(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

yuki
i did the same thing as what ky practiced. dylan picked up this "stupid" word from my dad. on one hand i correct my dad not to say this word to him again bcoz its not good when dylan ever say this word to anyone including relatives or his friends. on the other, me and hubby ask dylan why he say and call people "stupid", he finds that its fun. but we explained to him its rude and the person who call others stupid is a stupid himself. he does not like the idea of being stupid. and so now he doesn't say it anymore.

Hi ky,

Ashley will probably get beaten or shouted at by Megan.......

Megan knows the meaning of stupid. She will said she don't like being call so but will still call others stupid when she 'flare up'.

She learn that word from school cos i never use it on them. But then again i am quite sure it is not from the teachers.

Like yesterday, after the door episode, i sit her down on my lap, eye to eye and told her why it's wrong and ask her if she feel sad that she cannot enter the room. And she said yes. I then asked her if she think Jie Jie will feel that way too since she is trying to shut the door on her. Initially she said no and i ask why, she didn't answer. I press further then she said yes, Jie Jie will feel sad. etc.....

It's always like that - for that moment she will say yes etc but forget the next day........

Yuki

Perhaps you should speak to the teachers and get their support on it? There was once B's teacher came n told me that B scolded his friends "stupid" and "slow". And the teacher would tell him that it's not a good word to use. The teacher should displine the kids with a proper usage of words and not just let it go bcos it did not come from them. Just last fri, in an enrichment class, I heard a P3 boy saying a very very crude hokkien 4-letter phrase and though I did not expect the enrichment teacher to step in to discipline, she should perhaps inform the mother of the child. I was in there bcos it's a trial lesson... We can't watch our kids every move n so with that, I've decided that it's really impt to teach our kids to be able to differentiate right from wrong. Sometimes it very difficult to explain why some other children can do that wrong thing but they can't. So our children should feel that they are able to come to us when they need to ask, or they'll go ask their frens n shut u out.

A 3-yr would not be able to appreciate as much esp being the younger one, coz that's my problem too. But I do see improvement from months ago on K's behaviour. So I guess we just have to keep repeating and repeating. And must remember to do it immediately when the event happens n not do it after, coz their memory seems so short.

.ky.

queen
i remember my 2 kids' sleeping pattern was also very messy during early days, almost made me go crazy. luckily both of them sleep through before my maternity leave ended. *pat pat*

sy
agree with other mummies, it's not about favoritism. for me, i will lecture/scold the one who's at fault. not only to be fair for both, but also want to bring them up with good moral value and behaviour as much as i can.

yuki
if my kids say the 's' word to me, i really don't know what i will do to them.

since she will move away from the naughty corner, how about constrain her at a restricted area e.g. baby cot which she's unable to move away?

i won't use the method like locking the kids up in the room as a disciplinary action, i would rather use cane than locking them in the room.

for my gal, sometimes she can be very stubborn. i notice that if i have a heart-to-heart talk to her when i tuck her in at night, like telling her how i feel about her behaviour during the day, etc etc, the next day, she will behave slightly better.

my friend used another method to cultivate the kids' habit of repentance. every night, she and her kids will stay together in the bedroom, lights off. then, she will light up the candles at a designated corner and they will then pray to God. The kids and her will take turn to say out the things which they have done wrong, why they have done wrong and what's improvement they will make for the following days. After a period of time, her stubborn kids, after doing wrong things, will admit right away that they have done wrong.
i have yet to try out her method, maybe you can give it a try?

can share the sleepsense method? jx is terrible. she can wake 5 times in 4 hours. at 1 year she still can't sleep well. partly my fault cos i dun wan her to cry and wake JH so in the end always carry her and latch her to sleep....

thanks for the assurance. i do pity jh sometimes cos jx is really active and dun sleep so even though i wan to spend time with jh only, it is hard to do so. and when maid is preparing dinner,jx will be crawling all over the place and i have to watch her. and sometimes i stop her and she cries like mad...even my neighbours can hear her cries...

Thank goodness Matthew went back to his normal sleeping pattern last night, which is 3 to 4 hours stretch before waking. I'm grateful for even 2 plus hours of uninterrupted sleep...

