(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Rachel & Clare,
Big Congrats to both of u! Welcome to the club of 2 kiddos!

Rachel,
Ur birth story is my dream birth plan le! So short & fast & no Epi somemore! Wow Wow Wee! Now I can only dream about it.

Clare,
Nice name u got for ur son! Kekeke!

Queen,
We are both next in queue to pop. How's everything?

Can I ask how long does it take do u convert ur kid to full day CC? My nightmare going to continue again. J is still crying now as school is 7:30am to 3:30pm. Then her teacher just told my mum that from Wed onwards, it gonna extend from 7:30am to 5pm.

First 4 days - till 12:30pm
From 08 Jan till 20 Jan - till 3:30pm
And 21 Jan onwards - till 5pm

J is still crying and having nightmare everyday. And now even go on strike. She refused to drink, bathe, eat and sleep in school. Really dunno how to handle this stubborn girl.

Sept03bride & Mamachan,
Our boys can hi5 each other! E can talk all the way from church in Pasir Ris to his grandparents house in Jurong West. Keep talking & talking & asking why until I just ignore him sometimes when I find it too boliao. Cos sometimes he just ask why for fun. So my hb & I started asking him why back. Make him answer his own questions. Haha!

Mashy,
How is C in class today? E din go today cos he came down with bad cough yday. For me, its the school bus aunties tat is stressing me up. Last week, we were late twice by only 1-2 mins & she kind of scolded us for it although she only has 1 more kid to pick up b4 heading to kindy. It was b4 7.30am & we just dun understand why she so kancheong. Then she said cos that kid always late one. Wah lao! Then last week, there was one day when E said he wanted to pee n Aunty driver din stop asap. He couldn't hold n peed on assistant Aunty's hand while she was trying to pull down his shorts by the roadside. End up he wet his shorts a little too. Then the driver Aunty also make noise saying tat he dirtied her sch bus seat. Wah lao again! Its not like he peed in the bus & flood the bus seat. I thot this kind of scenerio shld be quite common if ferrying young kids le. I remember last time my nephew kept peeing in his sch bus cos he too shy to tell the driver he needs to pee. Tat is worse.

May
It takes 2-3 weeks for them to get used to everything. Don't worry too much. Soon, she will give in and start to join in the normal. They won't starve themselves on purpose. Just persevere. You used to work as a childcare teacher before right? Do what you think it's best for her.

Mamachan,
But I never seen kids going on strike before. All managed to be "bluff" to eat and do things. J is very stubborn, dun want means dun want.

May
Give her somemore time bah. Some children takes up to 2 months to get settled down. Just remind her that she's 3 years old already, a big girl and a big jie-jie le. So she's going to play and make new friends, so next year birthday she can give out presents to friends or something.

I know for sure that when they are hungry, sure will eat.

May
what does the teacher plan to do to help ? there is no "substitute" she can find in school ?

Like aden for 1 week he is down, today it is like his first day at cc. But once he spot his favourite teacher then he forgot about me or once I give him snack he oso forgot he was clinging on to me for a moment ago

CL,
The teacher say she is testing our patience. If we give in once, she will know how to attack us next time. So just let her cry till her heart out and go on strike. Until the end, she realised that doing all these doesn't help, she will stop.

She keep telling me she dun like that school and nothing much. She doesn't have fav teacher yet leh. But I noticed, although she cry and fuss in school, she knows what is going on. She sing the nursery ryhmes and even know how to say Grace before meals when she is in good mood.

CL,
Dunno if it is bcos of the pregnancy. I am losing my patience with her. Wanted to scream at her many times but trying to control myself.

hmm May,
u are in ur last trimester liao? Maybe its the hormones..
Anyway i think u should just continue to send her to school... let her get used to it. After she knows all these that's she's doing is not going to change anything, she will stop it.

Talking about food/milk strike, my ger is very stubborn also. She will sometimes go on milk strike as well. She's not a milk lover like her brother..

Tracie / Belinda,
Hahah... that means for my #2, I have to check into hospital once water bag breaks / contractions start liao... my labour for Isaac was about 6 hours only.

