(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Re: Words & Phonetics

C is now going 'B, Ber Ber Ber'. So kind of lets me know that he knows his alphabet name and sounds. All thanks to leapfrog DVDs. My best DVD investment so far. Hehehe.

Mamachan
You're right in that there's many sounds to the alphabets. It has its name, a few phonetic sounds and if it's a vowel, a few other sounds. Kind of confusing actually so I try to just let him learn the basic phonetic sound first. The rest can come later.

mamachan .. i'm no expert with phonics ... trying to teach #1 so going thru's various materials on my own. his school teaches more on grammer n very little phonics. there are 42 phonics sounds so it's actually a long process. actually i don't use phonics when i read, more of sight reading i guess. but to make phonics teaching simple, we usually teach short vowels first. so we use examples like pan n i trytto skip over car for a start.

i find my 2 kids have different learning skills ... #2 is better with language and #1 logical thinking.

.ky.

wow all the talk about phonics is confusing me and stressing me up. i wonder how did i even pick up reading? tot it just came naturally! i'm sure my mum nor the school teach us in such details! hee...

aileen

haha, u're right. Last time where got such thing as phonics? Haaha. I remember learning ABC as it is. Phonics is like hanyu pinyin, makes it even more confusing.

aileen
yeah today JH urined in toilet in sch again. he was very funny. before we left house he said he wanted to urine. so i said quickly go then he said he will go sch then urine.

and when he came back he told me he urine 3 times in sch. quite funny.

ky,
phonics sounds so complicated! all i do is just to try to emphasize on the letter sounds when we read or talk. simple ones like bear, table etc.

peace now cos both children sleeping!!

tracy
jh also like that. he will say, say sorry to heng heng. or sometimes he will even shout at us. nowadays kids really different.

ky/mashy/Aileen
I'm not an expert either on phonics, but it's something that I remember that my mom started teaching me and she's not an English expert either, just that my family is more English speaking other than Hokkien/Cantonese.

She started me on A-E-I-O-U and then the sounds of them as AH-EH-EE-OOR-OOH. That was how I got started reading and then was able to figure out spelling in school rather than memorizing.

Hahaha, so actually last time have phonics, just that it wasn't made such a big deal as it is today. We just learnt and we had survived school/education till today.

may
you are not alone. my gal though she knows A-Z, she still can't really speak english in complete sentence. but for mandarin, she's fluent.

ky
i have growing fun membership card. pm me when you wanna get it. or you have anything in mind you wanna buy? i can help you to get since there is one at suntec city.

i don't know anything abt phonics until i learn together with my gal from leapfrog dvd. haha.....

mashy
^5! leapfrog dvd is my best investment on kids' dvd so far. haha...

Cookie,
Congrats!!! Take care and rest whenever you can!

May / sunny,
Not to worry too much about your girl's English, eventually, they pick it up in school. Isaac is not very fluent in Chinese, though he is able to converse ok in it with my ILs and my mum. I'm more worried about whether he will have problems with chinese characters and so on cos I really don't expose him to Chinese at all and he only has 3 days of Chinese lessons in playgroup!

Tracie,
Wow, I'm always amazed at how the girls in our group are so mature in the manner of speaking! So I guess it's true that in general, girls are 2 years ahead in terms of maturity .

Re. ABC, 123s and concept
I guess teaching ABCs and 123s will have come with teching the phonics and concept at the same time? I mean, I think most of us or schools will teach ABCs by emphasizing the sounds and linking it to words or objects and 123s by teaching with the concept of counting? It's not merely pointing out the alphabets and 123 and merely saying this is A, this is B and this is 1, this is 2 right? Isn't it kind of natural?

Re. half boiled eggs
Isaac loves half boiled egg! I can't remember when he satrted, but it was definitely before he turned 2. Nowadays, he likes to add a drop of black sauce and some pepper in it too cos he sees me and HB doing that. He wonders why his half boiled egg is not 'blackish'. But you know lah, as with half boiled and sunshine eggs, there's always risk of samonella poisoning and will cause diarrheoa. Depends on how comfortable you feel about it.

Sunny,

My son is also like tat when i showed it to him.. the funny part is instead of reading the words he goes CCCC AHHHH Teh Teh for cat...

sunny & may

hahah, C is opposite. He's a full fledged 'potato' boy. But when he does say chinese words, he never fails to amaze me. When he speaks mandarin (very rarely), his pronounciation are all perfect. The yu diao are all correct.

My hb has been saying to him whenever the trains' connectors come out, "Broken, how? (what should we do)" Then now, my boy thinks that it's 1 word. Every time the connectors come off, he'll go "Broken how" and give me a sad face. And to C, everything that's gotta do with opening & closing, it's 'open door' and 'close door'. Gosh! But guess it's still better than not talking at all like a few months back.

