(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sigh..Meg had slight fever this morning, 38.4deg and it went down after taking paracet. She's still her normal self, but I spotted some blister looking peeling skin on her right hand. Immed brot her to GP and can't cfm if its HFMD cos only one so far. No others and no ulcers. So gotta monitor for another day to see if others sprout.

mashy - oh my..i thought being parents themselves, they should be more understanding and gracious esp when bb feeding comes into play. if i were you..i will also be mad and won't even bother talking to them much.

sept_bride - wow..congrats. Calbs is gg to have a mei mei to play. wat a good reason to go shopping for pinkie stuffs. hee..

sy - explorerkid? the one is pasir ris downtown east?

Tracy
Hope Meg will be fine. I also found small red spot on Aden's foot the other day. However, the dr check at the back of his throat for ulcer, So she r/o HFMD

mamachan
Thanks for organising the duck tour. We had fun except my boy actually slept half way on the way back.

It was so funny that aden spotted your hb and daren in the other "duck" and he wave and wave

Nice meeting all mummies again though we din have much time to talk

mashy,
What a terrible couple!! If I were u, I will just tell them "then what is the chair inside for? For daddy or mummy to sit there and smell the poo poo?"

mamachan,
Thanks for organising. We enjoyed ourselves very much.

Esther,
I can recognise ur face but not ur name. Once I reach home, I online to check and clear my qns mark. hehe.

Yes.. nice meeting all the mummies again. My Jamie is the only "baby" that is still sleeping till 10am. So paiseh. Luckily I managed to wake her up while boarding the "duck" she was clapping and smiling. And very friendly with handsome JH.

CL
Hahaha, actually my hb and myself made eye contact with Aden when we were in the 2nd duck and waved at him. he's very sharp too!

DUcktour mummies
Glad that you all enjoyed yourselves. Haha, we've learnt some interesting Singapore facts today. Like the number of spikes on the Esplanade roof....7139.

Mashy
Haha, now I know which common friend we have. Nice seeing you and hb and C at the wedding dinner. Those couple at Ikea are really idiotic!!!! How can they not empathize that babycare rooms are for nursing moms!!! I would have told them that NOT ALL 1st time moms are so pro like them to BF in the sarong and it's ppl like them that makes it difficult to BF in public.

mashy
the couple so terrible. it's a bbcare room so shd be for anything related to bb right...

mamachan
thanks for organising the ducktour! JH remembered some of the things he saw. when we were at home, he said he saw merlion when he was on the bus.

tracy
oh dear, hope it's not HFMD.

may
haha, jamie very cute and friendly. not like JH, always so shy. whenever kids want to shake his hand, he will refuse.

yesterday JH amazed me with his remark. as usual when i m putting him to bed at night, he will ask the father to go away and go out of the room. so yesterday i asked him why he doesn't like papa, he said cos papa always go out of the room. this was something that i always try to tell my hb to prevent by helping to put JH to bed but he never listen. so yesteday he really listend to the son and made more effort to stay in the room...

SSF,CL,SY,
Thanks. Looks like it's not cos no more spots and the blister looking one simply peel off like skin. But fever's coming every 9-10hrly and slight cough. Last night kept waking up to ask daddy to carry. Spotted her bottom left 2nd molar appearing.

Altho docs say teething will not cause fever but i swear, Meg gets fever for every tooth she sprouts. Very jialat one when she is teething.

mamachan

hehe, nice to see you too!
Too bad didn't get to see Darren.

SY
JH is so advanced in his thinking and lang skills. My boy is still like a little baby.

Re: crazy parents in Ikea
sigh, I thought at this time, parents should be more understanding about breastfeeding and that being in an Asian society, many of us still find it difficult to show our breasts out in the open. Apparently it doesn't happen to everyone. The way the husband talked to me really made me want to box him. Glad I didn't stoop as low as him.

SY,
Jamie is sometime too over-friendly. Luckily there is a rail in between them, else Jamie will go forward, hug and kiss JH. She did that to her classmates and teachers. I stopped her on Sat cos I saw her wanting to lean over.

It is good that your hubby is listening to JH. I am trying to make Jamie stick more to hb too. So that I will be able to attend more to #2 next time. It's time to let them stick to daddy.

mashy
when JH said those words, i really think he is echoing my thoughts and i was pretty happy.....haha...

tracy
as long as it's not HFMD!!

yeah some doc will say no fever but sometimes they really feel more feverish...

may
hee, ok lah. JH shd learn to be more friendly. he is really quite unfriendly at times. on sat, this boy wanted to shake his hand and he pulled his hand away....

Hi Mashy,

What a rude couple! I would be bursting with anger if i meet people like that.
They are parents themselves they should understand!