Mamachan / Rachel,
I remember Isaac sleeping from 8pm to 3am by about 5 to 6 months. Cannot remember if he wakes as often as Matthew in his early month though.

Sunny,
Wah, both your kids can sleep through by 3rd month? Envy leh!

Re. bad habits
Last evening, my HB broke the front mirror in the car and Isaac said 'F***!'. (Blame my HB, he uses the F-word when he is frustrated by bad drivers, jams etc). I immediately grabbed Isaac's chin and told him not to say the bad word again and he knows it's a bad word cos the first time he said it about 2 months ago, my HB scolded him and said will smack his mouth if he says it again (MY HB - the pot calling the kettle black).
Anyway, Isaac said sorry and whenever he said sorry, I will go soft-hearted.

SY,
I think Sleepsense uses a bit of the 'crying-out' method which I don't really like. I actually bought a book called 'no-cry sleep solution" from Amazon but hasn't really tried many of the suggested ways cos when I'm dead tired in the middle of the night, I just want to use the easiest way to make Matthew sleep. That's to latch or carry / pat and bring to bed.

Mashy,

SY
Then in this case Sleepsense method might not necessarily work for you for JX at this age... coz Sleepsense method employs the controlled crying method... basically it's to assure the child that it's bed-time and to put them to bed but to leave the room....they will start to cry coz they are not used to this arrangement...but the book mentioned to go in every 15 min to assure your child and pat pat her to assure her and then leave the room again...so some people can do that for even up to two hours...but the point of this method is that they learn to fall asleep on their own and when they do, they can actually sleep through the night. The going in part, I think the author did mention to stretch the subsequent times that you go in by 5 min (I think, can't remember already) so maybe first 2 times every 15 min, then 3rd time 20 min later, 4th time is 25 min later... basically DON"T carry! And you have to consistently do this everyday for 1 week to see the results.... I think the online book has got advice for each age-group.

Rachel and myself used this method 3 years ago for both our #1...it worked well for us both lah...

If you and hb are those who cannot take it when your children cry, then this might not be the method for you...esepcially now that JX is old enough, they are persistent...basically the older they are, the more persistent they can get and of course their crying volume is louder.

Mashy
Congrats on the arrival of your princess!!!! And yay to C being a korkor!!

Congrats Mashy!

Homework - C will only get homework during the school holidays. It's revision of what was taught during the term. The only homework he gets during term is the "show & tell" sessions. So far only 2 session of it. Once, was to bring a fruit & describe it to his class. Last well was to bring a fav toy & tell his class why it was his fav toy.

Stupid & wau liao - C picked up these 2 words somewhere at the beginning of the year. He didn't use it on anyone but was rattling if off during bath one day. I was puzzled & asked him where he learnt it from. I can't rem his answer. However, I told him they were not nice words to use. So now he wld go "Stupid is not a nice word? or " Cannot use wau liao?"

I think it is inevitable picking up some undesirable words so we'll just have to explain to them.

Talking about the S word. I oso dunno whether to laugh or be angry. Charmaine is catching on us saying "idiot", "stupid", "shit" and if it is 5 times, we get fined $1.

Then Aden said the "shit" word and Charmaine goes "uh-oh, you cannot say" Then aden says " ok lor, "Da Bian" which is he translate shit to poo in mandarin. Faintz

queen
i used cry-it out method for #1; for #2, this method doesn't work at all. but, amazingly, #2 managed to sleep through earlier than #1. so, just have to try any method which works for you and bb.

re: picking up words
my gal is going to attend childcare tomorrow... hope that she won't pick up so many such words from the peers...

my gal learns the hokkien word 'o-bi-quek' (serve you right) from my in-laws. i kept telling her not to use it 'cos it shows that she doesn't have heart of mercy towards others. then, she kept ask me qn using this word like, 'mummy, we cannot use o-bi-quek hor?', 'mummy, gugu said o-bi-quek leh'. the more i told her not to use, the more she wants to add it into the question.

CL
aden is so funny. haha...

Mashy ... congrats!

Sunny, so sending to the nearer childcare?

I'll say "sheessh" if I want to say the S word ... and cos we try to stop them from saying singlish, K would say "o .... u say la" when he caught anyone of us saying it.

The very crude word I heard the P3 boy said is the private part for guys in hokkien ... that is really crude and I wonder if he knows what he's saying.