Sunny,
My gal's most fluent english is "No No" and "Cannot". I think she learnt it from me.

Is ur kids fond of giving adults kind of answer?
Got a funny conversation between Jamie and hubby last night to share. Both hb and me are surprised with this answer. Nowadays she is always talking like adult.

Jamie : 我要吃糖
HB : No,不能你有咳嗽
Jamie : 给我一个,please
HB : Cannot, 乖乖 ok? 你好了我才买给你
Jamie : Hmph.. 你们都不知道我有多喜欢吃糖. 不要跟你们讲了.
And she walked aside to play her toys. Gosh..kids.. at that time we dunno should remain firm or start laughing.

English/Chinese

damien is able to switch either English or Mandrian..it depend whom is he talking with.
With my parents, he will speak Mandarin and to the maid..automatically he will switch to English.
And to me and HB, it will be mixture.

mashy,
She is good in mandarin only. Hopefully she picks up more english when she goes CC next yr. J seldom cry or scream for things cos she know if she do that, we will not give in at all. Cos cane will be there.

Belinda,
Hope J will be like Damien soon.

May

Same leh. We also don't give in when he screams or cry. But somehow that's the only way he knows how to express himself at this stage. And he gets frustrated easily. Like yesterday, when he couldn't reconnect his train, he got so frustrated and swept his trains away including his tracks. Sigh, dunno how to teach him to control his emotions. How? Anyone has suggestions?

May
J's Mandarin is really very good. Mine is like Mashy's, totally Ang-Moh pai. Even when he speaks English, got slight slang. Even the chinese words he picks up, he pronounces it with slight slang too. At least I'm thankful that when we call his Chinese name, he responds, all thanks to after attending playgroup.

Something funny to share
Last night hb was listening to D singing his fair share of nursery songs from school, then D suddenly sang along the tune of 'San Zhi Lao Hu' and my hb wasn't really sure until D sang the phrase " Yi Zhi Mei You Yan Jing"... When D sang it one more time, his rendition of the song was:

"San Zhi Mao-Hu (sounded like Ma-Yi or Monkey)
San Zhi Mao-Hu
Pao de Wai (crooked???? supposed to be quai!)
Pao de Wai
Yi Zhi Mei You Yan Jing
Yi Zhi Mei You ..... (cannot hear the mumbled words)
Zhen Qi guai
Zhen Qi guai"

Hb and myself can't help but control ourselves from laughing out too loud and too much!!!

Sweets
My boy has got no concept of sweets is and thus don't take sweets at all. He doesn't get bribed with sweets!

mamachan

My boy's idea of sweets is actually his goats milk supplements. Hahaha. Every night when my hb gives him 2 of these, he will share one with me voluntarily.
But of course, he'll give me the smaller one or the plain coloured ones.

Mashy
ahhh....so C is on goats milk supplements...so he still has some form of milk supplements yah? My boy tried it when we passed by Unity Pharmacy when a promoter was asking us to try. I think he's used to promoter's offering things, thanks to my mom who always brings him to supermarkets and try fresh milk lah, juices lah, food lah; he happily helped himself to the "sweet" and put in his mouth and chewed. But gummy sweets, like gummy bears, mentos, he runs away when I offer him or spits it out! So good for him and me if he doesn't like sweets.

mamachan

yah. Coz he can't take cow's milk & has stopped his isomil, so thought get him goat's milk supplements to let him try. Well, he loves it. But I find a bit too sweet, so don't give him that much too lah. At least this is better than the normal sugary sweets.

may - wow ur J's mandarin is very good. C can hardly speak a word of mandarin. only when he started gg to sch recently, can he now say xie xie, ni how mah, wo heng hao. haha...

re: phonics
now that C is in zoophonics, he can do signs and pronounce words better. his english has also been improving. just that day he said "wahh!! so beautiful!" haa.. and he can associate those animals in the book like dee dee dear, bubba bear, pee wee penguin with his hand signs. amazing! we are planning to sign him for the holiday program in dec too. at least we know he is not rotting at home like before. looking at C's progress, we are toying with the idea of enrolling J to school maybe next yr when he turns 18 mths.

mamachan - haha D is so funny. but at least he got the tune right ya!

may
dun worry abt J picking up english. in fact i read an article that says english is easy for them to pick up. we shd expose them more to our mother tongue instead.

mashy
sigh JH loves sweets but now he dun ask for it like the way he did last time. (really thank God for it). so at least he's more manageable.

sigh his cough still there. think i will need to bring him in to see doc again. but at least he dun vomti anymore.

re words
hee, JH said metamorphosis and my parents were so impressed!

re: sweets
We have never volunteered sweets to clariss.
Same as Mashybrainz, clariss impression of sweets is goat milk tablet. We have also instructed her cc not to give her sweets or chocolates. We don't mean to control so much but she sometimes refuse to brush teeth and even if she does, she doesn't use toothpaste and still drink milk from milk bottle so we thought we better restrict her sweets intake a bit.

