(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi SY, SSF
me too. everytime when stand up, will feel a bit of pain, no sure if it's because of bb's weight.

lots of aunties told me that b4 they delivered, they tend to go toilet for big business very often.

god's child,
well perhaps baby Celeste has more 'sound' in her movements that's why can hear! hee
my baby moves a lot too but so far can't hear anything...

SY / Wendy,
i was also able to move my bowels very frequently before this. In fact during this whole pregnancy constipation only hit me at certain times n it doesn't last. But this time round dunno why keep having constipation...that day i sat on toilet bowl for 1 whole hour to pass motion!! Sit till backside pain...and got pins n needles..haha.

SY,
actually i think it's good to walk around a bit, though not too much till u over-strain! heard that it'll help in having an easier and shorter labour if we're more active during pregnancy

sunny
i also read that bowel movements will become more frequent as labor is nearer. i really find myself going much more often....

think sit too long already that's why when stand up will get pain.

durianlover,
so far, i quite fortunate. except for the fact that i dun move my bowels everyday, each time i go, i only need about 5 min. but recently more often already...

i also heard that walking helps in delivery but really cannot overdo as well...

Almost all of my colleagues gave birth early because they stand and walk too much, causing their cervix to open up prematurely. I'm luckier in a sense because I get to rest during the most crucial times so I don't really have the problem. One of my colleague even gave birth at 32 weeks cuz her water bag broke early due to long hours of standing and climbing of stairs.

Similarly, my sister who is a kindergarten teacher gave birth at 36 weeks to both her daughters because her cervix already opened 2cm by then.

Do take care of yourselves and not over stress yourselves. I'm also trying not to stress myself too much.

SY,
Your EDD 27th Jan so still abit early to pop. Got to take care ok?

ssf,
yeap, whenever you stand up and walk and you feel the pain - thats pelvis pain! If you touch your pubic area, you will feel very sore too!

durianlover,
I am on bedrest as gynae dun want me to give birth so early. Because when i visited gynae at 32nd week, she was alarmed that the bb head was already very low! I had to walk like a crab then :p Now, I have rested for 2 weeks, the pelvis pain has subsided alot and gynae was glad that bb head (though already engaged) is not that low now.

Wendy,
yah, i got a colleague at 31 weeks cervix is already open. dunno whether is it due to her active first born.

will take care definitely! dun wan to pop so early.

but seem to be getting nervous. hb also getting nervous. he always ask me whether i feel scared and i will say yes. think suddenly feel that with bb's birth so near, a lot of things feel uncertain.

casey,
sometimes i can feel bb pressing on the pubic region and really feel like peeing. but so far gynae never say bb is low....

sysac,
next week taking one whole week's leave
and maid will be in. so think will finally be able to get more rest.

when is a good time to let bb sleep in their own room if i let him sleep with me initially?

sysac,
Same here, my maid is coming in tomorrow and since I am on medical leave till the end of the year, I can guide the maid to do some spring cleaning b4 she helps me out with the bb chores!

Bad news... I'm still in Sg. Went to collect Baby Rae's passport, brought him to see doctor for checkup and after blood test, he got quite bad jaundice. He is now in TMC doing phototherapy. I was almost in tears when I got to be separated wif him for two days. Sob!

Also, my breastfeeding problem got worst. My nipples are sore and my breast feel like stone. I had really bad engorgement and almost had infection due to the engorgement. Today, at the lactation centre at TMC, was trying to purge out my milk all stuck in my breasts. It was really painful. I was shouting when the lactation consultant pressed, poked and did all horrible things on to my huge, sore breasts to help me expel the milk. I was in tears. I was so tired after the whole process. So, my advice to you ladies out there is to quickly 1) express milk out even if u have no milk and gently try to stimulate your breasts by getting your bb to latch on properly, don't wait, 2) invest in a good pump. I just bought a medela electric pump which costed me $699 today. I was using Avent ISIS manual (not suitable, only can use after two weeks of normal milk flow) and also used Pigeon electric pump which is also no use. Bad design and can only express little milk. The medela pump is really good.

