(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

wenyl,
glad to hear that ethan is home!! that must be your best boxing day gift.

the nurse so nice. told hubby to stay with u

so the next one popping shd be rena??

rena,
did u ask gynae whether u can still go for the c-section as scheduled if you do not recover?

yeah, exciting tat our outing can finally materialized..

All mummies
wow! so many posts!
Congratulations to mummies who had pop!! take good care n rest well. will be spending the very first New Year day w your little darling! Congrates congrates! the heat is really on n everyone is getting excited!

Cramps: same as mamachan, starting to get more menses-like cramps around the lower abodminal area since last nite. but got better when get up n move around. think body getting warm up... still felt worried when having these cramps.

Pelvic bone: been getting those 'tic tac' sound from my pelvic bone lately when i turn in bed or getting out of bed to pee... very scare its the sound of my water bag burst! have any mummies got the same thing as me?? hope its nothing serious...

confused - take it easy. dun stressed out ya. ya you go ahead and complete all your work and then sooner you can start relaxing and count down to your maternity leave. hang on ya.

rena - ya did u check with your gynae abt your current status if you are OK enough for delivery? do take care esp when weather can be quite bad lately..rain and then shine. try to drink more water.

wenyl - yeah the nurse so nice to ask your hubby to stay. your bills are pretty high maybe becz of c-sect. anyway rest well and catch up with us again when ya have settle down. btw did you expect your baby to be out so soon?

SY,

I did sms the gynae yesterday.. and he mention that it is ok.. but as a parent , I am worried..that I am spread my germs to bb.. Please keep me in your prayers..
OH, SY have you finish gathering the address?

In order to cater for all the mommies that will
pop in end Jan , our outing will most likely be either begining of Mar or end Jan lor...

prince & princess: so far we have 5 princes & 1 princess... think rena will be the next to pop. do rest plenty for your big day 2 days later!

rachel - i dun have that tic tac sound but my pelvis was hurting past week and i had problem walking. now is better but my feet are still swollen and recently quite bad. now looks like pig trotters with those dark red nail polish. quite an ugly sight actually. haha...

rena,
yah, i got all the address from the mummies who PM me already.

any more mummies going to PM me? if not, i will send out by this Thur...

i think shd be ok to go for c-section cos my fren sick for 2 weeks and her gynae also say ok. she din fully recover when she went for her c-section but her bb doing very well now
in fact she's quite chubby...

will keep u in my prayers and hope u can recover soon...

rachel, SSF,
i have problem walking also. limping cos right side painful. my feet alsol look like pig trotters...

Hi SSF/Confused/SY,

Cephas is drinking 70mls of milk every 2.5-3 hrs. I noticed his chubbiness while feeding him the past week. Decided to take the photos and definitely can tell the diff from there. Whew! It's been hard work pumping him up cos PD wants him to be 3kg by end Dec becos of his premature birth. He was already 2.5kg as of last Tues weighing. From the looks of him, think it's achievable.

Hi Yuki,

Yep, my confinement shd be officially over by this Fri. The 1st 2 weeks was an adjustment period becos of my wound,the wee-hours feeding, not enuff sleep & the commuting btwn NUH & home (Cephas jaundice period). Since he came back home plus PD giving him the okie for his jaundice, confinement has been rather enjoyable. On top of that, my wound is healed and I can move about easier too. In fact, I went shopping last week for Xmas, had a X'mas party at my house plus I am going to trim & highlight my hair tomorrow.

Later, I am also going to Safra to place deposit for Cephas's 1st month party on 2 Jan 2006. Lucky, my mum is easy to talk to and modernised. She allows me to bathe & wash hair everyday. If not, I think I will be a very man-zhang person.

In a way, also adjusted to the night feeds. HB will take over sometimes when I take my time to get up to go get the milk. Cephas is also a rather easy baby to take care of. He does not cry except when milk reaches him too late. other than that, he is either smiling of just playing by himself.

Hi Wenyl,

Take care of yourself & baby Ethan!

SSF
good to hear tat your pain is getting better. think nowadays our bodies are really loaded w stress n our BBs' weight. do take plenty of rest. me yesterday went out w hb n parent for breafast n did a little shopping n it actually is killing me. by the time i reach home is really tired n back ache is killing me too... sigh

SY
seems like we have no choice but to bear w the remaining weeks before BB come out. been telling my boy jus tahan for 1 more week n he is free to come out anytime liao haha..

Hope all of u had a wonderful christmas!

I'm having very bad water retention now! so bad that i hv difficulty walking and lower back damn pain, can't sleep well @ nite and oso hv difficulty turning to my sides when i sleep! sigh......this is sooooooo tiring and painful....still hv another 4 weeks or so. How are the rest of the mummies here doing?