All these talk about kindy and schools - i was really stressed out when i was at Popular browsing some books a few weeks ago.

Past by the section on assessment book for Pri 2 (We don't even have any assessment book till Pri 4 onwards during our time). The maths are really complicated!

Eg. John has $1000. He bought a camera for $200. Then he buy a Video camera at $300 more than the camera. How much money is he left with?

It's three steps to get the answers! For a Pri 2 kid? Mine oh mine..........

So scary, the standard nowadays.....

Tracy,
Sounds like Megan having the same flu like symptom as Ethan. E came down with fever n cough on Thurs nite. Fever went up to 38.6deg. Subsided after 1 day n now he is still coughing n yday runny nose came. Sianz. The flu bug is so strong. Agree tat whenever E is teething, he will be feverish too. Their immunity is low during this period.

Mashy,
Confirm E & C gonna b classmates next yr at PLMC. We didnt go St Anne's to register on sat cos hb says Let's settle for PLMC! :D
The couple at Ikea is really one kind!

Wenyl

yippee!!!! But if i succeed ttcing this mth, then i won't be able to be there for C's 1st day of school.
*sob sob*

I was wondering whether the school will let me bring a cake to celebrate C's birthday on the 1st day or not. Wonder will it be disruptive or will it help to make the children happy?

Yuki
So chim. I remember only doing simple calculation at that age. Prob sums only came in Pri 3.

mashy,
wow the ikea couple really one kind leh! i'm speechless! i think i would have picked up a big fight with them if i'm in the mood. else i'll give them the "u so no standard" glare! :p

god's child,
ya arise kindy accepted ed thou he's not of age.the fees is the same, N1 fees, which is $780/term. maybe u can try calling the school to see if they still have room for celeste. then ed and celeste can be classmates! just collected ed's school uniform today. can't wait to see him in it, thou it's not one of the nicest around :p

yuki, ya i agree the maths standard is very high in pri school. but most importantly it's the eng standard that is high. if u can't read the question, forget about even solving it. i was told even the names in the sentences are not those easy John, David kind, it's chim names like Rosalind, Sebestian. So if the child can't read, he can't even understand the question. And fruits are not apples and pears but custard apples and promegranate. well i'm just citing eg,basically good reading skills is very essential. that's what a school principal told me. but no need to stress lah, we still have a few years more to go.

Hi Aileen,

Haha, i do not have much time.... Ashley in K1 this year. In1.5 years time she will be in Primary one............ haha.

mashy
how can the ikea couple so inconsiderate? i would just ignore them and continue the feeding.

share my boy's smiley pix. :D
1356045.jpg

Yuki,

My son will be in Pri 1 next year and he can speak english but can't read well.....i was so worried and send him to Kumon.
And now, i need to do this homework with him almost everyday. As what aileen said, if you can't read the question, how to solve it.
I regretted not to send him to Kumon earlier.

babylon

Is Kumon that good? It's all indiv work right? I think I'll have lots to worry when it's time to go Pri 1 for C.

Happy thoughts, happy thoughts, Now ttcing, must have happy thoughts.....

yuki/babylon,
don't worry, kids learn very fast
the principal also told me not to be too KS and go ahead of the school syllabus. if the kids know everything already, they find it bored in class and they will tend to misbehave. she told me, some parents actually prepare their kids 1 yr in advance, ie. pri 1 already practising pri 2 work at home. she said, those kids tend to give behavioural problems in school. maybe u can go and find out what is expected when the kids goes to pri 1. i understand that different schools have different standards.

sunny,
ur boy is so cute! like little laughing buddha!

mashy,

Actually i duno if kumon is really good or not...and depend on individual. at least i see my elder boy started to read more sentence and his vocab also improved...
the teacher in kumon really tested on him before he can move to next level and it depend how fast he can absorb.
I can feel that he was really motivated when he come out from the class and told me that..teacher said that i can do level 5A very well now..so she moved me to level 4A.

Wenyl,
plus the weather's so weird these days. I'm keeping her away from school for this whole week as her immune system is low for now.

Yuki,
I find that these days, the maths questions are no longer like maths but more like testing their understanding of the english language!

Sunny,
Hahaha, so cute!

mashy, babylon
kumon will suit different student. If like charmaine she cannot take kumon , she will dread and switch off. So i put her in MPM to get ready for maths. More creative way of grasping maths ideas. Doing number bonding etc.

Sunny
Your boy realli very smiley. so cute.

I agree with Aileen. Another mummy just told me exactly me the same concern when I asked her about a change in preschool for my son - that her son would not behave as well if he already knows the class content. I would probably not send him to Kumon even though I know he can take it; I'll prefer to explore creative type of classes. Has anyone heard of Logic Mills and what's the opinion? If anyone has any to share, pls post.

