(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Rachel,
Congratz!! Wow...Jan baby again. Next year CNY is early, end Jan i think.

May,
ya, why dun you use a preggy test kit? no need to make a trip to GP, esp since you got your hands full looking after Jaime now. Hope Jaime gets well soon!

mamachan

seems that i can only try after july too. Gambatte!

Just discovered that i've retroverted uterus from the mri report. My gynae didn't even tell me that. Maybe that's why she asked me whether i had problems conceiving the first time round.

may,

there was once that damien was sick when he was only 4 mths old..
i have to handle on my own..hb was away to US for 2 weeks.
Although i am already mother of 2, but my elder boy hardly fall sick.so to me, it was really the first time i handled sick infant.

krissie
Refund transferred.
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>To Account </TD><TD>POSB Savings 1xx-xxx19-0 Krissie </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amount </TD><TD>S$33.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Transaction Reference </TD><TD>1716911897 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

rena,
Now only left you've not given me your acc no. for your refund.

cookie,
I've not received the $2 top-up from you yet..

may,
Please arrange to have your items collected ASAP.

Re: Asthma

Kind of pissed when my SIL &amp; MIL said that asthma babies are caused by preggy mummies drinking cold water and implied that it's the reason my boy has asthma. Old wives' tales. For those who believe it, just to let u know, I don't have the habit of drinking cold water even when i'm not pregnant. In fact, my fridge doesn't store any cold water, I don't take ice cream either. I think the only cold drinks i take are ice milo and milk. And yet, my boy still has asthma.

mashy
Ignore those ignorant people. In fact, I have the habit of drinking cold drinks, preggy or not, and I have no problems. Is your hb asthmatic or anyone in your family or his family has the history? Asthma is more often than not, genetic.

mashy
asthma probably genetic. if family has history of allergies, also more likely. i remember u said your hb also got allergies right?

Mashy/SY,
My hb has got asthma so I got to take very good care of Jamie.

Mamapanda,
I am sorry. Will collect the stuffs by this week.

rena
Refund done

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>To Account </TD><TD>POSB Savings 1xx-xxx45-9 Rena </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amount </TD><TD>S$25.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Transaction Reference </TD><TD>1716985336 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

mashy
On the contrary, I'm guilty of drinking lots of cold drinks with occasional gassy drinks...but D has got no history of asthma. He was prone to cough and runny nose when he was younger but never developed anything worst than that. Like MamaPanda said, it's more often due to genetic inheritance if either you or hb have history of childhood asthma.

May
One of my night class poly mates experienced similar as you, had mild spotting/brownish discharge and her menses was 1 week late. She tested herself and was positive that she's pregnant. So perhpas you could just get ClearBlue and test bah.

QUeen,
I do my pap smear yearly, my gynae will slot a appt for me every year.... i fnot I go to my GP

Rachel,
COngrats on your Pregnancy!

May,
My pregnancy was also with spotting in the first trimester, so when my menses didn't come full blown but just brown spotting, I decided to check with a pregnancy test kit and it was bingo! So try to test and see how...

Tabs, SY,
sama sama, when S was coughing we have to stand by, the first cough, I will grab her teddy bear, 2nd cough, my hb will grab her and run to the toilet, haha... but tabbs, your idea of a bucket is good, why didnt we think of doing that? Silly me!

Mama chan,
Re: Hi-tea
Would love to go but wed is not a good day as no one to care for S while I am away and 2pm is her nap time too....

Mashy,
your MIL and SIL are totally wrong, asthma is caused by genetics, and if someone in your family has the tendency to get allergies, then chances are C would have gotten it from his genes. I have sensitive nose, even then, my LC was telling me to be careful when S had mild red and sore skin, coz she may be prone to allergies since I am sensitive too... bring C to go swimming more often? Swimming is very good for asthma...

mamapanda/mamachan/SY/sleepingdeer

I've eczema and my hb is allergic to alcohol altho no one in the family has asthma. I suppose that's the cause bah. Just can't stand it when they start to attribute to what i did or didn't do when i was preg.

