(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SH - you can read the details from http://www.medicinenet.com/bronchitis/article.htm

C also had bronchitis and doc gave subotomol to clear the airways. try to avoid cold stuffs and give him plenty of warm fluids. he will be cranky during sleep times and if he refuse milk, dun force him. the last time i brought C to KKH and they gave him neubaliser. it was a tough experience and i really fear for the next attack.

SH

Bronchitis is Qi Guan Yan. It's a lung infection and if not treated well and fast enough can end up in hospital like my boy did. Good thing you brought him to PD rather than GP. 40 degrees is very serious already. The last time my boy hit 39.7 with bronchitis, he was admitted to hospital. The damage to the lungs could be irreversible if not treated in time.

tracy/WY
ya loh. else, no strength to take care of both leh. and if keep nagging at the kids will make me feel really auntie. haha... so, i try to avoid nagging. :p

re: diaper for fat thigh baby
what brand did you use? i let my boy wear mamypoko, got some red mark on his thigh leh.

SSF,
Thanks for the link but what i don't understand is what has bronchitis got to do with phlegm getting into the lungs. I kept reading about the infection and inflammation but din see anything abt phlegm.

Mashy,
Ya...somehow there are times when i feel like i rather spend the money and buy peace of mind rather than ever have to live with regret. Coz even at times when i call my brother (who is a doc), he will tell me actually he is not familiar with baby dosage...and he usually need to check it out on the web before answering me. But my MIL and hb always feel it is such a waste of money.

And at $160 bucks...it's a bit hard to get away with my hb nagging coz he says it's just fever...
So i m just trying to find more information on the web to explain to him....

SH

Well, u can tell him that my boy was hospitalised for 1 week with fever less than 40deg due to bronchitis. C'mon, whether ex or not is really relative. Will he rather spend more money for hospitalisation than $160 specialist care? Since the fever hit 40 deg, it's important to find out what's causing it. Better be safe than sorry.

If next time, he feels so awful abt the $160, send your kid to Mt A A&E. The consultation is cheap (less than $50 including meds) even after office hours and short queue. If it's nothing serious, then good. Cheap consultation (cheaper than GP sometimes) and can leave after that. But if it's serious like my boy's case, will need to hospitalise. Like that if need to hospitalise, then your hb also can't complain expensive coz it means it's serious enough for the dr to recommend hospitaltion.

Thanks SSF! Will bring my helper to SIngpost this weekend

SH

One more thing. When I asked my PD whether there's a need to admit to hospital, he said yes as it could be pneumonia. U know like SARS & TB? CAn die from it leh.

SH
For me if it is fever, I monitor with the medication. If it is more than few days I confirm should be infection so will see dr to get the right antibiotics mah.

Bronchitis should be careful see how aden oso got into mycloplasma when we thought it is bronchitis again. Then antibiotics must be changed mah.

Such money cannot save.

Mashy,
Ya will tell him. How come Mt A A&E is so cheap?

CL,
He had fever since saturday night liao. Instead of tapering downwards, it is trending upwards. All the neurofen and paracetamol can't get it down at all. I wish i can make him see lights. Guess it didn't help that JW was fussing with the number of medication that we had to feed him. He kept saying why need so many different kind of medicine.....

mamapanda
how much does Western Union charge? any idea?

Mashy
What are the signs or signs leading to Bronchitis? I cannot read the site now.. co has set vry low band width to non-biz site.. Does it awlays comes with COugh/Pleghm and fever?
kae has been down with cough (not very bad, it usually get worst at nite), sound like lotsa pleghm when cough, runny nose and fever on and off, Kyler also got a bit from sister...
Seems like just fever from cough and flu but I din want to take things lightly too. Most of the time, they are still active and playful.

tracy
i really hope to direct latch this time but also scared ss not enough and in the end bb doesn't wan to direct latch. think that's what happened to JH...then it became a cycle and in the end ss no good.

