(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Oily
are you referring to the gift for the older kids since he is going to be kor kor ? I will get toys. My daughter still praise my son for being so clever and bought her favourite care bear for her.

Esther
ha ha I will pass on Thomas this year. Last year we went. Not much action so cannot realli keep Aden still.

Hi Oily & Rachel

thanks for the recommendation on Esplanade for Children's Day ... we enjoyed ourselves so much and it's really worth going, some are good but some not so, but for my older, he enjoys all 4 of them n the didi enjoys himself more on his own this yr. Now I'm thinking of going again over the weekend for those that was not on yesterday ... also now that we can borrow AV materials, we raided the library there and got 7 back... any idea if we can returned them in any other lib or must we go back there?

Oily, get something that can last a while n where your son can play with the baby eventually. I've got a wooden domino set that he still remembers that it's a gift from the didi n they are now playing it together ... I brought to the hospital n gave to him there.

Esther, my 2 boys slept in their room since I "kicked" the younger one out 2 yrs ago ... our doors are open and they can walk over if they need, which my younger still does. he prefers our bed ....

.ky.

KY,

Does that means both the kids and you guys do not turn on the aircon? Coz I'm trying to prepare mine to sleep in their room by themselves and we all sleep with the aircon turned on.

Now I'm trying to figure out the best arrangements as there are quite a few concerns..like if they cry in the middle of the night, wake up and do funny things in the room...etc etc

esther

ya, we don't on the aircon ... on hot nights, we'll on the one in boys' room for 3 hrs and btw the time we sleep, we'll open their door and on their fans for them.... want to on ours but by the time we sleep, the breeze is there and there's no reason to on, but our kids know how to open doors so open or close doesn't matter to them.

.ky.

morning mummies... TGIF!!!

Today marked my 1 mth without maid. Still surviving! hee...although the hse is not as clean and dust free as it used to be. anyway the PT cleaner coming tis afternoon. i am always happy when she is finally here. i am quite a "Jie Pi" and the hse must be always clean. aha...hb always say i have cleanliness disorder.

mashy - saw the Thomas and friends ad on papers yesterday. i was trying my best to show hb the page without having my kids to see. haha...we went to the one last yr in expo and the boys enjoyed it. but honestly, i find it too ex for kids. one whole family can amount to 100 plus. after catching JUMP with hb recently, i think i rather spent on our shows. haha...did anyone catch JUMP? it was really hilarious and good.

Esther,
My 2 boys are sleeping together already. It so happened that E who slept with us since birth, wanted to join didi in the boys room. My hb was agst the idea as didi does wake up crying for milk & we were worried that might affect E who has to wake up early for school. But I told him if we don't do it now, it will be harder to "kick" E out of our room next time. Now, they have adapted to each other "cries". Sometimes, when B woke up crying, E will console didi "its ok, gor gor here" or "mummy will come in soon, dun cry". But there are times when he is in a bad mood & will shout back at didi to "KEEP QUIET!". Hahaha. We normally leave their door ajar.

Oily,
We bot E a toy set & till now he still remembers its from didi. My mum asked E to choose a soft toy from his collection to give it to didi on their first meeting. So, it was like a gift exchange thingy.

KY,
For AV discs, I think u can return in other NLB branches.

SSF,
Well done! So, its still do-able without a maid n 2 boys huh? Your mum does the cooking or its tingkat dinner? Its been ages since hb & I go out for any shows. Where is JUMP showing? Will suggest to my hb....I want a break!

ssf

jump should be pretty nice. I watched 'Cookin' many yrs back and it was really good. find that many of the korean prods are very gd. Dun never need to know their language to understand the show.

I've been pretty pampered in my previous job coz got a lot of complimentary tix to watch movies, musicals, shows etc. Now become a bit more ngiao coz last time all watch free. haha. even go zoo, bird park, sentosa all free. Now tell me to pay to go a bit heart pain but what to do.

