(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Babylon,

thanks for sharing. Initially i thot of $2 too but my friend said too much.

I thot of giving her $10 per week, she budget herself. If she used up in less than 5 days, then she can go hungry for the days she has no money to buy food...........

A thot came to my mind. If she can save up whatever left, i will top up and match her savings every month end....... Maybe that will encourage her to save.

Yuki
I don't think at their age they are matured enough to handle weekly allowance...maybe start her on a small amount - emough to eat and drink in school first...when she's older maybe come Primary 5 or 6 you can try the weekly basis allowance scheme.... that's just my thought.

sunny
It's good that your girl enjoyed her time in CC today and looking forward to going back
It's like that one, we can't prevent or control who gets HFMD in school or not but at least the school is vigilant in sending the children suspected of HFMD to go back.

Sometimes, there are parents who can't take leave so easily when children are sick despite government's efforts and thus they can only rely on the CC to help care for their kids and administer medicine...

my gf started to give her son $1 everyday.
then increase it to $1.50 coz $1 can only enought to buy bread/nugget/cake..

mamachan
thanks for sharing the method. i think it may not work on jx cos she's much older and really bad tempered. she rolls on the floor screaming when she doesn't get what she wants.

i really wan to train her to sleep at night but dunno where to start. if i move her out to sleep with me, jh will wan to follow and i can't let her cry it out. so the only way is to get hb to do it.

CL
how long is your gal's bus ride to sch?

SY,
About 35 - 45 mins. After my place , there is another 2 pick up and they will hit the expressway to school.

Yuki
ya they wont know how to manipulate. The price of the food is not cheap as it starts from $1 and the snack also can cost 80 cents to 1 dollar. The first week I do not know how much she will need, I give her $2. She update me she buy noodles and snack so I cut to $1.50 and tell her if she does not save nothing goes to her piggy bank then she cannot not accumulate her savings to go POSB for exchange of stickers. So far occasionally she will buy noodles if her friends keen in her bento. If not what I promise her is each day if she does not spend, she will save $1, at the end of a week I will give her $5 which goes to her piggy bank

Yuki,
A packet of milo costs 80 cents...I ate once in his school canteen, rice with Potato and a tiny piece of chicken already $1.50. I will give my son extra $1 on wednesday coz he got CCA in the morning.
Just to highlight one thing..he told me that his classmate wanted to borrow money from him..I told him.."No"..regardless of what. Afraid it will be a habit. I am not sure if i am doing the right thing.

CL,
duncan is not brave enuf to tell the teacher instead he told his classmate that he cannot lent him the money coz this was mummy's hard earn money....hahahha..
This happened a few times and i already told their form teacher.

Hi BP,

I realise some school canteen food cost more........ my friend went to her old school to enrol her gal and she say the food cost avg $1.50 already!

Yup - should tell the teacher. Maybe the kid is in genuine hardship. If it's not, can also nap the root problem......

Hi CL,

That's a great way of teaching the kids. Bring the other kid to the teacher.....

Hmmm school registration is just the first step to stress i think. I was given a booklet about the school, the schemes and programs they have....... realise P1 - they will be introduce to powerpoint presentation, blog etc! Stress........ And many program are 'design' with parent involvement........ stress........ Is that the norm now?

Yuki
Oh my...that sounds stressful...especially the blog part...
But I've heard about them being trained to use Microsoft Office i.e. powerpoint presentation for some story summary or something like that.

Hi SY

The distance btw a school n residence in relation to time spend is more relevant if there is a good number of kids going to the same school in the vicinity. ie, more kids in area, then bus moves ard more and takes longer time to go to school. if just a few kids, then they'll usually pick these few up n take the expressway to go to school.

For eg, kids from a school in CCK will reach my place in Yew Tee later than another school in Upper Bukit Timah Rd which technical is more than 2 times further away, cos it uses PIE/BKE/KJE whereas the other bus circles ard CCK. The school bus in Bukit Batok estimated takes 30-45 mins 1-way; same as the 1 in CCK. And some of these schools do not provide bus if the kid stays back for CCA and supp lessons, and that can be up to 3 times a week that u've to find a way to get your kid home or there.

Is there a reason the kid prefer to buy noodle over a snack? If the kid has lunch at home, he/she does not take anything in the afternoon so the extra at recess is just a snack right? My niece's school has borrow facilities at the bookshop. On the first day, she didn't know it's borrow and went to get some extra money.

Hi Yuki
That's prob just the tip of the iceburg. The school I targetted has computer facilities for the kids but apparently in the one near my place, there isn't. And I hear abt how little the teacher teach esp english and expect kids to learn outside, which comes back to us lah. I hear kids are expected to write composition without understand the concept of paragraphing, intro to how to write first para and ending, etc.

