(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sysac,
your lost the tummy already? heard that is hard to lose!! wow, very envious...

i heard many pple say must sit down when drinking. think if we dun sit down, it is not good for our body or something like that right?

how come u decided to throw party after that jaundice episode? yah i also dun like the usual vouchers but thikn my boring hb wants to do that...

Hi again,

Cephas is really sound asleep so I can still chat
My colleagues are coming by later to visit us.

He is 10 days old today! Wow, time has really passed me by. I have yet to watch a complete tv programme since he joined the family. So gals, pls watch and do all your fav stuff now. After that, you will be bz bz bz. But the bz-ness is bliss!

Other than ngor he & cod fish, you can try to eat some salmon. Mum fries the fish and it tastes great! Drink lots of soup too! Liver/kidney/intestine/chicken soup. I do not eat the kidney & intestine as they are HB's fav. I just drink the soup.

One more thing, try not to have ginger & sesame oil in your meals for at least 8 weeks. That's an advice I got from some pple in the medical field. After the 8 weeks, then can take. Do not know how true. My mum stopped after 2 days of a bit of ginger & sesame oil.

sysac
so envious ley... so fast already back to pre-preg shape!!
Good to knwo that u and baby is doing well

but I tok ginger and sesame oil is part of confinement food?... I wonder if I tell this to my MIL... will she believe or not...

Woke up late today and wow! SO much to catch up on..
Confinement fish "Ngoh" fish is actually "ma yaw" in cantonese. English name is threadfin.

Mummies, don't worry about baby size so much unless your gynae tells you its a cause for worry. My baby also weighed only 1.989kg at 32wk5days and my gynae say its a healthy weight.. averagely sized.

If you're intending to BF, try not to consume too much ginger as it causes jaundice in babies. Also, don't take alcohol 2 hrs before BF baby.

SY,
My hubby also like yours.. Only when tummy bigger and can start feeling baby kick him then he pay her and me more attention.

SY / Yuki
thanks for the info. all along only know how to eat but never really get to remember to names of the fishes =p

i still hv not bring myself to pack my hospital bag!!! hb hv been reminding me but yesterday really is no mood to do it although had done all the ironing work. sigh....

rachel,
i only packed a bit of my bag. think need to be more on the ball already!!

wendy,
your gynae give until 3 dec place? so cute...

sysac,
how come canot eat ginger and sesame oil? ginger i can understand if u bf. what abt sesame oil?

Afternoon all...

WOW... took me some time to finish reading the thread...
kao_dizzy.gif

kao_welcome.gif
to new mummies to be...

Clare - i got the tea leaves aldy...thanks! will do the transfer to you tonite k... haven been going out for lunch and think will b ordering in food til delivery... too tired to walk..knee cap hurt a little aft a while...

sysa - envy... lost all the wight aldy, so fast... and its oni 10 days...
kao_drool.gif

durainlover
I know how my baby's name sounded in Cantonese.. but I dunno how to form the spelling in English..hahaha... headache...
maybe I will just go with surname + han yu pinyin after all.

SY,

Yeah.. haha.. he say he want a more accurate estimate so he takes alot of time and effort to measure baby's head, tummy and thighs to get a more accurate estimate. My dad has diabetes so he pays quite alot of attention to my baby's weight.

As for naming, my hubby and I also decided on using the dialect surname, followed by Hanyu Pinyin name. If not, his surname and baby surname different so funny..

SY
yah must really be more on the ball!! dun wan to panic when the time really come n bag not pack!! yesterday MIL came fr msia n pay me a visit. she long long time did not see me n said my tummy low. will give birth early..... xian another one commented my low tummy... she oso remind me to hv my bag packed =p

Bb name: will be using dialect surname follow by Hanyu Pinyin name. coz after translating to dialect name sound abt the same w Hanyu Pinyin.

wendy,cookie,
think in my hb's IC, he put hanyu pinyin first. so he got no issue with just putting hanyu pinyin. i also dunno how to translate...

