(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY
i guess with a family background your hb came from, your MIL very $ face one right? can understand why he see $ as more important than having you to stay home to care for the kids full time. he might not have been observant enough to see the benefit too since he find having a helper and the current stage now is good.

at the early stage of my SAHM period, hb too question me what have i done with dylan and what else i did. it pissed me and so one fine day i throw all the task to him and went out the whole day to run my errands and met some friends that i had not met for ages. ever since that day, he understand what i was going through at home and appreciate me more hahaha.

sleepingdeer
we both are really in the same situation. nv will i expect to go back to my previous line. its tough on depend on a single income but it really tested me and hb how we can nake the best out of it. now we still shop and buy things but do it in a wiser way. although spending power dropped greatly but we enjoy what we are having now.

better to build on assets, savings will go zero one fine day too. that is what i learnt. so now, me and hb are working together to build on our asset for our future as well as for our kids too.

sleepingdeer

me too! Don't think i'll ever be able to go back to my previous line. Will have to start afresh when i go back to work. Maybe start my own business or something. I always feel my heart pressure go up when i see the bank account. It kept going down esp since my accident.

Tabbiesus
I can bet that your hb probably doesn't feel as guilty as you. sigh. Think it's a mother thing that only mothers will feel guilty not spending enough time with our kids. I suppose something will have to give if you wanna advance in your career. It can't be helped. Unless you're willing to step down, you'll just have to sacrifice time with the two Ts. We're not wonder women and we can't have it all.

Tabbiesus,
I completely understand your feelings. You have put in a lot of effort in your studies and work and of course you hope to achieve something to show for your efforts. Monetary rewards is just one part of it. The career satisfaction is personal and we have every right to want it. I guess you really have to ask yourself at what stage are you in your career and what is it that you want in the end. Do you wish to advance further in terms of rank or acquiring more medical expertise? Or is enough to just be able to practise as a doctor? Then you could certainly work in a slower paced environment. If not, then is it within your means to achieve whatever your want in your career while still being able to be the mother you want to be? If you can't, then should you be lowering your expectation as a career woman and focus more on your kids? Or at least put your ambitions on hold till your kids are old enough to be independent?
Sometimes, it's not so much as to GIVE UP your dreams, but managing your expectations as a career woman and as a mother and changing your mindset. If you do decide to slow down in your career and focus on being a more devoted mother, then I think you should not view it as "giving up" something to achieve another but rather a choice to focus on what is more important to you.

tabb

Don't be depressed. I think you are at a point in time when there's a lot of expectations in terms of work, and also with 2 additions in your family these few years. Just remember that many mothers are in your shoes and going thru' the same concerns and anxiety as you. Just believe that you are doing your best. Can you set aside a time just for didi, like bring him to a parent-kid play session on a weekly basis. I've seen some WOHM mum who are very clear on what they want in work and where to cut the line; we spend our weekends together just to bond with the kids. I think having a good support mother group who have the same outlook and support is very impt for one's sanity. It does get better. And I do understand that you have certain expectations on your hubby but he seems to fall short on that ... I guess you'll have to take it one step at a time and do what you can within your own means. Having your mum and a helper to manage your kids while you are working is a privilege that many others do not have ... people always comment that have quantity of time does not mean quality of time. Stay positive.

.ky.

Tabby,
I am not good in words, I believe the advices from other mummies explain what I am going to say. What about considering operating at private clinic being a consultant? I have seen some of the clinic with female consultant coming in only in the morning or in the afternoon.

Any mummies heard of this before? it's new to me! sharks and i have been giving tyler water!!!

