(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

tracy,
ok thanks. will get the caltrate calcium pills. so each once a day will do?

mamapanda,
thanks for the link. i will try to get it this weekend. can you share with me your yummy recipes? maybe pm me? thanks!

May/sleepingdeer

hahah, your hbs are so funny. My hb too thought that his swimmers are very strong. C was also 'hole in one'. Maybe that's why he's quite disappointed that he didn't strike hole in one again.

aileen
The recipe is at home. But, I got my recipe from a mother here : http://happyhomebaking.blogspot.com/2007/08/almost-square.html

she has quite a few recipes posted there and i've tried out some. Most are quite nice except the rustic wholemeal recipe. To make my own wholemeal recipe, I modified the milk loaf recipe to the following :

160ml-170ml fresh milk (Any milk except BM and powdered milk will do)
1 egg
40g brown sugar
3/4tsp salt
75g wholemeal flour
175g bread flour
1tsp Instant yeast
40g butter
1 small ikea bowl musli (optional)
1/2 small kiea bowl dried cherries/cranberries/raisins (optional)

U can add up to 100g wholemeal flour then top up with bread flour to make total 250g flour. For the right mixture, it depends on what kind of flour you use (some flours tend to "absorb" moisture more than others) and what kind of texture you like, how much musli you add, etc. That is what u need to experiment with a few times to get the right mix.

My suggestion is that you start off the first few times with the original milk loaf recipe first, then start experimenting.

One last thing to note, I use the Dough function #8 to knead the dough for the first 10min. Then, re-set to the wholemeal function #3 (2lbs, Light color setting) to do the rest of the work. Also, the baking cycle for this machine is set to 40min but I prefer to bake my breads for only 15min(small loaf) t0 20-30min (large loaf), depending on the size of the loaf so that the crust is soft and not too thick.

wenyl,
ok noted. thanks. i shall go get it too

mamapanda,
wow it seems tougher than i tot. was thinking just dump everything in and press button the viola! :p how naive right. ok, let me digest this over the next few days then decide if i stil want to make my own bread. keke..

aileen
I suppose u can but I prefer having some control here and there. I think if just dump everything inside and leave everything to automatic will results in a thick crust bread while I like my crust think n soft.

mamapanda,
coz i was thinking of leaving it to my maids to make the bread. i don't think i will have the time to make it myself. i'd rather spend those time with my boys.

aileen
I make the bread together with Ariene and she loves helping me beat the egg, mixing the flour, pouring in the ingredients (not to mention dipping her finger into the sugar to "sample" it), etc. She has done it so many times with me she can remind me that I've not put in the yeast yet.

aileen

hahaha, if your maids are the ones making it, maybe should see whether they can do it or not. Later if they can't understand how to make bread using the machine, then you'll just end up with a white elephant.

cookie
Will be on business trip from 19-22may and extending for a few days to shop/dine with colleagues. You? only going with hubby or bringing your kids? I think Flo planning to go ard same period with hubby and melody.

Tracy
Haha talking about devotion. My hb hates people to disturb him when he is sleeping. Yesterday, he dozed off and Mel went to the fridge and took out 1 orange. Went to hb and greeted him “morning” (she still can’t differentiate day /night and that’s her way of waking daddy up) and kept pushing the orange to him and said eat orange (cos hb is the one who normally peel orange for us). Guess what hb just wake up and peel the orange without a word of complaint! If it’s me, sure kena “scolding” from him.

Mamapanda
Thanks, will check my a/c

Cookie/Cheng
We planning to go from 21 – 25 but hb needs to check if he can get tickets. We will be taking Mel with us (but not sure if we should go since HK also got HFMD). Cookie, r u taking Kae with you?

re: Bread Baking
after reading all the postings on bread making, shall we have a baking session?! i have an oven that is really a big white elephant... i think i had only use it twice to bake cake over the past 5 years!

dylan loves bread and i think it will be fun for both of us to make a bread together. it will be fun and interesting to meet up and learn from the expert here too =)

shall we?

