(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy, CL,
thanks for all your help. tickets issued liao. I'm so looking fwd to this break after a 'no-travel' period with hubby since Meg was born.

SY,
haha, sounds like daddy's girl! Pigeon teat is softer than Avent. Patience..patience..babies change all the time so who knows, maybe next week she will adapt to bottle feeding and avent.

SY
I've never liked Avent bottles. My boy hated it when we introduced him to the bottle back then. He only accepted NUK rubber teats. It was late last year that I tried the Pigeon Wide bottle for him and he took it really well. I think Avent's teats are too hard.

Tracie
Enjoy your trip!!! Hope the trip with your SIL will turn out ok!!! I personally dislike the idea of having to manage everyone's expectations in the trip at our own expense.

finally hb is coming back this sunday..recieved a sms from him last nite..so touched.
"this is the first time in my years of travelling that i felt i miss u alot"...

btw, i tested that i m not pregnant but maybe just hormones changed.
I had spotting for 1 weeks plus liao instead of normal menses.

Re : Holiday

my elder boy duncan told me that his gf, megan is leaving to japan for holiday last nite 11pm flight.
OMG, really cannot tahan the children's conversation nowadays.

Finally got my pot and pan. Hheehe. Got a vitacraft 5ply pot on offer and a Calphalon anodized aluminium pan at 40% off (apparently scratch proof). All made in USA. Total damage: abt $300 for these 2. Hope they're good investments.

SY

Yah, saw the ad today. Isetan pte sale having it at additional 10% off the offer price of $150. Saw a lot of pp got it.

Re: WMF

U can check the pot. If it's made in Germany, it's labelled. If not labelled, means it's from China. Ok lah, i think not so bad if made in china, but the quality definitely not as good lor. I still have those made in China 555 pots in use. Heheh. But of course qly not so good, the heating not very even.

Tracie
Enjoy your trip!

Belinda
hahahaha. Duncan is so funny. Kids nowadays grow up real fast, don't they?

CL
the idea of wearing hb's t-shirt is cute. maybe when desperate i will do it

JH really a super crybaby. just now i told him if he continues to be so naughty, i will go back to work and send him to full day sch.....haiz.

krissie

Sorry, didn't manage to see the playpen. Too busy deciding on the pots & had to rush to fetch C after that. It was a mad rush today. Forgot to buy some of the other stuff that i was thinking of getting too until too late. sigh.

SY

Just ignore him lah. Like C just refused to take his nap. I left him crying in his room until he kaki fell asleep. Heck, we can't be always at their beck and call and giving in to them all the time.

SY
If my boy gets into those crying modes, I'll just ignore him and told him that I will only talk to him when he stops crying. Definitely have to ignore the crying bits, coz they really do know how to get to you and drive you up the wall!!

I just changed J's bottle from NUK to AVENT. I find the teats has got a strong silicon smell. Most likely will change back to NUK. I will keep washing the AVENT and keep to see if #2 likes it. My AVENT leaks too. Imagine it is brand new. Hmm..shouldn't have change it.

hi mashy ... just read that you bought your pot/pan. The one I'm speaking of is natoyan chang jin guo .... apparently something that's used in da chang jin, I didn't follow that series but the pan's quite good.

.ky.

may

i'm totally off avent. I hate it coz it leaks even with a new bottle. Not only that, a lot of black dirt started to accumulate in the teats and no matter how i wash, also cannot come out. Got so fed up i weaned c off his bottle (and milk). Won't ever use avent again. Their products suck. Maybe it's coz they changed hands? Now it's under philips.

ky

huh? chang jin guo? As in Chiang Kai Shek's son? Hehehe. ai yah, too late, already bought the calphalon saute pan. Hope it will be good. Apparently it has a lot of very good reviews. It sticks to the pan though, so I suppose I will use this only for those food that I'm braising or going to deglaze.

re avent
mine leaks like mad too! i m trying to tell JH to drink milk from cup but he refused. recently he has been lactose intolerant but he insists on drinking milk. says he can't sleep without it

mashy,mamachan
i ignore him when he cries but it drives me up the wall cos we can't get anything done. he cries more than the sis.

going to close my BP. any mummy interested?

