(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sunny: yup, depends on position too.

mashy: this is your first one right? usually not so soon, maybe around 4-5 months...

sleepingdeer: how about getting a single bed and link it up to your queen/king? Get a side protector to fence off the other side?

Hi Yasmin,
Glad to see u ard! How are you? God Bless!

Confused,
Dun worry, u will be poked only once. They will extract ur blood from a common point.

Thanks, gals! Managed to see the swimsuits on the website liao! Phew! Dunno why this morning see nothing but just 2 designs. Anyway, will look thru & let u gals know asap if I decide to combine shipment. Still trying to figure out on the sizing.

Managed to register myself & hubby for hospital tours tomorrow (Sat) 11am-Mt A followed by 2pm-TMC. Hopefully after tomorow can decide cos i wish to take the antenatal class in the same hospital.

Celine,
Lucky u! Got such a generous MIL. Just inform her to keep some BN for ur post-natal. We need to nourish ourselves after delivery also mah! Dun waste it on ur hubby. kekeke! Dun take weekly cos bb may kanna sensitive skin. My SIL took it mthly & her kid now 3++yrs still got sensitive skin/rashes on body. We guess cld be due to BN.

Everyone....have a good weekend & Rest Well!

Yasmin
Hi hi.. of course can rem you. How are you lately?

Cookie
Ya, 1mg is 1000mcg. But, preggie need at least 5mg? I go check the book for you.. Coz I told Dr Ho that Im taking 5mg of folic everyday, then he says to continue.

Mashy
Dun worry.. bb shld be fine.. I can only feel bb very faintly starting week 16. Now, still very faint.

Berlin
Youre very slim leh.. 70B before preg.. Thanks for the info.. so the chest area ok hor, not too big.. Am afraid that when swimming, if its too big, will be exposed, ha ha.

Celine
U can eat maybe once in 2 mths.. the rest can keep till after u deliver. Its dried, so sure can keep.

Wendyl
So sad.. I thot of taking the bird's nest monthly too.. now must cut down. Maybe will only eat once just to satisfy my craving.. I've been longing for it since I was preggie.

Krissie,
Me too. I love bird nest since young. B4 preggie, I even sound my hubby out must buy more birdnest for me to eat but too bad.... Now got to
nono.gif
control....control...control.
kao_drool.gif

Hi sleepingdeer,

I do get the occasional bouts of diarrhoea too. Remember to take lots of water & fruits. It really helps. I take an 2 apples a day so I do not really get constipated.

Hi Krissie,

The lowest end of cots that I have seen so far was is $239. I think there are cheaper ones but have not seen them. I shopped the major shopping centres and other small shops. In the end, I bought mine at the Kaki Bukit Baby Hyperstore. It was orginally $329 but I paid $299 during the GSS. It's 28" by 52" and baby can sleep till abt 5-6 yrs old.

I am drinking Ensure Milk. Can buy off the rack from NTUC. Gynae says it's good too. I drink the Vanilla flavour. I buy the 1kg tin and leave it in my office and so I make 7 scoops with 600ml of water every morning. At home, I drink a glass of HL milk every eveing too. This is on top of my calcium pills.

Went to Thyme Maternity last week. The nursing bras were going at $55 each and 50% off the 2nd piece. The cotton tops were 2 for $69. On top of that, bought the baby fetal monitor too. This can be used to hear the baby's heartbeat, kicks, hiccups, etc.

morning gals

sleepingdeer n wenyl - thanks for the info. At least now i fang xin liao (knowing that the nurse will poke my hand only once)

sleepingdeer - My gynae is Dr Chew from Mt E. yah! quite sad to hear that he dont delivery at Mt A. No choice lor, i'll go Mt E. i'm afraid to change gynae leh cos i have bad experience b4.
(I find my gynae very gd n patient so i'll stick to him)

how abt u?

Berlin

VPost has changed their charging system. May I know how heavy is your item from maternity Mall? Did they send in a huge parcel? What's the parcel weight?

sysa,
thanks for advise, trying to drink more water now

Confused,
yah, dun worry, one small poke, i always turn my head away, so that I dun see when the needle going in...