SSF
good job for doing without a maid thus far! I think as the children grows older it'll get more manageable

I got my hb to buy the Thomas and Friends tickets yesterday. It'll be my boy's first time to such a show! Wonder what will his reaction be...but can only tell him closer to the date, if not he thinks we will be going sometime soon!

esther
jh sleeps by himself now. he always want to on aircon and my hb also need to on aircon. so i leave the doors ajar a bit. but it's not a problem cos if he wakes, he can open the door himself. only problem is he always dun close the door and all the aircon will be 'wasted' haha. and i can't imagine my utilities bill cos both rooms aircon

SSF
good job! i also feel like doing without a maid. my new one not fantastic. very forgetful and she tells me it's cos of the contraceptive pills she took. is there such a thing? i dunno. and yesterday finished all the bread and din tell us and jh brings bread to sch for lunch nowadays! so jh had nothing to bring today and got to ask teacher to buy mcdonald's for him....arrggh.

sleepingdeer
in the day, sometimes hb can put her to sleep but not at night. she needs to latch longer to fall asleep now and sometimes daytime is worse. i spend 20 min trying to unlatch her...i m like glued to her or rather only the nipple is glued to her haha...i will be trying to unlatch, she will cry then latch again then unlatch and we repeat the whole cycle until she dun cry. terrible hor.

re show
it's been a long time since i watch anything! not even movies...i used to watch musicals etc but hb dun like + with kids even harder...miss those days.

anyone going for ACT 3 hol prog workshop? thinking whether to sign jh up. they have some prog on Sun also that looks interesting

http://www.act3international.com.sg/eblast/sept09guffalo/eb_guffalo.htm

Re. No more co-sleeping!
Just when I was thinking about this last week, you girls are talking about this...

I have been sleeping with Matthew in the kids' room while Isaac with my HB in our bed... decided that enough is enough and I want my bed back sans Isaac. I finally got Isaac to sleep in his own bed the last 2 nights BUT he would only do so if my HB room in with him as well. So poor HB had to sleep on the floor... told my HB to tahan till Isaac is used to sleeping in his own bed and he can try leaving the room once he is asleep.
Heheh... now the boys and my HB are rooming together and I have MY own king size bed to myself. My HB would even bring Matthew to me for middle of the night feed instead of me having to pick up Matthew!

KY,

If the air con is not turned on, it makes it alot easier for me too . Unfortunately I cant sleep without it .

Wenyl,

I agree with you that they have to learn to put up with each other sooner or later. I used to worry about either's crying that will wake one up. But 1 month ago, I decided to just let them sleep in the same room. Its working out well but my helper will be going back in Jan and I am hoping not to get another one.

Therefore, I'm trying to work out an arrangement that is safe for them to be sleeping alone in their rooms.

SY,

Yes, I was thinking of either leaving the door ajar a little but then its a waste of electricity so still searching for the best solution

esther,

how abt using a baby monitor if u don't want to leave ur door ajar? For me, our doors are closed but the kids' door ajar, so that at least either my helper (in the next room) or us can hear them. If not, in the worst scenerio, B's cries will wake E up & E will come calling for us. :D

Esther, was about to suggest montior too. actually, like maid, aircon is a habit. we don't on aircon as a habit and everyone in my house is used to that, but recently when we on for a couple of nights, K would asked for "aircon for a short while" (change of habit) ... n btw, he comes over every night but I really can't tell what time he comes over coz we are so dead tired each night ...

oily, tx for the info on free concert ... that's the beautiful sunday series. we went before n the music was lovely ... hm, but the timing's pretty late this time at 5pm, but we'll still go if we can ...

.ky.

the free concert looks interesting. Think C will be interested. U know, he watches operas & orchestras on okto? He's actually mesmerised by it.

Wonder if it's crowded, esp since it's free? Anyone knows?

wenyl - my mum doesn't cook for us..only for the boys' porridge. i told her no cooking. hb or me will normally buy back dinner. JUMP is a play which was showing in esplanade. its no longer showing now. its by a group of very talented korean casts. funny too!

mashy - they actually hardly talk. if they do, its also in english. its their actions actually which are hilarious. i like it when they have a scene like a rewind action. it was all done so real like on tv when u pressed the rewind button. super hilarious esp when they did the slow motion thingy. yeah i agreed that the tixs are so ex! its almost sold out for the cheaper ones so we ended up with the most ex seats and i paid close to 200 bucks for 2 tixs but it was really worth it!

mamachan - my 2 boys saw the ad on tv and keep asking us to buy tixs. so bad hor those ppl who purposely have it on tv esp during prime time. haha...

sy - eh why is ur maid eating contraceptive pills? we just brought our 2 boys to watch "cloudy with a chance of meatballs". both of them enjoyed it except for J who fell asleep halfway thru the movie. we watched it at downtown east Cathay and we only paid for 2 tix. they aren't very strict. in fact not many ppls are watching. i think cathay more flexible with tots.