May,
Pregnancy is ok... last check at 24 weeks, baby is 650g, my weight gain is about 4kg. But I'm down with very bad cough, must have been infected by Isaac. Now on antibiotics and cough meds. Sigh... didn't want to take medicine cos preggy, but no choice.

About Jamie, I think just have to harden your heart, though I know it's difficult to see Jamine not eating or sleeping the whole day. I'll say give it another 2 weeks and then see how.
I'm also more short-tempered now.

Mashy,
If I'm not wrong, you are also preggy right?
How's pregnancy so far?

can anyone advise what's the difference in Grow Milk powder for 3 yrs onwards and 6 yrs onwards? I've received samples for both and for 3 yrs old, there's choc flavour but not in 6 yrs old. Can I offer my 6-yr old the 3-yr Grow?

.ky.

May
Jaime sounds fine to me actually. Just continue with her lor...if not like you said, she knows she can persist with crying and going on strike just to get things her way which will pose as a headache. Anyway, she has to accept that this is part of her routine. So there's no skipping out on going to school.

Queen,

It took me only 0.5hr from 5cm to 10cm diluted. So dun take the chance. One of my ex-co gave birth in the car. Cannot make it on time to the hospital..

Queen, Belinda
For me with Aden hor, I was 2 cm dilated on 7 Jan. I requested for induced labour but he says cannot because he is going for seminar so scheduled on 9 Jan instead.

Then I was hoping he would want to pop on 7 Jan but well this boy still happily staying in there. My dilation oso not fast. Check in at 7 am, 9 am induced. I only give birth at 3 pm woh

Queen/CL.

maybe becoz my last job, i need to move aroound alot instead of sitting in the office...so it was a real fast delivery.
so fast that duncan was outside the labour waiting for his brother to come out.
Did not expect to give birth on that day, so brought #1 to my routine checkup.

Queen,
From 5cm to 10cm is very fast. so if your threshold for pain is high, you may not even know you're already 5cm. For Duncan, which was my first natural birth, it took me only 1hr to dilate from 5cm to 10cm.

wenyl

C's also coughing but seems to be getting better. At night really wrapped him up like ba zhang, then ok.

The bus auntie so odd. She should go and stress the other kid who is always late mah. Maybe she thinks u r easier to bully.

For the last 2 weeks, all the breakfasts i prepared for C on Mons came back untouched, so i asked the teacher. Apparently, they don't follow the menu strictly. She said last 2 weeks all fish porridge leh. And my boy has been happily slurping up the food and asking for 2nd servings. The teacher didn't dare give him too much in case he vomits from overeating. Haha, i had to tell her to just go ahead coz he'll know when to stop. Happy that he's eating well at least.

That day when i bathed him, i asked him if he liked school and he replied 'like'. So i suppose everything should be fine. But he cries when i leave him in school.

Queen
Ya, now 12 weeks already. Didn't enjoy this preg coz more MS.
Hopefully it'll go off soon.

Hahah, i can only dream of such fast dilation. The last time when i had caeden, 12hrs still only dilate 1cm. Sad right?

Belinda
wow! You're really super fast!!!! Goodness! All i'm thinking is that you save on the delivery ward charges!

Mashy
Same here. I had a long labour. From the point of "show", I was 2 cm dilated. It stayed that way for more than 12 hours. It started to dilate more when I decided to take epidural. By the time I reached 8cm dilation, had to wheeled in for emergency C-sect.

Mashy
ask my colleague. It is water soluble. So wont be accumulate in body to cause poison.

So just drink lots n lots of water to dissolve it so it will be pass out as urine

CL

Thanks! Have been giving him water to drink. He can still show me his yellow tongue will the half melted folic acid and say yum yum! Gosh!

mashy
gosh...that sounds really dangerous! Must really take precaution not to leave any meds lying around that C can climb and reach his hands on. Just let him drink lots of water to flush the excess out.

Thanks for the assurance. I am very much short tempered during this last tri. Plus I had a bad cough and under antibiotic as well. Already give up coaxing Jamie. So now my only sentence every morning is," Cry finish already? Yes? We change now. Mummy go work, You go school."

Queen,
I am about 29 wks already. Put on 8-9kg already. I booked my bed in TMC. Now is the washing of pass-down clothing and packing of hospital bag after CNY.