Anyway, to answer some of the questions:
Re: epidural,
Yes, its abit painful when the needle was poked into your spine but compared to contractions, I think mummies would rather take that pain instead. But the pain is only during insertion, after that, you won't feel a single thing. So, don't worry.

Re: epidural administration
Not sure about the miscommunication between my gynae and nurses. Yes, I delivered at TMC. However, the service there are generally good lah... maybe I suay only. But good also wat, I dun need to feel pain of giving birth.

SY - episotomy really not pain lah. And to be frank, the wound of episotomy is not bad if you got a good gynae who noes how to stitch well. I dun feel pain at all, just discomfort loh. I was walking arnd like nobody's business the next day liao. However, I do have frens who told me, they were in pain for the first 5 days, so it all depends on the skill of your gynae.

durianlover,
I din attend any antenatal classes but I do diving, so, I used my diving breathing technique when the contraction comes. Yeah, you need to catch your breath well when you push and use all the energy you have.

Also, a word of advice, mummies, enjoy while you can. Its really tiring if you wanna do breastfeeding and taking care of the baby. I had sleepless nites, dunnoe why cannot sleep well. Maybe excited abt my dear baby Rae.

Anyway, tomorrow morning I will be going to visit my Rae. Hope he's doing well. Sorry for being so long winded. My heart aching to be part from him.

Gotta go express milk now (must do every 3 hours), feeling the engorgement liao....
Pain....

SY,
Its common to feel bb pressing against pubic region. Many of us feel that all the time and it really makes u wonder if you were really high tide or its just bb.

It'll not be safe to let bb sleep in own room for quite some time as they are incapable of taking care of themselves for quite some time. Unless you want your maid to sleep with bb, be prepared for no privacy for at least 1 year.
Its good your maids are all coming in. I brought my maid in since september so that I can slowly access her and train her up before I get too clumsy.

Luckily, my maid has been quite problem free so far, except at certain times, the homornes in you can really make u very frustrated esp when they repeat the same mistake dispite repeating the same instructions to them many times already.

Hi Klisa,
My heart ache also when I hear your story. Hope bb Rae is better now.

I also bought a Medela Single Electric Pump. Later, my sister who just gave birth in July told me to get the double pump from Medela instead because you'll be so painful and tired, you'll have no time to pump one breast by one breast. So I sold my brand new single pump cheap and got the twin pump (the $297 one) from my sister who has stopped bf recently. She said don't bother with manual pumps unless u need to express outside or at office.

Next piece of advice I got from my sister and breastfeeding colleagues was, always pump regularly, no matter how tired you are else the ducts will get blocked, you'll get engorgement and may even get infection and fever. That's when the twin pump comes in useful.

I have also been advised by bf mummies and my gynae to apply nipple cream even if your nipples are not sore for at least the first few weeks. In fact, my gynae had already told me to start applying and LIGHTLY massage the nipple area with nipple cream now to prepare and unblock the nipples for breastfeeding. My gynae also warned me not to overstimulate the nipples as doing so will cause the uterus to shrink.

Hope you'll find these info useful.

ps: I'm having the tight tight tummy feeling and painful menses-like cramps again now... going to bed to lie down and sleep liao. Good Night..

Hi wendy,
Just would like to give some info regarding my postnatal massage you've ask.
My package are 5day = $300 , 7days= $400 and 10days= $570. The session will take abt 1hrs.30min all the package inclusive of oil,application of herbs and a new binder which I've implement for your convenient after all the session you be able to tie it yourself and I always advice my clients to use it for at least 3wks - 1mth. There is no others charges besides all these. You could also ask some of the mum in the forum who've have got my service. Do feel free to call me if you want to know other information or question. Usually I do not place any advertisement but since few mum frm the forum has got my service got me in the forum. Mostly all my clients are frm word of mouth and 95% are all the chinese.

hi klisa,
so sorry to hear that Rae has to stay in hospital. i think if my baby has to stay in hospital i wld also surely cry! hope he gets better soon to be in the PINK of health!

breastfeeding sounds tough...and painful! thanks for sharing with us

Queen
All the best for your delivery. you must hv delivered by now.. hmm.. now i know how the water bag bursting will feel like.
take care & update us after you've settled down.

