(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rena,
dun worry, ventolin won't affect baby. I hv other frenz who were also on ventolin for a whole 2 months b4 delivery, n baby came out perfectly fine n healthy

yes i dun like the medicine coz it makes my heart beat v fast n my hands tremble too. But no choice...gotta take. Rather go thru' the discomfort than risk hving premature delivery!

Anyway i dun think it's that unfortunate that you're not working...in fact u can fully rest n prepare urself for motherhood mah!
Well, justlook on the bright side of things n stay positive

pochacco,
yes i'm also thinking of packing my hospital bag by this wkend too!

Cheap nursing bra
can get from Ero - this lingerie shop found in Jurong Pt, westmall n probably a few other places. $20 only.

SSF
I read from my book that now baby is growing bigger there are less space in our tummy for him/her to do summersault... it is possible to felt there are less movement.
but I suppose should still feel and monitor their kicks...
I get worry too when my gal is quiet....

Rena
Really?? whiten the baby...heehee it's my 1st time hearing this
but the water after brew is brown in colour wor..
I only know they said eat tau hua and soya bean milk will helps...heehee but I dun really think is true... then what happen to pple drink COke and coffee...heeehee...

durain lover
I saw ERO one.. dun have my Cup size

but then I noticed what ERO offer is very very similar in term of texture and cutting from 1 of the nursing bra I bought from my estate which cost only $8!...

Oh dear... I'm sooooooooooooooo sleepy... keep dozing off

thks mong for the explanation. mine costs 43 bucks.

Rena - so sad,.did u check with MOL if they can compensate you in anyway?

cookie- yes you are right that they will have less space but we shld feel their movement even more now that baby has less space, he shld kick more often. tats wat gynae said. today my baby got kick but not so active as last week. will monitor lor.

Rena
did u mention your side effect to your gynae??
Fast heartbeat is no good ley... better tell your gynae hor and see what he comment.

Pochacco,
I bought mine form seiyu and metro during the sale and I think it's 9.90 before discount or around that range. the brand is eternity. the strap reasonable thick so should give good support. u can ask the salegirls where is the nursing bra. I bought 2 initally then decided to buy 2 more during the 20% metro sale over the weekend.

mongs - aiyo, the sales just over... dunno can wait till next metro sales then buy the nursing bra.

durianlover - ero $20 bucks seem x compared to 9.90... i think i will see see look look for the 9.90 ones. thanks anyway... hb also ask me to pack bag and put at hm since my edd is in early jan... it seem so soon...

Pochacco,
u have metro card? or ur friends or relatives? they can buy at 10% off anytime or 20% off if it's their birthday month. maybe wait till christmas sale? the big malls should have pre-christmas sale. else think 9.90 without discount still cheap already.

mongs- no leh, nobody seems to have the metro card... i also feel 9.90 is cheap and good enough. hahaha... some more need to buy nursing clothes...

i am also thinking of drinking the coconut by week 34...

mongs,
oh 9.90 for nursing bra is cheap!
heh, still i can't bring myself to buy nursing bra...the ones i see all not to my liking leh...i prefer something that's more 'solid' so that creases won't show under our clothes. Know what i mean? hv yet to come across a nice one! or is it that when we put the nursing bra pad on the bra then it will be better??

cookie & rena,
the medicine ventolin will cause hands to tremble and heart palpitations. It's a normal side effect stated by gynae and even printed on the pill bag. So no choice, just hv to bear with it!

sleepingdeer
No lah, wont be naked... this is still Asian society! hhee...u can wear the hospital outfit. Yuki I was in blouse and sarong after I delivered but during labour I was in the hospital gown.

Yuki/confused
Talking about irritated... I think I will be like this till I deliver man!!!

queen
Seems dilation is generally slow for first-time mummies... just had two gfs who delivered and theirs also was slow.
For my case, even after being induced, had to wait and wait, only till after 5-6cm, then things started to move along.

