(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rachel

i saw the coconuts selling at one of the fruit at bt panjang ring road.. the place where there used to be a Mcdonalds... selling at $1 each. u might want to check it out there...

rena, edd2jan
Jia you!!! must take good care of yourself first in order to take care of your little ones. your darling will need your full attention =)

wendy
btw, how much will the Dermaveen lotion cost? thinking of getting the lotion only...

rena, edd2jan
Jia you!!! must take good care of yourself first in order to take care of your little ones. your darling will need your full attention =)

wendy
btw, how much will the Dermaveen lotion cost? thinking of getting the lotion only...

god's child
thanks for your info. anyway my hb had just bought a young coconut this morning @ greenridge shop n save. its those young ones from thailand, hopefully will taste good so will get hb to go buy again =p keep you update so you can oso go there and buy.

Dear Ladies,

my elijah has just came home.. thank you for your prayers..

my wound is still pain.. but its all worth it ..

Yuen yuen,

My date is so close to you , I gave birth at Gleneagles too and my C section date was 29 dec..

congrats to mashy!! wow new year baby! cool!

edd2jan,
dun worry, it's normal to feel depressed n emotional now. As u progress along u'll also become more confident in handling baby - so dun worry too much abt it yah! cheer up

krissie & wendy & SY,
thanks for sharing abt the DermaVeen lotion. i think i won't buy it...shall just tahan till i deliver lah!! Since it's only a few more weeks!

rachel,
so Greenridge shopnsave has the young coconut! Great! shall go there and buy

rena,
glad that elijah's home now with you! you must be so relieved n happy yeah?

happy new year!!!
wow... so many bb have popped these few days.... congrats to all new mummies!!!
my friends are quite kan cheong for me, too though i just reached 37 wks +. still kind of mixed feeling and trying to prepare myself for the labour. haha.... hope bb won't come out so early.

Sysac
Roughly how much did you spend on the confinement food? Was thinking of giving my mum $800 to buy the food to cook for my confinement. Wonder if it's enough? Thanks.

Yuki
Were you the one who shared with me earlier how much to give my mum to buy food for confinement? I cant rem liao. Thanks!

Clare..
yesterday tried to post a reponse after readign your birth story...
my hair stand after reading.. not becos of anything but really good description that I start imagining I'm in your shoe and what I will do... to take epi or not.. to this or that or not..
Thanks for sharing your experience.

Big big CONGRATS also to the rest of the mommies who popped over last few days... so many of you... I lost count who has pop...sorry abt that but CONGRATS to all.. EDD2Jan, yuenyuen, mashy, Rena,babylon, tabbiesus etc... sorry if I miss out any name...

Rena
Dun worry too much like the rest said, must take good care of yourself so that u have good staminar when your baby come back ok...
My mum also told me I'm a very very serious Jaundice baby, so serious I think I have blood transfusion when I was a baby... and my those idiotic relatives always tease me saying I'm not my mum's child becos I change blood before...
ANyway bottom line is I'm a fine big adult now...
So dun worry ok...

Edd2jan
I think all of us will reach a "teary teary" stage.. that doesn't mean we are into posnatal depression - depression is a big word...
it's also becos of our homones changes thats why we are more emotional.
We all learn new things everything with our baby... you must be confident you can do so it..
After the teary stage u will be a wonderful mummy!! so dun worry and cheer up!

krissie
I was reading your earlier thread ... and now I read your posting that means.. u are still hanging on..heehee...
3 more days...did Dr Ho say anything abt when bb due date reach but bb still comfortable inside us... will he induce of will he wait har?

I was telling my MIL that I will give her $1000-1200 for a start... but she say scare will spend the money away... want me to give on weekly or fortnightly....

For all mommies who pop...
Just wanna check... did ALL of you drank the Young Coconut Juice before pop ???

I have a colleague told me she never drink cos her family who open medical hall told her not to drink cos may not be so good..
but I know lotsa mommies had drink before delivery and no adverse effect... my friend also said her bb dun have the white white spot on her bb face last time...
so I'm confused...
So far I haven't started drinking yet...

Rachel,
I cant find my receipt for the DermaVeen lotion.. I think its below $20 cuz I remembered its not really expensive. If u want me to get for u, just let me know by thursday, ok?

Durian,
Besides the itch, I also use that to "improve" the stretchability of my tummy so the stretch marks will stop spreading. I forgot to buy my coconut from IMM today. Think I'll go down and get myself the coconut later.

God's child,
That place you talking about is Zheng Hua marketplace right? The MacDonald's that is now Jin San Ling coffee shop right?

