(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Mashy,
sorry, been very busy these few days, will email to you tonight, can? I haven't measure yet, have to go home and do it, hee hee. If the gals can't wait, then you can go ahead and process your orders first, it's ok

Krissie,
lucky you, if your friend giving you a cot and playpen, then 1 less problem... I think I will settle the baby cot/s first then see how, whether need playpen later or not. Hope bb is not fussy and can sleep in cot. I remember when I was small, I also slept in a baby cot until I was about 3, so hope bb like me

mashy: but we dunno the nurses until we give birth there?

krissie: your bro so nice, but ask him to sponsor cot after a few months lar. If baby dun like cot, can ask him to sponsor pram/car seat..:p

hi all..my frds' babies are all sleeping on the mattress after 5 mths..so it may not be necessary to buy a cot. They are saying the cot is too high and when they can twist and turn and sit up, it is not safe to put on the cot. they may fall off. moreover, cot can be crampy at a later stage.

i am getting my cot from my frd and for now, will need to buy pram and those plastic drawers to store for baby's clothes. even baby changer is also not required they said. place on the bed with a waterproof bedding is better. more comfy and not so crampy.

hi MH
my friend delivered at Mt A last month said that for car park, we just need to pay $5 for the whole day parking. in/out unlimited.

from last saturday's experience, i don't have good impression on TMC, too. will discuss with my hb if we still wanna spend time to tour TMC or not....

and another thing i noticed is that Mt A seems to be more nurses than TMC. haha....

I think i felt my bb kick me. How does a bb kick feel like? I felt a thump on my left belly. It didn't feel like gas or anything i've experienced before. And it happened just once. Is that my bb kicking me?

i think mt A and TMC both has its pro and con...i think TMC is more private, car park is vallet..just pass the keys they will park.

mt A, car park bigger ..but must walk a distance to ward. and mt A charges are more ex than TMC based on a newspaper cutting recently.

hi mashy...just today. i am feeling slight sharp pain sometimes. not sure if that is a kick but my symptom and urs is different
anyone experience the same too?

SSF

This one didn't feel painful. just a thump. I've been having sharp pain once a while. Even groin pain. But this one's different. It's not painful.

<font color="0000ff">mashy...</font>
really? u felt the kick? me still feel nothing... everyday only feel the expansion pain... sometimes pain much more intense i reall get a bit worried.. but at least with the expansion pain i noe the bb is growing lor

ivory

i also dunno whether it's bb kick or not. Just felt that it's different. Not my usual kind of pain. Any mothers can enlighten us here?

hi ssf
do you remember which day's newspaper? my gynae's nurse said that TMC no longer that cheap leh, 'cos recently they increased their price already. and they said Mt A's nurses more patient.

mashy
how many weeks are you? me 15 weeks + liao, still can't feel a single thing from bb except some expansion pain on and off....

sunny

I'm 14 weeks. Maybe coz I'm half lying down on the bed when i felt it. They were saying u'll be more conscious of it if you remain very still and quiet. I'm like on bed the whole day liao. Got some bleeding today again, so decided to stay in bed.

SSF, im cuurently 4mths and my bump is pretty obvious... they are al saying its a ger...haha apprently for boy, the bump doesnt show tat soon...

think as the bump gets bigger, the aches reali do accompany them... just started having back pain when tossing to my sides while sleeping... think gota cushion myself well on both sides before i sleep now..hahaha

Mashy, u hav bleeding? u had this before? it must b stressful, i was close to tears when i had 2 bouts of bleeding in my first trim... thought bb was leaving me.. but dun worry, norm once u cross to second trimester, it shld b ok.. rest well, n rem to stack ur feet high on a pillow, or mayb 2...

hi mashy, please take care. it be over soon. i also have some bleeding at my early stage. but have been taking the "an tai" medicine and don't have that problem anymore. do avoid having sex as well.

hi sunny, i cannot remember which cutting is that. it was paste at my gynae's clinic recently. maybe i will take note of the date in my next visit. but it was having like $200 difference in all category including single bedded.

celine, me having back aches too but the bump isn't obvious at all and i'm still below my pre-preg weight.. guess it's due to my old back injury?

anyway, i think epidural is out for me since i have an existing back injury.. heard it'll make it worse..