Mashy,
Gosh.. I find FA very difficult to swallow already and C can say yum yum. Must be careful and not lay the medicine around. And also detergent!

mamachan/may

I put my supplement case on top of the table. He can't even see the table top. I'm also surprised how he could drag it down. Luckily he didn't swallow the multivit pill which was together with the folic acid.

May
good lah, sometimes when we feel frustrated, our kids can sense. Maybe after u 'give up' feeling upset abt her not wanting to go school, she might give up too.

C now says dun like school when he talks to his daddy and says he likes school when he talks to me. sigh, dunno which one is the real thing. But at least he just cry when i leave him in school. Last yr he'll cry even on our way there and he recog the route.

Mashy,
Our todds now are very inquisitive. Exploring the unreachables are top in their minds. Ethan is always trying to climb n take things from my table top. Using chairs, stools, even tricycle to climb up. Worse, B is following his gor gor's every moves. Must really keep a close watch over them.

Today, the sch bus driver again nag at us to be early. We came down at the same time the bus arrive le. But still kanna from her. Sigh! When I highlight to her there are only 3 kids to fetch, again she said its the 3rd kid who is always late. I told her then she shld remind the 3rd kid's parents to be punctual mah. Then she said her bus always the last to arrive sch. But again I told her as long as she reaches b4 8am, wat's the problem!?!? Now she wants us to be down b4 7.20am, I told her I rather fetch E to sch myself. Then she will lose 1 more biz. Already 2 kids drop out from her bus cos they change to 2nd session due to her early pickup timing. Stress!

E every morning also says dun want to go school but when he comes home, he always says school so fun. :D

Wenyl
I suspect that the school bus auntie is always nagging for you all to be early could be due they have to pick-up other biz i.e adults to work. I still cannot understand that even if E was really early...the 3rd kid would still be late. Or is she implying that because E is not early, the 3rd kid will become late in the pick-up? Really strange schoolbus auntie!

Wenyl,
I would not bother what the auntie say if I were u. waking up early is already very tiring for them.

RE: Meet Parents Session
I had a funny comments from J's form teacher last sat. She told me that J is the only kid that she see in school that is able to put up hand and tell teacher that she want to vomit/cry. When J feel sad and want to cry, she will raise her hand and say "Teacher, I want to cry." Then the teacher will say "Ok, u go to that counter to cry." She will start walking there and really burst into tears. After that, she will wipe her tears and raise up her hand and tell her teacher,"Teacher, I finish crying." if she did not finish, her teacher will check every 5min and ask her. She will say "U wait awhile, I still want to cry awhile more."

Same goes to vomit. She will raise hand and teacher will ask her go to the basin to vomit. After that, she will clean up herself and raise hand and tell teacher she finished.

It is really very heartwarming to see her able to take care of herself like that. Must really have a close communication with the teacher else I will miss all these.

Queen,
Had u make arrangement for Isaac schooling schedule during ur delivery? The form teacher told me to continue sending Jamie to school even though I am still in hospital, so that she will not feel so left out after the arrival of the new sibling.

wenyl

that bus auntie really have a prob. siao ah. She should go and pester the 3rd kid and not the 1st. really no logic in her way of doing things. But then, there's a lot of pp like that. No matter how u explain to them, they just don't understand and insist on their way of doing things. Yah lor, if u can afford the time, then u can send Ethan to school yourself. Esp since u have a helper at home. For me I can only send C till mid this yr. When school starts in Jul, he'll need to go on school bus.

May
Jaime is kind of funny leh, to ask for time out to cry and vomit. hahaha. My boy won't care and will just wail with all his heart. But her vomitting habit needs to be corrected leh, else next time grow up become bulimic leh. It's really bad for her system to vomit all the time.

mashy,
Cos lately when she cry, she will vomit. So we "taught" her to judge herself.
There are twice which she vomited at the entrance of the CC. I told her the mess is really terrible and got to make all pple clean up for her.
When she is sick at home, she tell us she want to vomit too. Cos I showed her the mess she made on the bedsheet.
Tired of clearing the mess, so I tell her, if u want to cry and vomit, I will not stop u and I am not you. So u must judge it urself.
From then she will inform us lor. But never knew that she did that in sch until the teacher told us last sat.

may

i feel so 'xin tong' for your gal leh. Must have felt so miserable & lonely to kaki go and vomit in the basin. Is there anything that u can perhaps 'reward' her for going to school and turn the school going thing into a positive experience?

mashy,
Ya.. me very xin tong. But that's the only way out to do before #2 is out. I am giving as much attention as I could and give her lots of hugs and kisses. Trying to reward her with her fav things after sch and during wkend. She is very sensible though.

