(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

wendy,
yah my fren told me that must drink DOM every night. but if u bf, must make sure u dun take it too close to feeding.

yah thinking abt the flow puts me off man..hopefulyl it won't be as heavy as i thought.

SY,

My parents also told me the same thing. Cannot drink the DOM at least 1 hr before bf else baby will be intoxicated. I also heard from my friend that we cannot eat too much ginger prior to bf as well else baby get jaundice. Dunno how true..

As for the flow.. I had tot it was only few days.. to my horror.. my mum just told me I was dreaming
Expect it to be at least 1 month.. cry.. Sometimes, don't you wish you're forever stuck at your 2nd trimester? I love the 2nd trimester! NO P, no problems and yet u get all the privilages from ur hb :p

wendy
yah my fren told me hers was close to a month.....
arrgghh.. really cannot stand it. but hers not as heavy as expected so that was quite good.

i also much prefer 2nd trimester. can feel bb's gentle kicks and not feel so clumsy.

Morning all!!
Attended my company's D&D yesterday n was hoping to win the grand prize of $5000 cash (told my HB if i win I'll immediately up grade to a 1-bedder ward hee hee). Ended up my name was already in one of the 220 pre-drawn prize n I got $50 Tangs voucher. Well better than nothing. = )

Today's gonna be a long n busy day for me... Will be seeing gynae at 12pm, Mt A Ante-natal class at 2.30 then followed by BBQ at Pasir Ris Park celebrating my friend's son 1 year old birthday in the evening... the thought of it all makes me feel so tired already...

But am so happy to see BB again. I can still feel BB's moving around alot so got a feeling she's still not engaged yet though I'm at the end of my 36th week already. Will check with gynar later. Sure hope the weighing scale wun give me a heart attack... =P

good morning mummies!

Re: socks during confinement
Apparently you can get wind from the floor so must wear socks or slippers!

Re: confinement
did you know that you are not supposed to drink water during confinement & not supposed to drink standing up???!!!!!

The sale at JL is quite good. Esp. JL cos you can get toiletries for baby & detergent and baby wipes (20% off even after special discount). But 4 JL must bring the letter that they sent, if not just go to the customer service letter & show your Robinson card and get another letter. Its good if you haven't bought your big ticket items cos got free delivery & free radio clock if you spend more than $150/160 respectively. I went yesterday and saw lots of pregnant mummies shopping!! :D

Metro, robinson also having 20% off

was on MC yesterday, went for my gynae apoointment. now 33 weeks + 5 days, my boyboy weighting @ 2.1kg. surprise tat only increase by 200 gram fr last visit. i myself an additional of 300 gram, weighting @ 62.3kg... so dunno where the extra 100 gram goes to??? =p

start feeling the strain to carry myself ard. this morning ard 6am had a vy vy bad itch @ my tummy below my belly button. it is so bad tat i nearly cry... cant get back to sleep n had to ask hb to apply those powder for itchness n he massage for sometime b4 i fell alseep again... but still got to get up n go to work. imagine working on saturday... sob

but still after seeing sysac's boy boy photo cheer me up alot =) a smiley innocent face really makes my day better

Tabbiesus,
Why not just wear your normal slippers to the hospital? You'll need to wear the slippers home anyway.

Aussino used to sell cheap bathroom slippers. Dunno if they are still selling though. You may want to check out the Aussino website or just hope into an Aussino store to have a look. Sometimes, the major shoppping centres also have cheap sales for slippers but those look quite yucky, uncomfortable and thin.

Personally, I like the furry purple one with hearts from Bata. Very thick, warm and comfy to wear. Otherwise, get your hb to book a suite in Ritz Carlton over the weekend as christmas present or pre-delivery present (or whatever excuse you can come up with), enjoy yourselves to the spa tub and scenary, and bring the bathroom slippers home. Their bathroom slippers are very nice n soft too.

Rachel,

I can understand how you feel. I also had very bad itch below my tummy during my early 3rd trimester. That's when all the stretch marks started forming. Now, the stretch marks are already there, the itch on the tummy has stopped but the area between my breasts start itching.. sigh..

i would love to get my hubby to book a suite at the ritz just to get a pair of bathroom slippers!!

