(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Clare,
yah seems like we might be the nxt one to pop anytime from now.

Anyway just went for my chkup this morn and bb only manage to increase from 2.3kg to ard 2.45kg in one week time. but mummy no increase in weight though, in fact decrease abt 100g since last measured wt. did the CTG scan and gynae said bb is v active. Also mentioned i had a few contractions which i feel nothing at all. he said i m doing fine and since water is still ok, he will see me in one week time on 27 dec (my 2nd anniversay
) and measure my CTG again. I really hope bb can wait till after that or even later.. so that he can have more time to 'grow' in me. i m still treasuring his every movements inside me though sometimes, it is really so frequent and making me wanna pee all the time.

krissie,
seems like most of us have the same symptoms. i must remember to mention to my gynae tmr when i see him...later he say i gan cheong.

edd2jan,
u measure CTG every visit? what's the reason for that?

u on ML already?

klisa
glad to hear that Rae can go back home tmr!! finally the wait is over. do take care and not tire youreslf out.

sunny,
my pain is on the right...hate the pain..

let's all hang in there.... we can see our babies soon!

Went for my gynae's talk this afternoon. He say if there is more white discharge, it means the baby is about to engage.

I went to checkup today. Now it is wk36 and she is 3.1kg. Doc is expecting her to be 3.4 or 3.5kg when born.

Hi Mummies delivering at Gleneagles,
Just did my pre-admission today and got these info to share :

For those who are delivering at GHL, if you're taking the hospital package, you don't have to bring diapers, baby wipes and maternity loops as they are included in the package. However, you may want to bring some of your own adhensive maternity pads in case you're not comfy with the loops.

Pricing and deposit:
The deposit payable for citibank holders is $1788. Max claimable from medisave is $1500 ($1050 hospital+doctors fees and $450 antenatal, need antenatal receipts). If your bb is admitted by the paedetrician, then you can claim another maximum of $600. Do ask your doctor to include their bill in the hospital bill so that you can claim the maximum of $1050.

Admission times:
The hospital starts their clock at 12 midnight. Patients warded to the hospital before 12am will be charged one full day extra. (ie, try to admit yourself after 12am)

Food:
The hospital serves 5 meals a day (3 main + 2 snacks). Patients will be given a menu of chinese, western, muslim and confinement (for mummies) to choose from.

Parking:
You can buy 2 one-time exit passes for $5 if you park your car for more than 3 hours (which will cost more than $5) at the hospital. This is not season parking. It can only be used ONCE when exiting the carpark.

Lodger:
Husbands or anyone can stay overnight with you in 1-bedded rooms for $75 a night, incl 5 meals. Even if your lodger does not take the meals, $75 will still be charged.

Refund of excess charges
Excess charges will not be credited back into your card. The hospital will send you a refund cheque 1-2weeks later.

Lastly, the 1-bedded rooms are very small compared to TMC, KKH and MAH. The 2-bedded rooms are miserable. Comparable in size is their deluxe room but no packages are available for deluxe rooms. Typical charges for deluxe rooms for 3 days 2 nights will be about $4k to $5k. However, husbands get to stay overnight for free at deluxe rooms.

For 1-bedder and deluxe rooms, your baby can stay with you in the room 24hrs. For 2-bedder rooms, visiting hours are stricly 9am-9pm and babies will be taken back to the nursery.

Breastfeeding:
If you decide to bf your bb full time, and your bb is in the nursery, the nurse will push the bb to you every 3 hours for feeding, even in the middle of the night. If you don't want to be disturbed, you can either try to express milk (pumps can be loaned from hospital or BYO) or ask them to formula feed bb at night.

Anything else you want to know?

Wendy,
How come must do pre-admission?

Anyone knows TMC need pre-admission? What is the cost like for 4-bedded Normal Birth and Normal Birth with Epidural?

Morning SY,
No i did not measure CTG every visit. This is required (at least according to my gynae) is becos i m near to my edd. I m also already on my 38 wks so he wans to make sure everything is fine. And i think it is also partly becos as i mentioned, placenta maturing and since bb is still pretty small, he wans to make sure bb can still stay inside mummy. Apparently after the CTG scan, he said bb is still happy inside me so can wait for another week.. i m praying bb Javier will come out after 27 Dec..

Sy,
yah btw, this 38 weeks CTG scan is my first CTG scan and i have nvr done it before. quite interesting to hear bb hearbeat for almost half and hr..

Hi May,

Pre-admission is so that when you are in labour you can get admitted faster. Usually your doctor will fill up the form & pass it to you so that u can give it to the admissions people. My form has my medical details and which pediatrician and anaesthetist I want for my epidural on it. I think most doctors will do it around 36 weeks or later. I just got mine last tuesday from TMC. I'm not so sure about the charges but you can check this link... I'm going for my next check on 23dec so i'll ask more then. If you join the First born incentive (FBI) at TMC and your doctor is part of the package I think you get more discount.

