(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy
better monitor if it's heat rash.. coz it could be the PLUPPS like me if it worsens.

Rena
Do take care.. rest well lah.. dun strain yourself. Are u on mc to rest?

krissie,
what did your doc give your for this? how to diagnose whether it is PLUPPS?

confused,
i always forget to drink milk. will remind myself but keep forgetting!

krissie,
oh yah i read abt PLUPPS. Well just hv to take good care of ur skin then! Gd to hear that ur bb is of such gd weight! Hee i can't wait for bb to be more than 2kg...coz to me, 2kg is the 'safe' mark!

yvonne n styloBB,
oh so your glucose test is part of your gynae package? i din enjoy the glucose test either but glad that my results are ok.
My fren who's a doctor said that actually glucose test not compulsory unless normal urine test shows signs of diabetes. So i felt 'cheated' that i had to take the glucose test n thought they do it to earn more money!

Re: cold drinks
it was only after i got preggie that i got hooked on cold sweet drinks!! Previously i wld be okay with taking warm or lukewarm drinks...nowadays always feel hot so i'd rather drink cold drinks to quench thirst. i dun really think it'll cause bb to have phlegm, etc...dunno leh, mabbe i dun really suscribe to this theory. i kinda dismiss it as old wives' tales!

SY,
how abt eating cereal for breakfast instead? then bo bian have to put in milk with cereal so u won't forget!! my hb bought cereal for me after he realised that that's 1 of the few ways to remind me to drink milk

durianlover,
i took milk a few times in the morn and end up puking in the first trimester so a bit scared to take it in the morn. if not it's a good way. i like to take my cereal with milk...esp cold fresh milk

Durian lover,

I just heard from a friend that by taking beef bb will grow faster. but it has to be totally cook. I am trying that as my bb is only 1.3kg at 30 weeks.

Well , at times I felt cheated too , other than my package, each time my visit I have to pray additional 40 dollars for the placenta testing.

Very expensive.. I think.. do your gynae do this check for you and are you being charged?

SY and Durian lover,
Another way to build up calcium is to take supplments. my hubby bought some for me from nature farm and it is very good.. it does not cause contipation and it is approved by the gynae (plus cheaper to purchase outside).

Sysac,
Yes, mine doc's clinic is on the 3rd floor =)

Durianlover,
No, mine is not part of the package....it's becoz everytime for gynae appt got to do urine test, doc found that urine has traces of "sugar" and the test show positive sign...so doc suggested to do glucose test....well, eventually test results are negative =)

krissie
Can u elaborate on PLUPPS??

SY
First pregnancy - 1 detailed scan.
This pregnancy - gynae says a second one in my third trimester.

durianlover/yvonne
The test was not part of the pkg: anyway quite cheap only - $31. Gynae says take and I just take... beta to be safe than sorry. She never earned the money lah cos I went to another place to test...

Rena
I take quite a lot of beef...

Urine has protein - doc never advised anything?

Yvonne
My arms not even meatier, face still sharp sharp but lately can see all the veins popping out on my feet and arms, quite ugly ... how come the nurse so tactless to say u have diabetes?? Hehe..

Name(s) for my girls, u mean... I have two gals leh... have, but will confirm after they are out.

Good Morning All!!

Hi SY, are u referring to Zhi(3) En(1)? Nice name too!! = ) I wanted Chen Zu(3) En(1) (can be interpretated as God's Grace) but HB dun like coz reminds him of Chen Zu Ming (Jacky Chan's son) whom he doesn't like. Then we thot of Jia(1) En(1) HB doesn't really fancy either... so I suggested Shi En. To date this is the only name he say he "can accept but still open for more alternatives"... so mah fan oh HB... we do all the thinking they only know how to criticise...
kao_frustrated.gif

Ariel,
Yes of coz i remember u... coz I was shortlisting between Ariel & Ashley for my BB's name... haha! Wow we really got lots in common oh?? I thot of Shi Qin too coz bro-in-law daughter is called Wan Qin... but ended up we still prefer to have an "En". Yes I'm taking the keyboard at Beliver Music, so coincidence oh!! Am in my 2nd Advance term n really am having difficulty following up too!! If all goes well, I should give birth just after my term finishes so just nice! = )

Rena
My glucose test results are negative, doc oso said to eat as per normal.....am not a sweet-tooth person, so in my everyday diet, i dun usually take alot of sweet stuff, even ice-cream is taken once in a blue moon and soya bean milk with less sugar too....

