(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mamachan,
ya I agree with u.. sleepingdeer, u sound like just recent encounters. Hmm.. u got good news to share also ah? hehe =)

Mamachan
For budget airline u have to book early in order to get good deal, the later you book the price difference vs regular airline will not be that much.

Queen,
Heehee your PIL was "grumbling" to my mom last week but my mom told them is normal will normally take 2 - 3 weeks for them to stop crying. Actually when I sent Mel to sch on Tue, Isaac was quite quite happy and didn't cry. He even say hi and bye to me
But when I picked Mel up later, saw Isaac's eyes were a bit teary. Teacher said he tripped and hit himself so cried. Apart from that he's actually quite ok.

Mel was one of the few that skipped school Wed-Fri last week and this week. Went to HK disney last week and Malacca this week. End up she was a bit feverish when we arrived at Malacca so we came back early in the end. Gave her nurofen last night end up she had allergic reaction and her eyes was swollen. Brot her to PD this morning and end up need to do blood test. Was quite proud her cos she didn't fuse and cry at all just sit there and looked at the nurse poking and drawing blood from her arm.

Personally I find that she is behaving much better now, at least can reason out with her sometimes. This morning at the clinic, she was the only kid left playing with the toys. When the PD asked her to go into the room, she insisted that she must keep all the toys before we go into the consultation room.

She's also getting better in school although she still walk around on and off during her "active" days. The chinese teacher feels that she has improved alot altho the English teachers have higher expectations. Oh btw, Val/Queen are you aware that Miss D has quited? Hopefully the new teacher is more experienced and patient cos I find Miss R quite inexperience. I'm taking the last slot for the PTM session, so will be leaving office early on that day.

Sleepingdeer
Heehee, you got good news to share...cos I remembered you said not Jan 2009 bb bah ;)

Flo,
Mel is brave gal! Some adults like me are so afraid of drawing blood!

You sure sleep late. I'm up pumping sigh...

Flo / Valerie,
My MIL cannot bear to see Isaac cry and she'll harp on it and says things like 'why is he in a bad moo d after school' or ask Isaac whether the teachers or friends got beat him. I mean, i get quite irritated when she does that EVERYDAY. Anyway, I'm just glad that he seemed settled in. I didn't know Miss D quit. Any idea why? I aslo feel that she's the more experience and patient one.
I didn't even know that there is PTM next Friday... my ILs didn't say anything. Are there slots allocated? Looks like I have to call PT.

Flo,
Mel is a brave girl! She's better now?

Flo,
Wow..Mel is so brave. I think Jamie will cling onto me if it were here. Hope she is better now.

Queen,
My mum was like that at the beginning. They can't bear to see the kids crying. It will be ok for awhile. She even call me in office and ask me can I withdraw Jamie from sch. Not only I have to tell Jamie everyday how good is sch, I also have to deal with my mum. Until recently my mum and dad saw Jamie with great improvement, then they agree that Jamie should go school.

Tracy, Queen, May
Haha, my hb is one of those that are afraid of injection and drawing blood. Told him his girl is braver than him. But I must say the nurses at Mt E are very good and experienced with kids. They keep talking and distracting her and before she realised is all done. Thanks, Mel is much better now, no more fever but her eyes are still a bit puffy. Have to bring her for allergy test in July tho.

Queen
Yes, there is designated slot. Starting from 1pm and the last slot is 4.20 and each slot is 20 min. I think you can check Isaac's bag, there should be a letter. Most of the time, the teachers just leave notes in their school bags. There were a few occasions I didn't check end up didn't bring the materials required for their art and craft lesson.

damien is having school holiday right now..so afraid that when the school reopen, he will refused to go to school.
Being asking him if he missed school..and was so sad to hear from him..no.

belinda
JH is also on sch hols now. he has been waking up everyday to say he dun wan to go sch but yesterday when i had to go back for meet the parents, he followed me. initially was clingy and cried when the teachers needed to talk to me but after playing for a while he settled down very quickly. i did mention to the teachers abt JH may not wan to go sch after the hol esp when i m due in early july but they told me to just insist on the routine and very fast they will settle

Flo
hope Mel is ok. she's allergic to nurofen? i find that nurofen actually works well for JH.

jh down with fever..due to his sensitive nose. it has been acting up the past week and when his nose acts up it makes him more prone to infections. really hopes he outgrows this soon...

flo,val, queen
PT doesn't have sch hols?

mommies
want to ask you all if you have any experience buying clothes or shoes from those taiwan websites? The ones they organise the BP or sprees from? Do you know who organises reliable sprees on this.. cos i keep reading the ones in the BP are all super marked up.. feel like trying some of the clothes cos they look so cute but don't want to be cheated. Last time i bought some handbags and turned out the prices were marked up. So sad now the BP forum have to be really careful cos sometimes they really sell junk for a higher price.

