(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

CL

oh really? ok, shall think abt that after i move house.

mamachan
want to get C acquainted with the piano mah. hehe. but think he's more of a drummer boy right now.

CL
could i get the contact of the guy who sell 2nd hand piano?
thinking of trading-in my old one which is like out-of tune already. wonder how much it's worth. :p

Mashy
hehehe, no lah, just a suggestion... coz if your boy is "serious" into playing piano for long term, then good to go for the actual piano. If not can get him those electronic keyboards... they have those drumming sounds too!

hi mummies...just to share a pic of my 2 monkeys

2587774.jpg

SSF
awww... that's such a sweet and lovely picture of the brothers!!! You should really try for #3 leh... hopefully and ask God for a gal that looks like you! I'm sure the girl will be really pretty! hehehe.

hi Belinda ... where's KK? Kota Kinabaru? Hubby said Mt KK is cold, no?

need advice on old piano ... someone has an old piano to give away, 18 years old, 2 keys fault on left. Worth getting since I forsee putting in $200 in total to move and tune. I already have an Electone at home but son's starting on piano and I think can't afford a paid 2nd-hand, a free one may do? should I?

.ky.

CL

ky
if you think of letting your boy learn piano in long term or reach higher grade, it's better to get one which doesn't have faulty. the 2 keys are they at the extreme left? possible to repair it during tuning time?

Mashy..
Will you be breastfeeding?
I have a new can of fiso stage 1 are you keen.. If yes I as the confinement lady to pas to you.. My friend gave me and see if any of my friend want

hi chillies,

u can actually sell to garang guni guy...i not sure where to donate though. not sure if salvation army will collect as I know salvation army do want old clothes

Taking a break from exams now.

Mamapanda, Congrats!

Mashy, am so impressed with the toy pianos! Are they properly tuned?

mamachan, you have me too! I have only 1 : )

CL,
can pass me the number of the second hand piano guy too? Wanted to start charmaine on the piano soon.

chilles,
I have donated electrical stuff to salvation army before. Need to be in working condition though. They can come and collect from your place too, I think. It's better than sending down? Cos the salvation army collection centre at bishan's always packed with stuff and I am not comfortable leaving the electrical stuff in the open, in case of rain.

Berries Chinese Enrichment
I sent my boy for a trial class at their newly opened West Coast branch. He really enjoyed himself tremendously and both hb and myself were really impressed that he left able to recognize the chinese words of the topic for today - Sun, Moon and Stars!!! We signed him up for one term there and then. first ever such enrichment class that I've signed him up for.

mamachan- over my place there is also a branch. Very crowded and popular it seems. How much was the trial and 1 semester cost?

SSF
The trial is $16.05 (with GST)... once you confirm to sign your child up, registration fee of $35 and the cost per term (12 weeks) is $359.50. All materials are provided for. When we went home, we had their worksheet that they did in class, the flashcards of the words they had learnt for that day and a small booklet for us parents to be able to use those words they learnt in a simple sentence i.e. to engage them in using the words learnt in a simple sentence. They even have them in English translation. haha.

I think I'm more excited about the Berries class than my boy! Though he said he wants to come back again when I asked him if he would like to go back again.

girls

ask u hor, can we take danggui when breastfeeding? first time ordered catering, so didn't really bother, whatever was delivered just eat only...

C has been so whiny nowadays. Every little bit also cry. TOday gave him waffles for breakfast and he insisted that he wants bao and started crying. Then he took out mei mei's clothes which i've washed and threw them in the laundry pail. When i stopped him, he started crying again. All these in just 1 morning. sigh. how ah? I wonder if this is the start coz he's probably sensing that mei mei is coming.

Ssf,
Elijah is in berries too .. He started for half year already ..
He can speak quite well in just 3 lessons.. And you will be suprise on the words and idoms they know..

I think ethan is in berries too.. Berries is better than tian xia..

K's in Berries too ... Berries focus more on "shuo ting du xie" in that order... For N1 and N2, per lesson is $28+GST. K1 and K2 is $32. I prefer Berries as TX is more academic and desk-bound. it's very crowded esp when going up to K1 and K2, it's usually waitlisted for some hot timings.

mashy, like when pregnant, take everything in moderation. Try not to take too much ginger, and avoid alcohol. take after bf the baby.

re: piano.
decided not to take the piano since I found out getting a 2nd-hand beginner piano can be quite cheap and quite troublesome to trouble the lady if I want the free piano. will survive on the Electone till my son voice out his needs.

.ky.

thks mamachan for the details. Berries really sounds good har...may pop by to the ctr over the weekend to look see look see. not sure if its too much for C as his piano class will kick start in Aug.

Back from a weekend trip to KL & Genting. First trip abroad for Matthew... He's generally ok throughout the trip except that he cries more often whenever he wakes up. I think he's weary of the different sight and sounds. Genting is horribly crowded, but Isaac still enjoy the kiddy rides at the theme park. I guess for that, it's already worth the trip.

mashy,
I heard danggui will affect milk supply, dunno how true that is. But I took a bit during confinement, don't think it affects my milk supply much. If you are worried, just don't order those with danggui.

