(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

CL
Wow! Looks good and yummy. I really peifu you for being sucha a super duper mummy!!! Hahaha, I think when Charmaine is much older can help with washing up, you can arrow her to do simpler chores =P I know I always kenna arrowed to do housework when younger and without maid.

One of the May08 mummies encountered this with carrefour and i'm so shocked:

"i went to carrefour and bought some stuff and asked for delivery. they were supposed to come on fri between 4 to 9pm. guess wat time the delivery guy came by my place! he called me at 12am(!!) to say that he was outside my door! told him i was already in bed and asked him to cme back tmr. he asked me whether 8 to 9am was ok and i said it was fine. then my phone rang at 1.24am!!!! frm the same guy and i refused to answer...

called the office to complain and even the girl was shocked that they actually came to my place at midnight. then i got another sms from him to say that he would come around 5...but he came at 9pm...sigh... "

tracie

wow, that's scary. I also won't open the door. Who knows whether they're using this as an excuse to rob the family. Anyway, I used their delivery service before and it was fine. They came at the appointed time.

CL
You really super mummy. Yah, get charmaine to help wash up. She's already older can do these things lah. My friend's kids also help out washing the guests' cups and plates when i went over to their place. One is Pri 2 (gal), the other going pri 1 next yr (boy). They were so enthusiastic abt their 'job'.

CL
wah u really super. i dunno how u do it but u r really good. u shd have signed up for the supermum contest.

mashy
can we give manuka honey?

ha ha SY
cannot lah, all the mummies very pretty and slim slim one.

Mashy, Mamachan
Yup getting her to do more things liao. Last week she was helping mum to feed and supervise Aden.

But when she is good, she is angel. But when she is angry, she gets upset a lot. Like morning the 2 kids always fight who to be walking first. Then when charmaine is in front, aden cannot lose and will squat down and kick big fuss. So Charmaine always have to give in and today she so angry she pushed him. Go la Go la you go be no. 1

Sigh, kids fuss over such small things.

Mashy,
Jamie is drinking Manuka Honey. Hubby will mixed 1 tablespoon with about 200ml water. Quite diluted I think. He read it somewhere that it is good for toddlers and had been diligently feeding Jamie this.

CL
wah, well done!
ask you har, last week i made the cupcake, then it's not spongy enough, quite moist inside. what's the reason? baking powder not enough?

sunny
must see what recipe you use leh. Moist means baked not long enuff. Different oven react differently. Like mine hor when they put 180 degree i will use 200.

After baking , did you use a toothpick to test ? It must come out clean clean then means it is well baked.

Then if not spongy and soft , it would be the part of folding in. I oso fail a few times then a fellow mummy point out my mistake

CL
i c... i use hwee's recipe leh. don't know what goes wrong. ya, the toothpick comes out clean clean.
i can only use 150 degree, else, will get burnt and not fully baked. haha...

hmm... maybe it's my folding method. can demo to me when you are going to bake? hehe..

sunny
What is Hwee recipe ? You email me. Let me know when you want to do, then can take 1 Sat pm when Charmaine having class.

Got another expert mummy who is there so can discuss ha ha

hi mummies...i am back! my kids had finally recovered....Thank GOD!

belinda - aww...ur hb is so sweet! the last time my hb said somethg so sweet to me was like maybe 4 yrs ago! haha...

wenyl - enjoy ur stay in Melaka and do go for the couple spa....very shiok!

may - yeah i stayed at TMC for C and overall bill is about 3K. c-sect. almost same price as KKH. their tonic soup is superb! my hb loves it too. hahaa

CL - wah u really super lei. i dun think i can survive now without a maid. the last time i took a brush and wash those bottles is like a yr ago. haha..time flies...and my maid has been with us for a yr. took her out for dinner on sat and celebrate with her.

SSF
agree the soup is great. When my sil deliver there, I oso order the soup from the cafe for myself ha ha

Sunny
Hwee says heat too high if it is moist on inside

S'pore sure has a way of telling u that you're old. I'm actually getting WIS! Gosh!

SY

I should think so. My friend recommended it. But I not sure how much can give. I thought maybe 1 teaspoon (5ml) per day.

mashy
hmm if can give, i will wan to give JH to build his immunity...

me going mad with his crying...how? how long must i ren this phase??

mashy/SY,
J is drinking it to build up immunity as well. Heard can dissolve phelgm as well. My hubby mixed it early morning then let J bring to my mum's house to drink. So this 200ml last whole day. If not enough, J will drink plain water.