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1732929.html?1222329374

SY

Why don't u try giving him other things than milk? C also insisted on drinking his milk from his bottle last time. After i stopped giving him milk and gave bread (or other food) for a while, he's ok with drinking milk from a cup already. Or if not, give cereal mixed with his milk. I get those wholemeal cereal, mix with c's milk and give to him in a cup. He loves it.

SSF, ky, Tracie,
Thanks for your feedbacks on the melaka hotels! Have finally booked Holiday Inn cos the Tea Tree spa sounds too tempting to be missed and my hb prefers the newer hotel rooms. Personally hb & I ever stayed in Mahkota b4 but din really like the service apartments. Still remember the musky smell of the room. We gonna bring just E for this short holiday so dun need a kitchenette. By the way, Holiday Inn has kids suite. From the pics, it comes with a bunk bed tucked in a corner away from the parents bed. But too bad its not available this weekend.

Belinda,
So its good news for u. Next time must be more careful hor. Kekeke! U very steady leh....No way I will let hb go on his own holiday for such a long period. Not until his kids are much older man!

SY,
I recall having a lot of problems bottle-feeding charmaine too. My mum, dad, hb, maid - everyone tried without much success. In the end we just left it. It's just more stressful for me cos I had to make sure that I go home from work punctually so that I can latch her on. Are you going back to work soon?

SSF,

mashy
thanks for helping to check out.

tracy, SY
Is it you who tried printing from snapfish? how much is it ah?

Absolutely love my new pot and pan.

Just need to throw the vege into the pot, cover and just wait for steam to come out, then it's done. So easy, no need any oil.

The food cooked from the pan also taste better. Think it's coz of the bits of browning that makes it have the extra taste.

My hb said since I got these new cookware, tonight stay home to eat. Siao. I still have plenty of time to practise with these. Fri is off night for me.

Can I check? Any one delivered via C-sect and stay in 1 bedded room after deliverying at TMC? I would like to know the hospital bill. Was thinking of choosing 1 bedded.

may

have to check carefully abt the 1 bedded room in TMC. My friend just delivered there and was given a 1-bedded room without attached toilet. The toilet is outside and imagine having to walk that far to the toilet. And u paid so much for it somemore! It's so small, it's better off staying in a 2 bedded room. Of course, there're those with attached bathroom and those are huge. My friend complained until she got transferred the 2nd day. The TMC pp said coz the rooms were full. Hopefully she didn't have to pay that much for that 1-bedded room.

mashy,
I opted for 4 bedded last time but had free upgrade to 2 bedded cos they got limited space. But heard TMC just renovated and got more 4 bedded. So am thinking of either choosing 2 bedded now or 1 bedded lor. If that's the case, most probably I will get 2 bedded already. Cos going to toilet after c-sect is a very difficult task to do.

may

yah lor. If not u call and ask them abt the 1 bedded lor. I've another friend who did get a proper 1 bedded room.

Actually dunno how they do things. If the proper 1 bedded is not available, they should upgrade mah, not downgrade.

Mashy - is isetan having the sale for public now or oni tat one day for members? im also tinking of gettin new pots, mabbie will just get WMF. as for non stick pan, my neighbour recommended Tefal, she said its quite good for her.. am tinking of gettin it to replace my current ones...

Belinda - must be so touched by ur HB! the rare times my HB sends such sms, i make sure i save it in my folder haha... never knows when i will get such sms again hee...

Ky - u received my e-mail on the transfer? din see reply from u...

krissie,
yupz, i ordered via snapfish before. Can't recall how much but i know it's cheap. They have promo sometimes and it's like S$0.15 per piece or something.

May,
When i delivered Megan was c-sect at TMC 1bedded but can't depend on that for the costing cos it was emergency c-sect so bill was on the high side. This time round i was also in 1-bedded on level 6, the renovated room. Very nice. I paid about $1k in cash for my delivery this time. The last time was $3k cash out of the $6k total bill.

god's child

Yesterday's pte sale was for members only. But today onwards will still have sale, just that not as much as yesterday's pte sale. WMF having $150 for a 6 pc set. It's a different set from the 6pc that Robinsons is selling at the expo. The isetan one has sauce pans, but the robinsons one is mainly dutch ovens.

I'm not getting anymore non-stick. Have to replace all the time. Just use the non-stick for easy stick stuff like eggs & pancakes. Why don't u try non-stick that aren't teflon? There's a few out there i think. Even the vitacraft ones are supposed to be non-stick, but must put a bit of oil.