Hi May,

Is your mother looking after your gal before she goes to CC? Possible to consider putting her on half-day and still get your mum to look after her? I've got a fren whose girl vomits since young after meal ... she's still doing it occasionally now at 6 yrs. have to be careful in case it becomes a routine.

Hong Kong ... need advice/help. Am going in Aug and intend to stay at Kowloon ... what is a CHEAP hotel to stay? Hopefully can get 2 queen but I think we got no choice but to make do with 1 king. for those who went, what's the cost per nite? we are looking at 4 nites there ...

.ky.

ky

i heard that royal plaza hotel has 2 super single beds that are huge. U should be able to share the bed with 1 adult & 1 kid each.

I stayed at Royal Pacific Tower Wing at my most recent stay and it comes with king size bed. About $180 per nt. Now is a bit early. They'll probably have some promos later and u can check it out later. In the meantime, can just book any hotel directly without cancellation charges just in case.

Or if u don't mind a bit further, there's L Nina. There's 2 queen beds in each room. Cheap & Super huge. But it's located at the convention centre.

Aug is super peak period so expect the prices to shoot up like crazy. And it's also typhoon period...

Mashy,
I hope E can continue taking sch bus cos 1stly, he is enjoying the bus ride. Made him felt like a big boy. 2ndly, I can finally spend more 1-to-1 time with Ben in the morning when E goes to school. E had lots of 1-to-1 with me since birth. But Ben is so deprived of it.

May,
***Pat pat Jamie*** She is indeed very dong shi. Maybe she just hvnt come to term as to why she needs to be in school whole day. Does she have a doll or soft toy that she really likes? Can let her bring it along. E has a little lion cub & recently, E likes to bring it everywhere with him. Its quite cute cos he will tell me us it took the sch bus n went to class with him.

may
did u ever ask the PD how it will affect jamie if she keeps vomitting like that? doesn't seem good for her.

JH also vomits often when he cough or vomit. i also tell him if he wants to vomit go to the toilet and do it cos i dun wan to clean up the mess. it is usually enough to get him to control his coughing. got once i told him that and he so scared that he refuse to drink his milk even after i make already. it was middle of the night so i was really quite fed up when he kept crying and coughing so i told him if he vomit he has to go toilet to do it. he din even wan the milk then.

wenyl
the bus auntie so weird. 7.20 is really early. last time when jh's bus uncle wanted to do that, i flatly refused cos it's really too early. his 1st bus uncle wanted to try out another route and ask me to come down at 7.20. so i told him he go and try but that day no need to come cos i won't send jh to sch. he went ahead to try and found that the change in route din help.

May,
Yah, I will continue to send Isaac to school during delivery. He's on 3 hours nursery every morning and my ILs sends him there.

Wenyl's suggestion on bringing a toy is worth trying out. Isaac was crying every day and refused to leave for school. This went on for 2 months till I decided to let him bring a toy to school and told him to share with his teachers and friends. It works. I think it's comforting to him. After 2 weeks or so of doing that, he stopped crying and didn't need the toy anymore.

KY/SY,
My mum is looking after J before she goes into CC. But she cannot cope with 2 kids if my #2 is born. So best way is to put her to CC. I have checked with our family doc before. He say it is fine as some children will vomit when crying cos the air goes into their tummy and it forced out the food inside. As long as it is not acid, it is fine. So far J will puke out phelgm, saliva and milk only.

Wenyl,
She dont have a soft toy/blanket anything. She sleep on tummy everyday without bolster/pillow. So it is hard to get her fav things to let her bring to sch.

Thanks for all the suggestion. Was surprised that J's crying had cut short today. Perhaps it is bcos of the CNY celebration in school yday. She still cry at home and on the way. But cried softly when we reach school. Really very tired but I will have to be hard hearted now to her.