Mashy, I re-read your post abt the Ikea couple. I tend to be quite hot-tempered too, but before I jump to a conclusion, perhaps your fren should graciously invite the mummy in, since she has to change the kid right? And then ask her to share on bfg tips. I've befriended strangers just by keeping an open mind ... like u said, happy thots.

.ky.

ky

I'm not my friend, so I can't speak for her on how comfortable she is sharing the room. But the couple was very hostile. The moment I told them that it might take a while due to breastfeeding, they already starting ranting and telling everyone how inconsiderate she is.

Hhaha, if I'm her, I wouldn't wanna share the room with such nasty pp. If they're nice and understanding, I would probably share it which I've done before when I was bfing C. Even if the next babycare room is in the other building, I won't wanna share with these pp.

Btw, there's a changing table in the ladies' toilet just next door.

I only wanna befriend nice and friendly strangers like the gals here when we first started out, I would rather not know such hostile and selfish pp.

Happy thoughts, happy thoughts....

cod liver oil
The children's dha cod liver oils have just arrived. Will work out the actual shipping charges and revert to u all.

Hi Sunny,

Your son is very cute! Like your name - so SUNNY!

Hi Babylon,

Is kumon good? They have a branch opp my mum's place and i thot of enrolling ashley initially but their response and answer makes me think twice.

Each lesson is about 45mins and they say they don't coach. Rather the child will sit there and do the worksheets and they only intervene when they have problem. They just keep practising and practising. Once they can complete the task within a certain timing, they can advance to another stage. Sounds like tuition class to me....... Then i rather pay for tuition whereby the child will have 100% attention? OR just let them do assessment book after assessment book? So far do you find their method good?

Ashley is in K1 now. Starting to read a few words or 'decode' them with phonics. Trying to read together with her at night and for some simple words, i let her read instead. She loves to watch TV as compare to read. Hope to cultivate in her the love of reading.

Hi Aileen adn Tracy,

Not all about English.... i think concepts as well.........

My colleague's Pri 3 son is given the following maths question:

*** + *** = ****

* represent a number. Given 0-9, you can only use the digit once, no repeatition.....

How to solve this type of questions during exams??

thanks for the compliment. this little boy is very smiley and like people to talk to/play with him.

may
ya, he looks like jie jie but character wise, they are quite different. jie jie more guai. hehe...

RE: cheem maths N ikea couple
The maths questions are so hard? Are they taught how to answer these questions? Like this all kids should be super geniuses, no wonder they have quiz shows even in america like are you smarter than a fifth grader..

But you know.. interestingly, what is the use of teaching kids this kind of stuff when they grow up to have an attitude that is lacking in graciousness.. as demonstrated by the couple in ikea... no point being so smart if you have no social grace. I can't imagine that none of the other surrounding people didn't shut them up? Are all singaporeans so selfish? Since having kids, i understand that bf is so difficult and understand that not everyone is comfy with bf in public as i am, so if full house then wait lor, or i change my girl outside. Even if share the room, the poor mom and babe got to endure the stink of other bb's changing.. so charm...

Mashy,
I would have been so shocked. I would have just ignored them gone inside the room and asked your girfriend to take extra long just to irritate them more. No point arguing.. they are prob. the type that think that as long as they can be louder, they can bash they way around.. I feel sad for their child that her parents set this kind of example for their kids to follow..

Sorry for the long post, i just can't stand this typical kind of singaporean selfish attitdude. Only in singapore will the govt. remind fully grown adults to be courteous. Its so sad that last time we need courtesy campaigns, as if we are so uncultured a society that our upbringing doesnt teach us this already.

On a lighter note..

Sunny
your baby is so chubby and cheerful! So cute.. looks like a perfect picture of joy!

Sy
JH is like tabby, will smile and hug daddy, but at night will chase daddy away from her bed.. and ask daddy to sleep in the big bed and she will say only mommy will sleep next to her. Like you i also encourage my hb to spend more time with her

mommies
on wed is my hb birthday, he's really stressed cos his exams is on sat after so he can;t really enjoy his birthday.. can you think of anything really nice for me to do for him that will cheer him up.. i've been scratching my head.. but somehow.. i also have been guilty of spending too much time with the kids n neglecting him that i really haven't done any nice thing for him lately.. going to have to think of cooking him a nice dinner and taking him out for a quick but nice lunch.. but he really has no mood to celebrate cos too stressed studying..

Hi Mummies..
Long time no "see". Was so busy with my work earlier totally no time to come in plus my co is stopping all non biz site so I avoid coming in during office hour.
So much to catch up, dun think I will ever read all your past post.

Sept bride
Congrats...!!lot of stuff to buy for bb gal :p

Clare
so sad to read about Jillian, I immediately prayed for her and really pray for the power of healing over her that her cancer can be recovered. Really tough for her.

