(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

CL, aileen, Sl
i m very fierce with JH too. i feel that he is like that cos of jx but despite our scoldings and caning, he seems to be worse. there is one day that i din scold him and he seems better. but then next day was the same thing again. it really makes me very mad with him when he does that.

then now that we have no maid, i have to clean up after him, whenever i ask him not to walk ard and eat, he wil do it on purpose...arrghh

CL
ask u stupid question. to bake muffins, do i need muffin tray or can i just spoon the batter direct into those paper cups?

oh dear, hope u and aden are better now.

mashy, belinda
hope your kids recover before CNY. my place also super windy. the window always gets blown shut...

CL,

I think its bad the virus, told u tat renee has been having fever on and off ya..this morning 4 am, leroy came down with high fever too

Aileen,SL,

I should think i'm pretty fierce too. although my parents have never beaten me before, but i've always been scared of them..so never dared be rude , talk back..etc

therefore, when renee tries her luck too much, i will tell her off and if she still pushes it, i will spank her with my hands. i will then let her cry till she stops and will make her apologise then will explain to her again what went wrong.

Belinda,

you take care too ya..i think got to drink lots of water now..dilute his milk too

SY

Maybe you're giving too much attention when he's noti. And that's what he wants. Perhaps u should act more calm the next time he's noti and send him direct to noti corner, no need to scold and make yourself worked up. Maybe that's why he seemed better when u didn't scold him coz he realised it didn't get your attn.

Re. High fever / cough
My Isaac is also down since last Sunday. His fever was fluctuating between 38 - 39.8 deg till Wed when we brought him to the PD. PD did blood test to rule out Mycoplasma infection and prescribed other antibiotics for him. Now no more fever but he's still coughing very hard, especially at night. Sigh.
Feeding antibiotics is a nightmare and I had to resort to putting it in his milk or yakult.
His appetite is very poor, he can't finish his milk and only eat a few spoons for lunch and dinner, if he wants to eat at all. I'm thinking if this persists after tomorrow, I'm bringing him to the hospital.

Re. colouring
Isaac also does not colour within the lines. He attempts to, but it's usually, it's stil lout of the lines. Most of the time, he just like to colour in big strokes over the pictures. Also, I leave it to him choose the colours that he wants and will not correct if he colours the trees in blue. I feel that there is no need to worry about the accuracy of such colour details, eventually our todds will learn that trees are green and skies are blue.

CL,
I have received the refund. Thanks.

May,
I think I forgot to answer your questios\n on CNY maternity clothes. I bought one top and berms to wear for Day 1 of CNY from www.mothersenvogue.com.
That's it. Don't intend to buy anymore liao.

Re: Colouring

The teacher brought it up again and asked me to practise with him at home. But i realised that he could colour and not scribble ard the page. Just that he needed the supervision. Well, the teacher asked me to walk away when he colours but i think he'll just dump it aside since that's not his interest.

Rachel had just given birth this morning at 7 plus am! Natural without Epi. Welcome to Devan, born at 3.17kg! She said too late to take the epi!

queen
Does Isaac have a phlegmy cough? Sometimes when they are coughing badly with lots of phelgm, it contributes to their poor appetite. It goes for the same with my boy when he had a phelgmy cough and I was happy that when while drinking milk he gagged and puked out everything including the phlegm! Hope Isaac has got a speedy recovery! I think so long he stays hydrated with lots of water, should be fine.

SY
When JH is rude or being difficult again, just bring him to a time-out corner for 3 - 5 min. Not the bedroom but somewhere in the house to "isolate" him. Our toddlers hate that alot. I think sometimes it's also a really effective way to deal with them other than caning. It's a phase they are going through and they are pushing their boundaries.

My boy got really rude and tantrumous during in Australia.... even giving time out corner in my uncle's home I kenna flamed by both the moms (hb's and mine) and my cousin who thought I was being unreasonable....really stressed and sianz.... And in Australia, they take it very seriously if you're seen spanking your child outside!!! I heard that the Aussies are ready to pounce on spanking parents and even call in the authorities!!! So when my boy starts to go "No!" or "I Don't Want!" rudely at every single thing I tell him nicely to go and do i.e. getting ready for bath, change clothes or nap, I give him the killer stare and tell him no more going out.

oh dear, hope Damien gets better soon.