Drinking water can be harmful to smallest babies

NEW YORK - BABIES younger than six months old should never be given water to drink, physicians at Johns Hopkins Children's Centre in Baltimore remind parents.
Consuming too much water can put babies at risk of a potentially life-threatening condition known as water intoxication.
'Even when they're very tiny, they have an intact thirst reflex or a drive to drink,' Dr Jennifer Anders, a pediatric emergency physician at the center, told Reuters Health.
'When they have that thirst and they want to drink, the fluid they need to drink more of is their breast milk or formula.'
Because babies' kidneys aren't yet mature, giving them too much water causes their bodies to release sodium along with excess water, Dr Anders said. Losing sodium can affect brain activity, so early symptoms of water intoxication can include irritability, drowsiness and other mental changes. Other symptoms include low body temperature (generally 97 degrees or less), puffiness or swelling in the face, and seizures.
'It's a sneaky kind of a condition,' Dr Anders said. Early symptoms are subtle, so seizures may be the first symptom a parent notices. But if a child gets prompt medical attention, the seizures will probably not have lasting consequences, she added.
Water as a beverage should be completely off limits to babies six months old and younger, Dr Anders and her colleagues say. Parents should also avoid using over-diluted formula, or pediatric drinks containing electrolytes.
She said it may be appropriate in some cases to give older infants a small amount of water; for example to help with constipation or in very hot weather, but parents should always check with their pediatrician before doing so, and should only give the baby an ounce or two of water at a time.
If a parent thinks their child may have water intoxication, or if an infant as a seizure, they should seek medical attention immediately, she advised. -- REUTERS

Aileen,

I read this in the papers today as well. I think our parents will always tell us that must give water to babies. But I remember reading somewhere about breastmilk being very watery and there is no need to give water to infants. So during the 1st few months, I hardly gave Isaac water since he was on TBF.
But I'm sure that my MIL will feed him water when I'm at work though I think the amount was very small since he doesn't like to drink water anyway.
Now you know... just limit the water intake for Tyler.

Aileen,
I just heard abt it recently from a mum in the May thread as well. Now Duncan is on TBF so he's not given water but earlier he was given water cos he sunbathes every morning and gotta be hydrated. Anyway its not like we are making them drink cups of waters. I think this study is referring 'excessive' amounts of water maybe? I guess no harm lah, we were all probably also fed water when we were newborn. I tot those on FM will surely need at least some water otherwise will constipate?

thanks mummies:p
Appreciate your comments all. I guess i'm just facing cross roads now. I'm actually in the process of switching to something less demanding but more challengng. I have been pretty disillusioned at work cos the prev year had some bad experience of being played out n backstabbed but this year a change in management has made things pretty good 4 me. I agree with u all, ultimately its what i view as important to me. Guess i have to be more disciplined n firm at work.

May
I'd love to go private but i don't feel ready and i believe in quality care, i'm one of the rare few who will waive charges if i don't feel necessary. In private, sometimes can be v money face! And i don't want that. I really enjoy treating the old and sick. Plus market overcrowded, have u seen the no of lasik adverts recently? Crazy!

Aileen
Have heard that. Didi only got water when he started brown rice.
I know what u mean, didi is slow in speech so doesn't even say ma ma, sometimes i wonder if he knows i'm mommy. Latching on is the only bond i have. Somehow singing itsy bitsy spider this time round isn't as exciting.

Ky
Thanks. Maybe will try n get didi into jg or gymboree

Tabbiesus
It's really tricky in your situation. I remember that you've mentioned that it doesn't quite help that your boss is not those pro-family type despite the fact that she's a mother herself? End of the day, you'll have to ask yourself if, for your children's sake, would you be satisfied to just being a regular eye specialist and give up the research that you're doing (by doing that you might not advance in your career path) or if you think you're really keen in eye research and spend more time in the research than in the clinic. It's a tough call, cause I know that alot of clinicians nowadays are "pushed" to do research for the sake of their career path.

I'm pretty sure you're doing a really good job now trying to strike a good work balance, just that over time it will take a toll on your overall well-being. But at the end, I'm sure you would want to look back and say or even hear your children say that they enjoyed their growing up years as mummy was always there with them and lent them the support they needed.

Personally, for me, I hope to strike a good balance between family, work, ministry in church and hobby. But the times where if I find I barely have time for D and my hb when work gets really crazy, I would sacrifice the "Me" time in my hobby and sometimes request that I co-ordinate lesser church weddings for the rest of the year. Coz as a woman and as a mom, our family is our "ministry" and our focus. I'm sure God would certainly reward us according to what we've been called to be faithful in. (Pardon my bringing God into the picture). What we may seem to have lost now in terms of career advancement, am pretty sure we will "Reap a bigger harvest" when the time comes.