Rachel,

Don't let other people's comments put you down. Just take care of yourself. As long as your gynae didn't tell you the same thing, why worry? If common folks know so much about gynaecology, why do we still need to pay so much to see a professional? Might as well save up the money, right? Trust their professional judgement!

rachel,
dun be too affected by other's comments. realised most pple say tummy low means will give birth early but not really true. my fren had both pregnancies with low tummy and her bb even overdue. her gynae told her it's ok one. even my gynae never say i will deliver early even though mine also low

sunny,
i got about 2 nursing bras so far. think 3 is ok.

Waa.. cheap leh..

I bought mine 2 for $82.50 at Suntec City (Buy 1 and get 2nd on at 50% off). Bra cost $55 but cant remem thename of the shop though.. its right beside the bridge outside Harvey Norman..

The bra quite comfy la.. so ok. No regrets.. I bought only 2 though. Also wondering if its enough as I'm already wearing them now. Don't see any point buying new bigger bras cuz my old bras too tight again.

hey all

I am trying this Rasberry + Echinaea tea from Twinnings. It cost $4+ for 25 tea bags. It taste like Ribena when it is chilled!

At Ben & Jerrys (Great World City), I saw they sell organic rasberry tea. Think it cost $30+ for 20 bags. So, if you want pure rasberry tea, MIM is the best. But I still prefer my Twinnings!

hi SY
just now i got 6 leh!!! gosh... i am wondering i am getting too many or not. 'cos the sales lady said during nursing period, the bra will be wet easily though there's pad put there. then got to wash, dry etc.... she also said that lots of customers get more than 6 from her.... mayb i am too foolish to listen to her.... hmmm....

should i exchange 3 bra for nursing top...

did you buy any nursing top?

SY,

Not Mothercare. Its the shop beside Chickadee I think.. Its called Thyme?

Sunny,

I bought without underwire. I heard underwires not good for the breasts esp when they get engorged. Increases risk of infection.

wendy
ya, i heard that, too. when i tried the with wired one, find it very comfy 'cos the wire is soft type.

so, thyme got sales har... do they sell nursing top?

Durian recommendation:

dunno if your have tried this before... well, tis is my fave durain puff brand and its reali yummy,
with no preservatives in it... the stall is at joo chiat, called Puteri Mas..$8.50 for a box of 20pcs

they have free delivery for min. 15 boxes ordered... i got my colleagues to join in and they are arriving later at pm!!! yea, got durains for 'mum mum' later

wah god'child, you are making me drool. yeah i ate that before. in fact bought 2 boxes for xmas party last yr. gee you are making me so gian but i got GD ..cannot eat. passed by that shop so many times but cannot buy
yeah agree tat is one of the best durian puff i ever ate in my life.

sunny,
i haven buy any nursing top. where are good places to get? 6 sounds a lot but then the lady cd be right. if need to change often and cannot dry on time, then will need more. i shall go ask my fren how many she get.

dun tink we are suppose to wear underwire bras during nursing right?

SY here you go -> 475 Joo Chiat Road. Tel.344-8629. Open Tues-Fri 9.30am - 6.30pm, Sat & Sun 9.30am - 5pm. Durian Puffs 1 box of 20 pieces for $8.50. Apom Durian 60 cents, Ondeh Ondeh 3 for $1, Apom Berkuah 3 for $2.20, Steamed Lapis $1.20, Pandan Kaya $3 and $5.

hi SY
ya, Mrs Wong from TMC said don't wear underwire bra leh.... i bot wire type and non wire type. and wire type i can wear now to work. more more comfy than those normal bra leh... actually, all the while the normal bra that i wear making my n***** pain and the underwired is making me uncomfy...

i am not too sure where to get nice nursing top leh. just now went to spring and perfect mum, the choice is limited. but perfect mum one said they will get in more in these 2 week time. haven't gone to thyme and mothercare to explore...

god's child
wow... during puff... could i have the contact?