Tabbie
noted your train set. it is the same set Aileen is eyeing on right? no worries about transporting back, i have more than 10 people to help me haha. had alert hb that i am going to chiong for a shopping spree and he can only cooperate. =p

Ky
13kg! that is heavy. hopefully the ones we are getting is not.

cheng/aileen
had received an reply email from Plantoys!
here it goes:

Dear Rachel,

Thank you for writing to PlanToys.

The promotion period varies in department store however I have inquired from our sister company and they informed us that during June, PlanToys will be offering 30-70% discount at PlanToys showroom and shop at 114/1 Soi.Sathorn 10, North Sathorn Rd. Tel.02-236-9410

Should you need further assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Ms. Bhavana B.
Marketing Executive
Plan Creations Co., Ltd.

rachel
wow, you even manage to get the store :p hahaha...i think the doll house is not that heavy, just bulky :p since it is 'empty' house. Try Siam Paragon, as it is just next to skytrain station, dun have to walk. Not sure about the store. Haha, but I will take note and go there next time I go :> Anyway, no worries about bringing back if too heavy ok. Just buy more for your dylan!

tracy
i m amazed at how devoted your Meg is to daddy! wonder what's the reason..daddy doesn't spend that much time with her right?

this morn JH also got me very irritated. but so hard to stay angry for long. he will keep looking at me and ask me to be happy.

re bread baking
actually i love to bake but now no time and energy and no space for another appliance in the kitchen! hb hasn't gotten my bday present yet. maybe i shall ask for a breadmaker?? hee, actually i have microwave oven at home but since JH came, the kitchen top was cleared for his sterilizer etc...

Flo
your hb so funny..the things they do for them right....

went for my checkup yesterday. bb is now 1.5kg. glad she has finally gained some reasonable weight! still on the smaller side but at least i feel she can hit 2kg more easily now. gynae thinks i will be earlier by abt 10 days.

SY,
I went for a check on Tuesday. Din realise tht i am already 34 weeks. now bb is 2.2kg..

poor elijah is sick again.. down with fever and flu. just after HFM.. poor son keep on taking medication...

Smiles:

it is really a bundle when our little cute little ones brightens up our day even with small hugs and kisses.. It is tough being a mother but it is all worth it...

mashybrainz,
think i will do it the first few times then after that pass on to them. one of my maids love to cook so i think she will pick up quite fast. shouldn't be a problem.

mamapanda,
ya i think i will try to include edgar is my bread making too. can keep him occupied as well.

tracy, thanks noted

rachel,
thanks for the update on plantoys. like what cheng said, don't worry if they are too heavy to bring back. priority is to buy for dylan

flo,
hee.. ur hb is such a lovely daddy. my hb will continue to sleep like a log if he can. last time when ed can't verbalise yet, he will just dump ed to the maid. but now ed will insist on waking him up by tugging and climbing all over him. so he bo bian gotta get up! hehe...

SY/Rena,
so fast, both of you are going to pop soon! :D

smiles:
how true... in the middle of last night, after tyler latches on at 3am, he refuse to sleep and i was so sleepy. instead, he lift his head up so high and gave me a big gummy smile and his little round eyes lit up when he saw that i opened my eyes too. aiyo, how to be angry with him? even thou he made me stay up to play with him for an hour before falling back to sleep. think he misses me coz he sleeps very early at night, about 7-8pm. therefore i don't have much time with him. sometimes, or rather, most of the time, i feel so bad towards him. coz i can't give him what i gave edgar who had all the attention in the world when he was his age.

national museum,
remembered some of you mentioning it. is anyone going to any of the activities? just wondering if there is anything suitable for our tots.

Flo/Cheng,

Was considering going HK for a break but heard that the air pollution is really quite bad so still hesitating. Esp with charmaine's allergy to dust....

Rena,
Praythat Elijah will get well soon....

rena
wow your bb is a good size already. so fast 34 weeks liao...

aileen
i also worried that I can't spend as much time with #2...sigh..at the same time worried abt not spending enough time with JH...really dunno how to juggle my time but can't think too much. got to see how the 2 kids react to each other. hopefully they love each other so much that they feel less need for mummy and mummy can spend more time with daddy.

aileen/sy,

what i am facing now. Trying to spend more time to coach my elder boy with his homework and damien wanted me to play with him.
duno how to divide my time esp. i am a full time working mother....hardly got time for myself.