SSF,
So you stay in 2 bedded or 1 bedded in TMC? Is it Epidural C-sect or GA C-sect?

Anyone knows where to buy cheap tickets for helper? My Indo helper of 4 years going back to Surubaya for good in early nov. Any recommendations?

Hi CL,

You are really super! I am on a two weeks break and what i did is only shopping and shopping...... Just came back from Robinson sale at Expo. Was at Isetan pte sale last week...... IT was so crowded. Had to Q almost 1 hour to make payment! The robinson sale is better since it is weekday....

NOt working spent more money!!!! So i guess i am not suitable to be a SAHM ;p

Ashley has been wanting to bake but as i am not a baking person, i don't even have a oven at home..... any other way i can 'bake' without an oven?

Yuki
got microwave ? I can lend you my tupperware set which you can do a raisin cupcake.

SY
I suggest you do not give so much attention to JX. Then turn deaf ear to his crying. Then he knows he cannot get your attention like that

CL
your hubby really is 好命leh, have you as his wife and he need not lift a finger to help you with the housework. imagine you still has a job and need to tend to the kids too. must take care of your health ya?

SY
have you been throwing temper to JH very often? remember i did mention dylan does cry alot previously, even over tiny things? now he don't do it anymore, i controlled and changed my way of handling him.

Hi Rachel,

Care to share what method you use to handle Dylan?

I try to impose naughty corner plus what i learn in the book and megan can be out to naughty corner very often. Really need a lot of patience to be consistent. SOmetimes i would just hit her hand and she gave me her the other hand to hit too. Can tell me "This side?".... Hai....

Now both of them like to watch Supernanny with me every week. haha.

Hi CL,

Yes, i have microwave! My cousin gave me a set of tupperware set during house warming last time and i gave all to my mum.... As i don;t cook, i don't even need all these stuff.

You know, you really put me to shame. My gals usually have their meals at my mum's place on weekdays. We always have our meals outside during weekend..... Seeing you painstakingly cooking for your kids.... Hai.....

Yuki
what is the showing time of Supernanny?

HI mummies
Long time no read... I got to catch up this thread alot.. hee.. any important topic to update me??

SSF
I was also shock to see the baby bite biscuit in the list... kyler and kae was happily eating away whenever he is noisy having dinner outside.
But I only limit them to max 1 pack each...

Re: China items
Now my MIL ask me not to buy bakery items from cake shop too... fear that they are using China Products and the shop owner not honest enough just care for profit...
SO scary ... all these China product

Re: very whiny #1
These days... kae has been really testing my patience and she whine and whine, cry and cry alot...for no real reason.
I dunno what to do with her and she is really rough to didi sometimes. I have to use cane more often and when she gets stubborn, the cane works really well. It's so tempting to always use the cane, tho we dun cane her everytime cos when she see the cane coming, she will turn very co-operative.
I really din wan to use cane to make her fearful, but ....

Yuki
ok take my tupperware set. It is quite fun to let the kids lay the cup on the tray, let them do the mixing and oso drop the raisin in.

Let me know when you want to pick it up from me. Hee hee maybe tonight i try then show you how it looks like. It looks more like ji dan gao but it is the fun of doing it with them and they feel happy because they baked ha ha .

Now my aden loves to stand and point to oven and say cake cake. Wait patiently to get the first bite.

may - 1 bedded. Its epidural c-sect. fyi, hb who stayed over night have to pay abt i think 60+ per night which included food. my hb basically smuggle in. haha...

cookie - i threw the leftover packs of baby bites. guess for now can only trust made in aussie biscuits.

cookie/sy - are you guys using the cane? for me i use shoe horn from ikea. will beat lor...if really gets out of hand. C has also been rough to didi. he loves biting him. poor didi with all the "love" bites. i guess must know when to give the love and when to be strict. normally i leave the beating to hb while i be the angel. hahaa...

mashy
Read that you are losing weight despite eat alot?
Do you feel like you have faster heart beat now? perspire easily or perspire more than before? when you lift your hands up, do they tremble?
Not to scare you la.. but these are signs of hyperthyroidism.
Hope I'm just over-sensitive.

