby and i are under my mum's care. i love my mum...luckily i have her around. my mum will help me in the day time whereas i have to go on night shift to look after my newborn. as a first time mum, i am very "kan cheong" still trying to get use to 2 hrly feeding time as well as all the crying... even when i need to remove my stitches (C section)or bring bb to see PD, only my mum and sis are there for me. hmmm... mu HB only sees me in the weekend. can u all imagine?
at times i am quite scare to go on night shift cos i cant bear to hear my bb crying yet i have no choice, my HB is not with me. i try my best to understand that he has a lot of things to do also.
hmmm... people around me labelled my HB as irresponsible HB as well as father... i also dunno what to say. at least u can see your HB everyday.
since u have a little one with u now, maybe u can try talking to ur HB about how u feel and try to work it out so u can be a happy mummy as well as provide bb with a happy family.
As for my, i have to go on like this till Sept when my HB finishes his course. Cheer up! we can always exchange ideas as well as share our woes!
keep in touch!

edd2jan
my boy also didnt like to wash/wipe his face. then, after i started wiping with a warm cotton wool, he's ok.

edd2jan, mashy, SY
i went taka just now and nursed bb in the nursing room. met this mummy who was v encouraging and told me that i was doing well and encouraged me not to give up. she also pumps abt the same amt as me, maybe slightly more and she's on TBF. So, it doesnt make me feel that lousy and i'm really v encouraged by her.

krissie
at least your bb still latch on. mine doesn't latch on so i really have to plan my timetable ard pumping times. sometimes feel really stress abt it and so inconvenient to bring the pump everywhere.

if my MS can increase till TBF i dun mind continuing but now it is abt 50% Bm and 50% FM so maybe will stop when go back to work

Rena,
Dun feel sad, share with us. We will be willing to hear from u. I agree with Koli, try to speak to ur HB. It will works..sometimes some crying might helps..hehe.

I had this prob too. My HB only accompany me to gynae 3 times when I am pregnant. These are times where gynae says HB must go. Eg. Blood test, 3D scan. My HB used to sit there to watch tv and play pc games after work. Where I have to deal with bb myself. When I cannot cope, I scream for him, he will take his own sweet time to reach. Night time, I am the only one that wake up to feed baby and he sleeps soundly. Once, I could not handle, shaked him up. He just say, "Huh..and went back to sleep." I was so depressed that time and cry while handling bb.
I couldn't stand it one day and I break down. Cried very badly. Told him these," Dear, u are a daddy already. I really hope u can take care of the family and not sit there everyday watching tv and playing games. I really need ur help to look after bb. Day time I have been very tired, at night I dun dare to wake u up cos I know u need to work the next day. But I really hope that u can spend sometime with bb. Try to build bond with her, dun wish to see her grow up without knowing who are u. And I dun wish pple see me as a single parent mum. I am really very tired with bb and housework. Really need ur help."

True enough, saying that makes me feel musch better and he really changed after that. Every evening when he reach home he will help me to take care of bb till he sleep.

Right now, he is play games next door. I am here using my laptop and rocking bb in sarong. Bb next feed will be at 12.15am and he will feed her later. After which we will all sleep.

Sorry for being so Lor Soh. Cheer up! At this time our hormones are not back to normal yet, so we need alot of support from HB and family. Dun wish to see u in depression.. talk to us, we can share with u.

I have been a closet reader of your postings since Jan for all your bb experiences, tips and joy. You have no idea how much I rely on them and quoted them to my hubby and mother. THANKS!! They are the most real and best consolation!

Short intro on myself to the group - bb Lucas born on 17 Jan (7 weeks now); am a failure at bf-ing and gave up after 2 weeks, now he is only on 1 serving of ebm per day (still cannot get over the guilt that not giving the best to bb)

Latest developments:
- Cleaned bb's tongue with moistened gauze today after reading your postings, he hated it but I think it is quite necessary esp when he is on FM

- Lucas gave me a bad fright when he puked his entire feed this afternoon!! These days are pretty bad as he seems to be more interested in sleeping than feeding. REduced qty and always cry during feed, sometimes its wind other times really dunno what's wrong *sigh* hope this is a passing phase and he'll continue to gain weight

Rena,
chin up. whenever feel mad with hubby, just blame on the hormones... mine got quite bad before, even threatened hubby that I'm running off to mom;s place with bb as his parents were irritating me by visiting almost everyday during my confinement... went through the stage where I sleep in the study on a mattress in order not to face him too.

