(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mashy
i guess the toilet training takes time. JH sometimes will pee sometimes he won't so i try not to force him. i realise that if i ask him to often, i get no as the asnwer most of the time. but if he wants to pee and he tells me, usually it will be a success.

maybe u let him go bare bottom for a few hours each day to get him used to the idea of peeing in the potty?

belinda
poor damien. does the medicine make him sleepy? i know how it feels. JH gets cough easily cos of his nose and once in a while, he will be coughing away. what medicine is damien taking?

SY

I think he has no prob going potty if he's bare bottom. But once he's in shorts, he somehow thinks that his shorts can absorb his pee. Maybe i should just let him pee in his shorts a few times then he'll know that those are shorts not diapers? But the sight of him swimming in his pee. sigh.

mashy
think can try a few ways. try the bare bottom one for a few days to see whether he get use to the idea. then try to put him back in shorts. then just let him pee in shorts lor.

JH even weirder. he will tell me he wants to urine. then i say go toilet. then he says no. after that he will keep very very quiet. then he will tell me he urine in the diaper. i checked and sure enough he just peed in the diaper. so he already knows when he wants to urine but just dun wan to go toilet.

Belinda
Sometime ago there was this news about applying Vicks Vapour rub on the feet and wear sock. Suppose to help to relieve in Cough... have u tried it? perhaps can give a try.
Hope damien will get well soon...
Cough in children is really tough for both kids and parents...

Thanks Sophia for orgainisng the hi tea ytd..had good time.. and manage to buy 2 pair of shoes too

Mashy,
I din find the link in your posting back then. Din noe where is the site so didn't go do see :)

Flo can you pls confirm? Thanks.

Revised orders as follows:

<table border=1><tr><td>Tracy</TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Orange</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Blue</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Pink</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Yellow</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> $32.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Flo</TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Pink</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> $8.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>To be confirmed</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sleepingdeer</TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Yellow</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Poroporo the little Penguin</TD><TD> $10.00 </TD><TD> $18.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>Toto &amp; Zeze - Orange</TD><TD> $8.00 </TD><TD> $8.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Re: Toothpaste
I think sometime ago... there was a BP of bb toothpaste...
Errr... I wonder was it still ON??

SY
heard that CL is meeting you for lunch, she will pass you my cali bb items. I will arrange to pick up from you. I think my 1yr old memo of Kaelyn is still with you... I will pick up with you together ok.
I will call you on Sat...

cookie
the BP still on but now first teeth out of stock. waiting for the stocks to come in.

i din meet her in the end cos she rushing report. will prob meet next week.

Sy,

Damien was being prescribed with Antibiotic - Anoxil, Flu - chlornine and Cough - Beactafed. (not sure if i spelled it correctly)

cookie,

i rubbed vick on his chest and also on his feet. but it did not help much.
This cough is pretty bad..he never had such a bad cough before.
Just called back home and my mum told me that he was unable to nap due to his cough..keep crying.
Btw, duno why this time round damien keep having teary eyes. Not sure if it was due to his running nose.

Hello Mummies
Long time no "see" too!

Just to share that I'm also pregnant with Jan 09 baby. As much as I had always wanted a 2nd child, I did not think that I could be pregnant as I had been having irregular spotting on alternate days (which i thought was my menses) for more than a week prior to me finally going for the test. I grew more and more tired by the day and finally decided to get a test kit just to confirm. Went to the gynae on Mon and from the ultra sound, gynae commented that the shape of the sac looks abit irregular and the foetus heartbeat rather faint. Was given a pregnancy support jab and told to go back 2 weeks later as by then the baby should be growing.

As a result, I did not feel as excited and happy as I should be for this pregnancy. Praying that everything will be alright.

belinda
oh he's taking antibiotics? got an infection? the medicines are quite different from what JH is taking. actually for cough, must really check whether is it due to sensitive nose. last time JH coughed for 4 weeks and i was giving him cough medicine and antihistamines but he couldn't recover. only when he took singulair then the problem went away. all due to sensitive nose. in fact PD told me not to give him cough mixture. is he having sensitive nose?

clare
how many weeks are u now? i couldn't see heartbeat till abt 10 weeks. i think many gynae say different things but mine awlasy say cannot see till abt 10 weeks. hope that everything is alright for u

today thread is quite quiet ar...

clare
congrats!!! you should be tested earlier =p i suspected when you said spotting on alternate days a week ago. take plenty of rest! when is your EDD?

me too this pregnancy not as enjoyable, went for my gynae appointment on tues and from the ultra scan, the sac looks like 4-5weeks old but according to my last menes calculation, i should be 6-7weeks pregnant... the more i think of this i more worry i got. had asked gynae for my EDD but she said will confirm in 2 weeks time on my next appointment =( i told myself that i could have ovulate late... gynae agree that it could be possible too. me now also power low.