Hi mummy

I finally logging into forum here.

Re: Collection of items from Mamapanda
Those who need CL to collect on behalf please respond, so far on the list :
-Flo
-Cookie

Please let me know who. I might swing by her place tomorrow or Sat morning.

Rena
Take care hope elijah will be well soon.

Mamapanda
hope to hear good news from you too

Helper
So far so good except ha ha i think some attitude problem which I feel it is more on language problem. She probably cannot express herself well. Hope she is as good as she is now for the rest of her contract.

Aden is very shy with her din want her to bath him but yday finally she bath him with me monitoring. So once she is ready I will introduce Aden into her daily routine. Now she is with my mum and charmaine during the day.

Babylon
I have more time now with my kids since housework chore is outsource. I have realli quiet time to read and play with the 2 of them

Rena
Do take care! Will it help if Elijah gets a flu vaccination jab? More so that di-di is coming out in another few weeks time?

Flo/Tracy
It must be great that your gals are Daddy's gals. hehehe. I'm glad my boy is Daddy's boy!

ha ha
I ask her if I have task her too much ? She says mdm you see lah. So I think it is language other than that she has been askin my mum these 2 days what to do after she finish each chores.

My sir has been asking her to rest lor because when she first arrived we install our storeroom and everything was ad hoc basis lah. But after i talk to her she is ok. Anyway i do debrief with her everyday one. Will adjust accordingly too if too much.

Flo,
haha, i tink if it's my hubby, he will throw the orange!

SY,
We have no idea why she's soooo devoted to him. at least I can look after #2, but i feel so bad seeing him being 'tortured' by her.

CL,
Good that you have a helper now and more time to yourself and kids.

Rena,
Wow, so fast 34weeks already! Soon wor!

rachel,
If too heavy dun need to get. Of course dylan comes first.remember to shop 4 urself too!

Smiles
I agree, when u come home n ur kids greet u witi screams of joy, thats the BEST feeling!

Looks like all ur gals quite close to daddy. My girl n boy r glue to me, my girl forever will tell daddy to go away unless he bribe her with chips or candy.

Re no 2
Me too, feel so bad got no time with him. He's so different from tab, have to really make the effort to spend time with him cos tab will monopolise my time if she had her way.

Re. Role play
My girl also into role play. She knows the princess n pea story so she will stack our pillows really hi, stuff a bead under it and call it her princess bed. Its so funny. Then she'll lie on it and tell me she flattened the pea and ants will come. Ha ha

rena
Wow so fast! Only 4 more weeks! Hope e get well soon.

Cl
Glad ur helper is good. Is she indo or fil?

Flo
My hb wouldn't bother. He'll just tell me to do it or won't even wake up.

Re: Malay Massage
Today is supposed to be my 4th day of massage but the lady is not well so not coming. I'm soooo happy!!! I really dread the massage cos I'm not a fan of massage. So far in my life, I've only been to 2-3 massages. I find massaging so painful!

Ystrdy the massage lady had to sit on my legs and fight off my flailing arms while trying to massage hard on my tummy. I get very uncomfy and squirmish when she touches my tummy.

Sigh..dunno why i paying money to torture myself.

CL - Good to hear that u are having more time for the kids

Tracy - me too, i also din enjoy massages and when i finali finished my 5th and lst massage during confinement, i was soooo relieved! and other than tis post natal massage, no other massages for me hee...

Rena - wow, your turn is next! time reali flies...

Tabbiesus - wah, tabby is reali so advanced! can understand the story so well and imitate wf the pea, hee.. tats so cute!!

Tracy
keep thinking that the massage will help your tummy go-down faster and so that relatives got no chance to say anything about you during the one month celebration. I really think sometimes some relatives really no brainers....like to pass comments to say that wow, put on weight lah, how come you still look pregnant?...