SSF, are a milk person? pple keep telling me that drinking milk is very beneficial but i juz can't stand milk so am taking calcium pills. maybe it's not enough for me to gain more weight? haha..

no i am not really a milk person. i used to take milk occasionally when i feel like it. but then gynae recently told me must drink 2 glasses per day. so now i drink anmum at night and pop none pill in the morning. ya i am on the light side always so its difficult to gain weight..but to gain like 2kg for the past 4 mths is quite an achievement already. hahaa

sunny: yah, it's $5 unlimited for MAH, more expensive for Gleneagles, and I heard in Gleneagles, there is a limit in times the car can enter/exit?

SSF: maternity packages changes with time...I would still be going back to MAH as my trusted paed is there..

SSF, pup-pup: me still below optimal pre-pregnancy weight...now still under 45kg. More bloating for me this time so can't eat much.

mashy: take care.

M Brainz
Aiyoh...u bleeding ah? Beta rest yah....

As for thumping, stimes it is like a ripple..... 14 weeks and u can feel bb's movement? That's amazing. My first one, only like 23/24 weeks then I feel his movement... macham quite late hor... but later on, very obvious lah....

I hv checked the order, mine is correct...thanks!

Dun know who said about cot too low, no leh, for NBs, u can leave it at the highest level, dun really have to bend, only after several months, then u can lower the cot.
Dun think bbs will suffocate if on mattress lah.... usu they lie on their backs what, and they dun move so much... some mums put their bbies on their tummies... this position u gotta monitor cos they can't turn their heads yet mah.... so if they happen to be face down, then breathing may be difficult so be careful.

SSF
Bb changer not needed lah, waste money only....

styloBB

yah, I've been bleeding on and off. Today seems abit more, so i rest. must be all the shopping i did last week. I think I'm probably going to bleed all the way till delivery.

heheh, maybe coz i wasn't doing anything anyway. Whole day on bed, so can feel. I think if you're working, will need a stronger kick to feel it right?

hi ivory...pls update for me too..thanks!

age = 32 (i am one of the oldest mtb here...)
EDD = 16 Jan
bb gender = not known yet
weeks into = 16
hospital = mt a
gynae = dr douglas ong

hi all...my friend told me that tmc is understaffed so she decided not to deliver at tmc...i am not too sure about this...it also happened that i called up their enquiry line to check about antenatal class but the line was always occupied and a voice message tell you that the message box is full and cannot take it anymore message...when i finally got to speak to the person in charge...she asked me to hold on and i can hear her explaining to someone about the course details...so this makes me somehow feel they are shorthanded lor..sorry i dont mean to bad mouth tmc but just my personal experience...

i read from a book that some mtb can feel the bb's first kicks from the 4th month..5th month onwards the bb's muscles have strengthened and would be able to do some gymnastic feats like somersault!...so should be able to feel the strong movement by then...

hi mashy brainz...have you seen your gynae about the bleeding?...pls take care...must really be a good girl and stay in bed...dont walk around unneccessarily ok...i also had bleeding in my 12th week...my gynae sent me to hospital immediately...so the next few days were strictly rest in bed...only allowed to walk to the toilet...the rest of the time must be lying in bed...after discharged from the hospital another 2 weeks of rest in bed order by my gynae at home...

oinkoink

I've bleeding so often until i mah already. Now i just watch the flow. If it's a lot, then i'll have bed rest. I saw my gynae b4 on this, but cannot find a reason to it. Coz my uterus looks ok, so the bb. Now is suspected of having polyps. Maybe i walked too fast yesterday and broke a polyp? :p

SSF
ya, my tummy also still not obvious yet. i told an auntie that i am nearly 4 mths. she looked very surprised and said i didn't look like. haha....