Think u should check with ur doc again? @ least u hv an idea what to avoid in your diet.

My doc did mention that sometime when pregnant, the mother's kidney will be functioning doubly hard, so sometimes preggies do get temporary diabetes during pregnancy...

StyloBB, Whoa so u expecting twins....got shortlist any names for ur gals? My HB choose BB's chinese name "Zheng Yu" meaning conquer universe (i think lah)....quite strong leh the meaning but does match well with his English name "Jovan" (Majestic)....

Ah yah, the nurse was just joking with me, i'm not so petty lah, so joke along with her lor....

gee seems like ALOT of parents like to use the word "En". becoming so common. next time it will be very easy to differentiate the age group of ur children, coz those born around yr 2005 have "En" in their names! keke....

initially, i was oso toying with the name Ethan for my son. Phew! luckily I didn't choose that name, else next time son may complain that there are 3 Ethans in his class! keke... But I agree it's a nice name. Thou it sounds abit like "Eaten". juz my tots. hee...

Morning Ladies,
have time to post quickly, then back to work.... arrghh, how I wish Jan comes quickly...!

Hi Stylobb,
which pharmacy can we get the tummy binder from? Some mummies previously posted that we can get it at Unity, but I couldn't find it.

Krissie,
So it's PLUPPS? Must be very uncomfortable uh? I cannot stand mosquito bite already, can get very man zhang when I get bitten, think I will scratch until I bleed if kana PLUPPS... hang in there!

Wow, your bb is good weight, and Dr. Ho let you see 3D somemore... I hope my check end of the month will show that bb has turned, coz my last check, she was still floating around, lots of space
I read if past 32 weeks, bb haven't turn, considered breech liao...

settled your massage lady already? I booked Rohaya, called her up, and find her to ve very informative and knowledgeable. She initially say that she was packed liao.... in the end she rechecked her schedule and and say should be ok, though would be better if bb comes out on time, and not early!

hello mommies

Aiyo! i so relieve to know that all mommies take cold drink (b4 that i was so gulity cos i thought i'm the only one)

Yvonne - yo! the nurse so blurr. i'm afraid of blood test too. (poking here n there)

krissie - i went to metro n taka n saw the price $163 liao. u bought already?

SY - Aiyo! cannot forget. yeah! u can go mix with cereal.

sleepingdeer
I think my gf got it for me from Guardian. They have different types at different prices.

FYI if u end up c-section, then u cannot do the massage immediately... just thot u shud be aware.

celine
I think Ethan Hawke really popularised the name.

Yvonne
No need to short-list, one name we had it long time ago... the other hb and I still discussing cos did not expect to have twins...hehe...
For the chinese names we asked fil for his opinion, we will not hv the dialect name but the chinese name will sorta be a translation fromt the christian name... easier that way.

hi all- just doing a poll to check if you guys are entitled to one day MC whenever you visit your gynae? coz mine is not the case.

sleepingdeer, me booked rohaya 93863019, i think 7 times for $390, understand tat there is another rohaya 94506374... so fan as to book which one...