Re: puke after washing tongue
yesterday I have a big fright too!!
kaelyn has her feed abt 30mins ago and burp so I proceed to pompom her and wash her tongue as well.
Perhaps this lousy mummy put her finger too in...and cause kaelyn to has vomitting effect...
within the next min... she vomitted out so much milk, it's scary!!... the milk just flow out of her mouth like fountain. fortunately nothing from the nose..
Although she dun seems to be bothered ( Thank God!) never cry also but I see already also sim tia...keep saying sorry to her..:p

Yippie... it's Friday!! tho now staying at home, weekdays and weekend not much diff for me unlike working in office..
But still looking forward to weekend as HB will be around the whole to help out!

Re: advice nedded
I find my breast sometimes even after express still hard and not soft as if got lotsa milk inside however the pump dun seems to get much milk from it.
Before pumping I already apply warm pack to my breast, massage/stroke/shake the breast liao then start pumping..
Is there anything else to help release out the milk?

cookie
can use hand express. pumping won't empty the milk totally.

hi cookie,
y don't u try latching ur bb on for a short while? it helps for me. kind of clears the passage for my milk to flow.

RE: Puke..

Dun worry.. as long as when cry after the puke.. he is ok.. the milk did not go to lungs.. during the first month Elijah is like that.. I as the PD she says its quite normal.. very scary ok.. the milk came out from mouth and nose..and it is so much that even his hair is wet..

RE: Thanks

Cookie.. thanks for your email..Cindy and all.. thanks..

I have finally told hB my decision of tying the filopian tube.. I do not wish to give birth any more.. I dun mind the pregnancy ( even when mine is tough), or the C section but I can't bear the thought that he will do hanky panky again..

sometimes I really ask the lord.. is it so diffcult to pull the family together?

RE: posting of pictures

could someone help me to shrink the pictures again? I wanted to make passport for elijah but can't seems to shrink the pictures could someone help me?

sunny
so I can hand express and still can collect the milk in bottle and store?

Celine
thanks.. me so long never latch bb liao..ok will try to latch. thanks!

cookie,

I also sometimes feel that my breast is hard after pumping for very long, especially when I am engorged. What I find out is that during engorgement, a manual pump works better in emptying the breast. When I use the electric pump, what I did is to press on the lump and the hard hard areas and try to "push" the milk to the nipple. It works cos I can see jets of milk coming from the same side. Try the method and see.

Re: Breastfeeding

Just to share my own experience of breastfeeding. I gave birth to my daughter on 25 Jan and for the first few days in hospital, there wasn't much milk so my baby was on formula though I did latch her on. Then I was discharged 2 days earlier than my baby. During these 2 days, I only latch her on once a day (when we visit her at the hospital) and I didn't pump at all. When I bring her home, I wanted to breastfeed her but then she's already so used to formula milk. It's really difficult to latch her on and she would cry at every latch on. I could only pump out a few drops. so I give her formula. By the time she's 8 days old, she's totally on FM.

Despite this,I was convinced of the benefits of BM, so I seek the help of a LC. The LC taught me to latch her on and pump after every feed and pump at 3-hrly interval. Now, my gal is 6 wks and she's on TBF since her second wk.

I don't think my ms is those a lot kind cos I dun feel engorgement when my ms first came in. Sorry for the long post but just wanna share mt experience. I really believe that ss = dd, to have ss must create the dd first by latching on and pumping diligently.

Having said that, I also feel that there's no need to stress yourself. Some babies growing up on FM are very healthy too. It's more impt to enjoy yr motherhood.

Happy wkend!

cookie
ya, you can hand express and collect in the bottle. else, when pumping, try to compress your breast i.e. squeezing those area that you feel got lump/hard. i did that and notice that when i squeeze those lumpy area, got more milk coming out.

cindy
my boy got same bday as your boy too!

try putting the ru yi oil. my boy also like that. for a few days he will cry when feeding n burping. u using the correct teat size?

rena
u sure abt not wanting more kids?must calm down n pray abt it.

sl
i also pump diligently for many weeks but stull not sufficient. think it's the latching

cookie
did u massage in btwn pumps? also like wat celine suggest u latch n then pump. helps the flow. n usually b4 pump, i can feel those lumps n i will massage those areas more.