Mashy,
I thought I felt the baby kick too.
It's a sharp pain (a bit like acute stitch).
Lasted only like 3 sceonds. Then gone liao.
Initially wasn't sure as the feeling is foreign.
But had this instantaneous pain for 3 times liao. Dunno whether it is baby kick leh?

If you are underweight pre-pregnancy, have to put on 12 to 15 kg throughout the pregnancy.
If no appetite, try to have more frequent small meals or some healthy snacks. Eat for the sake of eating loh...as long as got no MS. I'm not underweight by the way, though was initially worried that I actually lost weight in the 1st trimester. Now weight gain is steady lah... I guess.

hi queen i have that same feeling too. not sure if its baby kick. will verify with my doc in the next visit

hi mh
me not sure about gleneagles's car park. :p

pup pup
we have the same EDD!! where do you deliver?

mashy
take good care ok. did doc give you any jab so far?

ssf

me just started making myself to drink milk daily. haha..... and i haven't gained back all kgs that i lost during 1st trimester.... still have about 2 kgs to gain back to pre-preggie weight. i guess that's y i still can fit in my skirts.

Hi Mashy,
do take care. I was also bleeding in first trimester, so scared everytime it happens. Everytime see the blood, start to panic.

SO fast can feel bb movement! It must be a fanastic feeling huh? Hubby and me always wonder whether bb is ok inside, cos we can't see or feel anything. Sometimes, hubby will place his ear on my tummy, if he can hear bb heartbeat, then he'll be very happy. If he can't, he'll be gan chiong and ask me whether bb ok or not? Aiyoh, how I know right?

SSF,
I also felt some sharp pain a few days ago. Was monitoring, and it stopped after a while, probably uterus expanding...

Thanks gals!

Sunny
had 3 jabs before already. Ouch! It still continued bleeding after that. Now 2nd trimester thought would have gone away, but still there leh.

My hb also tried to listen to bb heartbeat, but he say very quiet inside. Last time can hear very noisy coz of gastric juices. Now like suddenly so quiet. Maybe I'm growing too fat and insulating the noise inside. :p

hi mashy
would that b because of your food intake? did you take any liang stuff?
my colleague had jabs every 1 or 2 weeks since 1st trimester till now. she's about 15 wk + liao.
think you need to really rest a lot and don't walk too much.

hi queen...hi ssf...if that is true...then i also have felt it before...its like twitching...and lasted for only 1 or 2 sec...so amazing hor!...will be seeing my gynae tomorrow...will verify with him...

hi mashy brainz...its good that you still can joke...very positive attitude...keep it up!

anyone having small red rashes on your stomach?...it has been getting worse lately...the little pimples dont itch...just red...can i put medicated cream on it?

oink

what medicated cream is it? Better check the box to see whether it contains anything a preg woman shouldn't be using. I've got itch &amp; rashes. So probably different from yours.

MH / Mashy
I also suggested pram, but he says he wants to sponser cot, coz it's bigger.. so funny, right? Hee hee.. will go ask him again. Ya, he's quite sweet. When I moved in, he sponsered my sofa set.

Sunny
Good to hear the positive feedback at Mt A. Hee hee... will be delivering there. I've yet to visit the hosp.. but hb and I do like the cosy environment.

Mashy
Congrats.. yup.. I think that's bb kicking, coz mine feel the same.
Very exciting hor. But, it's best for StyloBB, MH and the rest to confirm with you. Take care and rest well. Did you call the gynae to tell him, since you bleed qt often?

MH
Who's your paed at Mt. A? Dr Ho recommended me one, but I can't rem his name now.

mashy brainz...just normal medicated cream...think i have dettol antiseptic cream in my first aid box...dont know if can use or not..wa...saw the ingredient list on the box...long list leh..

queen
Me too... never slept in cot either, grew up in yao lan and bed
) I used to yao my younger brother to sleep when he was young.
Dun worry... you Hb will be interested in shopping soon...

Kriss
Ok pls ask Dr Ho and let me know... if we both ask him think he sure "blur", how come ask same qns :p

Anyway I'm gng to see him on Wed!! do blood test as well... hope everything is fine.
Hey any idea is Dr Ho deliverying in other hospital? like TMC?

