(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sunny

why is solids as supper not healthy? Shouldn't that be the way to go? Until of course reach our kind of age then shouldn't be eating supper at all.

Tracie
Wow, she really drinks a lot! Is she still drinking from a milk bottle? If so, u might wanna switch to a cup instead. It'll cut down on the amt of milk she drinks and take in more solids. Anyway, I think it's high time the kids are weaned off milk bottles already. Bad for their teeth development. They're coming 3 already. Time really flies.

Cookie has given birth this afternoon! Both bb Kacia n mummy are doing fine. Let's wait for cookie to update us more details.

Congrats cookie!

CONGRATS COOKIES !!

SY,
Sorry missed ur post. I hope I can get one CL soon. Jamie's flu got worse today, very sticky to me. Will call tmr morning since I got sunny and rena's contact. My hb is still saying I very KS call CL so early to book.

wenyl
i was just thinking of cookie today and was thinking of asking whether she has given birth!!

may
not KS at all! my fren due in apr already asked a few and can't find one...

re writing with pencil
i think they are not of the age yet. JH's sch is quite strict abt some of the things they do with him. if not of age, no matter how he asked for it, they will not do with him cos they dun wan him to start wrongly and end up hard to correct.

re milkbags
i m thinking of storing some too. will check out the link tracy posted

tracy
lucky JH takes my ebm..haha...i mixed into his fm and he is ok with it. funny thing is last time i mixed jx's FM cos she couldn't finish and he disliked it. even half a scoop couldn't escape his taste buds. but he is ok with my bm..so good for me

Belinda
Yes cos apart from chinese all the other subjects are taught in English...so to know how to read is a must. In fact these days most of the math questions for lower primary are all problem sum.

Rena
E is such a clever boy =) My girl still refuse to toilet train as well....argh!

Queen
Heehee, I guess I'm using too many acronym. I meant to ask SL when did she switch to part-time =) Actually I don't really test what Mel learn in sch as well but she will on and off surprise us with new words. I think she learn more her numbers and colour from watching Mickey Mouse than from sch....haha

eg) There are 4 boys in the class. Each of them has 5 penciis. How many pencils do they have altogether?

if he can't read, how is he going to solve the question?

<font color="ff6000">congrats, cookie!!!</font>

belinda
his digestive system not good? always has LS episode?if you don't feel comfortable, better don't try.

mashy
heee... i usually apply the 'no solid food as supper' concept to kids, like how it applies to adult loh. 'cos solid food usually not good for digestive system mah.

may
it's not ks to book CL early at all. i booked my CL when i was about 10 wk. my friend booked her when she's tested +ve. :D

COOKIE,

Congrats.. Rest well too...

Tab,

elijah's eyes got swollen for 2 day when he work up from nap and only the left only we supected it may be allergy but will it affect the eyesight in future?

Any one has recipe for cooking olive rice? Whereby the rice is tasty by itself?

On another note - has anyone heard of Gerson THerapy? Based on organic veg etc?

Cookie
Congrats!!!!

sunny
is it? dunno leh, my PD told us to feed him solids. I feel our adults diet shouldn't be applied to them coz they need a lot of very freq meals unlike us. They have so many snacks in between meals unlike us.

CONGRATZ COOKIE!

mashy,
she prob takes after me. I was a milk monster too and drinking loads of Klim even when I was 8YO. :p i've tot of weaning her from bottle but haven't seriously got down to it. She will take fresh milk from the cup. Thinking to intro the sippy cup to her first cos it looks more interesting then gradually to the normal cup.

Last night on the way back from MIL's, forgot to bring her water bottle and she kept saying very thirsty. So we stopped by petrol kiosk and she insisted she wanted milk. She got cough so i din dare give her the cold fresh milk and bot the UHT type instead. That one she also like, drank 1 packet and asked for another but i din give.

congrats cookie!

re learning to read by P1:
yes it's so scary to know that. i think i will have a huge problem with ed next time, coz till know he still doesn't know his ABCs. He knows his colours and shapes and his vocabulary is quite good. like he can tell me Thunder rumbles. But he just can't figure out 123s and ABCs!

wenyl,
u also preparing for ben's birthday party ya! can't imagine last year we just gave birth on the same day and now it's been 1 year already!

btw doesn't anyone know where i can get mickey mouse party decor other than the party shop in centre point? is the selection at concourse good? i haven't been there.

tracie, it's so good that your kids like milk. my boys are like belinda's. don't like milk. so sad considering i breastfeed them somemore.

Aileen
Actually for 123s, I feel that they need to get the concept of counting 1st rather than recognize the numbers. Coz for some children, they may recognize the numbers visually but it doesn't mean anything to them. Way before my boy went to playgroup, I always count the number of steps on the flight of stairs back to my place. I would keep on going 1 to 8 day in, day out. Until he started to count along with me. Then he went to playgroup and started recognizing the numbers which he learnt really fast. Now he's counting objects, i.e. how many blocks/beads when I ask him how many there is.