Heard good things sbout Dr. Chew, if you are comfortable with him, then stick with him, most important thing is gynae.
My Gynae is Dr. HK Ho, so I'll be delivering in Mt. A. I heard services there are good, though the hospital is a little old.

sleepingdeer - yah! during 1st tri i oso had a blood test n now going agin. *sigh*

Actually i didnt do research on gynae n friends recommended Dr Chew to me. And my 1st failed pregnancy, Dr Chew did the D&C for me. I didnt know Dr HK Ho is gd if not i would have see him already. although the hospital i a little old, its ok so long the nurse n doctor is gd. (i oso like Mt.A) it's extrememly near to my hse. Juz 5 minutes drive.

Sysa
Thanks for the update on cots.. will start shopping for it soon. Still thinking whether to get another cot. BTW, do update us how's the fetal monitor.

Mashy
Oh, they changed to weight? I through away my wrapper liao. That time, we ordered 2 dress and 1 top. It came in a soft plastic envelope. It was ard A3 size if I'm not wrong.

Confused
Ya, most impt is that you're comfy with the doc.

Mashybrainz,
Ya, I saw that they change their charging system. My swimwear is packed into a plastic sealed bag. They indicate the weight as 0.5kg.
Since they change the system, how are we going to know how they packed. The US counter part may packed into a big box and if they go by volumetric weight when actual weight is lesser,then we will "lugi".

Berlin and to other gals...
Recently I also ordered from maternity mall...
For mailing address I indicate my Spore address and for shipping address I indicate the VpostUSA address and maternity Mall never charge me Tax.
My Total bill to pay merchant = Item total + shipping charges only.

There seems to be a little saving on my bill on tax, I wonder if it is the way I indicate my addess.
Just to share so that you all dun have to pay US Tax too.

I feel very guilty now....

hiya...sometimes I get so tired eating out, so just now I had instand noodle (tom yum flavour somemore) for lunch and a couple of days ago for dinner too

so guilty abt not being a good mummy eating all the healthy fodd for BB...

I hope once or twice instand noodle will not hurt bb much.

bluess.....

kriss
oh like that a bit contradicting hor...from Dr Ho.
Just to recap.. I'm take 2 pink calcium pills, 1 dark brown multi-vit pill and 1 Fish oil gel. Are you taking same as me??recommended by Dr Ho.

so confused hor...but Dr Ho told me the Multi Vit contain folic acid so no need to take extra. He even ask me how many more folic acid I left, just finish the left over and stop will do. He said hopefully I didn't bought the 1000 pills pack!!heehee....

mashy
so good your Hb so co-operative about shopping

Queen
my HB opp ley... during scan, he show not much excitment wor. Though he told me "so fast meh, must buy"... but last weekend we were at KK and pass by their retail mall, he is very interested in car seat and pram. Whereas I keep looking at cot. I think to my HB car seat and pram is like a new cool toy...*faint* so he very interested in checking them out...
Oh the price scare me!!... Cot cost $300(up to 2-3 yr old), Pram $299 (up to 4 yrs old), car seat $329 (up to 10yr old)...but if we looking at even out the cost over life span, it's not that expensive.

stylobb
thanks...for info on sugar content for choc.
maybe I should try vallina first then.

Ivory
no need to pass me sample liao.
Last week I went KKH for a talk and receive free tin of milk powder from dumex - Mamil.
I have 2 tins so I think I will try this mamil see if I like it.

Hi cookie
i put both the mailing and shipping address as the vpost usa addrss leh and in the end was being charged tax
well well well..

Girls you all interested in oldnavy stuff? They have maternity too www.oldnavy.com

Hi cookie,
at least your HB is interested in the car seat and prams. Mine is not interested in any of these yet! Think this baby thing is not very tangible to him yet not like when seeing the scans. Yah loh, lots of money to spend on the baby things.

I was wondering whether to buy cot? I didn't sleep in one and none of my younger siblings did. The old method is just the sarong kind or the rocker with netting. Else it will just be a mattress. Seems good enough to me leh...

Hi mashy brainz,
I have replied to your email with my orders.
Hopefully we can get our orders in soon!

Hi Mashy
Think dropped me out from the order this time round cuz i am waiting for my previous order to come to determine my size before i buy more. Sorry for the inconvenience caused. Thanks.

Hi mashy brainz,
Me too already sent u my order via email (think i cc-ed the others too... opps... now everyone knows my cup size....

Etelle,
I think import tax is chargeable if ur purchase hit more than certain amount.

Mashy,
Dun think i will share with u gals this round. Have yet to decide which to buy
so shall nt delay u all. Thanks for the offer!

Gonna see gynae today....so excited can see bb again. Cross my fingers, hope to know gender soon!

Morning everyone!!