Sysac
hee hee.. ya, u popped so early. I can sense that my turn seems to be coming soon too.. my hands and legs have also recently swelled. I think this is the second week. Am still waiting for my gynae to come back this fri, so now, keep praying and telling bb to wait for gynae too. Hope he'll listen.

Pochacco
hope your dad will recover soon.

Good morning mummies,
Will be going to the gynae later for my checkup and also the GHL maternity tour. Cant go back to sleep after waking up my hubby for work so I thought might as well come in and see if anyone else is up already Think I'll go bake an Oreo cheesecake for tonight's dessert before going to GHL

hi mummies..today working from home. yesterday was in such a pain that i could hardly walk. so went to bed early. today is much better but still painful. have to move very slowly. klisa, sorry to hear abt your pain..don;t worry abt Rae..he be fine in the hospital's care. hang on there for the breast engorement ... think of Rae and you will find it all worthwhile when he grows up healthy in future. try to get your hubby's support so that you will better. take care!

wah wendy oreo cheesecake! yum yum. how i wish i dun have pelvis pain so that i can do some coooking today. but guess i have to confine myself to bed today..

krissie - wat are you doing at the wee hours replying to this forum? cannot get to sleep? :p

hi klisa
thanks for sharing your experience. bf really needs lots of determination..... i hope i can make it for 6 mths.

I saw a few of u are waiting for gynae..all of ur gynae are not in s'pore? Mine too..he will be back today from holiday. I am on leave today to go TMC for a talk conducted by him. He say it is for 1st time mummies. I share list down some summary when I am back later at night.
After the talk I am going to see my baby again..another checkup..can't wait to see her soon.

RE: Waterbag sound when baby moves
I heard a few times from my baby too. Sounds amazing right? Still remember the first time I saw the scan of her when she is only 5weeks. Only 2.4cm!! And soon everyone will be seeing her soon.

Nowadays got problem at sleep and walking too.. the pelvic is painful and makes me so lazy to walk. Has been wheeling myself around office.

Ok..just had roti prata for breakfast today. HB bought one.. now going back to have a short nap before going to hospital. Be back later... :)

Klisa, sorry to hear about Rae, dun worry, he will be fine, as the hospital's equipment is much more effective than us sunning them. Your breast Engorgement sounds scary, now I am unsure whether I should just bite the bullet and buy the Medela PIS, rather than buy the manual one first...

SSF,
hope you are feeling better after the rest...

RE: bb pressing against pubic region
I do feel need to pee with bb engaged, but at night, also feel urge to poo.. any mummies feel the same? Can't be really need to poo, coz nowadays I go twice a day... bowel movement getting smoother also

sleepingdeer,

I got the same problem too. Nowadays cannot hold pee for too long. Poo-ing become more frequent already. Used to have difficulties maybe due to the vitamin pills. Now everyday will at least poo once a day or even twice. Bowel not that soft anymore.

Breast pumps
Heard of a brand called AMEDA (US brand) from my boss's wife....she's (she's a pd @ NUH) oso just delivered BB and using this pump. She said quite good but not sold in Singapore. Only available via agent, there's no distributor for this brand too....price wise quite reasonable around $370 (dual elec pump) & comes with backpack & the usual stuff. I may get this as it's cheaper than mendala.

Klisa,
Dun worry, BB Rae will be fine, he's in good hands so dun worry too much. BTW, ur engorgement sounded quite bad leh....am quite scare abt breast engorgement now...heard that cold cabbage leaves are good as a pain relieve for engorgement. Get those big leaves one and chilled them in the freezer. When u apply to your breasts, cover the breasts and only exposing the nipples.

BB pressing against pubic region
I too hv this pain sometimes. Seems BB is low now and hv to walk with legs open quite ugly lor like crab =)

Wendy,
Whoa, u can bake! so impressive leh.....i dunno how to bake only can cook simple dishes....share your tips on baking with us okie...

klisa,
so sad to hear that Rae needs to be in hospital. can really feel your sadness to be separated from him. do update us on this progress.

thanks for the sharing on bf. my fren uses the avent manual pump and she told me it's ok for her so i got that. but i have other frens who tell me better to get electric immediately. think if the need really arises, will tell hb to go and get it for me during my confinement.

hope your engorgement is better too...