CONGRATS to mummies who have popped the last few days! Who's our first 2006 BB?

edd2jan,
I believe all new mothers will have their crying episodes. I certainly did. First was sad Isaac had to be admitted to KK. Then when he's home, was so stressed about whether he's taking enough BM, so tired having to BF him a few times a night etc... Not depression lah. Once you settled into a routine, everything becomes a little easier. Hang on!

Cookie,
Your MIL is your CL? And you intend to give $1000? Wah... that's quite a lot. My MIL is my CL and I thought of giving a token of $500 and my HB actually said no need so much! He said $200-$300 will do!

Rena,
I missed my BB so much during the 2 days when he's in KK for jaundice as well... Hang on, Your Elijah will be home soon! Meanwhile, remember to pump your breats every 3 hours even though milk supply is low!

I have a problem. Recently, I have started bottle feed EBM to Isaac. Sometimes after a feed and he's awake for a while, he'll start to twitch his mouth and put his hands to his mouth, like want to suckle. After a whle, he'll strat to cry. Hold him and his mouth will start to search for the nipple. Can't be hungry cos it's within one hour of his last feed! So I'll rock him and coo him but he can get so mang zhang and cry non-stop. I didn't want to indulge him by giving him my breasts cos he'll suck for comfort only. So ended up giving him a pacifier until he fall asleep, then I immediately remove it. Pacifier at 2 weeks old only!!!
HOW???
Didn't want to start him on the pacifier at all. But now he can get so mang zhang at night that the only way to get him to quiet down and sleep is to give him the pacifier or my nipple.

thanks for the consolations. i know its hard but i really din expect it to be SO HARD.. right now i m really afraid HB will go back to work and i dun wan to face my MIL and mum alone with Javier. My mum already saw me cry in front of her but so far MIL din. i just feel it tough to clear the shit, pee and bath etc etc. esp when he starts to cry. and he is really strong. so can u imagine changing him while he soiled himself and while he is fidgeting, its really tough man. i tried it this afternoon, ask HB to let me learn but that is after his feed so he is like so 'high' let me change quietly.

but frankly my tears is really like free flow, sometimes while eating my dinner or talking to my HB esp, i will just tear.. v bad i know. even while reading all ur comfort words, my tears also dropped.. feel really useless...

by the way, usually when will the milk flow begin to establish? its my 5 days after delivery and i really dun know if i have enough milk for javier. I tried to pump it out with manual pump but its only like 15ml for both breasts.. so sad. i know there are more cos when i squeeze, i can see more milk flowing but i was really tired pumping them manually. think i will invest in the medala electric pump. for those using it, any feedback? how you know when the breast is fully expressed? and how much can u pump ard the 1st week?

edd2jan,
Manual pump is very tiring. All my colleagues and sister who got the Medela single electric pump asked me to get the dual pump instead cuz you'll be so tired, you'll find it troublesome to pump only 1 side. Better to pump both sides at the same time. The single electric pump is good for pumping at work though. As for PIS, all my colleagues and sister think its not worth the money since the cheaper dual pump which costs $297 (you can get it cheaper if u can wait for discounts) works just as well.

Queen,
I was quoted $2-3K for a CL cuz my confinement period will cover the whole of CNY. In addition, the CL wants off on eve, 1st and 2nd day of CNY. That's why I got myself a maid instead of a CL. IMHO, $1K is a reasonable amount as its alot of time and effort. Afterall, you're all one family, it doesn't matter to give alittle more. Makes her more happy also right? $200-$300 sounds quite little to me.. I think her time and effort is worth more than that la... Afterall, you already saved more than $2K not hiring a CL.

edd2jan
it takes time for your milk supply to come in, but think with your stress level i beieve it is affecting your supply... so try to relax okay?

maybe you could try to let your mum or MIL to take care of your Javier while you have some time alone or with your hb?? maybe can start with 10 to 15 mins each day. heard tat it could help in helping you to relax and rest your mind... give it a try?

wendy
thanks! will let you know by thursday whether need you to help me get the lotion =)

durian
yah. greenridge shopnsave selling those young coconut. now mine is sitting in my fidge, still thinking when to taste it...haha

edd2jan,
I think just relaxed lah. First time changing diapers, bathing etc. sure a bit tough. Do it a few more times and you'll find them to be easier. Just don't get scared after only 1 try.
As for milk flow, mine came in on the 4th to 5th day. 1st 3 days pumping quite pathetic, at most 30 ml from both breast. Do your breasts feel hard? Feel the top/bottom and sides of your breasts, do you find any particularly hard spots? That's where your milk ducts are full. Try massaging your breasts with a warm towel, applying a bit of pressure on those harder spots before you pump. It'll help in 'let down' of he breasts. I'm using the Advent manual pump and can now pump ~100ml from both breasts in less than 10 mins. I think now you are only in your 5th day. Don't worry, as long as you let Javier suckle every 3 hours or pump every 3 hours, the milk will come in.