Luckyvitamin spree
So far, these are the orders I've received. Please check through the orders and revert to me any mistakes or add-ons. There is no restriction to the number of orders now that I have more flexibility due to the new GST computations. If u still wish to order, please PM me. I'll close this spree next week.

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Item decription</TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD>Price (USD)</TD><TD>Total (USD)</TD><TD>SGD Total </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>$260.09</TD><TD>$442.15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>Nature’s Way - Bio-Certified Sambucus For Kids Berry Flavored - 8 oz.</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>$13.41</TD><TD>$53.64</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>Nordic Naturals - Children's DHA Strawberry 250 mg. - 360 Chewable Gels</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$36.51</TD><TD>$36.51</TD><TD>http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/73593 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>Nature’s Plus - Source of Life Animal Parade Liquid Children's Multi Vitamin &amp; Mineral Tropical Berry Flavor - 30 oz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$14.88</TD><TD>$14.88</TD><TD>http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/49859 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>Nature’s Plus - Animal Parade Calcium - 90 Chewable Tablets</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$6.22</TD><TD>$6.22</TD><TD>http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/66589 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slyeo</TD><TD>Fresh Baby - Good Clean Fun Placemats - 1 Kit(s) </TD><TD>5</TD><TD>$6.04</TD><TD>$30.20</TD><TD>http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/62229 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slyeo</TD><TD>Nordic Naturals - Nordic Omega-3 Gummies Tangerine - 60 Gummies</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$18.66</TD><TD>$18.66</TD><TD>http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/73605 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slyeo</TD><TD>Nordic Naturals - Children's DHA - 4 oz. </TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.56</TD><TD>$13.56</TD><TD>http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/54869 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tzemin</TD><TD>NOW Foods - Folic Acid - 250 Tablets</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>$2.98</TD><TD>$5.96</TD><TD>http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/50520 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>Nature’s Way - Bio-Certified Sambucus For Kids Berry Flavored - 8 oz.</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>$13.41</TD><TD>$80.46</TD><TD>http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/73252 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

I"ll be splitting this order into 2 boxes since the GST restriction is now on total per box instead of total per shipment. Just to let you know.

Rachel,
Welcome Devan! Congratz!! Rest well

CL,
Hope you and Aden recover soon. I'm also having slight flu and fighting it but it's not the jialat type. The weather's really haywire these days. Actually I rather switch on the aircon as the temp is kept at 26-27deg. If open window, the temp fluctuates and can suddenly turn so cold in the morning and I'm worried the kids will catch a cold this way.

SY,
Recently Meg threw tantrum at home and hubby and I decided to totally ignore her and continuing chatting with each other. When she realised that her tantrum was not working, she just suddenly stopped and went to play with her bro. It was really very sudden like turning off the switch!!

We also notice that she tends to throw tantrums more in the presence of my niece at IL's place. So it's an attention-seeking phase.

COngrats Rachel and welcome Devan! Take care!

Mamachan,
my hb told me you saw him at Suntec last sunday huh? so qiao...

Cl, Belinda,
take care, yup, the wind is howling at my place these few days, its very nice actually, sunny and windy, just that with L at home, I cant open the window really big...

May,
I think its a phrase Jamie is going trhough now, dun worry. S had that too when she started school. After 1 week when she was fine, she started crying every morning, saying she dun want to go... last about 3weeks and then its ok liao, so dun worry, its just them getting used to the environment.

SY,
yes! S is also naughtier nowadays, I keep blowing my top at her. Whining and throwing tanstrums are her speciality now, so I just stay firm and it will pass. Luckily she's still very ok with the mei mei.

sleepingdear
Yah, was there for church service. Think you both were there for lunch? Saw Shannon being carried I think by your dad? I know it's her grandfather lah...

CONGRATS RACHEL !!
Wow.. 1 day after Jamie's birthday. I will sure rem it. hehe. Share with us the photos when u are back okie?