initially u were pumping also right? but duncan ok with direct latching?

cookie, SSF
think our fuses gets short on some days..maybe a break is just what we need...

cookie
i do agree that we need to correct them but i think i overdo it at times..esp with my short temper

SH
so what was teh diagnosis from PD? bronchitis? poor thing. actually i realise GP and PD use medicine differently. so if it's serious, best to send to PD. think your hb too used to Dr Sim's charges liao...

dun mind me saying. your hb can be quite naggy esp when it comes to money? like what CL says some money can't be saved. sometimes my hb also complains when i spend a lot of PD's fees but most of the time i pay so he can't say anything. but as long as got improvement, he got to admit i made the right decision to bring him to see doc.

maybe your hb not very in tuned abt kid's illness. usually fever i will be more gan cheong. JH had fever on thur and fri morn i already bring him see doc cos at night hsi fever also shot up to 39+. i m not comfy when that happens. plus i was afriad it may mean throat infection or tonsilitis again so better clear it early. but as i suspected it was due to his sensitive nose and he caught an infection from it.

dun bother too much abt hb. sometimes i feel my hb also like that. dunno anything and still wan to comment. anyway i always tell him all the stories from forum. so at least he will know i got basis for doing certain things.

mashy : Mt A A&E
IMHO, I don't find it cheap leh.. and the wait is so long.. and the doctors... no comments... I only brought Ariene there cuz it was Christmas day and all 3 of us were sick the moment we came back to SIngapore from Norway. Costed me almost $400 for the 3 of us. Public holidays have extra surcharge of $5-$10 I know, but a total of $200+ is still not cheap. After that, all of us still need to see our own GP again and Ariene still had to go see her PD Winston Ng cuz the medicine Mt A gave us sucks and failed to make us feel better after taking 4 days of the medication

SH
BUT.. well.. Mashy's suggestion was good. At least ur hb cant complain abt $160 if really need to hospitalise. Its fever leh... can die from it if it goes too high.. can get brain damage or other side effects if it gets too serious.. don't he know about all these? Many children suffered brain damage, pneumonia, etc in the past because their parents couldn't afford to bring them to see the doctor when they had high fever. it didn't happen to us because we were lucky but that doesn't mean such things did not happen.. What is $160 compared to the well-being of ur kid? I don't understand ur hb.. maybe u should try to explain things to him.. he might not be aware of the dangers of prolonged high fever or pneumonia or bronchitis? Prolonger bronchitis can cause permanant damage to the lungs. Also, it might not be just fever. Fever is just a symptom of an ongoing viral infection. It could be something else more serious. I'm sure he won't want your kid to suffer any permanant damage in case its anything serious causing the fever right?

SY,
PD says got phlegm in lungs. May lead to bronchitis.

Ya hb comes from a pretty thrifty family. I know if my IL even think we are contemplating a PT maid, I will get a earful. The last time when I hired a CL, my MIL kept nagging especially since it is near CNY...even more expensive. Sianz....

For the medical fee usually he pays coz i am the one carrying JW...a bit hard to juggle. For the PT maid, I told him I will pay coz i can't stand the mess.

Ok JW wakes up liao...gtg....

cookie
I think its $12SGD per transfer. Cant quite remember but the transfer is almost immediate. So, best to remit alot each time so more 划算 per transfer

SH

u gals really make me feel that i'm like a mu lao hu leh coz i will not let my hb give me a earful on anything. More like I give my hb a scolding. hhaahaha. You gals are so mild, like little lambs at home.