Rena,
I agree with SY. U sure u dun want anymore kids? Ur bb will be so lonely without sibling next time. At least there is someone around when he/she needs help next time. As u cannot be around everytime.

cookie,

actually the baby is the most efficient pump. when I have engorgement, I will pump first then let the baby latch on and have a snack. she will be very pleased with the surprise.

sl,
u are so lucky. I really try everything possible but still can't TBF. my baby was literally on demand feed for 8 weeks. maybe that wasn't the best method. she is always taking so long to finish her feed. now I pump 2 and half hourly in the daytime and get 90 or 100ml, slightly short of her 120 per 2 and half hourly. so top up with formula. it's really a bit sad. but I feel more relax with the 1 formula feed per day.

rena,
do think twice. it's a big decision. and it's irreversible. it's a bit difficult at this moment but always be positive. things can only improve if you think you have hit the rock bottom.

My baby doesnt want to sleep during the day. During feeding he'll doze off and after burping he's awake. Even if he really do sleep, he will only nap for around 30 minutes.Then become cranky sometimes as he's tired. Anyone in the same situation as me?

Y
my bb is also getting more and more like this.. she couldn't sleep long as last time.. she is only 5 weeks old...and she is tired she wan pple to carry, once put her down either she cry or same as your situation wake up after a short while.
I couldn't even sit down to pump my milk at times

haven been missing so much fr the forum!!! was staying wf my in-laws, thus no access to PC and gosh, i was so terribly bored there... luckily baby Celeste was there to keep me company... am now back at work and so..here i am..

Re : jabs
when is the next jab after the 1mth old jab of Hep B? i thought the next jab will be at 3mths? is there any at 2mths???

Mashy - my MS also horrible.. been going down the drain... also felt like giving up but cant bear the thought of not having Celeste close to me and her big innocent eyes staring at me...

hi Y,
yes, my BB oso like that. His afternoon nap is usually 15-30mins..
But i tink in a way it is good cos he sleeps really long at nite. His bedtime is about 9+ and will wake up for his milk about 4+..giving me and HB ample rest.

Hi mummies...me been MIA cos my maid was sent back due to hep B and at my mum's plc daily...if my sis brings her laptop to school...I have no access to computers at all...hehe....so today the laptop is home....
SOooooo many postings to catch up on...

Demny...me going to the Motherhood fair....maybe tomorrow evening if not sun morning...need to get some things...

cookie...so sorry abt not getting the bottles from you...been crazy without help at home...my home looks and feels like a total warzone...even hubby mentioned that it looks messy...hehe....

Hmm....I bot the Avent single electric pump from taka 2 weeks back and I didn't regret it...costs more than the single mendela pump but really good....with the pump...my latest and most updated volume was 400ml....I myself could not believe the amount of milk I was producing...and now despite having fed my boy...I can manage to pump abt 220ml-280ml each time....I believe it is due to the fluids that I drink...

Wendy...my milk separates into the white protein layer on top and the liquid at the bottom...but after warming the milk...it is pure milky colour without clumps and all...I store my milk in milkbags....so should not have any probs...right? Baby is drinking fine and there is no ill smell either leh...I thot I read somewhere that it is common for milk to separate when put into the fridge that's why we have to swirl the bottle to ensure that the layer of protein gets mixed with the foremilk....hmm....

Updates on James...brought him to see a TMC Physician who was confident of healing the abcess at his anal region...after taking 2 doses of medication...we do see some improvement....the pus has reduced and the swell has also gone down...however...each time we feed him his medication..he will cry till he pants....only 2 days ago...I found an alternative solution and that was to mix the medication into the EBM....he still knows that the medicine is there but probably cos its diluted...he takes it better....sigh...
imagine my heartache....

okie mums....will come in again....tata!

<font color="aa00aa">edd2jan / SYK</font>
dun envy lahK if I can I oso prefer to workK

sometimes I oso tired of carrying n playing n toking n feeding, etcK especially my boi in the daytime super active.. dun sleep after feeding n have to kip carry him walk here walk thereK but bo bian ah..