PD said in order for swimming to work for asthma, it has to be really swimming i.e. with strokes etc, not just playing with water.

Re: Weaning of pacifier
Yesterday, after my boy's nap, i saw him still sucking his pacifier. I told him that he has to either keep it or throw in the rubbish bin. Guess what, he threw in the rubbish bin and when i told him to say bye bye to the pacifier, he did. Then at night, he started to regret his actions when he asked for his pacifier. Whined himself to sleep last night. Today's nap also same thing, he asked for the pacifier again. I had to remind him that he threw it away and waved bye bye. I think he remembered coz he seemed upset with himself and whined himself to sleep again. Took less than 15mins for him to knock out. I hope we'll be able to wean him off since he threw it away himself. HEhee, we secretly picked the pacifier back and hid it away.

May
U wanna try hanging the plastic bag on her ears? I thought it's quite funny when i saw it on tv. Maybe that will entice her to use the plastic bag when she vomits?

queen
i also do my pap smear yearly.

Anyone's todds are in full day childcare now? Gerald is now in half day. We're thinking of putting him to full day to relieve my mum. But, my mum feels that kids who go to full day CC too early will be problematic kids as they don't hv the love of the caregivers who are relatives (eg. grandparents, parents, etc). Any one has any experience / comments? We also notice that he did pick up some bad habits when he started to go to sch. Accrg to the sch, they recommend tt he do full day. Coz he's in the N1 class now and the curriculum is heavier as compared to his old Toddler class. So, they told me that the playing time is in the afternoon and Ger wld miss out on these fun times as the "study" times are in the morning, so he wld feel more stress at sch. He earlier had some problems adjusting to the N1 class. But, he's much better now. Think it's just my motherly instincts protecting him. haha..

Re gathering
Sorry, cant join.. Am v busy at work. I need to take leave to bring my mum to run some errands, so cant be taking too much time off work.

Mamachan/Sleepingdeer,
Okok will go test tonight and update all of you.

Mashy,
She refuse to let us place anything near her. When she cough, she will want ONLY ME to carry her and hug me. Even me holding plastic bags also a No-No, cos she knows I will put near her chin. During daytime, she will want my mum to do the same.

may

how abt if u demo demo and make it a fun thing to do? Like clowning ard?

I find that for my boy, i cannot force anything upon him. I must make it like a game to him, then he'll accept it.

krissie
haha, i think all childcare centres will want u to put your kid there whole day, then they earn more mah. i think unless he's not having any fun when he goes home in the afternoon, then maybe u can consider bah. if your mom can cope, then just let him be.

Mummies - What do u all look out for when choosing a school for your chn?

I am at their x-road now :p Didn't know I'll come to this stage

Mashy,
Hmm.. ok will try tonight if she attempt to vomit again. So far I heard from my mum that this morning to now, no vomit. It happened after I introduce the Asthma medicine. Anyway I stopped her from feeding Jamie that. Shall see how tonight.

gals
thank you for all your well wishes!

was kind of surprise to bingo too since we only BD once around my O period and once after my O period. like what rena mentioned, i should be able to travel now right?

queen
i was told it could be abit early to see gynea now too. maybe i should wait for a week or 2 then call for appointment?

Rachel,
think you should go see gynae about wk 6 bah, by then the heartbeat should be present... I wanted to wait till could see heartbeat then visit gynae, but in the end was spotting so had to see him early... can't tell much at the beginning anyway, can only see sac but for us, it was worrying coz dunno viable or not since it was too early to see heartbeat at that time..

rachel
when i went at week 6, couldn't see anything yet so got all worried for nothing. if u really wan to be sure, think abt week 7. but my gynae says good to see early to rule out things like etopic pregnancy etc.