anyone past EDD? My EDD was 28 Dec and I am past it...my gynae says bb movements and heart beat is good so am still waiting...i read somewhere that 90% of women deliver b4 EDD and I am getting worried abt waiting too long...

Wendy - yup, tats the place im toking bout, sin know theres a name for the market... rather 'mo shen' to tat area cos i seldom go there...

Rena - good tat Elijah is home wf u... do post his lovely pics soon, and meanwhile, rest well...

cookie
yup, me still here. Dr Ho says he'll wait for 1week past EDD before inducing.The $1K includes or excludes the amount for food? I think the norm is to give mum / MIL an ang poh for helping us for confinement + the $$ for food.

edd2jan
pls dun say you're useless. all mummies are very wei da. I think it's the postnatal hormones that's making you weepy. Anyway, hope u feel better after crying out. It takes a while for the MS to come in, at least u hv milk, so dun give up, ok?

ak
did you gynae say when he'll induce you? My EDD is this Fri loh.
Bb still dun wanna come out.

morning ladies

edd
i agree with krissie that don't say yourself are useless. you just need a bit of time to adjust yourself. cheer up!!!

now I am starting to feel stress as hubby was telling me now since baby is out , you can start looking for a job.. then i starting to tear again.. maybe after resting for so long i felt fear in going to the working world again and then I feel stress that after the confinement lady leave .. how am I going to make my meals , clean the house and look after baby at the same time??? stress so keep crying until hubby so angry and ignore me..

Enjoy the baby in you as much as you can .. coz you will miss it all together.. and everything to me seem like a dream.. 6 days ago still talking to baby inside me feeling his movements then 6 days later he is out kicking and crying..

Rena,
U need help with the pictures?
just save your pictures as a JPG and email to me, I'll help u resize & post.

EDD,
JIA YOU! Don't give up! We all already knew beforehand its not going to be easy right? Hang on, you're almost there!

Krissie/AK,
Don't worry too much about deing overdue. As long as the fluid level is ok, baby movements are ok and gynae say its ok, its better for baby to develop inside your tummy than on their own outside. You can carry your baby in you for up to 42 weeks or until your gynae says "Come out!".

Rena,
Your confinement and "maternity leave" is not even over yet, what job? Who's going to take care of the house and baby while you're working? If he wants you to start working, at least talk about it AFTER 3 months, not 6 days. Besides, if you have to work, ask him to get and pay for a maid. Then, you can start looking for a maid now so you can slowly train her up while you're at home.

Morning mummies!!!

queen - ur 500 bucks does not include the confinement food right? i plan to give 500 just for the food only and on top of that, i will add on a couple of hundreds to her monthly pocket money. will be giving extra to my dad as well as he will cook for me and my mum will help me with the baby and on top of that, i will get a part time helper to clean my parent hse so that my mum will not be tight up with the household chores. hubby will be staying with me at my mum hse as well.

edd2jan - hang on there ya. i think you are doing a great job. so dun be too hard on yourself. everyone will go thru the same stage. at least u got your MIL for help. so just take this time to bond with baby. remember to talk to baby and baby will listen to you. take care and i believe you be fine in a couple of days
jia you jia you!!!

ak - i havent surpass my edd of 15th jan but many in this thread has already popped and i guess after krissie, i am next to pop. did your gynae ask u to induce it? coz in fact my gynae advise me to induce it to let baby out earlier. so any advise from your gynae or just play the waiting game? coz i know there is a limit of how long we can stretch.

Krissie - are you excited?? so far have you felt any contraction? coz i dun and my baby also havent engaged and now really waiting lor. currently working from hm at my parents hm. so got my mum and dad to standby for me while my hubby work. gee so excited. in fact, i think i want him out asap lei..coz now, really just wait and wait. sigh!

rena - dun cry...sayang sayang. ya when is your hubby asking you to look for job? if so, then after 3 mths then can talk abt it again abt the plan where to put baby etc. now i think you just concentrate your bonding with your baby first. dun put extra stress on yourself. just ignore what he says. are you guys financially tight? if not, i dun see why u need to find a job so fast now. if you need support, get frm your family. dun be so uptight on what he says. pls take care!!