<font color="aa00aa">denmyK</font>
kekeK I agreeK even if wan to bring work home to do really tough manK especially when bb always demand your attentionK

<font color="aa00aa">renaK</font>
sameK I dun mind carrying my boiK but horK he 5kg liao.. n my wrist was injured last timeK now the old injury acts up n I always have shooting pain when I carry my boiK chamK

<font color="aa00aa">YK</font>
ur boi same as my boi lorK feed liao dun sleep.. sleep oso 15 mins oniK my boi is a little devil in the dayK he wan to carry walk here walk there.. some times u carry him he oso buay song n will scream in my earsK super pek chekK but when he not crankyK he can be a cute little thing.. just that hes a devil most of the timeK. Oni bully meK.
c lahK he wake up againK

Re: Hubbies
KekekK all hubbies are the same lah.. mine just like to disturb bb after I hao bu rong yi coax him to sleepK my hubby will try to help with feeding n change diapers once in a whileKbut there was 1 time ah boi give him color to seeK cry n cry n cry n wun stop no matter wat my hubby doK from then onwards he disturb bb lesser.. cos I always tell him, u disturb bb n make him wake up n cry.. u coax him to sleep.. im not going to bother abt uK u can bring him to work (or sleep with him n I go sleep in the living rmK)

I do feel depress when hearing bb criesK once in a while I cant control n I will call n cry to hubby n ask him to come bk home quik quik cos I pek chek with bb criesK he really do rush back for a whileK n rush back to work againK I noe he oso very tired.. so I tried not to be angry if he wan to go out with frens or dun help feeding / changing bb..

Its my gd fortune that I live with my in-laws so my stress is reduced by half when my mil offer to look after bb at nite though she oso workingK kekekeK its her precious grandson.. she dun wan to risk I go into depression n throw bb on the floorK hahahahaK

So since now decide to be a SAHM, I trying to learn to control n deal with stress that comes from phobia of bb.. its oni 2 weeks that I just started to take care of bb by myself after confinementK.

rena
agree with mongs, and the rest. maybe use other form of contraception first lah. anyway, you're still young. might change your mind next time.

re direct latching
I usually latch my bb on at 7am. then the rest of the day on EBM. yest, we went shopping the whole day, so bo bian latch him at the taka nursing rm at 6+pm. And when it was time for the next feed, he refused the bottle and cried for abt 3hrs, NON-STOP. I know he wants the breast, but I didnt give him coz am afraid that it'll worsen the prob. He cried till his tears were rolling down the cheeks. I was so sad, nearly cried too. anyone has similar prob? the funny thing is he's ok when i latch him in the am. but in the afternoon, evening, he will reject the bottle.

Sept Bride, Cookie

My boy is almost 2 months old I know he is tired but he tries to stay awake. I try to get him to sleep ard 8pm at night. He usually drinks 3hourly at about 100-120ml of formula. If he sleeps deeply, can last longer before the next feed. He will sometimes "wave" his hands in the air during sleep and that wakes him. He needs alot of coaxing to sleep. He doesnt fancy the pacifier or sometimes u carry him, he cries even louder. Simply doesnt know what he wans.

I'm so stress now. The lack of sleep really drain me. Been trying to control the tears and temper but flared finally.He was wailing and mum kept nagging and I couldnt take it, shouted at him "KEEP QUIET" and later at my nephew who kept bugging me. Felt bad. Mum said the child doesnt understand but its a form of frustration for me. I'm stress taking care of him and also afraid my mum wld get too stress up too. Sian!!!

Oh yes, my mom keeps giving my son milk when he cries even though time is not up. Sometimes is only after 2hr and if you feed, he will only drink a little and fall asleep. I do not want him to use milk as comfort food to help him sleep. Mum doesnt understand my point! Kept saying I dont know how to look after my child.

Y
I'm experiencing everything that u mentioned. I shouted at my boy last friday too. and he threw his temper by screaming at me. I know he doesnt understand but I'm also v tired.

As for snacking. my boy has this habit too. my mum, like your mum will keep asking me to feed him as she gets gan chiong each time he cries. my boy even worse. sometimes, gets hungry 1 or 1.5hr after the feed. but, my boy is those big cc type, can drink a lot one.

joanna
u got impressive MS! got a mother in another thread asking for excess BM cos she's on medication and her bb can only take BM. her hb recently pass away so she's quite depressed. u wan to consider giving some to her if u have excess?

krissie
yah, heart pain when see our little one cry till tears roll down....

Y
my boy used to be like yours but now he's better. he will not sleep like the whole day and wakes after 15 min of sleep. now in the morning, he will sleep ard 11am, and sleep till abt 1pm with waking up a bit in between. my boy also waves his hands but as long as he doesn't cry, i will ignore him even if he wakes.

someteims when i carry him he cries louder. is anyone with you at home to help care for him? if there is, pass to another person to carry. sometimes my boy just wants a different person to carry.

try not to feel stress cos the bb can feel it. a few times when i carried my bb and i felt frustrated, he cried even louder cos he knows. i take deep breaths and start all over again to comfort him.

why dun u give him water when he cries? the sucking action will make them tired. i give him water if he cries before feeding time is here. unless it's only half hour before, then i feed him milk.

another trick i use on my boy is to bring him downstairs. once out of the house, he can sleep cos he likes the rocking motion as i walk. i will just walk abt downstairs and let him sleep. a little sleep goes a long way.