.ky.

Hi Ky,

Yup.... yesterday i saw Ashley's Chinese work from school. There are two worksheets. One consist of 5 sentences, the chinese words all mixed up. Like "Jie Jie" "Xue Xiao" "Cui" "Xi Huan", so the kid will form the sentence "Jie Jie Xi Huan Cui Xue Xiao" (Sister likes going to school)....

Eventually the 5 sentences will add up to form a short paragraph in the second worksheet.

I think it is an introduction to write short compositions..........

The chinese words they learn are so so difficult nowadays! My friend's kid has chinese words spelling like "Vitamins (Wei Sheng Shu), Healthy (Jian Kang) etc....... i don't even know how to write!

Hi CL,

Imagine - she is only having one chinese enrichment and almost zero homework from school and she's complaining already..........This gal......

Yuki
Charmaine is lucky because she does not have homework but most school I heard has a lot to do. So you may want to start by giving her work assigned by you. Some assessment book or readers would be good. For me if work not done on weekday , she has to spend Sat doing. If she fulfil all homework, then she can have both days off

ky
yeah i know what u mean. my neighbour's kid goes to a kindergarten in loyang which is like a short drive from my place but cos they circle ard pasir ris, he ends up taking a 45 min bus ride. which is same as JH going to siglap from pasir ris!

hmm maybe i shd call the sch that i wan to send jh to check on bus....so kaisu right...

Hi CL,

Ashley is doing a few of assessment books rotating English, Chinese and Maths each day. On top of that i gave her 5 new English words to learn a week and will give her spelling on a designated day.

I leave it to her to do the assessment books and will mark them twice a week etc. If she didn't do work, she don't get to watch TV at night.......

I'm back online! Thanks for your well wishes! My gal Hayley is out. She's a little night bird and killing me with her every 2hr feeding routine at night. Yes, she wakes up at night to feed. In the day, she just sleeps and sleeps. And she is a little spirited bb. When she doesn't wanna drink, she just shuts her mouth tight and pushes herself away from my breasts. Who says bb have weak necks? When she's done feeding, she'll just pop out the nipple. Totally no need to look at time coz she'll just latch on abt 15mins -25 mins. And cannot change breasts hor. She insists on her 1-breast only policy. So no such thing as changing breasts. sigh, she's so diff from her kor kor.

Mashy
wow...Haley is one fiesty girl!!! She reminds me of my boy's feeding patterns too!!! jia you on TBF her!

Yuki/CL/ky
wow...even though my boy still have long way to go to Primary 1, am learning lots of our school's current systems from the P1 conversations...indeed their schoollife is a far cry from 20 years ago!!! hahaha, I better find out clearly which phase D will belong to if he goes back to my alma mater.

Do you find your pre-schoolers growing slimmer? I was playing with Daren and realized that his thigh is so much slimmer now!!! Looks longer and lankier...he's no longer so bah-bah! hai....the end of their toddlerhood and really into the pre-schooler-hood...

thanks gals

yuki
she really 'you xing ge' leh. she has a mind of her own and isn't shy to assert her rights. I wonder if this is so for all #2s.

oily
i forgot most of the stuff and really needed to hit back the books to find out more. hahah.

mamachan
thanks! hehe, managed to pump out 60ml just now. Very happy abt it esp since H is just drinking 50ml now.

Please read - important message.

Yesterday, my youngest daughter, Halle who is just 4 years old, was rushed to the ER by her father for being severely lethargic and incoherent in her classroom. He was called to her school by the school secretary who said that she was 'VERY VERY SICK'!
He told me that when he arrived at her classroom, Halle was barely sitting in the chair. She couldn't hold her own head up and when he looked into her eyes, shecouldn't focus them.
He immediately scooped her up and rushed her to the closest ER, and then called me. When he got there, they ran blood test after blood test and did x-rays, every test imaginable. Her white blood cell count was normal, nothing was out of the ordinary.. When I arrived at the ER, the doctor there told us that he had done everything that he could do so he w as transferring her to Saint Francis Hospital for further tests.
Right as we were leaving in the ambulance, her teacher arrived at the ER and told us that after questioning Halle 's classmates, She had found out that our little girl had licked liquid hand sanitizer off of her hands !!!
Hand sanitizer, of all things. But it makes sense. These days they have all kinds of different scents and flavors and when you have a curious child, they are going20to put all kinds of things into their mouths.
When we arrived at the Saint Francis' Hospital ER, we told the ER Doctor there to check her blood alcohol level, and yes we did get weird looks, but they did it.
The results showed her blood alcohol level was 85% -- six hours after we first took her.. There's no telling what it would have been if we wou ld have requested it at the first ER. Since then, her school and a few surrounding schools have taken the liquid hand sanitizers out of all the lower grade classes, but what's to stop middle and high schoolers from ingesting this stuff? After doing research on the Internet, we found out that it only takes about
3 squirts of the stuff ingested to be fatal to a toddler.
For her blood alcohol level to be so high, it would be like someone her size drinking120 proof liquor. So PLEASE PLEASE don't disregard this because we don't ever want another family to go through what ours has gone through.