SSF,
u know the place very well!! makes me drool really....
think must find a chance to go there. so they not open today? then how come got delivery??

sunny,
u wearing the wire type now? i tot cannot wear??

hmm, then maybe i will go to perfect mum in 2 weeks time. better get some nursing tops as standby

oops, SSF.. sorry... din mean to tempt you
. thought can recommend since some mummies here are looking at last attempt to make bb gaining more weight..im hoping to let baby Celeste gain some weight too, cos worried tat shld she come out earlier (somehow got a feeling tat she will pop at least 2 weeks early), she might not be close to 3kg...

SY - its relai good, tats y i din hav problem getting my colleagues to order again ( we did order before also, this a repeat!!! ) the number is 6344 8629...enjoy!!!

hi god's child
just saw the contact after i post the previous message. will go and try. keke.... durian durian yummy

SY

they are open on Monday 12-5pm... think they changed their hours or sometin.. you might want to call n confirm before u go down... kuehs are not sold on monday...

sunny, try aldy let me know k... i love to hear pple telling me wat gd recommendations i give..haha

hi SY
you mean during pregnancy already cannot wear underwired bra? i tot only after delivery and during breastfeeding leh....
ya loh, i have been wearing normal underwired bra so far.... actually the size doesn't really fit leh... so difficult to find a right normal bra....
i left my number with the salesgal, she said she will call me when new nursing tops come. i will post here when i receive the call.

Sunny,

When I bought it, they were having sales. Now dunno if its still on but they do sell nursing wear and maternity wear as well. BTW, read in books and pregnancy sites that its not recommended for pregnant mums to wear underwires as it hinders the growth of the breasts and increases the chances that the ducts get blocked.

god's child,
think i will call them up but dun think i can order so many boxes!

sunny
i tot it's not recommended to wear underwire bra during preg? i read that in books and my fren told me also. but i think as long as not too tight shd be fine.

yah i think it's difficult to find a normal bra that fits. now i realise what i bought sometime back doesn't fit very well. very soon need to buy again...

wendy & SY
thanks for the comfort! =) anyway true tat dun let those folks words affect us. my gynae oso nv mention abt early birth when seeing my tummy. she only said my limps are still the same skinny skinny one so think will get back to shape vy fast after birth. hopefully lo =) she mentioned my fluide level is good, bb wt is average n heart beat stronge. think tats the most important to us mummies..

god's child
ok ok. hehe....

did you buy new normal clothes to wear after confinement? or for CNY?

sleepingdeer
think it's this doc called Dr Kenneth something. hee hee.. memory getting bad. must ask them again.

cookie
I bought 2 packs of Nepia NB for day use. My gf says it's good. Will try it for nite too. if cannot, then will use Pampers Premium. I bought 1 pack too.

I was also thinking abt the dialect name thingy last nite. will have to ask my parents how to change to dialect name.

Yes, my whole office also using Desitin. I bought a tube already.

sysac
Thanks.. can share how much is the hi-tea at SAFRA and what it includes? Me having headache over the 1st mth party. You're so lucky to go back to pre-preggy so fast. Then, no need to spend money on massage lady.

SY
Don't worry too much lah. Drink more milk and sleep on the left.
Anyway, you still have a few more weeks to go, rite?

God's child,
Reading this makes me GIAN!!! I ate durians twice last week liao. Very expensive but got durian craving leh. Wat to do....

I remember eating the Joo Chiat durian puffs before. Agree it's veli nice & yummy!

sunny
nope... d not buy nothing new cloths. anyway i think will stay at home doing my confinement still during CNY. unless bb wan to pop earlier la.
my EDD is 25 Jan 2006. 4 days b4 CNY only..

sunny - no ahvent been doing shopping at all since i know i am pregnant. maybe bot only maternity pants and clark sandles. i plan after delviery to revamp my wardrobe and pamper myself. to compensate for the great sgp sales and xmas sales that i missed. haha...

krissie,
i m not so worried anymore. as long as gynae says ok, i m fine
ha, i just tell bb a target that i wan him to achieve everytime.

sunny,
i din buy any new clothes also. only buy maternity stuff. i also plan to revamp my wardrobe just before going back to work
must see how many of my old clothes i can fit first.

