(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rachel
Toys department - actually they have a few brands of wooden toys there. Some are cheaper than Plan toy and look good too.

Ya...if you are free, check out the prices at better toy store first, as well as the size. What I did, was throw away the boxes.

err...GST I did not take note, but you can claim VAT from Thai airport for your purchases.

Thanks in advance, fingers crossed. I have been dreaming of the dollhouse ever since I came back! hahaha

Aileen
Actually no need to buy all the furniture. It's kind of nice to buy the furniture sets room by room slowly.

cheng, oh really ar? ok then buy bit by bit lah. but if bkk cheaper than i tot can get some from there first loh. exp to buy in sg mah... hehe...

rachel,
thanks for much for helping to buy! :D

Pass The Butter ... please .

this is interesting . . . .

Margarine was originally manufactured to fatten turkeys.

When it killed the turkeys, the people who had put all the money into the research wanted a payback so they put their heads together to figure out what to do with this product to get their money back. It was a white substance with no food appeal so they added the yellow coloring and sold it to people to use in place of butter. How do you like it? They have come out with some clever new flavorings.

DO YOU KNOW.. the difference between margarine and butter?

Read on to the end...gets very interesting!

Both have the same amount of calories.

Butter is slightly higher in saturated fats at 8 grams compared to 5 grams.

Eating margarine can increase heart disease in women by 53% over eating the same amount of butter, according to a recent Harvard Medical Study.

Eating butter increases the absorption of many other nutrients in other foods.

Butter has many nutritional benefits where margarine has a few only because they are added!

Butter tastes much better than margarine and it can enhance the flavors of other foods.

Butter has been around for centuries where margarine has been around for less than100 years

And now, for Margarine..

Very high in trans fatty acids .

Triple risk of coronary heart disease .

Increases total cholesterol and LDL (this is the bad cholesterol) and lowers HDL cholesterol(the good cholesterol)

Increases the risk of cancers up to five fold.

Lowers quality of breast milk.

Decreases immune response.

Decreases insulin response.

And here's the most disturbing fact.... HERE IS THE PART THAT IS VERY INTERESTING!

Margarine is but ONE MOLECULE away from being PLASTIC..

This fact alone was enough to have me avoiding margarine for life and anything else that is hydrogenated (this means hydrogen is added, changing the molecular structure of the substance).

You can try this yourself:

Purchase a tub of margarine and leave it in your garage or shaded area. Within a couple of days you will note a couple of things:

* no flies, not even those pesky fruit flies will go near it (that should tell you something)

do it does not rot or smell differently because it has no nutritional value ; nothing will grow on it. Even those teeny weeny microorganisms will not a find a home to grow.
Why? Because it is nearly plastic . Would you melt your Tupperware and spread that on your toast?

Share This With Your Friends.....(If you want to 'butter them up')!

Chinese Proverb:
When someone shares something of value with you and you benefit from it, you have a moral obligation to share it with others.

So..., DO IT !

THANKS & GOD BLESS,

last evening hubby had this conversation with meg in the car on the way home from MIL's:

Meg: Daddy, wat you doing?
Hubby: Driving
Meg: Daddy, wat is megan doing?
Hubby: I dunno.
Meg: Sit car lah!

Tracy,
har so bad ah?

Sleepingdeer,
Generally JW can still sleep through the night. Only on certain days when cough gets worse he will wake up from his coughing

Cheng,
Hmm...i will be going to BKK this friday. care to tell me where u got good bargains?

Tracy,
Haha...that is really funnie!

Tracy,
my boy likes to ask the same. He will ask everyone non stop "Wad u doing" after u hv repled him, shortly he will ask again. It drives us nuts! I tried to correct to "What r u doing" but hv long given up!!! at least its better that "Wat doing"....

Cheng, Aileen, Rachel
You gals really tempting me with the wooden toys, humm maybe should ask hb to go bkk after hk

Queen
Ya, my hb was saying Mel was very excited to see Isaac...I think she recognises him. Anyway she likes to hang out with kids around her size...maybe feel more secure...haha. Actually what you have seen is a big improvement oredi, previously she will even throw tantrums when they teachers try to stop her from taking the materials out.