Wenyl, SSF, Krissie - hmm... think the bird nest thingie will hav to reali hav to skip mayb twice a mth & pass to HB to eat... lucky him lor... but nvm la, rather than offend someone like MIL rite...hahaha since she b helping me look aft the kid next time..

jus bought my first pair of maternity V pants from Tom & Steph yest
not bad the cut n fit, $39.. quite worth it..

bout the bb cot reali exp.. thot the pen might b beta cos gota buy 2, one in MIL house, the other at own hse... also thot of matress but then , ever see so many news of bb sleeping on matresses and havin incidents, so they always advice to get a good cot... but its all $$$ *blur*

mashy brainz
I already emailed u separately...thanks!

clare
haha...u r funny, nvm lah...

celine
Trust me, a bb cot wud be more useful than a playpen.. me 2nd time mum.... if u really wanna get playpent, get one first....
Since ur mil so nice, dun say anything, just pass to ur hb and it's really no need to take BN regularly.
Hope u will know ur bb's gender soon....

queen
Guess u can use mattress too, but that wud mean getting up and down each time u tend to bb, not v good for your back yah...
Can buy cot and keep for 2nd bb mah....hehe... beta if can borrow....

cookie
This time round for me, I really have no liking for milk, so gotta force myself to take....

Celine

As for me i have oredi brought a baby playpen as baby cot. Cos After that will be letting my baby sleep in Yo Na, as my auntie is taking care for me, no there isn't any purpose to buy baby cot as it kinda EX.

Cos baby don't always sleep, so normally u can put him im the baby bouncer after u have feed him bed. As u can't direct put baby in bed, as they will vomit.

i went for hospital tour without appt last saturday. :p
mt A gave me better impression 'cos they bother to show me the ward and delivery suite though official tour time was over.
for TMC, when i checked with the reception, they just told me the tour time was over and nvr bother to help me further!!! so, i didn't get a chance to see the ward and delivery suite at TMC.

compare to these 2,
for Mt A
- car park has more spaces
- nurses more helpful, even reception staff
- atmosphere more cosy
- traffic more convenient (for self drive)

didn't get a chance to campare the ward and delivery suite..... so, might be going for another tour at TMC.. sigh.

cookie
I'm taking the same as you, plus 5mg folic. But, that's coz earlier Dr Ho prescibed me only 1 30mg iron pill. Then, he asked me to continue my folic. But, I couldn't take his iron, so I changed to the iron multi-vit myself as I had balance stock from polyclinic. I told him during last visit that I'm taking the iron multi-vit and he said it's ok.

I got this from baby centre.

But everyone does agree that you need to take 400 micrograms (mcg) of folic acid a day (in addition to the folic acid you get from food) at least a month before you start trying to get pregnant and during your first trimester. (In fact, since half of all pregnancies are unplanned, the U.S. Public Health Service recommends that ALL women of childbearing age take 400 mcg of folic acid a day.) And the recommended amount goes up to 600 mcg a day once you're pregnant.

That's because research has shown that doing this can reduce the risk of neural tube defects in your baby by up to 70 percent. If you do take a prenatal supplement, it's likely to contain between 600 and 1,000 mcg of folic acid. If you don't take one, make sure you still take a separate folic acid supplement. If you've previously had a baby with neural tube defects, you'll need to take 4,000 mcg, or 4 milligrams, of this vitamin each day starting at least a month before conception; see your practitioner about getting a prescription for pills that provide this larger dose.

So, I think the 1mg of folic in the iron multi-vit seems sufficient. I will check with Dr Ho on my 5mg of folic and let you know.

Celine
What's the accident abt the mattress.. didn't read abt that so far.

StyloBB / MH
My friend's passing me a cot and a playpen. But, since my mum is looking after the bb, I was thinking that I might need 2 cots. So, was thinking of this idea. I'll put the cot with me during confinement. Then, I'll monitor if bb likes sleeping in cot. If he's ok, I'll then buy another cot for my mum's place. Otherwise, will have the cot in my house and playpen at my mum's place. What do you mummies think, pls? Do-able?