I also dunno how come so cheap. I happen to go there once when my PD wasn't ard in Singapore. Then we realised not only is the queue short, it's so cheap. Consultation is like $18 i think. Nurse fee another $5. So now it's my alternative whenever my boy is sick and my PD is not available.

cookie
For bronchitis, it will be wheezing, cough, fever. The tell tale sign is wheezing actually. I bought a working toy stethoscope from toys r us and surprisingly, it works. The last time my boy had wheezing, can tell straightaway. The lungs make a funny sound when he's wheezing. If the cough is persistent and fever keeps coming, better go and get it checked. It can be just a normal cough. There're 2 types of bronchitis. Acute and chronic. Acute is if it happens only in 1 isolated event, it's not as serious but if it accumulates to a few times in a year, it becomes chronic and it will happen regularly every year. Chronic is more serious and can lead to death. Chronic cases will also need long term medication.

My boy's case is asthmatic bronchitis, so it's a chronic case. He gets bronchitis whenever he falls sick.

SH
GP are not trained to treat and detect illnesses in young children esp, below 2 years old. In fact, our GP asked us not to bring our baby to him if sick. Its our GP who advised us to bring baby to see PD for first 2 years.

cookie
forgot to include this earlier : http://www.westernunion.com.sg/index.htm

Mt A A&E
Anyway, the docs there are ordinary GPs. IMO, they are only mediocre for baby illnesses.. well.. at least for Ariene's case, they were not good enough. If u want to recall a PD at Mt A A&E, need pay $200 extra!

mamapanda

haha, maybe coz u went on christmas that's why the queue so long? Usually when i go there, it's not such a long queue. They're generalists, so more in the sense of GPs than PDs. I also think they're not great that's why i still go to my own PD. I'm suggesting to SH that coz it's better than the hb nagging abt her 'wasting' money. At least they will order for a series of tests like x rays and blood test then can shut her hb up. :p.

I will still go there when there's an emergency and my PD is not available.

hi mummies...i have been experiencing sharp pain near my tailbone for almost a mth. went to see doc last week and she gave me some painkiller and will be meeting her tmr most likely for an x-ray. it hurts esp when i sneeze or cough. occasionally when i sit down, my tail bone tends to be very "suan" too. hb thought maybe it was because of my epidural. do you think so? i read in the net and they said could be due to child birth but both my delivery was c-sect. another thg i can think of is my 11+kg son. too much carrying?

mashy
yes,I understood that
I'd done the same too. I also thought ur suggestion was good. At least, if needed, will admit straightaway but, like u said, they're nowhere comparable to a PD. Would only go Mt A if its a public holiday or Sunday when PD is closed.

SH/Cookie

the week before, i discovered that my boy was wheezing (without fever) so went to see my PD. The appointments were all full and I was given a number to wait forever type. But when the nurse listened to my boy's wheezing, he suddenly became an urgent case and within the next 2 patients, we got to see our PD already. So, don't ignore wheezing symptoms. Can be serious.

SSF,
Yes, I got this feeling also leh. Cos Jamie is abt 15kg now, if I carry her too often it will comes back again. The pain is like as if u just had a fall on ur bone, right? Feedback if u really go check ok? If it is not due to carrying the kids, then I got to go for check-up also.

Queen/Flo, yah, I heard that Miss D left more than 2 weeks ago cos she's pregnant. K likes Miss D more than Miss R too. Think she's the favourite teacher among many other students too. I like her cos she's firm and can get students' attention better. I chose the 240pm timeslot for the PTM cos picking K up at 3.

Tracy, haha, talking about feeding in public, I've been using shawl to feed S in food courts, cafes, beach, church, almost everywhere. Braver this time round but if there's nursing room, I'l still go for it. If I'm wearing nursing tops, I don't even use the shawl esp outdoors when it's too hot. Now S even starts to push the shawl away in air-con. There are really nice nursing tops nowadays. My favourite is this but I feel it's a bit ex so only go for the cheaper designs. http://www.maternalove.com/index.php?cPath=27_28

may - ya those aching feeling. did u also have epidural? my appt is tmr. most likely is for x-ray as she gave me painkiller which does not resolve the root cause. i did not even take it. she said monitor 1 wk and see how. so tmr i will tell her still the same and i didnt take her stupid medicine.