Sleepingdeer,
Does S keep "nagging" dun want to go everyday? Jamie now is too the extend of dun want to eat and drink in school. CNY is coming, I think all will go back to square one again even though she get settled down.

Congrats Rachel! Welcome Devan!

Weather - It's been freezing at my place too! Cold wind esp at nites. Windy during the day but at least not too cold with the warm sun.

Sick - Yep, C is down with fever &amp; running nose while I am down with a running nose! I skipped work while he skipped school today.

Mamachan - Sounds like a nice time in Perth! Yet to go there. Shall plan for next yr after I finish my studies.

congrats to rachel! was thinking abt her this morning for some reason..

thanks. i did try the noti corner before and it din really work. he wil just repeat his behavior once he is out of it. sometimes i scold him cos i need him to stop his naughty behavior before he hurts himself.

SY

Maybe then u should just let him get hurt once a while. It will serve as a strong reminder to him. After falling a few times and slamming his fingers on the doors, my boy has since learnt to be careful with doors, don't play with them and be careful when climbing.

Remember when my boy likes to play with fans until i had to change most of my fans to ceiling fans? Well, i managed to stop it by holding his hand and putting it near the blades and told him i'm going to cut his fingers with the fan blades. He resisted and screamed 'no no no', after that, he stayed away from the fan blades.

Hi gals! am now at KKH with Devan =p
and here's my labour story->

16Jan 2009
2am- started to have mild contractions. thinking it could be false alarm like what happened a few days ago. decided to monitor.
3am- contractions getting intense. time interval 10 mins.
320am- woke up hubby. told him it could be IT. Packed in the remaining items into my hospital bag. Start to have intense contractions and heavy pressure when standing.
5am- called my mum and asked her to come over to look after dylan as he was still sleeping.
530am- headed down to hospital.
551am- admitted and wheeled into delivery ward. by now i was in great pain. contractions coming in at less than 5 mins.
559am- stripped to monitors and wait for gynae. start to use laughing gas, cant tahan the pain liao.
620am- contractions coming in 2 to 3 mins interval. VE checked, 8cm dilated!!
7am- VE checked, 9cm =S
715am- gynae finally reached. all ready to push!
747am- Devan arrives!!

thank you all for your well wishes =) will post Devan's photo after i download from my camera.

now really need to catch some sleep..

Wow, Rachel!
That's a fast one. I hope my gal will not come early. Wait till 25 Mar for c-sect. I think after you I am the next to pop in the list already.

congrats, rachel! was thinking if you have received the link that i sent to you. haha...

re: sick kids and mummies
hope you all recover soon. yah, the weather now has really gone haywire... day time can be so hot and windy, night time is so cold.
at night, i will just set the timer of the fan and it will auto-off after mid-night. so scare the kids will catch cold.

Rachel
You really power!!!! From not being dilated at all to dilating very fast all in one night!!! And no epidural too! You sure waited a long time after deciding to go to the hospital and calling your mom in. But it's good, no need to incurr extra hours charges in the hospital delivery ward =P

mashy
JH has hurt himself a few times like falling down etc but he forgets abt it really soon. i even did like what u did, i will purposely make him fall and let him know that it is possible to happen but he is still not afraid.

today i told his teacher how he behaves at home and his teachers can't imagine he is so different...

rachel
wow really fast labor....take care and rest well!

SY
how come teachers dunno kids are different at home and in school. Ha ha. Aden is very good boy in school too. Teacher's instruction more effective than us man. This never change.

Rachel Congrats to your little prince.

Hi Rachel, congrats! Isn't it a wonderful feeling, the natural birth?? Devan's born on 16th Jan? If so, he shares the same birthday as K! And I know Dylan's a few days later. Happy birthday, Dylan!

.ky.

Need some advise. Anyone knows the difference between Pediasure and Pediasure complete? Boy having cough and hasnt been eating well for a while, thot of giving pediasure. Lost weight and skinny now.

I've 4 tins of Similac Gain IQ Kid (900g) to let go @ S$23/tin. as I had bought the wrong milk formula for my son. If interested, pls PM me for details.