May,

Try this but i am not sure if it will work. buy a small bear or stuff toy then tell her constanly that the toy will be with her as a friend and if she is sad or afraid or need comfort jsut bring it out and hug it.

May
I agree with the rest. It is a comfort toy tell her to bring and learn with her. Ask her to help mummy look after while you are at work

oh ya
I forgot who ask me about the update on the bully in Charmaine's bus. I did not let it rest leaving to the bus driver as there is no follow up with me except to break the 2 up. Because few days later he took her bottle and threw at her. Lucky it hit the bus seat. Imagine the impact of a filled bottle if it landed on Charmaine.

So I emailed the P1 custodian who happened to be Charmaine's english and maths teacher. She waited for Charmaine at the bus, got the boy, talked to the boy and made him apologise to my gal. I do not need him to pay for damage or anything, I just need him to know that it is wrong to do that. So ultimately you still need to depend on teacher cannot just rely on bus driver or auntie

Finally had time to update Ethan's arrival. My EDD was 18 Jan but both Gynae & I had expected Ethan to come our earlier based on Ashley who was 1 week earlier + I had feelings of contractions since Dec. My birth story:

13 Jan: Gynae Visit
Told Gynae i feel Ethan's movement is not as active as before. Gynae did a VE check (despite my protest cos i hated that) and found that I'm already 3cm dilated. She suggested that I admit on the same day to burst the water bag for delivery. I opt to admit next morning at 11am instead so I can prepare Ashley and do some last min packing. Gynae joked I'd better not disturb her beauty sleep in the middle of the night as VE check could bring about early labour.(After that I went to eat Ice Cream and had Ice Lemon Tea hee hee...)

14 Jan: Ethan's Arrival
From 3am - Had mild contraction like feeling but not painful enough to warrant the need to go hosp.
5.45am - Experienced contraction + shivering. Woke up and saw bit of blood when urine. Knew this was IT. Bathed, washed and blow my shoulder hair really nice (not kiaw kiaw).
6.30am - Woke HB up to go hosp. Contraction pain coming in bit by bit.
7am - Checked in labour ward. First thing was to tell the nurse "I Want Epidural" Hahaha... Did all the prepartory works (VE check 3-4cm, flushed out my poo, strapped up, etc) Reminded the Nurse "I want Epidural" again haha. Nurse said already informed the Doc.
7.30am - Administered Epidural (Yippeee!) Was a bit scared cos for Ashley time I was in so much contraction pain I could not feel any pain at all during the epi administration but this time I dun feel contraction. Thank GOD it was Not painful at all. =)
8.15am - Gynae arrived. VE check still at 3-4cm. Only much later then i realised Gynae also burst my water bag but because of the epi i could not feel any thing at all.
9am+ - Contractions started coming in regularly. I could feel the pain and told the nurse who up the epi dosage a few times.
10am - Could feel baby pushing down. Nurse say its time and practiced pushing with me. At this moment, i heard a "Beeeep" and nurse said Epi finished. I was shocked and told nurse to top up quick but nurse say Gynae said no need save money. I was worried but Nurse and Gynae who arrived shortly assured that the effect will not wear off so fast. Pushed a several times but baby stuck. (compared to Ashley i only pushed 3 times and she's out)
10.13am - Gave a final push and Gynae managed to pull Ethan out with Vacuum. Realised Ethan has got a bigger than expected head circumfrance that's why haha.

Breastfeeding
Back on BF again after a break of 2 years...For Ashley, I was so stressed all the time with little milk supply... For Ethan, I had so much milk I am always engorged and in pain. Weird isn't it. So tiring/painful to latch and pump all the time but I know it will get better.

RACHEL... Let's JIA YOU together!!!

Rena/CL,
I tried before already. Bought her bear/doll/barney, all the characters that she likes before she goes CC. She play with them and enjoy their accompany/comfort for abt 2 mths before going CC. She still does that when she reach home.

But in the morning is the headache part, just want to cling to me and cry. My mum say she is being "threathened" by the meimei inside my tummy. Hope this phase faster pass.

Mummies, sorry for the ranting early in the morning.