Rena/SSF,
Oh.. I'm soo angry after reading Rena's posting. I agree with SSF. Ignore what your hubby says for now. Concentrate on baby, settle down first. However, SSF, even if they are financially tight, she's not in the position or health to start working now as she's just given birth. She needs to recuperate. Approach his parents for help first. Hows your relationship with his parents? You may want to tell your MIL about this and see if she can help talk sense into your husband? If not, get your parents to talk to him. Don't keep everything to yourself. It does help to talk to others who can help.

Happy new year to all mummies. i tried to log in last week but cant leh.

i'm going for my c-section this thurs. Gyana say bb too big liao so got to come out early. Yo! i very frighten n gan cheong now.

ok i got to go n clear my work liao. Chat with u gals later yeah!

Rena - Dont be sad ok. Yalor! your confinement juz started n must take care of your health.

krissie - try to talk to bb.

confused - oh so you are next then. you seems very zhai with the c-sect ya. anyway, have a smooth delivery and pls finish your work quickly..have a good rest and good meal before the c-sect
take care and update us with your story when ya back!

edd2jan,
dun feel too bad and overwhelmed. recognised that it is normal. after all we are all first time mothers and still adjusting to the new envt. get your MIL and Mum to help care for javier in the day so u get more rest. if u r too stressed it will affect your MS and the whole thing will be a cycle. do come in and share so that you can feel better

rena,
good to hear that elijah is back home! aiyoh, dun think abt job now. now is the time to think abt yourself and bb. do take care of yourself and dun think too much abt what your hb says.

i agree with u. i think i will really miss bb movements when he comes out....

confused,
so you will be seeing your bb soon!! rest well meanwhile and take care!!

Confused - how big is ur bb now? My Celeste is also BIG, 3.1kg at 37wk+.. also worried tat will hav to go c-section though gynae hasn't mentioned anythin yet... keeping fingers crossed tat she wont grow too much...

Rena - Though hard, but try not to be too upset wf ur HB now... Elijah needs you now, so try not to slip into depression... cos post natal blues can set in without us knowing!!! come in and talk to us when u need to vent off your anger/sadness... as for job, tell him tat u know when is the right timing and its juz not NOW...
kao_smile2.gif

Hi all... I used to be a forum member but since the birth of my son 3 years ago...i had been so bz with both work and kid that i had no time to really log on...i am now waiting for my bb no. 2 to pop out. I am supposed to be due in 7th jan....but still no signs of the baby's arrival yet....
I hope to join all of you in the forum too...

Hi Joanna!! warm welcome to our forum...

so has your baby engaged? ya shld be in your 39 wks already. whats your wgt/gender of your baby and where will you be delivering? since this is your second baby, i guess you are more "zhai" than the rest of us

Hi SSF....I'm currently in my 40th week liao....baby's gender is male and will be delivering at TMC.
Altho this is my second pregnancy...it will be my first experience in delivering naturally.

My first boy was delivered via c-sectn after an unsuccessful 12 hours induced labour at 38 weeks. As such, I am also a little apprehensive as to what to expect in a natural delivery. Besides, I may not dilate like the last pregnancy and may have to go thru c-sectn again....so now waiting to see if baby will co-operate and come out via the natural way...hehe....

How abt yourself?

Missy - i not zhai lah. Actually i very frighten n didnt sleep well the last few days. I've no choice leh cos gyane say my bb gal head quite big. last week scan is already 9.98cm (i was told not more than 10cm if not will have difficulty coming out) Moreover, i have GD so gyane advise to go for c section.

SY - Thanks. Ya! can see my bb gal soon.

wendy n god's child - last week scan my bb is abt 7pound ++. (should be 3kg ++) n gynae say by the time i give birth its abt 8 pound liao. (Scary very big bb yeah!) Aiyo! my bb grow very fast. Gynae say its due to my GD lor

joanna - i will also be delivering in TMC. due date is 15th jan. dun know if can meet you there. hee..so did your doc ask u to go for c-sect? normally if first is c-sect, second one they will also ask u to do the same.

i pray that i can deliver naturally. so now waiting for baby to engage. have been talking to him and asking him to engage soon so that mama and papa can see him soon. hee..

Hi mummies! How's everyone doing? I've been busy busy busy helping clean my mum's place where I'll be doing my confinement. Really major spring cleaning for her place! Thank God my younger cousin who took off from NS helped me out.