Rachel,

My EDD close to yours, 21 Jan 2006. But most pple say first child usually early (abt 38 weeks). BOth my sis's children also pop at 36 weeks... I'm now 35 liao.. getting abit kan chiong.. but I'm hoping to enjoy christmas first.

Will be seeing my gynae weekly next week onwards. He says he wants to do internal examination from next visit onwards. Will also be doing the hospital admission papers next visit liao. Still deciding if I should go for 2 bedded just to save money... but I really, really prefer 1 bedded even if my husband dun wanna stay over (he complain stay over need pay $60 expensive..)

so much to catch up on the thread

Sunny
I haven't bought nursing clothes yet coz really dunno what kind of size i will be after giving birth. So think will buy only after giving birth. Scared later cannot fit properly.

I saw some very nice nursing clothes at Cloud9 in Suntec. Maybe u wanna go there and see see.

wendy

im a 1 week overdue baby when my mum gave birth to me n im her 1st child. so oso dunno how accurate it is la. will reach my 36 weeks in 3 weeks time, so i keep talking to my boy to tahan for 1 more month so mummy can njoy xmas n new yr! haha dunno whether he will listen to me or not.. the last visit i even ask my gynae will she be going oversea in the coming 2 months, lucky her answer is NO =)

if you really feel more comfortable n happy getting 1 bedded, jus go ahead! it matters the most to the mummy actually. so jus tell ur hb u wan 1 bedded n its final la =p

Hi SSF,

No worries. Your turn soon

Hi Krissie,

SAFRA Room Rental
$240.00 + 5% GST (members rate Min 4 hours Block, Mon to Fri)
$360.00 + 5% GST (members rate Min 4 hours Block, Sat, Sun, Eve of PH & PH)

Menu & Price $18.00nett per person (Package includes 10% Service Charge/5% GST/1% CESS

Hi SY,

Yep, lost the big balloon. Then, lost the flabby tummy aft running ard the past week. When I was discharged on Sun, baby stayed till Tue b4 being discharged. Went back to c PD on Thu & when we came home, we were told to re-admit Cephas becos his jaundice lvl went up from the blood test in the morning. He was at NUH till Sat when he was discharged again. So HB said throw a celebration for him aft what he went thru. Kp getting pricked for blood tests.

Yep, heard abt the drink must sit down thingy yesterday only. If stand up, intestine will straighten. Something like that. Hee hee.

Ginger & sesame oil may contribute to jaundice thru breastfeeding. I do not know if true but was told to avoid it for 8 weeks. Up to the individual anyway.

After gynae told me the possibility that i might deliver as early as next week I decided to stay home today n finish packing my bag n wash all my BB clothes n cloth diapers. Still left the cot sheets but think that one still can wait coz no space to hang already anyway... = P

Sleepdeer,
yah loh so unbelivable right that i'm about to pop soon... will be going for my gynae apt in the morning so if all clear I should be able to attend our last class in the afternoon... last sat's class on BF was interesting think my HB learnt alot so glad that i signed up for it. So am also looking forward to our very last class on taking care of BB which i think is VERY IMPT for HB too... my friends' HBs all say i signed up the class is for HB to learn massage plus take care of BB more than for myslef hahaha...

God's child,
No problem u can transfer the $$ to me whenever convenient no hurry.

sysac,
i see..baby cephas so poor thing. got to re-admit! but must be quite stressful and tiring for you and hb to run ard so much as well.

was your PD recommended by your gynae? how do u find him?

Clare,
so exciting for u right?? today is a good day for washing clothes. morning sun was good. i m also at home today so decided to start packing my bag as well