Our 1st year wedding anniversary is on 27 December.. maybe I should drop hints ah!!!

tabbiesus,

How about robinson ? any sales? Actually have bought every thing but due to medical reason have been lock at home for the past 5 weeks so now since doc say condition is ok.. I must shop till drop.. hee hee

Tabbie,

That's a good reason! Make sure your hint is big enough.. Sometimes, hb can be quite slow to hints..

*grin*

wendy

yah these itchness really cant tahan! huh your breast start itch? does tat mean stretch marks will appear on your breast too... hopefully not.

heard fr lots of mummies tat no matter how much stretch mark cream you apply still would not get rid of those nasty lines... =(

Rena,
I know what you mean, I'm also supposed to be resting but after 2 months, I am going crazy liao so yesterday went to taka, metro (20% sale), robinson and JL sale.... :D

robinson sale is 20% until sunday...

I bought the kids tools flash cards and stuffed ball from taka also... but sale ended yesterday for taka

Rachel,

Ya, I've been applying Palmers Cocoa stretch mark cream since my 4th week but I still get it.. I hope I'm not getting those ugly marks on my breasts!

BTW, can I check with you ladies, how many NB diapers should we stock up before we switch to the S size ones? How many diapers does baby use per day from NB to say, 3 months?

wendy,

dun stock up too many diapers as bb will over grow them very fast so for NB just buy a pack or two.. if not enough then buy later..

As for me I dun put the stretch mark cream but I use olive oil and it is very good even the nurses mention that my tummy is nice and has no stretch mark at all.. I started putting when I was 8 weeks and every night without fail..

Hi ladies, finally went to my long awaited appointment this morning.... Hitting 33 wks tomorrow. Put on another 1.3kg! Bb weighs 2.1kg which gynae said it's above average. His head already measuring at 8.5cm! Gynae said might need to have c-section but not confirmed yet... But I'm very keen to have a natural delivery. Gynae said with my history, he doesn't recommend but if I really want to try, maybe for the first 8 hours. Anyway, he said it's still too early to decide. Next appointment is on x'mas eve. Hopefully bb's head won't grow too fast!

wendy,

my friend advised me to not buy so many NB, also depends on your baby's weight... cos my friend's baby couldn't fit the newborn size after birth & went straight to the small size.

No. of diapers depends on the brand and whether u change immediately after baby pees. Some babies don't cry straight away so may not need to change so often (eeks! i can't imagine my baby sitting in her wet pee but this is what my friends told me)

I've been advised to buy as and when I need so I have 3-4 packs now, and then will see after first week.. maybe send my husb to buy more..

wendy

yah like wat rena said dun stock up coz bb really can grow vy fast! one of my fren oso warn me not to stock up. jus buy one pack first n if not enough den ask your hb to go buy. my fren actually bought alot n his gal out grown n he left many packs of diaper he d not know wat to do w them n they all ended up in the store room =p

rene

Olive oil!!! but now too late for me to use oso. but wont it be sticky after applying??

so happy weekend is here...

tabbiesus,
ritz carlton stay for wedding anniversary? sounds nice...me and hb initially wanted to go for hotel stay but in the end think both of us too lazy to check it out...

curly,
good to hear that bb is doing well. how come u may need c-section? hey, my next appt initially also on xmas eve, then i changed it. decided to shift it earlier.

rena,
hee,must still take care of yourself as u shop! find that i can't stand or walk too long or else really can get cramps later....

rachel,
i also have stretchmarks below the belly button. quite ugly and i was quite shocked when i first saw it. seems like it's very common to get it there. my fren told me it will fade to silvery streaks. anyway me decided that i will take pic of it as part of the pregnancy memories!

anyone can recommend a good car seat? budget not a problem coz a group of frends getting for us heehee maybe ard $300 plus.. looking @ combination car seat. those w rearward facing for new born n later can convert to forward facing tat can use till 4 yrs old one.

hello mummies

i'm oso working today.