I'm getting stressed up over this RIDICULOUS P1 Registration exercise! Yuki, ur side how?

.ky.

P1 registration can be stressful!
imaging my cc's teacher told me last yr the neighbour school which nearest to my house also need ballot!!

CL - Haha...Aden is funny...

Shit - I substitute it with "Shoot" then C wld ask me "Shoot what?" while looking around to see what's there to shoot...

My mum peeped into his room this morning & he was awake, staring at the ceiling. My mum asked him " What are you thinking of?" He replied "Thinking of my milk..."

CONGRATS Mashy!!

Queen,
Yes, Jazmyn can sleep thru the night already. She will sleep at abt 9pm. Will wake up at 3am for milk. But in order to stop her from waking up, I dream-feed her at 12midnight. And good enough, she can tahan until 5am or 6am. So abt there lar, anyway I need to wake up at 6am too. So she is much easier to handle now also.

RE: HFMD
J1's CC got 4 cases already. She is wrongly diagnosed in 2 occassion. 1st, they discover 1 ulcer, ask me to bring home. Went see doc, he say normal ulcer cos no other symptoms. $32 for a piece of certification !!! Yesterday call again, now 2 ulcers. Went home, I checked, normal ulcer lar. Cos no other symptoms thru'out the night so this morning went sch. Teacher say ok passed the test, she will monitor as 1 ulcer gone already. Only 1 left. Somemore J1 very heaty nowadays, too much chocolates and simply dun want to drink water.

ky
ya, sending her to the nearer one, though it's not my 1st choice. kind of upset that i can't send her to the one further.

why do you feel so stressed abt P1 registration? need to ballot?

sysac
your boy is so cute. haha...

may
think the teacher is just trying to play safe bah. wow... $32 for the certificate is expensive leh. you brought her to PD?

May - C also had a tiny ulcer under in tongue sometime back in May. Teacher asked me to bring to c doc to certify that it was not HFMD. As it was so small, the doc told us to wait & see for 2 days. If nothing, go back & he wld gif us a certification. I kept him home & gave him the oral drop. I paid $20 during that visit & he waived off the the fee for 2nd visit.

Hi CL/Sunny

I'm not sure even got chance to ballot or not, and I'm taking abt Phase 2B. 2C sure no hope for me. Chances for 2B almost nil now too. This is ridiculous coz it's not a singapore-wide hot school, just the top neighbourhood school. And ridiculous coz it should be not like that bcos 2003 was a drop in birth-rate n this school has kept same number of intake. But ridiculous is school took in more PVs this year n so far, the applications for the earlier phases are higher than past yrs, n so looks like 2B supply << demand ... And if that happens, this is making history coz for the past 4 yrs, everyone who PV got in. Now, may not even get chance to ballot coz I'm under 1-2 km n perhaps the <1km who PV have to even ballot.

This is really ridiculous. Thot I've done what I can n the rest up to fate ... but sort of still confident coz drop n birth rate mah! Hear that school now conducts interview for 2010 PV. Sheesh ... should have done that. Then at least parents who get turned away will not have false hope.

Now, not thinking of Phase 2C coz everyone in my area all talking abt the nearest school producing top PSLE student n all itchy to try. I'm going to apply for hubby's old school in Bukit Batok ... which I know it's quite a good sch but I didn't want for distance.

.ky.

May - wow 4 cases in the CC! Don't they have to close the sch for cleaning? so u still let J1 attend sch? i used to pay sch fees like 3 mths in a go. but now with the h1n1 and hfmd, i now pay only every mth. quite siong if absent for 1 week. one day absent for C is like $19 bucks.

re:borderlinx
phew! borderlinx has agreed to ship over my replacement goods for free. they said they will take up with DHL. heng mann! hee.. but then now i am not so keen to do online purchase liao. once bitten twice shy. maybe when my good ran out. haha..btw, i read that orchard ion will carry burt bees products when they open on 21st Jul. will check out and do some price comparison but i believe online still cheaper.

May
Maybe should cut down your girl's consumption of chocolates? Seems as though she must be eating alot of that to get ulcers in her mouth.
I've not yet indulge my boy in chocolates accept for the occasional chocolate birthday cakes...