Hi SY...Basically i think my MS is good cos my baby suckles well...in a way...that helps too...he is currently taking 150ml each feed...Which thread is that? I am currently storing up my excess milk in case my MS dips when I get back to work in another 2 weeks time...if I have excess...I seriously won't mind giving some to her...

James will also try to attract attention when he is awake...I will ignore him and let him play on his own...it gets beta each day....just gotta persevere and not pick him up the moment he starts to make wailing sounds...hehe...

I know babies can detect our mood. I try to control but if i'm really exhausted that day. Very diff. to control when he wails!

Water works sometimes and he doesnt really like it. When he's in one of those "no water" mood, feeding water will trigger his temper! He has a furious temper and my mom blamed me for it. Saying i scold my pupils too much during pregnancy.

My mom is those typical mother who thinks she always right and we r wrong. She cant stand my boy crying but sometimes its okay to let them cry abit. If I'm a little slow in making milk or getting water, I'll get screamed at!!! She kept saying my nephew whom she helped to take care wasnt like mine. I felt as if my baby is really so difficult and not like the others, so angelic.

Yesterday she tried to coax him to sleep but he simply din want to. Mom was tired and when my nephew bugged her to change his wet tee, my mom flared and slammed the drawers and threw the wet tee on floor. A breaking point for her. I quickly carry my boy out and let her rest. Obviously, the temper she threw was from the frustration of taking care of my boy as she din stop me from carrying him out. I understand she's tired so I tried to take care of him at night. Then my boy started his crying, i so scared it wld irritate my mom more, brought him down although it was 930pm.Mom came down and scolded me and asked me to go up! On top of my stress, I'm afraid of my mom getting stress!!! Stress! Stress! Stress!

Y,
so your mom is going to take care of your boy and your nephew? how old is your nephew?
My MIL is also going to take care of my girl and my nephew but my nephew is 7 years old and he is not around in the afternoon, attending school. so less stress.
my baby also a bit more difficult compared to my nephew and niece but what to do? I think it's a passing phrase. try to take note of what irritate them and prevent from doing those. my baby like a certain carrying position and she likes to be left alone to finish her poo before we change for her. she will cry once she is done and if we dun change for her immediately, she will wail. we have learnt bit by bit of her nature.

joanna,
yup i think it is impt that bb can suckle well. mine doesn't seem to be able to suckle well. so each pump u actually have quite a lot left!

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/284514.html?1141898247

the mum's name is ho may san.

Y
i find that babies now are really more difficult than bb in the past. they seem to have fiercer tempers! think your mum not used to it. initially my mum thought only my son so naughty. then later my neighbour's granddaughter also turned out to be so difficult. we concluded that bb nowadays are fiercer!

sometimes i also break down and cry when my son doesn't want to sleep at night. will just persist in calming down and eventually he will calm down. we must be more persistent than them.

i agree with mongs, must really know their temper and this will pass. my boy was really difficult in the first month and he gets better over time. and now when i know he doesn't wan me, i quickly pass him on to someone else. it works and i feel less stressed.

have not been on the internet coz my stupid laptop power cord died on me, so can only log on when I reach home from my mum's place everyday, how's everyone doing?

Joanna,
I sooo envy your MS, I can only pump 100ml every 3 hours, and there is definitely not enough for my bb... I'm going back to work end of March, so looks like she will have to be supplemented at least 50-50..

SY,

If you are interested, I can pass you the contact of the LC that I went to. I think she's very good. Very encouraging and gives practical advice according to your particular situation.

Mongs,

Yes, I really thank God that it works out well for me. I believe that God provides. He has given us my daughter and He will provide for her needs.

My gal is different from yours - she's the impatient type so at the beginning, latching her on is perpetually a struggle with her. She's too impatient to wait for the letdown and the milk to flow. But the consultant taught me a method that works to increase the amt of time she suckles. That is, to prepare FM first and latch her on, when she gets impatient during latching on, "reward" her with some FM while she has not swallow the FM latch her on again. SY, you might want to try this method if your problem in latching on is the same as mine.