Wow read that some of the gals already touring the hospital...although I have more or less decide to deliver in Mt A, but I suppose I should still go for the tour to have a feel...

Oh.. but my colleague also deliver her 2 baby there and think no bad... but but during her 2nd baby the room she stayed in Air-con leak water and was not cold at all...
I suppose 2 yr later... the room and air-con should be fixed already

Mashy
Pls take care...
so exciting..can feel baby movement...

For me... cannot feel any movement till now.. even expansion pain also very little..
I get worried sometimes too... no signs at all...
Wed seeing gynae.. hope everything is fine and happy to see bb again

krissie

Your bro older or younger? My bro wants to sell me his bb's stuff! Sigh. Even my church mate offered to give me her bb's sterilizer.

Yah, it's so exciting to feel the bb. Finally feel the reality of the bb. Not just from ultrasound scans.

Oinkoink
better be safe lor. Coz there're some pdts we can't use. Or in some boxes, they've a precaution saying whether preg woman can use or not.

cookie
since u seeing him this wed, can u ask him abt the folic, pls? my visit is 3 weeks later. I asked b4. He only delivers at Mt A. Will also do it at TMC for ligation only

Mashybrainz,
Do take care. Rest more. Do consider 2nd opinion if got prolong bleeding. Better to play safe.

Me went gynae visit today. Very glad that bb grew double size. At 12 weeks, measured 5+cm. Now 16 weeks, measured 10+cm! Most pple still cant tell that i m pregnant cos tummy still small.

Gynae 90%confirmed my bb is a boy. He veli funny, made me confuse for a minute cos after he scan bb, he type the word "ippt" &amp; printed the scan pic for me. Me wondering what medical term is "ippt"
kao_confused.gif
.....until my hubby ask doc whether can tell bb gender, then doc say "ippt" lor. Me still looking blur until my hubby say "bb next time must go for ippt lor! Aiya! Mummy slow leh!" We all burst out laughing!

Decided to go for blood test eventually. It include triple test &amp; antenatal test for the mummy. Gynae say the result of triple test is not 60% false positive. If it is, then he wont recommend liao. He explained that the possibility of false result is only abt 3 out of 10 of those patients tested +ve. Results will be out in a week. Hope the nurse won't call me.

For those who hv not decided btw Mt A &amp; TMC, Here's our observationse after going for their hospital tours on Sat:

- MtA rooms are rather old but they showed us a new wing under renovation. Rooms there are much better but limited beds.
- TMC hospital rooms overall look newer (we were impressed with the VIP suites! Like hotel wedding suite! But of cos, I wont be so lucky to get to stay in those lah! Probably Zoe Tay stayed in 1 of the 2 suites.)
- MtA got more parking lots but not linked to hospital wing. (It was raining on Sat &amp; hubby got to borrow umbrella to drive the car over)
- TMC limited car lots (one outdoor &amp; one sheltered which needs to take car lift). They provide valet service so on the day of admission, hubby can just pass the keys to valet &amp; accompany wife into the hospital immediately.

- Price comparison (based on both 1 bedded room normal delivery for 2days stay),
MtA $1680 (w/o GST) (*Cheaper by $48 only)
TMC $1728 (w/o GST)

TMC has the First Born Incentive (FBI) program which allows further deduction of $100 from room pkg if u sign up for it. FBI card is $128. The promotion for StanChart card holders needs to pay $98 only, has been extended to end of Aug.

I will be going TMC in 3 weeks' time to do the detailed scan. So probably will decide which hospital for me by then.

Wenyl,
congrats! You wanted boi boi or Girl girl?

Mashy,
I email you liao, hope you got it... let me know if you need other info...

Thanx!

sleepingdeer,
Thanks! Actually me &amp; hubby no gender preference, just want bb to be healthy. But last few days, I got the feeling that could be boy. So was curious to find out whether my feeling "zun" or not. By the way, the 2 predicators from website both say gal. So I guess it's not tat accurate.