SSF
Hahaha, yah, when they don't go to CC when sick, we will lose out on the school fees... like my boy when he had his HFMD episode last year and Chicken Pox recently...

Hi Ky,

Which school are you aiming for? I went to register for Temasek under Phase 2a2..... should be quite ok.

My sister is still on the lookout for Nan Chiau and she won't know if SHHK will endorse her to qualify for phase 2B or not till Thursday. I guess they have to close today's application under phases 2A2 to know how many they can recommend etc.......

It was quite quiet when i went for the registration yesterday.

Saw a yaya papaya man there in school thou. He march in and declare that he belongs to a school advisory board etc and how to register. When probe further, he don't even sit on the school board. He ask "you mean sitting on the board doesn't mean i can apply for any school?" - something to that effect...... The teacher replied no. then he said "Oh, what if i speak to the MOE director?" (I roll my eyes...)..... The teahcer replied that even that, has to go thru the school committee........

Hope he didn't enrol in the school!!!

yuki - tats norm. all parents will try their way to get a slot. haha..short cut long cut...they will also try. i have a friend who attend church services just to get her kid into st hildas. haa...

Hi SSF,

At least by their own effort..... that man - as if demanding for a place attitude.

Hi Sysac,

Hee, depends on which school you want.........

ky
wow, that's really stressful manz. you are aiming for the one near your area or at cck side?

re: P1 registration
just wonder how the registration works.
if my kid got into school A already at phase2A2, but i wanted to try my luck for school B at phase C, then withdraw her from A. can I subsequently re-register her into A if still got space 'cos school B don't have anymore space? sorry for the silly qn asked. :p

Hi Sunny,

To register for School B at Phase 2C, you need to withdraw from School A first.

If you fail to get a place in School B, and want to go back to School A, you may not get a place eventually since you gave it up already....

you may wish to go to MOE website for a clearer picture.

sunny ... I was aiming at the cck side. now, frankly, i'm a little lost.

yuki, i've put in the application for st anthony. first time step into the school n i know so little abt the school ... school frankly looks quite good if not for the distance ... now, i really really know why mothers have to own a car! that's what i'm thinking of in my heart leh.

for the "big shots", they can get in the back gate ... don't need to make such an appearance. someone I know wanted GuangHwa though she got into Tao Nan and school board was willing to get her in ... both schools.

Sunny, should be can. but how would u know if school A still have vacancy ... schools with vacancy usually r not the *ahem* very good ones.

.ky.

Actually our tots pick up funny words tat is why we really hot to be careful. one time e was trying to make words and blends with phonics sound and he said

"mom, c- ane- says cane and c-a-n-e,
B -ake, bake .. B-a-k-e.. And mom N-ah.. Nah.. Snd he pointed the there direction.. I was shock.. So next time cAnnot say nah .. Must say there it is... Stress ..,

Actually our tots pick up funny words tat is why we really hot to be careful. one time e was trying to make words and blends with phonics sound and he said

"mom, c- ane- says cane and c-a-n-e,
B -ake, bake .. B-a-k-e.. And mom N-ah.. Nah.. Snd he pointed the there direction.. I was shock.. So next time cAnnot say nah .. Must say there it is... Stress ..,

yuki/ky
reading the P1 registration procedures, can really understand how stressful it is... probably, i will just let my gal go to one which is far away from our place through phase 2A2, instead of 'fighting' with others under phase 2C for nearby school...

ky
so, meaning next time your boy should be at st anthony? would you let him take school bus since it's further away?

CL/Sunny/Ky,
actually my son fall in the phase 2C and his school also need to be balloted....we can't do anything just to pray hard...lucky manage to get a place. We dun even have the choice of phase 2A2..too far away from our home.

Hi Ky,

Precisely. 'Big shots' need not do such appearance. (roll eyes).

My friend was asking me if i feel nosgatic when i return to the school. Frankly no cos location has change, uniform has change.......... as good as a new school. But the short time i was there i have no compliants about the students nor the teachers. And i also called a few times to the office making enquiries and the staff are quite helpful and polite.
I like it when i saw a teacher reprimand a student and make him tuck in his shirt before he step out of the school. And the boy promptly do it

Hi mummies with kids attending P1,

How much 'pocket' money do you intend to give for a P1 kid? I went to have a look at canteen and the noodles, fried rice etc cost about $0.50, which is reasonable i think. Burger cost $1.