CL
what else to say... but POWER le you..
I have micro wave.. can share your rasin cup cake using microwave oven?
Actually my microwave has baking function too.. dunno that can bake proper cup cake or muffin or not.

Yuki
I used the soft approach, talked to him and make him listen to what i am asking him to do. if he dun listen, i will not give in or proceed further. will just sit there and wait for him to look at me. i found that its no point raising my voice or scold him as he will just turn a deaf ear and continue with whatever he is doing. I also used the method you shared about walking away after asking our kid to do something, leave them some pride and they will be more willing to cooperate. it works for dylan. sometime he will even got panic after i walked away into another room, he will run to me and ask for forgiveness and promise he will be good boy. I uses 3 times warning too. notti corner don't work for him anymore, talking sense to him and make him understand his action is not acceptable at that point of time works.

i cut down on using the cane le. haha yesterday was the 1st time after many weeks i caned him for playing around while drinking juice and ended up stained his tshirt. as i did warned him if he carry on playing around while drinking, i am gonna cane him. he really messed up and i kept my words and caned him once on his thigh. so he know i really meant biz.

Yuki - I bought a tix from Valueair for my maid. She just left last Wed. Paid $192 to Surabaya. Flight is 1.05pm. She was so appreciative we took leave to send her off cos her friend's employer bought 7am Garuda & told her firned to go airport on her own.

CL
i usually ignore him and wait for him to finish crying

rachel, SSF
yes i use the cane. no choice or he will not listen.

rachel
i talk very long to him but he will always bluff me. will agree to whatever i say to get his way and then after that back out of the agreement. i usually cane only if he does something dangerous and i have warned him already. he really turn deaf ear. he likes to jump on sofa or climb very high to jump. already told him many times not to do it. the only way to get him to stop is to cane. a few times he sat on his chair and din sit properly and fell. after that, what happens? he forgets and still sit the same way.

as for the crying, he cries over every little thing. when the program he wants is not showing he cries. what can i do if it's not showing? i dun own TV station. he will ask me abt it everyday and cry when i say it's not showing today.

then refuse to let my maid bathe him, feed him etc. will cry if i ask her to bathe him. cry non stop.

then keep asking for sweet the min he reach home. even if i say later or ask him to finish lunch first, he will cry and just keeps asking for sweet. testing my patience
how??

rachel

my boy stained his school t-shirt with apple juice today when he was out with his daddy.
And my silly hb didn't even bother to rinse the t-shirt after he changed him. Now i'm stuck with a badly stained sch t-shirt and I'm at a loss on how to remove the stains. Have tried many ways but failed, do u have any tips?

SY

Then maybe u should include a penalty in the agreement if he backs out of the promise. Maybe confiscate his toys, no special treat etc?

My boy's favourite things now are his umbrella and stroller. Managed to make him obey by asking him whether he wants his umbrella/stroller later. He usually will say yes. And then I'll ask him to obey or else I will keep these things. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. Well, worth a try anyway.

If he keeps crying, then u tell him if he continues to cry, he won't even get it later or after lunch. It works for my boy. I think for the kids, everything is now. They can't wait. And if I'm not wrong, they've no clue abt time, so you have to be clear abt it, like after lunch etc. For C, I only give him his 'sweet' (aka multivits) after his meds. And he knows that I won't give it to him any other time. He can beg and cry and I won't give it to him. So now he knows when he has his meds, it means he will also get his sweets.

well, it looks like JH is having trouble waiting too. U might wanna read the following articles. I thought the timer idea is rather good. Go and get a timer and tell him once the time rings/beeps, he can get whatever he wants. And praise him after that for his patience.

http://www.babycenter.in/toddler/penelopeleach/whycantwaitexpert/
http://www.quakeroatmeal.com/qo_familyFocus/quakerToddlers/behaviorDevelopment/article.cfm?articleid=331&ArticleName=Tips_for_Handling_an_Impatient_Toddler

Maybe u should just get ear plugs. hehehe.

re: penalty vs threatening
i always warn my gal like, if you don't do xxx, mummy is going to yyy. does it sound like a penalty or threatening to her? i really cannot differentiate.