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/F_C_maternity.htm

hihi morning mummies,
saw my gynae yesterday night. at 37 weeks. baby not engaged yet but rather low. now more than 3kg, baby head diameter is 9.4 cm, same as last week. phew! was quite worried that her head will cont to grow. my weight gain is 0.4 kg from last week. wow! total weight gain is about 13.4kg.

Gynae said that 3 things to watch
1) weight should not reduce too much
2) baby movement must be similar from day to day
3) must have enough aminotic fluid.
He measured the 4 pockets of dark patches to see if the fluid is enough. if any item above is abnormal, have to induce.

He will check on my cervix to see if it's softer during my next visit.
didn't do CTG scan but heard baby heart beat thru the doppler, so fast. hee, very pleasing to hear.

Good morning all!

edd2Jan,
Your situation is similar to mine & Queen's. 2 visits ago my weight was also stagnant & BB increase very little, so gynae says we'll assume BB growing and mummy losing. However will need to monitor CTG in next apt if no good can immediately induce. Last week's visit shows BB has increased weight but CTG shows BB less active... So again gynae says ok to wait another week n monitor CTG again following apt. If BB still not so active will induce BB out liao. So for me this FRI is like THE DAY... counting down la... have been having sleepless/disrupted sleep every night since coz BB's every single movement will set me thinking is it contraction already and if No-Movement I'll start to worry... And many a times bladder very full but in my mind I thot the water bag going to burst... really getting paranoid hahaha.... Queen should be resting n probably going home soon. Can't wait to hear from her. = )

Congrats prettycloud!

Hi Sysac,
happy that Cephas is gaining weight...

Klisa,
thanks for your tips on breast feeding, after hearing your experiences, I've decided to pamper myself and get a good breastpump. Glad to hear that Rae can go home tomorrow... take care!

SSF,
I also read that crossing legs will prevent bb from engaging... think can do the pelvic tilt if you wanna strengthen your muscles... go on all fours, and arch your back like a cat, in the form of a C... with your head down...

SY,
sama sama... pain on lower tummy, left side, right lower back have backpain.. and legs numb and fingers numb after sleeping...

Krissie,
yap, crossed 36 weeks last sunday... this sunday will be 37... on one hand, want bb to come out soon, on the other, want her to take her time... I am one blur mummy...

SY,
CTG is to monitor the BB heartbeat. Its strapped to your tummy for about 20-30mins n immediately u get to hear BB's heartbeat very loud, which sounds like horse gallaping btw so quite interesting
... the heartbeats (BB & mummy) are then charted out automatically by the machine and looks like this: "WwwWVVVvWWwwvVVvvvVvv"... I'm not sure if everyone needs to do it though...

Hi Clare,

If i am not wrong, CTG is also to monitor contractions.

It i quite common to do CTG from 37 weeks onwards.

wendy,
Do you know if bb is induce , what is the addtional charges?

SY,
I did my CTG every week since 30 weeks and have to pay every time...

Clare and Yuki,
Both of u are right.. it is also to monitor contractions and is usually done on wk 37 onwards.. on the chart, it shows i have quite a few 1 min contractions but frnakly i din feel a thing at all and gynae just joking said 'maybe ur pain threshold is high and dun need epi at all' i just replied.. hope so..

Good morning mummies,
Sleeping deer
According to an article I read, crossing your legs don't prevent bb from engaging. It discourages your bb from engaging in the right position, ie, anterior position because your pelvic bone tilts backwards when u cross your leg and bb will drop into a posterior position. So, in your final trimester, sit with legs below pelvis and don't lean backwards so that the heaviest part of bb (body) does not tilt backwards (posterior) but forwards (anterior) instead. Cephallic Anterior (head down, buttocks front, head facing your back) position is the best position for birth. If your bb is in a posterior position, you'll get backaches often and labour will be much longer. BB will almost always require forceps or vacuum for delivery.

Rena,
I didn't ask about induction. I think the additional charges for induction is either included or insignificant as you only have to pay for the oxytoxin under surgical supplies.

edd2jan,
wow, your big day really coming soon.

i did CTG once when bb was inactive for 2 days. so wondering whether doc will ask me to do CTG when nearer to EDD.

yah, CTG at KKH not so ex.

Rena,
yours is Gleneagles right? $37 is a lot! esp when u have to do so many times... ur gynae coming back soon right? when u next seeing him?