Btw, mummies, rembr to bring your HP CHARGER with u hor, cos u will be sending/receiving lots sms-es. Heheh...

Rena
At least looking on the bright side, u can rest at home...

yah cookie, the doc did mention to me. for the sake of my baby.. It seems that I dun have a choice. BTW.. dun take too much tau hua.. it is bad for the baby.. tau hua shui is ok..

Actually I have already pack my bag ready to go hospital any time..Oh as for nursing bra I bought from Ero Too.. About 20 dollars I have bought 3 of it.. mine is the front drop cup which I find more convient.

Durianlover,
You think We can take the coconut juice even on the pills?

SSF,

Thanks , they only pay me one month as per employment letter.. and MOL also mention unless I am 7 months pregnant then I can get the 3 months ..
Well.. I really have too look the the bright side and I belive that god let it happen for a purpose..

rena/durianlover, I have been on ventolin ever since my very first appointment. I'm taking half tablet twice a day. Was on double dosage when I had spotting though... I don't think there was any side effect on me or maybe bec my heart beat rate is always very high to the extent I can hear my heart beat? Gynae assistant told me that I can skip any other supplements but not ventolin! I also take coconut juice every now and then....

rena, I was retrenched when I announced my pregnancy (office was in the process of sizing down). Yah, enjoy this period and relax as much as possible.....

curly,
The dosage you gynae give is rather small therefore you will not feel the effect.. What I am taking is 2 tablets 3 times a day and one week I will be taking about 42 tablets .. that is where my worries comes..

Actually the govt encourage us to give birth but pregnancy will cost us our job...

SAd

SSF,
The JB pharmacy gave 20% disc for neurogain. If not, the price will be abt the same as urs staff price. Unity sells Palmer's nipple cream but much cheaper if get in M'sia.

Queen,
The Unity pharmacist was the one who told me Neurogain PB is for Pregnant & Breastfeeding mothers. So I will probably continue to consume it after delivery.

Clare,
Nipple cream.
Taught in class that we can use our breastmilk too to prevent crack nipples.

I remember someone went Perth recently??? Can share with me ur itenery? Hope to go before dec cos hubby exams just ended. FINALLY! I m going to see gynae this sat. Hope doc will agree & give me the travel letter. Heard from his nurse that after 8mths, he will not give any letter of consent. *Cross my fingers!

rena, i see.... 6 tablets a day is a lot leh! during my initial 12 weeks, the gynae I was seeing told me that there is a max you can take a day but I can't remember exactly how many? but since it's prescribed by your gynae, then should be ok.

Don't be sad about the job lah, you can always find a new job after spending a few months with bb.

yuki,
hope your r feeling better. i also get panic attack at times and i will tell hubby. dun think they can understand fully how we feel, he just thinks i complain too much! my hubby going for one month reservist after birth of bb. quite sad abt it but his deferment has been rejected.

keep up your spirits. just come in and share with us

queen,
i m going on to my 30th week. when i last saw gynae at 28 weeks, bb is only 800+ g. he already told me small so i dunno how bb will catch up. wish he can take some of my weight gain so i dun look so fat

rena,
do take care!! do you have to go for your visits more often becos of yoru cervix opening? actually sometimes i think the thing abt pain is that we dun take it seriously if it goes away. the only things i ask my gynae is how do i know if it's a contraction. he said the stomach will be very hard when i feel pain.

does any of you notice that your feet and calves seems to be red at night? mine always seems veyr red at night. is it becos of pressure from standing? it looks like rashes all over but it's not rashes...

Hi Rena,
Must be quite scary oh... Do rest well... I also believe everything happen for a purpose so we have to continue put our trust in GOD especially for Baby's protection. = )

Hi Mongs,
The usual sterilised cotton balls & gauze i see in pharmacies are only 5/10 pcs per pack. Where did u get your 40pc/pk leh??