Rachel,

drink more water before you go for the utrasound...full bladder will be better...easier to see the SAC..
when i was 5 week preggie, cannot see the SAC thru the ultrasound, then later i did a V-scan.
So uncomfortable....

rachel,
you already 2wks late for your period, means you are about 6weeks liao. would suggest that you visit gynae early too, to rule out ectopic pregnancy.

Rachel
Maybe delay another 2-3 more weeks then see gynae? In the mean time can go to the pharmacy and remember to get your 5mg folic acid to eat before seeing gynae? I think that's also impt. The last time when I had D, also went to gynae too early and ended up had to do the HCG blood test to rule out ectopic pregnancy and had to go back to them again for another scan to see the heartbeat.

If you have no spotting, guess it should be safe to travel to BKK. Just avoid carrying heavy things and Dylan bah. In this case, I better not trouble you with the PlanToys le...can drop my order lah.

Repost:

Moms-only-get-together Hi-Tea
Will keep it simple for this year, just meet, chat over good food!

Date: 28th May, Wednesday from 2pm onwards

<font color="ff0000">Please choose 2 venues out of the 3 beside your names for me to decide and book table please - Goodwood Park Nonya Hi-Tea, Marriott Cafe Hi-Tea or Swissotel Merchant Court Hi-Tea</font>

1) MamaChan - Goodwood Park or Marriott cafe
2) Rachel - Goodwood Park or Marriott cafe
3) Sysac Goodwood Park or Marriott Cafe
4) Flo - Confirmed, ?Goodwood Park or Marriott Cafe
5) God's_child - Will try
6) Yuki - Goodwood Park
7) rena - Good wood / marriot.
8) Chicken Little - Just applied and see if approve (Goodwood Park and Marriott Cafe)

I want to let go of my brand new Winnie the Pooh Pre-School PC CD-ROM (2-3 years old) for $10. Its never been used before. Bought it from Toys R Us for $12.90 but after I opened it then I realised that another Winnie Pooh product I bought gave the OEM version of the same CD-ROM. Anyone interested?

Rachel,
I tried to apply tea tree oil, the oil that you rub on tummy (can't remember wat it is called) and even put chilli. He will just stop for a while then after a while when either he washes his hand or when he wipes it off...he will suck again. I even put plaster...he will just peel it out and he gets upset with it!

May,
You mean till now have the lump of flesh. OMG...really upset now...i tot it will heal when he stops when he is older. Sob sob....

CL,
Haha...that's such a innovative suggestion but i think he will deliberately eat it up. He is at a very rebellious stage. Does whatever we tell him not to do.

Mashy,
Wat is this guardian product for thumb suckers?

SY,
Thanks for organising the spree. How much do I owe u?

Rachel,
Congrats!!!!

Tested negative. I will have to try harder next cycle. Now I can spend all my energy and time on Jamie. So happy that Jamie's cough had decrease and only vomit twice today.

SH,
Yes, his thumb is abit out of shape and is very obvious.

Rachel,
<font color="0000ff">BIG CONGRATS to YOU!!!!

May,
TTC again when Jamie recovers. The less stress u have, the higher chance of succeeding. Thats what happened when we conceive Ben.

Anyone else gonna share any good news????

Krissie,
E is now in full day. The sch he attends has after sch care svc too so I decided to leave him there eversince I sent my maid away recently. He adjusted quite well for the 1st week but due to the recent long weekend, yday n today was so clingy to me. Today he cried so hard when he saw me leaving. Now it sets me tinkg if I can cope with 2 singlehandedly cos I really prefer him to to be back home after lunch. My new maid is only coming in 2-3 weeks later.
Btw, the cleaner aunty seems to be v busy with her assignments. She has yet to arrange any date with me this week. Last week, she wanted to come n clean my place the v next day but my hb had just mopped the flr the night b4.

sleepingdeer/Belinda/SY/Mamachan/Tracy
from my record book when i had dylan, i did a ultrascan when i was 3 weeks preggie. could see a sac then. i will most prob see my gynea before i fly off on next friday, so that can enjoy the trip fully =)

Tracy
ohh, i might be 4-5 weeks preggie bah. hee got to get gynea to re confirm.

wenyl
thank you =)

RE: <font color="0000ff">Help Earthquake Victims in Sichuan, China- Nourish The Children Initiative program</font>

To date, 20,000 of VitaMeal was sent to the Sichuan province but the need is more extensive and long-term, and with the urgent need for food and other products in the disaster areas, a 3+1 VitaMeal matching donation program is announce. For every three bags of VitaMeal donated, Nu Skin Enterprises will match with one bag.