Mashy, there'll be ushers n yes, though it can crowded. We sat on the circle seats usually btw we were there ...

SSF, I wish we can go for shows too but noone to babysit the kids ... in fact, we rely more on watching DVDs at home with or without kids ....

Want to find out, if u receive a toy as a birthday present that doesn't seemed to work/clueless how to work, do u go back to the giver and ask how to work or say that it doesn't seem to work? what do u expect the giver do?

.ky.

ky

i doubt the giver will know how it works either coz usually they'll just buy. Think if it doesn't work, can just dump it lor. Coz no pt embarrassing that giver. I think i dumped/donated dunno how many toys & gifts.

I also bought and gave some gifts, not knowing that the batteries expired and cannot put in new batteries. Only when i went over and saw the gift, then they told me that it didn't work. So paiseh.

Sleeping in own room: During the Jun sch hols which was my term break as well, we started C sleeping in his own room. He kept going on abt being a boy boy & so we took the opportunity to tell him big boya sleep in their own room. The routine wld be to read to him, lights off & then chat in the dark before he dozes off.

He used to sleep on his own toddler bed in our room but we moved it over to his room where he has been sleeping on his own since June. However, he wld sneak over in the wee hours sometimes and ask for aircon when he climbs into our bed.

Thomas show: A good fren of mine booked got us the tics as well. We'll be going on 6 Dec 11am show (I think).

We are planning to upgrade the furniture in his bedroom (upsize the his bed to a super single one, wardrobe, book shelves, etc). Started shopping on Sat...hopefully all to be done up before his 4th BD

re; sleep in own room

gd at least ur kids sneak back into your room. My boy just opens his room door and cries for us in his room. But anyway now my hb's sleeping with him while i sleep with mei mei. So think we can only move them to their rooms after we move to a new place.

Mashy ... I'm the giver in this case n I find the close relative which I got this gift for is rather inconsiderate. no more gifts for his kids next time, at least $$ wouldn't go wrong ... haiz.

.ky.

ky

well, there are pp like that. Just forget it. It's the thought that counts, doesn't it. It's not like u deliberately gave a faulty gift. For me, altho i put in much thought in the gift, it just didn't turn out right. So hehe, better luck next time.

Maybe the relative was hoping that u kept the receipt and can go and exchange with the store?

Mashy - Haha...your C will cry from his room. Somehow I am quite tuned to my C waking up. Even with my bedroom door ajar or closed, I can hear him go "Mummy?" followed by his feet touching the floor and then pitter patter over to open our door & climb up the bed. He wld usually get up at abt 5am to come over. After that. he wld be snoring beside me.

Megan's toddler bed is a white elephant. She finds it too hot. She is now sleeping on the LG rubber mat and she likes it. Daddy will sleep on a mattress above her, Duncan in his cot and me myself on the queen bed. This will probably change when we move house. Thankfully for me, Meg and Duncan can sleep through each other's cries but lately Duncan has been waking Meg on purpose when he wakes up in the morning. He will shout at Meg from his cot 'there there there' (ie jie jie) and jump in bed to wake her up.

esther
if air-con is a MUST HAVE, then a monitor will be a MUST HAVE too in this case =p like what ky mentioned, it's a habit. if this habit can be change, that'll be great. can save lots on electrical bill!

devan was 'kicked' out of our bedroom since he hit 7 mths and moved into the boys' room. initially did worry about their cries disturbing each other but as dylan was quite a pig once he fell asleep, didi's cries seldom woke him up. so now, they have been sleeping partners for 2mths. a cute sight to see them sleeping side by side, dylan on his single bed while devan in his baby cot.

we seldom on air-con, expect for very warm nights. normally we will leave their door ajar and on air-con for an hour or two then switch to fan through the night.