Nipple Cream:
Okie i guess i shall save some money n use breast milk instead... hopefully i have enough though... hahaha

cookie,
how about wearinf those swimsuit cups inside the bra? now I'm still wearing normal bras, but just bought bra extensions. Cannot tahan liao. Already upgrade my bras from B cup to C cup a few months ago. Now don't want to spend money to buy bigger bras, rather go buy nursing bras.

SY,
800g at 28 weeks is really a bit samll. No wonder your doc concern. But don't worry lah, maybe your BB will put on a lot of weight since your last gynae visit. So check again with your gynae.

Saw this crossover bra which can be used during nuring at the Moms in Mind website. Best thing about this is can be used during nursing and can put in bra cup pads for padded look. http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/leisurebra.html
see MIM Basic Cami Bra. Anyone interested in getting it? if can get 3 or more orders, can buy at $20, else $25 for 1 order.

queen,
that's why i worry lor. my gynae so far din ask me to go for other tests. so i think i may seek a second opinion just to feel more at ease.

rena - cannot eat bean curd? why? i thought it is good? ic..so you already enquire from MOL. then no choice lor.

wenyl - oh is it.didnt go unity so don;t know abt it. so far i tried palmer's brand only, ok lor but smell like rubber.

SY - yeah my soles are red now that you mentioned. also i feel my big toe beneath that ball(dunnoe wat it;s called) very aching. anyone also feel the same way. i just find my feet getting heavier and lazier.

hi all - btw i just got my bean sprout pillow. so nice and the wordings for one casing is colourful. so nice of them as i told them to help me plan the colours of the wording. and one of them is in multi colour which i know requires more effort

Hi SY,

Not to worry bt the size of our babies. They are within the normal range. They will be small sized at birth. That's what my gynae meant. After we pump them with milk, they will boom

Hi Mongs,

Haha, like what you said. My gynae is Prof so no wonder pro got chart to monitor

Hi Yuki & Yvonne,

I will be delivering at NUH too.

Clare,
hee, mine not sterilised. just realise. it's those normal cotton balls. antenatal nurse said use 5 pcs with boiled water to clean the face each time. wow, if really use sterilised cotton wool. think will be very expensive.

durianlover,
the nursing bra that I bought is front drop cup, it's just 2 pcs of fabric slightly overlapping at the front. we are suppose to put breast pad to absorb any milk leakage and our breasts will be slightly bigger with active milk ducts so i think this is good enough. if you want to wear now, can buy those bra pads from the lingerie.

SY,
I don't have red feet. maybe because I try to put my legs up for a short period of time every night. sometimes, I also try to sleep with my legs raised up when sleeping on the sides but sometimes uncomfortable and I kick away the pillow.

SY
don't worry. now you are just into 3rd tri. bb weight will increase a lot during 3rd tri.
just eat well and sleep well.
my gal's weight 1.3kg at week 30. doc said she's within the range but skinny type. he told me not to worry, 'cos still early to say if the weight gain is enough.
take care

SSF,

I have also gotten my bean sprout pillow. Me oso love designs and the multi color font... But unfortunately I have to complain about the sewing. Think maybe I'm a perfectionist, so I feel that it could have been better. And worst of all, one of the pillow case design which is a Brown Bear, has outlines that run totally off. Very obvious. And yet she has the cheek to tell me that she knows about it when I called her to complain. So I told her I can't accept it and would appreciate if she can change another design for me. Fortunately she agreed. :D

yeah SY,
don't worry about the size of your baby. Big or small doesn't matter, as long as they are healthy can liao.

I have also received the beansprout pillows already. They look lovely.