Re. piano
I agree with sunny... better to invest in a proper piano if you intend to let your kids go all the way to Grade 8 and beyond. I'm also thinking of getting a new piano but it's more for myelf. Haven't decided to start Isaac on violin or piano yet. My HB, who is totally not musically inclined, does not understand why I want to spend more than $3K to buy a new piano to "take up space" in the house!!!

queen

my hb wanted to get my boy a real set of drums from Yamaha! I told him piano yes, but not drums. That'll be torturing my ears. My hb is the one with all the music training. I know nuts abt them but i would like C to have the opportunity to learn unlike me.

mashy, drumming is cool .... don't need to buy first. go for drumming lesson. there's this music school in Forum that allows a kid to learn 2 musical instruments, but at 3-yr old would require the child to go for some fundamental music knowledge first. not sure if u've seen this child, Ethan, played but I think it's cool to play like that. There's a music place at the old Bukit Timah Fire station (I think) that rents out the use of drums for an hr at $7. Let the kid practise first to see interest.... oh, drumset takes up more more space than a piano.

.ky.

ky

and so noisy. bad for his ears leh... & mine of course. It's ok if he's learning but i scared he just bang bang bang. Later my neighbours come and complain. For drums, u need a soundproof room. Not just a space for the drums.

mashy
actually I think drummers have to wear ear plugs when playing? Can always check with the music school. There's also electronic drums now that doesn't take up as much space as the acoustic drum sets. I think my boy will be more keen in drumming and percussion than piano...

old working TVs, radio etc
Personally, I'd prefer to give the appliances to old folks homes directly instead of garang guni or salvation army. Salvation army has too many donations.

Also, I don't mean to be rude but, salvation army is Christian so I'm not sure if the non-christians who need the things benefit from it or not. As far as I know, many old folks in old folks homes would like to have such luxuries and most of them are non-christians.

music/ballet lessons
I was thinking of violin or ballet lessons for A instead but, I think I'll hold back until she's alittle older. The music school said 3-4 is too young to start seriously on any music lessons.

As for ballet, I thought she'll like it but for some reasons, my hb is not in for the idea. So fuming mad.

MamaPanda
At this age is good to start A off on baby ballet
It's fun and not overly technical. I think your hb is not for the idea coz for ballet in the long term... it's an investment... purchase of leotard, ballet shoes, tights, especially when they are young they are always growing taller and their feet bigger. They also have the usual graded examinations similar to piano...

I agree with MamaPanda. try PassItOn. I use that for bulky items but sometimes will have to wait for takers. I see Salvation Army selling a lot of stuff and wonder how much % actually goes to the needy. Also, a lot of news of people stealing from the bins.

MamaPanda, try a trial lesson. That's what trial lessons are for - for the child n parent to assess on the suitability of a prog. If your child is musically inclined, it's never too early to start, even doing this informally at home. I've seen kids who have persisted thru' their progs since young (just for the few yrs that I'm a mother :->) but a lot of hardwork and dedication not only from the child but the parent too.

.ky.

Berries,
I have just signed Edgar up as well at pandan valley branch. He has difficulty recognising the words and understanding what the teacher says in mandarin. Tyler on the other hand can recognise the words which I flash to Edgar. I only need to tell him once and he can absorb already. Aiyo, don't know when the "wires" will start to connect in Edgar.

Aileen
maybe give Edgar some time bah. I'm pretty sure Edgar knows his stuff... just that sometimes he doesn't want to show it? Some kids are that way. They know their stuff but on purpose doesn't want to show that they do know?

I wanted to consider the Pandan Valley branch initially... but looking at the West Coast branch, since they just started 2-3 weeks ago... and their saturday slot is not filled, I was telling my hb better to sign him up now then later. So at least he gets more 1-to-1 attention from the teachers. So far it's just him and another girl. There's the main teacher and one assistant teacher that sticks around to help them out.

Dancing,
is there any dance school for boys? err.. but not ballet. my hb can't accept boys learning ballet!haha! like tap dancing or i don't know what other dance schools there are. my #2 loves to dance I tot of letting him learn.

mamachan,
i'm very sure he doesn't know. coz he looks damn blur and confuse when i ask him. ty knows his homework than him! faintz!!
i did consider westcoast also but i think their timing is in the afternoon? what time is your darren's class?

Aileen
The West Coast timing is 3.45pm on Saturday. They are considering starting a morning class on Sunday. As for dance class... I think you have to wait till Tyler is at least 5 years to do tap dancing? It involves alot of feet control on the heel and ball of their foot... think there's a dance school at Bt Timah Plaza that might offer tap dance? Tap dancing is fun! I did it when younger and prefer it very much to ballet, though I started with ballet first.

mamachan,
oic, but 3.45pm is ed's nap time. ya i know they are considering sun morning but it's not confirmed, so i joined pandan valley instead on fri evening 7.30pm. oh yes, there's a dance school in BT Plaza but not sure what they have. Ok shall wait till he's older then.