(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

High fever
Ariene has been burning up really hot for the past 6 days. Luckily her fever has stopped today. We have been giving her suppositories, brufen, panadol, sponging and showers around the clock only to being the temp down from 40 to 39. Really tiring and scary. Even her urine turned organgish. Brought her to KK on friday morning 230am, only to sit there and feed her panadol and wait for the fever to subside while waiting for her urine test to determine if shs's having UTI. It turns out that she has fake measles as predicted by the PD. On day 5, she started developing florid rashes on her back n chest and the fever eventually went away yesterday, day 6.

As for me, I'm ok now already, save the occasional cramps on the lower abs cuz the doctor says it takes time for the expanded uterus to shrink back to normal. Had my HCG blood test yday and it has dropped to 2 already. Had 2 doses of chemo methotrexates to completely dislodge and terminate the ectopic pregnancy following the evacuation of my uterus at Mount Alvernia. Now, the next worry is how much of my fallopian tube has been affected so need to do some dye test to see the blockage on the left tube when my period returns in 2-3 months time.

passport
I remember reading somewhere before that we cannot change photos of biometric passports and they have stopped changing of photos of the old passports. If u want to change photo, it'll mean u'll need to apply and pay for a new passport. The same spplies for the kids as well. I remember this because I was complaining to my husband that we'll need to pay for a new passport again for Ariene before the passport is due cuz they will not accept the passport if the photo in the passport looks too different from the person, especially Europe, Australia and US.

Hi Mamapanda,

Sounds like you are having a tough time! Do take care of yourself.

Re: Sick

Seems like lots of people falling sick recently. Lots of MC cases in my company. Megan was also sick last week and she skip one whole week of scool again.... it's like one week attend, one week sick etc......... My mum has just recover and now my dad's turn to fall sick.......hai....

The weather is just so unpredictable. I was at Big Splash East coast having lunch and the weatehr was super hot that i commented that if i were to crack an egg onto the floor, the eggs will cook instantly. But as we drive back to East coast mac, the clouds are grey with strong winds........ So diffferent!

Mamapanda
Do take care. I haven't got time to send the risotto to you because my husband has been home late as I only reach home around 10 so better not to disturb you. Will try over the weekend.

tantrums, "No" and "Don't want"
Ariene has been almost impossible these few weeks. She's always saying "don't want" for the sake of it and it really puts me on my nerves and I really have to resist the temptation to smack her many times. I just think its just a stage they all have to go through, nothing to do with #2 cuz we are all more or less facing the same struggles?

chickenlittle
No problem. Thanks alot for helping.

Blood count
Talking abt blood test, had some bad news from the PD yday regarding Ariene's full blood count. PD says she has low RBC and possibly is a thelassimia minor if either my hb or I am. I know I've always had low RBC all along. Most of the times, when I do a full blood count, I'm always being suspected of having leukemia cuz my WBC will be higher than the high limit and my RBC, lower than acceptable. So, ordered a full blood count and test for thelassimia as well yday to see if its me or my hb. Really "one wave yet to subside, the next wave rises".

RE: Tantrums

Haha. My Megan never say dun want. Always "I WANT"......

Even the school commented that she is very strong willed and hence take longer time to warn up cos she can persist and resist very long..........

Just bought a book titled "Discipline without spanking and shouting"...... really very tiring to scold and shout and spank all the time.... trying to see if there are any other methods. Hai........

Aden too
I dun want, no no no. After 1 month with my mum he is picking up mandarin. Bu Yao, Mei You etc etc

Mamapanda
Dun worry too much ok. Hope everything will be fine. My fren oso only found out about the same thing about her son last year when he was admitted and he already 3 years old.

Update for my Aden though not much progress in speech just a cheeky boy

Few nites ago, he ask his dad for night feed. This lazy daddy told him to come ask me. He ran to me and say " Milk Milk please" Then ran back and giggle with his dad. Daddy Son Conspiracy

CL
My son same too, not much progress in his speech. Ur boy is better than mine, at least he knows how to say "Milk Milk please" My son even he is hungry wanted to drink milk, He wont tell u and can go for hungry for hrs!!! Terrible right??

just come back from clinci, lucky was just throat infection....so worried that it will be dengue coz he was bitten badly last week.

slinky,
i am a thelassimia minor. Still lead a normal life. No worries.

Hi CL,

haha.. these days ashley asked me questions on religion etc.

We attend a chinese funeral and hubby was explaining that's teh Buddhist ritual etc and she asked me "If i am not a Christian, what am i?"....

Then she learn that her good friend is a vegetarian and she ask questions on that too.

Realise we have to continue learning in order to be able to feed them knowledge.