Belinda,
My gal is opposite. I stopped her from going to sch after the Brochitis illness for two weeks. Last few days ask her, she say she want to go back school.

Tabbiesus,
I bought a bag from Taiwan spree. Purposely chose canvas one cos I am worried that the PVC leather will be crumpled when it reach me. My colleagues ordered the PVC leather one which turn out to be ok. What I heard is for clothing, their cutting is usually smaller. Material about the same as This Fashion kind lor.

Anyone change school for ur kid? I had found a CC that offer Full day class. Will be changing Jamie to Full day in Dec. How do I break the news to Jamie? I asked her if she want to go to her new school. She say "I want to go to Aishah (her current school teacher)"

Tabbiesus
The prices is probably very marked up because if you go Wu Fen Pu in Taipei, aiyo 7 pieces of clothes is only $50. So lots of people actually buy in from there to sell lor.

Flo
Mel really brave and you must be happy and proud of her performance in school so not stress liao.

Hope she gets well soon.

Thanks mommies, Mel eyes are much better now.

Tabbs/SY
Actually Mel has taken Neurofen once before when she was younger and has no problem with it. In fact, it was quite effective then. Dun know why she developed allergic reaction this time round. Similarly when she first took augmentin she was fine. Second time round she had allergy. In was quite bad until PD asked me to bring her to NUH A&E for jab at nite.

SY
Mel sch hol is only 2 weeks, will start from week after next.

Mel's PD was telling me that allergy is getting very common among kids these days, probably cos they grow up in too "clean" an environment. Have u let JH taken any test on the cause of his allergy?

CL
Haha, yes man...now no more complain from the teachers, so not so stress liao. I think Mel has built quite good rapport with her classmates too, will wave and say hello when she sees them in the lift

Belinda
I guess cos Damien has brother and cousins to play with at home so not keen to go to sch?

May
I believe Jamie will adapt to her new school very fast. Maybe u can bring her to the new school and see if she likes the teacher and the environment?

Tabbiesus
just like what CL said...you can get very cheap clothes at Wu Fen Pu..and i personally the material iis just like This fashion..no point of ordering from TW spree. Nowaday, i dun joined those TW/Korea/HK spree...

Flo,
They dun allow us to go in due to HFMD. So we can only see from outside. Furthermore now still in waiting list for Dec intake, they will only contact us if we are successful. Not sure why Jurong CC so early got waiting list already.

Meg says that her 'down there' pain when she pees. Not sure if she is just saying for fun as in heard someone saying in school or for real.. do i bring her to PD or GP will do ah?

She tends to 'copy' wat her cousins say. Like when the older boy had a cut on hid finger, she also say her finger pain so dunno if this urine pain is for real. But worrying...

Tracy,
Usually 'down there' pain could be Urinary Tract infection. Will have fever. U take note for 1 more day see how. If she copy other pple, usually will forget easily. If u bring her now to GP/PD, they will sure ask u to capture her urine for test. Which I find abit difficult, unless she is toilet train.

Flo
Mel is so brave!! I'm afriad of drawing blood myself tho being thru many times but.. the nurse who do it is VERY important, I met a very lousy skill nurse the last time goodness...
ANyway hope everything is fine.

The last time when kae took neurofen.. tho no allergic but it din bring down the temp at all. Somehoe this drug work well in kae. She react to the normal panadol better.

Tabb
I join and ordered from the Orange bear spree before (think its from TW), in my opinion.. I find the material very good ley! and price ok lor. anyway the price is on website so the organiser cannot mark up.