Audrey

CL/SY
Actually, our kids being well-behaved in school shows that they are capable of being independent and of course well-behaved. But being with us and back at home, they turn into "babies" again. Hahaha. Sometimes we wonder why.....

Rachel,

Mashy,
it's not reuseable. I like it because the crayon is supposedly soy-based so it's "edible"?
The price is a bit on the higher end though...: (

sl

hehe, even though it says edible, i don't think i'll let C eat it. hahaha.

mamachan
my boy behaves like a little bb whether in school or at home. sigh.

chillies,

i dun what the difference but damien is taking the one with the purple color lid.
He is also very skinny now..fever has gone, but think cough is on the way now.
whole nite was snoring badly due to flu and block nose.

Caleb celebrated his 3rd YO birthday on Sat. Got angie's shi fu to help us with the cake. But he was not happy cos he fell down and grazed his hands. But want to share the lovely cake!
2093697.jpg

pics of the Lil Einstein cake

2093698.jpg

Figurines molded by angie's shi fu!

Sept03bride
was caleb happy to see his cake ? Hmm annie look a bit differnt hor. ha ha but quite ok

Got mini rocket on the cupcake hee hee. How was the cake ? nice or not

Yes CL.
He's very excited when he went to pick up the cake with his dad!
Hee ya annie look abit pudgy.Quincy has super duper short legs.. haha

Sept03Bride
Wow! That's a really cool looking cake!!! =) I think my boy will get excited too over the pat-pat rocket cake! Can't imagine how Caleb's excitement would be like. hehehe

Sept03Bride

Wow, that's a lovely cake! So beautiful.

C was crazy over Little Einsteins for 1 mth. Kept wanting to watch 'rocket'. Then after he sianz liao. Now i asked him if wanna watch Little Einsteins, he said 'No way'. Luckily didn't buy the DVDs, those were borrowed from the library.

Rachel,
CONGRATS!
Your birth story sounds very much like mine when I had Isaac. I also only checked in hospital only when about 8cm dilated. Only had chance to use gas.

Mashy
Hahaha, I can imagine C going "No way!" How's his speech now? Talking alot more? My boy likes to revisit his old VCDs after not watching them for months...and can keep repeatedly watch them again and again. Seasonal...

Talking and Vocab
I'm glad that my boy is talking awhole lot more since after the Perth trip! He can relate to us and try to recount what he saw. There's a period of time I was a little concerned that he wasn't speaking as well as the rest of the little boys in this thread but I told myself to give him some time and he will develop his own pace. Looking back, he's really grown in his speech and words!

Queen,
they always say #2 will be a faster birth so you better standby to head to the hospital quickly when it's time.

thanks Mamachan and Mashy.
He loved the cake as well..

Mamachan,
hmm.. i tink in future u will probably be hoping that D will be abit more quiet.
Caleb talks so much.He can talk thoughout the car ride. His voice is so loud that he wakes his lil sista who is trying to sleep in the car. haha

mamachan

His speech has improved but still kept to 2-3 word sentences. Of course not as good as the kids in his class. And coz he's rather shy, he doesn't talk much in front of other pp.

SO good that D can talk so well. I kept asking C how's school but he's still keeping mum abt it. sigh.

Mashy
My boy at this stage mainly converse in 2-3 word sentences but construct more sentences. His longest was "Daddy, let's go inside look and find mummy!" When they were waiting outside for me when I went into a shop to take a quick look. I wouldn't say he speaks really well but good enough for us.

Sept03Bride
Hahahaha, I'm beginning to understand what you mean. At this stage, we are enjoying the interaction. When in his granny's van, he will go ,"Red means Stop! Green means Go! Yellow/Orange means Slow Down!!!" at almost every traffic light. Or he'll go," Hey guys! Look! Motercycle/truck/Big truck/ambulance"

Mamachan,
Daren's "Red means Stop!" reminds me of Meg who always without fail will go 'Boy wear pants, girl wear skirt" whenever we go to the public toilet and she spots the sign. Then she will ask me 'Mummy, you wear pants or skirt?'

*Roll my eyes big time*

Tracie
Hahahaha! Meg is really funny!!! But the association is good....but that means she will refuse to wear all forms of girlish shorts and jeans right?