I see the importance of having a mom figure around most times, coz sad to say, my mom was not always there when I was growing up as she had to work hard to support the family by holding 2 jobs (I'm not blaming her). It would have been really nice to have her be there with me during dinner time, doing my homework, someone I can talk with when I face pressure in school, but sad to say, it's just me and my grandparents. I grew up quite resentful and rebellious towards my mom (I was still young and not very understanding) to the point when in my teens, where she told me that she'll give up her job partly because she wanted to spend more time with me, I told her that it's already too late and I didn't want to spend time with her as I have my friends and more exciting things to do.

Looking back, I am sorry to have said such things to my mom. I still love her then and much more now after being married and had become a mother myself, I grew to appreciate much more that she had to do what she did. Just that for myself now, I would rather choose family over career when the "rubber meets the road".

Hi-Tea
Any of the moms going fro Hi-Tea has got the UOB Card? Seems like quite a good deal going back to Marriott Hotel?? Pity I don't have UOB card.

Hi Aileen,
b4 I gave birth, I did alot of reading up on breastfeeding, and its true that BM has sufficient water content to keep the baby satisfied, so S never got any water during the frist few months. Of course my mum and aunties nagged and doubted me, they thought it was ridiculous that a newborn didn't need water at all..
But I do think if a baby is on FM, it's good to give them a little water... also i think one teaspoon or so is ok, as long as not excessive...

rachel
Hehehe, so in this case we should go for Marriot Hotel's hi-tea? Sysac posted to say that it's 1 complimentary buffet for 3 paying adults wor.

Moms-only-get-together Hi-Tea
Will keep it simple for this year, just meet, chat over good food!

Date: 28th May, Wednesday from 2pm onwards

Venue: Marriott Cafe Hi-Tea, since Rachel has got UOB card and the dining privilege is - Marriott Cafe Intl/local Hi-Tea 3pm - 5.30pm. at $35++. UOB Card Dining Privilege is 1 Complimentary buffet with every 3 payg adult diners.

1) MamaChan - Goodwood Park or Marriott cafe
2) Rachel - Goodwood Park or Marriott cafe
3) Sysac Goodwood Park or Marriott Cafe
4) Flo - Confirmed, ?Goodwood Park or Marriott Cafe
5) God's_child - Will try
6) Yuki - Goodwood Park
7) rena - Good wood / marriot.
8) Chicken Little - Just applied and see if approve (Goodwood Park and Marriott Cafe)

Marriott Cafe Intl/local Hi-Tea 3pm - 5.30pm. at $35++. UOB Card Dining Privilege is 1 Complimentary buffet with every 3 payg adult diners.

hi mummies...its "eat with your family" day. ANyone leaving at 5pm? my co as usual very bo chap abt all these...haiz.

SY - thanks for organising the BP for first teeth toothpaste. Can I pay you when I collect from you? SMS me when its ready as I don;t really go in here so often and the threads are really moving so fast. wrt to wet tissue, i stocked up many packets of pureen brand (orange one w/o smell) from malaysia. cheap and good!

rachel - congratulations!!!! another Jan baby for you...

flo - have fun in HK.

mamachan - well i tried cutting C's pacifier and he gave a very stunned yet curious look then said no no..dun want! haha..but then he started having this massive flow of energy. he couldn;t sleep at all...keeping running around the hse and even went to Didi's playpen and disturb him from his sleep. in the end, we gave up and gave him his tutu and he was fast asleep in minutes! is D also the same? we tried the next day again and its the same. how? how?

tabbiesus - oh my..wishing u and tabby a speedy recovery. you will have the weekend to rest.

mamachan
can can, am fine with it. =)

SSF
thank you =D
i think alot of companies dont practice this "eat with your family" day. at least i know my hb's company dont.

Me me
leaving at 5 but hb company dun leh. so I shop till he comes and we have dinner. But without the kids. ok bye logging off from work.