Cookie,

My gal also cries to be carried all the time - so tiring. She also only sleeps for 15 - 30 mins each time. Not sure how to solve the problem.

Joanna,

Your ms is really impressive. So envious of your ms.

cookie,
I find the Avent ISIS manual pump can really empty the breasts. I normally use the Medela 1st until I see nothng coming out. Then I use Avent. While expressing with one hand on the lever, I will press around the breast with the other hand. The breasts will become very soft and droopy....

btw, last night I pumped out 140ml... got improvement. I think the fenugreek does help a bit.

Seems like a lot of u find that Avent pump is good. For me i find no difference between the Avent pump &amp; Medela electric one...in fact i think Medela one is less tiring! But for both pumps they don't empty my breasts fully...not sure if it's coz i don't use the right technique or what.

sunny,
When i was at Harbourfront, i breastfed at Delifrance. Just bought a drink and sat down there to feed coz no other conducive place!

Re: expo
Last time i went expo (in Feb) the security guard told me there's nursing facility but in dunno-which hall. It was quite far from the hall i was in so i didn't use it. Anyway since there's a baby fair i'm sure they'll cater for nursing mothers!

cookie &amp; sl,
my gal also used to cry to be carried all the time, but it was just a phase that she went thru. Now she's fine
Pray and hope that it's just a phase your babies are going thru! Or find some other way to entertain ur baby so she doesn't need u to carry all the time.

Y
my gal also sleep little in day time after 9am. the most she sleeps is 1 hr after feed. then around 6 or 7pm onwards, she will sleep for 2 - 3 hours.
then, during day time, she will cry for carrying and grouchy 'cos of tiredness. sometimes i will carry her for a while and put her down. and if she still cries and wants to be carried, i will tell her strictly that she should sleep or else keep quiet. think she understands and really goes zzz or play with herself...

just came back from expo bb fair. nothing much there, pretty disappointed. lots of spa, beauty salon stalls. the hottest stall is moms in mind!!!
mum&amp;babes selling PIS advance at $699 with free gift (thermometer), and single pump with free cooler bag.

Bb is ok today, think the merlion episode is a one-off and not reflux. Dunno issit cos I cleaned his tongue the first time and might have been too rough and 15mins later gave him his feed.

Rena,
hope you reconsider the fallopian tube procedure. My mom did it and she had earlier than normal menopause (she was only 43 yrs old, and her other sisters not like that, so thot that it might be the procedure).

SY,
Cool! your boy same birthday! I put Ru Yi almost once a day each day. Went into a "face black-black" stage with my hubby because of it. He was like against everything: Ru Yi Oil - says that it smells like old woman use kind of oil; give Gripe Water to help relieve wind and he says it will cause bb to be addicted as it is like a sedative... But I then dun care, been even secretly giving bb little Bao Ying Dan every other day to help reduce phelgm.

Tried using the Pigeon Peristatic Bottle to see if it helps bb reduce wind and be more willing to take milk. The first attempt is quite successful. I tested the teats myself and the flow is smoother and teat is softer than Avent 2... Think my bb got small asian mouth, Avent may not be suiting him - but been using for almost 7 weeks already anyway.

Y,
I think just go with bb's mood. Their behaviour is changing week-on-week... previously I was strict about not giving him milk before the "hour is up" and keep wanting him to sleep (use to sleep only 10 hrs in his first month, so worrying). Now, it is the opposite - doesn;t want to drink and wants to just play and sleep... think maybe they reach diff stage got diff needs... am wondering issit because it is stimulated by more things around him now and brain needs to process and recover hence the longer sleep hours.

Can I ask if letting bb latch on and suck for comforst even thought there is very little milk is ok? Does it cause wind?

sunny,
oh so the expo fair nothing fantastic? So sad! Why do u say the MIM stall is happening? Any discounts on nursing wear?

cindy,
i don't think latching on will cause wind in baby. But not too good to let baby comfort suck because it'll make him reliant on your breast for comfort. And if it becomes a habit u'll hv to keep offering ur breast to comfort him! Why don't u try pacifier if he wants to comfort suck?

re expo

really disappointed... majority are spas or funny weight loss and cheena spas... with quite aggressive sales persons... the other main stalls are the insurance and FM companies... like sunny said mim stall most suitable 4 me...bought 3 nursing bras and one nursing top..

think the taka fair better 4 kiddy stuff leh