SY - me too got a shock when i saw alot of stretch mark on my belly. yeah! i oso cant walk too long cos leg cramp.

curly - glad to hear that your bb is doing well. My appt with gynae is on 19/12. Btw, did the nurse ask you to do the hospital admission?

hi rachel,

the one I got is under Britax but called Safe N Sound. Model is called Guardian. For birth til 4 years old. Initially rear facing & convertible to forward facing. 300+ I bought it at baby hypermart. You can get from motherworks too.

looks something like this
345408.jpg

hey tabbiesus,
You have the same wedding anniversary as me!!! mine also 27 Dec but this year it will be my 2nd year wedding anniversary
As my EDD is 2 Jan 06, many pple say that it will be nice to have bb coming out on 27 Dec too but i do not wish to. So i told him to come out on 28 Dec. Reason? Well, if he comes out on 27 Dec, in my many future wedding anni, we may not be able to have only the 2 of us celebrating.. keke..

Well today is a good day to wash bb clothes.. those who have not start, better start now.. now that i start counting down, not many sat and sun left..

edd2jan

ya lor.. my hubby wants baby to come out on dec27 but even if so i told him no way he can save on anniversary celebration

you must be really excited cos your edd is so soon!

tabbiesus,
yes i m pretty excited.. frankly like most mums say, its more of a mixed feeling.. cant wait to see bb and yet afraid our er ren si jie will end very soon.. so when is ur edd?

edd2jan,

My edd is 13 jan.. still got long way more, but my doctor is monitoring my baby cos her amniotic fluid is lowish.. and she warned that baby might have to come out earlier after 36 weeks.

I worry cos I only had one year of er ren si jie with my hubby... and soon will have a baby... dunno what to expect.. lucky my mom is quite keen on helping me take care of baby so may still have time for romantic dinner every now & then...

tabbiesus

thanks! maybe will need to drop by baby hypermart to take a look @ the avaible mobels. so this one u got can fit to most car? coz heard tat we have to be sure the bb car seat we buy can fit nicely to the car seat. some might not fit wor. dunno how true??

hi tabbiesus, my due date is ard your time too. wats amniotic fluid? is it for the water bag? dun worry abt er ren si jie. even after delivery, can always put baby at in law or ur mum place and still go catch a movie or stroll by the beach. dun worry abt that. for me, i have been er ren shi jie for 2 yrs liao. so i think time for baby to come in already. haha...how abt u?

Rachel,

Sorry I meant I got it from baby kingdom.. its at the same place as baby hypermart in kaki bukit.. but I prefer baby kingdom cos less messy and the sales lady (juliet) was better informed. They can fit it into your car for you if you drive down. From the picture, the car seat is pretty big but should be able to ft standard cars... just use the seat belt to strap it through the bits in the car seat.

SSF,
the amniotic fluid is the fluid in the water bag.. my fluid level in the bag is on the low side, the doctors usually call it AFI. Mine is is 5 (normal 6-11cm) so everytime i go for my scan I see my poor baby girl squashed with so little fluid cushion... lucky she still very active. Dunno why its low cos my water bag is still intact.

Actually I promised my hubby one year honeymoon period before "trying" for baby... but I guess we enjoy honeymoon too much ...
kao_kiss2.gif
then again, I'm 31 already so pretty much ready to start family

SY, bec gynae said bb's head is big! The size is a week ahead.

confused, they didn't mention anything about it but we did the pre-admission this morning after the appointment since we were... Just need to bring ICs. Also, my EDD is brought forward to 25 Jan but if c-section, Dr Chew said any time after 14 Jan....

tabbiesus - ic..is it becoz u didnt drink much water? or how can u increase the amt of fluid? my gynae didnt mention anythg to me lei...so i hope it is fine for my case. ya ya me too..one yr at least must travel somewhere coz we both lurve travelling alot. tats why baby comes out after 2 yrs. heee....

Sigh.... I failed. I din get a figure for my bb's weight. Gynae says, not very accurate. Just need to noe whether bb is small, normal or big. Size is not relative to the bb's weight. So, I gave up trying to noe liao. Sigh!!

Also, decided to go for natural delivery. Gynae say only during labour then onie see whether I can deliver naturally or not. So, I'm keeping my fingers crossed. Got my letter for admission liao, so when labour starts, water bag burst or any signs of bleeding, I can go in hospital and deliver! hee hee, really can't wait....

Btw, any mummies here, delivering at TMC?