Sysac, your BB Cephas is sooooo cute, yes, can see that he's grown quite abit huh =)

Ivory, thanks for the update again! Seems like Rena is next in the list! Rena, jia you & rest well!!

Wenyl,
BB Ethan is soooo cute. He seems very alert of his surroundings.... =) Please take care of yourself and BB Ethan & update us soon on the birth story!

Sysac,
Can really see baby Cephas growing with every picture posted. He's so adorable! Good to see that he's growing well and putting on weight healthily.

Wenyl/Queen/prettycloud/klisa/rena,
So keep us posted with pictures of your little ones (and soon to come little one for Rena) too. Let us share your joys.

Do you girls feel the urge to poo more often now? sometimes i doubt if its normal or is it diarrhoea... and also when i flip n turn in bed to change sides, i notice alittle sore n pain on tummy, esp no the left (where the stomach is )... oh gosh... everything is becoming so #$%^&...

SY - i cant control leh. It seems that i think alot theses days. (hu2 si1 luan4 xiang3) n oso i afraid i cant cope as well. alot of people told me life will be different once bb come out. Oh ya! wat address u talking abt? Did i give you my address?

Missy - Nobody will be taking over my job n if possible i maybe going back to work after 1 mth confinement. (got alot of work to do)

sysac - Wow! really envy you. your confinement going to be over soon. And you can bring your bb boy out during CNY.

Yuki - yalor! we will be hiding in our house during CNY n eating confinement food.

may
I had v bad rashes few weeks ago too. It's called PLUPPS, preg related. There's nothing much we can do abt it. It'll only go away when we give birth. For me, my gynae gave me some medication, bath lotion and cream, which helped qt a bit. Ask your gynae to give u some medication too lah.

ivory
Thanks for the update.

Mashy
Wah... sounds so exciting. I also had a mini scare. had a bit of contractions during Christmas. But, it went away after 1hr+, so shld be BH loh.. hee hee... seems like our bbs like Christmas.

Clare
Congrats!! Christmas eve bb.. so sweet.

sysac
yup yup... Cephas indeed looks more fleshy...
and looks v contended.

I was poo-ing quite a lot too the 2 weeks before I delivered. It was soft stool most of the time. During that time, I was wondering to myself if I was due soon. So, it may be a sign that your delivery time is round the corner.
I also suddenly swelled up on my hands and feet during that period. The sweeling went down after I was discharged from the hospital.

Yep, Cephas has grown. I am developing arm muscles from carrying him during his feeds.

Hi Sysac,

Thank God Cephas is a easy baby to take care of. My gal was like too. Hopefully this second one will be the same.

It's good that you get to bath and wash hair! I think i was quite man zhang during my confinement partly due to the heat.

Hi God's child,

Our body will 'auto' clear our system (poo more often) to prepare for child birth.

Hi confused,

Ha Ha. I will be doing my confinement at my MIL's place and i can imagine my SIl etc came back for reunion dinner and i have to be contented with my confinement food........

Since i'm too cooped up @ home for confinement during CNY, yesterday i bought bak kwa & love letters to eat .....it's all the cravings and oso consumption of confinement food only during CNY that makes me want to eat these 1st b4 everyone else!!

rena: can the C-secion be postponed? Think it will be quite painful if u cough with the wound. Hope u get well soon.

I have not been sleeping well this few days, as though my mind is still working and I have to go to toilet a lot of times. Guess its the body gearing up for night feeds...

MH,

Actually I do not wish to postpone as I have change the dates a few times already.. Later I will be going to see the GP again.. hopefully can change to better medication..

I am so excited over the C-section.. got to see my baby soon...Hipppy..

confused - really? but you are entitled to 2 mths continous at least leh. pls talk to your boss abt it. gg back 1 mth later seems impossible. its just the end of your confinement only.

sysac- is the brown lining across your belly still visible? good to hear the water rentention gone for your feet. btw, did you do any massage? they said its good to push your womb up since after delivery it will move down.

rena - i am excited for you too!

bao bao - congrats to the arrival of JAYDEN! welcome yet another baby. tell us more abt it when ya have the time. 3.4kg is of a good weight.

Hi SSF,

Yep, the brown line is still visible. I understand that it may not go away, just lighter in colour. That's y it's said women cannot lie that they have not given birth before. The line indicates child birth. Anyway, I find my line quite sexy. Haha. It shows character actually

Didn't do massage. Wanted to but cldn't with the running around. Find that it's a bit late now. Gynae said my womb's in the right position during my visit last week.

oh tats gd then sysac! save money also. hee.. oh so the line still exist. mine is pretty dark so i pray it will disappear after birth else it be unsightly if i wear a bikini. hee..