Same for ABC...he watched the Leapfrog Letter Factory sometime at 19 - 20 months. When he sees alphabets back then on advertisment at bus-stops, he would say the phonetic sound of the alphabets rather than just recognizing the letters itself. By the time he went to playgroup and the teachers were teaching the letterland way, he was enjoying himself alot and I was told he always responds to the teachers when been asked what's the letter, the sound it makes, etc etc. So now, he just goes A-B-C, etc etc.

It's just IMHO lah... if you have your own methods then it's great!! So long whatever ways our child is most happy learning, that's more impt.

aileen
i agree with mamachan. it doesn't mean much to know 123 and ABC if u dun know the concepts. in fact Jh's sch told me not to emphasize on ABC but emphasize on the sounds instead.

i tot the shops at concourse moved? not very sure

yuki
if u get the recipe let me know. been cracking my head what to cook for JH.

now he cries every morn when he got to go to sch. how? he says he miss me and wants to stay with me. and though he's toilet trained, he refused to tell teachers he wants to pee so everyday pee in the pants in sch. he says he dun wan to wear underwear to sch cos he scared he pee in the pants. how to encourage him to tell his teachers?

Cookie - Wow, time flies... congrats on ur Princess!!! Kacia is a very sweet name!

Re : milk
Cel used to hate milk but now she loves it and asks for more! When i tell helper to prep 180ml, she will shout 240! and at times when i feel she is too full to take so much and give her lesser, she will look at the bottle and go: eh!?!? i want so much! *faints* her main reason for liking milk again is cos she associates it with growing up.. she says she wana 'zhang da' and go work wf me hahahahha

SY, mamachan,
thanks for sharing. ya i don't stress him anymore coz when i try to teach him, he will cover his eyes and bury his head. like very stress like that. then tell me he cannot see. got me worried the first time he did that. i tot he's going blind! haha! i'm sure the time will come when he absorbs it. now he only knows letter "o" coz i told him it's like a circle! and i think e coz it's the first letter in his name and letter S coz it's like a snake.

SY,
think jh is just going thru a phase. ed also does that. but once i'm out of the house he's ok. just manja. doesn't the teachers bring them to the toilet at a specific timings? that's what ed's teacher does. so he doesn't even need to tell the teacher. maybe u can ask the teacher to bring him there every 30min or 1 hr instead, since he doesnt want to tell the teacher.

rachel - playtex is good. i only used that. never leak!

cookie - congratulations! do share with us some pics of your lovely Kacia. cannot imagine ya already on no 3. haha...to think our no 2 is on the same day. hee...oh and no i am not itchy. my J is keeping me busy already.

sy - oh has JH just started school? if not, maybe check if anyone is bullying him in school or is there a change in the teachers? now on the milk topic, are you still buying mamil gold from jin tai? i realised that the difference bet the milk tin there and supermarket is that they had minerals ingredients missing. i have stopped buying from Jin Tai although its a about 5-6 dollars savings per tin.

re: milk
C is still very much on milk although we still give him porridge, rice, noodles etc. i agree that milk is still good for the kids.

Aileen,
Yup so fast hor...our babies no longer bbs. Sob! U try middle road ICB bldg. There are 3 shops there, previously from concourse. Or u wanna try this ebay, I find it cheaper n more variety. Just found it last night n ordered a barney banner. Now waiting for seller to contact me. Cldnt find it in centrepoint n middle rd.

Here is the link. They sell mickey mouse stuffs....http://search.ebay.com.sg/_W0QQfrtsZ50QQsassZourpartyshop

re : writing
i feel that we should focus on refining their pincer grip rather than pushing a pencil into their hands. scooping, pouring, using tweezer helps refining their fine motor and will make holding pencil easy. if u notice a kids's plam and action that he can do since birth, remember as baby, he can't even open the palm? slowly he learns how to grip things, control the fingers, n control movement of things put into his hands. hm, this is my own interpretation from Montessori method. but mine too likes to use a pencil and esp with an older brother ard, the urge is more. i do let him use the pencil but also encourage other activities like cutting, glueing, squashing.

re : knowing abc and 123
aileen, it's ok. my older one also does not know all these when he's this old too. he was doing letterland at this age n the teacher told me he knew them, but i was sure he didn't know. anyway, to keep the story short, the cc wanted to revamp the phonics prog that i feel was too aggressive for him. so, a school's way of teaching may not be suitable for your kid... but he did eventually learn his sounds when he's 4 and by us reading to him, he's slowing able to read himself. I feel knowing the sounds is impt as it's the building blocks that lead to able to read and understand what one reads (btw, he learns thru' jolly phonics n he was exposed to zoophonics before). but imagine that though he knows his 123, he has problem putting together 64 beads (eg) when i said show me how 64 looks like. each child is different in their learning n u have to try different method till u find the one that works with your kid. i'm still trying to understand how my older is learning as it's a different set of problems i have with him, and even after u think u understand the problem, new ones will come up. n esp u get new stress when u compare notes with other parents ...

