(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy,
Wow, Hayley has lots of hair! This picture is not very clear, show us one when er yes are opened.

I also clogged up near armpit once, during confinement, but not too bad, was able to clear by massaging using warm towels before nursing. But this time round, the clogged duct is on the top left. I will press hard on the lump and massage in circular motion while baby nurse. It helps.
When pumping with the Avent Duo, I don't massage of squeeze breasts at all. I just make sure that I totally relax myself so that let-down comes easily. It's only after when I see that no milk is coming out (usually after 2 or 3 letdowns) then I'll remove the tubings from one pump and change it into manual pump by replacing the diaphragm with the manual one and use the manual handle. Then I'll pump a while to extract the remnants into manual mode. This is when I'll squeeze the breast.
If you massage and squeeze while pumping with Duo, that means that you have to start/stop several times right? Won't that interfere with you letdowns?

Tracie
ha ha i gets evening blues. Because once Aden meets Charmaine both of them 1 min very close another min will fight. Headache man.

You wait ok. ha ha wait till your #2 is older to fight.

Rachel,
Happy birthday. 32 so young ha ha I hit the mid aged liao. Dunno when will menopause ha ha. If one day I start to be very bad with words in the thread, that is the time man.

Mashy
she is such a angel. So nice to see baby photos.

Yuki
name ah. Ha ha then I must ask SL if her charmaine is as stubborn and lazy as mine too.

queen

hmm, i squeeze it while the machine is turned on. So far i like just got 2 letdowns and each letdown is still quite little. Maybe i should wait for more letdowns before i squeeze. haha, coz when i see the pumps not pumping any milk and i kan cheong wanna squeeze them out.

So I am correct ? ha ha Today I have not see FB yet because office cannot access so no play cheat.

It is really amazing to see how the kids look so alike. Ha ha You know if you refer to my husband's picture when he was young, my charmaine resembles him a lot.

And it is weird that ha ha my aden who resembles me is very much look alike to his uncle aka daddy's brother!!!

hahaha, mamachan u cheated. :p

yupz, left is caeden, right is hayley. They look so alike don't they?

CL
yes, it's so amazing. Even though they look alike, they have their own unique features. Like C has dimples whereas Hayley has double eyelids.

rykiel - for C's case, if the tracing is helped by teacher. The teacher will write a comment on the page. In the past i always see the comments "With teacher's help!" splashed all over the pages. now i seldom see that liao. haha.... so dun think my son can fool me.

rachel - happy belated birthday!

re: rudness
my elder boy, C recently told off the maid "No! Kak Kak! You don;t understand what I say is it? I say 5 mins....5mins more!" haha...that's when my maid told him to get out of his bath tub and he always say 5mins more cos the disney ch has this segment of 5mins more. haa....

mashy - hee so cute and they really look alike esp when their mouth goes Ooooo...

SSF: nw trying to test boy lor, but i feel that boy is trying to act blur at home, in sch teacher say he can eat without spilling, at home keep dependant on me..

my gal loves to use hand sanitiser also. she will actually rub her hands herself when u put it for her. but sometimes we bluff her just to distract her.

mashy
so sweet! both your kids look alike

rykiel
my boy will be independent in sch but at home he will need me to feed him, bring him to toilet etc etc and the list goes on...

re clogged ducts
i had a terrible one last week. and got breast infection. lucky quickly went to see LC to clear it up. must remember to do U-C. she kept askign me whether i got do my U-C or not....

thanks mummies for your wishes =) its feels good to be 32 haha
went to hospital earlier to meet my niece for the 1st time. now already looking forward to celebrate my 33 birthday with her LOL!!

CL
we age together ya. i'm just a few numbers behind you niah =p

queen
roll nipple is the U and C method using our thumb and index finger. really got to squeeze and roll our nipple before every feed/pump, so that to ensure all ducts are clear and milk can be release through the ducts easily.

Hi mashy,

I also guessed C is on left n Haley on right ... but both look like u leh.

my older boy I think looks like my cousin who's actually my younger brother .... u know they also say "wei sheng xiang jiu jiu" (nephew likes like uncle).

welcome to the bfg family ....

Hi Rachel
Happy belated birthday. u still at a age to reveal your age ... I've stopped doing that a few years ago :-> ... my birthday coming up in a few days .... was looking towards to a bd present from our govt but the dream got dashed already.

.ky.

mamachan

they may look alike, but their tempers are prob worlds apart. my 2 kids have different tempers. sigh. my gal is impatient, and hv very strong lungs.

SSF
haha, that's true. When i see her go 'ooo', they look so similar.

ky
huh? your cousin is your younger bro?