SSF/May,

everything when i am having my confinement, my mum was kept nagging at me to take rest.
even if i can't sleep, just laid down on the bed. Otherwise dun complaint abt having backache.
Not sure how true this was. But i also taken epidural ley..so far no backache.

SSF
I ever feel the same pain and I even feel numbness on my thigh. For a moment i thought it is due to stroke. Then check and dr says it is due to weight of Aden. I am on epidural but so far no complain except that time when i pull the muscle

SH
my hb also comes from a very thrifty family but he thinks it is impt to see doc. if cos sometimes he may not see the need but cos his own health not very good so he feels it's impt if JH is sick and need to see doc. and it helps that i m always the one who brings JH so it doesn't affect him. maybe next time u just bring JW and dun ask him along. hb just gets an update from me after i m done. in fact, almost all the visits i bring JH myself except for those that need vaccination cos i can't hold him now when doc injecting...

i agree with mamapanda also. i tend to wan to see PD cos they are more trained and they dispense medicine differently. in fact GP's dosage and PD's dosage always different and i find GP's dosage tend to be lower. not that i wan my kid to take more medicine but if the dosage not enough, then he takes longer to recover.

SSF
i dun have back problems though i took epidural. think best to check it out and make sure no problem.

Anyone can order via the Scholastic Bookclub? We've just left the cc and am seeing if I can tonpang anyone on this. tx.

.ky.

SY,
I started off with exclusive pumping. Lucky Duncan is ok with direct latch.

Val,
I hope I can be as brave as you to lstch in public! The most 'public' place I nursed so far is in my gynae's clinic but not many ppl around. thx for sharing the link. I don't own any nursing tops so far :p

SSF,
I had the tailbone ache for quite awhile after delivering Meg via emergency c-sect w epi. But the acge went away by itself. This 2nd birth no tailbone ache.

thks mummies. seems like a few of us experience the same thing. will update all after my x-ray tmr.

mamachan - my maid has cleaned up the jumperoo..let me know where your frd lives. if nearby, i can pass it to her. if not, maybe can drop by your place during lunch time or work. sms me ya!

SSF
I had epi for both delivery. Thank God so far I'm alright but just today I feel some suan around the tail bone too. but could be I was sitting for too long or I had to carry my kids these days cos they were sick

SH
Bronchitis is an inflammation of the lungs. When our body is infected and inflamed, swelling occurs and more often than not, tend to secrete more mucus as a form of defense, which is our phelgm....so if these are not cleared, it can constrict the airways in the case of bronchitis, can be fatal coz it might possibly lead to cutting off air supply to the lungs when not treated. Numerous medication given could also include anti-histamines which reduces the swelling and inflammed lungs, respiratory airway and the rest of the medication could well control the symptoms so that it's more comfortable for the person or in this case JW.

I agree with the rest, PD fees cannot be saved on one... so long you know the PD is good and JW has lots of improvement after seeing the PD, then go ahead. GP's medication is generally more for adults and may not be good for young children as it can be too strong for their organs like liver and kidneys.

SSF
Oh ok thanks! Perhaps you can drop it off at my place? My other church friend will come by and pick it up for use =)

May
Have you let Jaime try out the Goon Diaper Pull Ups? Their XL cutting is bigger than other XL oull ups. Can consider letting Jaime try that. I've been letting D wear Goon Diapers and Pull ups in XL. So far so good. Material just as good as Mamypokos and better tha Nepia. Other alternatives is Huggies Pull Ups...those are not too bad too. Before Goon, D was wearing Huggies.

Mamachan,
I only try Goon Normal Diaper. They have got Pull Up too? Where can I get sample?

SSF,
I have got Epidural for Emergency C-sect. But frankly speaking, I did not rest well during confinement. Keep sitting and my mum keep asking me to lie down. I think next one I will engage a CL and rest as much as I can.