Tracy
if pee is painful and true then it can be sserious cos of UTI.
kae also very "tey" one.. every little thing she tell me pain pain. Even old old old scare on her figure also forever telling me painful..
I know what u mean when you are doubtful

Perhaps u try to monitor her when she pee.. if really painful her expression should be very obvious ba.

tracy,
How come her male cousins complain of pain down there? It's not like something kids will bring up commonly. maybe she got diaper rash? Like cookie says check whether she really gets a painful look when peeing, u should check n see if really red down there.

Thanks moms on the advice on the taiwan clothing sprees.

tracy

think it's better to get it checked for UTI. UTI can lead to kidney probs if not treated in time. They just need to tape a urine bag on her to collect urine, so not that difficult lah. My boy has done it a couple of times before already.

Tracy
When Charmaine has infection and urinary tract infection, she cried very hard when she pass urine. And almost try not to pee unless she really cannot hold it anymore. So if Meg can pee regularly without much complain should be ok ? Unless meg's threshold for pain is high, you should be able to tell from her facial expression ?

Potty Training
Yesterday I wanted to try puttng Aden on the toilet bowl because I know he was trying to poo. Open the diaper , already a lot out but I just tried. He sit happily but when he wants to pass it out, he hop down and it landed on the floor.

Nevermind should continue trying, then I put him up again while cleaning the mess. And he hop down again. This time he knows it is coming, he put his hand below. Eeks, lucky one small one.

Ok gave up. Put him at the bath area while I clean the mess again. And there he goes again another lump. Aiyo realli regretted trying.

My husband cannot stand me when he came back and saw the mess and was puzzled why I still happy and laughing non stop because that reminds me of what Sysac narrated on picking up Cephas's stool on the floor. This is my first adventure on potty training. And Aden's is not those solid one lor. I think he is high in fibre lor

Tracy,

i heard that canberry juice is good for clearing UTI.

I kana once before, real painful and urine with blood..and also with fever..think it is better to bring her to check.

mashy,
for girl's is difficult to capture the urine. Jamie done it twice. Once I cover with blanket and hold the bag to wait for the urine cos the nurse say after trying 3 plastic bags, if cannot capture, they will insert tube. Another time, lucky Jamie understand what is urine already. We try capturing twice and it doesn't work. I brought her to the toilet and make her urine into the container.

CL,
Jamie also high in fibre. Everyday same texture. But we know roughly what time she want to poo. She poo twice a day. We will put her on the toilet bowl, she dun do it. Once we let her wear diaper, she will poo. So angry. Her daddy always say..let her wear cheaper diaper before she poo. After poo then let her wear Mamy Poko Pull-Up. Really hope to toilet train her soon. $1.30 for one pull-up is too ex. When is charmaine toilet trained ah?

flo
i did not let JH take the allergy test in the end. Dr Khor did suggest but my mum pretty agst it. his main allergies shd be dust cos he has no problems with food and medicine.

i realised my maid din change his bedsheet for quite some time and once i asked her to change his nose cleared up like in 2 days. so shd be dust related.

i also asked another PD why nowadays allergies so common. he said that last time our envt a lot of infections so our bodies busy fighting infections. now with vaccines, less infections so the kids got nothing to fight and the envt moved from infections based to allergies based....

how is mel's allergy test results?

CL
your toilet training adventure so funny....JH nowadays also refuse to pee in the toilet. really cannot ask him. must wait for him to initiate...

think i really lack of sleep and it amkes me really short tempered. yesterday after JH pooed and i wanted to go get new diaper for him, he kept stepping on his toys and i was afraid he will fall. so i told him not to but he just kept doing it. got so angry until i shouted at him and he cried. then as he was crying he peed onto the floor cos he wasn't wearing diapers. later i ask hb how come boys can still pee when crying when he just peed in the toilet. hb said scared until he peed. i think it's true. he probably got scared when i scolded him and ended up peeing. sigh. i always feel very guilty when i shout at him but i can't control leh. how??

SY
If you feel you are angry you just move to another room. I get agitated easily when I was preggie with number 2 too. Because still have to work, do housework and look after kid so a bit frustrated.

You probably sending a wrong signal to JH and he might have a bad feeling towards mei mei because he probably think mummy is scolding me because of baby.

CL

hahaha, u first time pick up poo ah? I thought u should be more experience now since Aden is #2.

May
Maybe coz mine boy boy, easier to collect pee.