.ky.

wenyl,
yaloh, like not baby anymore. thou somehow i still treat #2 very much like a baby. maybe cos he's extremely petite and afterall #2. hehe...

thanks for the link. much needed!! think i'll just order online then. too lazy to shop around! :p

ky
Wow, when I read that you mentioned cutting, I was glad that I got the plastic scissors for my boy to cut up my scraps of paper/recycled papers, unwanted magazines. Initially he can't do the open and close action well, now, he's more or less perfected it and got the concept of cutting the paper from length to length. Now letting him experiment with playing more with Playdough.

Aileen
Does Shicida teaches any of the 123s and ABCs thingy? Or it's just a methodology to enhance their learning? Perhaps Edgar is absorbing the 123s and ABCs but doesn't "show-off" yet? His language/verbal skills however seems very very good eh!! D doesn't talk as fluently as Edgar! haha

mamachan,
err... i dont' remember shichida teaching 123s and ABCs. only a little here and there thru playing. but ed is so not interested in the class that's why i withdrew him already. ya he speaks like a little adult. when i want to drag him out of the shower, he can tell me "I'm not ready yet!" faintz! i kinda miss the babyish him... he seems to grow up too fast!!

Re: Development
I think all our kids will develop at their own time, so no worries now unless they are very behind. They will be strong in some areas and weak in others. Like s can recognise her ABCs and 123s, and colours and shapes pretty well, and in class they are alreaddy teaching phonics, so she knows B is for Bear, and E is for elephant, but when it comes to potty training she is still hopeless, so i guess its like that, strong in some areas and weak in others.

I do let her mess around with cutting whatever she likes, gluing, painting and she loves playdough... at least it will keep her enterain and I dun have to bother so much about her now!

Aileen,
S is the same with E when it comes to bathing! She will tell me she doesnt want to bathe, and when she's in the shower with her dad, I'll check on her and tell her to come out, and she will say, 'Eh, I'm not done yet! Wait ok?' wah, sometimes so 'qi gek' with them!

BTW, I popped by to see Cookie today morning since I was there for my weekly checkup, Kacia is chubby cheeked and so cute! Get well soon, Cookie!

Aileen,
I think concourse party shop moved already. Actually CL had mentioned a shop at Raffles City 3rd/4th floor. I bought Jamie's Birthday Candles there. There are quite alot of Birthday party stuffs.

sleepingdeer,
haha S and E can hi5! ya agree it's very frustrating when they know how to bargain. never fails to get on my nerves! that's why i really peifu all the SAHMs like urself

u will be popping quite soon too ya...

btw when can i pass you the ergo? or if u happen to pass by my place you can just come and pick it up. i'll let my maids know.

may,
thanks for th info. i think wenyl mentioned they have moved to middle road. anyways, i just ordered online from the link wenyl gave.

Congrats cookie!

123 &amp; ABC
I personally doesn't emphasize on the letters or numbers. Like Mamachan, I felt that the sounds were more impt too. At least that's what I was taught. If I am not wrong, Both Glen Doman and Shichida do not advocate teaaching the alphabets directly cos they felt the letters are too abstract for kids. My son surprised us now and then when he points to a letter and name it. So at this age, I prefer to let him explore his own learning styles and use daily experiences such as during shopping and marketing or even when I am doing my chores to help increase his vocabularly. Nowadays, he imitates whatever we say. Actually, my greatest problem is chinese...hee.... he only recognised some parts of the body in mandarin and can only say, "Bu yao" and his chinese name.

Aileen
The story is so sad.... the parents must be blaming themselves and feeling really upset. The little boy is so cute la!

mamachan
i find that leapfrog letter factory is very good. my gal learns the sound of the letters from the dvd. but hor, instead of telling me A is for apple, b for ball, she will say A is for AHHHHH, B is for Beh beh beh beh....

ky
thanks for explanation on y not letting kids at our age to hold pencil now. my gal is now into cutting and glueing. i just let her mess up at place where didi doesn't crawl to. haha...

aileen
that's soooo sad....

ya, my gal also talked like little adult. like our little housekeeper at home now.

cookie,

CONGRATS! time really does fly! it seems like just 2/3 mths ago that you announced your pregnancy

do take care and hope to see kacia's picture soon

aileen
today jh told the teacher he wants to pee! really quite happy abt that. been reminding him every morning and his teacher also asked him a few times each day. so today he finally deicded not to urine in his underwear anymore. now can save on diapers!!