Clare,
so your BIG day also coming soon!! $40 is definitely the highest i hear....

sleepingdeer,
i keep having this pain on the upper right abdomen. initially i tot it's gastric but it's like everyday. then last night start to have another pain on left side...sian, pain never seems to end. one hasn't ended and a new one will pop up somewhere else.

this morn almost got into accident with another car. hb was really pissed with the driver and kept asking whether bb got scared. think bb braver than mummy cos he was movin ard after that.

Went back for checkup yday. Checked my amnoitic fluid level - good. BB not engaged yet. Head is down above my cervix and facing my right side, buttocks up but slightly out only, so still need more encouragement for her to push her backside outwards. Heartbeat is strong and very active. Next week he'll do internal examination of pelvic bone for me to determine if I can do natural birth as well as swap test to see if I got the B bacteria.

I asked abt BH contractions, gynae said shouldn't feel too much of it if bb is in good position. Its
nature "training" your uterus to it for labour. If you feel too much BH contractions, its not a good sign. The period cramps u feel at the lower abdomen is the muscles stretching. Nothing to be alarmed of.

I forgot to ask how heavy is bb now though.. sigh.. gotta wait till next week.

Wendy, thanks for sharing on the info on Gleneagles and about the positions.
my baby is in the anterior position, that's why can't see her face. everytime gynae do the scan. so far collected a lot of the scan pics of her crown only.

my gynae commented that most babies in the posterior position end up to be delivered by c-section.

Hello.

I have also done my pre-admission at Gleneagles. But the person told me that she will do the bill seperation for me so that i can claim more from medisave. Don't know true or not... *fainting*

SY, I will be seeing Gyane today as the nurse tried to squeeze me in..
Dun play a fool please go for a scan.. bb moving inside due to shock..

Rachel,
I asked yesterday. There's no such thing as claiming more. You can only claim a maximum of $1050 from your hospital charges incurred. If you're afraid your hospital charges insufficient to meet $1050 to claim the maximum, ask your gynae, paeditrician and anaesthetist to lump all their charges to the hospital bill so that you can claim the maximum of $1050. The $450 is for ante-natal only. You need to produce receipts of up to $500 to claim fully. The other $600 is only claimable if you bb is admitted (ie, ICU, etc) after your discharge.

Mongs,
Posterior position not necessarily c-sect. Only breech babies. My sister's 2nd bb was cephallic posterior (head down, head facing your tummy) but she delivered vaginally without epidural or anaesthesia. Her labour was 3 hours longer than her first daughter who was cephallic anterior. Her bb had 2 "strips" on her head where hair growth is reduced due to the friction she had to go thru at the birth canal.

SY

is your pain around the rib areas in the upper abdomen or in the center? My baby kicks me a lot near the ribs on the right & left side so I get sore there alot. if it is in the center it can still be the baby kicking or gastric.

Hope u didn't get too much of a scare!

re: baby position..
sigh.. my baby like to lie with her back facing my back... I hope I don't have to end up with cesarian!! Maybe that's why I get such bad BH contractions!!!

rena,
is it? we nearly got but din get. it wasn't like we bumped together or what. just shocked...anyway i going to see my gynae later so he will be doing scan for me as well.

what time is your appt? update us after that! haven't seen u online for some time.

i will be doing separate bills for mummy and bb also. i think the total amt that can be claimed from medisave shd be the same but i separate the bill so i can use different medisave.

tabbiesus,
i m also wondering whether it is bb kicking. it is on the right. but sometimes when i get heartburn or gastric, the pain is also there.

Re: baby position
i'm not sure what position is my baby except that her head was down some weeks back. Must check with my gynae later! can see baby again

wendy,
but i prefer to lie with my back tilted backwards coz my tummy is big n quite low. If i bend my back straight or fwd the tummy feels squashed in between my thighs...know what i mean? wonder if any of u feel the same way when u sit up straight? - that your tummy is like all squashed down there coz the thighs blocking the way?

SY,
wow ask ur hb to be on the watch-out for reckless drivers now! Good thing nothing happened n baby's fine

Re: Pelvic tilt exercise
will it help us in easier delivery? i've tried it but don't feel any stretch or strain leh...and my hb says i'm doing it the correct way. So i wonder which part of muscle does it strengthen...

RE: nipple discharge
i also have whitish discharge on my nipples since long long ago! (like beginning of 2nd tri) It's like blackheads that can be peeled off - think someone mentioned that it's like blackheads but can't remember who. Really wonder if that's colostrum coz it sure isn't liquid or milky, more of solid.

Durian,
Sitting or lying backwards is one of the reasons why bb is in posterior position because while you're lying backwards, your bb's heaviest part settles backwards with you, hence, the posterior position. That's why they encourage mummies in their late pregnancy to walk around or crawl on all fours as exercise to "encourage" bb to engage in a anterior position.