Two Vitameal bags will feed one child for one month. It will be ensure that all vitalmeals donated will be cook and distribute directly to the victims. However, more is needed, so please help if you can. 1 bag of Vitameal is S$37 (i believe each and everyone of us can do our part, stepping into a resturant for 1 single meal cost us at about this price too). Every bag counts and your help is greatly appreciated. Pleas help to spread this initiative program to the people with big hearts around you too.

Please help the people that are suffering and fighting for survival in Sichuan now. If you have donated before, thank you and please do help again. Thank you so much!

http://www.nourishthechildren.com/ntc_corp/index.shtml

Attract Force For Good!

ps/- if anyone needs to know more, i can provide supporting information and data.

Rachel
Will be good to see gynae though it is early to get the necessary stuff during the trip. Ha ha can task hb to do more job during the trip and you better relax.

Forget about my railway track. Enjoy yourself.

Krissie
Aden is also in full day childcare. plus point less choosy on food as compared to charmaine. He will pick up his bowl after finish and put toys back immediately once he is being ask to. He is more easy going and disciplined as compared to charmaine if I compare during her younger times under the care of my mother. Aden will throw tantrum in front of us but in school teacher says he is angel woh. Always will help sort the bowls after other classmate finish eating and help clean table. I can see that because he will bring charmaine bottle to ask her to drink and get her to do some things which he feel it is right.

May
Take care and you might want to just do a test for preggy. My sil oso spotting in the early trimester. You never know till you confirm it. So if it is , better take precaution. Hope Jamie gets well soon and for Aden, I oso stop ventolin which makes him vomit.

Sleepingdeer,
I will do the same like you too. Once I hear the cough, I will rush into the room and grab Aden to the toilet bowl. Even if he does not vomit, he will still action, try to vomit, close cover , flush and wash his mouth. He already know the routine. Sometimes, i might have miss it, by the time i rush to room, he has hopped out of bed and stand on the floor. So at least he has helped by not vomitting on the bed. My only headache is Charmaine, ha ha this gal at age turning 6 will just vomit when she need to and start crying like a baby. And I cannot tell her to be more like aden as it will hurt her.

CL.

Elijah is also like that . in school is perfect angel.

Wenyl,

It is very normal that after the first week E will be clingy to you. normal. Coz Elijah was like tat for almost a month. my tots at that time was the same as you. but once they come to terms with it .. they will be relucten to go back. but always make sure that he is not the last to go home. if not he will feel afraid.
and the next day will be more difffcult to go to school.

Krissie,

Picking up of bad habits is normal. but you must be aware and take note so that you can let the teacher know in order to turn it around.
Elijah as well pick up some bad habits but he pick up good ones as well. we always let his teacher knwo when we spot it and she will talk to him can correct it back. on our part we will monitor him . so far so good.

Queen,

My tots of choosing a childcare may be different.
not so much for the studies but mainly the care taking . many would look for young teachers , after searching since he was 18mths we found out that young teachers are not as loving and not as experience in child loving.

So far i have never regret putting elijah at this neighbourhool childcare even tho i have registered him at kinderland. When elijah was very sick the teacher took very good care of him and the class is only about 6 students now it has increase to 8 but the care is still even.

wenyl
u r the one picking him and dropping him off right? i find that if i pick JH or drop him off, he will cling but if he takes sch bus, he is perfectly find.