Queen/Valarie
Sch will start @ 9am on Fri until 11am, will combine with the morning session. From 11am - 12am will be Mother's Day celebration. I guess they probably preparing something from 9-11am? So you gals going?

Tracy
Meg is so funni.

SH
For me,I did not go to a lot of places to shop - it was more of a rest and relax holiday. I shopped mainly around Siam Square. MBK is a favorite for Singaporeans - many cheap and interesting stuff. I like the Loft store inside Siam Discovery, Siam Paragon (more for toys, rest of the stores are quite upmarket). Many foot massage stores within MBK - can try.

Flo
Hubby probably not going HK with me. You confirmed going? I will be there from May 17-24. Do let me know if you happen to be there at the same time.

Tracy
So cute of Meg. My son is a far way from having an 'adult' conversation with us. His favorite word now is Mine!Mine!

Rachel
You tempt us!! So lucky you are going to BKK! I wish i can go for a short break.. so busy at work I haven't been checking the thread at all..and I usually try to sneak in once a day to destress. Plan toys are very nice... I think the train set is really nice.. my hb has been buying some of the brio train sets from better toy store cos he really likes trains... if you can get help lugging the stuff back and your hub don't get angry that you are buying stuff for us, do you think u can help me get a train set too? If its too heavy or your hb not happy, pls dun bother...

I'm going to HK in June, so if you gals want anything, let me know.. should be summer sale then :D

Mashy
If its an ectopic, your pregnancy test should be postive. The pain will get worse.. its an emergency leh... are you ok? Hope everything is ok in the end... don't stress...

Mamapanda
hope you have good news! another cause of fluid retention is a thyroid problem.. but if you are feeling nausea then may be its really good news!

Cheng
Good that Aiden's eyes are better... i think it was just some irritation.. :D

RE: sick babies
my didi also kena some flu, and has lost his voice... dunno where he got it from cos this time tabby seems ok. So sad... dunno why no.2 keeps falling sick..
All the sick babies! GET well SOON! (did you see all the sick babies all over the world with HFMD?... hope they get well soon too!)

Wenyl
RE: weaning
I started didi on rice cereal. Tried a new food every 3 days. Started with vege and low allergenic foods (avoid eggwhites, tomatoes, strawberries) and then when he reached 9months started on meats. I started him at 6 months on rice cereal. Now he's just started 3 meals a day at almost 11 months. He still bogay! So very mushy porridge or blended food for him. He's a very skinny baby.. still only 7+kg.. for breakfast and dinner he will eat at least one bowl of porridge/ cereal.. Lunch we're just trying out cos he seems to stare and lick his lips when he sees us eating. BM, he'll drink only 100ml each time.. but but my little man likes to drink plain water.. he practically guzzles it from him mag mag cup.

Tracy, aileen
wow, your supply is so good.. my supply dropped at 6 months when i had my period.. oddly my period didn't return until 10months.. but luckily at 10 months my supply didn't drop further. Because i weaned him, i still have sufficient BM for day to day so didi is still TBF.. now i'm scratchin my head to see if should let him try some formula in case he reject it.. cos i'm thinking of stopping at one year (11months... only 2 more months to go.. clap hands!).. the pumping is really killing me at work.. now i'm only producing 400ml max per day.. was hoping he'd self wean but my little man seems very attached to the breast lei.. humph.. typical man! :D

tracy
meg so funny.

jh also very lor soh. when i say things like good boy or big boys do something, he will keep asking abt naughty boys? then repeat the whole thing abt good boys and naughty boys etc.

these few mornings also kept saying dun wan go sch and ask me and hb not to go work but go out with him....

tracy/chilli,

damien got this fav. 3 questions..and keep asking once he started.
1)where are we going later? eg. when we bath him. asked him to wear his shoe, in his pram or in the car....so important for him to know
2)When we are watching TV together, he will asked..what are they doing..
3) or what is this for...whenever he saw new things.

Once he started to ask..it will be non stop.

Tracy,
Meg is so funny.

babylon,
Jamie is the opposite. She won't ask qns, she will tell u how she name the actor and what they doing.
Eg: Uncle go gai gai, Jie Jie Sleeping.
I will keep telling her.. shh..keep quiet and watch TV.

Hi SY,

I've signed up for 16th May for the free tennis trial for tots ... it's 9 to 9.45am though. Anyone going? I've signed up primarily for my 5-yr old but since they can take 2-yr old, K's going too ...