and whenever i raise my voice slightly, she will start tearing and ask me not to scold her. I kept telling her that I did not scold her. But, she just insists that I am scolding her; then i got so fed up and want to really scold her... and there she goes... cries with big drops of tears... i wonder if i am all along too strict to her or what. *sigh*

RE: Terrible Two
Ya this is the terrible stage. J is quite whinny these few days. I am trying the soft approach with reward approach. Hb will be the bad guy with cane. When she misbehave, hubby will be the one who comes out with cane. And J will run to me first. I will explain to her why daddy is angry and the right and wrong. After which, I will use her fav sweets or snack to reward her. If she apologise to daddy and dun do it again, daddy will give one sweet. But daddy will ask her to stretch out her hands to get a light smack on her palm. She will need to apologise and say why she is beaten and what she should do next time. If she repeat it, we will make sure that the sweets are out from her sight and she cannot eat it that day. Daddy will only give the reward when she admit the wrong.

I think she is coping quite well although sometimes it is getting out of hand. Then real smacking (once or twice) will come into action. But she got to know to stop crying within a count of 3.

I think it is really a tough task to handle them at this time.

I m back from Malacca!
Its a good trip. We all are very pleased with Holiday Inn hotel rooms & service was wonderful. E was still asking to go back to the hotel room to sleep. Even complained just now that our house has no carpet in the bedrooms n our flooring is so hard. Buay tahan him!

SSF,
Thanks for recommending the Tea Tree Spa! Although I only had time to try the 1hr Aromatherapy massage, its very shiok already! I fell asleep halfway, which is very rare for me unless its super good. The whole atmosphere in the massage rooms is so serene n romantic cos its sea facing. No wonder u highly recommend the couple spa. Too bad we got no babysitter to look after E.

Mashy,
Was laughing to myself when I read ur suggestion abt ear plugs. Maybe I shld get 1 pair.

SY,
U want one? Haha! My E is also like tat nowadays, whine n cry for the slightest matter. Hear his whines until I sianz. Scold him also will cry like siao. Its not easy to handle 2 active todds at home. Most time I will sub Ben to the maid to carry while I handle E. Cos E will not listen to maid. She can't handle him for baths n meals. He will be running around wet n naked if she bathes him. E also refuse to let maid feed him. Worse still, Ben now also knows how to vy for my attention thru whines n cries. My whole house is so noisy n chaotic these days.

re:Bread Baking Classes for Charity!

i was informed today that a friend is conducting bread baking classes for charity. All fee collected will be donated away to feed hungry children.

Wonder if anyone of you would love to learn how to bake bread yet contribute to the charity at the same time?? It will be a 3-hour bread baking class and have dinner all in one, with fresh bread from the oven. Location will be @ a condo near to cck mrt.

I know that it is kind of last min but please do PM me for the classes details if you are interested. The deadline is 30th September, which is today. sorry for so last min, i got to know of this today too. I plan to go, hoping to have friends to join in the fun too =)

btw, my friend (the teacher conducting the classes), he was featured in The Sunday Times, Life, 28th Sept 2008. sharing on his passion in making healthy bread.

SY
JH might be seeking for attention and feeling insecure. tats y so demanding and out of control at times. dylan do bluff me at times too and how i counter this is i will also tell him since he don't keep his promise, i won't keep mine too. i will ask him will he be happy? he said no and i asked him why. from there he understand keeping promise is an important thing. i practise the 打勾勾 method and he likes it.
mine also love to jump high and low, whether on sofa or bed. but he knows i mean biz when i warn him and start to count 1,2,3. bcoz if by the time i count to 3 he still don't stop those notti acts, he will see the cane or i will walk away. so normally he will stop by the time i count to 2.

oh yes, another thing works well with him is the timer. he reads the digital clock now and what we do is ask him what time for e.g. to brush his teeth after his milk or take his bath etc. he will tell us the time after looking at the clock, for e.g. 1 or 2 mins later. i will ask him, "u promise? to take your bath after 1 min?"

i praise him constantly for doing what he promise and being a good boy. i can see he like being recognise too. so i guess tats y with all the methods i use on him, the crying episode for him is over for a few weeks already.