SY,
If the pain persists, call up your gynae and ask. Never hurts to ask and play it safe right?

Wendy
the pain on the right is like gastric. i have quite bad gastric so dunno whether it is just gastric. but when i take medicine it doesn't go away. so later will ask him.

as for the left side, it is just on and off since yesterday. also dunno what is it this time.

ha..think later my gynae will be bombed by my many questions again...

anterior position less painful right when u give birth? my colleague's bb in posterior when she gave birth and she said it was really painful.

Durianlover,

I too have the solid discharge.. I have it since my second trimester.. but you have to keep nipples clean as they are for breast feeding.. what I did was , daily at bath I will take a cotton wool or face towel to wash them with soap to get rid of the solidfy milk.. remember to rinse well..

SY,

Shock from mummy may harm bb too..

I will be seeing the gynae at 4pm today..

Rena,
If u can, sign up for the hospital maternity ward tour for tomorrow if you still have questions regarding the charges. Also, remem to ask the counter staff for the baby bonus info when u do pre-admissions.

SY,
the other time i tried to ask my gynae what position my bb is in but he tried to avoid ans me leh.. not sure if he dun wan to stress me or what but he said the position might change.. so not to worry too much.. somehow my gyane always try to make me less stress by saying i m doing v fine. Dun have to worry too much etc etc.. sometimes it makes me wonder if everything is really ok.. but i still trust him cos at least he really make me feel better..

Edd2Jan,
If your gynae say bb is fine, trust him la. He's delivering your bb ma.. if he feels its good, its good.

durianlover
know wat you mean abt 'tummy feels squashed in between thighs'. its like the whole tummy is supported n come in contact w our thighs. will feel the heat n discomfort after awhile especially if wearing a dress coz its skin to skin contact. but no choice, coz me been hving back ache n one way to reduce the pain is to sit forward n lean towards my working table.

rena
you using soap to wash your nipple area? will it be too strong to dry up the skin ard our nipple. i normally only run water n wash gently.

Rena,
Use soap free body wash if you're afraid its too dry. Johnson's baby milk bath, baby moisture bath or DOVE is quite good. If you're really worried, use Cetaphil.

rena,
pity we not seeing at same hosp. my appt at 4.20. so now rushing all the work as i m clearing leave tmr onwards till end of the year!

edd2jan,
my gynae is like yours. always say no need to worry. if i worry too much, he will 'suan' me and try to lighten things. so over time i also not so gan cheong. being first time mummy will always be gan cheong...

rachel,
try to change position often. shd be able to help relieve some ache. there was one day when i sat too long and hwen i stood up, it's really painful.

SY
wow, so good can really rest @ home till give birth. me cant coz boss hv not find a stand-in for my position. i dun think he will let me go one...

actually quite unwilling to move ard, coz hv to carry ard my heavy tummy. but keep changing position in my seat. still the pain jus wont let me off. yah me too after sitting for too long, n getting up hv to use all my strenght n moving like old woman. hv to walk vy slowly....

durianlover

it was me who mentioned the black heads thingy... think must wipe them more often now to prevent blackheads!!! but then also scare touching them will induce labour...

Robinsons sale : 15% storewide from now til 24 Dec... so any last minute left out items, mummies... time to grab... wonder if its the last sale we b going to before bb pops... haha

SY,
YOu need to exercise more.. it'll strengthen your muscles and give u less pain. Swim breaststroke and walk abt 20min everyday or climb some stairs. Go shopping! Good form of exercise.

rachel,
not resting yet.
will be back in Jan to work. just clearing leave cos can't bring forward. anyway no time to rest cos i haven't packed/washed bb's stuff yet...
me too lazy. been waiting for my leave to come.

i get too lazy at times also but i realise it hurt really when u dun move for too long.

Wendy,
no more shopping cos want to start saving up.
have been going for a walk every sat when hb goes jogging. but find walking too hot. so prefer swimming. but every time i want to swim, it will somehow rain...
so hope during my leave next week i can swim at least twice.

SY,
You have to walk or climb stairs daily, not just once a week. Take a walk outside after dinner with your hb so its not so hot. I suggested shopping cuz now is christmas season ma. You don't have to buy anything. Its the walking in shopping centre. Got aircon, not hot and got things to see.

my colleague was telling me that if I am impatient for baby to come naturally and wants to naturally induce birth, a good way is to climb stairs and walk.

Wendy and Rena,
did you hear anything from the girl doing the pre-admission that if there were to be any complications and more procedures are required, the packages don't hold any more? that is what I heard from the girl doing my pre-admission.