Clare
Congrats to you! Wow...do take care yah? Not easy to juggle with the tiredness from pregnancy and biz...will keep you in prayers that everything will be ok.

Booked airticket for maid
Aiyoh, so headache.... keep looking at Jetstar website past two months for good deals and can't get the bookings for the dates that my maid hopes to go back to her home and then back to Singapore again. Just checked the website today and OMG! So fast the places for the dates are taken up! Ended up I can only book earlier flights and have her return to Singapore abit later so as not to spend too much on the air-ticket. So instead of going away for 15 days, she's away for 22 days! Hope that's not too long for her....she's agreeable to "pay back" the additional days with her off-days instead.

hi SY
ok noted.thanks

Belinda..
Poor boy...could the cough and teary eye and runny nose be due to allergy instead? I'm not sure la.. not doc..
really hope he gets well soon..

Thanks all...

SY
I also not sure how many weeks i am. The clinic asst say count from 1st day of last menses so like that should be 8weeks.

Rachel
EDD is 18 Jan 09. Have been wanting to tell you but last few nights simply knock out even before Ashley falls asleep when i put her to bed. So we both have to wait 2 weeks... such agony... sigh...

MamaChan
Yeah the tiredness is really getting to me. Keep yawning and yawning at the shop.... haha

mamachan,
did you try the lionair..

SY,
damien usually is on this few medichine and recovered pretty fast....

clare,
congrats....take more rest

mamachan
so fast your maid with you for 2 yrs liao?

Clare
SO happy for you... will keep you and bb in prayer that everything will good and fine.
take good care and dun walk too much.. dun carry ashley too for the time being until everything is fine.
Rest as much as you could.
and above all..kekeke welcome to the club

Clare - congrats to u! do take care and try to rest more... so are u on hormone pills also? try not to carry ur girl too much now... take care ya...

rachel - its possible to ovulate late one, so dun worry too much.. enjoy ur trip!!!

mamachan - hw much did u pay and for which period? im also looking at the different webbies now and my filipino colic says tiger airways has the best deals but somehow i tink the dates not open for booking yet... my maid goin back during xmas and new year, she b back for 3 weeks so i also got lotsa to plan during this maid-less period...

belinda
maybe u wan to get a second opinion. if sick for too long, either the diagnosis not right or the medicine needs to be changed.

does he have dark eye rings? sign of allergy.

rachel, clare
dun worry too much. that's the problem sometimes when we visit gynae too early. same for me, at first visit, also cannot see anything. but gynae quite nice and ask me to go back next week and he will scan again for me to just let me feel more secure. so rest well and dun think too much.

Clare
so we both wait till neck long long for our next appointment lah! =p very tired. was telling mamachan yesterday, nowadays can only use eyepower to watch over dylan. even when dylan asked me to read to him or go through the activities books, i only use my mouth and the rest of the body too stone to move haha

god's child
thanks =)

Belinda
speedy recovery to Damien! you take care too.

SY/CL
yah, i will. will make myself relax and enjoy this trip. be flying off tomo. got to let dylan enjoy his very 1st airplane ride and take plenty of photos before i grow meaty again =p

Clare,

Re: PT helper
Does anyone has anyone to recommend for one in the East?

Really wanna try it out….told my hb I can't stand the mess at home liao. Like staying in a pig sty. I don't even dare to keep the doors to my house open anymore coz so pai sei of the mess.
Keke…instead of blaming him, I just said both of us too tired to do housework. He is not too happy but just kept quiet instead of an admant no. So now hope to get a good one so that he can't go…"see I told you so!"

SH,
Same here, I dun dare to open my house door cos I scare pple will see my pig sty. My hubby's pool table is supposed to be for entertainment but ended up dumped with shopping bags. Hb keep asking me to look for PT maid but agency one is more ex. $12/hr. So now I am finding $10/hr one.

Clare,

Rachel &amp; Clare,
So envy.. I cannot join the Jan 09 group. Will see if I can join the Feb/Mar 09 group then. Both of you take care ya!

Clare
Congratulations! Don't worry I'm sure bb will grow well, just rest more and don't exert yourself.

Rachel
Have a good trip!

SH
Sorry for the late reply. Did you get my sms? I'm fine with my order. Thanks

Clare,
Congratz! Rest more n dun carry heavy stuff incl Ashley.

Rachel,
You too, rest more and leave Dylan in your mum's care. It is possible to ovulate late. I did for Duncan. According to my last period, my edd shld ve been 11may, but according to gynae's scan on the size of the sac she calculated 18may AND from the detailed scan edd was 14may! Anyway, all dates also dun matter cos he chose to arrive early

damien was much more better yesterday nite. He can sleep better compared the nite before.