HI Bao Bao,

Congrats on little Jayden! So many bb pop recently.. so exciting
Any photos to post?

sysac,
Its still possible to do post natal massage even after 3-4 weeks. In fact, my massage lady, Mdm Rokiah recommends that C-sect mummies do their massage 3 weeks later if not too painful for them cuz of the wound.

HI Bao Bao,

Congrats on little Jayden! So many bb pop recently.. so exciting
Any photos to post?

sysac,
Its still possible to do post natal massage even after 3-4 weeks. In fact, my massage lady, Mdm Rokiah recommends that C-sect mummies do their massage 3 weeks later if not too painful for them cuz of the wound.

Thanks for all the wonderful comments on baby Ethan.

NEPIA DIAPERS
Anyone has the contact for nepia diapers. I lost the contact. Is it true that they will send samples to us to try first? Any idea the promo still on?

God's child,
During my gynae visit 2 weeks b4 I popped, Ethan's est weight was 1.98kg. Tot he would be at least 2 kg when born. Dr say he might have lost weight during my labour. Or maybe the machine isn't tat accurate.

Sysac,
Wow, Cephas looks more matured & definitely meatier. Babies grow very fast. I believe he can hit 3kg by mth end. *Jia you, Cephas! Jia you!*

Bao Bao,
Our babies share the same birthdate! 20/12/2005.

Hi SSF,

The brown line will become lighter after a while. I do not think it will go off. I may be wrong. My friend who gave birth 5 years ago still has the line. She still wears her bikini. If you are wearing a bikini after birth and showing that faint line, you shd be one sexy mama. Haha!

Hi Wendy,

For me, no point doing the post-natal massage. Nothing left to massage. I lost my tummy by week 2 of confinement. Think now can go spa kind of massage, facial, pedicure :p My last pedicure (done day b4 I gave birth) is still intact.

Hi Wenyl,

Thanks for the Jia You. U too jia you in feeding/taking care of Ethan. Cephas was 2180g when born (2 Dec). Upon discharge 4 days later, he was 2065g (6 Dec). 2 days later at PD's visit, he was 2130g (8 Dec). Last Tue (20 Dec), he was 2500g. According to the PD, just feed him milk. Don't feed water yet. It will supress his milk intake. So Wenyl & Ethan Jia You too!

Hey Bao Bao,

been running back & forth to KK because Isaac is undergoing phototherapy. Finally brought him home after 2 nights. Jaundice came down but need to be monitored closely, today went back to polyclinic to take his blood and jaundice on the down trend. Ned to review again coming sat! Poor baby kena poke so many times. I had my blood taken at KK as well and the doctor there said my blood and Isaac's blood is incompatible, something about O+ blood (mine) antigen attacking A+ blood (Isaac's) which may be one of the higher risk cause factor of jaundice. Then during discharged, KK doc gave us another bomb. Said Isaac is slightly anemic, need to take iron and folic acid medicine for 1 month and then go back to KK for follow up. I'm so sad and stressed yesterday... but now feel better liao, after seeing Isaac's smile.

SY,
Yes, I'm on TBF. Only time Isaac took formula was when he was in KK for the first night where it's impossible for me to express enough to bring it to KK for him. So far he has been latching directly, except when I went to my gynae for postnatal check and he drank EBM from bottle.

The thing about BF directly, I have no idea how much he's consuming. I always time 20 mins one breast and then switch over. Sometimes he can suckle for another 20 mins, most of the time just 10 mins on the other breast. When he drank the EBM from bottle, he can drink up to 70ml. Dunno whether it is the same when latching on direct.

Clare,
Congrats!!! Share with us your birth story and BB's pics!

Mashy,
what a close shave! You must be really worried! Well, at least now you are mentally prepared and know what to expect during labour. Just be careful these few days. As long as BB is above 2 kg and more than 36 weeks, BB is good to come out.

Hi Queen,

Blood group incompatibilities is a common cause of jaundice. For me, Cephas & I share same blood group but he still kenna. With his premature birth, he was also monitored closely for his jaundice! Yep, the worse part is seeing your baby being pricked. Cephas was pricked twice a day on the heel of his left foot. After that, it was his left hand. Going to NUH and then seeing him with plater here and there was really heart breaking.