Rachel ... the Plantoy can be 13kg for one set. Couple of years ago, asked my bro to get and he didn't coz the one I was eying was that heavy ....

.ky.

yesterday morning JH did something very funny. he was eating honey stars and he took 4 and place in his hands (the last 4 actually). he then gave one to me, then put one on the table and said it's his and one on the table for my dad and one on the table for my mum. then he ate his one. and he said wait for gong gong and po po to come and eat their honey stars. so i told him they are in china now so cannot eat the honey stars now. he kept insisting on waiting for them to eat the honey stars. then i just ignored him and walk away to get his hanky to clean his hands and when i came back, i saw him putting the honey stars into his mouth....so much for the insistence.

tracy

meg is so cute!
So envy u gals whose kids can talk already. At least they make the day not so boring when they can talk. My boy is still 'yee yee ah ah'. sigh.

C is a tidiness freak when he comes to my things. He tidies up my bedside table and puts my handphone back on the table (when he found it on the sofa). He'll insist that all these things must be back in their 'proper' places. But he's not so insistent with his own things. sigh.

Yesterday, I gave him the magic mop to try mopping the floor. hahaha. He was happily and diligently moping leh. Even though he didn't really cover all areas and would flick the mop up, it's already quite good for a 2 yr old. When he was mopping the living room floor, he suddenly thought of his own room and went mopping in his own room. hahaha. I managed to capture it on video on my handphone. So cute.

Rachel,
I read that same article before and have been trying to convince my MIL to change back to butter, but she thinks its all nonsense so she still uses it! So I just buy butter for my hb and S, haha....!

Tracy, SY, Babylon, Chillies,May,
Sometimes when your kid talks, you really can laugh till tears come out, haha! S was patting her tummy yesterday and said 'GOng Gong has big tummy, he eat too much mum mum' and the other time, shs saw my 'school bag' and said ' Mommy going school?' When I said yes, she nodded seriously and said 'that's good, good girl!'

Mashy,
dont worry C will get there... my bro didn't talk till he was three, my parents were so scared, but in the end, he ended up with first class honours.... heehee! C can be your little helper around the house liao!

mashy
Ariene is also like C. She'll go "Aiyo, so messy. Must clean up." When there's water spills on the floor, she'll take a cloth and start wiping the floor and sing the "Clean up" song while working. Haha

mamapanda,
in case u missed my post, i was asking if u can share with me more info regarding ur bread making machine. rememebered that u bought one not too long ago. how's it?

mashy,
don't worry, ur day will come when C starts to talk and blabber none stop! patience :D

tracy,
meg is so funny! she sure has a good sense of humor! :D

Tracy,
Sorry read the forum quite irregularly. Referring to nephew cough causing the asthma

Mashy,
My boy doesn't talk much too. Only recently (after going to CC), he started speaking in incomplete sentences.

re calcium pills,
just wondering if any of u takes it? which brand or how much is enough? i'm thinking of taking it since i'm breastfeeding. i'm only taking obimin now.

mashy,

infact my elder boy is slower in speech..i remember at the age of 2.5yrs, he still can't talk as much as damien. Even his teacher advise me to bring him for speech therapy. As being the only child i think it also play apart with their speech development.

No worries, be parpare by the age of 3 yrs..they will come out with all the why questions. Sometime i also duno how to answer.

SH,
oh hehe, abt the asthma. Ya, that's wat happened to my nephew.

Mashy, Sleepingdeer, Mamapanda, SY,
at times they are so cute, at times they drive us crazy!

Aileen,
You haven't been taking calcium? I'm taking Caltrate 600 prescribed by gynae cos still bfeeding. You can purchase it from the pharmacies too. One tablet every morning. I'm also still taking my DHA tablets.

Mamachan,
I just realised we know a common friend leh, Faith... hee hee, small world... how do you know her? She was my ex-colleague whom I match made with my friend, haha!

