Bad news... I'm still in Sg. Went to collect Baby Rae's passport, brought him to see doctor for checkup and after blood test, he got quite bad jaundice. He is now in TMC doing phototherapy. I was almost in tears when I got to be separated wif him for two days. Sob!
Also, my breastfeeding problem got worst. My nipples are sore and my breast feel like stone. I had really bad engorgement and almost had infection due to the engorgement. Today, at the lactation centre at TMC, was trying to purge out my milk all stuck in my breasts. It was really painful. I was shouting when the lactation consultant pressed, poked and did all horrible things on to my huge, sore breasts to help me expel the milk. I was in tears. I was so tired after the whole process. So, my advice to you ladies out there is to quickly 1) express milk out even if u have no milk and gently try to stimulate your breasts by getting your bb to latch on properly, don't wait, 2) invest in a good pump. I just bought a medela electric pump which costed me $699 today. I was using Avent ISIS manual (not suitable, only can use after two weeks of normal milk flow) and also used Pigeon electric pump which is also no use. Bad design and can only express little milk. The medela pump is really good.
Anyway, to answer some of the questions:
Re: epidural,
Yes, its abit painful when the needle was poked into your spine but compared to contractions, I think mummies would rather take that pain instead. But the pain is only during insertion, after that, you won't feel a single thing. So, don't worry.
Re: epidural administration
Not sure about the miscommunication between my gynae and nurses. Yes, I delivered at TMC. However, the service there are generally good lah... maybe I suay only. But good also wat, I dun need to feel pain of giving birth.
SY - episotomy really not pain lah. And to be frank, the wound of episotomy is not bad if you got a good gynae who noes how to stitch well. I dun feel pain at all, just discomfort loh. I was walking arnd like nobody's business the next day liao. However, I do have frens who told me, they were in pain for the first 5 days, so it all depends on the skill of your gynae.
durianlover,
I din attend any antenatal classes but I do diving, so, I used my diving breathing technique when the contraction comes. Yeah, you need to catch your breath well when you push and use all the energy you have.
Also, a word of advice, mummies, enjoy while you can. Its really tiring if you wanna do breastfeeding and taking care of the baby. I had sleepless nites, dunnoe why cannot sleep well. Maybe excited abt my dear baby Rae.
Anyway, tomorrow morning I will be going to visit my Rae. Hope he's doing well. Sorry for being so long winded. My heart aching to be part from him.
Gotta go express milk now (must do every 3 hours), feeling the engorgement liao....
Pain....