And, I asked whether my bb engaged oledi or not, he said, those are myth questions and information tat normally could be found in books and not accurate. Normally, a bb will be engaged onie when he's ready to come out which is the point of labour starts. So confusing!

Anyway, engaged or not, I'll patiently wait for my bb when he's ready to come out liao. I really hope it will be soon. My stretchmarks are so ugly and itchy!

tabbiesus

okay i will try these 2 places. agreed w u baby kingdom is more orderly n sales person oso friendly n helpful. thats y i bought much of the baby stuffs @ baby kingdom =)

er ren si jie: same w SSF hv enjoy for 2 yrs liao so time to hv a BB. actually er ren si jie largely depend on both husband n wife. when both put in effort everyday is er ren si jie! =) of cos bb can let parent n parent in law look after while both of u go dating hahaha

That's my fav pic of Baby Cephas too!

Will take a pic with him soon. Must put on make-up first & take a pic with him & then show you gals.

Weighed myself today. I have lost 6.5 kg so far. Think must be due to expressing the milk. I am wearing my pre-pregnancy clothes already.

I have been eating a lot of fish, drinking fish/chicken/liver soup. Drink plenty of fluids after delivery. Your body will be heaty and you may have an outbreak. I had very dry/cracked lips despite drinking a lot. It lasted me for abt 2 days. I am okie already.

I only towel-dry my hair and then put on the brandy. Did not used hair dryer.

klisa

ur gynae really is different fr others. die die dun wan to tell you your bb wt. anyway as long as bb is fine is the most important! he's reason abt the engage thing is funny too..

rachel,
i m planning to get the same car seat at tabbiesus, think that one is quite worth it. yah it's at baby kingdom. prefer that place also. when i went to baby hypermart, the sales pple all just chit chatting amg themselves.

i must be the fastest to start family. only celebrated my 1st anniversary last month! though bb is a surpirse, we are still happy

tabbiesus,
your fluid low? my fren also had the same thing from her gynae. he told her to sleep more on left. in the end she gave birth at 39 weeks. so dun worry too much. think gynae will monitor more closely.

sysac,
so no need hair dryer? i tot need and went to get one

your weight loss is fast!! do u drink water? thought pple say cannot drink water, can only drink longan/red date. is it true?

klisa,
your gynae sounds differnet. but as long as bb is fine, then never mind. what he say is true that the weight is only an estimate. usually they will be off also.

Wendy
About 8 diapers each day if u are b/feeding... that shud give u an estimate.

SY/confused
Me also get stretchmarrks this time but think not as bad as wat I saw on my gf's tummy...anyway me not bothered about it. Just that tummy gets itchy at times...

sysac
Yep, Cephas has a v nice smile!!!

SSF
Yep, usu gynae will assess the level of amniotic fluid...since urs never says anything, then shud be ok.

edd
Er ren shi jie.. well, be prepared for big changes, at least for the first few months... however after things settle down, can lah, can go paktor with hb

Krissie
Thanks for the infor. Just checked today. Oooh confirmed he is going on holidays lah...you mean you ask him and he told you is it? My friend tried asking him but he keep saying it's not confirmed.....

Klisa,
my gynae also never tell me whether my BB is engaged or not. He only say head is down. I never asked him also lah. But he'll always tell me BB's weight, as estimated by the machine using size of head, tummy and legs. I'm delivering at TMC too.

tabbiesus,
my amniotic fluid is also low. Doc say may have to deliver earlier. At around 37 weeks. But I'm already into 36 weeks! So one more gynae visit, if cannot, will probably have to admit and deliver liao.

Rena,
Got your list. Thanks for compiling!

Sysa,
Wow, 6.5kg in a week or so??? That's very good progress! Cephas is so cute.

Do you wash your hair with shampoo now?
Do you use the chinese herbs for bathing? I just bought the herbs for bathing. It's like 8 bags per pack ($3). Recommendation is to use 3 bags per bath, like that will finish the herbs really fast leh if bathe everyday. Can we just use 1 or 2 bags? Also, do we use the herb water on the hair? Will get funny smell or not?

Nowadays, I'm so tied up at work, been working till 9plus at nigt on some weekdays for the oast 2 weeks and even went back today for a few hours to clear some work. Wonder if that is causing my amniotic fluid to be low?