SSF,
zoophonics seems quite fun. Clariss attended a trial session at GUG when they were teaching D and so dee dee deer was introduced. She remember that only after 1 session but we thought that since she is watching the leapfrog DVD on phonics and her CC also teaches phonics, we can save some money by not sending her to attend more enrichment. her nephew attended almost 1 year and learnt a great deal from there. He is only 6mths older than clariss at 3 and half but he is able to read 3 and 4 letters words because he knows all the sounds of the letters.

re: Shichida
Any of the kids here are attending shichida? How is it?

RE: Sweets
J is eating all junks food, I am ok with abit but cannot overeat.

Mongs,
I think Aileen's E and Sleepingdeer's S are attending Shichida. Can check with them.

Re : Brushing Teeth
can i know do they do it themself or?? damien try to bush his own teeth but i found that he just anyhow do it, so i brushed it for him, since then he dun enjoy the brushing teeth session.

belinda
hmmm, haven't let my boy try brushing on his own yet. Still helping him brush.

Finding Nemo craze
Ok, my boy just got on watching "Finding Nemo" craze. We've been watching it once everyday since Sunday!!!! He'll keep going "Nemo and Daddy!!!"... I think he likes how the Dad was all out to search for Nemo who got lost. But it's good that he learnt that he must listen to Daddy and Mummy when outside and always hold hands so he won't get "lost" like Nemo. hehehehe

belinda
jh is brushing his teeth now. refuse to let me do it. once in a while i will force him to let me do it.

mamachan
hee, think u can memorise the words from nemo soon....

today jh very funny. i was eating my dinner and he insisted on sitting beside me. i din wan to let him cos he was climbing up and down and so dangerous. i told him not to sit beside me and he said he has to sit beside me cos he is my best friend. i couldn't help but laugh cos his usual answer will be that he miss me if he dun see me or sit with me but today he gave me a brand new answer.

Mongs,

Shichida is not bad but service is bad... you must get good teachers if not the english part is not too good. E attended for 1 year plus and jsut stopped coz we put him to berries to learn chinese.

He like shichida only later part .. now sometimes he will suddenly wake up in the night and says today forgot to go teacher Ivy class.. Ivy is the teach of shichida.. she is one of the better teacher but many good ones have left...

Belinda

I use the Braun electric toothbrush. So I got the kiddy buzz lightyear brushhead for him and used a lower speed. He loves it and it's been automatically brushing it for him. Not perfect, but it beats letting him brush on his own. He just chews off the bristles.

Mamachan

Hahah... So its San (3) Zhi Lao Hu... HB & I were then confused by Ashley's version recently cos we rememebr it was 3 but she sang "Liang Zhi Lao Hu" few days ago... here's her version:

"Liang zhi lao Hu, Liang zhi Lao Hu
Pao De Kuai, Pao De Kuai
Yi Zhi Mei You Yan Jing
Yi Zhi Mei You... Wei Ba (tail???)
...(paused trying to recall)....
Xie Xie Ni [Thank You]
Zai Jian Le [Good Bye]"

mamachan - haha i can totally understand the craze of watching the same movies over and over again. C was last hooked to CARS. I was almost watching like more than 3 times a day! Then he finally got over it, and then was hooked to Lion King for the longest time ever. The moment he woke up, he will say Lion King. I watched until i also can sing the songs in the movie. haha...but i am glad his craze has stopped for a while now. And we are still hestitating whether to buy the Madagascar movie or not knowing he loves animals.

Oh speaking of animals, we went to Night Safari today and gee it was so packed with ppl! overall i personally dun think its very good lei. quite ex too..abt $32 pax. it was so hot and humid and have to queue for the tram. And when we got off the station halfway, we had problems getting on the tram to continue our journey as all the ppl didn't get off the station after seeing the crowd at the station. It took the staffs quite a while before they decided to summon an empty tram to cater all of us. Someone even shouted "Finally!!" and clapped their hands. Not sure if it's because of the halloween tour that is gg on that caused the crowd. for us, we took the normal track and it was already crowded.

Tracy, so sorry - had no time to log in till today.

Here's the dosage given:
6kg - 1.2ml
8kg - 1.6ml
10kg - 2
12kg - 2.5
14 - 2.8
16kg - 3.2ml
18kg - 3.6ml
20kg - 4ml
22kg - 4.4ml
24kg - 4.8ml
26kg - 5.2ml
28kg - 5.6ml
30kg - 6ml

Flo,
Yup, converted to PT some time ago. Am enjoying all the spare moments that I have now. : )

Is the place that Mel's going good? I am still thinking of switching. The only plus point is that it's so convenient but otherwise don't think they do much teaching or simulating. In fact, Charmaine told me that the teacher told her to keep quiet?!!