Anyway, I've been dreaming bout little Baby Chan. Do you mummies have dreams prior to giving birth?

Haha! I dreamt about delivering to him and bb latching on very easily while breastfeeding and sucked very hungrily. Think I'm really anticipating his arrival.

Will be going for my next check-up tomorrow at 38 weeks and 4 days.

oh confused - same here..i also GD. but so far did you ctrl it well? left ony a few more days..so u must ctrl ya. but in my case, baby not big leh..now only 2.4kg.

confused,
your baby is indeed quite big. Did your gynae give u anything to control the GD? Try to limit your sugar intake. I was also suspected of having GD during my 30th week cuz got sugar in my urine. Before the results for the GTT was out, I was asked not to eat rice for dinner and not to take carbo after 6pm to control. Lunch, try to eat low carb foods like beehoon, not rice, or yellow noodles. Breakfast, no sandwiches.. eat fruits (but not bananas) and lastly, no sugar or sweets.. Must admit that one week of low/no carb diet was quite tough but u're almost there liao.. Hang in there!

mamachan- ya still doing household chores? u better rest well and get enuff sleep before your due date. yeah tat day i actually dreamt i delivered already and it wasn't painful. haha..

Hi SSF...nope my gynae is quite supportive in allowing me to wait till this Sat to see if the baby can come out naturally. If not...then I can decide on whether to do it via c-section. My gynae is so far very supportive.

I dunno if baby has engaged but as of last week, he hasn't...however, yesterday...my tummy suddenly dropped low and have been experiencing mild contractions since 6.15am this morning...still monitoring...dunwant to make the same mistake of getting to the hospital too early and end up having another c-sectn...ehhe

My next appt with my gynae is this coming friday tho...hehe....baby as of 38 weeks is 3.2kg...my first boy was estd to be 2.95kg at 36 wks but came out 3.745kg at 38 wks...haha....so...the measurements doesnt equate the actual weighing of the baby...

Hi Mama Chan,
I've also had dreams of my little one and like you, I dreamt of BF her also. In fact, I even dreamt that I asked my HB to help suck some milk away before I sleep so that I don't get engorgement as I was too lazy to get up and pump.. Funny dreams..

Anyway, 37 weeks 3 days now.. 16 days to go and counting down.. bb not engaged yet and gynae also say most prob I'm not popping early so slowly lor. Let baby enjoy more good food while in my tummy before coming out and drinking only milk.

joanna - good that your gynae is supportive. so wait till fri and then see what he says. update us again on your gynae visit. for me, my tummy is always low. so i also dun know if he has engage or not. but so far i do not feel any contraction at all.

Wendy, God's child , SSF, SY,

Talking to my mother in law also no use.. she will want me to work but she could not help me look after elijah plus my parents are also working.. so I am totally on my own..

as for Job.. I have not been working for a while therefore we are rather tight .. plus now we have one more to feed..

Frankly now if you ask me to look for a job.. I have no confidence at all aready.. somehow..

can someone help by sending me cover letter for job application? I used to have but it have be so long and I have lost the format.. as for CV I have..

I really dun know why, maybe its time to face the real world...

SY,

When are we receiving the address? hee hee.. better see who is going to give birth next.. I hope to have gathering before going to work..

think got trouble posting.

Joanna,
welcome! seems like you have been really busy since birth of your first son!

wow your son is really big size! hope you can have natural delivery this time.

Mama Chan,
i had some dreams a while back but it's mostly like water bag burst etc...think i scared i wet the bed...

have you been sleeping with the plastic sheet already? thinking which one is more effective, put towel or put plastic sheet.

rena,
lucky u remind me. my memory not very good now. going to send out the addresses

dun think too much. if u think too much now, easy to get post natal depression. must focus on bb and positive thoughts ok? we are all behind u.

i dun have cover letter format. maybe can search online? i know my hb used some online ones as reference.

Dear mummies...it is common to experience engorgement initially esp on the 3rd day after the baby arrives....but perseverence pays off...i had to wait for 1 month after my first boy for the milk to establish. I ended up bf him for 8 mths....however, at times when I was stressed, I was unable to keep up with his demands as he was a huge drinker...so my MIL would help me supplement him with formula...but on weekends...i would bf him totally without supplement...

this went on for 8 mths till be teethed and started to bite till i bled...then i decided to stop...for my 2nd boy I am hoping to bf till he is at least 2 yrs old....

I am really supportive of bf becos of the benefits i c from it. They recover faster from common cold and coughs....moreover...they fall sick less often...so....must really tong and persevere...hehe