My boy looks like my bro too. And now with H looking like C, so means also look like my bro. hahah. Lucky never look like daddy, else means look like my MIL. Yikes!

mashy ... my younger brother was given away to my auntie when he's 1... we all know his identity including himself. I've got 2 photos like that as well ... but as they grow up, they look so different. I'll still look at them these days and wonder which part of them look like brothers ... my kids, I mean.... coz 1 grow up ba-ba and 1 grow up underweight.

.ky.

mashy,
They really look alike!

With Duncan, I also had lumps at both armpits for weeks after the milk came in! It gradually grew smaller as I continued to bf. Eventually went off only after the confinement month. The elect pumps also cannot empty my breasts so I went back to Avent manual. I also need to squeeze breasts with one hand while pumping. Otherwise will clog.

Hi KY,

My sister and I grew up different too. She was the ba ba one while i am the anaroxic one.........

But some people say we have the same features while others say we look different. Once in my teens, i introduce her as sister to my friends, they said "you mean cousin? cos don't look alike at all...."

Hi fellow mummies,

I went to the gynae earlier on today in the morning...when I saw the monitor of the scan as my gynae scanned me, my heart sank and I knew immediately before the gynae could say anything. My pregnancy is non-viable. The cavity where the fetus is supposed to be is still empty... based on LMP, I'm in the 9th week or if it was really early, 7 weeks. I had no prior spotting/bleeding whatsoever other than the usual pregnancy symptoms like MS and sore/heavy boobs.

My gynae sent me to go for another round of scan at the AMC department just outside the clinic for a 2nd opinion from the sonographer...while waiting to be scanned again, tears just kept flowing though I remained strangely calm.

I'm scheduled for a vacuation of the womb early tomorrow morning, so for most of you by the time you've read this (at work), I would be having the procedure done le...

I'm feeling sad but not hysterical, I guess the fetus was not a healthy one or maybe had a blighted ovum which I can still have the pregnancy symptoms...

But I will not give up on trying for #2, will take time to rest and see when is the best time to TTC again. Especially now I'm in the midst of settling my house stuff i.e. selling, buying and moving...

sigh...

Have I ever share this interesting conversation between my 2 kids. Just for a laugh.

Aden: Mummy I am good girl right.
Charmaine: You cannot be girl, then you are wearing panty not underwear
Aden: No, I wear diaper.

It is realli fun to hear the 2 of them talk. Hope they talk and bond more than fight to bond

Mamachan
I know exactly what you are going thru. Even when I was bleeding, I also hope the scan will show otherwise and gynae will give me hormone jab.

Nothing I can say to comfort you but do take care. It will take a while before you come to terms. Even now for me I will still feel that if i still carry the baby I would have a tiger CNY baby just like myself. So next year 14 Feb 2010 is going to be a tough day for me. Call me silly but yes I am moving on yet will still be upset at times.

You are still young. So get everything settled down and #2 will be there for you at the right time.

Mamachan,
Sayang sayang. Take care, rest well dear. Stay positive. In God's time, Daren will definitely have his own sibling to play with....one that is as healthy as gor gor.

Mama chan

Do take care.. I totally understand the feeling.. Coz when I had my miscarridge .. My sil got pregnant and when her gal was born I struggle .. Coz I do not wish to visit them.. I had twice these experience.. But I learn to let go.. I told myself that the lord will only give the best at the best timing..

Mashy,
Don't worry about the volume of the EBM. Supply will come in soon. I pumped once on the 3rd day to relieve engorgement and could get only 30ml. Then no more pumping and was latching full time till Week 6 so that I can build up some frozen stock and train Matthew on bottle feeding before I return to work after 2 months. On that first pump during week 6, I can get 160ml liao. Now can pump about 250ml every 4 to 5 hours, just enough to give total EBM to Matthew while I'm at work, not much excess.

Rachel / SY,
How to do U-C on the nipples?

SSF / CL
Yah, our kids say the cutest things now isn't it? My Isaac sometimes sound like such a small adult that I kind of miss the times when he was still learning to speak. Like when my HB was playing the car racing game on his Xbox, Isaac was egging him on by saying "Come on daddy! I know you can do it! Come on!"
And the other day, his teacher was telling me that he bargained with her... he was supposed to be doing some tracing on one of worksheets but he told the teacher "Miss Sarah, this is too difficult for me. Let's do the next page."
Faintzzz.

queen
with your thumb and index finger, go to one of your nipple, the curve of your thumb and index finger will form a letter C. meaning thumb will be at the top while index finger at the bottom of nipple. press and roll hard on nipple(abt 3 times of to and fro action). by then you will see drops/spray of BM coming out, means ducts are clear. follow by the U, which means with thumb and index finger by the sides of nipple, forming a letter U. press and roll hard.

this helps in preventing clog ducts. i often gets let down by jus simply roll my nipple and has to quickly latch on devan or put on the pump funnel. if not will start leaking and gets messy.

hope you understand what i'm trying to explain here =p

Mamachan - Do take care...recover well...