Megan is very funny. She can really mumble to herself.... Once i spank her and leave her alone in the bedroom. She was crying and wanted Daddy... heard her mumbling "Daddy where are you? Mummy beat me. Jie Jie naughty. Mummy don;t help me, Daddy help me." in those very poor thing tone.... And she can go on like that for 5 mins. Can be quite funny. Sometimes she attempted to mumble words in chinese which she pick up in school but make no sense cos she dun quite understand the words and can't string them to form a sentence but just mumble what she knows.... eg Zhe ge, Bu Yao, Na bain....
Megan can also say words like 'continue', swallow, peel the skin etc and pronounce it quite well.

One thing i am very glad is that she is picking up chinese in school. I must say she can speak better chinese at this age compare to ashley when she's this age. Ashley is still translating english to chinese.... She's trying to say she love to drink milk "Wo ai he nui nan" literally "i love" not Wo Xi Huan (i like)....
I guess it takes time and practice....

Yuki
ha ha even Charmaine is having the same problem as Ashley. You should hear her say I only can in Chinese " Wo Er Yi Ke Yi" I almost fall from my chair.

Mamapanda,
Hang in there, hope all will be well soon. As Belinda said, thalessimia minor can lead normal lives.

Yuki,
Hahaha, Megan's so funny! I was trying to teach my Megan 'Praying Mantis' but she kept saying 'Praying Panties'!

Hi CL,

Yup, and Ashley is learning Han Yu Pin Yi in school but sometimes still cannot pronounce properly. Eg. Xiao Hua (Little flower)... pronouce and sounds like (School beauty).....

Hi Tracy,

haha, praying panties.... so funny. My friend's gal has been talking about 'Holland pig' and she mean Olympics.

My boy's favourite words now are :"No way" and "Go away". sigh

Then dunno where he learnt this: "oh oh, die" when something doesn't go well.

Hi Yuki ... how do you explain carefully to Ashley question on religion? Mine just started in a church school, and he says grace before meals, and he said he didn't do that in the school before, nor at home. I kept quiet coz I didn't know what to say

.ky.

Ky
Which school is B in now ? For Charmaine she says grace in school and in childcare but she says she dun do that at home. Because her fren who comes from non christian family kenna scolding when he says grace at home. So for the group, they all just take note and dun do it at home if non Christian.

Maybe can tell him this is a practice to say thank you for everything that is done if you are Christian, and if you are in the same environment you should respect and practise the same. At home it will be up to you whether you want or not.

Maybe can use "ru xiang shui shu" to explain to him ?

C loves my 'What to expect - toddler years' book. Gosh, it's all words and so thick but he'll happily flip and act as if he can read it. Hahaha.

ky
Well, I'm a Christian, so won't know how to advise you. But I thought of 1 suggestion that u can consider. That's no matter what, we should thank someone for providing the food right? U know, like in Japan, they'll say itadakimasu. It's non religion related. It's a way of saying thank you to the provider of the food, be it the cook, the one who paid for it, the one who grew it etc. So don't have to say grace as in thank God for it. Well, he can thank you for cooking it, daddy for working hard for it and the farmers who grow them.

SY, oh ya, forget that you can on ML. cool. I can pick up tomorrow.
I email you my hp so that you can contact me on the time and place. Tks!!

Hi Ky,

I am a christian too. BAsically i explain people believe in different things, christian goes to church, buddhist go to temple etc. I discuss with her like a topic and leave her to ask questions.

Megan is still resisting school.... every morning after bath, she request to change into home clothes instead. And when she see my mum carrying the school bag, she started screaming and shouting "No, i don;t want to go to school. I want to sleep. I want to go market......"..... Soemtime my mum have to trick her down and ask teh maid to bring the school bag down slightly later........even so, once she spoted the bag/maid, her expression change from happy to angry....

Mamachan, Queen, SSF
Have decided to withdraw Mel from school cos the environment doesn't suit her. Am hunting another school for her in the meantime

Queen/May

Mamachan
U going for the GE run? Still thinking if I should sign up for Sing Marathon

Baby Bonus
The PM really hit the core! To me the most impt thing is whether hb is going to be more hands on.

Re: Childcare subsidy

I wonder if the subsidy is for the parents or for the childcare centre.

ALthough it says for the parents, chances are the childcare centres are going to increase prices again (in the name of upgrading & improvement). So in the end, you'll still pay the same amount, if not more. So actually, it's more accurate to say that the subsidy is to help childcare centres improve their services rather than to lighten the financial load of the parents.

Yuki

Is there a reason that Megan doesn't like school? Is it coz she's afraid of a bully, a teacher or something? It might be good to find out more since she's been there for a while already and she still doesn't like it. Will changing school help?

Florence
Am going for the GE run 10km.... hahaha, I hope I don't chicken out last minute...but starting to be more onz in training.... doing it with a nurse-friend. You wanna go for it? Can work-out together. LOL!