Please send this to everyone you know that have children, grandchildren, nieces, nephews or cousins.
It doesn't matter what age. This could affect anyone of them .

This can also be verified on truth or fiction, see below...

http://www.truthor fiction.com/ rumors/h/ hand-sanitizer. htm

This story was verified at: http://www.snopes. com/medical/ toxins/sanitizer .asp

mashy,
congratz and welcome Hayley! Lovely name and she sure got character! Somehow, God's arrangements that most siblings are totally opposite of each other. Have you got a CL to help this time?

tracie

yupz! got the CL that rena and the other gals recommended. So far so good.

mamachan
yupz. Really happy already. Managed to get it to 90ml even just now.
Now just have to wait patiently for H to catch up on her milk requirements. Hopefully this is will be more successful breastfeeding experience than before.

Mashy,
90ml, very good! Matthew also nurse every 2 hourly, even at night, for the initial 6 weeks or so. Drives me crazy and I was so tired. He also tend ot nurse one side only for about 20 mins. But now, much better, he can nurse both sides and has stretched his feeds to 3 hourly. At night, 3 to 4.5 hours.

Talking about pumping, I'm having a plugged duct now, top side of my left breast is hard.
Output decreased significantly even when I add extra pump at work today... hopefully, the duct will clear by tomorrow.

BP,
The hand sanitizer story quite scary... dunno true or not. Isaac also loves using hand sanitizer, though I make sure that it's rubbed into his hands properly and he doesn't lick his hands after that.

Belinda/Queen
I think the little girl must have licked the entire glob of hand sanitizer after immediate squirting in order to get so "high"...coz if you rub it properly over your hands, the alcohol would evaporate quite fast...especially those with 70% alcohol content (lab standard), enough to kill the bacteria but quick enough to evaporate... but it seems scary lah...

heyo mummies, i do not knw where to post my question so pardon me yea?

boi is in Pap canberra in the prenursery program for half year, they do nt learn writing at all.. just normal recognition of words, coloring etc.. my SIL boys just changed sch frm the same centre to bestworld learning centre in yishun, amazingly her K1 boy speaks english now whereby he do not understand a word of it in the past, he writes from a-l and has hand writing exercises to b done as homework, the other boy in nursery also has writing to be done. any mummies whose kids in pre-n? care to share wad they learnt in sch, and on their progress now? *CHEERS*

another problem i have with me boy is, he likes to sit down on the floor and thud his legs and swing his arms and legs in the same beat, so he sits with his legs straight as usual but he lifts them up and thud thud thud on the floor , hand in cohesion with legs.. i do not know why he does that, since young he does this cos when baby happy will shake hands and legs, but nw older already still the same. he can sit there and thudthudthud, its nt like he's happy or something, he just likes to sit and thud thud thud.. =\ anybody help?

Mumto3Ks,
When you say all your 3Ks are totally different, you give me hope that should I have #3, she will not be a replica of Meg who is giving us phobia of gals!! Seriously...these days Meg has started new pattern again.

BP,
If you are using the Dettol hand sanitizer, I doubt kids will ever wanna lick it cos it tastes horrid and super bitter! I accidentally tasted it once when I used it then ate chips and yucks! Meg also once and was frantically using water to wash her mouth herself.

Mashy,
Good good, enjoy yourself while CL is around! It's such a luxury having aunty helping out. That was the time I enjoyed my maternity leave.

Hi Tracie,

Ha. Nowadays i warn people when theya re considering to name their gal Megan......... haha

Even my mum couldn't resist but buy a cane. She 'quarrel' with my mum and even wanted to kick her when she couldn't get what she want.

Sometimes i wonder if they can't express their anger or dissatisfaction hence they act that way. Was reading a parenting book and it seems to suggest their brain are stil immature to balance between wants and not getting it hence they response that way.