Tracie,
damien's toddler is also a white elephant...I still not able to make him sleep on his own bed..till now he still co-sleep with me. HB is sleep on another mattress while Duncan is in another room...and this duncan will come and sleep with us on every fri and sat.

tracie & BP - hi5! C's ikea bed is also a white elephant. haha...it's totally a waste of money. he refuse to sleep on his bed even though it was placed in the masterbed room. any mummies interested? haha..we still ended up with 2 tots and my hb on the bed while i sleep on the floor. haiz!

SSF
don't give up hope! I think it'll be a matter of time for them to get adjusted eventually. I think they will be more rational and accept the fact that they are a big boy/girl when they turn 4 next year.

Our main problem is that we have to accompany D till he falls fast asleep before we could leave the room. He generally sleeps in his own room, co-sharing it with my helper but on separate mattresses lah.

SSF
will it help to put the bed in a different room? like mamachan, i will stay with jh until he falls asleep. sometimes at night he will come to my room to look for me. the good thing is that he is very insistent in sleeping in his own room now. sometimes when i m very tired i will tell him to just sleep in my room when he wakes at night. he will still make me go back to his room though.

but last time when he sleeps in our room on a mattress, he always wants to sleep on my bed!

Mamachan/Sy/SSF,
same with S, she sleeps on her own but we stay with her until she falls asleep. I dun know whether its lucky or not, but when she wakes up at night, she will go 'Mommmmmmmmmmmmmmy' from her bed, and I will need to hotfoot over to her room, but probably since young we have never really let her sleep in our bed, so she doesnt have a habit at all to wanna snuggle in with us. The baby on the other hand, loves sleeping squashed up between me n hb, and I hate it! We generally put her in her cot for night time, but when she wakes up its a fight sometimes to put her back in the cot.

I think insistence is key, we made a mistake and we let L sleep on our bed once or tweice and now she knows! She knows that if she wail long enough, there's a alternative to sleeping aloone in her cot, so have to retrain her again... bad mistake haha...

Oh I dream of the day when I get a undisturbed night's sleep... haven't had that in like 4 years....!

mamachan/sleepingdeer/sy - the ikea bed is very small and it doesn't help that C likes to move from 1 end to another in the middle of the night. in fact both kids also same pattern. they fell off the bed numerous time...luckily now we padded it with mattress all over. my 2 boys simply do not sleep early. even when the lights are dimmed, they would be jumping on the bed, walking all over and not sleep until 12 midnight. how to make them turn in early har? i am sorta losing sleep these days...with only 6 to 7 hrs daily since i need to rise and shine to prepare the morning stuffs. can be annoyed at times with the boys to sleep early. haiz. any tips? so even if we made them sleep then go to bed, it be late too and next is to worry he will fall off the bed.

mashy - even though i get a thomas bed, i betcha it be the same too with C. when i bought the bed, he promise me he would sleep in it. haiz!

SSF

hehe, maybe just switch off the light? Bet they can't jump ard when it's pitch black. :p

My hb sings songs with my boy in the dark till he falls asleep. Perhaps that help? And C does all the jumping on the bed before lights off.

My boy also rolled all over the bed but so far hasn't fallen off the bed.

SSF
Personally, whenever I see D jumping up and down on our bed, I would tell him sternly not to do that as bed is meant for sleeping, not jumping/playing. So when it comes to bedtime, he hardly jumps up and down on his own bed, coz he wouldn't dare. We would stay with him in the room till he falls asleeps. He never really tried walking around in his room when lights are off. But we can be in the room with him for 1hr - 1.5 hours!! He would always roll around in his bed, kicking his leg against the wall and do all the funny things. For me, I will always nag him to "When sleeping, no more moving/scatching/talking/ and close your eyes and relax. There are times where he gets us quite frustrated that we would tell him, "Mummy/Daddy will go out of the room now since you don't want to sleep". He doesn't like that and goes ,"No no no, Mummy/Daddy make sleep". I feel bad having to threaten him like this but sometimes we are at our wits end.