Rachel - I know....very late liao but Happy Happy BD! May you have good health & happiness all the time!

Mashy - H really looks like C at birth!

Hi, its been so long since I am here... Hi to all mummies... Moi baby boy is born on 21st Jan 2006...
Now currently at Telok Blangah Sprankle tots N1...
hehe nice to meet all..

mashybrainz,
Ur girl is so cute. I really love new born baby, they are so delicate and fragile. Makes me want to give birth again.

Mamachan,
So sorry to hear about your case. It happened to me before I gave birth to Clariss. That was my first pregnancy and same as you, there was nothing in the sac at 8th week, nothing visible and no heartbeat. Gynae also recommended a washout and we went for it at week 9. It was very sad and i felt so empty for a long long time. I guess I really recovered after giving birth to Clariss but she turned out to be a "monster", so demanding and kept crying and I was like why was I rushing to get pregnant. Not what I have expected. Think positively and yes, must must do a mini confinement. I am glad that you are sharing it here. i didn't share this even with my closest friends when it happened. Take care!

Re: Free baby gals clothes (0mth-12mths) & Want to sell BN Avent Manual Pump
Anyone wants girls baby clothes. They range from newborn to 1 year old. Some are quite nice but some very worn out. I have a big bag and I don't want them already. I was thinking of giving it away in the FOC thread but thought I ask the gals here first. Please PM me coz I seldom check the thread here.

Also, anyone wants a avent manual pump? brand new with 4 125ml bottles (I think) still in the box. cost S$70 but going willing to sell at S$55. Bought as backup to my medela mini plus coz the mini plus failed me once when I was on overseas trip so I always bring backup after that but never use.
Please PM me.

mamachan

*hugz* sorry to hear abt that. I know nothing we say can alleviate your pain. Rest well and take care.

rachel
i tried to do the u-c on my right breast but nothing came out.
It's like perpetually blocked and when i pump, can only get a few sprays. Only my left breast is fully functional.

mamachan,
sorry to hear about that. understand you were so thrilled when u found out you were pregnant. can really feel your joy from ur posts in FB and here. So I can imagine how painful it is for you, or for anyone who had gone thru this. but i'm sure you can overcome this and move on. Don't forget we are mothers already and we are definitely the stronger sex. Plus you have your loved ones around you, always by your side supporting you. So take good care of yourself now and recover well. Like all have mentioned, your next baby will come soon enough

I'm back home after the procedure. Hb brought me out for a quick lunch of some comfort food and some retail therapy which helped...we talked about what happened, how I cried just right before the procedure as I was walking into the OT and how he had cried when he was at home.

I'm feeling much better now, somehow, I'm at peace with everything, though tears had flowed. The love of a mother for her unborn child, empty sac or not, is a supernatural thing and that I cannot deny. It was when my gynae popped his face in front of mine, I knew he had arrived for the procedure and that the time had come, I started crying quietly, but before I started crying uncontrollably I was breathing in the oxygen while they administered the G.A.

I really Praise God for a speedy recovery from the G.A with no side effects, even able to eat some biscuits and drink hot milo soon after I'm conscious.

I know it takes time to heal and I will rest and have the mini confinement my mom is preparing for me.

Thank you all for your kind words of encouragement and smses. I really am thankful for the friendships formed here.

mamachan, you're brave!
i rem i refuse to talk, refuse to see anyone after my d/c.
pls have quality rest and have mini confinement if possible.
i ordered confinement food, if you need more info, let me know.
take care!

Mamachan - guess i may be the last person to read abt it. glad that the procedure went smooth. Thank GOD that your hb is supportive and sensitive. i guess the only thg u shld focus on now is to nurse ur health back. remember that you are young....one of the youngest here in fact. with GOD's grace, you will definitely have more opportunities for kids. have faith and take care!

mashy,
the U+C that Rachel talked about is very important in preventing clogged ducts. My colleague just consulted Yen Ping yesterday cos her left breast kept getting clogged. Yen Ping did the U+C on her (you gotta press REALLY hard) and voila! The milk flowed again.

mashy
roll your areola too, i mean roll real hard, press/squeeze and roll. this hurts but after sometime the nipples will be seasoned. this will prevent clog duct that will lead to engorgement. what my LC taught me is to massage breast 1st, then roll nipple and roll areola wiith the C & U methood.

sunny/sysac
thanks thanks =)

mamachan
more hugzzz to you! your 2 Ds will help you recover fast.

tracie/rachel

thanks! Tried doing that just now and ouch! It's so painful! Yen Ping did that to me before when i went to see her long time ago. Will do a few more times. Hopefully can restore the milk supply there. Now feeling lopsided coz my left breast is producing more while the right breast just feels clogged and not a lot of milk.

Mamachan
Have a good rest. Hope u recover soon!