How come your pull up so ex? Mine average abt 43 cents leh.

CL
but sometimes when it happens i m the only one with him. a few times when it happened i will tell JH i m sorry. i also dun wna him to think that it is cos of mei mei. but he is quite sweet. always cry already and then back to normal. i really hope to control myself cos losing my temper so easily until it scares me..

Thanks all mummies for the advise!

Tabbie,
Her older cousins never complain of pain down there but other parts like fingers, feet etc and she will copy. I'm just wondering if she copied from someone in school. But that day while urinating, she used her hand to pushed her pubic area downwards and when I asked her why she does it, she said cos kor-kor do it! Then I know its cos she saw them peeing and they..you know..hold that thing down while peeing.

CL,
I was also thinking if UTI pee will pain. The only time she complain pain is at night when she pee before sleeping. Other than that, during the day with diapers on she dun complain pain. Told MIL to please monitor today and let us know if she still complain pain.

SY,
Me too get easily agitated when I had Duncan in my last trimester. Cos we are soo tired, and still gotta work, look after #1 and do housework. When you feel that you cannot contain your anger anymore, just walk away. I do that with Meg and hubby will get the msg and quickly tend to her.

tracy
hee, my hb not so alert. usually he only comes in after jh starts crying then ask what happen.....

think if meg really got pain when peeing, better see doc soon and clear it up. hopefully it's not anything but just copying what others say...think they are at that age also....

SY

Think u need a time out too. Perhaps assign a noti corner for yourself to cool down? hahaha. Let JH know that there're times that mummy needs to calm down too. :p

CL
your toilet training experience is so funny. haha...

SY
ya, when i was pregnant, i got agitated by my gal v easily. even now, especially when i am super tired and she's still trying to do something 'funny'. i can scold her till my voice changed. after that felt so guilty about it. and she would kept asking me not to scold her... i find that the more i got angry, the louder she would cry.
so, now, i would just keep quiet when i felt angry.
and when she's naughty and doesn't listen to me e.g. stepping on the toys, etc, as long as i know that there's no sharp object around her, i will just tell her to be careful and try not to nag at her liao... i am quite evil lah. 'cos i am waiting for her to fall down, then make it as life example to lecture her. :p

Mashy,
My big backside gal is wearing XXL Mamy Poko. Last time they only got pack of 10pcs selling at $13.10!! They just start I think last mth on 38pcs one.

Cookie,
Was it you who mention that Nepia leaks for your boy? Cos I'm using Nepia for Duncan now and every night I have to change him after every feed which is 2-3hourly. If not, next feed when he wakes he will be all wet and I gotta change his clothes.

May,
I just bought 1pack of Mamy Poko XL pull-ups for Meg. It doesn't hold pee as long as Nepia or Goon for Meg. BTW, how come yours is $1.30 per piece?? I bought the XL at $15.20 for 24pcs = $0.63 per pc.

SY,
I just called MIL to ask and she says she never heard of Meg complaining pain when peeing. But then again, my MIL is sometimes too busy or blur to notice.

SY,
Just to share since you are planning to try direct latch this time, I am now back to direct latching. Still rather new at it. But it's definitely more convenient when going out and at night. For night feeds, I just latch him on lying down and he will be done in 15-20mins then I put him back to bed. This way, I can get more sleep than bottle feeding cos gotta express.

When going out, no need to bring milk also. But I still not guts to bf in public altho I use a shawl to cover. I still do it in the car or use a nursing room.

But daytime its rather tricky, he can latch VERY long. I think too long sometimes. He can latch 30mins on each side! Then I think this way he overdrank and starts regurgitating. So...guess I'm still learning along the way. Maybe I'm no confident in direct latch so if he starts fussing after latching for 20mins, I will start thinking not enough and relatch again and again. So hope you can also do direct latch this time round. Much easier.

sunny
hee i also let jh fall sometimes. that day he fell from the dinner chair cos he was moving so much. lucky i caught him or he would have suffer a serious bump on his head. but think the way i caught him hurt a lot cos i only managed to grab his leg. lucky he din hit his head. wd be really bad fall..

Sunny,
haha, sama sama here. Sometimes now I just give up yelling at Meg not to do it cos the more I ask her not to, the more she will. I'm also the 'evil' mummy, letting her learn her lesson the hard way.