Glanced through all the postings. Wow our toddlers have become little grownups already.

I jus got back from Melaka and the ride there was a nightmare. Firstly I was not feeling well already, then with Meg bouncing around and demanding for this and that, even after popping two panadols I still had a bad headache all the way. This is only 2-3hours ride up...i can't imagine driving up KL with her!!

Tracie
Oh dear.... Meg must have been super hyper and excited travelling a long distance up by car?? Family planning to go KL soon or it's just a comparison thought? I know I had a handful when I went up to Meleka with D via coach (my helper was with me too) last year. The only "saving grace" was the portable DVD player which had his eyes transfixed! Of course last year he still had his pacifier. LOL!

Mamachan,
We tot of going up KL next year but not cfm yet. We have a dvd player fixed in the car but she one minute wanna watch tom & jerry, next minute hi-5, then elmo etc etc etc.

Oh ya, and feeding her medicine while on a holiday is seriously no fun at all. It was sooo bad, nothing can make her take her meds, hubby and I sat down and had a real serious discussion about it. We decided we shall jus add into her milk and forget abt feeding her direct since it's so traumatic for all of us. Even adding into her milk is a problem cos if she's awake, she can taste it. It's 5ml med to 120ml milk. So only morning feeds we add and her afternoon feeds when she wakes up from nap still groggy.

I've never seen a kid so anti-med.

Tracie
Oh my... must have been really tiring for you and hb! Meg is really one fiesty little girl!! HAhaha, I still remember the times when we had playgroup when they were much younger. How she didn't like my boy coming up to your hb and sitting on your hb's lap!!! LOL!

My boy willingly takes his med. He associates them with his Zaditen. Only the antibiotics is a headache to feed because of the powdery form!

Mamachan,
She's still as possessive of her daddy. She dun allow my nephews and niece to sit in my hubby's lap or be carried by him. She will tell them 'Daddy is MINE'.

Hi SY,

JH is so smart! Coincidentally Ashley and Megan's school are also teaching life cycles and Megan spotted a caterpillar near in law's house and she's able to say that later the caterpillar will become a cocoon and then a butterfly! But she cannot pronounce metamorphosis thou. Ashley can and gets a thrill out of it. haha.

Guess what, Ashley told me she has a boyfriend in school. I told her she's too young to have any, she replied angrily "But i already have one. Period."......... Faint. I asked her what does girlfriend and boyfriend do, she said "hold hands, sit together, eat dinner together, go to each other house......." Wonder where she get all these funny ideas........

Hi CL, you have such problem with Charmaine?

yuki
yeah jh gets a kick out of saying metamorphosis too. he will go and test pple what it means.

jh also says he has a gf. but his idea of gf is more like a good fren.

kids really have funny ideas now.

tracy
maybe her tastebuds just reject med automatically....really anti med

THANK YOU for your well wishes...
Kacia and I have gone home from hospital and doing confienment now..boy I really dun enjoy confinement...

The birth story is dramatic.. anyway I was admitted to hospital on 20Oct after induced but kacia decided that she wants to stay inside and
mum and dad waited like 24 hrs with no sound no action at all...
Only on 21Oct when gynae break water bag ( goodness thats soooooo painful) then contraction start a bit. Finally gave birth on 21Oct.
And I thought 3rd time should be fast...
But the strange thing is.. the contraction was not strong ( tho I was on EPI) at al but Thank God I got fully dilated.

I will update abit of picture when I have more time.
I'm dying for a holiday.. but I know I'm not gng anywhere anytime soon.

God CHild
I saw your facebook photo, celest is such a pretty gal now.. !!
I got to wait along time before I bring all the 3 to genting again.. seems like genting change a lot too.

Tracie/Mamachan,

damien got no problem with the car ride to msia..even to Genting.
last weekend we drove to Segamat then to A farmosa..
the city boy refused to pee in the dirty/wet toliet....he rather to hold his pee...
he got slight UTI due to holding his pee for too long...

Tracy,

Oh dear... the trip sounds bad. Charmaine takes 2.5ml.

Mamachan,

Yes, that's why I am not quite happy about it. From what I understand from Charmaine, it seems like the teacher even "threaten" the kids with no playground if they misbehave. I don't quite agree with this. That's why am looking around. The really plus point about this childcare is that it's really cheap (it's 235 after govt subsidy for fullday childcare!) plus it's at the same building as hubby's office so it's really convenient....

a pic to share...
I went to see Dr T Tan the other day... and he actually address my bbs as K1, K2 and k3.. sound appropriately funny to me..
Here's my K1 and k3..K3 looks tiny beside her jie jie

1834502.jpg