I read that some mummies are taking ventolin..y ah? I only take ventolin when i have asthma attacks

Hi Sysac, when's your due date? so, u getting 1 bedder too? it seems like for 1 bedder, we can opt for bb to stay with us. did you go for the maternity tour?

where did you get your beansprout pillows from?
my friend helps me to buy the pillow from m'sia. each one costs RM4, without pillow case. this weekend i might ask my mil to sew some cases for me.

celine - oh really har. mine is OK leh. Ya i think she is quite nice...willing to change for you. In fact i have not pay her yet. will do so later :p

sunny, the m'sia one is hand sewn or get from the stores? RM4 is really cheap but not sure abt their quality. Moreover the pillows we bought are personalised with our babies' name. You can view it from http://www.beansprout-pillow.com

SSF, what design did u choose? i chose giraffe and bear. the giraffe one is ok, only the bear has problem. so she suggested that i change to the angel sleeping on the crescent design. confirm no problem.

SSF,
Beancurd dessert has added a type of powder to solidfy it and the powder is not good for the baby if consume too much..

SY,
Now I am see my doc every week and if the hardening is too often then I will have to see him almost every two days.

Queen,

Bb is smaller is size usually is due to the mother adsoring more than the baby.. try to balance your diet and take supplements if needed but its better to get from your doc. Eat more nutrition food.. Take care.

Durian lover ,

if your milk leaks often then you may want to get disposal breast pads..which can be purchase at major department stores..

one of my colleagues just gave birth to a baby boy at 813am this morning. weighed 2.78kg at birth, 48cm long. I think she didn't opt for epidural. wonder how long was her labour. maybe will visit her later at TMC.

Hi Yvonne,

Yep, went for the hospital tour during the 1st lesson for the ante-natal class. Have you gone for the tour? Baby & HB can room in if we opt for the 1-bedder. HB & I like the Deluxe suite too. If it's available on the day I deliver, I may opt for it. Still thinking abt it. Seem to be doing a lot of thinking nowadays. Cannot decide immediately.

Hi Cookie,

Glad u succeeded in making & enjoying the longan/red date drink. Can drink it cold too if you do not mind drinking it cold. My mum came over to my hse over the wkend and she made a big pot of it. I transferred into a tupperware container and placed it in the fridge. Am drinking it every day now plus bird's nest once a week.

I also got my bean sprout pillow. I chose the angel and the bear designs for the covers. Nice multi-colours for the embroidery for the name of my baby boy. It's sitting nicely in the baby cot now

Thank you for your concern. feeling much better already. Hubby apologise and promise to be more sensitive. May be just words to sweet talk me but it's enough for me lah.

Hi Rena,

I understand your situation because i have been thru it.

During my first pregnancy, my company closed down due to financial problems. It is also at the same time that i discovered that i am pregnant. And since company faces financial problem, we receive no benefits at all. To make matter worse, company owns me 2.5 months of salary..... Things couldn't be worse. But it turn out to be a blessing as i was drawn closer to God.

I manage to get a temp job at SIA to ease my finances. Don't really pay much, $50/day. It was suppose to be a 6 week assignment and somehow thru God's blessing, they keep extending my contract till my due date. That period was the SARS period and SIA was going thru down sizing etc and i reckon temp staff will be the first to go. Somehow thru God's blessing, it doesn;t happen. Thru this period, i have a good time working (Stress free) and make some friends there.

I actually learn a few things during this tough period. I learn that hubby and i can survive with our finances despite me bringing home less. It was tight but managable. Now that i have a full time job, i appreciate the financial blessing and was able to save more. It make me realise that i can afford to be more generous to people, especially people in need.

Thru this period, i know who are my true friends. Some of my friends were unsympathatic and were not understanding about the worries about finances expecially with a newborn coming. I realised friends will let us down but not God.

Soem of my friends and relatives, especially my cousin were extremely helpful. My cousin passed me lots of baby stuff, helping me to save a lot. I regret not being sensitive to her needs when she was pregnant as she wasn;t woirking at that time too. Wish i could have been more sensitive and help her out financially since i was working that time. Thus, I have no hard feeling towards my friends cos sometimes it takes a person to go thru the situation to really understand. I was one of them.