Wendy,
i feel like peeing all the time becos of bb. so sian. can never get rid of the feeling!

i dun think i wan the maid to sleep in the same room as bb cos she will be taking care of bb in the day and i dun wan her to be falling asleep during the day. got to see how tings go...

sleepingdeer,
i get the urge to poo quite often also. when i lie down, i can feel the urge and i also go more often now...

May,
roti prata....yum yum...

I went out on saturday for last minute shopping and it took me 2 days to recover... :D

Klisa,
Take care.. I hope your baby Rae's jaundice gets better. Try not to stress too much about the breast feeding and engorgment cos they say stress makes it worse. Hope that it gets better with time too. Jia you, hor, your birth story sound really brave...

Re: breast pumps
I bought the avent manual breast pump to try, but its no good ah? I was thinking of getting the PIS too. Another brand my friends recommended was Ameda, but I think the parts for that one is also expensive. BTw, i think kids mall has an offer for PIS.

Wendy,
Can i have your oreo cheesecake recipe? Dunno why the past few days I've been craving for ice-cream, cheesecake and brownies... oh no so hungry liao...

Sleepingdeer,

I also feel like going to poo more often. thought it got something to do with the food that I take. but sometimes I feel some cramp feeling first before feeling to poo. it's quite similar to the feeling of going to poo during menstruation.

RE: BreastPump
I just bought Tollyjoy manual breastpump leh.. wanted to save abit since I intend to bf only for a month. 2nd mth will slowly cutdown before I start work. My work doesn't allow me to go to pump out bm too often. How frequent should the pump be and it is best to bf for how long? One mth is too short? Not sure if I should get an electric one. Any suggestion?

Yvonne,

My friend who has 3 kids is using the ameda lactaline model. She says its as good as the PIS. She just told me that you can get it from moms in mind, she told me she rented it for a trial first. Maybe u can go to the website below to see? The pump costs $310 but i read in some threads on this site that you have to change the valves v. often and the valves are expensive. However, my friend has no problems leh...

http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/lactalinepump.html

god's child

haahah, I thot i was imagining things when i heard pop in my tummy. At first I thot my waterbag broke! I think sometimes when my boy makes certain movements, it creates that sound. And he likes to scratch me near my thighs. So uncomfy.

Feel like peeing all the time.

Gals who's bb have engaged,

How does it feel like? Can feel stronger pressure on the pelvis? Been feeling like my boy wanting to squeeze in, but kenna shooed off by me. Hehehe, coz really felt uncomfy like going to pee that instant.

tabbiesus,
i guess it depends on individuals. for my fren avent manual works well for her. but for some other frens, it doesn't work for them. so i guess try it out and if it doesn't work, get another one.

i also keep craving for ice cream and chocolates. is this a pre delivery thing???

Have not dropped by for a few days and wow! so many things happening!

Congratulations to Klisa! Rae is cute.
Hang in there. You can do it!

Sysac - your message is always so comforting. Makes everything sound so easy

REgarding bathing babies, as we are not allowed to bath etc - not to come in contact with water, the job of bathing baby will be the CL's job..... But then again, don't be too reliant on them. Can observe how they do it and try it ourselves after two or three weeks.

Hi SY,

Yes, i did eat before i went hospital. I am the tum chia one. Was worried the nurses won't allow me to eat once i am admitted so ate at home. By evening time, i was already asking hubby to buy dinner. The nurse advise me to have a light one ie porridge so that i will not puke after that.....Hee Hee. I even ate papaya and true enough, after delivery, i puked and see traces of papaya.... (sorry if it sounds gross) ;p

Sy,

I guess you are right abt the breast pumps..no point worrying now... :D

mashy brainz,
my baby girl likes to poke me in the cervix area sometimes... its also v. uncomfortable. Everytime I get up, i also feel a pressure down there... like its my baby's head or something... even if I just shift position for left to right in bed, I get the urge to pee..