Sunny
your son is so cute and smiley!!! muack muack.. wanna kiss him

Rachel/mamapanda
Thanks for the kindy file...really sum up alot
Tho I not even enrol kae to nursery yet... :p will be helpful when time come.

God's child
Good luck to your exam! Jia you

Mashy
Goodness that couple at ikea is totally unreasonable. I totally agree with you, I would tell them off with their attitude too.
Gosh I cannot believe such pple exist..
I always change kae in the public with pull up pants as discreet as possible when bb care room is occupied.

tabbie
I totally agree with you.. whats wrong with those rude singaporeans and what a bad example they set for their kids..

Tracy
Hope meg is alright... so worrying hor..
haha by the time I finish reading the thread.. I note meg is fine already kekeke

Yuki
wow chim chim chim...
My colleague ever took her son's pri 1 higher chinese assessment paper to work and ask me how to read the chinese word.
It's the Ce(4) di(3) - Ce...as in Ce Di shi bai - Total failure...
My colleague was telling me.. she also dunno the word how she expect her son to know.
Tho it's Higher Chinese but still it's for Primary 1 only!!

Tabb
Kids always can brighten daddy up one. Take a video clip of both kids singing a birthday song? Ha ha I think Tabby should be good at it now. His favourite starwars right, and you have that outfit for tabby, dress her up in that and sing lah. Small gesture but very heart warming one.

Yuki
Actually no point stressing up. The syllabus keep changing. You never know you may end up teaching something irrelevant to her when she enter pri. So more important thing is let her enjoy maths and understand the basic concept. So far kids I come across hate maths including my daughter. So Just do maths in a fun way, if you stress her up now, tendency it will just make her hate it

Tabb,
Agree with CL's Suggestion. You could do a frame with family pic for him with Tabby's help. He can put it in his office too. Ikea sell cheap plain wooden photo frame which u can stick embellishments to decorate it.

Tabb
your hb sounds really stressed up over the exams. yeah think CL's suggestion is good. i think your hb will be tickled by a home video of the kids....

re kids syllabus
really dunno what to expect next time....maybe everything will be too hard for us....haha

RE: Pri Education
My hb and I was talking abt this as we saw a little girl pulling a trolley-like school bag.
I told hb, "Nowadays kids have such good life, got locker to keep books and trolley bag. Last time no matter how heavy, we still have to bring heavy school bag to school."
Hb repiled me," Dun be supprise if u see jamie carrying laptop to school. No textbook, No worksheets. All from CD roms and submission of homework with micro SD card."
I was like.. "HUH"

But I think soon to come bah. Pri 3 is already learning Microsoft PowerPoint and Excel. So everything is so advance now.

Aileen
Hope he will get mild ones and recover soon. Got it from kidzloft ?

May
It is true. Because pri 6 project, we use to do it on transparency, they are using powerpoint hor. How to expect pri 6 to know how to alighn properly in words to do a bronchure. The more I feel I was glad i let charmaien enjoy her younger days because next time very cham.

CL,
ya i think his is considered mild. but still he's rather restless from it. refuse to eat nor drink. so afraid that he will be dehydrated. as it is, he is already very difficult to feed. worst thing is he throws up whatever he eats. so we just try to give him fluids now. don't think he got it from kidzloft coz there's no cases there.

Hi Aileen

Oh. so shock to hear that Edgar was diagnosed with HFMD. He still looks OK on sat during the Duck tour lei. I better check Lucas if he has contracted it also since they met on sat. Btw, what are the symptoms? You must take care and keep tyler away from kor kor.

Anyway. thanks so much for the duck quack. Overall, we did enjoy the tour.

Mamachan, Thank you so much for organising yay...

Hi Aileen,

When Megan has HFMD and eating and drinking become difficult, i gave cold water - bottled chestnut, apple juice + aloe vera etc, ice cream, yogurt, cold milk etc just to make sure she take in liquid.

It is important to keep them hydrated.

Hang in there!

Congrats sept 03..

how lucky you are..

RE: thailand..

one very mad thing is that my sil got her sis to pass so items for her.. wah very heavy and alot. we ended up not buying much things as the space are all occupied by her.. she even ask her sis to get her books...

sy,
he started having fever on sat evening. sun had high fever so we brought him to pd. but at that time he wasn't diagnosed with hfmd coz no visible signs. only yest afternoon, my maid spotted ulcers. so i quickly rush home to bring to pd again. this time, she confirmed it's hfmd.

tiffany,
ya good to check on lucas. i hope he doesn't get it. else i would feel so bad...

yuki,
ya we try to offer him all sorts of fluids too. hopefully he will take.