<center><font size="+2">January 2006 Babies!!!</font></center>

<center><table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2"><center>S/N</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Mummy's Name</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Mummy's Age</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>EDD</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>BB Gender</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Weeks into</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Hospital</center></font></TD><TD><font size="-2"><center>Gynae</center></font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>prettycloud</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>01-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Jen </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Sysa</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>01-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>17.9</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>Prof PC Wong </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>edd2jan</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>02-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>18.0</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Clare</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>03-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>19.3</TD><TD>Mt A / TMC</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Bao Bao</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>05-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>17.4</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Adrain B. Woodworth </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>krissie</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>06-Jan-06</TD><TD><center>boy</center></TD><TD>17.7</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>queen</TD><TD><center>25</center></TD><TD>06-Jan-06</TD><TD><center>boy</center></TD><TD>17.0</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>taka</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>08-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>16.6</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Dr Kowa </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Pochacco</TD><TD><center>23</center></TD><TD>09-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>17.3</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>el2004</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>yuen yuen</TD><TD><center>34</center></TD><TD>11-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>17.0</TD><TD>KKH / RH</TD><TD>Dr FM Lai </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>babylon</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>12-Jan-06</TD><TD><center>boy</center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>sleepingdeer</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>12-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>celine77</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>14-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>16.1</TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Missy</TD><TD><center>27</center></TD><TD>15-Jan-06</TD><TD><center>boy</center></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A / TMC</TD><TD>Dr Poon </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>confused</TD><TD><center>30</center></TD><TD>17-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Dr SC Chew </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>sunny</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>18-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>wenyl</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>18-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>16.0</TD><TD>Mt A / TMC</TD><TD>Dr CH Koh </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>juliann</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>20-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>pup pup</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>20-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>15.4</TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr Tan Hang Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Min Hui</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>27-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>14.0</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Dr Adrain </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>sychua</TD><TD><center>26</center></TD><TD>27-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>14.9</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr HC Han </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>cookie</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>29-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>14.4</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Curly</TD><TD><center>32</center></TD><TD>29-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>14.3</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>Dr SC Chew </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Celine</TD><TD><center>29</center></TD><TD>30-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>Mt A / TMC</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>tulips</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>30-Jan-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Ivory</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>01-Feb-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>14.4</TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr KW Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>mashy brainz</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>01-Feb-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>14.1</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>gingerale</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>02-Feb-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>13.6</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Cawaii</TD><TD><center>26</center></TD><TD>03-Feb-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>13.4</TD><TD>GHL</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kon Hon </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Jappooh</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>05-Feb-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>13.3</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Dr John Tee </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Etelle</TD><TD><center>28</center></TD><TD>11-Feb-06</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD>13.7</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Muah</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font></TD><TD><font color="ffffff">-</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table></center>

Gals - me jus booked for the hospital tour at mt A (even though i alreadi confirmed going there for delivery)... the sat slot are quite fully booked. so book early if you wan the sat...

Krissie,

wat i gathered was from the newspapers some time ago but not too far off to dwindle fr my memory.. they were saying bout parents leaving kids on matresses and in the end, as they learn to flip n turn, they can roll off the matress or even flip over and soffocate.. the bottom line was to advise parents to get baby cots and not use or share matress wf kids.. tats wat i recalled..

sunny: the hospital tour at TMC which I went 2 yrs+ ago left me with a bad impression, no doubt the rooms may look a bit newer, but the attitude of the staff who explained the charges and bring us through the tour left much to be desired. My husband hate the carpark at TMC and unless u are a 1-bedder, u have to pay for the carpark charges (at least at my time). For Mt A, they give u a carpark coupon for u to travel in and out during the stay.

krissie, thing I do not like about the playpen is that it is very deep, u need to bend quite a lot to reach the baby if u put the baby in the lower mattress. And I think it is not a comfortable as a matress/bed. I think for the time being, u can take this choice first. More economical too.

hi ivory
please help me to update, thanks.
EDD: 20 jan
Gynae: Doc Lee CW

the rest still don't know yet.

MH

Oh, really? I thot they give complimentary carpark to all patients. but i think the reception person may not be reflective of the hospital nurses. think the nurses are more important.

hi ladies, i'm going for my gynae visit today. am hoping to see BB gender.. pray and hope tat BB co-op and open legs.. so exciting.

i forgot which week i'm in now.. shd be 15 weeks.. hopefully can see.. will keep u ladies updated!

Ivory
Thanks again for the update..

Celine
Oh.. i see. I thot that if the mattress is on the flr, shld be ok. Hb prefers cot too.. he says it's safer.

MH
Thanks.. I think some playpens can adjust the level of the mattress higher, so that when bb is small, we don't have to bend so much.. but, I need to check if my friend's one can adjust. My mum also say not so good for us to keep bending as it is bad for our back. My bro says he wants to sponser a cot for me.. hee hee.. so maybe will take up his offer.