Hi May/SY/Mongs,
yep, heard that as we approach the delivery, our body will know it, and will automatically start clearing bowels more frequently... I told my hubby, and he say he got very strong feeling baby will come next week... for me, I am guessing first week Jan.. anyone else have strong feeling bb coming?

Tabbiesus,
United square (can't remember the shop name) have 20% disc for Medela products, but not for PIS advanced

For the ameda dual lactaline, I got this off one of the threads, not sure whether info still accurate...

you can contact the distributor (Euramedic) at tel: at 68447717. They sell the new pump at $280. Free delivery with 1-day advance order

Yuki

Cannot touch water? So u not bathing? I don't have CL anyway, so I think I'll start bathing my baby when I cannot get help for it. Bo bian....

Sleepingdeer,

Thanks for the contact...

I was very irritated early this week and had a strong urge to go through my baby stuff, I keep thinking my baby will be born next week... dunno why... Maybe just too excited and want to celebrate Christmas with her.. want to show her our Christmas tree and all the presents... :D

yuki,
how come wil puke after delivery? i also cannot stand hunger leh...ever since pregnant esp..

tabbiesus,
yup, dun worry too much. i think most impt is to know what are our options if what we have dun work out. seems like PIS is a recommeded choice.

mashy,
mine is just a very strong pressure on the pubic region. u shift yourself and u feel like peeing.

sleepingdeer,
i keep having feeling baby may want to come earlier. already started clearing bowels more frequently since abt 2-3 weeks ago. and recently discharge has increased. and i read another sign is shivering/trembling. have been feeling cold at times for no reason. i hope not so soon cos i m not ready. i keep having dreams that bb is coming and sometimes feel quite stressed out during my sleep.

Tabbiesus

I read that MTB nearing labour will have sudden nesting instinct leh. So maybe your bb is really coming soon.

I also have feeling that my bb will come out in mid Jan like that. Still gotta finish up some washing...

tabbiesus,

I have carving for ice creams, cakes, chocolates.. especiall sweet stuff.. too .. It is quite adnormal for me as I do not like sweet stuff and these are my hubby favourites and not mine...

rena - if you can eat..then eat a little then. for me cravings are no longer there but i thnk i have a little prenatal blues..will cry whenever i am not happy. anyone also felt the same too? these days i am not very happy leh..dun noe why. sigh!

Rena

I know... I haven't been craving sweet stuff during this pregnancy, but these few days... I've been wanting to have an icecream milk shake everyday!! Dunno whether storing energy for delivery :p

rena, tabbiesus,
ice cream is one strong craving that i have for the past 2 weeks. dunno why....

SSF,
i also feel very moody now. this morning woke up and felt so much like crying. i told hb i feel miserable.....

SSF,

Don't worry, it must be the hormones... i was watching the disney cartoon mulan last week and was sobbing away like a baby... ???

I guess now, at the last stage of pregnancy we are all going through all sorts of fears and emotional worries....

I was so irritated last week, worrying about delivery/ labour and worrying if got breastmilk, and worrying if my baby will be okie, and if I can take care of my baby.. until this week I decided not to think about anything and leave it to God... I guess its is natural for us to feel a bit sad and anxious now...

hello mummies

i oso feel pain on my pelvis area. And i have problem getting down from bed.

SFF - me too, very emotional oso. (a little unhappiness n i feel like crying liao) i think its our hormone.

Klisa - Thanks for the info n advise. Yo! Seems that BF not easy. Dont worry abt your bb Rae, he'll be fine.

Hi MAshy brainz,

The advise given by old people is not to touch water. That's why even bath have to use herbal bath. That's why not advisable to bath baby cos we are not allowed to touch tap water even it may be warm.......

Hi SY,

I think puking is one of the after effect of epidural. Some got it, some don't. Both me and my sister kena.......

Sleepingdeer/tabbiesus
I hv the same contact for the Ameda pump too! Yah, think it's still individual choice. A few of my frens oso said that manual pump is really tedious, but some in the forum is ok with manual pumps....

yeah was sobbing in the morning coz of the pelvis pain. so painful i had problem walking. althoough i thot it was better than yest..it seems still painful.not sure how to deliver if the pain still persists. my colleague says it because pelvis is expanding. but the pain is really excruciating...