I am so disappointed with hb. Feel so paiseh to say this here but I have no mood to work today. I have been looking forward to my ovulation period. Had been checking everyday with Ovulation Test Strip and my discharge for the right time to BD. No news from there and I use day counting method. We only BD on CD15 and last night I told him that we have to give it one more try just in case I O late. He fall asleep before my gal and I tried waking him up, he sleep like a log. Until this morning, he told me he was tired and never mind, try next mth. I was pissed off. Told him that I was diligent checking for the right time and treating this seriously but he is like playing games. So disappointed with him. How to conceive like that ??!! Try once per month and leave it to luck. I doubt I will be preggie.

Aileen
yes, I bought a Morphy Richards bread machine few months back and it was really every cent worth it. Combined with a few wonderful bread recipes I managed to get, the machine makes really nice, fluffy, soft yummy bread that even my husband (who hates bread) loves it. Ariene also loves my breads and she calls them "Mummy bread". If u get yourself a bread maker, let me know so I can share my improved wholemeal and white bread recipes with you.

On the side note, I read up different reviews on bread makers before I bought this one. It seems like there's only 2 brands in the market that's worth buying - Zojirushi (best of all bread machines but very very expensive) and Morphy Richards (British brand but surprisingly cheap compared to Zojirushi). It seems like the other brands have been condemned by many users.

may
I hate to say this but, sometimes, being insistent can turn the man off. I guess for your case, better to leave it to nature. No point forcing this kind of thing right? My husband and I have been the "leave it to nature" type and we still conceived Ariene and possibly a number 2 (still waiting for clinic to call me to tell me if the HCG test was positive or negative).

As the chinese saying goes, "If its meant to be, it will be. If its not meant to be, it'll never be. Leave things to fate."

mashy
u have a great helper in C! JH also likes to put things nicely. my hb always say he's neater than me!

aileen
shd take the calcium pills. last time i also take caltrate.

re kids talk
yeah their talk is really funny. JH talks to himself a lot. and he likes to pretend play and i always comment to hb how he makes things sounds so yummy or he sounds so appreciative. we will pretend to bake cakes etc and he goes 'so niccceee!" like i can really bake well like that..haha

or he will sometimes smell me and said i smell so nice cos he doesn't wan me to go shower.

tracy
yeah JH imitates so much from us until it drives us mad at times! he will tell me things like he's angry with me cos i never listen to him. he even said once 'don't make me angry...'. imagine my own kid saying that to me...

Mamapanda,
But what I am disappointed is. He is the one that ask me to eat healthy food, make sure I have my vitamins everyday. He is the one that keep asking if it is time to BD. But when it is the time, he just tell me he is tired, wait for next mth.

cHENG
read you will be in HK, hb and I are gng too from 19May week
Where are u staying in HK? biz trip?
we can meet up there..

hi Mamapanda,
after baking your own bread, do you think its cheaper and more worth while versus buying off the shelf? I have been thinking of baking my own bread too from scratch coz am thinking that it may be cheaper with bread prices going up, not dunno whether worth the effort. I read about some bread receipes that dun need bread machine, so thinking of trying it out.

May,
dun be too upset, sometimes it happens that the guy is just not in the mood, tough to make them do it. My hb is like that too...

May,
I know you are v disappointed..maybe your hb was really very tired. You never know, one try can also get pregnant. Don't force it, try again next month, don't limit a time frame like must conceive within a certain period in order to have the bb of a certain month. Sometimes, God has other plans for us.

SY,
sometimes i get soo angry i will use words i know not supposed to cos she will pick them up but...i'm sooo angry cannot control.

Last night was the ultimate. She refused to sleep and kept wanting daddy to carry, bring her go here, go there...it was 1230am already. daddy buay tahan, use cane on her. I heartache when he hit her more than 3x..i tried to cradle her and stop her from bothering him but this 'i dunno if you call it silly' girl..she insist on clinging to him no matter how he cane her or scold her!!

Eventually she got tired at 1am and slept in his arms.

My God! I've never seen someone so devoted! She really must have been his lover in past life.

Sleepingdeer/Tracy,
Ya.. know cannot force. But he is the one that want Jan baby and force me to swallow so many vitamin pills (I dun like pills). End up just 1 simple sentence, I have to go thru the checks and pills all over again. Just feel very disappointed lor. But see how is it, maybe got good news also. Feel much better talking to u gals.

sleepingdeer
I've never calculated whether baking my own or buying off the shelf is cheaper. To me, baking my own bread is always the best cuz its definitely nutritious, delicious and preservative free
I add wholemeal flour and organic musli to my breads to make it extra nutritious and delicious.