CL
i also agree that they are more disciplined when they go to sch. got once, JH actually tidied his plate and bowl and cutlery and passed to the waiter after finishing. it was quite funny cos the waiter just walked away without seeing and he was like holding on to all the stuff and trying to pass to him.

i can't decide whether to send JH to a childcare centre for the month of JUne for half day cos i dun wan him to spend too much time at home. scared he wont' go back to sch. but hb is right in the sense that he will have to adjust to new envt, new sch bus etc.....

SH
i placed order in 2 batches so yours not here yet. plus first teeth is out of stock again...if really urgent, i can let u have mine first cos i still have at home. just let me know over hte weekend.

SH,
You've said it man..they are at the rebellious phase and will purposely do what you tell them not to. I wonder when will they pass this phase..any advice from experienced mummies??

CL,
Meg is also better behaved in school. The teachers simply say she is cheeky. At home she will throw tantrums and no matter how hard i try to restrain myself, I have to scold her everyday without fail.

Tracy
in general i find that whenever JH gets rebellios, the phase will pass. the only thing is need to remind myself not to scold him over it too much!

SH
u ever spoke to the teachers at cc whether he suck his thumb there also? shd get their cooperation to kick the habit as well since he spends quite a fair bit of time there.

Tracy
For you, you might want to monitor if she is throwing tantrums because she is trying to get your attention because of didi so have to be careful when you scold. Dun hurt her tiny heart. They will be fragile during this time. My gal is older then can complain not sure about Meg

Thanks SY
Ha ha i have to meet you for your photos which are with me too. I agree with your hb too much adjustment for him and then later still got baby mei mei coming along. Why not give your helper a schedule to follow with JH ? Once I get a helper, I intend to leave aden with my mum till next year signing him up for a nursery.

During this period of time I will plan his daily activity

CL
hmm, my only concern is that he may not want to go back to sch after 4 weeks so i m thinking of sending him for some hol prog. cos i m delivering very soon after the june hol and JH may not wan to go back to sch once he sees me at home. but i konw my hb has a point...

i dun have schedules for my helper to follow except like lunch time for JH cos JH doesn't have fixed schedules. and sometimes my mil or my mum may pop by and they sure won't follow any schedule that i set....

maybe i shall just instruct my helper to do certain things with him. but the stuff that she can do with him wd be hands on stuff and that wd require some cleaning up usually...and i dun wan her to use things like scissors or glue with him so craft is out of the question.

any suggestions?

SY,
Once I am done I will work out my schedule to share with you. I am tapping on the childcare schedule so Aden can be easily adjustable to. Yday surprisingly My mum could handle him and he is ok staying with my mum

CL - Thot Aden was in same school as Charmaine. Why pull him out? Which nursery are u plng to send him next yr? I m scouting for one near home now.

update on the toothpaste
i think it will be delivered within these 2 days.... i just called up speedpost to check with them when it will reach me.

CL
thanks a lot for sharing

yeah we shd do lunch next week. i need to pass rena some stuff also...

re Cityhall lunch - dates tbc
1. SY

SY, CL,
she sayangs her didi. always reach hm will go see him tell him good night. when he cries n no one attend to him, she will tell, 'ok ok, its ok, dun cry.' very cute..

i suspect she throws tantrum only when daddy is around or in MIL's place whr she got mountain backing. Funny that both daddy and i give her about the same amt of attn, yet she insists on having only daddy do everything for her. Daddy must be the one to make milk, wash the milk bottle, pat her...if I try to do it, she will throw tantrum.

Rena,
Yup I heard tat they will start off v well in the beginning. Then after a week or 2, they will refuse to go school. Tats wat is happening now. And plus the long vesak day weekend, it din help much lor. Anyway, I dun hv the intention to put E in fullday when my new helper is here.

SY,
Now my fil is helping fetch E to sch but I hv to follow as he refuse to go with his ahgong. I hv to bring Ben along. His daddy will fetch him home. I always hv to remind his daddy to leave office on the dot n dun let his dear son wait till neck long long for him to come fetch him home. At least i see that he looks forward to seeing his daddy more now.