For me, I loved my massage sessions! heee, but didn't like the post-natal massage lady I had...talked too much and kept insisting to do the massage and binding despite me having had c-sect.

god's child,
mine is 7days package...thinking whether can tell her to shorten to 5days.

mamachan,
haha, if the realtives dare say i still look pregnant then there must be something wrong with them!

Mamachan / Tracy - talking bout people saying how come we still look pregnant reminds me of my MIL.. on the day of discharge, some other auntie was askin MIL if im here to deliver and MIL said i delivered liao. so she was happily joking wf me and for a few times aft tat bout hw big my tummy is and hw people can mistake tat im there to deliver!!! argh@#$%^ and hor,while i was pregnant, she even made fun of my chinese name and replaced one of the words wf a 'yuan' for 'round' = fat! how irritated i was at tat time.. but i tell myself, u might b yuan, but im not gona b like you!!! i will slim down and let u see!!! Hmpf!!! monster inlaws...

Mother's Day Hi-Tea
Any moms keen for Hi-Tea session again this year? Just a just-us-moms get-together without the todds in our hair.

Any good recommendations for hi-teas? We had the last one at Marriott Cafe, so this year try someplace different?

god's child/tracy
I got really sianz to have all the passing comments of me being so much bigger than when I was younger. I just retort to say,"cannot help it lah, breasts grow bigger, the body need to balance then got support!" I think the relatives, especially those who had children before, forgot the times where they had just given birth......

And I naively thought after giving birth to D, my tummy will really shrink and can wear back some of my pre-pregnant clothes...hahahaha, ended up wearing back my maternity pants and top that I wore to the hospital. So silly me!

good news, not ectopic. hahaha. First time so happy see -ve on the preg test kit.
Haven't seen my gynae for 2 yrs already and I'm so surprised that she remembered me. Even remembered that we bumped into each other at a wedding.

last night suddenly my whole body ached like mad. couldn't move and really suffering big time. Today ok already. Wonder if it's coz of the physiotherapy i did yesterday.

rena
So fast 34 weeks already!!!! I still thought u still tummy small small leh. hahaha, saw a lady at the clinic today who looks so much like u and with the same hair style, but she's got a small tummy. To think that I was still thinking whether that's u. Hhahaha. Didn't realise that you're 34 weeks already.

cheng/aileen/tabbie
i confirm will get something for dylan! i will try my very best to get your items bcos i know the feeling as being a mother, wanting to get things that are really nice for our children. =)

rena
hope elijah recover soon and you take good care of yourself! 34weeks now, so fast.

god's child/mamachan

u gals not so bad lah. My MIL came up to me one day when my boy was about 1 yr plus, and asked me if i'm preg. Gosh! I must have looked so fat!

god's child, mamachan, mashy,
wats with MILs ah? like to say their DILs are fat! maybe its something to do with us being THE woman in their son's life noe, having taken over their place.

mamachan,

me too very naive tot that immediately my tummy will shrank and can wear back prepregency clothes....i even bring to hospital and tot i can wear to go home.
end up got to ask hb to take off his t-shrit and let me to wear his....lucky the t-shirt that i brought was unisex one.
Till date i am still not back to my pregnancy weight...urgg..the unwanted 4kg.

tracy,
i like massages leh. but i din quite enjoy the post natal massages either cos it's not as relaxing as those that u do during normal times...

mashy
that's good to hear. hope u recover from all the body aches soon!

re pre preg clothes
today i was reading URBAN and someone mentioned the exact thing abt this. she tot she cd wear pre preggy clothes when discharged, in the end wear the maternity clothes that she wore to hospital....

SY,

opps..they are someone also like..hee

however the second time, hb reminded me to bring maternity clothes instead of normal clothes.

mamachan/belinda
sama sama, me too! ended up wore back the set of maternity clothes i wore to hospital to deliver. even asked my mum why is it like this.. since baby is out liao???? haha nobody seem to hightlight that to us wor.

mamachan
i am on for the hi-tea. although no idea where will be good for one =p