Tracy,
XL is cheaper. But <font color="ff0000">XXL</font> is ex. Jamie is wearing XXL now. I am trying to toilet train her as XXL is too ex in the market.

Tracy
I never tried Nepia for Kyler at nite. But when he was much younger I used MP, also leak, tried pampers also leak! and I kinda give up liao.. maybe kyler was skinnier when younger.. so no matter how we wear the diaper still leak from the waist. Now he is ok. Pamper, MP all ok
But.. I think Boy has more urine??.. by morning if we dun change him quickly, his pampers will LEAK big time..never happen to kae before.

I re-started using Nepia for day.. when NTUC has promo.. I still find it very good.. but really too expensive for my 2 kids.
WIll use only when NTUC has promo..kekeke.. now using pet pet for day.

SY
dun feel guilty.. else you will feel guilty all the time.. ahhaha.. I use to feel so. But these days Kae also very challenging.. when she has bad attitude, I will not hesitate to discipline her and heehee.. dun feel bad about it now cos I need to correct her before she turn from bad to worst.

Re: need help - remittance back indo
My helper wish to remit $$ back to her home town this weekend. Can anyone share with me, which "Bank" is reliable and charge low bank charges?
I only know western union ( something like that), but I not sure if they are good.
Where can go for such remittance?
I also saw some go to POST Office to do remittance? we can remit from there too?

cookie,
somehow boys tend to leak from the side! esp cos I let him sleep sideways also at night. Daytime not as much urine as night. My boy also got skinny thighs while Meg was bigger.

tracy/cookie

my boy too! He used to leak so much when he was a younger. Everything also leak.

May
hahaha. Most gals have bigger butts. My boy still wearing L. He just recently got promoted from M to L for drypers. Yah, like that very ex. Better train quickly.

I'm so lazy. Went back to diapers again. This mth going to be tiring coz my stepmum isn't cooking dinner.

Today, there's 4 new kids in my boy's class. So now it's exploding with 15 kids and 2 teachers. It's quite a crazy day coz the new kids kept crying. The classroom looked so packed with the kids.

What exactly is Bronchitis? Sigh...my boy down with fever since saturday nite. Hit 40+ yesterday night again. Today brought him to another pd coz the usual pd was closed and got a earful from my hb on the cost of it.

Kept asking me why can't we just bring him to a GP. The doc gave so much medication and mention something abt a bit of phlegm in lungs and bronchitis. Is that what it is?

cookie - u have to bring ur maid to post office and remit her money. your maid need to be present and provide the acct details. they will register her and give her a card. in future, you can just bring the card and maid to post office. i think the charges for each remittance is ard 12 bucks and must be more than $100 or $150.

SY - i also have short fuse esp after coming home from work and feeling so tired. But my 2 monkeys just wouldnt sleep. one will be hopping in the playpen and one will refuse milk and keep wanting to play. and when i switched off the lights...the elder one will insist that i ON it. recently i also scolded and pushed my older one to bed. i felt so guilty of coz ... but at that moment i just feel like letting all out. i guess the best way is really to walk out or shut yourself up completely. i am still learning to be a better mom.

tracy
Kyler also like to sleep on his side where else kae like to sleep on her back..perhaps sleeping position make a difference.

CL,
Not too bad liao. At least Aden will sit. The moment i open JW diaper, he will cry and insist he doesn't want to poo already! And then that day he can suddenly don't poo for whole day. Really worried he developed constipation if i keep it up so i gave up trying after a few times.

SY,
JW is one defiant fellow. He is nv scared no matter how fierce we scream at him. Sigh. Coz this time round i am oso sick and with so many medication prescribed for JW, it was a hard for me to maintain my cool when he kept insisting he doesn't want his medication (all the while when i was holding his spoon of medicine).

Was pretty fed up and then nearly quarrelled with hb over it. Then for the first time ever, my hb flew into such a big rage. Took hold of JW and scream at him to eat his medicine. i see already oso scared but my boy like no reaction one. Just cry a bit but still refuse to eat. Then my hb fed up and lock him in the kitchen twice before he finally scream "eat medicine" himself in a desperate attempt to get out of the kitchen.

Came out guai guai ate all 6 - 7 different medicine. So poor thing....