SSF
Try getting him to cut. Then says it is himself who cut it and no new one.

rachel - ya i think the govt shld enforce it or it will just be ignored and the day will just be the same as other day

cl - so nice..sob sob. have a great weekend. still have to stuck here for another 45 mins. we did ask C to throw into the bin and he did throw it. we asked him.."tonight no tu tu can?" C said "can!". so at night...he dun really ask for one. but somehow he is sooo active. cannot sleep and even disturb didi and me! can faint mann!

tabbiesus

i think not all pte practitioners are money faced. It really depends on what u want at the end of the day. Like my PD, he'll give us huge discounts coz we know him. And I know he also give free consultations for full time church workers. It's great that you enjoy your work, not a lot of pp get that.

SSF

somehow my boy also associate his tutu with sleeping. No tutu means no need to sleep. Well, it's his 3rd day without tutu already. He has stopped asking for it coz he knows it's not there anymore. But he'll still whine and cry for a while before he sleeps.

SSF,
Just persist. Cut off the tip and give it to him. Now our todds are smart, they know what is going on. Isaac looked at the cut off pacifier and accused my MIL of cutting it off. So he understands, but he refused to take it cos it's simply not shiok to suck on it anymore. And he even asked me to buy a new one! But I just told him firmly that I do not have another one, so either take cut one or leave it. He chose to 'leave it' thankfully and did not ask for it anymore.
So just persist. If he demands for it, then give him the cut one. DO NOT be soft hearted and give him the good one. Continue to give him the cut one till he gives up, which I guarantee that he will cos it's really not shiok to suck. It's just whether he will make a big fuss and cry and throw tantrums for a few days before he gives it up.

Mashy,
Hehe... my Isaac also needs it to sleep and when he is cranky. I was surprised how easy it was to get him to quit. I cut it in the morning, he refused to suck. At night, he asked for it but I told him I only have the cut one and he didn't want it. And he could sleep without it. The next day, he only asked for tu tu once and he was just asking, not whining. I didn't give it to him and from then on, he just went without it. No fuss, no tears at all. He quit just like that.

queen - actually the strange thing abt C is that he dun cry or throw tantrums, he will simply just NOT sleep and keep moving around the hse. he can jump and hop and try talking to didi. and funny part is that he will exclaimed loudly "eh didi wake up" hahaa...so i think it will work as long as i dun need to work the next day and can 'fight' with him to see who can tahan the longest. last tried was 2hrs and still not sleeping and he keep yakking and yakking. buay tahan! i told hb now i know why he is born in the yr of rooster. hahaa. this weekend i will be gg for a hotel stay in sgp..so definitely cannot try. want to enjoy my stay first. haha...

queen

i don't try to cut the pacifier coz my boy has the habit of 'swallowing' his entire pacifier. He'll stuff the entire pacifier, plastic and all into his mouth. It's so dangerous and i had to make him stop so many times. Scared if i cut, he'll really swallow it.

tabbiesus - was reading your previous posting and like you, i am also a working mother of 2. honestly, i also feel guilty not being able to spend as much time as i want for didi. maybe in my sitution, it helps that my kids dun sleep that early. so when i reaches home at 7pm, i will take over my part of cleaning them and preparing them for sleep. for C, I will read bedtime stories and for J, completely nothing. Will just put him in the playpen while i read stories to C. reason being he is so hyper, he cannot sit still. so in a way when i read to C, he will also stand up in his playpen and look at us. as for weekends, we will definitely spend our time with them. to lib, zoo or shopping ctr. maybe becos i dun work on sat, its easier said for me. in anyway, you still have your sunday to spend with your kids. so seize that opportunity to bond with them. an hour is also better than none. you may want to divide work and personal life if you can. in a way, you won;t feel so stressed out not being able to cope with either. For me, i cannot be a SAHM...i still need the money for my parent's home loan. in anyway, u should rejoice as you have 2 lovable kids to dote on. whenever i feel the blues, i will always depend on them to brighten up my days. you shld too

Mamachan
I've UOB card too

SSF
Mel is like C, will be super active if she'll overly tired. In fact I'm the one that will give her the pacifier cos it helps to calm her down, acts like a tranquilizer...haha. Sometimes she'll even refuse or take the pacificer out and say no and continue jumping on the bed...faintz.

Our HR is encouraging staff to leave off by 530 today and everyone is given a 20 buck swensen voucher to get desert to enjoy with the family.