Mashy
I think likely money will be pumped in to help CC centres upgrade their teachers as well as we will get subsidized....coz really make no sense and cents to just give us more subsidy only having the CC up their pricing and then we're all back to square 1. We'll see come Jan 2009 lor. I was hoping the subsidy would be effective for Sept onwards.

Yuki,
Hide the bag?? haha, ya dunno whether to laugh or get angry. Gotta give it to her for being creative. I remember when i was in kindergarten i hated school too and every morning come up with excuses like stomachache, leg pain etc. One fine day, my dad got fed up and locked me out of the house and left me crying outside. hahaha. anyway, i hated school cos i hated the teacher cos she accused me of cheating on spelling when i didnt. I still remember till today, i was absent for spelling so next day when my frens got their scripts back they were showing me their marks. The teacher then jumped to conclusion that i was trying to cheat by looking at their scripts cos i was going to have my spelling test later. I was SUPER angry!

So..maybe Megan also dislike school for some reason.

Re : Childcare
i am very tempted to put damien into CC but he tends to fall sick so easily. For the past 1.5mth, he fell sick 3 times alredy.

Hi mashy and Tracy,

She is fine in school. It's the morning part that is always a struggle. After crying for a while on the school bus, she will start talking and playing with friends on the school bus. My feel is that she don;t like the control over her in school. At home maybe my mum will give in or try to distract her with other things. Whereas in school, sometimes a no is a no.... like she insist Ashley to carry her bag, wear her shoes etc and the teachers want her to do it herself.

Tracy, i resist school in K1 too cos the teacher pinch people and twist student's ears. I was spare cos i wasn;t naughty but i see the way she twist ears (note: twist not pull ear) - 180 degree..., i was scared. I was those who literally hug myself to the dining table legs before school time and my mum have to drag me off the table leg and to school! Haha.

Mamachan

Sure will increase price lah. If u check the prices before the 2004 subsidy increase and after, you'll realise that the prices has increased by at least as much. In fact, just NTUC childcare centre has already increased by $100 within the last 5 years (cited in ST) and that's considered low already. In just last year alone, many centres have already increased their prices due to the inflation and rising operating costs. So I think, the centres will make use of this opportunity to increase price further just like in 2004.

Yah, it makes no sense at all that the subsidies should go to the centres instead of helping the parents. But that's how it is and the govt also can't control the centres saying that they can't increase price either.

hi mummies, so many posts. i'm going bonkers reading them.

More mummies are pregnant with the 2nd child. Congrats May and Queen. And cookie, i didn't realise that time flies so fast, u're going to pop your #3 soon!! :D

CL, did i miss the collection for the risotto?

just to share:
edgar toilet trained himself recently and now he's diaperless except sleeping time. He started off by telling us he doesn't want to wear diaper, so I told him in that case, he has to wear underwear and tell us when he pee or poo. It was just as simple as that! haha, I'm so blessed! :D

Hi Mashy,

To add on, i would be glad that Megan don;t bully others instead of kena bully! haha.

I always joke with hubby - with ashley, we are afraid she will get bullied. With megan, we are afriad she will bully others!

She can take care of herself i think.... once ashley was fighting with her cousin and megan seeing ashley about to cry, walk over and attempt to kick the cousin! Hee hee, very much like me when i was young. I bully my elder sister at home but outside i will fight others who bully her.

yuki

hahaa, maybe like u said lor, at home she can do whatever she wants, but in school, she has to obey a set of rules. So no bullying, no tantrums, no doing as she pleased. Gosh, she's like me! Hahaha. Maybe that's why she doesn't like school. Hahah, maybe if u make home a bit less bearable for her, she might change her mind about school? Like setting stringent rules at home too? My boy loves school, but i think that's coz he gets more freedom in school and gets to go playground and draw etc. At home, his autocratic mommy will make him obey her all the time. Hahaha.

Hi Mashy,

We are not totally giving in all the time at home. It is a challenge to make her obey.... how do you enforce it? LIke the example i cited earlier on, even if i use cane to threaten, she don;t give in! If i don;t give in, i will just let her sit one corner to cry very loud, shouting etc and it happen quite often cos i don;t want to give in too much.

Even the teachers say she is strong willed and use the same tactic in school. They had to bring her to the office cos her crying are disturbing other children. And ashley and megan see that as punishment cos only naughty children were given time out in the office. Megan often complain "teacher scold me"...... told her if she is not naughty, teacher will not scold.... anyway stay at home, mummy and grandma will also scold.....

Aileen
Meeting Belinda and SL next week likely Wed - Friday, one of the day. Want to meet too ?

Yuki
The teachers bring her to office then she will be bored and hate it more isn't it. Different from other kids. There should be more positive way in teaching her.