Actually, bread machines are more of a convenience for bread making. Any breads can be baked without the machine but it can be really tiring having to knead the flour, cure it, then punch it, then knead again. Baking breads by hand is very, very tiring and the bread will not turn out as soft, fluffy and smooth if ur knead is not fast or strong enough or if you do not knead long enough. All I need to do with a bread machine now is jus add ingredients and press buttons and everything else is done for me.

May,
maybe your hb got high confidence in his soldiers, so one try is all that is needed, heehee!

My hb was very smug when we got S with one try and coz he likes to play golf so much, he always say he 'hit a hole in one!' (golf slang)

So you stil have hope for a Jan baby...

may
Anyway, you still can try again these few days. Maybe ovulate late or maybe egg still inside? You'll never know. If don't have, then try again next month lor. If you don't like all the vitamin pills, don't take. Actually, no need to take one ma. Confirm preggy already, then start taking. I also don't bother with all these, until I confirm preggy. Now only taking the folic clinic gave me just in case. Stupid clininc still haven't call yet. Sigh..

refunds
flo, have refunded you $13.60. Please check. Transaction Reference 1697896362

rena, sl, krissie
I still don't have your account numbers to refund u money.

cookie
Need you to top up $2.05 for your purchases. You can either pass cash to CL or tt to me.

CL
I've checked the old records. The Gerber tooth and gum cleanser is $9.30 each. You can pay me the cash on collection.

May,
BD this kind of thing need 2 hands to clap. I understand your frustrations but if your HB says he's tired, just leave him be. If you force him, it may affect his performance and make BD a dreadful chore for both of you. Actually, if you and HB have no fertility problems, I think just leave it to nature. And you are still young. Rather than spending so much effort tracking your ovulation, why not spend the effort with your HB to improve the love and sex quotient in your relationship so that sex will become more enjoyable and more frequent. It will not take long for a couple who are healthy and having regular sex life to conceive.

Like Jamie, Isaac was an accident. My menses cycle is long and often irregular. I have no idea how Isaac can be conceived right after I have my menses. I plan to TTC in Sep onwards, and don't think I will bother to track ovulation. In fact, right now, I feel that BD with HB once a week is already difficult. My aim now is really to get back to the having regular BD (that means once or twice a week) and then I think when the time comes to TTC, it will not take too long to BINGO.

Mamapanda,
understand what you mean about having the ability to control what goes into your bread. I read that too much enriched flour is not good for our health, but nowadays all breads, cakes and pastries are made with enriched flour, really not ideal. S loves Macdonald's hotcakes, so I bought whole meal pancake mix instead and on weekends, I do pancakes for the family which is healthier both on the pocket and body

I love baking and find the mixing and beating good therapy, silly woman here, but I insist on using a mixing bowl and wooden spoon to beat my cake up, haha! But yup, think bread will be very tiring to knead and knead..

just came back from being 'electrocuted'. haha, got electric therapy at ttsh. It's like those osim gadgets with currents.

may

cannot tell your hb you're ovulating lah. My hb kept saying that he's a fertilizer too. Better to keep these stuff to yourself coz they just can't perform under pressure.

hi mamapanda,
thanks for your reply. i'm certainly looking forward to making my own bread after hearing that the bread will be soft and fluffy. which model of morphy richards did u get? how much? hope to get one this weekend. and is it really so simple as in just add ingredients and viola! the bread will be done??

may,
don't be frustrated lah. maybe ur hb is really tired. anyways like what the others say, u are still young can always try again.

sy/tracy,
ya i haven't been eating calcium pills, only the multivits which has calcium in it. btw what's caltrate? is it a brand? sorry sua ku here.

Mamapanda,
I am choosy in food. That's why he wants me to eat all these vitamins so that I am healthy enough to conceive. The swallowing is a dread, Jamie will be beside me shouting "Mummy, chi yao.. kuai dian chi yao."

Mashy,
My hb is opposite. Like what sleepingdeer say, he is confident in his swimmers. Just wait for the news if his swimmers win the race.

Tracy/Aileen,
I am eating this. Mine is 500mg, have to take 2 tablets though.