Queen, sysac
good to hear that both babies are doing well. that's great. take care! Didnt know that blood grp incompatibilities will cause jaundice.

went for my weekly gynae chkup this afternoon and he said i m 2cm dilated and asked me to choose a date to deliver my bb. i was confused. although bb edd is v near (2jan06) but i really din expect to choose a date to be induced. in the end i chose 31 dec cos i really hope bb can choose to come out on his own within these few days and dun need to be induced. reason gynae said i can be induced is cos bb is not really growing much inside me and placenta has also matured. of cos also becos he checked me and said i m already 2cm dilated so can give birth anytime. bb is also kind of engaged.

so right now, my mind is pretty confused.. excited that bb is coming out soon, at least by 31 dec but also not sure what will happen the nxt few days. for my case, i really hope to see some sign of labour so that i dun need to be induced but the prob is i feel normal.

any advice on how to trigger water bag burst, show etc etc?

edd2jan
is there no way the gynae can let you give birth naturally instead of inducing since the date u choose 31 dec and 2 jan isn't very far apart mah.....Mmmm i don't know if it works but one of my colleague told me that she is so afraid that she will be induced. She actually baby dance with her hubby on the day before they were due and in the end there was show and water bag burst and she gave birth naturally.....this is just one of a kind story....the best thing i think is to heed gynae's advice?

etelle,
yah i did heard before that baby dancing might trigger that so not sure to try it or not. by the way, reason gyane wan to induce is cos he is afraid bb might be having distress inside me. tho my CTG scan is good today but he mentioned that is only good for 48hrs and after that anything can happen and if i din do a CTG scan after that, it might not be good. and also since placenta matured and he is not growing much, he said no pt keeping him in also..

edd2jan
induce is wat? put tablets inside and then force ur cervix to dilate ah? or would gynae simply burst the water bag and adopt the wait and see for things to happen naturally???

Just went to my checkup today. BB have not engaged, it is 37wks now. Had very bad rashes and gynae told me it is bcos of my pregnancy. Should subside after birth..within 2-4wks. If it gets worse, he might need to force BB to come out earlier. So at the mean time, I have to endure all the itchiness as I am not allowed to take strong medication and injection. How I wish my BB will be out fast..I have sleepless nights due to the rashes. =(

Etelle,
Induce is to put tablet inside the cervix to dilate it faster. Heard from my gynae.

etelle,
Sorry, I'm a bit blur, but what is babydancing?

edd2jan,
Hope you had a good anniversary! I heard if you go for long walks and do deep squats it may trigger off early labour. I think that your gynae is probably worried that you'll be postdates, that's why he asked you to choose a date for inductions.

Rena,
Hope you have a safe delivery!

Baobao,
welcome to baby Jayden!!!!

Clare,
Welcome to our first baby girl, Ashley!!

Mashy,
was the ventolin very horrible for you? I had that when I was at 33 weeks and it made me feel really sick. Hope your baby can stay inside for another week, every day counts!!! Better get lots of rest...

sysac,
we are collating which areas all mummies stay in so that it's easier to arrange outing. just PM me and i will collate

good that cephas is easy to care for. think it makes every more enjoyable also.

rachel,
yah that's what i say to my boy also. just tahan until week 37 and he's free to do what he likes

edd2jan,
hopefully baby will come out naturally by himself since u r already dilated. i know some gynaes will choose to deliver bb early if bb not really growing inside. how big is bb now? do u need to go back for your CTG scan every 2 days?

queen,
good to hear your update abt isaac. post more pic when possible!

your BF din sound too bad. hopefully i can establish MS soon after giving birth too

baobao, congrats! i initially thought of using jayden as well but hb din like it though i like it...

hello mummies!
have been busy over the past few days and also website was down when i tried to log on. Congrats to Bao Bao and Clare!

edd2jan,
u may want to try 'natural induction' like nipple stimulation or babydance. My gynae said these are the 2 'proven' ways of natural induction! But i have a fren who tried both methods but both didn't work!

Rena,
do rest well n hope u recover before ur C-section!!

Hmmm.. I read conflicting articles on how sexual intercourse can affect cervical ripening.

While little successful studies have shown that it does promote cervical ripening, its also ironically one of the natural ways people try for labour induction.

Articles for your references :
Labour induction studies :
http://www.aafp.org/afp/20030515/2123.html

Less cheem article on medical labour induction :
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/refcap/173.html

Natural ways of labour induction :
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/expert/546739.html

FYI.

Morning all...

Baobao - Congrats on your promotion!!! Mummy to Baby Jayden!!!

Yuki / sysac - oh, soft stools are a normal pre delivery sign? i thought i was having diarrhoea and took medicine for it... so can we stil consume milk/cheese???

SSF - u so scute, stil thinking of ur bikini now... me dare not even dream, not to mention think bout it anymore...wf the stretch marks...and it seems to be getting more this week as it expands more at the bottom of the tummy... *sob*