Flo
Ha ha talking about hands on. Ha ha my sir says he is already practising it. He did change the diaper, in fact he did more. Bathe, play etc. ha ha

Mashy
Yup. Kindergarten are increasing prices too. After the article on the revision of fee for childcare teachers, last year most of the centre all increase prices.

Susidy is for parents , I think from $150 to $300 now

Hi CL,

Cos megan loud crying is disturbing the rest... She can really cry louder and louder. Once my 16th flr neighbour claim she can hear megan's crying from the 3rd floor...........

She is brought to office to calm down and will return to class once she stop crying...........

Btw, think i will collect the rosotti from you next week. so sorry. Our timing always clash. haha

Aileen
U are soo blessed ! no need to train and E is toilet trained!

Re: toilet traning
recently MIL is actively trying to train kae...but she went the opposite way. She dun wan to wear panty now and insist to be in diaper. maybe becos when she leak.. basically she dun leak, she just let go and say shh shh.. and even play with the pee using her leg!!
She get scolding and then she will say she dun wan panty liao.
I know that seems she is not ready.. tho I dun relaly wanna push her but MIL say thats becos Kae get so used to diaper.. she dunno what is "urgent". I only tel MIL cannot scold kae if she leak else she phobia.
But I'm angry myself sometimes she I saw her kicking the urine around at home..faintzz...
I really hope she will "wake" up soon...
She is not bothered at all... when peepee flow to her legs and floor and wet...
How ah...

Yuki
kae and megan are totally opposite for now..
kae refuse to take out her dirty school uniform when get home.. and she MUST hold on to her school uniform to bed.. that's how she love school! goodness...
tho she a bit lazy in the early morning.. so so far still manage to get her to wake up drink milk, brush teeth and poopoo ebfore school bus come.

RE: new or 2nd time mum
Oh ya.. COngrats to all New mums.. bigger bonus and ML for next yr..
Hiya.. only me..loose out on the 4th mth ML.. kinda sad tho.

mashy
i also think that the child care subsidies will end up to NIL subsidies to the parents 'cos the child care fee is increasing year by year.

aileen
congrats that E is toilet trained. i really wonder when my gal will go completely diaperless 'cos she has been diaperless for quite some time except sleep time liao.... *waiting waiting*

CL,
sure let me know when and i'll meet up with you gals. but thurs and fri is out. only can make it if it's wed. else maybe u can help me pass to belinda, since i bump into her very often. belinda, can? :D

cookie,sunny,
ya i guess i'm lucky in this sense. so i guess once the kid is ready, they will let us know and we don't have to stress ourselves out over toilet training them. who needs a potty??!! infact the seat cover which i bought earlier is also redundant. now tyler uses it instead! haha!

Aileen
Congrats to you that E now no longer needs the diaper in the day and chooses to wear underwear! It must have been really exciting for you! =)

Yuki
Reading the encounters of Megan is really funny...yet at the same time, I will wonder what would I do also...must be tough on you! She's a real winner! Can hide her school bag? LOL!

Re: Toilet Training

Ashley also went through this period of phase where she will tell us "I wee wee" then straightaway look down and pee standing where ever she is. At times will even purposely step on her pee . We thought she was almost toilet trained already before she started that and we;re not sure why the sudden change. Though it was frustrating we didn't scold her but every time she did it we'll say sadly "Oh dear you forgot to say you wan to wee wee again? Next time remember to tell us before you wee wee ok?" And every time she tell us on time (to bring her to the toilet) we'll praise her like "Wow mummy is so proud of you." Thank GOD it was just a phase as now she is toilet trained and on panty except during nap and bedtime.

Nowadays she will say she can do it by herself... once she told us she wants to wee and when i company her to our bedroom toilet and she insisted on closing the door saying she can do it by herself. As our bedroom toilet door is a sliding one and there's no lock, i said ok but i slid open the door a little and peep. So cute to see her pulling down and taking off her panty and pants, and moving the small stools as steps so she can climb up the toilet bowl herself. When she's finally seated comfortably she shouted "Ok I'm ready! You can come in now". And i went in pretending to be so amazed and said "wow! You did it all by yourself!! I'm so proud of you!". But of cos I always make sure I'm with her when she goes to the toilet just in case she slips.

I think positive reinforcement is really important so dun be discourage. Soon our little ones will get the hang of it. =)

Just wanna share something funny that happened at Movie World during our Gold Coast trip:

We saw Bat-Man making his grand entrance in his Batmobil and soon started fighting and beating up 2 ninja baddies which followed after him. Then later when it was time for photo taking, Ashley asked me to carry her and cling on to me saying she dun wan to take photo. So i asked HB go alone instead. Ashley saw HB walking towards the dark knight, got so worried and scream "Daddy Dun Gooooo!" Hahaha... she was so afraid Bat Man would beat up her darling daddy.