Hi Aileen
I ever attend a talk b4 and a nutrition consultant said no need to give water even for formula milk fed bb cos water has no nutrient so is just taking up unneccessary space in bb stomach cos their stomach are small. But prob not as harmful as what the article desscribe I guess.

Mamachan
I've UOB card too

SSF
Mel is like C, will be super active if she'll overly tired. In fact I'm the one that will give her the pacifier cos it helps to calm her down, acts like a tranquilizer...haha. Sometimes she'll even refuse or take the pacificer out and say no and continue jumping on the bed...faintz.

Our HR is encouraging staff to leave off by 530 today and everyone is given a 20 buck swensen voucher to get desert to enjoy with the family.

Hi Aileen
I ever attend a talk b4 and a nutrition consultant said no need to give water even for formula milk fed bb cos water has no nutrient so is just taking up unneccessary space in bb stomach cos their stomach are small. But prob not as harmful as what the article desscribe I guess.

Mamachan
I've UOB card too

SSF

Hi Aileen

Re: Water poisoning

Actually this can happen to anyone, not just infants below 6mths. So long as u drink too much water, u risk getting poisoned. There was a lady who died from it recently during a water drinking competition. She drank so much water, didn't pee and won the competition only to die after that.

Infant formula also has water content lah. So think it's really not neccessary to give so much additional water.

Florence
Your company is so good! That's very good way of encouraging the Eat With Your Family Day. =)

I left work early together with hb, went for foot reflex and then brought D out to Vivo City for dinner.

SSF
Hahahaha, I burst out laughing when I read your post, my hb too, on your weaning C off the pacifier. hee hee. Oops! I've not experienced this with D, coz when when it comes to bedtime, we would accompany D to his bedroom and switch off the lights and sit beside his bed till he rolled around and fall asleep in a comfortable position. The 1st few nights of weaning him off, he was really talkative despite being in the dark i.e. counting one to fifteen, recite his ABC, point and name all parts of my face...but he won't attempt to walk out...think coz he's scared of me and my invitation of Mr Cane into the room should he not go to bed like he should. It took longer than usual for him to fall asleep 1st few days, now he's ok already.

Hi-Tea
If confirmed 8 of us going and with Rachel's and Florence's UOB card, I think we might have quite a good deal going to Marriott Cafe for Hi-Tea. THe rest any objections with that??

Sysac, you've called Marriott to verify on the 1 complimentray buffet for 3 paying adults?

Tabb,
I just realised Ben's pd gave him Prep recently cos he had secondary infection n his cough n runny nose is taking too long to recover. The other med wasn't working. She gave him Prep n he took it for 5 days. 4.5ml each time. Its very effective cos by the 3rd day we could see he was almost cleared. But now reading wat u n SY mentioned abt the side effects, I m getting worried cos Ben is only 6 mths old. I called up the PD clinic yday, nurse assured me tat its ok with minimal side effects cos its taken only this time for 5 days n not on a long term basis. But I m still worried. May I know wat r the side effects we shld look out for????

RE: Water
I only started giving Ben little sips of water recently when he started his semi solids food. I tink it shld be ok cos they dun take a lot. Lots of old folks keep telling me to give water whenever they hear E & B having hiccups when younger. Then when I said no need cos they on BM, they will give me the "wat kind of mummy look", bb so uncomfy with hiccups n u bochap n dun even allow them to drink water.

RE: HI Tea with the mummies
Would love to join this yr but dun tink I can cos no one bbsits Ben and my new maid not coming in so fast. Maidless for 2 weeks already. I enjoy the privacy at home but hb quite adamant abt getting another maid.
Looks like I have to re choose my maid after waiting for 2 weeks cos I request the agent to check her past history, she actually worked for a month in a new house n decided to call it quits after 1 month. But she din state in her biodata. Now having 2nd thoughts abt this maid.