SSF,
For my case, my co gave me 2 days extra (Child Care Leave) on the basis that am with the company for 8+ years liao....like the other time when i took Glucose test, felt a bit giddy (coz of fasting from the nite b4) and plus draw blood, so took MC and rest @ home....but MC for every gynae visit is not possible.

mummies - wow! so many mummies got name for bb liao. I only got a chinese name for my bb gal. Wei En (but not 100% confirm cos i thought of going to fortune teller to get names for her leh) Is it a necessary for bb gal?

yvonne - but i have frds who gynae gave MC whenever she visit him. their gynae find ample rest is impt during pregnancy. but mine doesn't. so does that mean, you take leave whenever you visit your gynae? for me, my job is flexible and my boss is nice. so i just go away half day and return to work thereafter. btu was thinking if i ever change to another job for my next kid, i may change to another gynae.

rena,
i hv not taken any placenta test so far and gynae also didn't mention that i'll be going for such tests. What's it for?
Also, thanks for ur advice on beef but my bb is already big enough! at 29 wks was 1.4kg. So i scared that bb will be too big considering i'm small-sized!

sleepingdeer,
do u know where does Rohaya stay? i haven't booked my massage lady yet...coz my frenz said can actually call after i give birth.

SSF,
no i never got MC for visiting gynae before!! mabbe coz i visit gynae in the evenings so it doesn't affect work hrs?

SSF, yes, i take leave everytime for my gynae appt. Even my co oso dun hv "time off" kind of benefit (so everytime will go in the morning and back in the afternoon for work).... =(

Hello
sneak in to chat a bit

sunny
i saw dr brown bottles in metro compass point before i think.

rena
do take care and rest well...

oh ok so not me only. just find it difficult if to take leave for every visit. leave is so precious when you are pregnant

rena, i have not gone for any placenta test either. normally every scan, gynae will tell me the position of my placenta. initially it was quite low..now its ok. and once it move up, my gynae said it will not move down back. i know low placenta most likely have to opt for c-sect.

SSF,
my gynae was from KKH so MC not easy to give. but I opt for the evening visits when I was at KKH therefore so far taken very few days of leave. now he is in pte practise and he opens a night clinic at bishan so also very convenient. only detail scan need to go to hos, then take leave.

dear mummies,
can I check if anyone of you have a paediatrician in mind and is going to use him/her when the baby is born? normally the gynae will recommend one that he or she has frequency worked with, is that right?

SSF
I dun ask for MC cos I usu leave office about 45 mins before KO time to go see gynae. So far I asked for it once and she gave to me.

sunny
I think I have seen them at Robinson's...

Hi Durianlover,
no idea where she stays, but think distance is not a concern to her... she did ask me where I will be doing my confinement though...

I heard if the massage lady you want is popular, then better book before you deliver

Yvonne,
me too, take leave when I go see gynae during weekdays... he did ask me once whether need MC, but I already take leave liao.

For my case, I need to clear all leave by end of year, if not it will be forfeited.. so now I still have 10 days left till December to clear! Just use it for gynae appts, and a few days leave here and there...

Remember that sometime ago I asked about yellowish discharge? Still having them leh. Watery but yellowish. Not really foul smelling except at the end of a long day. Called up my gynae's office and the nurse say it is common and shouldn't be a concern unless it's causing itchiness. Anyone of you also having yellow discharge? I dunno whether should go see doctor or not.

Hi SSF,

I will take time off got gynae visits as they are scheduled in the mornings. After that, I will take afternoon leave to go out or home to rest as HB does not go back to work either.

Gynae does not give me MCs for the visits.

stylobb,
ya i think so too. coz the only Ethan i know of is Ethan Hawke!

mongs,
ya mine was recommended by gynae's clinic. usually gynae will work with a few PD. unless u have someone else in mind.

confusedgal,
wow, another "En". Maybe we should update the list and include our bb's name, both mandarin and english. then we shall see wat are the popular names. keke...

all - better not to book ur massage wraps too early as if you are doing a c-sect. it is not recommended to do a massage. so u may want to book after delivery since we dun know if we have to go for c-sect.

queen - yeah i have discharge too but it does not smell and not that much.

zhimin,
thanks .. now I am really resting and using the laptop on bed.

Durian lover,
The placenta test is just like a a machine that testes the heart beat of the baby.. but very expensive.. furthermore I am not working therefore feels the pinch.

Seems like so many of our babies are using 'en'. We are thinking of 'en' too .

After our birth, let do a meet up so that we may keep in touch and advise each other on baby care.