My colleague said $1.50 should be sufficient.....

Sunny, I've yet to find out abt the schoolbus timing. If it's appropriate, yes, he'll be on schoolbus. The school that I was eyeing has the schoolbus picking up the kids earlier than what parents wish for. If not, I'll see if it's economical to get a 2nd car, since I got 2 kids. K will have to take schoolbus too if not.

BP, I guess we should count ourselves lucky that we have a 2A2 to fall back to. But I'll now look at the 2C school which is just a stone throw away.

Yuki, I've not looked into pocket money yet. I'm thinking of letting him pack small snacks to school n have him learn how to save the money up.

.ky.

Yuki/KY
Wow... I remember back when I was in primary school, my mom gave me 20 - 40 cents per day... coz I still brought snacks/sandwiches to school...so I can buy additional 10 cent drinks or fishballs to munch...BUT hahahaha, silly me went to spend all my money on those "flag" erasers...I collected nearly 2 boxes of them and my mom got so angry!

So girls being girls, we like pretty things and will save up money to buy that "cute" and pretty looking pencil or whatever...so think twice about giving too much for per day also... maybe like what ky suggests or what CL does, prepare a snack/bento for the kids to bring to school...

Hi Mamachan,

You are right. I collected cute stationeries too. Haha. When i was clearing my cupboards when in my teens...... realise i have so many erasers, stickers etc!

Maybe back of my mind - i always remember what hubby says. He say he was given just enough for a meal and drink, so he can't buy drumstick. He don't want that for his gals.......... But then again, i don't want my gal to eat so much...... haha. More money is in case of emergency??? I don't know what kind of emergency or how much can the extra $0.50 can help in the emergency....... haha......

Yuki
Well, I think we will improvise the amount as we go along the way. I think our parenting skill-sets are somewhat influenced by our own upbringing...what we wished we had but never got it or we parent our kids according to how we see our parents deal with us...but let us do it with wisdom. If your girl tells you that she hoped to eat this and that food but you want to limit it as it's not healthy to eat, say fried drumstick for example, everyday...so you tell her that maybe every Friday you'll give her extra to buy her favourite food or something like that...

yuki/ky,
i gave $2 to my son for pocket money ..and if he has 50 cents left for today and the next day he will just topped up another $1.50 by himself from my coin box.

mamachan,
i told my boy not to spend his pocket money on unnecessary thing from the bookshop.
If he wants anything just tell me, i will get it for him.

Belinda
Your boy is very good and guai
I think boys might be excessively spendthrift...but girls are drawn to pretty stationaries very easily... hahaha so maybe that's why when I was young, bout alot of useless, pretty, items.

mamachan,
agreed with you that boys are more spendthrift,,,
btw one of his classmate come and asked him for money..i told him No..never lent any money to his classmates.

Belinda
Oops, What I meant was boys might NOT be excessively spendthrift...BUT I guess it's also how we teach them the value of money... like my boy now will see coins lying around on the table and ask if he can have them to put into his "penguin" bank. haha

Mine is ok.... I think it's all down to lifestyle. Hubby and I are rather thrifty and I think my boy is starting to understand the concept of spending. For a start, since I'll be here everyday, I can check on his expenditure and savings.

Sysac, do check out the guidelines on dates for PVs first. I read 1 mum who did it very early got questioned that it's before the dates n hence may not qualify. If u r looking at schools in CCK, they would give priority to the kids in order of yr.... ie those kids need to register in 2010 will get to do starting from now. Start doing in the yr when your kid is 5.... unless it's a popular school, then perhaps it's when child turns 4 that yr.

.ky.

my gal starts her 1st day at ccc. she's adapting well. i managed to leave her alone with classmates and teachers after staying there for 30 minutes. when i picked her up, she happily told me and the teachers that she would go tomorrow again. so happy about it.

but, on the other hand, today seems not a good day to start with as well... the weather was not good and my gal caught cold, started sneezing when she woke up, and the nose is dripping now. Then, the principal told us that there's one confirmed HFMD case today. A kid with ulcers in her mouth was asked to go home. When we were about to leave, a boy was having fever due to throat inflammation. sigh....