Wenyl

Pred is a steroid.. usually the side effects are fluid retention, electrolyte imbalances, affects bone growth and hence in children is grown retardation. It should and can be given in severe cases of inflammation, like maybe in ben's case. I just highlighted cos some GPs will give it very indiscriminantly as it is very effective. In babies and children it is not contraindicated but as a parent myself i think you should know what you are giving your child so i brought this up. For short course less than a week there should not be any side effect you can see. The only thing you should observe is that Ben should be getting better whilst on it.. and should not be worse. If he already has an infection he should be on antibiotics on it. If he is getting worse, more fever/ cough/ looks drowsy, i would not give pred. If he is improving. Don't worry and finish it so that it helps with the inflammation. The staff are not wrong in saying that it is ok for short term. Growth retardation is when it is given long term for months. However, in certain medical conditions, it is necessary so no need to worry.

Tabbiesus/Wenyl,
Now I know why Jamie was given Pred also. Her first visit to the doc doesn't improve. And 2nd visit the GP ask me to feed her Pred with Ventolin. I fed her Pred once and after checking the net and consulting you and the mummies here, I stopped it.

rachel
hee, my hb used $ face to describe my MIL. sometimes i also dun wan to blame her cos my FIL din support the family well in his younger days. but thne cos as a result it shaped the way my hb thinks and feels abt finances so i also feel quite frustrated having to deal with sometihng that is in the past.

SSF
ok will email or sms when first teeth comes

i think just persist in giving C the cut pacifier. when he is tired he will sleep. sometimes JH can go without nap the whole day as well. intiialyl whne he went without pacifier, i also worried abt him not being able to sleep in the day but once the night time one was settled, day time was easy

re drinking water
yeah i think it refer more to excessive drinking? recently an article also came out abt water poisoning and it can happen to adults too.

wenyl, may
think most impt is to stop pred after 5 days. cos cannot take long term.

went for my check up yesterday. my gal is now 2.1kg @33 weeks. i feel it's pretty normal size but gynae still say small. her head is still at the side. hope she will turn. i quite terrible. gained 2 kg in 2 weeks..din expect to gain so much weight. think i took too much sugary stuff

Tabb
think once in a while, we will be overwhelmed by this guilt issue abt work vs spending time with kids. so dun think too much abt it. at the end of the day, we just need to try our best in what we do right?

Tabbiesus,
Same here. I am hardly home before 9 on weekdays and at times i still have to work weekend. Even with all these hours at work, I feel like I am not finishing up my work. At home, no time for JW at all. And to think i only have 1 kid. Cannot imagine how to cope if got number 2....

CL,
At times I really wish my hb will consider a helper. He will say nothing much to do wat...we can do. But when he dun do, I am left with trying to cope with work, JW and trying to keep the house a bit less like a pig sty.
To be fair, he is pretty busy at work too...and he does help out but i feel it is just not enough with both of us working long hours, we hardly get home till 10 plus 11 on weekdays. And at times weekend we still work. it's so hard. But every time i bring up, he is against the idea. Very frustrated. Most of the time, he does the housework only after i give super black face...urgh

Aileen,
Dunno abt water intoxication. But like Queen, I remembered reading that with breast milk, they dun need much water. In fact, I remember asking the PD once abt water. He said even with formula, dun need much water coz his reply is..."what do u think predominatly makes up the milk u make...water right?!"

Because of this, I had plenty of fights with my mother & MIL when JW was young coz they kept telling me dun give water is heaty for the baby.

Mummies was rushing on Friday coz needed to go see gynae for my cyst so din managed to check with colleague on actual price. Will try to update next week.

Btw, May, Tracy, my friend says no more stock for pink chopstick. Do u all still want it?

SH,

Let us know when the price is in. Thanks!

Here's the list:
1) Maywong (pink)
2) Tracy x 4 pairs (any 4 different designs with one pink included)
3) Flo
4) Sleepingdeer - any design is fine
5) tabbiesusx2 pairs -any design
6) Mashy -any design ok so long as not pink.)
7) bblon x 4 - any design ok as long as not pink

Hi-Tea
If confirmed 8 of us going and with Rachel's and Florence's UOB card, I think we might have quite a good deal going to Marriott Cafe for Hi-Tea. The rest any objections with that?? No Objections!

Sysac, you've called Marriott to verify on the 1 complimentray buffet for 3 paying adults? Yes, called already. This offer is for Mon-Thurs only.