Mashy
hee i just got a pair of ear plug, not to block out a crying todd though =p i went to witness how grand F1 was last sat.

mashy
dylan kena apple juice on his shirt before too, i too failed to have it remove. guess juices like apple, grape etc is so staining. i just kena grape juice on my tshirt when i was peeling grape to feed dylan last night. this morning after wash the stain stays there for good le =(

all the suggestions i have been doing but none worked...usually he waits till i m really mad then he will be a good boy...

wenyl
JX also asks for attention at times. so can be really chaotic. i realise when one cries the other wil cry too!!

rachel
so that guy is your teacher? really impressed with him

SY
hmm.. headache yah. JH has been a sensible boy, guess the arrival of JX has somehow made him to be behaving this way. testing and pushing you to the limit everyday...

he is my friend, a very funny guy too. had his bread before and i must admit they tast real good. at least i know i am eating a healthier version of home-made bread =)

CL
I was thinking of asking you to go together leh. so near woh...

rachel
i emailed to him liao, waiting for his reply. he uses english language to teach? if got chinese class, i will ask my mil to sign up, too.

RE. whiny kids
Isaac is really whiny and clingy these days and I wonder if it's because #2 is coming. But seems like it's the norm here? I get so irritated sometimes and I will tell him sternly to stop whining but of course no use. My HB is more patient than me and he will try to pacify him.

Re. discipline
I don't have a cane and if me and HB up are really mad at Isaac, we will smack his hand or buttocks with our hands, though it's quite seldom. Most of the time, we just tell him sternly not to do this and that. We seldom use the threaten / reward way of disciplining. He's gets quite upset when we yell at him and will start crying. We'll just let him cry it out without consoling him and then tell him why he cannot do those things. Sometimes, I don't even scold. I will just say sternly a few times and ignore him. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. And for things like getting him to keep the toys, I find that telling him nicely and say things like 'Can you help mummy' and 'Can you keep the toys together with mummy' actually works better.
We only use the reward tactic to get him to eat medicine or finish his food.

Re. cannot wait
i also use counting the method. Sometimes he cannot wait for something, I will just tell him to count 1 to 20 or 1 to 50 with me and that whatever he is waiting for would appear after counting. Sometimes, like when he whines while waiting for his dad, i will say count to 30 slowly and daddy will come and he will count. At 30 daddy doesn't appear and I will have to tell him to recount. For now it still works!

CL
go la go la. learn different things mah and help in charity since 100% of fee donating out. i now jio-ing other baking lovers to go. then we all can have fun and bake together!

sunny
he should be using english to conduct the classes, as his english is better than his chinese =p seldom hear him speak chinese la. i can call him to check out whether he cater for any chinese class. faster ya?

Hi CL,

Thanks. As i will be starting work at a new company soon, i will have to see how is the work load first. Once settle down, will borrow the tupper ware set. : Thank you so much for your offer!

Hi Sysac,

$192 including tax? That's cheap. A Agency quoted me $290 silkair.

Hi SY

I have the same problem. Megan always said she want to watch Super Nanny NOW...... Faint.... When we drive pass by some nice scene, she said nice and want the scene forever..... I WANT!

Hi Cookie,

Super nanny is on every Tuesday, 9pm on Arts Central. Last week kids isn't that bad. The week before episode - the mum had to put the boy back to bed 98 times in one night cos the boy keep running out.

Hi Rachel and cookie,

At least your kids are scared of the cane. Megan will stubbornly refuse to give in.

sunny
i called and checked liao. all ingredient included, so just need to go empty handed. As for the chinese class, he can translate personally to your mil on the spot. thats what he did for his previous class with chinese speaking people. =)

Hi Sysac,

Can i have the website for value air? I am quite bad at all these..... it is not an airline itself right?

Hmmm,

My helper don't have a surname but it is mandatory..... so i key the same name on first name and last name?

Anyone can help?

i just did up my own blog recently! had stated my blog address in my msn, do check it out! can also pm you my blog add if you want to view it. just let me know =)

if damien started to whine or making a big fuss and it get into my nerves..i will just open the house door and pull him out of the house.
it works perfectly well at the moment, but I duno how long will it last.
I tried cane but it doesn't work anymore.

belinda

U mean like throw him out of the house? Imho, I don't think it's such a good idea leh. I feel that it's like abandonment and as a child, i'll feel very insecure, dunno when my parents will throw me out of the house. Maybe next time, they will threaten to leave house becoz they don't get what they want.