SSF,
Me have been taking MC for my gynae visits... I asked for it coz i tell her so i can save my annual leave n she gave, never question leh. = P

I was thinking we should all post our BB photos after birth with the name n nick and you'll never know 10-20 years down the road they may realised they "knew" each other even before they were born!! That'll be so fun oh....

Just back from my check up. Everything is fine with baby. She's about 2kg at 31 week and gynae says she's expected to be about 3kg at birth, a good weight. Head and tummy size average but has long legs.
Gynae joked that no question where that comes from....... (Cos my hubby is very tall - 1.85m) Hee Hee. Actually my elder gal Ashley was born of normal weight and height but has since grown so much. So mummies of small size babies, don;t worry. There's always time to catch up.
For me i thank God that despite my hubby's big size, both gals are of average size at birth - make it easy for me to deliver

Put on another 0.5kg since last visit, makes it a total of 7kg till date.

Hi Krissie,

Hang in there. Once you deliver, everything will be ok. For me it was a blessing in disguise. It was initially very itchy on the tummy area and i thot i have stretch marks. Was very upset but gynae says it was not stretch marks. As time pass, it gets itchier and marks redder. I was convinced it's stretch marks despite what the gynae says. But after i gave birth, the rashes was gone and i was clear of SM
Just that during confinement where we cannot bath, turn on aircon etc - the itch and rashes may take time to clear.

Hi Celine,

I will start the ball rolling. My gal's name is Megan, Ying3 Xuan1.

hi all MTB,

have not been in this thread for very long..so many posts to catch up.

was very busy at work recently..trying to clear as much work as i can before i go for ML.

Btw, any of you feel very crampy..i been feeling that since yesterday and bb was very active this few days. Even in middle of the nite like 2-5 am..still can feel the movement.

and everytime when i rest on my bed, i feel so difficult to get out from the bed....feel the my pelvis is aching..

so scare that he will come out early.

queen
I do have the discharge but no smell.
If u are concerned, u tell gynae and he may do a test to see if ok. I did that last time when I was preggie and the results were nothing.
No itch right??

clare - so nice of your gynae. yeah i know some are very flexible and its a blessing yours is like one. yeah will surely keep updating after myu delivery since i be home and my mum hse has broadband

ya queen have you done the strep b test?

mongs,
yup i think gynae will recommend a PD that they usually work with. But for me i'll prob stick with one that my frenz send their kids to. Apparently he works in CCK, quite near my place.

sleepingdeer,
can share how much does Rohaya charge for the massage?

queen,
yes i also have yellow discharge since long time ago. But not causing any discomfort or itch so i don't bother. Thought it's normal??

rena,
oh so the placenta test just shows the heartbeat of baby?? gynae does that for me during every visit! basically can hear bb's heartbeat plus monitor to see if it's normal. Nothing much one. Mine's part of package.

ETHAN
I chose this name for my son cos both hubby & I liked the meaning. Realised only gals of our generation heard of Ethan Hawke. My hubby dunno who that handsome actor is. Haha! Din know it is getting so popular nowadays. Yah...thot it sounded like "eaten". Kekeke. But hor....can't tink of any other better names after mths of brainstorming leh.
My mum wanted us to use the chinese word "EN" also but found it too girlish for son. So probably will be keeping it for daughter next time lah! So many "EN"s around too. Getting very common nowadays.

Yuki,
Ying3Xuan1 is a nice name for gal.

yesterday i went giant, bought lactacyd. 2 bottles with 1 small bottle cost $22+. consider cheap?

then bot a pack of s size pet pet at $8+.

Rena,
I beginning to wonder what's with this word En? How come sooo many parents are using it for their kids!! keke... Well, anyways, it must be EXTREMELY nice meaning, since so many pple are using it. won't go wrong! haha

Think maybe Ivory can help us to update in the list. add another column for bb names. hopefully ivory is free and will read the postings. or does anyone know how to update that list?

i personally haven't confirm the name for my boy. hoping to get some inspiration here.keke...