Mamachan,
But Huggies XXL the side will go to the centre of the backside leh. Then Jamie will have two big flesh sticking out. Only Mamy Poko fits nicely like an underwear.

actually i need to switch JH already. think i will probably get Goon pull up next time. he already can't fit the nepia one well...

hope he can be diaper free but he doesn't seem to wan to go diaper free...sigh

SY
Mel has not taken her allergy test yet. Dr Khor just wanted to make sure her blood count is ok and there is no major problem. Result showed is viral fever and mild allergic reaction to the drug (cos the indicator is not very high). She’s referring Mel to NUH Dr Hugo Bever and has made appointment to see him next month. Will send all Mel’s allergy pic to him and see what he says.

Humm, then you have to make sure your maid keep the place clean, cos can be quite bad for health.

Dr Khor made the same comments too…she said she has seen the 2 spectrum…which give away which “era” she belongs to. Last time used to treat lice, mumps etc now never see such cases anymore, is mainly allergy…haha

CL
Haha, your toilet training adventure is so funny

Sunny/SY/Tracy
Talking about falling; we were having lunch the other day and Mel was getting restless and wanted to get out. The highchair at the restaurant cannot be fastened and she managed to stand on it and kept turn round and round. We warned her and asked her to sit down. Shortly after, she lost control and fell flat on the side of her face. Started crying but guess what, just a while later, she’s jumping up and down the stairs...this girl never learn her lesson!

SH,
Fever is usually a symptom, if it does subside within 1 – 2 days, then need to see doc to find out the cause. Actually wheezing and coughing can be quite fatal. When Mel had her drug allergy the previously, she was coughing quite badly and PD suspected she’s wheezing too. Ask me to bring her down to NUH (cos is too ex to see her at Mt E). She then spoke to the MO there and briefed him about Mel’s condition. Mel was much better after the jab.

Mashy/Mamapanda,
Cos Mt A A&E, will just be normal doc and there may not be PD on standby all the time. If you want to request for PD I think the charges is $300. TMC will be another alternative cos chances of a PD on standby are higher.

Val
Oh Ms D is expecting…humm why need to quit in such a hurry. U mean sch will be as usual on Fri?

Flo/Valerie,
I did not see any paper informing of the PTM in Isaac's bag leh and my ILs said the teachers didn't mention anything about the PTM. How were you all notified? Looks like I have ot call PT.

Queen
Humm, unless the teachers think 3 weeks is too short to do a review? Maybe u should call up to check.

Flo,
That's what I thought as well. Would there be lessons as per normal then? In any case, I took leave and I thought I'll want speak to the teachers for a while to find out what Isaac has been doing anyway even if there is no formal PTM slot allocated for Isaac.

SSF,
I also experience the same aching pains around my tailbone and pelvic bone area. Never had it before. It came during my last trimester, just before I delivered Ben. And the pain lasted me till recently. I suspect its bcos of carrying E n also from epidural side effects. E is abt 12+kg. The pain got worse after my confinement ended. I took epi this time. Had v bad shivers right after csect. Last time was on GA, also csect.
U wanna try taking HUIJI Waist tonic? I bought 1 bottle from NTUC n took it twice a day. Took abt more than half a bottle before I see results. My pain is almost 90% gone now.

Valerie,
I realised I m more garang this time round too! I recently bf Ben in cafe n crowded restaurant, right in front of my fil somemore! Using a shawl or sling to do it. I feel so insecure using a shawl cos Ben keeps pulling it off. And the sling is a bit too hot in there for him. So now, I m trying to sew my own nursing cover. Hopefully Ben will like it better in there. I have 2 or 3 nursing tops but I find it thick n hot to wear leh.

SSF,

I took that too.. effective.. but coz Elijah was really too heavy for me at that time plus the epidural effect with the needle inside the spine for 2 days so after I stop the pain came back again.

This pregnancy is worse. my tailbone is pain and hip as well. I am still carrying elijah at 14kg....