Really can't wait for BB to pop. The anticipation is really killing me! Part of me also thinking that if BB arrive now can 'escape' from the recent heavy workload...

Yesterday went for gynae checkup. Baby has hit the 2kg mark @Week34. Again, gynae said the same thing...baby on the small side. Asked me to drink more milk & eat eggs. Haha... I told him I have started eating durians & he reminded hubby to get only D24! Say must continue to buy for me after delivering cos baby will want only durian-flavoured BF!!! *Faintz!*

Next visit in 2 weeks time. Gynae told me its safe to deliver anytime after 36 weeks. But I hope baby will come out in 2006. Hope to pump him up more!

Last night went to watch Harry Potter with hubby. Woke up with nightmares! *Sigh!

Sysac,
Ur baby Cephas looks so angelic & contented! Makes me more eager to wanna see my baby!

Klisa,
I will be delivering at TMC too!

Queen,
I tink work stresses us up easily! For me, last week I was very busy too and the BH/pelvic pains started coming back (I was put on ventolin & was under control for few weeks). Gynae asked me to increase dosage if BH frequency increases. I think it is due to lack of rest. Mummy stressed up....baby also feel the stress.

Hi SY,

I am not using hair dryer. Just towel-dry hair and put a small amt of bandy aft that to keep the head warm. I was told not to drink water. But due to my dry/cracked lips, I told mum need to at least give me a glass of water daily. She allowed and the lips healed aft 2 days. I understand all fluids must be drunk warm. Anyway, I also neg with mum 2 nites ago to give me a 1/2 glass of leamonade aft I my soup and the warm drinks. Suprisingly, she allowed too

Hi Stylobb/Wenyl,

Thanks. He's looks so contented aft the feed. When he's hungry, he does not look so angligelic anymore. He will chomp chomp down the milk in a very impateitn manner. After burping, the smile will come on

Hi Queen

I bought 8 bottles of this Chinese alcohol called Gourment SanZheng Jiu from the Chinese Medicine Hall. Will pour into the hot water to mix before bath. It has a mild smell. After towel drying hair, I will put a bit of brandy on my hair. According to my mum, it is supposed to keep me "warm". Grandma did it for her and my aunts as well. I am also using normal bathing shampoo and shower gel.

Hi Casey,

Weight loss must be due to expressing the milk. I am quite on the ball. Express every 6 hours at abt 150ml now. Will split into 3 bottles of 50ml each to freeze.

All mummies,

The first few days will be a bit painful when you breastfd or express milk. Your uterus is contracting at the same time so you will fell a slight cramy feeling. Dun fret becos it will go away after while. Got to just bear with it. In fact, I had the slight crampy feel off and on within the 24 hours aft delivery. It was like mild contractions. No choice, just got to ride it thru

Sysa,
How come we cannot drink water? not even hot water? Then what can we drink when thirsty? wah... so many things cannot do during confinement ah? I dunno my MIL (who's my CL) knows all these or not...

klisa - i am delivering at TMC. edd is 15th jan. how abt u? i book for the single bedded. hmm..ur gynae doesn't seem to provide lotsof info to you ya. anyway you will mostlikely be engaged at 36 wks...which is wat i know. in my next visit i be in 36 wks and will ask my gynae.

queen - yeah i also cannot wait for baby to pop out. just want to get over the delivery just like sysac. but of coz i still wants him to be out in Jan while i celebrate xmas first. hehee...

all - is it true that during confinement cannot drink water?? my MIL told me she bot for me glutinous rice wine for me to drink during the confinement period. btw, why cannot drink water? when she said i just nod my head but didnt ask much. my mum is doing my confinement but she is the more modern one. so i dun think she know abt tat too. also wats the taste like??

hi sysac - are you planning for your 1 mth gift to your colleagues already? i was looking at http://www.sweetsurprise.com.sg/fullmonth.htm and found the personalised choc bars quite nice and reasonable too at $4.90. what's the normal rate on how much to give per person? i normally recv bengawan solo vouchers and dun really like it. it too common...so having a choc bar tat is personalise with my son's name is somethg different and better than cakes, red eggs, ang ku kueh i guess. wat you guys think?