Yesterday was funny, duncan lost his first tooth and was so worried that he could not even nap in the afternoon and sleep at nite.
I think he worried that his tooth will never grow again..he is so scared of being "BO GE".
He kept his little milk teeth inside an empty bottle..so precious.

god's child
I booked from 15th Dec to 6 Jan 2009 for a total of 23 days, total for airfare (round-trip) I paid $499 (inclusive of airport tax for Singapore). It's the cheapest for me so far. Any departure later and return earlier will be a difference of at least $360!!!! Better to hurry to book their flight now. If not by then will be too ex le. I didn't check Tiger Airways, coz now I think Tiger will charge for check-in baggage or something.

I've checked out AirAsia but they don't travel during that period or don't see any flights available. I will just convert D to full-day at the CC he is at from Nov to Jan 2009, so as to prepare him to get used to taking naps in school. That's also why I thought to start him off in playgroup earlier for half-day so as to get him used to attending CC. But then again, my hb is trying to claim Kris flyer miles for a family trip to Perth and spend our own family Christmas and New Year with my uncle and family there. =) So it's not that bad. all in all should be taking about 7 days leave for ourselves.

Belinda
I've not heard of lionair...so didn't check...I didn't want to burst my brain cells thinking and comparing.

cookie
Yes! My helper is with me officially for 2 years come Oct. Will be renewing her contract...she requested for additional off-day which my hb and I don't mind coz we enjoy the precious days she's on her off with D alone. But we didn't promise her anything yet, told her we will KIV 1st. But if she's granted the additional off day, likely we won't increase her pay anytime soon and she must must take her off days, cannot encash her off day unless my hb is away and travelling and I might need her around to help out. See how things goes lor.

Clare,
CONGRATS!
Take care yah.

Flo / Valerie,
Finally Isaac stopped crying before and during PT. For the past 3 weeks, he has been crying and my ILs were harping on it everyday. Hope he has finally gotten over the crying phase.
My MIL said that recently there are very few kids in the class. Is it the norm?
We still have 1 more week left in PT before term break right? I'm thinking of taking half day leave to go PT next Friday to find out how Isaac is doing.

Flo,
How is Mel in class now? I remember that during the 2 days which I sat in class, she was in her very 'active' mode. Has she settled down?

Rachel,
Have a good trip. Now that you are preggy, must be very careful during the trip. Have fun!

queen

usually when it's school hols, there's less kids coz no school bus and the families might be taking a break too with other school going siblings.

I'm very happy whenever it's school hols coz means less kids. hehhe

Belinda
Hope damien gets well soon.. my girl will normally get chlormine which is a antihistamine to dry up the phlegm in the throat and nose. She has a phlegmy cough so she will take flumicil/ bromhexine to melt the thick phlegm but when she takes this she will cough more and then be able to cough the phlegm out. The other medicine you were given usually suppresses the cough so they don't cough so much. Meds really depend on whether its a dry or wet cough. Amoxil is a common antibiotic.

CONGRATS CLayre
dun worry, for didi, when i scan i was supposed to be 7 weeks but got sac no heart beat... so stressed took the hcg blood test and it rose but not double so really worried.. gynae even told me pregnancy no good.. but asked me to wait and see.. luckily turned out wrong dates and didi is now fit and fine! :D

Take care and rest well!

Hey mommies
how was the hi tea?

Any recommendation for a place to celebrate 1 year birthday.. going to celebrate next weekend.. so fast 1 year liao!!! :D

hi tabbiesus
Hi-tea was enjoyable! Though this years' group was smaller, but we had quite a good time catching up...hahaha but mainly over our toddlers (what else??). I enjoyed the food, heee, last year I barely tasted the food =P they had yummy sashimi and smoked salmon and roast beef and free flow juices too! Denmy was joking that we arehaving a Forum Live session. I managed to get one nice group photo of us together =)

For sharing...........

Boosting your child's self-esteem isn't really as difficult as it may seem.

Here are some simple guidelines that can help:

1. Say "I love you" to your child at least once a day. (Even if you have a "cool" teenager who might think it's lame)

2. Praise your child for a job well done, whether it is at school or at home.

3. Understand that some children may have difficulty in school. Praise your child for making an honest effort.

4. Spend time with your child. Even if it is only ten or fifteen minutes some days. The quality of time spent is worth far more than the quantity.

5. Get involved in your child's activities. Go to the ballet recitals, baseball games, school concerts, etc. Your presence shows your child that you care.

6. An idea that works really well with younger children is to create some type of family project where each child has a specific task. The project could be a family drawing, sculpture, newspaper or even a special family website! The choice depends on the interests of your family.

7. Children like to feel needed. Assigning them a task such as making their bed or dusting the furniture makes them feel important.