Now my hb is ambitious to say let's train him to fall asleep on hiw own without us having to accompany him. I think it can only happen when he's 4.5 - 5 years when he's ready.

sleepingdeer
my sentiments exactly. i can't remember when is the last time i had a good night sleep. when the kids stir i jump up from bed immediately thinking they will wake..really mad i think....

mamachan
hee i do the same thing to jh also. sometimes when he refuse to sleep i will tell him i will go out of the room. he has the same reaction as D. and usually he will sleep after a while. or i will tell him i go and drink water etc then leave him alone and hope he will fall asleep. but that seldom work unless he is really tired out.

i m going to start another BP for an interesting product for kids. but just wan to check out interest first. if any mummy interested to take a look, can check out my blog or PM me for the link.

SSF,
I know what u mean. 2 boys monkeying around & taking ages just to fall asleep. I have to witness this twice everyday! Sometimes I get so "pekchek", I've got to scream & threaten to leave the room. Like what Mashy suggest, u should just tuck them in & turn off all the lights. They wun not be able to wander too much in the dark. The most a few knocks & they will learn their lessons not to move around too much. What time do u normally turn them in? I know for my boys, if I lights off at 9+, they will only fall asleep around 10+. If I turn them in at 10, they will only zzz at 11+. So, I try to tuck them in b4 9.30pm everyday.

Mamachan,
I also want to train E to sleep on their own. Sometimes I will try to excuse myself n tell him wait in bed, don't move until I come back & I will take my own sweet time to go wash the milk bottles or go toilet. When I go back to his room, sometimes he would be fast asleep liao. Hehehe! But it only works when he is very tired.

mamachan/wenyl

haha, the threat works wonders. It works on my boy too. Just tell him we're leaving the room and letting him sleep alone and he'll listen immediately.

Wenyl
sama sama, we will lights out by 9.30pm but we'll be in the room by 9pm reading through his chinese materials from Berries/storybook of his choice.

With regards to excusing myself to go to the toilet/do other things...he picks that up from us and after a few days, he'll start to have excuses like I want to go toilet, I want to drink water, etc etc....aaarrrggghh!

I noticed that on days that he doesn't nap, he sleeps very fast when it comes to bedtime and can sleep through for a good 10 - 11 hours. Nowadays it's so difficult to make him nap in the afternoons.

SSF,
Meg also sleeps pretty late, earliest is 1130pm. She must watch 3 episodes of Tom&Jerry before she sleeps. So I leave the t.v. on for her and Duncan then I just go to bed. They will fall asleep on their own then in the middle of the night I'll wake up to switch the tv off. Duncan will stay in his cot watching the tv and jus doze off. Duncan's easier. if I wan him to sleep early, I'll just need to switch off the lights and tv and he'll jus doze off. I can't do the same to Meg.

Mamachan,
Meg still needs to nap 2-3hrs a day otherwise she'll turn into a monster at about 8pm! She will be too tired and she won't even turn in early. The most is 10pm, and that is after throwing a huge tantrum like crying from bishan to ponggol.

Tracie
o i c... wow. in order for D to sleep by 10.30pm (lights out by 9.30), he must take an early nap i.e. 1.30 - 2pm and he'll sleep from a range of 45 min, most of the time 1hr record time is 2 hours. If usually if we make him nap at 3.30pm I rather not let him nap. coz by the time he officially fall asleep, it would be 4 plus. then we'll have headache at night.

Let off some steam now:

Some time back I ordered ON tees & shorts for my niece. Her mum let her wear the tees to sleep at night. I was offended as the tees were meant for going out. After that, I swore off buying exp clothes for her.

We recently went to HK & HB sugg buying a Minnie Mouse pink tee from Disneyland for her. Not exp for a tee ($30) but not cheap to wear it to sleep leh! I smiled when I saw her walk out of the bedroom this morning with the tee crumpled & all. Obviously, she slept in it!

This was what I told my hubby when he picked out the tee for her in HK :" She's gonna wear it to sleep anyway..." I am not so heartpain cos HB paid for it!

sysac

hehe, maybe she likes it so much that she wore it to sleep?

I bought a set of Thomas PJs (I think they're PJs since it's long sleeves and long pants but they look nice enough to go out) for C recently. He loved it so much that after wearing it, he refused to take it off in the morning.

So who knows, maybe your niece loves it so much that she wore it to sleep.