SSF
jh has been attending sch since jan. think it's cos i m at home...hopefully he will be over this phase soon!!

Sunny
Actually, that's a good way wor... A for AAhhhh, B for Bah bah bah , etc....coz that's the correct phonetic sounds and it helps them to read in future. So don't have to worry about it. In future you can play the spelling game with them, asking them to guess how to spell the word... I don't expect D to know now, but sometimes, I will purposely pronounce for example S-T-O-P with Sssss-Tttt-Oorrr-Ppp, and ask him to guess what makes up the letters in the word. Simple words, not too difficult words. It's good to build up their vocabulary now and that they pronounce words correctly.

ops sorry, i didn't realise the news i browsed thru was dated in mar! hehe... then again, it's a good reminder to ourselves not to be complacent when it comes to our child's health.

sy,
that's good news! sometimes our kids just go thru phrases... i have to keep reminding myself that it's the terrible 2's stage now... so i will be more forgiving and tolerant. else i will go mad! haha!

Had this conversation with meg last evening:

I was trying to get a sweet away from her cos it's too small and i was afraid she will choke. So I told her I'll hold it for her while she change into pyjamas. Of course I ate it up. and..

Meg: Mummy! Where's my sweet?
Me: Oops!! I forgot and ate it up! Sorry sorry sorry.
Meg: (Glaring at me) Say Sorry megan!
Me: Sorry megan.
Meg: (walking away mumbling) dun eat already then say sorry sorry sorry.
Me: !!!!!!!!!

aileen,

the story was so scary...damien was infected with influenza when he was six month old...and i did not realized that it could also lead to death. lucky he recovered within a week..i think that was the worst moment when he was hospitalized.

tracie,
wow meagan is some chilli padi! haha! i realise usually girls tend to be more petty in this sense right? whereas boys will just demand u give another one to him. women are just more petty! haha!

belinda,
damien must have picked up that line from someone at home right?? hehe... edgar will be very happy if i ever say sorry to him coz he will feel like he's done something right and i did something wrong. ego lah! again MEN! it's really in the genes back from stone age days! haha!

aileen,

he learnt it from his brother. Damien is very strong headed, if he think he did not do anything wrong, he will not aplologies.

edgar is even worst, sometimes when he's in the wrong, he also refuse to say. capricorns are known to be stubborn. edgar is an extremely stubborn one. since young he has been rather different from other children. weird one lah...

sunny ... no problem.

A for AAhhhh or Eh Eh Eh? There's a slight confusion of the sounds which I took a while to understand. A should sound like A-pple, and not A-qua nor A-long ... U-mbrella makes the sound AAhhhh. My 5-yr old still makes mistakes like that so don't expect too much of the coming-to-3 yr olds ...

Shichida and GD focus on right-brain (pictorial memory) rather than left-brain, and phonics goes under left brain, yah?

Mamachan, what I'm told to focus first is the starting sound ... like P-an, B-us, C-ar, K-ite. And there are various font types which one can play with the kid to keep drilling in the letter sounds ...

I'm going thru' a lot of these now so just sharing my experience ... a lot of frustrations esp when trying to move a kid to combinations like SL-ot ...

i find u got to be a good role model to your kids, as mine are doing some "bad" things that I've done, and my #2 tends to follow #1 a lot ... like if #1 writes, #2 will want to write, and when he sees #1 does something exceptionally nice, he wants to do too. A mother who has 2 girls like mine says her younger girl gets de-moralized when she can't do what the older one is doing ....

btw, does anyone have Growing Fun membership card?

.ky.

Hi Aileen,
yup, my hb cannot resist when S bargains with him, or when she wants something, she will give him a sweet angelic look with her big big eyes, and go ' Plllleeeaasssssse, Daddy?' and that's it, suckered... haha...

Ok, no problem, I'll swing by to pick it up, its not urgent anyway, I won't need it so soon
yup, my turn middle next month...!

I know you can re-inflat those helium big balloons at Centrepoint's party shop for $3 - $5, but am sure else where does it cheaper though...

Phonetic sounds
ky, I suspect that 'rules' come into play pronouncing when it comes to the sounds of the alphas. Like A in Apple will be Eh-ple, while in C-A-R would be 'K-AH-R'. But as a vowel, A is pronounced as AAhh. It's like the letter 'C', it actually makes 2 sounds, either 'Ke' or 'Ser' e.g C-A-T and C-E-L-E-B-R-A-T-E

But yes, we normally would start with 3 letter words with them especially on the starting sounds, I cited S-T-O-P as an example coz he likes to go STOP when he sees red light and it brings into memory how my mom would spell STOP with me when younger at a STOP sign. haha

Right now, since my boy is more into books and don't mind me reading to him before sleeping (instead of him keep flipping through the pages and trying to close the books), I'm doing more reading and he will try to repeat after me) So hopefully that builds up his vocab much more with words.