SY,
Wow, that's fast 33 weeks already. Just continue to eat and enjoy this last trimester!

SH,
I will take Pororo Little Penguin. If dun have, will take yellow Toto & Zeze. Thanks.

SSF,
I will insist to give cut pacifier. Even if Jamie cry and beg for it, cut means cut. If give in once, they will know how to beg for it again.

My auntie finally reported today after the false alarm of 5 days late. Think too stress up already. Already prepared myself for it so not very disappointed now. No more Jan 09, so can wait for Feb 09 (same bday as hb) or Mar 09 (same bday as me) hehe. Will share my good news if I am tested positive in the coming mths.

Tabbiesus,
Thanks for the explanation! Ben is already fully recovered after taking prep. He was not on antibiotics n his flu/cough improved by the 3rd day. Anyway, its v effective n I will be careful next time. Thanks!

SH - actuali can tell ur HB tat wf a helper ard, it means much more quality time wf JW, instead of going about the household chores... i was pretty agst having a maid initially but after i had one, i realised it is better cos i no longer need to argue wf HB on a messy house and also, we had more quality time wf celeste... hsework also brings down our energy level to a super minimum wor, talk to ur HB again... hope he will be more receptive...

SH
you might want to propose to hb on getting a part-time cleaner? it could be the lose of privacy he did not want to forgo. can imagine with both of your long working hours and weekends to clear housework... really left very little energy and quality with JW =(

tabbie
how is your weekend? feeling much better?

god's child
hey, you are back! how was your hoilday?

Rachel

Thanks. Yes feeling better. Sometimes it justs gets a little tiring. But really, like SSF said.. just need to see the kids and everything is A-OK again.

SH
my hb used to hate the idea. He finally saw that I hardly have time for myself and kids and agreed to have a helper. After our first day and 10 days experience with our first helper, he totally agree that it is so much more relaxed. And he is glad that he does not have to glurp down his food so I can eat etc. When the helper goes to the room, we are still like before leh.

Only thing ha ha on the second day, he walk out of the room without his top. Then when he saw the helper he quickly go back to the room

OK, dunno why people obsessed with my breastmilk. My grandma wanted to come over to take my BM! She wanna apply it on her eye to help her failing eyesight. *Roll eyes* I told my mum to tell her I'm not giving wor. Can you imagine if I give once and she keeps coming to get more? I will be feeding my boy and her eye! I'm not milk bank. Ya lah, some will say its your grandma, just give lah. I can't bring myself to do it cos I'm uncomfy abt people using my BM for other purposes (other than for research studies lah), esp ridiculous ideas!

tracy
wow seems like your BM has become a precious 'commodity'! How come pple have funny ideas abt using it? it's really something that we want to reserve for our kids. I wd find it weird as well if someone ask me for it to do something else.

sigh now my turn to feel frustrated. hb keeps harping on how we can't survive on one income etc and i feel so stressed abt it. really want to take a break. then i got some work that i need to do and JH only fell asleep at 11pm. and i was feeling so tired that in the end i lost my temper with JH when he din wan to sleep. feel so bad towards him esp when he kept asking me whether i happy or not. somehow no matter what at the end of the day, he only cares whether i m happy or not despite me lashing out at him. makes me feel so guilty. that's really one reason why i hope not to thikn abt work.

Tracy,
Ur grandma is very funny leh. I only heard BM is good for face/skin but never before for eyes. I cannot accept that also, I will not give too.

SY,
Will changing to a less stressful job works? I used to be in the marketing line. Lots of projects and ideas required and I have to work from 8am to 11pm. Got to work on wkends and public holidays too. After I got pregnant, I know that I cannot have these kind of stressful job as I am more concern abt my child. I left the high pay job and start fresh with a lower pay job. Although it is about $500 lesser, I dun have to work OT and I can easily cope with the stress. No need of climbing up the corporate ladder and no one to compete too. Just want to finish my work and go home to spend time with Jamie. Friends at my age (28) now are still working very hard but I am already very contented with what I have now. I had thought of being SAHM but know that with only 1 income it will be very tight for everyone in the family. So hb and me are very happy with this "pay cut" arrangement.