8. Whenever possible, read to your child. Encourage your child to ask questions and comments on the story.

9. Exhibit confidence yourself. They can read adults like a book. Children learn by example and they are sensitive to the emotions of others.

10. The most important thing you can do to boost your child's self-esteem is to listen. Your child has a lot to talk about, and when you take the time to listen, your child will learn that his/her opinions matter. Be as approachable as possible. Avoid saying things such as "Not now, Honey, Mommy's busy." If you really cannot listen to your child at that particular time, say something like, "Now is not a good time for talking. Let's make a special time to talk." Then make the time.

11. Always keep your promises. Avoid making promises you cannot keep. Children may feel as though they are at fault when an adult doesn't keep a promise to them.

12. Avoid comparing siblings to each other. Remember that each child is an individual with his/her own personal needs.

Remember, children are constantly learning and are very impressionable. They look to you for guidance. Encourage them, love them, talk to them, listen to them, and most of all, believe in their abilities. You are the key to building their confidence. Following some of these steps may help you. These guidelines may also give you some inspiration to find other ways to boost yourt child's self-esteem.

Source: http://www.essortment.com/all/childrenselfes_rcys.htm

Congrats Clayre! I was spotting too in my first tri so it does get worrying, just rest as much as possible... maybe since your gynae only suggested you take one hormone jab, its not so worrying
For me, the moment i mentioned to my gynae that I was spotting he had me on twice weekly jabs and three times a day pills, and seeing him every week! Maybe he is just super kaisu haha...!

Yuki,
I do agree about point 7 especially! Whenever I have to go for my classes, I always tell S neforehand and ask her to promise me to come pick me up from class, and not to forget, and to remind daddy as well. She will always nod her head and so far, she has always made it a point to see that I get home before she sleeps, no matter how m=tired she is, think she takes it very seriously to make sure mommy is home safely!

Same with no. 11, we made a pact to always keep our promises to her, even though we may regret it later, such as promising her ice cream etc

Mamachan - ya, i did check out jetstar liao but cos my filipino colic say tigerair is better and he always fly by tat airline.. anyway, i called the travel agent to check the best deal and let me know... hope it wont be more than $500!

Tigerairway at different period got different price just have to keep trying. Last time oso help my boss book for her maid. $300

Yup Hi Tea was fun
Catching up this and that. Realli like tai tai so relaxed and laugh and share what is with the toddler now.

Wow the high tea sounds fun... and the food -- sashimi and such -- gosh... making me drool.

Actually me not too worried about the faint heartbeat but more of the irregular shaped sac. Searched the net and seems not too good news. Anyway will pray against that.

SleepingDeer
Oh my you had TWICE weekly jabs?? I had 1 on my bum and I already feel so sore for a few days...

preggy jabs
When I had Ariene, I also had spotting during the 6th week so I had to go back twice weekly for 2 jabs : 1 on the tummy and 1 on the bum. So I go back every wednesday for tummy jab (self jab cuz they charge $10 if I ask doc to jab for me) and 1 more jab (by doctor only cuz its a deep jab) on the left bum. Saturday I'll go back for another self inflicted tummy jab and 1 more doc jab on the right bum. I know what u mean by a sore bum cuz if I remember wrongly which bum to jab, I'll end up with a doubly sore bum. The jabs were really painful and I was more than glad to be off those jabs when I hit 13 weeks. On top of that, the jabs give me very bad MS and I actually lost weight during 1st tri. Already have difficulty eating n drinking, still have to swallow those pills the gynae prescribed me with. It was a nightmare first tri.

god's child
Okiez, hopefully you'll get a good deal too. I don't have a regular travel agent...so I think I better settle 1st so got one load off my mine. It's good your have a filipino colleague to share when are the good deals.

Clare/sleepingdeer/mamapanda
wow, the jabs sure sounds scary!

Hi Clare/mamachan,
yup, jabs are no fun, I had mine on the side of my hip though, so Tues its on left side, Fri is on right side, haha... thankfully the nurse is quite skillful, most of the time, I will just feel a sting, and it will start to itch by the 2nd day. SOme days when I am unlucky, she will hit a vein then I can feel the pain and soreness all the way down my leg... so happy when I crossed the first tri...

CLare,
dun worry too much... take care!

Mamapanda,
wah two jabs twice weekly, must have been horrible...

Clare, Congrats!
take care of yourself!

Queen, well done to Isaac! Last week, I saw him in class before your MIL picked him up and he looks quite settled to me then. Btw, your MIL looks very fierce, don't dare to chat with her... Like what mashy said, it's school holidays so some went for hol and there're lesser students. I prefer it when there're lesser students too. Next Fri is PTM, so I'll be going too.

eh...sleepindeer....you sound like you're talking about the jabs as though it's super recent....or were you recounting when you had S? =P Paiseh ah....coz I'm super under the impression that....you know... *Smile*