Gals

Do u know that cooking with a teflon coated pan under high heat can kill a bird? Apparently the fumes from the teflon coated pan is poisonous. Gosh, this is the first time i know that.

mashy
If you turn up the heat of your fire to heat your pan over 360 degrees celsius, than yes, it's not healthy for human consumption. Should always use medium to low heat when using Teflon coated pans. Normally, our cooking using medium to low heart should suffice for sauteeing our foods which is healthier anyway.

For Teflon pans, good to change every 2 years. I just changed mine anyway.

mamachan

hehe, i think i'm guilty of that. Always turning up the heat. So I'm off it. So far all my teflon stuff can only last me 1 yr. I'm a lousy caretaker for cookware, so now gotten hardy stuff that i can abuse instead. hehehe.

yup
I am highly affected because now hb cannot dropped me off for work in the morning. I have to take train from his work place then today i jam at keppel for 45 mins sigh.

Zoom zoom is so loud so we went to see at my boss room. Ha ha. Hope weather remains good for them too

mashy
I too am not big on F1, but my hb was saying that it's more about the strategy and the number of pit stops, etc etc I told him that I rather watch soccer =P or any other ball games.

mashy
i tried to get him off milk but he insist that he has to drink milk at night cos he wants to sleep...sigh...he and his logic

sl
yeah it is stressful cos she screams so badly when bottle feeding. so i keep latching her but cannot like that all the time right?

re snapfish
it is 19 cents a piece.

SY
Actually, I think it's still perfectly fine for them to still have their milk till when they are older. Don't have to exactly wean them off totally as they still need their source of calcium for growth! Unless you are 100% sure that JH is consuming ample amounts of cheese, yoghurts, calcium rich food. Even when my cousins or myself are older, we still had those UHT fresh milk once a day even in Primary school.

I am officially maidless again. Cannot tahan the daily complaints from mum about the maid. So give up. Will send Aden back to cc in Nov and mum can handle my gal on her own.

Now back to my multi role again. wake up early in morning to clean house and prepare lunch to bring to mum place daily. Then come home must coach both in reading. If lucky after they sleep if energy level still there I would like to do my own things ha ha. Hmm dunno can come true now or not ha ha.

Just woke up in morning, clean the floor and wash 1 toilet liao. Prepare the breakfast and they are done with breakfast. wash up liao.

Now 2 hours. Got to bath them, clean the rooms and get ready to go out by 11 am.

Maybe can slim down like that. I must have put on lots of weight when maid was around.

CL,
You power lah, you should have sign up for the channel 8/U program 'quan neng qiao ma ma'! I will not be able to do housework and prepare lunch every morning...peifu peifu. How about getting a part-time maid to come clean your house weekly? At least can relieve yourself of that part.

CL
Your mom complaining about the maid as the maid really don't meet her standards or generally your mom doesn't like the idea of having a maid around??

CL

Wah, u are a supermom! I also can't do all these even tho I'm a SAHM. Hhahahaa. And I'm losing weight lately too even though i've been eating and eating. Have to go for a full med check up liao to make sure nothing wrong with the system.

CL

Dunno leh. I've been eating and eating. Breakfast 7.15am, 10.30am hungry already. Then 12pm lunch, 3pm hungry for tea break, 5pm hungry again. 7pm dinner, then at night hungry and wanna eat supper. sigh. I wonder if it's gotta do with the antibiotics that i'm on to treat my skin prob. It kind of messed up my digestive system and made me LS very often. And it's my AF time. Usually AF will feel bloated and dun wanna eat. This time, i just ate and ate. sigh.

CL
wow... sounds so tiring leh. i always leave sweeping and mopping floor to hb, the rest like preparing meals, laundry, etc will be done by me. jia you!

mashy
i didn't try giving manuka honey to my gal yet. probably check with your usual PD?

sunny
ha ha dun have a "domestic" husband so do myself it is ok. so far still ok.

challenging myself just now. Hb went out for wedding dinner. Cooked the kids dinner. while they are eating I prepared vege stock for tomorrow.

While they are watching TV, I baked their breakfast - Madeleines. Dun have the nice nice mould so use egg tart mould instead. Ha ha did all the washing up within 10 mins while it is baking. Ha ha hope I keep it up if not all my baking stuff becomes white elephant

1748843.jpg