Sometimes i feel bad because frankly, there is nothing wrong in them taking time to choose what shoes to wear etc especially they don't have concept of time yet. Mostly, it is our own impatience wanting them to do things our way in the fastest time....... the book suggested that we only scold or disciple when there is real discipline issues........

Hai.........

rykiel - my boy is in pre-n at Zoophonics. It's a 3 hrs session daily with 45 mins of mandarin. from his worksheet, i can tell that he has been learning maths(tracing, counting), chinese(tracing, recite poems, songs, recognise chinese characters - lately the school has been giving out card size of occupation like lao shi, jing cha, shi ji, etc and i have pasting on the wall and he can read them out and figure out what it means in English), english (tracing, can recognise A to Z) and art lessons. so far i think that his school is doing a good job as we hardly speak mandarin at hm and he can figure out what i am trying to say when i speak to him in mandarin. u may want to consider speaking to his teacher to know the syllabus they are teaching.

mashy - congrats to the delivery of ur bb. do take care!

mashy
Hayley, very nice name indeed. sound so beautiful =)

good volume on your BM! guess being 2nd time bfing is much of a breeze for most of us. share share Hayley's photo ya!

queen
hope your duct clear soon. understand the feeling of having a hard breast and having supply decrease. massage till the lump soften and ROLL nipple!

am 1 year older! 32! but frankly am not upset of getting old leh haha. and this year birthday was a special one for me bcoz my lil niece decided to share the same birth date as me. she was 4days overdue and decided to come out on 19 July heehee

hubby said am gonna dote on her like no one's business. since she share same birth date as me and i don have a gal of my own =p

Happy Belated Birthday to Rachel!!!
hehehe, I'm one year older too 10 days ago :p You must be really happy to have a niece same birthday as you!!!! Hahahaha, can be like your little gal too.

Rachel,
Happy birthday!!
How to roll nipple when having plugged duct? Lucky for me, the duct cleared when I latch Matthew once I got home. I massage the lump while Matthew nurse and really, baby's mouth is the best pump! Nursing clears the duct when even my Avent Duo can't, no matter how long and how much I massage during pumping.

Rykiel,
My boy is in Nursery now (in a private Montessori-based school) cos he's by year, 4 years old (born 2005) and he only started tracing and learning to write this year. But when he was in pre-N last year, I don't think he learnt how to write yet. It was more colouring, pasting, fingerpainting etc. And he had thematic lessons like occupation, transportation etc. Of course and the usual learning the alphabets and phonetic sounds, number 1 to 10 etc. Pre-N is probably still early for writing...
Can't comment much on your boy doing the thud-thud thing. I think it's probably just a habit? Like how many adults like to shake legs? Do you notice any other unusual actions related to this?

SSF: sch keep telling me they are more of a learn thru play basis now, wrksheets only end of term than i can see, teacher shows me his worksheet he can trace very well , at hm i draw a dotted straight line he do like giam cai, so i tink it might be with teachers help .. he also learnt chinese alot in sch, in the past he do not speak chinese, nw he can converse to me in chinese.. tehehe..

queen: yea lor, am i abit too kiasu? cos i wana know what pte sch and pap teaches, its like u nita be rich to be kiasu.. LOL!.. i hope can send my boyy to those schools whereby much more teaching is enforced.. but its like nt able to do so nw..
the thudthud is like a habit like wad u said, bt like so offbeat.. LOL!!

rachel: happy birthday!!! =*)

rachel,
Happy belated birthday! Welcome to the club of 32..

Yuki,
Same here! I'm also telling people to reconsider the name megan. hahahaha. Meg is getting really rude. Last week, she was talking to my SIL when MIL interrupted and Meg told her to 'shut up!' OMG...that evening, we caught my hubby telling Meg shut up. So we know where it came from. Recently she's been wanting things her way, like watching her channel, not wanting to wear diapers while she nap, choosing where she wanna nap. People have monday blues cos going back to work. I have Friday blues cos it means a weekend with Megan!

Happy birthday Rachel!

Queen
I'm also having probs with clogged ducts.
Dunno why i tend to clog up near my armpits. Shall try to massage the lump when she nurses then. I'm also using Avent Duo. Wonder if it's just me or what, do u have to manually squeeze your breasts when pumping? I find that i can't clear the breasts if i just depend on pure pumping alone. I've to massage and squeeze it manually with the use of the pumps. Maybe coz my breasts too small. So tiring leh...

Tracie
Oh my!!! Sounds so serious...Friday Blues...cant help but laugh a little... but really it's a joint effort to correct her at home and to correct the way we speak at home too...but it's also hard coz she has 2 older cousins whom she looks up to at your MIL's...

mashy
that's such a sweet picture of Haley!