So be strong and enjoy your pregnacy. Don;t worry too much. There's always a silver lining behind the clouds.

Thanks Yuki for sharing with me your story, I understand that god always has his purpose for all that happen. I have tried to look for temp job , however the market is flooded with students looking for vacation work..

Well I just have to take it easy, and I am sure that the lord will provide..

Does anyone have friends that stay in gleneagles during birth? Last week I stayed in there but the service and things that they provide are not too good. but due to my case I have no choice but to give birth there, if not I really dun mind Mount A. which is nearer to me and the service is better..

Hi Rena,

Indeed. Maybe the Lord just wants you to rest well?

You have no choice but to stay in Gleneagles? Why?

Rena,
really? Gleneagles service not good? but it's one of the more exp hos. which bedder did you stay? mind to share the experience? I have decided to go gleneagles because my gynae has a day clinic there but he can deliver at any pte hos. some of my colleagues were of all praises for the hos maybe because they stay in the 1 bedder.

celine - i chose the bear and angel. i went and take a closer look at the bear and yes the outline at the top and bottom doesn't have threads.but i think its fine la. frankly speaking not very obvious unless you examine. hmm..how come har? sysac -is your bear nicely sewn??

rena - oh is it. thks for letting me know coz i didnt know and ate quite frequently actually. in that case, i better stopped eating. in fact i just ate one yesterday :p

Oh I have no choice as my pregnancy may have implications therefore it is better to stay there near my gynae. I stayed in a two bedder as the rooms were full .. it is totally different when I stayed there last year for my miscarriage..

SSF, I really do not know how true but better be safe than sorry..

mongs,

I still think that even a two bedder the service compared to that of other hospital is still bad..

Morning all...

Yuki - glad u r feeling better and ur HB has turned alittle sensitive to your needs...

i think somehow as we approach delivery, mayb hormones start to go way high, getting very emotional lately...so upset tis morning when i cant get a seat in the MRT!! seems like the whole cabin was 'sleeping'!! do they need the seats more than me? well..maybe...haiz...
kao_angry.gif

Hi SSF & Celine,

Yep, the workmanship for my pillow and cases are neatly done. Maybe mine was like 1st batch to be done becos I ordered earlier. Problems surfaced with the subsequent ones becos she was rushing :p That's my guess.

After my return from Japan, my stamina has gone downhill. Easily breathless. I still walk though to maintain the stamina. Last nite, still went Orchard to do a bit of X'mas shopping. Parked at Paragon, walked to Taka, Wisma, crossed over to Tangs & back to Paragon. Though stamina is there, legs ache easily :p

Got to start packing my hospital bag too. Got the necessary baby stuff, breast pump, disposable breast pads, maternity pads (huge! scary!) Have not bought any nursing blouses though. got to get down to diligently look and at least get 2 for the hospital stay.

SY - i dont have red feet too. Juz that i feel my calve n feet are swollen. And dont worry abt your bb weight cos your gynae didnt comment anything bad. i agree so long your bb is healthy. U eat durian n drink milk boh?

mummies - u gals feel hungry all the time?

confused,
ya, drinking cereal now. I try not to eat too much solid food like bread or biscuits. I go for milk, milo, cereal, fruits when I am hungry coz we need a lot of fluid and don't want to gain too much weight. gained 10kg so far and still have 8 weeks to go.

mongs

your 10kg nothing compared to me lor... i gained 17kg aldy since my visit last week... though i dun look like it, but then the scales can't be lying!!! i try to take wholemeal bread oni, and also more fruits.. but then i need some sweet stuff at times cos sugars do give energy and esp since i have been feeling lethargic easily lately...

mongs - i'm worse ah, i put on more than 13kg liao n feel hungry all the time. And once i'm stress my gastric will attack immediately n if i dont eat, gastric will become worse. Really headache ah!

god's child - me too feeling tired easily.